New Straits Times
23 August 2008, page 43

HONORARY DEGREE AWARD
7TH CONVOCATION CEREMONY UNIVERSITY TUN HUSSEIN ONN MALAYSIA
TO
YANG AMAT MULIA RAJA ZARITH SOFIAH BINTI ALMARHUM
SULTAN IDRIS AL-MUTAWAKIL ALALLAHI SHAH
D.K.II, S.P.M.J., S.P.C.M.

Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith Sofiah binti Almarhum Sultan Idris Al-Mutawakil Alallahi Shah has born on 14th of August 1959 in Hospital Batu Gajah, Perak. Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith is a third son to Duli Yang Maha Mulia Paduka Seri Sultan Perak Darul Ridzwan and Duli Yang Maha Mulia Raja Mazuwin binti almarhum Raja Arif Shah.

Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith Sofiah get early education in Sekolah Rendah Jenis Kebangsaan Datin Khadijah Kuala Kangsar in the state his birthplace namely in Perak. After end of the education in primary school, Yang Amat Mulia continue the education to form one at Sekolah Jenis Kebangsaan Raja Perempuan Kalsom Kuala Kangsar, Perak.

In the month of September 1972, Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith Sofiah have set forth to England for further education in Chaltenham Ladies College, Gloucestershire to form six. Then, Yang Amat Mulia continue learning it in Davies College London in September 1977 and his following year in receive enter to Somerville College, London after having passed Oxford Entrance Examination.

After graduated at Oxford University with Bachelor of Art in June 1983 and follow the traditional University of Oxford, Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith will receive Master of Art after three years in 1986. Yang Amat Mulia also is a linguist follow several courses including language Mandarin at the tertiary level, French and Italy language.

As his father, Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith Sofiah is a person that talented in picture arts. Refinement of soul, Yang Amat Mulia always watching natural beauty environment immortalize in the form photograph and painting to make look and reference. Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith performance become guide to deliver the message education to general public. Yang Amat Mulia concern on women and natural world and it custody aspect in become deep theme in painting.

Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith Sofiah comply have interest profoundest field documentation. Apart from producing book, Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith doubled up guest writer in the The New Straits Times newspapers and in personal column it “Mind Matters” in The Star newspaper. Besides writing, Yang Amat Mulia comply active presenting a working paper at the conference national level and international.

Education from her father and mother over concern to the people, make Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith Sofiah likes engaged in voluntary activities about as Deputy President of Majlis Wanita Johor (ROSE), Chief of Persatuan Pandu Puteri Malaysia Johor branch, Chairman of Nationalistic Community Service Red Crescent Malaysia, Patron of Spastic Children School in Johor Bahru, Patron Rotary Club of Tebrau Foundation, Advisor of Traditional Arts School International in London and become Pro Chancellor University Technology Malaysia (UTM) and becomen Royal Felllow Faculty of Language and Linguistic University Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM).

As the appreciation towards her contributions of ideas and efforts in the development of education in Malaysia, Chancellor of University Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia, Duli Yang Amat Mulia Tunku lbrahim lsmail lbni Sultan lskandar, Tunku Mahkota Johor, has approbation to presented the awards to Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith Sofiah binti Almarhum Sultan Idris Al-Mutawakil Alallahi Shah the Honorary Doctorate of Philosophy in Education at 7th Convocation Ceremony of University Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia in this year. Congratulation from us, University Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia members.

Click on the image to download the scanned advertorial (pdf).

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Ken G on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 1:43 pm

Gosh! Even Zimbabwe has better English standard than us. This is what happens cast aside meritocracy for skin colour.

2. #2 by Ken G on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 1:44 pm

Correction – This is what happens when you cast aside meritocracy for skin colour.

3. #3 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 1:47 pm

University Tun Hussein Onn grants PhD?

The boleh universities are tools serving the politicians.

4. #4 by Freddy on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 1:54 pm

what about this …. a secondary student essay ….

First, we see a bog of you not see him you can call the neighbours contact numbers and saw training what to look out for the home.

Second sometime you can cut bushes to give neighbours can see you in home and hide to easily broken in windows and doors.

After, some time you get out you home let radia and lights on even you are not at home burglas think people are at home.

Last you can use this to not give burglars in your home.

========
    yea yea … English …. Made-in-Malaysia!!
    hahahahahahaha or how about this one here …

Dear John,

How are you? I well and hope you in the well also.

=======
    and then the famed English from a certain teacher teaching Maths …

5-2 as in ‘five push two’ (direct translation from BM lima tolak dua)

======
    or this one here, a student asked to fill in the form to state his father’s occupation…

Occupation: Caterpillar driver … (because the kid went home and saw the word ‘caterpillar’ on the excavator)

hahahahaha

5. #5 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 1:58 pm

Inggerrish as it is broke…

Speechless…

Who was the person who switched the language of instruction from English to Malay?

6. #6 by melurian on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 1:59 pm

the university probably testing their “translation” bm to english software, and it’s obviously failed……..

7. #7 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:00 pm

Lee Kuan Yew was smart; he made Malay, Mandarin, Tamil and English the official languages of Singapore and each of the four languages was given equal attention and emphasis. Lee Kuan Yew was a far-sighted minister.

8. #8 by sani on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:03 pm

YB

Now i believe that a former Menteri Besar of Selangor was innocent. He really didn’t understand English, as proven here.

9. #9 by Tulip Crescent on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:05 pm

This is August, and I thought it was an April’s Joke.

But never mind lah, Malaysia sudah berjaya!

10. #10 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:06 pm

CARE NOT! xD

I GO BACK HOME ‘aKu balik rumah”… byebye!

11. #11 by lakshy on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:08 pm

YB,

When you put this in, I didn’t understand it at first. I was worried that you were attacking YAM Raja Zarith Sofiah who is held in high regard both in Perak and Johor.

Its only now that I realise that it was an advertorial that appeared in NST. And she is a Princess (not a son?). They have sooooo murdered the language and in the process, …..

I hope NST and the Uni is hauled up and made to apologise for this!

12. #12 by yellow on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:09 pm

Congratulations UMNO, for achievement profoundest in language English. LOL

13. #13 by just a moment on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:09 pm

One has to witness “Seeing Is Believing!”
    Higly ludicrous!! Reminds me of “Mind Your Language”
    Thats Why lah, No wonder lah, patut lah -
    Don’t ever let others get into our one race Uni.
    Its a mockery, other students will laugh till drop.

Only, only if they ask for help from ppl on this blog.
    Good enough lah. Cannot imagine the rest of it..
    perhaps Phua Chu kang can make something out of this.
    Sure hit.

14. #14 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:17 pm

Malay ‘patriotism’ blinded the UMNOputeras and now the state education quality as a whole is paying the price! To think you can compete globally without a proficient grasp of English 2/3 decades ago was a treacherous decision.

15. #15 by PureMalaysian on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:20 pm

I think by using Google Translating tool, we will yield better translation! ;(

16. #16 by yyh on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:20 pm

for goodness sake, why dont they just have that in bahasa malaysia.

17. #17 by oct on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:22 pm

YAM Raja Zarith Sofiah should demand an apology from the university for portraying her in such an horrible manner. She deserves better profile narration. You are dealing with Royalty and not the ordinary Yang Berhormat here. Better still, sack the person who did this write up.

No wonder all our ministers are sending their children overseas to study. Our Education system is really screwed up. All the time we are wondering how our Malaysians are trained when all the technical and instruction books are in English. Not surprised if our sophisticated equipments are left idle without proper understanding of the manuals.

The Rakyat knows the Education system is no good for global competition. Yet our BN Govt doesn’t think so. Too bad, we will be left behind.

To secure for a better future and education system, we need a change of government. One who has the vision and foresight to map out a strategy for our children to compete with the world!!!!

18. #18 by xaviers on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:22 pm

Why worry? Nothing to worry about

We are getting rid of English from the school syllabus…right.

19. #19 by kanthanboy on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:27 pm

//Occupation: Caterpillar driver//

I think this student has good sense of humour.
    I have a friend who is a Chartered Accountant and expert in handling bankruptcy and receivership. All his friends refer him as an undertaker.

20. #20 by kennykhooks on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:28 pm

Mind you language, PCK , your england as bad as mine!

must be a by product of UiTM. Syabas malaysia boleh!

21. #21 by cheng on on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:29 pm

Thought Raja Zarith is a woman, then how can she be the third son to ……..???

22. #22 by voice on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:29 pm

Totally funny!

23. #23 by cheng on on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:34 pm

There are too many mistakes for anyone to correct !

24. #24 by max2811 on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:34 pm

This is what happens when you have NEP/Ketuanan UMNO. I am an English teacher for the past 28 years. I was English educated. One of the few remaining dinosaurs. I have a distinction in English.

I was rejected when I applied for an English degree course many years back. Ppl with a degree in English now can’t even speak or write proper English. They have no confidence in presentation or conversation. Some feel threatened by my fluency.

This article is just one of the many that has plenty of mistakes. It will take another generation to undo what TDM has done.

25. #25 by oknyua on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:36 pm

Ha..ha..but now, are you sure this English is the product of a Malaysian University? Lets look at just one paragraph:

“As his father, Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith Sofiah is a person that talented in picture arts. Refinement of soul, Yang Amat Mulia always watching natural beauty environment immortalize in the form photograph and painting to make look and reference. Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith performance become guide to deliver the message education to general public. Yang Amat Mulia concern on women and natural world and it custody aspect in become deep theme in painting.”

No, I refuse to acknowledge this as a product of our education. I spent three months among the Papua New Guinea natives and this English seemed to originate from one of the orginal mountain tribes in that area – the tribe that has nothing over their bodies. I was there teaching them English and this is the product of my three months’ work. Good.

26. #26 by cheng on on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:41 pm

I’m from chinese school, and yet I can see many mistakes, I got only a C6 in SPM

27. #27 by chinymin on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:42 pm

It is an insult to our Malaysian English language. I would suggest a good English teacher be employed to thoroughly scrutinize and correct such articles before publication.

“Malaysia Boleh?”

28. #28 by boilingmad on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:43 pm

One can forgive the author; to the university, some forgiveness since it is run by ppl who also don’t have command of the language. But NST???? Supposedly THE English language newspaper that has been around for so many decades? To print and advertorial without even looking at it? Don’t they have any sense of responsibility to make sure that whatever is being printed in their paper is grammatically correct? Remember, some students buy their paper to improve their language skills. This also reflects on the poor quality standards of NST.

29. #29 by just a moment on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:47 pm

Correction: Malay ‘patriotism’ blinded the UMNOputeras and now the state education quality as a whole is paying the price!

Its the other way round, Umnoputeras blinded the Malays.
    As leaders, they should know what’s trully beneficial for the Malays.
    Theres nothing wrong being patrotic, but not be lead by Blind and egocentric leaders.

Bottom line, Stop the self-denial or blaming game, open up and move on with the New Goment.

30. #30 by PHUAKL on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:53 pm

Err … YB Lim

Are you sure this was not written by a member of the
    Nigdip Hsilgne tribe that was somehow completely
    isolated (after mid 1969) and evolved their own special
    dialect of Pigdin English in Malaysia? Maybe we should be
    proud that the Nigdip tribe is contributing to the continuing
    evolution of English in this part of the world.
    (Notwithstanding that reading the writings of this tribe can
    give the rest of us a splitting headache. :) )

Phua Kai Lit

31. #31 by FY Lim on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:53 pm

Wow ! This is ” England ” at its worst. I beleve our beloved YAM Raja Zarith Sofiah does not deserve such advertorial written by an England expert in University Tun Hussein Onn.

The least the University should have done was to double check the correctness of the language and grammar before sending it to the press. Then The NST itself just accept without proof reading the text. What a shame NST and a big letdown to our YAM Raja Zarith Sofiah. Was the text censored by the Dean of the Language dept in the University as well as the VC ?

For goodness sake , if the University lecturers are not proficient in the English language , then write them in BM. Jangan ” tunjuk tunjuk sahaja “.

32. #32 by FY Lim on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:53 pm

Wow ! This is ” England ” at its worst. I beleve our beloved YAM Raja Zarith Sofiah does not deserve such advertorial written by an England expert in University Tun Hussein Onn.

The least the University should have done was to double check the correctness of the language and grammar before sending it to the press. Then The NST itself just accept without proof reading the text. What a shame NST and a big letdown to our YAM Raja Zarith Sofiah. Was the text censored by the Dean of the Language dept in the University as well as the VC ?

For goodness sake , if the University lecturers are not proficient in the English language , then write them in BM. Jangan ” tunjuk tunjuk sahaja “.

33. #33 by JeyS on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:54 pm

Not suprising with such standards! Hey…this is MANGLISH (malay-english) for you.

34. #34 by melurian on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:56 pm

actually, if the translation tool software (probably created by the univ) able to convert bm to english at this level, it’s already consider good …..

a bit of fine tuning and patching up might be able to turn the software into world-class translation tool…..

35. #35 by melurian on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:57 pm

“Remember, some students buy their paper to improve their language skills. This also reflects on the poor quality standards of NST.”

now i remember that ad …. don belok-belok, straight saje….

36. #36 by homeblogger on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 3:03 pm

Off hand, I’d say that this was a translation done by either a synonym-generating software or an internal staff.

If not, then shame on them because they did not have the sense to run it through a qualified editor or proofreader.

And so as the Government continues to deliberate on the necessity of continuing to teach Maths and Science in English, I laugh. I have told my children that if they revert to Malay, we will still be okay because my wife and I were educated in these 2 subjects in Malay. At the most, they will have to work harder for a couple of months to get the feel for the language and they will then move on from there. But the Malays will continue to languish in their blissful ignorance, proud and happy to be jaguh kampungs when they are in school. Sooner or later, reality will hit them.

And when my children graduate (even if they only have a diploma), they will be highly employable because they are proficient in English and are able to express themselves, while their Malay friends who so eloquently and galantly fought to protect the sanctity of their mother tongue will humbly seek government aid to re-learn English like kindergarten children.

37. #37 by SK2 on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 3:25 pm

If we care to look (sign boards, web-sites, explanatory write-up in museums etc), mistakes of such nature are quite common nowadays especially amongst government departments.

It is quite embarassing as these write-up are also read by our foreign visitors. Actually it takes just a couple of minutes to correct some of the mistakes. Persons in charge should be more careful before publishing them.

38. #38 by ahkok1982 on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 3:28 pm

Kind of reminds me of this guy who wrote this essay in primary school…

“During Chinese New Year, please do come to my house. I will cut my cock and let you eat.”

But then what was written by this Made-In-UMNO is far far worse…

39. #39 by queequeg on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 3:34 pm

Horrible! An utterly atrocious advertorial with grave implications to the prestige & image of the higher institution of learning. I shall download this and give it to my students as a good example of bad grammar and vocabulary (what’s approbation?).
    I’m sure our English teachers will cringe when they read this article but I’m not surprised if some of them fail to detect any mistakes ;)

Sigh…this is the result of a f****ed up education system.

40. #40 by Emily Pratt on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 3:35 pm

Wat is wrong the Engrish? I red & red butt culden fin anythink wrong. YB Kit, nuthing is wrung, our Engrish is vely purfek OK!

EP

41. #41 by HB Lim on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 3:39 pm

JeyS, Manglish is not Malaysian English but Mangled English. The UiTM students should probably come out in droves and demonstrate for the right to mangle the English Language our own way and the right to determine and set our own linguistic standards. Truly soul-crushing to reflect on how we have deteriorated in so many aspects over the last 50 years. And totally exasperated to see so many politicians and citizens still exhorting a completely twisted version of ugama, bangsa dan negara. Where do I run to to get away from all this shamelessness? Believe me, the writer of that advertorial and the English Language experts surrounding him are still in a state of denial and asking what the fuss is all about over a small matter. It is not just a piece of bad writing. It is a sad reflection of how much the Malaysian standards in most things have deteriorated as a result of the displacement of meritocracy.

42. #42 by k1980 on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 3:41 pm

The writer of the above Advertorial, instead of being penalised by his bosses, will be made Chief Editor of the NST in a couple of years. As the saying goes, ‘He who laughs last, laughs loudest.”

43. #43 by I Malaysian on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 3:43 pm

I wrote to malaysiakini expressing my shock over this advertorial but for some reason it did not appear. Subsequently I forwarded to Tony Pua after reading his blog on education bill. Now I reproduce that letter here..

Date: 8/25/2008 12:37:31 PM
    To: tonypua@yahoo.com
    Subject: Fw: Inept Accolade to Award

Dear Tony,

I sent this article to Malaysiakini upon reading a gibberish advertorial in NST. After viewing your blog today I believe it is important that you too need to know the traumatic experience I had after reading the said message. Please bring this up!

God bless all Malaysians

——-Original Message——-

Date: 8/24/2008 2:33:56 AM
    To: editor@malaysiakini.com
    Subject: Inept Accolade to Award

Inept Accolade to Award

University Tun Hussein Onn, published an advertorial in the NST (23.8.08) on page page 43, to congratulate Her Highness, Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith Sofiah, on the award of an honorary doctorate of Philosophy in Education at its 7th convocation ceremony.

Virtually every sentence in every paragraph is not only wrong grammatically, the gender of Her Highness has also been changed. One has to pause and wonder with dismay and disgust at the ineptitude of the administrators of this University who are guilty of gross negligence in allowing this advertorial to be published.

They are also guilty of committing an act bordering “Lesse Majeste” (disrespect of Royalty) to not only the recipient of the award but also to the chancellor of the University, who happens to be her husband, His Highness the Tengku Mahkota of Johor.

Her Highness Raja Zarith Sofiah, is a lady who is an author of distinction who writes in beautiful English. Her writing on family values, ethical behaviour as well as her pieces on “Mind Matters” have been well received by her numerous readers.

This advertorial demeans Her Highness and all that she has achieved. If this is the level of competence in the English language at tertiary level, especially amongst University administrators and academics, then it is indeed a very sorry state of affairs.

The minister of Higher Education should ensure that those responsible for the publication of this gibberish should publicly apologize to their majesties. The Vice-Chancellor should take responsibility of this disgraceful episode and resign forthwith.

All institutions of higher learning in this country have been tainted by this advertorial. Perhaps the NIE should conduct a suitable programme to ensure all administrators and academics in our Institutions of higher learning are competent in the English Language.

44. #44 by Yee Siew Wah on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 3:44 pm

Oh my….god….
    This is the type of people we have in our university. My friends sons in std 6 (chinese school) may even write better than this.
    I am no “englishi” expert. I was real confuse to understand this piece of work wriiten this brilliant guy. I dont know whether i want to laugh or what.
    Really amazing that our education especially English (which is an international language) has gone down to such a low level. See this brilliant guy is a by-product of our education policy expounded by our Umnoputras. These scumbags even got the cheek to encourage foreign students to come and study in our so called universities. I pity those foreign students la.
    This so called Education minister should be the first person to be kicked out of his job WITH IMMEDIATE EFFECT.
    Alas, I know this call will be in vain. Because these scumbags either have no brains or still in slumber and denial mode. God help Malaysia!!!

45. #45 by seage on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 3:56 pm

Ahkok, you had me ROFLMAO-RH (RH-Real Hard) HAHAHAHA.

Anyway, lets see some re-translation hehehe:

“As his father, Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith Sofiah is a person that talented in picture arts.”
    Suggested BM translation:
    Seperti Ayahnya, Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith Sofiah adalah seorang yang berbakat dalam gambar seni.

“Education from her father and mother over concern to the people, make Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith Sofiah likes engaged in voluntary activities”
    Suggested BM translation:
    Pendidikan daripada Ayah dan Ibu beliau tentang keprihatinan terhadap rakyat membuat Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith Sofiah suka terlibat dalam aktiviti sukarela.

hmm…. seems like a direct translation…? No?

46. #46 by I Malaysian on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 3:56 pm

The VC of Universiti Tun Hussein Onn have apologized in another advertorial published in NST, I guess it was Friday last week. This time their English was of high standard.

47. #47 by achia3 on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 4:02 pm

I can’t believe what I am reading here. 51yrs of independence and we still have people writing like this? I hope he did not read it word for word in the presentation ceremony. The receipient must have dug a whole for his/her head. Reading this really brings back memory of my trip to Shanghai. So soli, I hope I no hurt people here.

48. #48 by thom on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 4:04 pm

May I remind the readers here who are critical on the mistakes of the advertorial that some of us here displayed a lack of proficiency in English as well when leaving our comments. One should always be conscious of his own shortcomings before passing judgement on others.

>=)

49. #49 by baoqingtian on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 4:06 pm

How come nobody edited it before it was published?

50. #50 by Richardqed on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 4:09 pm

“The VC of Universiti Tun Hussein Onn have apologized in another advertorial published in NST, I guess it was Friday last week. This time their English was of high standard.” — I Malaysian

Apology or not, it comes too late. It’s already a laughing stock. As usual, no heads need to roll for screw-ups like this in Bolehland.

1 2 3 5

Comments are closed.