In the past three days, spokespersons and branches of MCA and Gerakan and their youth sections have been protesting in the media against the racist remark by the Bukit Bendera Umno division chief Ahmad Ismail during the Permatang Pauh by-election campaign making derogatory reference to the Malaysian Chinese as “squatters” in the country.
Daily protests are being made in the MCA and Gerakan, including calling for MCA and Gerakan to quit the Barisan Nasional, if top Umno leaders do not take strong disciplinary action against Ahmad.
Ahmad’s speech was reported in the Chinese media on Monday, 25th August 2008 – the eve of the Permatang Pauh by-election on August 26.
Why didn’t the MCA and Gerakan Ministers and leaders take a strong stand on Monday itself to issue an ultimatum that Ahmad apologise and withdraw the racist remark, failing which they would pull out of the Barisan Nasional by-election campaign in Permatang Pauh?
Wouldn’t this be more effective and fruitful than just making protests “after the event”, although it would still get them into the newspapers despite being ignored not only by Umno, the Barisan Nasional Supreme Council but also the Cabinet?

#1 by mongolian on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 11:24 am
How can Ong who is elected in Malay Majority Tg. Malim constituency speak up for the Chinese ?
Is it possible ? Just a psychological trap for Ong.
We Chinese made a mistake in electing him as leader. Because he CANNOT represent the Chinese. How the hell is he MCA president then ?
#2 by pjboy on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 11:29 am
Why is this UMNO man not charged for sedition? All PM AAB is going to do is give him warning??? If any PR members said that, kena ISA. YAB LGE protected a rape victim, kena ISA. WHY??? This is even more seditious than any of the articles by RPK. Can this UMNO man prove that he is also not a pendatang? or is he an Orang Asli?
#3 by sean on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 11:34 am
other components parties especially MCA,MIC and Gerakan are just like a bird in Umno’s hand.Umno squeezes them as and when it like.If Umno wants them dead then all it has to do is squeezeeee….a little bit tighter and suffocate the already suffocating bird further.So..no matter what the so called bird needed to heed the whim and fancies of its master or else more squeezing…..will occur.See this is the actual scenario.
#4 by smashchye on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 11:38 am
why are they questioning chinese rights in this country since that they say we are living in harmony here in malaysia? are they trying to anger the chinese??? they should not question the racial issues when if the chinese talks about malays, they will be very furious where as when the malays question about the chinese, the malay leaders will only say i will sound him out..erksss????????????? not fair.. should have sack ahmad on the spot.. why give any chance to him..???
#5 by Jimm on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 11:49 am
Like an marriages . BN have come to another crossroad ….
We all realized that in all marriages journey , perties involved have to constantly improve their personal part in order to allow the other halves learn to adapt to all changes that around them.
Like any loving couples. all must continue to learn about mistakes and chose to listen to the other halves for close opinion for the betterment of both.
UMNO went too far ahead with their own agendas like an ego husband that went astray with lifestyle …
MIC , MCA and Gerakan have been the passengr in this marriage. Most fo their leader have be awarded TUN fort heir part in keeping their party members in line to follow the instruction and enrich the UMNO chosen members ..
Yeah.. sad to say .. even UMNO have shortchanged their own members for the benefit of their ‘own people’.
Well, like any family environment, when both parents have differences , what can you have their offsprings learn about family values …?????
Not all marriages will end up perfectly as there are plenty of sarcrifies that both must engaged before they can clear from each stage. The next stage always depend on how they ended with the choice from the previous stage. ..
BN .. as good as goner now..
MCA,MIC and Gerakan … widow and brainless individuals that cannot make it alone anyway as they have been living in the comfort zone far far too long … MALAS ..
#6 by One4All4One on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 12:08 pm
Dear Friends,
Let’s be moderate in our language, please. It seems that many of us did not restrain ourselves when voicing our views. Yea, we may have strong opinions about certain issues, but they could be articulated effective without foul and crude languages.
If we can’t and don’t control ourselves, and others choose to do the same, then there would be no end to the bickering and confrontational way of trading arguments and insults.
The blogs should be platforms for us to exchange views and opinions constructively, so that something good may come out of it to benefit all of us. It would defeat the purpose if what is done is just to throw insult for its own sake. It certainly defiles the blog and also damages our very own image and character to take a free for all stance.
Let’s try to be cultured and show each other respect. Then only can we expect others to show the same decorum. Argue and disagree all you would, and make your strong views known, but keep the language clean.
All the best.
#7 by Jong on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 12:14 pm
Mongolian,
We are talking about two Ong brothers. The MCA president is the younger Ong Ka-Ting.
The Sec-General of MCA is the elder Ong Ka-Chuan, and he is the MP for Tanjong Malim- a Malaya populated area(very safe constituency for BN). Malu yah?!
#8 by Hishamuddin on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 12:16 pm
YB Lim,
We Malaysian Chinese are extremely disappointed with the MCA and Gerakan. They dare not lift a finger to shot that UMNO “devil down”.
In UMNO eyes, they have really disgrace the Chinese and other races in Malaysia. ByNajis saying it is just a slip of tongue good enough for them.
Just imagine if MCA or Gerakan call UMNO Malays ” Pendatang”, let us see their reaction……… PENDATANG MCA AND GERAKAN.
#9 by boh-liao on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 12:29 pm
Chinese Malaysians and nonMalay Malaysians should thank Bukit Bendera Umno division chief Ahmad Ismail for openly uttering his Chinese squatters statement, rather than saying it behind their back only among Malays in Umno meetings, coffee shops, surau, or mosques.
NonMalay Malaysians must always remember that there are always Malays (regardless of their political parties) who feel strongly that nonMalays are pendatang, squatters, and 2nd or 3rd class people in Malaysia.
So, NonMalay Malaysians, even those who have been here for many generations, while striving to live in Malaysia, must always think of survival outside Malaysia. It’s NOT “Ask not what your country can do for you–ask what you can do for your country.” Because there are certain Malays who do not want you to do for the country. They want you to vamoosh and disappear from Malaysia. Life is unpredictable and challenging!
Are you still in a mood to celebrate Merdeka?
#10 by ReformMalaysia on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 3:31 pm
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
# cemerlang Says:
Yesterday at 23: 00.41
Wahai umat manusia! Sesungguhnya Kami telah menciptakan kamu dari lelaki dan perempuan, dan Kami telah menjadikan kamu berbagai bangsa dan bersuku puak, supaya kamu berkenal-kenalan (dan beramah mesra antara satu dengan yang lain). Sesungguhnya semulia-mulia kamu di sisi Allah ialah orang yang lebih taqwanya di antara kamu, (bukan yang lebih keturunan atau bangsanya). Sesungguhnya Allah Maha Mengetahui, lagi Maha Mendalam PengetahuanNya (akan keadaan dan amalan kamu).Al-Hujuraat 49:13 #
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Since all religions(Including Islam) prohibit discrimination against fellow human beings,
the MUFTI NEGARA should issue a FATWA that ‘KETUANAN MELAYU’ is HARAM
#11 by teacher on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 4:10 pm
My mind turns to the Hindraf who put on a show and were showered with the water canons. They only wanted the British to pay them compensation for bringing them here. Now we are called squatters. Will we now stand up and be counted !!!!!!
#12 by aquaimplotec on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 5:35 pm
H’ng Khoon Leng, Gerakan Tanjung Youth division and the party’s Youth secretary, Oh Tong Teong is barking up the wrong tree by making a police report about squatting Chinese. There is a law against loitering and the police will lock up the squatters!
Gerakan too is another failed entity breeding mosquitoes in its stagnant youth division. Shame on you.
#13 by Richardqed on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 9:42 pm
If anyone plans on waiting for MCA or Gerakan to issue ultimatums, they can wait until the cows come home.
AAB’s inaction against Ahmad Ismail shows clearly what is important first and foremost for him. Voters who fall into that category of people that Ahmad described as “squatters” should use their votes wisely at the ballot boxes. As long as a candidate belongs to the same party as the party which called them “squatters”, vote for their strongest opponents.
This is the most effective way of dealing with such jokers.
#14 by Malar on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 12:42 am
Hindraf came into limelight becos of these UMNO morons who were racialist. Their struggle seems to be a waste. They have been shut off so that UMNO can continue with their racial drama. MIC which has no backbone and a faithful dog to UMNO can’t do much for indians. Now they have turned their heads to chinese by calling them “squatters”. MCA and gerakan is equally good as MIC so after some time they too will be shut off. Then one fine day again you will hear the UMNO morons calling the non-malays with another racial remark. When Kerismudin waved his keris and said it has not tasted chinese blood, everyone protested, followed by another politician said said something about the indians as snakes, again the indians protested and now this remark. Do we see an end to these? No, because the MCA, MIC and Gerakan are still loyal to UMNO. If these 3 parties have some self respect, then they should walk out from BN. All these racial remarks would stop immediately and UMNO morons will think twice to open their big mouths.
PM’s words that he will make sure that “I will tell him not to do it again. You know in a campaign all sorts of things can come up. I don’t think he meant it. I’ll make sure to tell him not to use it again,” the Prime Minister said after chairing the Bertam Umno division meeting yesterday. Don’t you think it is like telling a small boy, patting on his head don’t be naughty. Did PM realise the seriousness of this remark? All non-malays who had cast their votes for BN, blame yourselves for it.
#15 by croovy on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 1:03 am
MCAparty rep’s are now hiding in their turtle shell.
Once the case is cooling down, slowly but surely they will start crawling out from their turtle shell.
#16 by MGR1940 on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 7:44 am
With all the bitter words againest the Chinese by umno and kekuatan melayu,I call on all Chinese to just close shop in all the intrest they have for just 2 days in the whole country and see who the kekuatan. They all will come begging on your foot.
Then the Chinese will be Kekuatan Cina and call umno and kekuatan melayu anything and do as told.
#17 by ktteokt on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 8:46 am
MCA has already become an irrelevant component party in BN. The first blow was by the Regent of Kelantan when he said that no matter how hard the Chinese in Malaysia fights, they are still second class citizens!
Then came 308 when MCA lost badly even in Chinese electorates and now after 826, they can close shop, pack up and balik kampong!
#18 by undergrad2 on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 8:21 pm
Don’t forget the reluctant ‘squatters’ behind high walls in Sungei Buloh
#19 by cheng on on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 10:53 pm
If only all these “squatters” take a 7 days rest, don’t work, don’t open shops, take 7 days sick leave or annual leave or whatever at the same time, and see what happen to Msia!
And all “squatter” shall hv nothing to do with this Ahmad Ismail, dont repair his house, dont sell anything to him, dont treat any of his sick family member, absolutely no business with him or his family member, directly or indirectly, dont service his cars, dont carry anything food or anything for him. Print his pictures and pasted all over the places, post this racist in you tube etc.
Do you know that Indonesia is asking their Chinese Indonesians who are outside Indonesia to return to Indonesia?
#20 by Malar on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 1:38 am
I agree with MGR1940 and cheng
Yes, all “squatters” should not have anything to do with this Ahmad Ismail. In a recent tv show on the Uitm issue, a politician said so clearly that chinese and indians are pendatang and have overstayed in Bodohland oooop sorry Bolehland. Another product of Uitm ‘a pea brain politician’
#21 by lovemalaysia on Friday, 5 September 2008 - 8:33 pm
this Ahmad Ismail, if any chinese or indian see him, pls slab him on the face! TV news just now, he said he has not said anything wrong! non malay also love this country, but being quote as pendatang, and they never know how non malays do business, spur the economy, paying high taxes, and increase the general income level of Malaysian, although malays also contribute. how non malays bring up the reputation for Malaysia in oversea, but this has been wipe off because nobody knows.
this few days, we so called “pendatang” really get hurt, if this Ahmad Ismail do not know how to respect others, we shd not respect him as well. Manusia yang buat, Tuhan yang sedang lihat, jangan anggap tiada balasan nanti.
MCA and Gerakan cannot do much although they stand by chinese community, pak lah do not have kuasa at all, same like previous menteri besar isuue, his words does not valid and having authority, Dato Seri Anwar, what are your say? Now, according to Ahmad Ismail, non malays in Tanah Melayu is just pendatang, so i believe this also means no difference to foreign labour like Indonesian.
we love tanairku yang tercinta ni, tetapi adanya orang yang tidak cintakan kita, Malaysia, di mana hala tujuan kamu jika lebih AHmad Ismail yang wujud di dunia ni, Allah s.w.t, pls help us!
#22 by lovemalaysia on Friday, 5 September 2008 - 8:42 pm
what is the use of ISA? now Ahmad Ismail is creating hates between malay and non malays, and possible to create chaos in the country, then ISA is just for those opponents? and all UMNO members are immune on it?
politicians that are always fishing for votes and thought of creating chaos for all Rakyat for own interest, u will get ur balasan nanti. Rakyat sekarang ni masih kukuh dan berpadu, we see many chinese and indian buka puasa with Muslim and Malays. We see malay is buying things frm non malays, non malays is alo buying things from malays.
Once upon a time, we are proud because we are the model of perpaduan di antara masyarakat yang berbilang kaum in the world, but what is happening now? Dear Rakyat and anak malaysia semua, jangan terbawa-bawa, dont be mislead by those politicians as a tool for their own interest, stop maki and scolding. After releasing the negative emotions, then get back to work, we have to work hard for the ekonomi of Malaysia!