5 reasons why Najib’s apology on behalf of Ahmad inappropriate, inadequate and unacceptable

There are at least five reasons why Umno Deputy President Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s apology on behalf of Bukit Bendera Umno division chief Datuk Ahmad Ismail for the latter’s derogatory, offensive, insensitive and racist reference of the Chinese as “squatters” and untrustworthy Malaysians is inappropriate, inadequate and unacceptable.

Firstly, why is there no public response from Ahmad Ismail himself, who have shown no sense of contrition or remorse whatsoever in the past nine days for his racist slurs of the Malaysian Chinese? Is Ahmad Ismail fully confident that he has the mainstream support of Umno leaders and members, encouraging him to show contempt for the nation-wide furore?

Secondly, how can Najib’s second-hand apology on behalf of Ahmad Ismail be acceptable when Ahmad continues to be defiant and unrepentant? Even if Ahmad Ismail tenders an apology, the question of its adequacy will arise, following the precedent set by the Cabinet in the Wee Meng Chee case over his “Negaraku” rap video-clip last year, when the Cabinet rejected Wee’s apology as inadequate.

Many police reports have been lodged against Ahmad for violating the Sedition Act. Is Najib’s apology meant to be a message to the Police and the Attorney-General that Ahmad should get off scot-free instead of having to face the full weight of the law?

Thirdly, Najib should apologise on behalf of himself and not on behalf of Ahmad as Najib had failed to take immediate or prompt action to reprimand Ahmad for the latter’s racist and seditious speech at a Permatang Pauh by-election ceramah on August 24 which was attended by Najib.

Fourthly, the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi himself should make a public apology for trying to protect and excuse Ahmad Ibrahim for the racist and seditious speech, with the totally unacceptable claim that the Bukit Bendera Umno division chief had not meant what he said and that he would “tell him not to do it again”.

The Prime Minister’s attempt to condone Ahmad’s racist speech caused outrage among right-thinking Malaysians especially as it is the latest example of a series of extremist, racist and seditious outbursts by Umno leaders, such as Umno MPs shouting “Balik Cina” in Parliament and a keris-wielding Umno Youth leader-cum-Education Minister.

Fifthly, the bona fide of Najib’s apology comes into question when this news is blacked out in the Malay mainstream newspapers owned and controlled by UMNO, in particular Utusan Malaysia and Berita Harian. A check with Bernama online shows that Najib’s apology is reported in Bernama’s English news but blacked out in Bernama’s Bahasa Malaysia news.

With such media manipulation of his apology, how much is one to believe Najib when he said that Ahmad’s statement did not reflect the position and attitude of Umno or the leadership of Umno?

If Najib is fully sincere and serious about this statement of the stand of Umno and Umno leadership in dissociating from Ahmad’s speech, why is his statement only allowed to be reported in the non-Malay mainstream media but not in the Malay mainstream media?

Print Friendly

1. #1 by 7even Sins on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 1:04 pm

If Ahmad Ismail were to make to apologize, who is going to do their dirty job in future for UMNO kanninneh?? Najis miscalcuated that his apology did not make him look good with 2 massive Douroucouli’s sparkling eyes (blink..blink) but stink like his own najis..!!!!! People like Ahmad Ismail are non progressive, selfish & KUNO. Malaysia would have no much hope with these extremists around.

2. #2 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 1:08 pm

Such racist and possibly seditious remarks have been quite frequent of late and steps should be taken to stop all this.

Consequently, stern action is warranted and indeed necessary to discourage reoccurence.

It is not sufficient, I think, to just accept this “apology” and “move on” as some suggests. Even the UMNO President treats it very lightly and frivolously when he said he will “speak to Ahmad Ismail and tell him not to do it again” and “Ismail Ahmad did not mean it”.

The news blackout in the Malay mainstream media only shows that many Malays are not aware of the “apology” and they still go about thinking that it is all right to repeat those seditious words.

3. #3 by chinymin on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 1:56 pm

Why is it so difficult for Ahmad Ismail to apologise? Is he not gentleman enough to do it? Even small children know how, when a mistake is made, be it intentional or otherwise. Is this what we consider still a learning curve for him or is it what we call pure hyprocrisy? Your guess!!

4. #4 by k1980 on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 1:56 pm

Ahmad “Squatter” Ismail knows that without the Chinese, this land would have been like Yala and Patani provinces today, annexed by the Siamese and ruled from Bangkok. But, on a brighter note, sabah and Sarawak would had been independent wealthy countries like Brunei

5. #5 by max2811 on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 1:59 pm

There are so many Ahmad Ismails in UMNO. What apology? You think they care? Najib is doing it on his behalf bcos he has his own agenda. But behind the scene, this same Najib will curse and #### all the Chinese if he can.

6. #6 by newchief on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 2:07 pm

i don’t think nashit apology is sincere on behalf of this ahmad and it is not acceptable AT ALL !! if he shows sincerity , he should have done it ON THE SPOT during p44 campaign!! luckily the p44 didn’t react vigourously but pay them back by voting AGAINST THEM !! I SALUTE P44 VOTERS OF PK!!

wether action be taken against ahmad or not, it does not matter because action should be taken intead against bodowi,nashit and hamid for not being BOLD enough to DISCIPLINE his own ‘anak’ Ahmad!! so we just let these anaks to go around insulting other races and these 3 stooges will either say ‘he didn’t mean it, nothing to do with me or umno’ or just keep quiet ?

i hope those who still back bn will now realise that bn cares for no-one but themselves though they claim otherwise. wake up please to bn supporters no matter you are of what color or race and not be sweet talk by these crooks / gangsters or whatever with promises that only you and i can dream about .

7. #7 by aje on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 2:08 pm

The Chinese dont want Najib’s apology.What we want is Ahmad Ismail’s apologies.He should have the guts to make a public apologies becaiuse he has offended and infuriated 6.5 millions Chinese in this country.Anything less than this is unacceptable.With such frequent racist statements by UMNO members I predict more non-malays will not support BN candidates in future elections.I believe if he apologises sincerely the chinese in Malaysia will forgive him.There are so many important issues in the country that needs to be tackled.Please all the MPs and politicians reduce your politicking but concentrate on how to develop our country further.Onwards Malaysia.

8. #8 by Emily Pratt on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 2:08 pm

Sdr Ahmad Ismail,

Please do not apologized, please I beg of you, please continue to show your contempt of No-Bumi M’sian.

You are doing what is expected of your kind (aka UMNO-putra type), your silence and arrogance is the fuel that will drive BN Component MPs out of BN unto PR.

Thank you.

EP

9. #9 by taiking on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 2:13 pm

Look. Look.

Look at how clumsily Najib handled the apology. He is totally unfamiliar with it. And he obviously thought that apologies could be delivered vicariously. He is mistaken. Umno has never done it before. That is why he is so uncertain.

This is one clear evidence that UMNO is arrogant and has never undertaken any damage control measures. Yes. Not even the simple measure of muttering a little apology.

10. #10 by oknyua on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 2:24 pm

Jeffrey, we must be magnanimous, which I don’t agree with this particular case. With the police report made, the sedition act must now apply. I also think we have to act likewise in the case of Nik Aziz. A few reasons:

1. Had that statement was made by non-UMNO people, the person would have been handcuffed.

2. Unbridled tongues are getting far too common, not only from UMNO. Remember Zulkifli.

3. In the case of Ahmad, he is getting both prominence and notoriety and I have a feeling that in UMNO he is also getting more popular. What leadership would he exhibits if one of these days he gets into the national leadership and become a minister? Our multiracial nation can’t afford not to solve this at the bud.

4. Far too long, we associate UMNO=Malay and Malay=UMNO. This is even seen in the comments made in this blog. This is far from reality. I personally don’t want to see our dislike (or hatred) towards UMNO to cover Malays. I have many good Malay friends. So take action against Ahmad and not to allow this issue to simmer further.

5. Similarly we must be able to separate political parties from the Malay race – as others must see Chinese or Indians away from MCA, DAP and MIC.

Just my opinion.

11. #11 by alancheah on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 2:29 pm

PureMalaysian Says:

Today at 09: 45.14 (4 hours ago)
    We dont give a damn whether they apologise or not. Our concern now is whether DSAI really has the 30 cross over MPs by 16 Sep!! That’s more important now! As we all already know that UMNO/BN is totally hopeless and there’s no way we can make them change anymore.

=======================================

I can understand your frustrations, and you are RIGHT..!!!

12. #12 by Yee Siew Wah on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 2:34 pm

I hope this racialistic idiot will “SWEAR” that he did not mean it. Anyway this is their trend with our BN scumbags now.
    We do not need police and laws to get this idiot, if he “SWEARS” he did not do it, then all Umnoputras, MCA, MIC, Gerakan etc… will beleive him.
    Remember this is Bolehland.

13. #13 by kanthanboy on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 2:34 pm

The sixth reason why Najib’s apology is unacceptable:

He did not mean it.

Do you think Bernama would blackout Najib’s apology in its Bahasa Malaysia news without order? Who ordered it?

14. #14 by I Malaysian on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 2:38 pm

I have been following the NTV7 and TV3 prime time news since election this year. Both are owned by same group but if we closely watch the news contents we will know both have different agendas. Whilst NTV7 caters for the English speaking groups mostly non-Malays, the TV3 which is meant for Malays usually splash news mostly to propagate Malay issues that include racial remarks which are aimed at stoking hatred for non-Malays

So when LKS points out Bernama’s strategy to black out Najib’s apology to Chinese in Bahasa version it speaks the volume. It is evident how the MSM and BN have been manipulating the rakyat for the benefit of their political masters.

Yes, I agree Najib’s apology must be rejected.

15. #15 by just a moment on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:03 pm

I really like this “I don’t care what else these scumbags says or do.
    Just get in the New Goment!!”

For all you know this Ahmad is now squatting at some high ranking’s jamban.

We are merely or simply asking Ahmad to say “Sorry”
    The most basic moral teaching we all incalcute to childrens
    and as human beings. You make a mistake, admit it then move on
    and hopefully you learned.

This Step 1. Simple straight forward manner lesson requires the entire Umno to debate, ponder, plot, organised, then perhaps rope in the entire Goment networks to spy, track, stop bloggers, ISA [deleted]
    What other big mega, international plans you were mentioning Umno or BN and how much more the rakyat have to fork out?
    Give it up! We doubt the Goment can ever do anything right let alone all these garbbage about being productive and progress.

16. #16 by Richardqed on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:09 pm

“Make sure that we understand there are many good and nice Malays who have nothing to do with the remarks. We should not hurt them in words. Because of irresponsible remarks by some UMNO leaders, the nice Malays are hurt as well. Remember that the illegal wealth of UMNO politicians are at the expenses of these very nice Malays. The Chinese have the duty to protect and help the nice Malays or any persons who need help, while fighting for our freedom and justice from these UMNO politicians.” — pulau_sibu

Very well said, pulau_sibu. In fact, everyone has a duty to make sure everyone else is aware that they have been bullied and conned and played like fools by the thieves, and that these despicable acts should not go unpunished.

17. #17 by ghinna_lm on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:16 pm

YB,

I would like to draw your attention to the case that this statement was a common statement made by government during the compulsory “Training Camp” of government servants for newly recruit professionals, such as doctors, dentist, pharmist….etc.

Please take this issue seriously, as this statement was thrown to the campers openly, of course 80% of it were Malays. Organiser was trying to input to all campers that all of those non-malays are out-comers of Malaysia, non-malays just TUMPANG in this tanah melayu. They trying to brain wash all the campers, and of course this statement gain silent support from Malays… and non malays cant voice anything…

Would appreciate those non-bumis who attended such courses/camp can stand up and voice it out…. pls pls… we need to correct this…

YB i sincerely hope that you could go into the field and look into this issue.

Rgds
    Ghinna_lm

18. #18 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:18 pm

The apology should be directed to all Malaysians, not the Chinese alone. Uncle Lim should demand him to apologise to all Malaysians. By making such stupid remark, he (a bad Malay) hurt the many nice Malays as well.

19. #19 by just a moment on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:20 pm

O ya, why did najib apologised?

I say, this apology will also include all the rest of his sins, eg- personal, national, home, or international as well. He just hope
    to tumpang on Ahmad case so he can be pardon and its cheaper.Sure can,afterall being doing it all the time. It work.
    He has make his stand.
    Don’t believed?
    He can swear if you want to,
    you know.

20. #20 by ghinna_lm on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:20 pm

Again i do hope YB open up a forum or any platform for those who were being brainwashed with this statement before to voice this out, i trust most of them are from professional field, as those around me involved before are doctors and pharmist, this was critical case…. please please… would appreciate anyone could bring this to surface….

Rgds
    Ghinna_lm

21. #21 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:26 pm

From Malaysiakini:

“Navy overspent RM114 mil on jetty HQ
    Rahmah Ghazali and Syed Jaymal Zahiid | Sep 3, 08 12:12pm

The Auditor-General’s Report 2007 said the project was poorly planned and managed from the beginning.”

Hey, stop! Isn’t the navy from Najib’s Defence ministry? Oh, stop! Isn’t the Razak Baginda’s submarine + Mongolian mystery also from Najib’s Defence ministry?

And Pak Lah thinks Najib is prime ministerial material! Shcocking. Is Pak LAh as stupid as Tun M in the choice of a successor?

You answer that for me.

22. #22 by just a moment on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:31 pm

can anyone help?
    Does anyone knows why our comments are being held back for moderation?
    By the way, are there certain criteria one has to conform before posting?
    If there are, what are they?
    Finally, not least – Who does the moderation?
    What duration one has to wait?
    I notice some are also being [deleted]? by whom?
    Thanks in advance for any info given.
    Cheers

23. #23 by zak_hammaad on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:32 pm

Amongst the racist rants and dirty politics, LKS is plotting to be the first Chinese, non-Muslim DPM.

Only time will tell how this will go down with the Malays.

24. #24 by TKC on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:36 pm

On behalf of all Malaysians (except the UMNO members), We reject the apology by Najib.
    Umno members seemed to be a privileged group to utter any race and religion-sensitive remarks and got scot-free. This is absolutely UNACCEPTABLE.

25. #25 by zak_hammaad on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:37 pm

Richard, it is not one section of the community’s monopoly over who they consider is being ‘bullied and conned’. One of the negative effects of the NEP is that it has sanitised the minds of those who are scrupulously benefitting from it. Telling someone that they are being bullied while they are given the benefits of NEP is nonsensical.

26. #26 by william62 on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:43 pm

Hello, YB Lim K S, Dap seharusnya kerja lebih kuat sekarang di Sarawak dan Sabah. Kemukakan isu-isu berikut untuk menyemarakkkan semangat berkobar-kobar orang Sabah dan Sarawak ”
    1. Isu royalty petroleum
    2. Isu tempoh geran tanah ditambah sekurang-kurangya ke90 tahaun dan ke atas.
    3. Isu bantuan dan pemberian tanah 1000hektar kepada Sekolah Menengah Swasta Cina.
    4. Isu tidak ada jalan raya yang menghubungi kebanyakan kampung dan bandar di bahagian pedalaman misalnya Daerah Baram dan Lawas.
    5. Isu Kemiskinan kaum pribumi di Sarawak dan Sabah
    6. Isu kemunduran Sarawak dari segi pembangunan dan ekonomi walaupun sudah 45 tahun berada dalam Malaysia.
    7. Isu kesusahan untuk mendapat permit membina tempat ibadat bagi penganut bukan Muslim.
    8. Isu kemunduran sektor perubatan di Sarawak . Tiada seorang Haemotologist pun yang ada di Hospital Awam di Sarawak hungga sekarang.
    Usahalah bersungguh-sungguh dan berikan lebih banyak galakkan dan sokongan supaya orang di sini berani BERTINDAKAK dalam usaha PR membuat CHANGE pada 16hb, Sept tahun ini.
    Berita terkini hari ini: Hampir semua lapisan masyarakat dari pelbagai kaum di Sabah dan Sarawaksedang hangat membincangkan isu 16hb Sep, tindak balas menunjukkan 99% menyokong DAP dan PR untuk memawa perubahan , jika DAP dan PKR teruskan usaha, yakin terdapat 40+ MPs sarawak dan Sabah akan pindah ke PR…… ************Dap pula harus mengambilkan peluang ini untuk mendapatkan sebanyak mungkin ahli MPs sarawak dan Sabah untuk menyertai DAP supaya DAP masih menjadi parti BESAR dalam aPkatan Rakayat …….. kalau semua MPs di sini masuk PKR, DAP akan jadi parti nyamuk!!!!!!!!!
    Come on, come on YB LIM KIT SIANG, , jangan lepaskan peluang keemasan ini, orang dari timur sedang menunggu!!!!!!!!!!!!!

27. #27 by cheng on on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:43 pm

Ahmad Ismail, either apologize if you feel you had said some wrong thing OR if you feel what you had said is correct, then go on repeat what U said every week in the newspapers, repeat it in every meetings, repeat it to foreign journalists, whenever you address any crowds, to ‘you tubes’ etc, to stress your points.
    You must be brave to stand by your words (if your words are correct)

28. #28 by lakshy on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:44 pm

Go for the Sedition Act. Let him be charged, and let DPM be implicated too since he was present during the incident, probably even sharing the same stage!

If only the Police was free and FAIR!

29. #29 by william62 on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:46 pm

Berita baik:
    Ramai Menteri dari Sarawak dan Sabah telah bersuara untuk menyokong cadangan LKS untuk menjadikan 16 Sept sebagai Cuti Umum, nampaknya peluang 916 PR menubuhkan kerajaan Persekutuan semakin cerah , teruskan usaha LKS, jangan mudah putus asa!

30. #30 by Emily Pratt on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:47 pm

Zak: “LKS is plotting to be the first Chinese, non-Muslim DPM. Only time will tell how this will go down with the Malays.”

LKS is a bone-fide MP, he holds a M’sian Passport, he is a M’sian citizen, he has attain an age of 21 and above, he is not a bankrupt, I think he is technically allow to hold the position. Where is the problem?

EP

31. #31 by selvarajasomiah on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:50 pm

As a fellow Penangite, Ahmad,has disappointed me and all Penangites tremendously with the racist commentary about the Penang chinese.

The racist attacks on the Penang chinese are unfounded and downright mean to the core. If Ahmad want to support Arif Shah and UMNO, by all means, that is his perrogative and he certainly have the right to endorse Arif Shah if he choose. However, demeaning Penang chinese who have never demeaned him or his fellow UMNO chaps is truly unfair and speaks volumes about the unfair nature of his character.

I guess UMNO Bukit Bendera and all Penangites sees this as well, which is why many in Penang are so bitter.

Just because Penang is control by DAP and the Pakatan, Ahmad Ismail should not attack the Penang chinese with his racist statement.

Ahmad Ismail could never garner enough support at the coming UMNO Bukit Bendera divisional contest. This time he is going to lose his Ketua Bahagian in Bukit Bendera. The bulk of Penang Malays are not like Ahmad. Ahmad should channel his energies into his failing career and cease in attacking those in the political world who have never hurt him directly.

Very disappointing to hear a Penangite talk like that in his own hometown.

His refusal to apologise when facing the wrath of the Chinese community showed how arrogant and insensitive he is to the multiracial society in Penang.

No wonder Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, calls him a low-class politician who has no concern for the feelings of fellow Malaysians.

I thought I liked him and attended his Hari Raya open house last year. I didn’t know he is just another mean jerk who is a racist.

selvaraja somiah

32. #32 by lakshy on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:52 pm

EP,

You should ignore such comments. You should be able to tell who is here to stoke racial sentiments, and who is here to serve their masters. Such persons are here to take the heat off their own masters. I dont even see how his statement finds a place in this particular thread.

Its all diversionary tactics, so dont get dragged into it.

33. #33 by cheng on on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:54 pm

Zak-ham, if no politician trying to brainwash the Malay, then what is wrong with a non Muslim DPM ?? Why must an “orang asing” also trying to brainwash too?

34. #34 by zak_hammaad on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:56 pm

Emily, I never said there was a problem… yet. I do believe that any such intention on part of DAP would see the coalition crumble.

35. #35 by cheng on on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:57 pm

Zak-ham, are U trying to suggest U are more kulitfied for a DPM post than LKS?? even though (admitted by you) you are not born here?

36. #36 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:00 pm

i came to believe Zak might not be what he claims(decoy), are you marina the mamak daughter? lol

37. #37 by zak_hammaad on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:02 pm

cheng, why don’t you ask the Malays. I do not think it is an exaggeration to say that the Malays would rather die than to give up their political powers; that too to a minority race and/or non-Muslims.

Brings the whole argument back to the issue of secularism and it’s general rejection in Malaysia.

38. #38 by m.hwang on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:07 pm

As far as I’m concerned, the more Ahmad Ismail we have, the faster we’ll get a new government.

39. #39 by zak_hammaad on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:10 pm

cheng, you sure have a vivid imagination as if to think ‘if you can’t say something worthwhile, say anything’. I covet no position within the demagoguery of Malaysian politics.

Good day.

40. #40 by Emily Pratt on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:12 pm

Zak, I am a eligible Malaysian voter, and I voted for a non-race based future, if you claim you are a foreigner, then … off, I am the master of my own destiny, and I want non raced based future based on meritocracy.

My forefather can tolerate the old regime, I would not.

If LKS or whoever meets the criteria based on merit, by all means, let him/her be.

EP

41. #41 by cheng on on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:12 pm

Zak-ham, you may be right, as many of the Malay (esp. the village ones) had already been brainwashed all these years (at least 30).
    This must be the only country in this world where a majority race (>57%) is constantly brainwashed by their politicians to be afraid of minority races.

42. #42 by wanderer on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:18 pm

ZAk; The position of a DPM can fall on any MP or Malaysian who is qualified and clean…capable to lead the country. Do you still have the ‘old’ mindset that only a malay must be appointed? Surely by now, we have passed that phase… reserve for malays only!
    Building a better nation by appointing suitable leaders is much better than playing politics. This is also one of the reasons, we are crying for Merdeka II. Why do we fear Change if change will benefit the nation.

43. #43 by cheng on on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:20 pm

Anybody remember this Naji as a keris wielding man in 1987 threatenening the Chinese, never hear him apologize??

44. #44 by m.hwang on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:25 pm

Spot on Cheng. That’s why so many of the older generation are so afraid of CHANGE.

45. #45 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:27 pm

Zak it is the same Barack Obamo was fighting for today! SAME SAME!

46. #46 by badak on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:27 pm

Zak Haammad please define what is KEKUATAN MELAYU and how it benefit us MALAYS in general.Must we be only in UMNO to see its benefit.
    Hard working MALAYS can never go far if they don,t play ball with UMNO.

47. #47 by swipenter on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:29 pm

Regarding the role of MSM in reporting Najib’s apology it is pointed out that malay language newspapers did not report it .My opinion is that no MSM should be owned or controlled by any political party then news could reported without fear or favour and the local media would ” fulfil its solemn duty as one of the most important institutions of a democratic and civilised society. Rather , the local media appears to be merely pliable propagandistic instrument of the political power that be.” I am quoting the late Rustam A. Sani in his book “Failed Nation? Concerns Of A Malaysian Nationalist”

48. #48 by Emily Pratt on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:29 pm

In Ahmad Ismail apologist mode:

“When Sdr Ahmad Ismail mention Chinese are immigrants/pendatang, he actually meant those over-stayed Chinese Passport holders whom are here working as GROs, Masseuse, VCD/DVD peddler.”

I think this is just a case of misreporting by the media. That is why we must censor undesirable alternative media, as only well regulated media will report the truth.

EP

49. #49 by Emily Pratt on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:31 pm

well regulated media means state controlled media…

EP

50. #50 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:32 pm

i mean Barack Obama* sry…. “liberated democracies” not “Communism”, We fought and won that WAR long ago! And now its back in political form!