The Star front-page headline today “Off to Taiwan – 50 Barisan MPs begin eight-day study trip” is the latest update of the political farce which could be appropriately entitled “The Birds Have Flown” to tell the story as to how 51 years after Merdeka, two-thirds of the 75 BN parliamentary backbenchers were forced to flee from Malaysia to ensure that they don’t take part any “916” political changes.
Despite maintaining a public stanc of stoic indifference, there is no doubt that with the daily countdown to September 16, there is an increasing panic in Umno and Barisan Nasional leadership ranks over the degree of cohesion, solidarity and allegiance of the 75 Barisan Nasional parliamentary backbenchers, resulting in the farcical “forced flight” overseas by two-thirds of the BN MPs to make it absolutely sure that none of them will participate in any “916” developments.
The Barisan Nasional Backbenchers Club (BBC) chairman Datuk Seri Tiong King Sing (Bintulu) may pride himself for coming up with a “political masterstroke” to thwart “916”, but he did not realize that he has made the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, Deputy Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak and the entire Umno and BN leadership look even more foolish in the eyes of Malaysians and the world!
Tiong should be sacked as BBC Chairman instead of being praised and rewarded for hatching such a stupid idea, as it will go into the Malaysian political folklores of Abdullah being exposed as a latter-day “Emperor’s New Clothes”.
What makes Tiong and the leaders of Umno and BN think that physically shipping two-thirds of the 75 parliamentary backbenchers overseas and sequestering from any contact with Pakatan Rakyat until after “916” (may be every BN MP will be subject to 24-hr surveilliance in their Taiwan study trip with all the handphones confiscated or all forms of communications monitored and censored), the loyalty and allegiance of all the BN MPs are forever secured?
If there are BN MPs who are minded to leave BN as it is a “sinking Titanic”, nothing can stop them from proceeding with their fateful decisions any time after their return to Malaysia after September 16.
The panic of BN leaders with the approach of “916” is also evident from the increasingly intemperate and irrational statements emanating from their ranks.
New Sunday Times yesterday carried one such statement by the Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS) deputy president and Minister for Science, Technology and Innovation, Datuk Dr. Maximus Ongkili.
The New Sunday Times quoted Ongkili as condemning as “evil” the plan to overthrow the BN government by alleged “undemocratic means”.
He said “enticing elected BN representatives to cross over so that Pakatan Rakyat could seize power was shameful, unethical and dangerous because it would create political chaos and economic strife”.
He said the people should “reject the dirty politics propagated by the opposition, and erase the notion that elected politicians in Malaysia could be bought and sold for a pot of political porridge”.
He also posed the following questions:
“Why is Pakatan so insistent in promoting the formation of a government of unprincipled politicians?
“Do we want this country to be governed by frog legislators who will surely mortgage the rights of the people?”
I have always known Ongkili as a level-headed politician but it is reflection of the extreme pressures he and other leaders, whether PBS, Umno or BN, have been subject to by the “916” dateline, to make him to use intemperate language when Ongkili should have known that the language of abuse like “evil”, “dirty politics”, “elected politicians…bought and sold for a pot of political porridge”, “unprincipled politicians”, “frog legislators who …mortgage the rights of the people” could be so easily used back against him as he had led PBS from the Opposition into the Barisan Nasional in highly controversial circumstances.
I fully agree that Malaysian politics must be kept clean, ethical and principled and there must be no room for elected representatives to be “frog legislators” to defect for monetary gain or other material inducements – or to use Ongkili’s words “a pot of political porridge”.
This is why DAP and I had maintained since the 70s that elected representative should resign if they want to defect, return the mandate to the voters to seek their approval in a by-election on a question of principle – which will banish the disgraceful political spectacle of money politics where MPs and state legislators could be bought and sold in the market place and end unprincipled, unethical and dishonourable politics.
This honourable option for an MP to resign and cause a by-election to seek a new mandate from the electorate to endorse his resignation or defection was closed in 1990 when the Constitution was amended to bar any MP who resigns from his seat from standing for election for five years.
After the two political tsunamis of March 8 general election and the Permatang Pauh by-election on August 26, there is a deepening crisis of confidence in the authority and legitimacy of the Prime Minister, the Cabinet and the Barisan Nasional government who seem to be completely lost as to how to resolve the multiple crisis of confidence afflicting the country, whether political, economic, institutional, good governance or even nation-building.
As a result, more and more Malaysians have come around to the view that in the national interest to safeguard the well-being of the nation and people, particularly to enhance our international competitiveness to assure the future prosperity of all Malaysians, a change of government is not only timely but has become an imperative national agenda.
I believe that this is also the view of more and more BN MPs.
I will have no truck with BN MPs who want to join forces with Pakatan Rakyat because this is an opportunity for them to make money or get other material gain, i.e. for “a pot of political porridge”, for this is clearly unethical, unprincipled and dishonourable which must be deplored by all right-thinking Malaysians.
However, if BN MPs are motivated by noble principles of saving the country from further drift and loss of direction of the Barisan Nasional government and for the political, economic and national betterment of the people, their honourable and principled action to leave the sinking BN Titanic will surely gain the sympathy, support and respect of all Malaysians.

#1 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 8:52 pm
zak_hammad.
repeat error.
the muslims will choose this time to do the ummrah if they can afford. and not a field trip to taiwan. the muslims will pay zakat fitrah and this holy month is a month of reflection of oneself and not a month of going on a field trip to taiwan. and a muslim will not and should not tear the picture of mr.koh, hope you understand this basic before fitnah ym raja petra .
#2 by LBJ on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 8:54 pm
Hey my says.
Here is one subject that our YBs can learn and pass on when they come back. Technique on harvesting the golf ball fruit.
cheers
#3 by yhsiew on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 9:20 pm
I don’t see the rationale of sending 50 BN MPs all at once to Taiwan for a study trip. Abdullah should be held accountable to the rakyat for such blatant misuse of public fund (especially when the nation’s economy is not doing well).
#4 by cheng on on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 9:30 pm
Why Taiwan? Taiwan can’t even get our LAN (Lembaga Accred. Negara) to recognize degrees from their Uni, must be “very low” standard one, why learn from them? Do we recognize their Agricul. degree??
#5 by LBJ on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 9:41 pm
There is no reasons or rational for this trip. Just anywhere that can accomodate 50 MPs will do? Who care whether we recognise their degrees or not? Who care whether we can afford it or not?
Cant you recognise the Exile these MPS for 8 days, I dont care how you do it, just do it mentality.
Remember you have a precious vote. Exercise it the next round.
#6 by katdog on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 9:59 pm
zak_hammaad Says:
“Example: In 2005, a 17-year-old Singaporean Chinese student pleaded guilty to sedition for posting anti-Muslim remarks on his weblog.”
Now that’s good. I agree with Zak! We should follow Singapore’s SECULAR system of governance where no one religion is considered the primary religion. Observe that even in a secular government, Islam is still protected. So let this be a lesson to all the muslims out there, even in a secular government your religion will still be protected. Not like an Islamic government like Malaysia where people like RPK can bad mouth Islam and get away with it.
Wait? What’s that i hear from you Zak? A secular government like PAP’s will not work in Malaysia because of blah blah blah? (pardon me for not being able to recall your reasonings). So what do you want? You want us to follow Singapore? Or Not follow Singapore?
#7 by boh-liao on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 10:03 pm
It’s always risky to travel together on one plane.
Remember the air crash on 6 February 1958? On that cold and bitter Thursday, British European Airways Flight 609 crashed in Munich and killed seven Manchester United footballers, nicknamed Busby Babes. The Munich air disaster crippled the Manchester United team for a while.
Remember Flight MH2133 (Kota Kinabalu – Tawau) and 15 September 1995? An MAS Fokker F50 (9M-MGH) crashed into a shantytown during approach in Tawau, Sabah. Altogether 34 passengers were killed.
#8 by boh-liao on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 10:11 pm
Why a study tour of agriculture in Taiwan, you may ask.
Because the BN MPs are interested in “Agriculture” – rearrange the letters there and you will get: “Girl u ar cute”. That’s the ulterior motive of the study tour!
#9 by LBJ on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 10:16 pm
Yeah. Forgot about that.
27. Do not all travel on the same plane. Should something go wrong, by-elections will be very helpful to the opposition. You do not want that, do you?
It is strongly suggested to have 2 YBs per flight. Since there are 2 flights a day, 4 YBs should fly each day. Since there are 50 YBs this will take maybe 12 days. Better safe than sorry.
#10 by Earshot on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 10:50 pm
“Why Taiwan?… can’t even get our LAN (Lembaga Accred. Negara) to recognize degrees from their Uni…”
May be they first need to establish Taiwanese Universities Lembaga Accred. Negara – in short T U L A N. That is why they are on this study trip.
#11 by mendela on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 10:58 pm
Yes, “The Birds Have Flown”!
The birds are going to visit the SIL. The SIL of Ah Bian who is still in the lock up!
Wow, Bodowi’s SIL meeting Ah Bian’s SIL, cool!
Make sure our SIL bring with him a box of mooncake for Ah Bian’s SIL!
#12 by cancan on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 11:00 pm
Where do you want want to go?
Link: http://www.kingsmary.blogspot.com/
#13 by Kingkong on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 11:03 pm
I wish some of our writers could be more mature in discussing an issue. We have our own internal political problem within our country but please do not simply condemn others without facts and figures; even then it is not our objective to condemn others because our politicians wanted to go there. How many of you have visited Taipei / Taiwan lately?
I did visit Taipei two years ago on certain business and was pleasantly surprised by the courtesy and the educational level of the people there. It is indeed a very educated society. I thought it was because I was staying at the hostel of a University and so the atmosphere was different. However, a friend on a separate trip later on has a concurrent view. That is his account of observation as follows:-
“ A relative from Taiwan forwarded that article to me. I have been to Taiwan twice. The first time I really didn’t know much of Taiwan because I spent my trip touring the island and attending my daughter’s convocation.
The second trip was to attend my daughter’s wedding in Taipei and I spent another four days sightseeing in Taipei. Within these four days I visited a few tourist sites and a few shopping complexes in the metropolitan.
Below were two incidents in Taipei that impressed me very much.
The first incident was that we couldn’t find our hostel when we alighted from a taxi and so we stopped a passing cyclist to ask our way to the hostel and to our surprise the man immediately got down from his bicycle and parked his bicycle under a tree and then led us to our hostel. This could also happen in our country but it is rare to find such a friendly person in a big city.
And there was another incident. There was this young girl in her 20’s who walked into a mini-mart and queued behind us while we were paying for our soft drinks. She waited patiently for her turn and then told the shopkeeper that she had forgotten to pay for her purchases. She was such an honest girl. This example of honesty is rarely seen.
‘ The commoners in Taiwan are very nice people,’ that was also a comment made by my nephew who has been working in Taipei for quite some times as an actuarist.
Though Taiwan is not as lucky as Malaysia in natural resources, the people have achieved their success from scrape. The country built up its economy from semiconductor industry and in the arena of biotechnology. In contrast, though we have a lot of natural resources, much of our wealth has been siphoned off into personal coffers.
The Japanese occupied Taiwan for more than 50 years and they left behind their early technical know-how for the Taiwanese. “
We discussed this because of an article entitled “Respectable people in Taipei“written by a famous American writer.
It is to be noted that Taiwan’s efficient agricultural production is self sufficient, and people are hardworking and take pride in whatever job they are doing. Please do not condemn people just because you don’t like your own politicians to go there at a time you don’t like. They do not invite you to go, you choose to go there.
#14 by mendela on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 11:03 pm
Goldenscreen said “Is it possible to check the movements and activities of these BN MPs in Taiwan? Just to make sure that they are really studying high-tech agriculture and not making side stops to enjoy themselves. I’m sure the Taiwanese paparazzi would be happy to dig dirt on these fellows.”
Don’t worry. Our many students in Taiwan will do the paparazzi works.
Our hero film maker/composer of Negarakuku should join the trip and make a documentary movie out of this field trip!
He sure win big in next year Academy Awards.
#15 by MyFoot on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 11:21 pm
It is the people’s wish to change the government. Defections of BN MPs are just to carry out people’s wish. If you don’t believe, call another General Election now. PR will won more than 50% and form the next government. Rakyat are fed up with the BN government! This is what it is.
#16 by raven77 on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 11:27 pm
The problem with today’s BN’s politicians is …they still think Malaysians are fools and living it out in the kampongs…..those days are gone….and so will they…
#17 by kosmoalpha on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 11:30 pm
so they are heading out ot taiwan for a learning trip….learning from the taiwan kingpin of corruption,chen sui pian???
#18 by kosmoalpha on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 11:38 pm
anyway,the episode on these BN MPs would be noted down in history as self-exiles or forced exiles out fo desperation??they said the trip is self-funding,do u believe in it??it is ur choice!
#19 by kerajaan.rakyat on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 12:08 am
BERJAYAKAH ANWAR BENTUK
KERAJAAN PAKATAN RAKYAT PADA 16hb SEPT INI?
BERIKAN UNDIAN ANDA DI SINI
http://kerajaanrakyat-news.blogspot.com/
#20 by my on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 12:34 am
what an insult to the people’s intelligence. 50 MP to the same location, even if we take this as study trip, which country actually sends 50 brainless cow for field study oversea. i am surprised because there are still stupid people that voted for the BN to govern this country. what a wise choice, and please dont cry or rally if the country gets poorer day by day because YOU deserved it.. very good.
#21 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 2:19 am
Actualy Taiwan has the most successful media around the world, remember their parliament, those reports of MP throwing chairs, uncensored no hold bars lol!
And they also had all sorts of report in live, chat, views or debate from the opposition over the govern party broadcast every day on TV.
Looks like this goons thwart heading wrong direction straight land of truth that means to be doomed! xD
Hope the paparazzi in Taiwan start interview them one by one haha!.
#22 by delCapo on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 2:54 am
trying so hard to keep the “frogs” in the pond??
business class, golf bags, bags of $millions pocket money…. damn!
#23 by ahkok1982 on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 7:18 am
Uncle Lim,
It is reported in The Star newspaper that Batu Sapi MP Datuk Dr Edmund Chong Ket Wah said that the trip was planned 3 months ago. So please do seek clarification on:
1) Their iteniary. What they are actually doing there for the whole period of time
2) Who they are going to visit to make the study
3) What is the specific topics that they are going to study
I will bet my bottom dollar that they cant answer even one question.
Also, “Dr” Edmund is so stupid to say that the trip was planned 3 months ahead. This statement already proves that he is lying. I remember someone said that their initial destination was China but then due to lack to time to apply for Visa, they are going to Taiwan. Yeah, 3 months planning and you cant get your Visa. Disgrace to people who are have actual qualification to be called Dr.
Plus, people are going as and when they like. Does this sound like 3 months planning?
Actually PR can just send someone down to Taiwan on Economy Class (Not Business Class like those MPs) to just tag along wherever they go and take many many many pictures. Then post their everyday move on the internet. Let everyone see what they are doing there in Taiwan and what they are studying.
#24 by k1980 on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 8:51 am
Tricia Yeoh, director of the Center for Public Policy Studies, a research organization, described the government’s reaction to the opposition’s challenge as a mixture of “fear and incompetence.”
“The Barisan government is really grasping at straws,” she said.
The Taiwan trip, Yeoh said, will give senior officials from the party an opportunity to try to dissuade potential defectors by lavishing expense money on them and striking deals.
http://www.iht.com/articles/2008/09/08/asia/malay.php
#25 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 8:52 am
Actually, this is not such a dumb move. By sending them to Taiwan, the PM would in a way know who are with him and who are potential cross-overs. Whatever plausible reasons given by the back-benchers for not being able to go to Taiwan will be taken with a ton of salt…
#26 by PHUAKL on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 9:20 am
Hi All
Actually, the BN regime can learn a lot from Taiwan.
Even if our “suddenly gone green” BN MPs cannot pick up agricultural knowledge on their short study tour :-) , they can hopefully learn the following lessons from Taiwan:
1. Taiwanese universities are world class even if the Malaysian
Govt does not recognise their degrees (because of
political reasons). The postgrad Taiwanese students
I met while studying in the US are of consistently high
standard.
2. Many of their economic planners are PhDs (with degrees
from the best US universities)
3. They have emerged from a one-party dictatorship
during the Chiang Kai-shek years to become a two party
democracy
4. The Taiwanese Guomindang/Kuomintang party has genuinely
reformed to become more democratic. The process began with
Chiang Ching Kuo and accelerated under the leadership of the
intellectual Lee Teng Hui. As Dr Ooi Kee Beng has urged, UMNO
can and should learn from them!
After being ejected by the voters, the Guomindang were recently
re-elected into office. Their leader Ma Ying Jiau is
quite an impressive figure (apparently, he did a good job as
the Mayor of Taipei)
5. Their elections are genuinely democratic with freedom of
speech
6. Sure, there are fistfights in the Legislative Yuan. This is
because some of the deputies are linked to gangsters.
But as democracy deepens in taiwan, these kinds of people
will be weeded out by the Taiwanese voters.
Phua Kai Lit
#27 by greatwarrior on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 12:02 pm
Shows how ‘caring’ they are. The people in Penang and Kedah are battling with floods, they are enjoying themselves elsewhere. Why did anybody vote them in the first place anyway? See how they are taking care of their ‘rakyat’?
Read more:
http://www.harakahdaily.net/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=16853&Itemid=1
#28 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 12:23 pm
This is the holy month of Ramadan.
Please ask AAB and NR to swear (like what NR did previously) on the holy book that this Taiwan escapade of BN MPs has nothing to do with 916.
To speak the truth, nothing but the truth, or nothing but what looks like and sounds like the truth.
#29 by badak on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 1:55 pm
Half of the MPs on the trip have not even hold a spade in their hands . The other half don,t even know the diffrence between a salt water fish and fresh water fish.
Who is BN trying to bluff…
#30 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 3:43 pm
katdog Says:
>> We should follow Singapore’s SECULAR system of governance where no one religion is considered the primary religion.
It’s pitiful when an individual twists the meaning and puts words in the mouth. The irony is that while you condemn S’pore for it’s tight control over blogs and media regulation, you want to use it as a model worthy of emulation. Which is it?
>> Observe that even in a secular government, Islam is still protected.
Islam does not need ‘protection’ it accords protection to others. It is not a mere religion, it is much bigger and comprehensive than that.
>> even in a secular government your religion will still be protected.
Being protected is one thing, being able to govern by it at federal level and practise and express it in PUBLIC is quite another! It is Islam that does not recognise secularism, not the other way around.
>> Not like an Islamic government like Malaysia where people like RPK can bad mouth Islam and get away with it.
There is nothing “Islamic” about Malaysia’s government. The fact that you can not fathom this is why you make silly mistakes. Judging Islam according to BN’s policies and style of governance is like judging Catholicism because of what Nazis did.
>> A secular government like PAP’s will not work in Malaysia because of blah blah blah?
Not blah blah but because of a totally different geo-social demography. Its akin to telling PAP to become a liberal democracy, lol. Let me repeat, secularism can never be reconciled with Islam in any way, shape or form. Live with it! Malaysia is 60% Muslim. Live with it! How the status quo changes to deal with the minority more equitably is the question you need to ask. If you think Pakatan is the best thing since sliced bread who will resolve all your woes, then you are very much mistakes. Far from removing racial politics, they will actually exacerbate it!
>> You want us to follow Singapore? Or Not follow Singapore?
That is a question you need to answer.
Good day.
#31 by katdog on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 7:14 pm
Ha ha. Zak. I’ll just reply.
“The irony is that while you condemn S’pore for it’s tight control over blogs and media regulation, you want to use it as a model worthy of emulation. Which is it?”
Excuse me but i did not condemn Singapore for its media control. So i will reuse your words: It’s pitiful when an individual twists the meaning and puts words in the mouth.
“It is Islam that does not recognize secularism”
Ah yes. Thank you for shedding light on this matter. Next time please remember to highlight this important point when explaining your reasoning why a secular system will not work. This is the key reason you have failed to explain clearly in your previous posts.
“There is nothing “Islamic” about Malaysia’s government.”
I’m sorry but I thought that was what Dr. M said? Its not secular cause you claim thats what LKS is trying to change the government to. So what government is Malaysia?
“That is a question you need to answer.”
No actually i don’t need to answer that question. Because i already know which party is the best to lead the country and it’s definitely not PAP. Everyone knows it is not perfect but its still the most logical and reasonable choice at the moment compared to the thieves, liars and murderers in BN. You are welcome to form a 3rd political front if you believe you have the perfect answer to Malaysia’s problems. Maybe have a chat with Gerakan for they are considering becoming an independant party again.
#32 by lopez on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 10:14 pm
It is a sunset club this m see air, late comers should quickly get out before having to take all blame.
Some one must make sure these 50 M pees return and dont wander off in the restauarants pretending to wash plates and disaapear, the micheal would be very busy again with the taiwanese u/grd.
#33 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 10:25 pm
katdog Says:
>> This is the key reason you have failed to explain clearly in your previous posts.
Either you’ve been asleep like your Bodoh PM or you simply missed all my previous posts that CLEARLY highlighted this fact. Do not respond to me for the sake of responding as it is a time wasting excercise.
Good luck with your utopia.
#34 by katdog on Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - 11:53 pm
“Either you’ve been asleep like your Bodoh PM or you simply missed all my previous posts that CLEARLY highlighted this fact.” – zak_hammaad
Well you have to excuse me for being so bodoh. So it is just my humble suggestion (to help all of us bodoh people here) next time you want to point out why secularism won’t work in Malaysia please use this exact phrase: “It is Islam that does not recognize secularism”. That really makes things a whole lot clearer than all your fancy explanations. Thanks.
“Do not respond to me for the sake of responding as it is a time wasting excercise.” – zak_hammaad
Don’t sweat it mate. i don’t mind wasting a bit of my time.
“Good luck with your utopia” – zak_hammaad
Thanks. I wouldn’t call it utopia as utopia generally suggests something unachievable. Thanks anyways.