In the past three days, spokespersons and branches of MCA and Gerakan and their youth sections have been protesting in the media against the racist remark by the Bukit Bendera Umno division chief Ahmad Ismail during the Permatang Pauh by-election campaign making derogatory reference to the Malaysian Chinese as “squatters” in the country.
Daily protests are being made in the MCA and Gerakan, including calling for MCA and Gerakan to quit the Barisan Nasional, if top Umno leaders do not take strong disciplinary action against Ahmad.
Ahmad’s speech was reported in the Chinese media on Monday, 25th August 2008 – the eve of the Permatang Pauh by-election on August 26.
Why didn’t the MCA and Gerakan Ministers and leaders take a strong stand on Monday itself to issue an ultimatum that Ahmad apologise and withdraw the racist remark, failing which they would pull out of the Barisan Nasional by-election campaign in Permatang Pauh?
Wouldn’t this be more effective and fruitful than just making protests “after the event”, although it would still get them into the newspapers despite being ignored not only by Umno, the Barisan Nasional Supreme Council but also the Cabinet?

#1 by penang308 on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 10:26 pm
What can “Ah Pow” (MCA) and “Ah Piow” (Gerakan) do?
Nothing! They are good at NOTHING except KOW TOW with their MASTER, UMNO.
Wherever these POW PIOW go to chinese area, they are only good at ‘MAKAN-MAKAN” AND “MINUM-MINUM” ONLY!
#2 by Jong on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 10:28 pm
undergrad2, sorry – no takers! :D
#3 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 10:30 pm
Visit Hyde Park, London or parks in China towns! Who do you see squatting on the public benches?
#4 by alphoti on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 10:31 pm
Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi will personally see to it that Bukit Bendera Umno chief Datuk Ahmad Ismail does not repeat his remarks about the Chinese community.
“I’ll tell him not to do it again. You know during campaigning all sorts of things can come up. I don’t think he meant it. I’ll make sure to tell him not to say it again,” he said Saturday after chairing the Bertam Umno division meeting here. – The Star
RIDICULOUS! But that’s expected from the stupid PM.
MCA, GERAKAN & SUPP members, if you have guts, get ready all the rotten eggs & the next time you see the stupid PM again, throw them at him. After the incidence is reported all over the world, then your president can just come out & say ‘I’ll tell them not to do it again!’.
#5 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 10:34 pm
Yes, Jong!
The squatting culture does not belong only to the Chinese. Go to the kampongs you see people squatting. Modernisation has not reached the kampongs where they could not afford to have sit-down toilets but only squatting ones!
#6 by aiD_kamikuP on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 10:47 pm
//The squatting culture does not belong only to the Chinese.// – undergrad2
Belongs to RELA squad too. Don’t you recall they made certain individuals squat too?
#7 by thaiming on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 10:49 pm
MCA, GERAKAN, MIC & SUPP……….they are the YESSS & BOTOLLLL man of UMNO !!!!……where got hope ??…they are digging their own GRAVE!!!!…..
#8 by cemerlang on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 11:00 pm
Wahai umat manusia! Sesungguhnya Kami telah menciptakan kamu dari lelaki dan perempuan, dan Kami telah menjadikan kamu berbagai bangsa dan bersuku puak, supaya kamu berkenal-kenalan (dan beramah mesra antara satu dengan yang lain). Sesungguhnya semulia-mulia kamu di sisi Allah ialah orang yang lebih taqwanya di antara kamu, (bukan yang lebih keturunan atau bangsanya). Sesungguhnya Allah Maha Mengetahui, lagi Maha Mendalam PengetahuanNya (akan keadaan dan amalan kamu).Al-Hujuraat 49:13
Datuk Ahmad Ismail is a failed product of the UMNO system. Somebody please remind him that even Malays do not support UMNO. Tell him don’t be so proud unless he wishes to see UMNO members leaving UMNO one by one until only those sleepy heads still hang around. As for MCA, Gerakan; please know that TDM knows the Chineses are kautauing before the UMNO. He used the word “kautauing “.
#9 by Blue.kinetic on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 11:02 pm
GE 11, i was a fan to Bodowi. I was extremly happy for him when he gained mandate victory. However, unfortunately, day after day, his credibility is in questions. Too many wrong doing. I thought he would wake up after another Tsunami -PP defeat, but what the hell he is doing now? Just a reminder to Ismail not to repeat again without apology and disiplin taken? what does this tell you? It means to me that Bodowi himself agree to what Ismail say at bottom of his heart and he thinks no need for apology either. He think just not to say it in public again but underground, the mindset and policy still racist.
Bodowi, you indeed not qualified as PM and don’t ever say about unity and work for people, PM for all races bla bla bla. It is so digusting.
#10 by swipenter on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 11:10 pm
MCA, MIC and GERAKAN be smart like SAPP. Become a thorn in UMNO’s backside. Dare UMNO to sack you from BN. You will become instant martyrs to your supporters instead of eunuchs. But then again you guys have the balls to that to your boss?
#11 by gofortruth on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 11:16 pm
“Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi will personally see to it that Bukit Bendera Umno chief Datuk Ahmad Ismail does not repeat his remarks about the Chinese community.
I’ll tell him not to do it again. You know during campaigning all sorts of things can come up. I don’t think he meant it. I’ll make sure to tell him not to say it again,” he said Saturday after chairing the Bertam Umno division meeting here. – The Star”
——————–
What kind of a remark is that “I’ll tell him not to do it again” ????
Yes we all can understand all sorts of things can come up but
I thought the least PM should do is to get his UMNO chief Ahmad Ismail to make a public apology HIMSELF, afterall he is already grown man or isn’t he????
#12 by Jong on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 11:30 pm
bla bla bla – that’s grandmaster of duplicity aka serial liar! No one trust him anymore.
#13 by william62 on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 11:31 pm
If UMNO does not change, this country is going to disintegrate
#14 by Hidup Pakatan Rakyat on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 11:41 pm
Wind Of Change ….. only started when 308 Tsunami, and continued with PP By-Election….and we are looking forward….the new Era for Malaysia….
Hidup Pakatan Rakyat Hidup PKR/DAP/PAS
#15 by milduser on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 11:43 pm
“I’ll tell him not to do it again. You know during campaigning all sorts of things can come up. I don’t think he meant it. I’ll make sure to tell him not to say it again,” Bodowi said Saturday after chairing the Bertam Umno division meeting here. – The Star
If you read between the lines, what Bodowi implied is this: don’t say it again for the time being BUT when OPPORTUNITY arise I have no qualms if you say it again. I’ll cover you again, and again if needed.
Anything short of an open apology, show cause and disciplinary action by Amnoo on him is NOT ACCEPTABLE for a divisional chief!
#16 by mongolian on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 11:44 pm
Ha Haaa I like these comments :-
To them, personal gain is above anything.
They are silent when the racist remark because they don’t want to piss off UMNO.
MCA and Gerakan’s threats do not mean anything to UMNO.
MCA n Gerakan used the word “HOPE” and not “DEMAND” Ahmad Ismail to apologise and withdraw this stupid racist remark !
MCA and Gerakan really are bunch of people without backbone. Please don’t call yourself representative of Malaysian Chinese, we all Malaysian Chinese don’t think so.
These subservient parties are just empty shells. Their grass root support has moved on.
They have sold out the rights, respect and dignity of the Chinese.
………………
In conclusion,
wouldn’t it be great to live like Kings in PR govt than remain the slaves of UMNO ? If BN really represented all Malaysians, there would be no PR. If BN had CAT concept, there would be no PR Chief Minister in Penang. If the people thought UMNO was great, Selangor, Kedah, Sabah, Sarawak, Kelantan, Perak and Penang would still be ruled by BN.
#17 by passerby on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 11:46 pm
To all MCA leaders and members.
You have failed to defend the legitimate rights and dignity of all the malaysian chinese, including you and your family members. You claim that you don’t believe in open confrontation and you believe in working quietly working at the back.
We all know you are spineless and don’t have any b*lls to stand in front of these racists and condemn them of their racist remarks and we also doubt that you have been working quietly at the back to protect the legitimate rights of the malaysian chinese for all these 51 years.
If you have, we should not be having these kind of remarks coming from all these extremists all the time and ultra-extremists holding and waving keris for the chinese blood, including you and your family members.
Do something and don’t let the chinese and your family members suffer these humiliation anymore. If you don’t have any guts to do something, why not just resign from the humiliated mca and let it die by itself. Don’t let the whole chinese community boycott not only you but also your whole family one of these days.
#18 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 11:48 pm
Still no takers??
#19 by sjchange on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 11:54 pm
Pak Dollah?
No action has taken by you. No apology given by him.
Good job, Pak Dollah! Congratulations! Well done!!!
Good example from you to all!!!
#20 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 11:55 pm
We have the right to squat. It is written in our constitution. Indonesians came and squat and were later given TOL – no, not that toll but temporary occupation license. Indians squat – and one rose to be the country’s Prime Minister. Pakistanis too and one was said to have been sodomised and was given asylee status in the U.S.
You don’t know squat!!
#21 by catharsis on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 12:02 am
PM SAID “I’ll tell him not to do it again. You know during campaigning all sorts of things can come up. I don’t think he meant it. I’ll make sure to tell him not to say it again”……………………….
SURE!!! MR PM YOU AND YOUR DOUBLE STANDARDS-
WHEN THE EMOTIONAL/EXCITED BLOGGERS POST “OFTEN CARRIED AWAY” COMMENTS YOU SHUT/BLOCK MT.
IS THIS YOUR IDEA OF FAIRNESS AND JUSTICE-
NOW DO YOU KNOW WHY MICHAEL BACKMAN CAME UP WITH THE TERM “BODOHLAND” ………………
WHO CAN BLAME HIM WHEN WE HAVE LAWMAKERS LIKE YOU
#22 by zak_hammaad on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 12:03 am
Ahmad’s comments are indeed reckless and unacceptable. As the pressure mounts on the UMNO machinery, it’s imploding from within.
I read that Tengku Razaleigh said many non-Malays believed that Umno or the Malays are the drivers of Malaysia. ”Of late, the Malays have become reckless and bad drivers until the Government is branded as inefficient,” he said.
Surely if a driver is known to be bad and reckless, no sane person would hitch a ride with him for fear of an accident or worse still, fatality. UMNO’s ‘mati bus’ is full of die-hard putras and puteris.
mauriyaII, although I concur with most of your post, race-based politics will not disappear over-night, even if Pakatan came into power. It is not a set of policies that are fundamentally flawed within BN but interpretations and more importantly, it is the mindset of the people. Like the fight against all Qaida, it is a fight against an extremist ideology, which can neither be won by physical force, nor with policy change. It is achieved through moulding of the mindset.
I believe if done with patience and wisdom, this change can happen within a decade. If handled incorrectly, the damage can be worse than it is today. Changing from one extreme to another takes an evolutionary approach, I have not seen anything in Pakatan that brings confidence to reflect their ability to take the middle ground.
#23 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 12:04 am
Still no takers, Jong?? Sheesh! Must be one dumb lot!
#24 by catharsis on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 12:06 am
TENGKU R- UMNO IS NOT A RACIST ORGANISATION-
YOU CAN SAY THAT AGAIN TENGKU………………….
#25 by Hidup Pakatan Rakyat on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 12:07 am
Ya merdeka, we need Pakatan Rakyat (DAP/PKR/PAS) to lead us to new era…
and avoid racist statement as we are all born as Malaysian ……….
#26 by zak_hammaad on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 12:12 am
mauriyaII, although I concur with most of your post, race-based politics will not disappear over-night, even if Pakatan came into power. It is not a set of policies that are fundamentally flawed within BN but interpretations and more importantly, it is the mindset of the people. Like the fight against all Qaida, it is a fight against an extremist ideology, which can neither be won by physical force, nor with policy change. It is achieved through moulding of the mindset.
I believe if done with patience and wisdom, this change can happen within a decade. If handled incorrectly, the damage can be worse than it is today. Changing from one extreme to another takes an evolutionary approach, I have not seen anything in Pakatan that brings confidence to reflect their ability to take the middle ground.
#27 by Tulip Crescent on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 12:25 am
catharsis
Forget what Pak Lah said. Maintain clarity of mind. Ahmad Ismail knows what he said and he knows the timing of his statement.
For all we know, it may be outward sign of the unhealthy rivalry within the Indian Muslim community in Penang.
It may be Ahmad Ismail’s way of doing a number on OCBC Arif Shah Omar Shah.
Penangites, just be very vigilant of any possible spillover effect of this intense rivalry.
#28 by badak on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 12:32 am
BN Government got some very good policies,Problem is that corruption is so bad that from office boys to DG,s all want a share,Yes ACA is going around catching people ,BUt can the ACA sent those caught to prison .Maybe after 10 years down the road.
For now ACA is all bark without the bite.
Let PR rule if they screw up.. kick them out.
#29 by IloveDAPforever on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 1:35 am
Jong Says:
Yesterday at 19: 29.20
The Ong brothers have too much to lose, definitely nothing will come from that ’smiling fox’ Ka Chuan – MCA Sec General!
Remember this rascle was rejected by Perakians, had to run from Ipoh to Batu Gajah, defeated by the young “chilly-padi” of DAP Fong Po Kuan. If not for the practice of cronism by his President bro Ong Ka Ting, where do you think he will be? …operating some out-of-town budget hotel?
He managed to survive March GE-12 because his brother put him in a very safe UMNO constituent of Tg Malim, and you think he ‘dare’ to speak up?
Jong,
Not only that, Ong Ka Sting had the cheek to openly practice his Ong Bros Company business by handing over his ministership to Ong Ka Chng (too lucrative not to carry on in the family … own family member continue to makan & loot).
These brothers have no sense of shame like the Umnoputras. They only care for themselves & are trying to scoop as much as they can before they lose their money spinning positions.
All these so called Chinese leaders do not want to jeopardise their chances of raking in more crumbs handed down by Bodowi & goons.
If they are true in wanting to stand up for the Chinese, the best & easiest tactic is simply giving an ultimatum to Bodowi that if no apology MCA/Gerakan will quit BN. Only that will shake up Bodowi & Najis & stop manipulating MCA/Gerakan by the nose.
If they dare not demand, more racist slurs will be forthcoming as Ahmad Ismail & that racist teacher has the backings of Bodowi & Najis respectively. And who knows, similar to that teacher Ahmad may be rewarded rather than disciplined.
#30 by IloveDAPforever on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 1:43 am
Sorry, the racist teacher has the backings of Kerismuddin the Education minister.
#31 by monsterball on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 1:46 am
It is all shallow words spoken by MCA/Gerakan …play action…to fool voters..with no actions.
But members are getting fed and are resigning….to join DAP or keDAILan.
#32 by IloveDAPforever on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 1:52 am
Yep, like Dr Tan Yew Kew who has some conscience in her.
#33 by Jong on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 1:56 am
Undergrad2,
If you would notice, most who practise the ‘squat culture’, are a resilient lot – capable, hardworking, frugal and ever prepared to spring up at a drop of a hat, and never say “die” . This generation of people are sadly missing in today’s world.
#34 by UzMiNoOnist on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 2:16 am
This racist remark is engineered by UMNO to garner support from their grass roots and to split the unity among the different races in PR. So please do not flare up the issue as we will be lured into a trap setup by our sleepy but crafty Bodohwi.
Why? I remember how much I have hated a religion because their followers protested violently when someone just whispered some words that rub against their feathers. So if we protest, we will be seen in the eye of our Malay friends, you Chinese are no better than any ‘pendatang’. And if DAP lead the protest, you will be seen by our Malay friends as Chinese centric and therefore no different from our UMNO goons. This will then split the unity among in Pakatan Rakyat partners.
So my thinking is, do not go so low as this idiotic Ahmad as he will never change even if you skin him alive.
#35 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 3:27 am
“If you would notice, most who practise the ’squat culture’, are a resilient lot ….This generation of people are sadly missing in today’s world.” Jong
I agree. They don’t know squat!
#36 by lakshy on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 6:32 am
To deprive a man of his natural liberty and to deny to him the ordinary amenities of life is worse than starving the body, it is starvation of the soul, the dweller in the body. Gandhi 1934
The essence of all religions is one. Only their approaches are different. Gandhi 1937
A small body of determined spirits fired by an unquenchable faith in their mission can alter the course of history. Gandhi 1938
There is a higher court than courts of justice and that is the court of conscience. It supersedes all other courts. Gandhi 1921
Never has man reached his destination by persistence in deviation from the straight path. Gandhi 1922
Before the throne of the Almighty, man will be judged not by his acts but by his intentions. For God alone reads our hearts. Gandhi 1940
#37 by musyu99 on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 7:42 am
UMNO masih lagi menyangka mereka sahaja yang layak mentadbir negara atas dasar ketuanan melayu… mereka bagai katak dibawah tempurung yang masih lagi terkongkong dengan falsafah sempit, murung dan racist… ketuanan melayu..
Tunjang kekuatan UMNO adalah kononnya untuk mempertahankan hak melayu… tetapi sebaliknya… bukan semua melayu mendapat keutamaan atas hak melayu… hanya melayu UMNO dan kroni2 sahaja mendapat tempat…
Wajar UMNO di muziumkan dengan kadar segera termasuk lain2 komponen parti BN… Kami sekeluarga akan tetap berjuang bersama Pakatan Rakyat untuk sebuah negara yang berdaulat dan berKetuanan Rakyat..
#38 by 318 on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 7:48 am
mca youth-singnature campaign pls lah stop being the fool of yourselves you can treat yourself a fool but don’t treat others as an idiot go straight and ask the umno head to take action on this small fly idiot show the chineses that your represent the chinese
#39 by wtf2 on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 8:00 am
the running dogs in UMNO should insist on a showcause from the moron
#40 by firstMalaysian on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 8:19 am
If a similar racial slur is made by others in MCA or Gerakan or DAP or PKR or PAS, I think sedition act or ISA will be slapped on the face. Our enforcement boys will be very busy. A nation with two different set of laws, one for UMNO and the other for the rest. This is 51 years of nationhood run by UMNO.
#41 by pamelaoda on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 8:20 am
This Ahamd is what the Malay like and often said anak sia or kurang ajar. Obviously he hasnt,havent read or learnt enough how to give a speech or to behave in the public. His type of spicies are just a carbon copy of Krismudin or Najis waving kris to their own species to show how supremacy they are. And this*boredway show* also repeat themselves in parliament, the recent malaysian bar council. etc and etc…The most scariest part is they are the MPs, ministers …supposed to be leaders and where common people should look up to them. But it turned out to be the clown of Malaysia..and highly paid some more. I dont know how they feel but I am so embarassed especially when my foreign friends made fun of the our Malaysia politicians????!!!!
#42 by pamelaoda on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 8:26 am
To add on, after reading some bloggers written into Chedet`s, it is indeed we are like squatters and is just that they short of spill this word out. One blogger wrote, orang cina di malaysia adalah bagai tuan punya rumah menjemput pelawat ke rumah tetapi lama lama , pelawat ini pun nak jadi tuan rumah pulak…he used this to air his girviences that the chinese and indian are trying to grab this land now and we should be grateful that Malaysia is the only country in this WORLD that allow to give citizenship FREE to us!
#43 by 318 on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 8:40 am
in chedet’s blog still ok pameloada if you read the lori gostan kaca mata one blogger wrote bunuh semua orang cina
#44 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 9:10 am
This morning the PM said that he will ask Ahmad not to repeat it. So basically UMNO people can do something wrong and then all they need to do is not repeat it. Hmmm… So can they steal a billion dollar and just don’t repeat it? Does it mean they can then go and say commit rape and so long as they don’t repeat it?
So Ahmad is not going to repeat it, well he can still go commit a million other despicable act and just don’t have to repeat it. Better yet, get someone else to do the same thing – i.e. call the Chinese pendatang AND then don’t repeat it…
What a merdeka message of unity our PM gives.. If it is not so painful, it would be funny…
#45 by Godfather on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 9:24 am
The Sleepy Head says Ahmad won’t do it again. He says Ahmad probably didn’t mean it. Can he say what he will do if Ahmad does it again ? Will Ahmad ignore him like everyone else ?
Next time anyone utters something seditious or inflammatory, the person need not say sorry. Just say he or she doesn’t mean it. Just say he or she won’t do it again.
Ahmad and Sleepy Head have created a precedent. Lawyers should take note.
#46 by Penang-boy on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 9:54 am
According to the Star “[Bodohwi] will personally see to it that Bukit Bendera Umno chief Ahmad Ismail does not repeat his remarks about the Chinese community.
“I will tell him not to do it again. You know in a campaign all sorts of things can come up. I don’t think he meant it. I’ll make sure to tell him not to use it again,” the Prime Minister said after chairing the Bertam Umno division meeting yesterday.
Is that the only response he can come out with?????????? Not even asking that racist PIG to apologise? Can we accept that PIG to represent the people in the government (I do hope that PIG called Ahmad Ismail and UMNO will never come back to power in Penang and will lose power in the next election)
Bodohwi, a SOW himself has lost complete control over UMNO. He cares only to enrich himself, his family and his cronies and not the people. I bet to my last cent that SCOMI will get most of the contracts to build the LRT lines. Mark my word………billions will flow into the pocket of that nonsense SOW some people call PM.
#47 by Penang-boy on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 9:55 am
ABDULLAH GO TO HELL…MAY YOU ROT IN HELL WITH ALL OF THOSE UMNO PIGS!
#48 by malaymind on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 11:02 am
It is not correct for a person to say that.
As well as using any racial cards.
http://www.malaymind.blogspot.com
#49 by mongolian on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 11:04 am
Yes, changing the mindset is a good way but before the mindset changes, we all need a punching bag. To spill out our frustrations as to why Malays boleh and others tak boleh. I’ve noticed there is already a paradigm shift in the mindset of Malaysians under PR. All equal concept. Even if you watch TVpas.com. even they are preaching why Malays have been let down in Pulau Pinang. Their cara menerangkan isu ni is that the UMNO govt who has been in power uses the age-old tactic of divide and rule.
By causing hatred amongst the citizens of Malaysia by ethnic descent. The peoples’ elected MPs and State Excos are labeling some as snakes and others as squatters.
The leaders are setting a bad example of changing the mindset.
#50 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 11:19 am
The Rivalry PKR shakes UMNO thats the truth, with DSAI bridge ofcourse. His a change man with virtue and a man of wisdom to lead PKR and march agains this imminent dictatorship such as UMNO, i considerate this ppl as saint^^.
Throughout decades after MERDEKA, our leader has dont nothing good for the Nation but their own pocket. If this UMNO kept playing fascism cards to gain their own will, this guys are not much defferent than all-Qaida terrorist.
Theres none such AAB claim as transparency nor freedom of speech by the media nor adds or internet that spares by the wrath of this dominate dictatorship(silently).
For the future Malaysian Malaysia. Dont stop fighting and trusting our beloved PKR. Together we are imminent rival could make a defferent for our Nation. ;)
Merdeka!~