Pakatan Rakyat leadership council condemns racism of Ahmad Ismail and Penang Umno leaders

Kenyataan Akhbar
MAJLIS PIMPINAN PAKATAN RAKYAT

8 September 2008

Pakatan Rakyat Menjunjung Prinsip Perlembagaan Persekutuan

Majlis Pimpinan Pakatan Rakyat yang bersidang pada hari ini 8 September 2008 dengan ini menegaskan penolakan kami terhadap usaha-usaha menyemarakkan politik perkauman yang sedang dilakukan oleh UMNO akhir-akhir ini. Kami amat bimbang isu ini sekarang digunakan untuk mengelabui pandangan rakyat yang sebenarnya merupakan usaha terdesak untuk menyelamatkan kepentingan segelintir golongan elit politik dan kroni mereka.

Kami sekali lagi mengulangi pendirian menjunjung prinsip-prinsip dasar yang termaktub di bawah Perlembagaan Persekutuan. Ini termasuk soal-soal dasar seperti kedudukan Islam sebagai Agama Persekutuan dan menjamin kebebasan mengamalkan agama-agama lain, kedaulatan Bahasa Melayu sebagai Bahasa Kebangsaan dan mempertahankan hak bahasa ibunda, kedudukan dan kedaulatan Institusi Raja-Raja Melayu serta kedudukan hak-hak istimewa orang Melayu dan Bumiputera serta hak-hak semua kaum yang telah dijamin oleh Perlembagaan.

Berdasarkan prinsip-prinsip Perlembagaan ini kami menolak sekeras-kerasnya pendekatan politik perkauman sempit yang menjadi dasar UMNO-BN. Pendekatan inilah yang sengaja digunakan untuk memecahbelahkan perpaduan dan keharmonian masyarakat majmuk negara ini.

Sehubungan ini kami membantah ucapan yang dibuat oleh Dato Ahmad Ismail yang disokong oleh semua pemimpin UMNO Pulau Pinang. Isi ucapan itu mencerminkan dasar perkauman UMNO yang sebenarnya bertujuan hanya untuk mempertahankan kepentingan segelintir golongan orang kaya Melayu serta suku sakat mereka yang menggunakan kuasa politik untuk mengambil kesempatan mengaut kekayaan negara dengan berselindung di sebalik membela kepentingan Bumiputera dan orang Melayu.

YB Dato’ Seri Anwar Ibrahim
Ketua Umum
PKR

YB Dato’ Husam Musa
Naib Presiden
PAS

YB Lim Kit Siang
Ketua Ahli Parlimen
DAP

Print Friendly

1. #1 by yhsiew on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 9:39 pm

ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH Says:
    Today at 19: 55.26 (1 hour ago)

the tearing off the picture of mr .koh is a total insult to him and gerakan………..
    ——————————————————————-

Abdullah must not sit still; he has to do something fast to halt this BN “civil war” from evolving into another May 13.

No Malaysian in his right mind would want to see the situation deteriorate.

2. #2 by dawsheng on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 9:44 pm

Let us see how many Malays are willing to die for the corrupted Ahmad Ismail?

3. #3 by just a moment on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 9:48 pm

YB Lim,
    I’am just wondering how much more this abuse of racial remarks
    by this ‘Thing’ be tolerated before the police act on it?
    All the evidence are there to see, right from newspapers to TV.

I won’t be surprise nothing will happen, but does this warrant
    an arrest under ISA for creating and threatening the nation’s peace?

This is highly inflammable, was it he didn’t get a ticket to Taiwan?
    Or planned in such timing that the rest is not here to witness?
    What sort of backing would this ‘Thing’ get?

4. #4 by dawsheng on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 9:52 pm

We should all just sit still and do nothing! MCA said that the Chinese are offended by Ahmad Ismail’s outburst, really? Firstly, MCA do not represent the Chinese in Malaysia. Secondly, as a Chinese, I am not offended at all. Ahmad Ismail can say anything, he can call me a pig, but if he steals the Rakyat money, he’ll pay for it in jail, that is all I care.

5. #5 by dap-for-pj on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 9:56 pm

At this time of need. I extend my hand across party lines to support KSK. He is anyway defending our ‘maruah’ as victims of racial slur. This is the time for him to stand up to the putrajaya big bosses and be counted! Give us a good show Mr.Koh!

6. #6 by dawsheng on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 9:59 pm

I must advice UMNO that this is not 1969, this year is 2008. Everything you do will be properly documented and I assure you, there will be no secrets and we’ll get back to you shortly after that.

7. #7 by gofortruth on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 10:00 pm

Its hard to imagine that after having just met with the boss Prime Minister Badawi last Saturday who after the meeting wisely cautioned all to move away from sensitive issue, yet 2 days later the same divisional head of UMNO Abdul Ismail continues to throw another bomb shell today this time including tearing up of Dr. Koh’s picture, the former Chief Minister of Penang. What audacity and what will Prime Minister do now?

8. #8 by dap-for-pj on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 10:08 pm

PM is now peeing in his pants, hiding under the bed! Don’t expect him to say anything. Next I think he will blame GERAKAN, MCA and the press, except AI himself for blowing this thing up. That’s our mickey mouse pee-em style.

9. #9 by robert wong on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 10:10 pm

This Ahmad Ismail not only provoking the racial issue he also drag in the religious issue as well. Furthermore , he insulted the jews as well. This Ahmad is a devil re-incarnated and deserve to be cremated n trown back to hell. There are Christians , buddhist and Hindus who would fight to their death to defend thier rights also , we aint sitting ducks.

10. #10 by baochingtian on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 10:12 pm

To limkaput, someone needs to run the state and can’t afford to get involved in such political games since the general election. Otherwise YB Lim will be criticised for not spending enough time to run the state.

11. #11 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 10:12 pm

if mr.koh wants to stand up against putrajaya bosses, than gerakan should quit bn. period.

mca, forget it. the whisky and puer team are no better than enriching themselves.

let us refresh memories.

1. what happened to the bigot teacher who utter racial slur against the indian students. KES TUTUP.

12. #12 by rakyat_biasa on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 10:14 pm

i think this is could be a possible trap,

you see, Ahmad Ismail (agreesive talk) & Dr Koh Tsu Koon (agreesive defense) are under the same boss- UMNO, this could be a show they are making to make 2 races fight (in real) so it could become a chaos (or riot, which is what they want).

tearing off Dr.Koh’s photo in public (with reporters around) just now is a act to me, this matter has not got serious enough for his supporter to express his anger to such way (they are the one started the topic anyway).
    & i am expecting to see some “angry” or “revenge” act from Gerakan tomorrow, so the planned fight will go on & it will try it best to get bigger, hopefully to involve more other (outsider) parties or citizens, then there will be chance to start a fire…

so only 10 days left before 916 hope there isn’t any real “fire” been created by this.

13. #13 by Tulip Crescent on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 10:15 pm

dap-for-pj Says:

Today at 21: 56.34 (15 minutes ago)
    At this time of need. I extend my hand across party lines to support KSK. He is anyway defending our ‘maruah’ as victims of racial slur. This is the time for him to stand up to the putrajaya big bosses and be counted! Give us a good show Mr.Koh!

dap-for-pj

Don’t think in terms of race. Don’t buy into the process that the Ahmad Ismails of Malaysia are inviting us into.

Think in terms of a badly brought up Malaysian insulting many other Malaysians. The offending Malaysian is not very kind. In fact, he is very cruel.

That is why a friend of mine who has since passed away advised me always to make sure that the dog that I feed will not turn around to bite me.

Savvy?

14. #14 by Tulip Crescent on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 10:22 pm

dap-for-pj

And please forget about KSK. He is not worth it. He is not fighting for our dignity. He is fighting for his own image which has been shattered beyond repair. We can fight for our own dignity.

Look at what KSK did to Penang and failed to do for Penang during his long tenure as Chief Minister. He even ignored his predecessor, except paying lip service to him on certain public occasions.

He was the unintended beneficiary of Chong Eu’s Gerakan. But then, Chong Eu, for all the great politician that he is, never trusted anybody.

It was Chong Eu who splintered the group infused in 1974. And he presided over their fractious infighting, leading to unintended beneficiaries such as KSK and Dr THN.

15. #15 by gofortruth on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 10:25 pm

16. #16 by ZhouYu on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 10:26 pm

The fate of an ex-CM

http://malaysiakini.com/news/89319

17. #17 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 10:30 pm

dap for pj.

ask not what we can do for ksk , he deserved it. but asked what had ksk did for us. he had unleased a mad animal, he will have to rope it back. with or without his master from putrajaya.

18. #18 by boh-liao on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 10:35 pm

Obviously Ahmad Ismail is going for broke and doing and saying things to incite racial feelings and hatred, racial violence, and racial rioting! Why no ISA against this desperado?

Ahmad Ismail (who was a director of a now-defunct company) is hoping for a racial riot so that he does not have to return some RM500,000 to the Penang State after a failed land deal.

19. #19 by limkamput on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 10:36 pm

Don’t play into the racist hand. If Gerakan leaves which is what the racist hopes for, the Malays will gavitate toward UMNO. This is the last trump card UMNO is playing now. Get all the Malays and other Muslim Bumiputra behind UMNO, all BN component parties can go to Timbaktu. That is what they want – govern this country alone.

20. #20 by milduser on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 10:37 pm

If the BN (read Amnoo) continues its racial politics, they will have to reap its consequences. The Ahmad Ismail revolt will give the Amnoo leadership more than enough to chew for a couple of weeks and get distracted with threat of Gerakan and MCA leaving the BN. So, PR will really have a field day in the next few days! Strike when the iron is hot! Or forever keep your peace.

21. #21 by Richardqed on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 10:39 pm

Thanks to the inaction of the PM and DPM, this Ahmad Ismail is getting more and more absurd.

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/8711-ahmad-ismail-blames-koh-for-tensions-

Ahmad Ismail, based on the news report, has even asked for Gerakan to be expelled from the BN. But KohTK has been too kind and has not demanded the same for Ahmad.

But how much kinder does Koh want to get? Is this the time for him to show he’s a “gentleman”? If he doesn’t stand up to the joker and show he’s a man, how can Malaysians expect Koh to stand up for them and make demands on their behalf?

22. #22 by boh-liao on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 10:48 pm

Be warned – Ahmad Ismail may be used by the BN to incite troubles which may then subsequently lead to an emergency situation and Operasi Lalang II!

Out of curiosity, the 49 BN MPs who flew to Taiwan – did their wifes/husbands/girl or boy friends/family members go with them? Who pays for their fares and expenses in Taiwan?

23. #23 by creed84 on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 10:50 pm

YB Lim,

Dengan ancaman dan kata-kata melampau Ahmad Ismail, ternyata UMNO telah nazak dan akan meninggal bila-bila masa. Saya sebagai seorang Melayu merasa jijik dan hina dengan sikap AI dan UMNO yang memainkan isu perkauman untuk mendapat sokongan politik. Orang Melayi tidak akan termakan dengan permainan ini lagi.

Saya berharap Pakatan Rakyat berdiri teguh dan cepat mengambil alih pemerintahan Malaysia, sebelum sesuatu yang lebih buruk berlaku. Saya percaya, golongan UMNO BN yang gila kuasa ini akan berbuat apa sahaja untuk meraih kembali kuasa mereka yang telah rakyat rampas kembali itu.

Justeru saya menyeru kepada kawan2 saya, Melayu, Cina, India, Iban, Kadazan, seluruh bangsa Malaysia tercinta ini supaya jangan termakan dengan provokasi UMNO dan BN ini. Mari kita berdiri teguh di belakang Pakatan Rakyat, demi mencapai Malaysia Baru, Makmur dan Maju!

Hidup Malaysia!
    Hidup Bangsa Malaysia!

24. #24 by scorpian6666 on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 10:51 pm

Sadly the real person that has provoked the Malay and the Muslim (wonder if it included the Chinese or Indian or Melanau Muslim) is a Malay himself.
    Let’s move on .. I believe moderate Malaysian Malay has grown up. Anwar is our living proof. So let Him (a Malay) united all the Malay and the Muslim so we could all live peacefully.

25. #25 by lkt-56 on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 11:04 pm

Kit & all fellow Malaysians,
    Time to give this issue a break. To carry on harping on the issue will only play into the hands of those who wish to destroy all progress made thus far towards non-communal politics.

It is good for PKR to come up with a statement signed by all the leaders. Now it is time to cool things down.

No big deal if we are called immigrants by one who is irrational with emotion. Let us peace loving Malaysians act with dignity and ignore him and others who may subsequently come out to stoke the fire.

Be resolute and steer us towards what truly matters right now … ;)

26. #26 by abby on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 11:15 pm

Please let me know how to access malaysia today.. I think its block again and I don’t know how to access it. Thanks

27. #27 by justice fighter on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 11:31 pm

28. #28 by alancheah on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 11:34 pm

Truely sad to see that this country still has a person like him.

29. #29 by baochingtian on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 11:44 pm

With all the police reports lodged against this arrogant racist, how come he wasn’t charged and taken in for interrogation?
    I watched AEC just now; Dr Khor’s picture was torn. How can KSK still play his cool ? Where is his anger?

30. #30 by Blue.kinetic on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 11:47 pm

Congrate PR for coming out with this statement and well-said. I totatly touch with this statement which show a heart and cares for Malaysian. Well done!

31. #31 by One4All4One on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 11:49 pm

Another BLACK MARK in Malaysia’s history, made in Penang.

This incident is morally worse than May 13.

Here we have a person who is hell bent on creating a tragic situation which will stoke the fire of resentment and to pit the people of Malaysia against one another. And hopefully to create trouble,chaos, social upheaval and unrest of the worst possible and unimaginable kind.

The behaviour exhibited by Ahmad Ismail and his fellow ill-advised supporters is not acceptable at all to ALL MALAYSIANS. He demonstrated an anti-social attitude which if go unchecked would surely bring the nation down the path of tension, destruction and disaster.

May 13 cannot be allowed to repeat itself simply because Malaysia cannot afford another such calamity, and there are no reasons for one either. And we should categorically object to an reject any attempts to start one.

The authorities must begin immediately to dissect the whole episode and analyse how it could have been allowed to progress this far. The police must act without fear and favour.

Ahmad Ismail and his supporters must be dealt with immediately in order that their ill-intention and sabotage could be contained. It is no more a hate speech; it is a seditious, malicious, anti-Malaysian, illegal, dangerous, and unwarranted.

This group of over-zealous and over-reacting UMNO members has to be counselled and brought back to reality. Nothing warrants their actions and reactions.

32. #32 by pangwl88 on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 11:52 pm

ISA is blind, so is C4-Najib and Bodohwi.

Let see what they will do tomorow when they meet the all powerful Ahmad…. will be the determining factor if Bodohwi stays or not in November.

33. #33 by son of perpaduan on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 12:02 am

Let see how the police doing their job in handling sensitive issue

34. #34 by kerajaan.rakyat on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 12:07 am

BERJAYAKAH ANWAR BENTUK
    KERAJAAN PAKATAN RAKYAT PADA 16hb SEPT INI?

BERIKAN UNDIAN ANDA DI SINI
    http://kerajaanrakyat-news.blogspot.com/

35. #35 by mohammadharrisjalil on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 12:13 am

Ahmad Ismail tu ingat dia tu hero la konon…

LKS said = Satu Titanik Akan Tengelam…
    I said = Dah nak tenggelam, Tapi masih mahu pandu…
    Someone said = You Jump I Jump!

i cant wait for 160908!!!!

36. #36 by jus legitimum on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 12:23 am

If words and actions similar to those of AI and his gang were said and done by DAP/MCA/Gerakan/MIC supporters,the police will not waste even one second to lock them up.But alas what has happened to PDRM now?Where are you?It is just unbelievable.Such dangerous people can be allowed to break the laws and no action taken.What a shame?

37. #37 by son of perpaduan on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 12:27 am

Aiyoh yoh….khir toyol said may 13th will happen lah.
    I’m very scare lah…toyol.
    Come on..toyol..open your eyes and ear lah. the world is borderless lah, even when you go hidding in indonesia, I still can trace you lor.

38. #38 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 12:35 am

It is time for the PM and DPM to show that they are leading a nation and not just some political heads in a state.

This has really gone out of hand – like the small fire that was ignored and become an inferno.

http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2008/09/malaysiakini-reports-most-disturbing.html

39. #39 by katdog on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 12:36 am

Khir Toyo’s father was an Indonesian immigrant who was given Malaysian citizenship. What he know about May 13? Maybe his grandfather who was living in Indonesia at that time told him stories about May 13.

40. #40 by FromTheOutside on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 12:45 am

I usually would not condone the use of the ISA in any scenario, but all this unnecessary aggression is practically begging for it.
    I must say I’ve been following all the goings-on quite closely as of late from here in S’pore, and the Malaysia I once thought of as an alternate home of happy seclusion and enigma has evolved into that of chaos and power-struggles. I think the phrase that would best apply to Malaysians of all forms, disregarding how cliched it has become, would be: People Power. It is thoroughly refreshing to see citizens use their right of free speech to critique that which has become mundane and irrelevant in this global arena; where racial and religious boundaries are mere excuses to further divide and conquer.
    So, be it at the hands of DSAI or the next better player, I sincerely hope that Malaysia would be restored (or transformed) to a country with responsible leaders, leaders who actually put the people first, above all.
    Also, I’m not sure exactly how many of you share the sentiment of eradicating racial parties (UMNO, MIC, MCA…) as they, to me, are fodder when it comes to dealing with their so-called respective ethnic groups. You would probably need one or two MPs from the various ethnic groups to be responsible for economic/social welfare of their people. Let’s not swirl into a racial divide where people are judged by their skin colour, because I say, the more lines are drawn, the further we become from true and complete unity.

41. #41 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 1:05 am

After showing off one’s ignorance
    Now comes the condamning arrogance
    All openly revealed in public appearance
    Better off if join in the game of disappearance

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 090908
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Tue. 9th Sept. 2008.

42. #42 by Elwin Heng on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 1:12 am

Strongly disagree and condemn the racist and rakyat.betrayer A.Ismail & his gangster beast!

Irrespective and irresponsibility PM & DPM, inefficient plus ineffective action against A.Ismail till bad commotion by making a racist warning again-and-again?

Back to SA detention history, I/we notice the most efficiency and effectiveness can action against opposition communities, but at this moment, why can’t those reaction of efficiency-or-effectiveness against A.Ismail? Or detain (lockup) him then start-/-continue investigation? Show us your profession, HM!

TQ.
    Warmest regards.

43. #43 by m.hwang on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 1:12 am

Any talk about about Malay Rights or who came to Malaysia first will only incite racial hatred AND play into the hands of Ahmad Ismail and Gang. Wake up readers and expose this guy for what he is…an inciter of racial hatred for his own political survival and benefit. Malaysians of all races should unite against any attempts to split us!

P.S. Does this also mean we will forget about the report lodged against Ahmad’s previous company by the PDCC?

44. #44 by m.hwang on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 1:14 am

abby, try this:

http://mt.m2day.org/2008/

45. #45 by lhslhv on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 1:21 am

I think we Malaysian still remember the hooliganism of UMNO deputy youth leader who wanted to torch the Chinese Chamber of Commerce a few years back.

He was immediated removed by TDM.

In this case TDM had done his job.

46. #46 by Malaysian Mummy on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 1:22 am

916 is a GOLDEN GOLD for People Power Reformation Freedom for all Malaysians.

916 is an Auspicious Number for many punters to believe that Pakatan Rakyat victory is People Power Victory and downfall of Dacing and Corrupt Regime in Malaysia.

916 is a D-Day for Anwar to honour his promises and words for Bangsa Malaysia aspiration for united Malaysian communities of all races and religions.

916 total up to Luck Number 7 for all Malaysians to get rid of the racist, corrupt, cronies and nepotism politicians to uphold the Federal Constitutions and bring back the real Independence MERDEKA for all Malaysians.

Believe it or Not ! 8 days count down is the most vital time boom for Pakatan Rakyat to achieve “ONE NATION, ONE BANGSA MALAYSIA, ONE JUSTICE, ONE DREAM”

WHAT ARE THEY (PKR, DAP AND PAS) ARE WAITING FOR ? JUST DO IT & SAVE MALAYSIA TODAY.

HIDUP MALAYSIA BOLEH BOLEH

47. #47 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 1:30 am

son of perpaduan Says:

Yesterday at 19: 28.40
    Hey asalusul,
    where you got from the breaking news?
    please give the site address, thanks.

Ooops sry was busy didnt read that, here…

http://www.merdekareview.com/news.php?n=7612

For those who cant read Chinese, NO Worries!…
    click “Cut” and “Paste” translate here, it works pretty accurate.

http://translate.google.com.my/translate_t#

Now we can read chinese hehe.. Enjoy ;)

48. #48 by lhslhv on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 1:32 am

I think Ahmad Ismail is trying to saboage the Malaysian against each other hoping that his ACA land scam will not be pursued further.

This is a dangerous man indeed.

What has Islam to do with this issue? He is bringing Islam into the scene. How pathetic can this fellow be?

Who is challenging Islam?

49. #49 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 1:45 am

“The most important thing is narrow the gap between our unity so that countries can peace and harmony for all peoples can live. If a crisis, the state of instability, the Chinese also difficult to do business.” – AI

HAH VERY NAIVE! IM SCARED INDEED…

Im already doomed by the inflation itself and its already killing me, business losses 40% comparison last year. I doubt it would be worsen if your retardeda$$ still on the loose.

50. #50 by m.r.ang on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 1:59 am

They used to blame PKR members as hooligan for showing support during DSAI arrest back in 1998. But now what happens, they will be even worse when DSAI take over the Government on 916.Look at the 13 UMNO supporters for Ahmad showing their devil act and tearing the poster of KSK ( anyway I think KSK deserve it).
    Bodowi I thought you ask him to do a press conference to defuse
    the current tension but look what he did instead.He not only ask your BN to expel Gerakan. This clearly show that he and all the 13 UMNO does not respect you at all. SO PLEASE RESIGN.