The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi in his 51st National Day Message called on every Malaysian to give importance to solidarity, as “it is the cornerstone of the country’s political stability, social harmony and economic competitiveness”.
However, the Prime Minister has caused great dismay and distress among right-thinking Malaysians as he has chosen to demonstrate his “solidarity” with the Bukit Bendera Umno chief, Datuk Ahmad Ismail who had made offensive, insensitive, derogatory and racist remarks about the Malaysian Chinese during the Permatang Pauh by-election campaign –referring to the Chinese as pendatang, orang tumpang and totally untrustworthy Malaysians.
Why is the Prime Minister not prepared to show “solidarity” with right-thinking Malaysians who deplore Ahmad Ismail’s insensitive, offensive, derogatory and racist remarks about the Malaysian Chinese.
I will declare my solidarity with what is right, just and true – including deploring insensitive, offensive, derogatory and racist remarks whether referring to the Malays, Indians, Kadazans or Ibans, whether it is made by a Chinese or non-Chinese leader.
Why is Abdullah not prepared to take a similar stand?
MCA, Gerakan and SUPP Ministers, Deputy Ministers and leaders may not dare to tell Abdullah, then let me say it loud and clear to the Prime Minister – that his protection and condonation of Ahmad Ismail’s offensive and derogatory references to the Chinese in Malaysia, seeking to make light of the furore, has caused even more dismay and distress than Ahmad’s original offence.
It raises the question whether Abdullah has forgotten his pledge to be Prime Minister for all Malaysians and not just for any one race or one political party.
It also raises the question whether the Prime Minister and all Cabinet Ministers realize that they should always be exemplars of Bangsa Malaysia, who not only respect all races, religions, languages and cultures in plural Malaysia but ever-prepared to be role models to admonish all conduct unbecoming of a Bangsa Malaysia in showing insensitivity, disrespect or contempt for other races, religions, languages or cultures like what Ahmad Ismail had done especially when such disgraceful misconduct come from within their ranks.
The Ahmad Ismail furore has become a test case, not only for MCA, Gerakan and SUPP Ministers, Deputy Ministers, MPs and leaders but for everyone from the Barisan Nasional component parties, including Umno, as well.
Malaysians are entitled to ask whether, on the 51st National Day anniversary, there are any and if so, how many BN Ministers and leaders regard themselves as Bangsa Malaysia and are prepared to stand up in Cabinet on Wedneday, the Barisan Nasional Supreme Council and in public to make clear that derogatory references to the Malaysian Chinese or any other community, religion, language or culture is reprehensible, completely unacceptable and must attract the severest censure.
Ten days before the 51st Merdeka anniversary, there were UMNO MPs who behaved most boorishly in shouting “Balik Cina” in Parliament – the height of disrespect and contempt for a plural Malaysia after more than half-a-century of nation-building – and yet there had not been any censure by any Umno leader or a squeak of protest by any MCA, Gerakan or SUPP leader over this episode!
Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak said two days ago that the Barisan Nasional had taken cognizance of the thrashing the BN received in the Permatang Pauh by-election and is taking steps to restore the people’s confidence in the coalition.
He said that “it is natural that we have to listen to the people and the BN, as a political party, will have to listen and evaluate the voices and feedback”.
But the BN has learnt nothing if Ahmad Ismail is allowed to get away scot-free despite making such insensitive, offensive, racist and derogatory remarks about the Chinese in Malaysia. What is most shocking is that Ahmad Ismail had made such offensive remarks at a Permatang Pauh by-election ceramah which was attended by Najib himself, and the Deputy Prime Minister had done nothing to reprimand Ahmad Ismail.
It is not only MCA, Gerakan, SUPP, but all other BN parties including UMNO who are facing this acid test – whether all their claim that they had heard the voices of the people and are prepared to learn from the lessons of the two “political tsunamis” in six months are just empty and meaningless words!

#1 by Jeffrey on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 10:12 pm
just a moment said – “Latest joke in Bolehland: Now, Ahmad is missing”.
He better be. He not only caused many Malaysian Chinese distress by referring to them as ‘pendatang, orang tumpang’ (MCA, Gerakan and now DAP have lofdged police report against him – he has also caused the premier and the BN equal if not greater distress…..
Sure, we have heard racist remarks before from politicians of ilk about which UMNO had done nothing, one example of the many : “Malaysia is an Islamic state, you don’t like it, you get out of Malaysia!” attributed to Badrudin Amiruldin (BN), July 2005 – Debating on the status of Malaysia as an Islamic state – or worse than that “Datuk Hisham has unsheathed his keris, waved his keris, kissed his keris. We want to ask Datuk Hisham when is he going to use it?” spoken in UMNO Assembly November 2006.
Where it is unfortunate for Datuk Ahmad Ismail is the timing he made these remarks much more than their contents. He could have chosen a worse timing. It was a time just before Merdeka on which the PM main theme was “solidarity” of all Malysians. “No one citizen is recognised as being of a higher position than another in this nation. This nation belongs to all of us. Whether we rise or fall depends on all of us,” the PM said. Besides, it was also spoken in Permatang Pauh by election campaign in which Opposition leader contesting on the banner of multiracialism won spectacularly against BN’s campaign based on race; it was a time when the victor Anwar is rooting for cross overs from BN’s side and will find what Ahmad said most favourable to engender support especially from MCA and Gerakan’s rank and file.
In a political commentary Wan Hamidi (political editor) of MalaysiaInsider puts it best : Is Ahmad’s tongue undermining the BN???? Will his racist remarks be trigger and catalyst for rank and file topressure MCA, Gerakan and other BN component parties to heed DSAI’s call to defect BN to PR’s side, especialy when he made remarks in presence of BN chief Whip Najib and the PM is perceived to have apologised for him by the statement : “I will tell him (Ahmad) not to do it again. You know in a campaign all sorts of things can come up. I don’t think he meant it. I’ll make sure to tell him not to use it again.”
These events lend credenceto Opposition allegations that non Malay componet parties within BN especialy MCA are subservient to UMNO and hence cannot represent and in fact betray their constitutencies’ interest making it more untenable for these parties to remain within BN’s fold when DSAI is calling……….
What Ahmad has done is to unwittingly deliver to Pakatan Rakyat a bountiful plate of political capital that Pakatan needs to meet its 16th September deadline. :)
#2 by ybk on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 10:21 pm
All party leaders of MCA & GERAKAN should go and jump into the ocean and drown themselves. These idiots are a disgrace to the Chinese Comminity.
#3 by Jeffrey on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 10:24 pm
Repost : the latest joke Datuk Ahmad Ismail has joined ranks of Private detective Bala & Hospital Pusrawi’s Dr Muhamad Osman Abdul Hamid and gone (reportedly) “missing”. He better be. He not only caused many Malaysian Chinese distress by referring to them as ‘pendatang, orang tumpang’ (MCA, Gerakan and now DAP have lofdged police report against him – he has also caused the premier and the BN equal if not greater distress…..
Sure, we have heard racist remarks before from politicians of ilk about which UMNO had done nothing, one example of the many : “Malaysia is an Islamic state, you don’t like it, you get out of Malaysia!” attributed to Badrudin Amiruldin (BN), July 2005 – Debating on the status of Malaysia as an Islamic state – or worse than that “Datuk Hisham has unsheathed his keris, waved his keris, kissed his keris. We want to ask Datuk Hisham when is he going to use it?” spoken in UMNO Assembly November 2006.
Where it is unfortunate for Datuk Ahmad Ismail is the timing he made these remarks much more than their contents. He could NOT have chosen a worse timing. It was a time just before Merdeka on which the PM main theme was “solidarity” of all Malysians. “No one citizen is recognised as being of a higher position than another in this nation. This nation belongs to all of us. Whether we rise or fall depends on all of us,” the PM said. Besides, it was also spoken in Permatang Pauh by election campaign in which Opposition leader contesting on the banner of multiracialism won spectacularly against BN’s campaign based on race; it was a time when the victor Anwar is rooting for cross overs from BN’s side and will find what Ahmad said most favourable to engender support especially from MCA and Gerakan’s rank and file.
#4 by Jeffrey on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 10:25 pm
In a political commentary Wan Hamidi (political editor) of MalaysiaInsider puts it best : Is Ahmad’s tongue undermining the BN???? Will his racist remarks be trigger and catalyst for rank and file topressure MCA, Gerakan and other BN component parties to heed DSAI’s call to defect BN to PR’s side, especialy when he made remarks in presence of BN chief Whip Najib and the PM is perceived to have apologised for him by the statement : “I will tell him (Ahmad) not to do it again. You know in a campaign all sorts of things can come up. I don’t think he meant it. I’ll make sure to tell him not to use it again.”
These events lend credenceto Opposition allegations that non Malay componet parties within BN especialy MCA are subservient to UMNO and hence cannot represent and in fact betray their constitutencies’ interest making it more untenable for these parties to remain within BN’s fold when DSAI is calling……….
#5 by aje on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 10:29 pm
Please dont offend the chinese anymore.Whether Ahmad likes it or not we the Malaysian Chinese are here to stay.This is a fact and he cant deny.Long live Malaysian Chinese!
#6 by limkamput on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 10:43 pm
BN_UMNO know by now they can’t match PR on multiracialism. They used the racial card for too long. Since it is too late for them to embrace change, they think it is logical for them to retreat to racist cocoon. This is precisely what they are doing now. With docile non-UMNO component parties, this will be their last bastion to revive ketuanan and parochialism. Don’t write them off yet. Racism and bigotry in this country is still very much alive.
#7 by KennyGan on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 10:45 pm
As LKS has wryly observed, it was the PM’s mild comments which generated a greater storm than the original racist comments.
A real leader would have demanded that Ahmad apologize and refer him to the disciplinary committee. The matter would have ended there and then.
But Badawi is no leader, he is a follower. He is totally devoid of leadership qualities. He doesn’t deserve to sit in the highest office in the land.
#8 by KennyGan on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 10:49 pm
By the way, the silence from other Umno leaders is deafening. The only comment is by that Kelantan Umno guy and he came out not to condemn Ahmad but to chastise Gerakan for demanding action .
So Gerakan and MCA should know what their bedfellows are made of. Shame on them for compromising their dignity to stay in BN.
#9 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 11:17 pm
hadi Says:
Today at 17: 47.19 (4 hours ago)
PM is as usual. what do you get from someone of his integrity. But the clown Ahmad Ismail was speaking in the present of DPM.So what about Najib-biasa la he will try to “typical of his character” play safe la brother. Takut kena hantam. Pretending la… as though it never happen and quietly try to avoid the issue and let PM be the punching bag . Oh man real shit… leaders.
Haha i found that one pretty 100% perfect shot!…
Budget anounce Bodowi embrace KAWAN by clap on Najis shoulder haha!…
KAWAN stab you from behind you also dunno! both perfecting their act but stabbing eachother silently, i really salut u both as Most Phetatic Actor Of The Year!…
Guys, Ismail were nothing but a tool, his superior behind the role and get away with it are most evil character above all.
GG!
#10 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 11:25 pm
Hey, can someone please tell me Ahmad Ismail’s genealogy. I just want to see who has the last laugh – squatting!
I am an nth generation malaysian. I don’t even know when my grandparents or greta-grandparents or great-great grandparents come to malaysia.
And I know all members of my genealogy tree pay their taxes, the fruits of which the likes of Ahmad Ismail plucks from! Besides, in a globalised world and economy, the likes of hoity-toity people like Ahmad Ismail deserves nothing but pure contempt.
And whilst we are looking for Ahmad Ismail’s genealogy, can someone also reveal his IRS’s records? Would like to know how big a sucker he is.
#11 by limkamput on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 11:49 pm
“the silence from other Umno leaders is deafening.” Kenny
That is why Ahmad’s word can’t be unintentional. In the final analysis, UMNO may as well use the racist card to draw whatever support that is left. The strategy is quite simple – get the Malays and natives of Sarawak and Sabah solidly behind UMNO, Gerakan, MCA and SUPP can all go timbaktu.
#12 by limkamput on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 11:52 pm
correction: The strategy is quite simple – get the Malays and natives of Sarawak and Sabah solidly behind UMNO, other BN component parties such as Gerakan, MCA and SUPP can all go timbaktu.
#13 by cheng on on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 11:55 pm
Can we keep this Ahmad Ismail words unitl next GE, highlight this every months til next GE.
Meanwhile, all non bumi should boycott him or his family members, hv absolutely nothing to do with him. No business whatsoever, dont sell him anything (food, tools, services, etc)
#14 by wtf2 on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 11:56 pm
HOW COME EVERYONE FORGOT about the malaysian rapper incident where he had to apologise for singing the truth about the state of the nation in his song. The same should and must apply
Make the moron apologise to the nation
#15 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 11:57 pm
wait for Next GE malaysia already bankrup!!!
#16 by cheng on on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 11:58 pm
cheng on Says:
Today at 22: 53.19 (1 hour ago)
If only all these “squatters” take a 7 days rest, don’t work, don’t open shops, take 7 days sick leave or annual leave or whatever at the same time, and see what happen to Msia!
And all “squatter” shall hv nothing to do with this Ahmad Ismail, dont repair his house, dont sell anything to him, dont treat any of his sick family member, absolutely no business with him or his family member, directly or indirectly, dont service his cars, dont carry anything food or anything for him. Print his pictures and pasted all over the places, post this racist in you tube etc.
Do you know that Indonesia is asking their Chinese Indonesians who are outside Indonesia to return to Indonesia?
#17 by pastaman on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 11:59 pm
Abdullah is WEAK, WEAKENING, WEAKENED, Abdullah was, is, will be IRRELEVANT, IRRELEVANT, IRRELEVANT. Same goes for MCA, MIC, GERAKAN …Let’s all move on and make Malaysia a BETTER PLACE from now.
#18 by Common People on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 12:03 am
It has always been like that, let’s get used to it. When Karpal made some comments about Perak Sultan’s decision, they made police reports, and the police also responded very efficiently. Then Karpal reported about AAB’s comments with regards to the appointment of Terengganu’s MB, in which AAB claimed that the appointment by the Terengganu Sultan was unconstitutional, everything quiet down.
Ahmad Ismail didn’t mean what he said, even if he say it again tomorrow he still doesn’t mean it. But Lim Guan Eng must not say anything about abolishing NEP, UMNO will gather a group of people to surround KOMTAR, police will also investigate, because he means it. You got it? Let’s get used to it.
A suggestion to YAB LGE, next time you talk about abolishing NEP, tell them you don’t mean it. I mean it!
#19 by The Enforcer on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 12:17 am
It’s not enough to refer to them as GOONS anymore!
From now on they should be refered to as BLOODY RACIST GOONS!
To the other component parties at BN, see for yourselves what the BLOODY RACIST GOONS have evolved into!
Think ahead for your future generations!
Make them proud MALAYSIANS who will always remember you by!
Do not create OSTRICHES out of them, always burying their heads as though nothing happens, the moment your name is mentioned!
To the grassroots of the other component parties, if your leaders are chicken heads cos’ of their personal benefits, then you yourselves, the grassroot levels leave them behind enmass!
This time round is the best opportunity for us RAKYAT to make what this beautiful country is suppose to be, FOR ALL MALAYSIANS IRRESPECTIVE OF RACE OR RELIGION!
#20 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 12:18 am
wtf…
You are comparing unsocialized child with a People representative thats been officially elected by peaple!
His refusal to apologize shows how much arrogant this self-master is going to far. They kept playing fascism cards around is going to ruin the country prosperity for the sake of their colony(pockets) not the Nation.
Are you one of them?
#21 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 12:19 am
is going so far*…
#22 by cheng on on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 12:20 am
Can all these “squatters” stop paying all taxes for 1 year ?
#23 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 12:25 am
We end up paying more…. summons instead.
#24 by kita_anakmalaysia on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 12:28 am
Since we have discussed for so long for ahmad, it’s good to have the evidence (such like recording of his speech) so that they CANNOT twist and turn in future.
Noticed that different terms are used …..”tumpang” in chinese newspaper; “pendatang” by BN newspaper.
diff severe level for this two words..
tumpang = racist;
pendatang = is a fact, nothing wrong
…seems like “somebody” has started to twist~~~~~
So, whoever has the evidence and believe the justice, please share it
only if it is well spread thru internet, the evidence will be forever there and WILL NOT be destroyed by “somebody”!
#25 by nkeng11 on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 12:29 am
Remember how the BN pursued the young boy WEE on his video clip on Malaysia?
He and his family have to apologize to the whole of Malaysia!
Phark Lah
#26 by ALtPJK on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 12:30 am
While previous racially inciting ‘keris’ and ‘balik cina’ incidents seem to have ‘advanced’ UMNO’s ketuanan melayu with impunity, Ahmad Ismail’s remarks this time may well prove to be a spanner in the works.
It comes at a time when the opposition bloc, now much stronger and the prospect of soon forming a new government appears within reach, are denouncing ketuanan-melayu and are adopting a more inclusive and appealing ketuanan-rakyat. The PM too may well have been caught in an awkward position of desperately propping up appeasing measures to prevent a collapse of his government and yet not wanting to be seen chastising an UMNO chieftan for such damaging remarks.
While the ‘blocking’ of Malaysia-Today on the grounds of incitement is seen as undemocratically censuring what is seen as a formidable challenge to UMNO, Ahmad Ismail’s racially inciting statement gets away with a ‘protection under the sarong’. Now disgusted bloggers and Malaysians are ever more on PR’s side urging and egging them on.
It is also interesting that MCA, Gerakan and other BN component parties who on previous ocassions were too timid to even squeak any form of protestation are now plucking enough courage to grumble. Reading the shift in their grassroots from recent elections results they too realise their relevance will be vanishing fast given their sorry state of decades long silence. In the light of a fractious UMNO possibly facing imminent demise, it must surely be time now, if it had not already begun, for passengers on a ship with many leaks rushing for limited numbers of life boat or life vests. And what better opportunity for them to do ‘grandstanding’ than this ocassion of UMNO faux pas.
#27 by fish-warezmasterz on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 12:32 am
Ahmad Ismail is racist! should be kicked out..never learnt history ka..i hated when people blamed other races.ahh,all of us are Malaysians.hmm but hey,he is just 1 person.he is not going to be our PM.Anwar is.dont worry so much.ignore him! just like when 1 MP from Holland negatively commented about Islam last time..doesnt mean that country is racist blabla..hope it wont get worse like HINDRAF (bloody hell racist but nobody try to remember) or so called TRULY MALAYSIAN RAPPER sang damn racist Negarakuku (remember but try to forget right?? bias)..i wonder! nationalism konon.when 1 single unpowerful malay (read umnoputra) said something,people keep on bashing UMNO in total.only stupid UMNO leaders should be blamed,not all la..we shouldnt blame Malaysian chinese regarding negarakuku right?? why not bashing people who says bad things about Malaysia?? ohh forgot already.
this is the same issue as i told before,a MALAYSIAN doesnt know how to understand Malaysia language.again,want to claim a Malaysian.no nationalism.
#28 by cheng on on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 12:40 am
Digress a little, budget 2009,
If do some maths, a family of 4, pay how much (average) for budget of RM 206 bil,
4 X (206 bil/ 27 mil) = 30,500, wow , RM30,500 per year , i.e. more than average annual pay of a fresh graduate.
Will get bankrupt or not ???
#29 by aquaimplotec on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 12:43 am
Solidarity origiates from the word sou and solidare
sou Pronunciation[soo]
–either of two bronze coins of France, equal to 5 centimes and 10 centimes
Solidare
Sol”i*dare\, n. [LL. solidus. Cf. Sou.] A small piece of money.
sol·i·dar·i·ty [sol-i-dar-i-tee]
–noun, plural -ties. 1. union or fellowship arising from common responsibilities and interests, as between members of a group or between classes, peoples, etc.: to promote solidarity among union members.
2. community of feelings, purposes, etc.
3. community of responsibilities and interests.
What AAB means is for every Malaysian on Merdeka Day to have union or fellowship with each other, based on a common responsbility and interest over two bronze coins equivalent to not more than 10 cents given to us by AAB in the Budget 2009.
Yes! We should all have union with our mate or rejoice with another fellow for the 28 million 5 cent and 10 cent coins thrown to us by our great benevolent PM for he has been so kind and have ordered us to rejoice. Perform solidarity, my fellow beggars, solidarity!
P.S. Careful you don’t lose your 5 cent coin whilst rejoicing!
#30 by peanut king on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 12:45 am
Arguing with those monkeys having Pentium 1 brain is a waste of time.They just enjoy reading our forum condeming them left n right.
Just vote them out of power.Nothing else is more powerful than uniting all our votes and kick them off the cliff.
Right now they are just enjoying their last laugh..just like the chicken kicking the cover before being boiled.
MCA n Gerakan is given the last chance to redeem themself.If they hide like the tortoises let them be…at least we know they are true tortoise.
Childlish and narrow minded monkeys….poor fellow.
#31 by kita_anakmalaysia on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 12:51 am
good point!
let us recalled:
$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
Thursday August 16, 2007
Cabinet rejects apology from Negaraku rapper
By LOH FOON FONG
KUALA LUMPUR: The Cabinet has not accepted student Wee Meng Chee’s apology for the furore caused by his Negaraku rap videoclip on video-sharing web portal YouTube.
Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Mohamed Nazri Abdul Aziz said the Cabinet had decided yesterday that they were not in the position to forgive him and that “the law would have to take its course”.
“The offence was not against the Prime Minister or ministers concerned but against the nation,” Nazri told reporters after the launch of the International Conference on Media and Information Warfare: A Global Challenge of the 21st Century here.
“If he had committed an offence, which I think was an offence, then we must allow the Attorney General to investigate and decide whether to take him to court,” he said.
Wee had on Tuesday apologised for the parody and agreed to remove the videoclip from his blog.
Nazri said Wee’s apology could be used as mitigation in sentencing but not as a reason to not prosecute him.
“To not prosecute him is not ‘on’ at all because he has committed an offence against the nation and no one, not the Cabinet or political parties, are in the position to forgive him,” he said.
Wee could be charged under the Sedition Act because he had insulted the symbol of the nation, he said.
“We cannot be like the West where you can have the underwear with the design of the Union Jack. In Britain, you can insult the Queen or the flag, I don’t care, but in this country we have laws and we cannot create a precedent where you commit an offence, apologise and get away with it,” he said adding that Wee was not a boy but a 24-year-old man and he should be held responsible for the act.
“It is not an issue of ethnicity or being racial but against national interest,” he said.
When asked how Wee had insulted the national anthem, Nazri said the song was supposed to be sung based on how it should be sung, otherwise, it would mean insulting the song, especially when the lyrics were changed.
“Malaysia Negaraku ku. ‘Ku ku’ can also mean ‘cuckoo’ so it was insulting. I don’t think this was done out of ignorance. He was a university student and he meant to insult the national song,” he said.
$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
…..to be continued….
#32 by monsterball on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 12:51 am
There is no doubt..PM IQ is low….but he does have a kind hearted personality……if he chooses to be himself….and not listen to Khairy.
But then……lower than him….IQ… is his DPM.
Mahathir thought he could rule from outside…..like Lee Kuan Yew….with his smart choices.
God help Malaysia with such jokers… governing our country.
#33 by sirrganass on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 1:03 am
See: UMNO has really lose direction. 51 yrs MERDEKA but racial issue plus all racial-related matters are still in their mind. Yes they give you UTAR, (refer to Shamsul Anuar’s comment) etc. But in the Parliment recently, during Ahmad’s recent speech in PP… see? ANd the PM said Ahmad didn’t mean it?
C’mon UMNO! You failed to unite all Malaysian! Not even Ibrahim Ali – sounded like UMNO to.
No doubt there are some PAS members who talk like UMNO on this racial matter. But still PAS officially doesn’t take RACIAL as an important issue. All hardcore PAS members do talk about HUDUD and Qizas etc. DAP could continue trying to work with PAS because it is hoped that PAS will continue not interested in promoting ASSOBIYYAH (racial-based issues).
Why don’t you all see what Eng (Pinang CM) is addressing now. He did talk about “Umar Abd Aziz” and he recently talk about “Amar Makruf Nahi Mungkar” What is he talking about?
Simply because PAS will be very happy if you use the “same language”. See: Kacang only!!! He is working hard to make PAS happy. PAS happily wrote this report down in her harakahdaily. THis will make many PAS members happy too. Thanks Eng Guan. Wa caya lu!!!
Let’s work hard to please each other. Hidup PR.
#34 by kita_anakmalaysia on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 1:24 am
CHAPTER 2….
MIRROR EFFECT….IN CAPITAL LETTERS…..
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
SAT AUG 30, 2008
La-Pak ACCEPT RACIST COMMENTS from BUKIT BENDERA UMNO DIVISION CHIEF
By ANAK MALAYSIA
PG: The La-Pak has not REJECTED DIVISION CHIEF AHMAD ISMAIL’s RACIST COMMENTS caused by his CINA “TUMPANG”.
Minister in the La-Pak’s Department BATUK SRI BOHAMID NaJIS AA KEPT SILENCE AND the Cabin-Net had decided TODAY that they were not in the position to CHARGE him and that “the law would have to take its course”.
“The offence was not against the Prime Minister or ministers concerned but against the nation,” NaJIS told reporters.
“If he had committed an offence, which I DON’T think was an offence, then we must allow the Attorney General to investigate and decide whether to take him to court,” he said.
AHMAD had DISAPPEARED from his DIVISION SINCE P’MATANG ELECTION LOSS.
NaJIS said AHMAD’S SILENCE AND IGNORE TO THE WHOLE NATION’S ANGER could NOT be used as mitigation in sentencing but as a reason to prosecute him.
“To not prosecute him is not ‘on’ at all because he has committed an offence against the nation and no one, EXCEPT La-Pak AND BN, are in the position to forgive him,” he said.
AHMAD could be charged under the Sedition Act because he had insulted the symbol of the nation, he said.
“We cannot be like the West where you can have the underwear with the design of the Union Jack. In Britain, you can insult the Queen or the flag, I don’t care, I DON’T CARE. I DON’T CARE,…AS LONG AS BN STILL HOLD THE POWER, WE CAN ACCEPT IT AND FORGIVE HIM EVEN in this country we have laws! We HAVE createD MANY precedentSSSS where you commit an offence, apologise and get away with it, SUCH IS KRIS,…” he said adding that AHMAD was not a boy but a DATUK-OLD MAN and he should be held responsible for the act.
“It is not an issue of ethnicity or being racial but against national interest, BUT IS OK, AS LONG AS La-Pak BELIEVED THAT HE DID NOT MEANT THAT” he said.
When asked how AHMAD had insulted the CHINESE, NaJIS said the ”
AS La-PaK MENTIONED, HE DIDN’T MEANT THAT. AND La-PaK HAS PERSONNALY ASKED HIM TO STOP COMMENTS FURTHER AND DISAPPEAR FOR A PERIOD”
“TUMPANG, can also mean ‘DUDUK’ so it was NOT insulting. AS I REPEATED MANY TIMES BEFORE THIS, La-PaK think this was done out of ignorance. He was a DATUK and he DID NOT mean to insult the CHINESE ONLY, BUT ALL NON-BUMIPTRA,” he said.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
DOUBLE STANDARD!!!!
LET’S SEE WHAT OUR NON-BUMI CABIN-NET MEMBERS REACT ON THIS!
#35 by kita_anakmalaysia on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 1:29 am
conclusion:
?????
WEE, TOO BAD FOR YOU!
#36 by kita_anakmalaysia on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 1:30 am
“TONG REN BU TONG MING” IN CHINESE
#37 by wasted on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 1:33 am
Only Malaysian Malays practice such remarks and get away with it, after all, this is Malaysia BOLEH land, ain’t it so????
be it Indians or Chinese or other races……….
Give a us a chance and we’ll show them how we feel.
Look at what they have been able to achieve so far????
HIDUP LKS !!!!!
#38 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 1:34 am
Ahmad Ismail is from Sumatra. Why doesn’t he podah back there?
#39 by 2008boleh on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:01 am
sad to see pak-lala responsed like that.
#40 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:06 am
Japanese prime minister resigned. Abdullah should follow the same foot step. Learn from Fukuda. They are both impotent prime ministers. They should hand over the power to the opposition.
#41 by cheng on on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:08 am
wasted Says:
Today at 01: 33.18 (33 minutes ago)
Only ["Malaysian Malays" ] practice such remarks and get away with it, after all, this is Malaysia BOLEH land, ain’t it so????
Think be more accurate to say, only ["Malaysian Umno Malays"]…..
#42 by delCapo on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 2:50 am
Honestly…. Ahmad’s remarks were indeed racist… but as far as racist remarks are concerned… they were f#@ken weak lah!! my pre-teen niece shouts better insults…
I dun mind anyone calling me an immigrant… well it’s not 100% accurate…. descedent of immigrant would be more precise….but nevermind… i dun mind… as long as the bugger dun mind me digging where his bloodline originates…..
full post on more on http://delcapo.wordpress.com/
#43 by Tulip Crescent on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 4:29 am
Something is seriously wrong with the political culture of Umno when it can throw up a division leader who is divisive and disruptive of our social fabric.
I recall have read why the visionary leaders of America asked for equality for the Negroes. The bottom line was to prevent the average American from having double standards.
So, in a sense, the dismantling of Separate but Equal treatment for the American Negroes in the 1950s was done to also help all Americans although, at first glance, it was done to help the Negroes.
Can Malaysian leaders command the same vision and so the same to help such psychologically challenged Umno leaders?
#44 by Tulip Crescent on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 5:02 am
Race Relations Act Needed
In the wake of the recent disgusting statement about the Chinese being squatters made by a Umno division chief in Penang, our national political leaders should seriously consider passing a Bill on Race Relations.
Such remarks demean the noble efforts of our Bapa Malaysia Tunku Abdul Rahman and our other Founding Fathers such as Tun Tan Cheng Lock and Tun V.T. Sambanthan in establishing our nation in August 1957.
It is never a wonder that calls have been made and police reports lodged about the “seditious” nature of the statement.
What will remain a wonder is whether such calls and such reports will be forgotten over time as other problems crop up in the next few days.
One of our basic problems seems to be enforcement of our existing laws. Somehow, we cannot in all sincerity say that enforcement has not been selective when it is in fact selective.
If the enforcement of law is selective, then wew strain the very rule of law where all are equal.
It is in this connection that I wrote about how our laws have failed my late family friend, Dr Ooi Kee Saik, the first Malaysian to find the Sedition Act thrown his way.
What the late Dr Ooi said actually pales in comparison with what is being bandied around by these so-called divisional leaders almost at the drop of the hat.
#45 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 6:59 am
The United Kingdom does have a Race Relations Act and employers have been sued for race discrimination under the Act.
#46 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 7:51 am
In recent days there have been articles on the net defending Ketuanan Melayu the gist of which is that the Malays must be tuans of their land like the Germans are of theirs, as the Japanese are of theirs since they have been here a few hundred years more than us ‘pendatang’.
Lets think through even this claim of first right by term of residency.
As RPK points out, if our grandfathers spilled their blood against the Japanese more than did the Malays, does even the argument of being here first is still valid? The truth is the history of Chinese and Indian sacrifice for this country has been whitewashed. In terms of contribution, if you think about it, its the immigrant that have contributed more, much more and not just economically but in blood and sweat despite the Malay longer term residency.
Even in modern real estate law, if an owner is not responsible for the land he holds title and someone else resides and work it, the law deem the residency and sweat equity as claim to the right of the land. After all that is how Batu Putih was lost to Singapore. Illegal tenants given long enough time, have more rights over a land than absent owner. If you think about it, the Sultans when they gave up administration to the Europeans, were basically absent owners and so on independence all claims by those in residence, namely including us pendatangs are equal. So even if you don’t subcribe to the ‘liberal idea of equality’, this claim is, was and always…
#47 by k1980 on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 7:51 am
The least mca and gerakan could do over Ahmad Ismail’s denunciation of the malaysian Chinese is to temporarily withdraw their respective 15 and 2 MPs from BN.
#48 by trublumsian on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 8:00 am
the sad thing about it all is that there are many many more like ahmad. behind closed doors and out of ear shots, what goes on in conversations are much worse than what ahmad said. most choose not to be open about it, but we’ve seen increasing breakouts from radicals like ahmad, keris j, and UiTM vc. umno is using race as a tool, but i’m not sure they can handle it.
#49 by 318 on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 8:19 am
in umno Malaysia has laws only on non malays
#50 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 8:26 am
This goes forward from what Bigjoe commented at 07:51.16
Red Indians were original inhabitants of USA; abrogines, Australia,NZ and even Malaya : but its Anglo Saxons that first built civilisation, system of government social, economic and cultural order in USA, Australia & NZ just like Malays did in Malacca Sultanate making rest “pendatangs”.
In our context, because of accidents of colonial history Chinese and Indians helped built the social/economic system –before 1957, and especially after, therefore earning equal right of having contributed to the modern civilisation we know now today.
Besides the “social contract”was forged in Federal Constitution in 1957 when non Malays then were given citizenship whilst Malays were given Special privileges (reviewable every 15 years until TDM Admin changed it and made it almost perennial at electionb of Malay community exercisable via the King). Non Malays borned after 1957 toany one or both citizen parents are also citizens. By definition a citizen is not and cannot be a ‘Pendatang’ unless one gives the word an ‘especial’ meaning in historical sense relating to times way back in early days of Chines & Indian migrants to work in Tin Mines and Estates.
To refer non Malays as same status as the forefathers more than a century ago is to abuse the word immigrant, anyhow one uses it. By that definition many American citizens would be immigrants as well.