The 916 obsession – 54 BN MPs have Anwar to thank for the last-minute free junket to Taiwan

The last-minute free junket to Taiwan for 54 MPs is shaping up to be the greatest political farce in the nation’s 51-year history – all because of the “916 obsession” of the Umno/Barisan Nasional leadership.

UMNO/Barisan Nasional leaders have put up a bold public front dismissing the possibility of any change of government come Sept. 16, dismissing the “916” speculation as political gimmick and “day-dream”, although in their heart of hearts, it has become a “living nightmare” to the Umno/BN leadership.

This is because Umno/BN leadership are acutely and painfully aware that six months after the March 8 general election, more and more BN MPs are convinced that the Prime Minister and the Barisan Nasional leadership have completely lost their way as illustrated by the latest Ahmad Ismail furore and have neither the vision nor political will to relate and become relevant to the revolution of new hopes and expectations of post-political tsunami Malaysia.

As compared to six months ago, there are even fewer BN MPs who are prepared to defend the policies and programmes of the Prime Minister and the BN leadership, as they have lost all hope and confidence in the their ability to manage a major turnaround of political support of the people.

Although they are still BN MPs in name, they have lost allegiance to BN.

This is the real reason why there is a quiet desperation and panic about the “916” speculation among the top Umno/BN leadership and the reason for the last-minute decision to organise a junket dragooning BN MPs to Taiwan to foil Anwar’s “916” plan.

That the credibility gap of BN leaders has plumbed new depths can be gauged from the fact that nobody believes a single thing which BN leaders, whether the Prime Minister, Deputy Prime Minister, the Chairman or Deputy Chairman of the Barisan Nasional Backbenchers Club (BBC) is saying about the last-minute junket for the 54 BN MPs – when they are treated like modern-day bond-slaves, losing all personal liberty and freedom until Sept. 16 is “safely” over and past!

For instance, the BBC Deputy Chairman Datuk Bung Mohtar Radin (Kinabatangan) told the Star today that the “overseas study trip” was planned three months ago but Taiwan was chosen two days ago “as Taiwan confirmed it was able to conduct our study tour”.

The BBC Chairman Datuk Seri Tiong King Sing had a different story, as he had said that “Initially, we wanted to go to China but as we did not have enough time to process our visas, we decided on Taiwan instead.”

Clearly, what Tiong, Radin and even Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and Datuk Seri Najib Razak have said about the last-minute BN MPs junket to Taiwan are just “lies, lies and lies” not to be believed at all.

The simple truth is that the 54 BN MPs have Anwar to thank for the last-minute free junket to Taiwan – all because of the “916” obsession and fear of the Umno/BN leaders.

I understand that the UMNO and BN leadership only have confidence in the allegiance of some 60 per cent of the 76 BN backbenchers – which leaves the possible action of the rest of the 40 per cent or over 30 BN MPs to anybody’s guess.

Lately, with talk of individual BN MPs leaving BN expanding to entire component parties like Gerakan and even MCA leaving the coalition because of recrudescence of cronyism, corruption, extremism and racism, the uncertainty and instability of Barisan Nasional’s hold on federal power will become even more acute after “916” and the return of the BN junketeers from Taiwan.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by wesuffer on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 11:34 pm

he is not good in strategis. this call, yat ka pin yee, leong ka jiok.
    one person untung gila, both party working.

2. #2 by dankers on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 11:53 pm

zak. you do really make a lot of sense sometimes. rational thinking.
    btw, hez foreigner??

3. #3 by The Enforcer on Wednesday, 10 September 2008 - 12:13 am

The overseas trip was all planned cos’ 916 is just round the corner.

Both Burung Tiong and Cow Dung doesn’t know what the other is doing and saying!
    Cow Dung said the trip was planned three months ago, yet Burung Tiong said they were short of time to apply for visa to China which was the first priority!
    What a big joke!

On the Kutty rejoining UMeNO, wonder what Sleepy’s reaction will be? Sleepy, watch out. Bet you can’t stay till 2010 and please take the Kera Jantan with you when you leave!
    The willy fox is going into the chicken den!
    Let’s sit back and enjoy the sendiwara that is about to begin.

4. #4 by fjjs on Wednesday, 10 September 2008 - 12:15 am

Those who choose to live in denial may eventually be forced to live in fear. Listen to the truths that lie within your hearts, and be not afraid to follow them wherever they may lead you.

We see that which we want to see; we shut our eyes to that which will upset our dreams. We refuse to speak the unspeakable and think the unthinkable and prefer to walk forward with blind determination while rationalizing to ourselves that all is good and will never change. We strike out against those who shake our castles in the sky and rail against those who prick our illusions.

The trip to Taiwan will never foil or shattered the rakyat’s dream.

5. #5 by mybangsamalaysia on Wednesday, 10 September 2008 - 12:34 am

Thanks to Ahmad, BN is now heading for hard crash.

YB, please take over the government asap and revitalize our economy… BN has lost focus as their goal pole is PKR, as mentioned by current PM recently ( i thought he was elected to take care of Malaysian welfare).

6. #6 by pangwl88 on Wednesday, 10 September 2008 - 12:39 am

why they never show the monkey KJ and Kerismudin’s faces during Parliamentary broadcast arh?

I really like to see their faces now, since DSAI is in the house…..

What did Kerismudin say that day? …
    “i don’t know who is Anwar..” ?????????

Soli soli soli… i apologize….wlong topic………….

7. #7 by pangwl88 on Wednesday, 10 September 2008 - 12:44 am

9.16 …. if can … very good….if not..

10.16… also can…if not,

11.16 … also can …we still can wait…,if not,

12.16 … also can….nevermind lah, already waited for so many years lah.

so….. how many “education” trip does BN has to plan…….

wah…. we are really going to have a bunch of highly “educated” MPs!!!!!!!

8. #8 by passerby on Wednesday, 10 September 2008 - 12:53 am

If TDM were to return to umno, then he has to start from the bottom, like any new member.

To climb up, then he has to come out with “Malay Dilemma II” and start a new “nep II” to take care of his grand children!

9. #9 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Wednesday, 10 September 2008 - 1:01 am

zak_hammaad Says:
    >> “I believe it if his last ditch effort to boot Bodowi out and rehabilitate UMNO”.

* Why u didnt know? This guys are HUGE fan of “Amy Winehouse”!
    “They tried to make me go to rehab but I said ‘no, no, no’
    Yes I’ve been black but when I come back(taiwan) you’ll know know know”.

zak_hammaad Says:
    >> “So for him(anwar) to get his numbers right, he must go back and fish in the Umno pond. That’s a tough one.”

* Says who? Their tabloid exploits overcome by anxiety and greed was clear, these harpies would flee anytime. We just have to land a hand they would be scrambling through the walls run for their life’s.

* Haha mamak coming back, do u even think this bunch of greedy evil harpies are going to listen to him? tskk tskkk…

We’ve had no hope from this harpies, but we had a dream a dream that would be achieved by nobel leader such as PK leaders who work tiredly for decades. Look at the highest rank of them all, what do they have for doing this for so long, neither power nor wealth but noble values and selfrespect!.

*hope u enjoy my english why u little beever.

10. #10 by king cobra on Wednesday, 10 September 2008 - 1:05 am

Pangwl88 ,

can wait for a few more months but not yrs , as by the time we wait till next ge , our beloved country may be in economic depression , coffers gone empty , ringgit become worthless & blah blah blah…………

11. #11 by monreddy on Wednesday, 10 September 2008 - 6:30 am

Aisay man ! Trying to crack my brains to come out with the best possible answer / reason for this sudden agri study tour by our golfing bbc.
    Taiwan’s mean temperature is max 25 degrees celcius compared to our 34. So it beats me what are they really going to study !……

12. #12 by sotong on Wednesday, 10 September 2008 - 7:55 am

Orang Asli,

Your assessment of the Chinese is totally wrong!

Chinese had gone through decades of discriminative policies….those who survived are now confident and stronger. But many had their lives and future ruined by these policies and bad leadership of the country.

Like the other non Malays, they are becoming more politically aware…..Malays in general are very active in politics.

13. #13 by LBJ on Wednesday, 10 September 2008 - 9:50 am

If you not seen the photo on the tearing of Koh Tsu Koon’s pictures, take a look. These are very well staged poses. There were full of symbolisms. RPK may call it mad cow diesease, I dont think so. They were not mad . This photo ops were done to sent a message

1. Picture backdrop was UMNO logo
    2. UMNO member in frenzy tearing Koh Tsu Koon picture
    3. UMNO members from a particular segment. I think this was purposely staged too.

These photos were purposely staged to produce the “Don’t vote UMNO, Don’t Vote MCA, Don’t vote Gerakan” effect.

Remember the ancient Chinese 36 stratagems. This is number 25.
    “Replace the beams and pillar with rotten timber”.

14. #14 by dapsupporter8888 on Wednesday, 10 September 2008 - 9:27 pm

The Enforcer Says:

Today at 00: 13.21 (21 hours ago)
    The overseas trip was all planned cos’ 916 is just round the corner.

Both Burung Tiong and Cow Dung doesn’t know what the other is doing and saying!
    Cow Dung said the trip was planned three months ago, yet Burung Tiong said they were short of time to apply for visa to China which was the first priority!
    What a big joke!

==================================================

Well, personally, I am planning to go China for a holiday end of this month. I planned my trip, like 2 months ago, yet I already got my visa approve!

I guess the UMNO & BN goons are much much more “stupid” than me lar…

I read in an internet news somewhere, (can’t remember the source) that the Taiwan authority deny that Anwar Ibrahim is flying to Taiwan within the next few days coz there were so far no visa application from him. If there is really a need to apply for visa to go Taiwan, why did the BN goons had time to apply for visa to go Taiwan but no time to apply for visa to China when the trip was planned 3 months back??

Beats me!! (?!)

15. #15 by dapsupporter8888 on Wednesday, 10 September 2008 - 9:35 pm

LBJ Says:

Today at 09: 50.12 (11 hours ago)
    If you not seen the photo on the tearing of Koh Tsu Koon’s pictures, take a look. These are very well staged poses. There were full of symbolisms. RPK may call it mad cow diesease, I dont think so. They were not mad . This photo ops were done to sent a message

1. Picture backdrop was UMNO logo
    2. UMNO member in frenzy tearing Koh Tsu Koon picture
    3. UMNO members from a particular segment. I think this was purposely staged too.

These photos were purposely staged to produce the “Don’t vote UMNO, Don’t Vote MCA, Don’t vote Gerakan” effect.

=================================================

Come to think of it, you may be RIGHT.

I quote this news today from http://www.themalaysianinsider.com :

Ahmad Ismail says :

…You can blame the Sin Chew Jit Poh reporter for manipulating the issue but who blew up the whole thing? It was Datuk Dr Teng Hock Nan followed by Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon who played the issue for more than seven-eight days.

“But I know, Tsu Koon has a party election coming up, so give him a chance to cari makan (earn a living).

“I also congratulate Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon. He won this game, today is his day. Umno Bukit Bendera wishes to express our deepest gratitude for the 18 years that he has worked with us and for the unique way he has repaid the goodwill of Umno, Muslims and Malays.

I would like to remind Malays in Bukit Bendera and all of Malaysia not to forget that if you support Gerakan, they will repay your goodwill in a very unique way, whether they are running under BN or not,” he quipped. …

You see, when Ahmad Ismail said that “…if you support Gerakan, they will repay your goodwill in a very unique way…”, I am sure he is not stupid to know that if he ask people not to support Gerakan, it would mean asking people not to support UMNO & BN as well.

If it is a slip of his tongue for saying that, then I think he IS REALLY stupid.

Anyway, I am VERY HAPPY with the way things are going on in UMNO & BN… woohooo!! It makes my DAY!!

16. #16 by lopez on Thursday, 11 September 2008 - 9:28 pm

get a fool and rub the eyes that Horse may not be a horse, mistaken lah it is a donkey in disguise. very clever maybe because it is cross breed.

Comments are closed.