In his 51st National Day message last night, the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said he hoped that every Malaysian could give importance to solidarity.
However, Abdullah had himself set the bad example of failing to give top priority to national unity and solidarity in plural Malaysia, or he would not have adopted a lackadaisical and irresponsible stance on the legitimate protests over the highly racist, divisive and provocative remarks by the Bukit Bendera Umno division chief Datuk Ahmad Ismail during the Permatang Pauh by-election campaign belittling the Chinese community in Malaysia as “orang tumpangan” who could not be trusted as Malaysians.
In defending Ahmad Ismail by claiming that the Penang Umno leader had not meant what he said, Abdullah was condoning Ahmad Ismail’s insensitive, offensive and racist remarks when he should have lived up to his pledge repeated many times before that he would be Prime Minister for all Malaysians and not of any one race.
The Prime Minister has again disappointed Malaysians with another breach of his many sweet-sounding pledges when he became Prime Minister five years ago.
In the past few days, various levels of the MCA and Gerakan (and even SUPP), and their youth and women wings, reaching as high as MCA Minister, Datuk Liow Tiong Lai, MCA Deputy Minister Dr. Wee Ka Siong and Acting Gerakan President, Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon had been making public noises demanding disciplinary action against Ahmad Ismail.
With the Prime Minister coming out with such a weak, ineffective and useless response in virtually protecting Ahmad Ismail from having to face any disciplinary action, are the MCA, Gerakan and SUPP leaders again going to capitulate or will they pursue the matter in Cabinet next week as well as demand an emergency meeting of the Barisan Nasional supreme council for stern disciplinary action to be taken against Ahmad Ismail so as not to make a mockery of the 51st Merdeka celebrations?
The Ahmad Ismail episode is the latest example that Umno and the Barisan Nasional have become political dinosaurs irrelevant to and incapable of adapting to the Merdeka II aspirations of the new generation of Bangsa Malaysia who want to see justice, fair play, moderation and good governance.
UMNO and Barisan Nasional (since Alliance days) may be the world’s longest-serving government coalition in a parliamentary democracy but this only underline its increasing irrelevance as a political dinosaur.
There is however no shortage of examples of UMNO and BN’s growing incompetence, impotence and irrelevance as political dinosaurs.
Just two latest instances:
Firstly, the increasingly undemocratic instincts by the powers-that-be to impose a clamp on dissent and criticism as illustrated by the Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) to shut down Raja Petra Kamaruddin’s Malaysia Today news portal, completely ignoring the solemn government undertaking to the world of no Internet censorship in the Multimedia Super Corridor (MSC) Bill of Guarantees.
Secondly, the unchecked corruption, abuses of power and malpractices exposed in the latest Auditor-General’s Report 2007, such as pouring RM537 million of taxpayers’ money into the Columbia Aircraft Manufacturing Corporation in the United States in the past 13 years but only getting a return of only RM25 million!
Such colossal waste of public funds are not isolated cases, whether at the federal or state government level. In Perak for instance, a subsidiary of the Perak State Development Corporation went on a losing spree, chalking up over RM100 million in accumulated losses when its paid up capital was only RM50,000!
These are shocking, shameful and ugly examples of “Malaysia Boleh”!
Last year, the country also went into a frenzy of shock at the exposes of financial irregularities, criminal breach of trust and corrupt practices in the Auditor-General’s 2006 Report, such as the government paying RM5,700 for a car jack worth RM50; RM224 for a set of four screwdrivers costing RM32 in the market; RM5.72 million for two crane towers against the market price of RM2.98 million; technical books consisting of 10 titles priced at RM10,700; and a 3.1 megapixel digital camera that was bought for RM8,254.
Parliament and the nation were assured by the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) that it was conducting investigations into the exposes by the Auditor-General in the 2006 report, but nothing has come of it and the ACA is now inundated with even more exposes in the Auditor-General’s 2007 Report!
(Media Conference Statement in Batu Pahat on Sunday, 31st August 2008 at 11.30 am)

#1 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 12:35 am
@ Shamshul… i have no doubt that ur speak was indeed correct and true.
BUT, looking back in History, from the moral we must.
It is the fact “Chinese saved Malacca” as the prosperity of Straits of Melaka attracted the invasion of the Siamese.
The evidence are clear today in “Bukit Cina”(Malay: “Chinese Hill”) in Melaka. In the mid-15th century, princess Hang Li Po, the great granddaughter of the Chinese Yongle Emperor, the third emperor of the Ming Dynasty, was sent to be married to the sultan of Malacca, Sultan Mansor Shah.
If without the History do we have future today of so called “Ketuanan-Siamese” or “Malay”?
#2 by aje on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 12:38 am
PM should have sent a very strong message to ALL MPs who are racists.From what he said seem like he is defending the guy from Bukit Mertajam.
#3 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 12:40 am
Why Ahmad Ismail alone? Those who made such stupid remarks in the past or who showed such action like waving Kris should also be punished for fair. If you don’t punish the top UMNO shots but just picked up a little fish, it does not make sense.
#4 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 12:48 am
We must majority discriminate the minority, and why cant we live in fair liberate society and work the best interest for Nation to compete globally like Japanese/American?…
Aren’t we waste enough time to struggle agains eachother authority whos the boss and whos not and most impportantly, fascism played by the dirty UMNOputra’s that could bring choas to our Nation.
We must stop all nonsense from now on, we are matured enough to elaborate what is right and wrong regardless of race nor religion.
Enough is enough, stop corruptions, fascism nor dictatorship!
#5 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 12:50 am
Sorry again! i couldnt stop making typo mistakes…
I mean Why* not mean We* “Why must majority discriminate the minority”….
#6 by takazawa on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 1:01 am
These political dinosaurs should have been extinct ages ago, but somehow they managed to survive till this modern age because they have been feeding on our votes. However, the good news is, they are now in danger of extinction and the Rakyat are looking forward to a new breed of leaders come Merdeka II.
#7 by katdog on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 1:11 am
shamshul anuar Says:
“As for Dawsheng, Ibrahim just say what people around the world will do. There is nothing racial about it. It is just human tendency. You want people of your own stock or cherish the idea of your race to be given top job.”
You want people of your own stock and race to be given the top job. And this is normal human tendency and nothing racial about it?
Of course it is racial! When you want only persons of a certain skin color to have the top jobs, that is racial! Yes, it is normal human tendency. And we have a term for such behavior: RACISM! But no, it is not acceptable behavior.
Its probably too late to teach people like you that important lesson but i hope one day in the future our children will be thought that such behavior is called RACISM and is SHAMEFUL.
#8 by croovy on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 1:16 am
Pak La, Pak La you should start to whip your guys already. Your bunch of hooligans are climbing over your head. If you still defended them, end of the days you will end up a loser.
#9 by katdog on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 1:25 am
AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked Says:
“BUT, looking back in History, from the moral we must.
It is the fact “Chinese saved Malacca” as the prosperity of Straits of Melaka attracted the invasion of the Siamese.”
Interesting info but irrelevant today. Whatever China may have done for Malacca that is ancient history. Heck! Most of the chinese that are in Malaysia today are recent migrants that was brought here during British colonial times which was way way long after the fall of Malacca. So i don’t think that makes anyone indebted to anyone else.
Whatever rewards or recognition you deserve, it should be earned by yourself. Not by who your father or grandfather or fore-fathers was.
#10 by aquaimplotec on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 1:30 am
The present administration cannot do anything right except get paid! And paid plenty at that.
Look at Malaysia today (not the web without access!), there are many bad things to say and I categorise them into two broad categories:-
1. Something you already are aware of.
2. Things you have not a clue of.
So much said of item 1 that I need not repeat. Hence I will only cover item 2. As always I will start with sleaze then progress to more politically correct things.
International Popularity
* Foreign tourists all like our forest reserves where they don’t have to see any of us; that includes resorts exclusively catering to foreigners like Pangkor Laut for example ….
* Malaysia has been blacklisted by Australia, UK and USA as a source country from which prohibited drugs are smuggled into their country.
* Accused of harbouring and grooming of islamic terrorists.
Local Backwardness
* A judicial system that is so ineffective that it cannot be relied on to recover a bounced cheque.
* A country drained of intellect with a majority of Squatters, Lepaks and Makrempits that are not employable even as factory production line workers.
* A country governed by villians who will take your FDI money and ask you to balik kampong.
* A country whose currency is not tradable outside its borders except through the black market money exchangers.
* A country that has gross human rights violations instituted in its administration and its law enforcerment.
* A country that charges RM1 for one way flights into the country from foreign destinations but with little or no takers except from its own breed.
* A country that is pro Islamic enough to host the Islamic world conference just after 9 11 with no inkling of the consequences but silly enough to do the visit Malaysia thing as well in London, Paris and New York.
* A country that seriously considered a bridge to link to Indonesia.
* A state in Malaysia that has no knowledge whatsoever of the water cycle and the part played by the tallest century old trees that they could consider logging by helicopter of such trees in water catchment areas.
* A country that sponsored an expedition to the artic but only to find that that point on earth is already under water due to global warming. aaah cannot go there due to a technicality. blah blah.
* A country with a NS highway laid with negative inclination to the force of momentum along the bends in order to cut costs.
* A country pushing for wireless broadband and communications towers without taking heed of potential health hazards from microwave radiation effects.
* A health ministry that can’t even keep public toilets clean without the city mayor’s personal supervision.
* A health ministry that pushes for breast screening using methods that increase breast cancer multifold by close contact x-ray machines that cause further physical compression injuries.
* A health ministry that has not banned Bisphenol-A and its derivative Polycarbonate plastic.
* A police administration that refuses to go after Malays but will only act against non-malay offenders.
* A country that privatises all public amenities but still retain fully staffed public works departments.
* A country that has the largest public administration force of 2 government servants to 1 private citizen with a budgeted administration cost of RM100 billion yearly.
#11 by The Enforcer on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 1:41 am
Wonder whether the GOONS in MCA, Gerakan and SUPP have skin as many layers as an onion or as thick as cow’s hide!
The RAKYAT has spoken that there is ONLY MALAYSIANS in this country and yet the CHIEF GOON, SLEEPY, allows that stupid Ahmad Ismail to make such a remark and then ‘protecting’ him as though nothing happens!
This again shows the master slave relationship of the BN coalition!
If you’re from UMeNO and you fart from the front or back, nothing wrong. The rest of you in the coalition, do as you’re told or just keep your mouth shut!
Being insulted to the core and yet want to stay in the pack!
What a disgrace to your future generations!
#12 by aquaimplotec on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 1:44 am
I am sure that you can see from the above that the present administration is practising Mao Tze Tung communisim for the Malays and close to squatter status for other races…coupled with gross mismanagement of all other aspects of civilisation due to their 51 years of complacency.
#13 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 2:16 am
katdog Says:
“Whatever rewards or recognition you deserve, it should be earned by yourself. ”
You might call it a plea for their recognition or whatsoever but it is the fact, the history of our ethnic regions form and shape our country today. In other means We vow no master nor hippocratic rulers.
Apologise for my english writing cuz im not good boy during my school days.
#14 by UzMiNoOnist on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 2:24 am
“What uttered was of course wrong. Just like seditious remark by DAP to spread hatred againsts UMNO and Malays.” .. shamshul anuar
A few words of wisdom for shamshul anuar.
1. Two wrongs does not make one right.
2. An eye for an eye will make the whole world goes blind.
Again, what a flawed reasoning, no wonder you still support bodohwi. You are no different from him when comes to reasoning.
Further, you are making a blatant faulty accusation that DAP promotes hatred against Malays. I think this is abit naughty. DAP may have promoted hatred against UMNO but definitely not against Malays. I have not heard or seen any DAP members utter publicly hatred against Malays otherwise they would have been in jail now, given the efficiency of our selective prosecution practices condoned by BN.
Despite you being a Malay and harbors suspicion of non-Malays of stealing your rights, I still think Malays are my brothers in spirit and soul of a nation.
Amazing… we have in our midst a strong supporter of racism by virtue of justifying the existence of BN. This is akin of supporting Nazism by fascist.
#15 by aquaimplotec on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 2:55 am
KUALA LUMPUR: Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi last night said he hoped that every Malaysian could give importance to solidarity.
sol·i·dar·i·ty /?s?l??dær?ti/ Pronunciation Key – Show Spelled Pronunciation[sol-i-dar-i-tee]
–noun, plural -ties.
1. union or fellowship arising from common responsibilities and interests, as between members of a group or between classes, peoples, etc.: to promote solidarity among union members.
2. community of feelings, purposes, etc.
3. community of responsibilities and interests.
—Synonyms 1. unity, cooperation, community. 2. unanimity.
Dictionary.com Unabridged (v 1.1)
Based on the Random House Unabridged Dictionary, © Random House, Inc. 2006.
Union or fellowship arising from common responsibilities and interests cannot arise when there is racial delination.
#16 by butul on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 5:57 am
Ayioo AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked you mentioned about how the chinese defended Malacca. Now the UMNO goons have to work overtime to change the History books again!!
#17 by Jeffrey on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 7:33 am
In furtherance of earlier posting, there is but one more distinguishing feature of our political corruption (besieds scale & proportion mentioned) that proves a measuring cast of particular iniquitousness when compared against political corruption occurring universally elsewhere – and that is, ours is perpetutated upon political power built on a sum zero institutionalised preference of one race against the rest.
#18 by Dr.Ken on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 8:15 am
Take a look at how our PM handle the situation ” Ahmad Ismail doesn’t mean it & I ask him not to repeat that remark again ” The Case is finally Closed.
Our PM is really a very WEAK Leader. He don’t know how to manage his subordinates. IF a chinese or an Indian man give such a remark , He will be arrest under ISA or the Sedition act . Where is the Rule of Law ?
Our PM didn’t realise some of his subordinates are liabilities to him such as Najis & khairy. Fire them now .Any way , This is their last term of Governing.
#19 by oct on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 8:19 am
When you have a leader who doesn’t know how to correct the wrong, what can you expect? Our PM is afraid to antagonize his supporters as he might lose votes during the forthcoming UMNO assembly. He has to play the nice guy in front of his supporters.
Look at another incident. The teacher who uttered racial remarks. She got off without any punishment. In fact she was transferred to a smart which is near her home. In the transfer letter, she was told that it is for her safety. Nothing was mentioned about her racial remarks.
With such people who has said racial remarks and no punitive action, there will be more bold racial remarks coming from UMNO!!!
It is very insulting to be told when you are born in Malaysia to be considered as a Perdatang. When you are born here, you have all the rights under the constitution.
When a PM cannot control his goons, he is a weak PM. He is not assertive and possess not wisdom. He doesn’t know how to differentiate the casual and serious implications. In fact, he is good for nothing. How can we have such a leader leading us into the 21st century? We better change to a more competent and effective leader like DSAI!!!!
#20 by Bigjoe on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 9:29 am
Its not just about the contradiction of the PM’s merdeka message and his comment on Ahmad Ismail. Its also about the fact that the contradiction is lost on the PM that he did not see the contradiction in the first place. What he see is himself trying to balance the demands of sides and he thinking he does not have to chose, make hard decisions and manage difficult situations. Its about his perception of what is leadership which is far from what is expected and what is needed.
Given he has only two years to go, this PM is a lameduck. If he did not get this by now, he will not get anything done in the next two years.
The issue really is what can be expected of Najib and his cronies and what should supporters of Bangsa Malaysia do?
The first thing to understand is that the choice must not be given to Najib and his cronies. While our PM is intellectually lost, Najib is morally lost – he really could not care less one way or other so long as he is in power and gets what he wants.
So the first thing that need to be demanded of this PM is that before he leaves, that he makes sure that Najib and his cronies does not have a choice on the matter to move forward on Bangsa Malaysia and the end of the likes of Ahmad Ismail. Remember that Ahmad Ismail did his speech in front of Najib and he not only sat there doing nothing but in fact encouraged the extreme speeches of the campaign.
How do we ensure this happens? Demanding that BN set up disciplinary committee that consist of proper representation MCA, MIC and Gerakan members that have the right to punish members of its component parties including UMNO.
#21 by rocketintoparliment on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 9:50 am
This is indeed goods news for PR. Just start keeping all this messages from the racists party UMNO & comments from MCA, Gerakan and start playing them repeatly to remind the rakyat of what type of racists party BN is. We the “squatters ” will not go down to the street and protest and shout and shout.. we will just tick at the right box in the next GE.
#22 by Godfather on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 10:12 am
“PAS should lead Pakatan Rakyat.” says Zak the coconuthead.
What is it to you, a foreigner, that a specific party should lead PR ? Why can’t there be consensus politics ? You exclude PKR because of your hatred of Anwar, and you exclude DAP because of your disdain of people like Kit and Karpal. Well, we have news for you – you are in a small and insignificant minority. We do it our way and we suggest you stick to criticism of the Sleepy Head.
#23 by yhsiew on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 11:41 am
Malaysia pioneering use of DNA as a tool for political suppression?
http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/12051/84/
It is sad to see the country retrogress after 51 years of Merdeka. We urgently need Merdeka II to liberate people from the clutches of an evil regime.
#24 by pangwl88 on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 12:25 pm
“In defending Ahmad Ismail by claiming that the Penang Umno leader had not meant what he said”
How the hell does he know that Ahmad ” had not meant what he said” ?!?!!?!?
Has he consulted with Admad about this? Get Admad on TV3 to confirm that, and apologize to the ALL Malaysians!!!
#25 by taiking on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 8:49 am
Boys and girls.
I am your new biology teacher.
Today I am going to touch on a very interesting subject.
Can anyone guess what it is?
Yes Ah Beng, its Dinasaur.
Now let me start.
This is a picture of an animal.
Can you tell what it is?
Yes. Absolutely correct.
Its a dinasaur.
How can you tell that it is a dinasaur?
Yes it has a very small head.
And yes it has a very long neck.
And a large body.
With a long stretched out tail.
Now do you boys and girls know that it takes time for the head to tell the limbs to do things like “walk” or “stop walking”.
No.
The reason is the long neck.
The message takes time to travel from the head to the limbs.
And when the message reaches the limbs what happens.
Walk. Yes but slowly. Why?
Yes too heavy. Big body.