“Abdullah attacks ‘populist’ claims while presenting populist budget”
This thought occurred to me when the Prime Minister-cum-Finance Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi announced a string of goodies in his 2009 Budget in Parliament today, including the following:
“Those who use less than RM20 of electricity per month will not be charged.”
One would have thought that Abdullah is preparing to fight an early general election if one had not been held just less than six months ago from which Abdullah and the Barisan Nasional emerged badly mauled – followed by another blow to the solar plexus in the Permatang Pauh by-election only three days ago.
But Abdullah was fighting for his political life when he presented the 2009 Budget.
I am not the only one to read Abdullah’s 2009 budget,as his “last ditch bid to cling to power” as a Singapore-based analyst commented: “It is a populist budget to deflect the growing popularity of Anwar”
Never before in Malaysia’s 51-year history has a budget received so little national interest and public attention – as all focus is on how long the Barisan Nasional government can last or Abdullah survive as Prime Minister.
In the past three days after the Permatang Pauh by-election, demands have grown in UMNO for Abdullah to step down as Prime Minister and from the other Barisan Nasional component parties to quit the ruling coalition.
Abdullah referred to this deepening political, economic and nation-building multiple crisis of confidence in the conclusion of his budget speech.
He said:
“120. The tabling of the 2009 Budget demonstrates yet again that the Barisan Nasional Government is responsive to the concerns of the rakyat and has taken measures to lighten the burden of all Malaysians, particularly the lower income group. The approach taken is focused towards support and assistance, which not only improves the quality of life but also enables all Malaysians to enhance their productivity. This Budget is in line with the medium term plan as articulated in the National Mission and the Ninth Malaysia Plan to further develop the nation towards Vision 2020.
“121. The Barisan Nasional Government will continue to manage the economy responsibly. The Opposition, on the other hand, continues to make populist claims, which, if implemented, would undermine the Government’s financial position and bequeath a bankrupt nation to the next generation.”
A competition could be held as to the number of incorrect, misleading or downright baseless claims or false assertions in just these two paragraphs – symptomatic of a Prime Minister and government in deep crisis of confidence.

#1 by yhsiew on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 9:10 am
I don’t see any real effort and strategies taken by the government in the budget to curb inflation, render the economy more competitive and promote foreign investments. There are important issues which affect the nation’s survival. The entire budget merely centered on giving goodies to the rakyat! Obviously Abdullah is desperate to save his party.
#2 by lew1328 on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 9:11 am
Greetings!
The poor long house story mentioned by “Parajurit Sarawak” was reflected the actual situation happenings in Sabah & Sarawak today. This is unknown story or story behind hiding from many of us from west Malaysia. I feel sorry to say that. You have creates the awareness once again, good job.
It looks like the east Malaysia MP’s care more on their pocket/project more than the poor rakyat a group whose considers chickabiddy.
#3 by Hidup Pakatan Rakyat on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 9:40 am
Thanks for Pakatan Rakyat, Thanks to DAP, PKR, PAS who have helped people to voice out all the concerns, 2009 budget
- as usual always please the public servants..
- why only this round more fund channel to Sabah/Sarawak, the fund is needed 46 years and after 308 tsunami politik
- RM20 electricity waive… what a lame
blah-blah blah….
Bravo again to Pakatan Rakyat….we need you to help people to voice out more …..
btw….all of us are Rakyat Malaysia who gain are indeed defined as Malaysian, not this tom, dick or harry simply talk nonsense…..
#4 by jw on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 9:46 am
To access use the address http://mt.m2day.org/ You can check the site status at http://m2day.org/ or google for “Malaysia Today”.
#5 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 9:50 am
I think major allocations have been given to Sabah and Sabah as poverty is still widespread; reflecting the neglect of both the state and federal governments over many years.
Of course the large influx of illegals who have now become citizens compounds the problem.
http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/08/nothing-much-to-shout-about-but-some.html
#6 by Navinda on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 9:53 am
The idiot we have for a prime minister, does he not think when he makes statements. A quick glance at the budget (I am no expert) tells me that he is trying to make amends for his idiotic mistake of raising petrol price by a hefty 40% and causing unprecedented inflation in spite of the global trend. You can bet that the so called assistance is not going to bring relief to the needy, but cause further inflationary trends. Happens each time civil servants get a pay rise or other perks.
#7 by cheng on on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 10:21 am
The RM20 rebate in monthly elect. bill is a no brainer, better give 40% discount to all who use less than RM50 elect. per month.
Big damages already done by the 78 sen increase in petrol, no way to bring back to cost of living situation before 4 Jun 2008
#8 by La Pax on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 10:26 am
shiver Says:
who in malaysia uses less than RM20 a month in their eletrical bills?
and even so, who would dare to live by candle light to save RM20?
– - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - –
Giving you something you don’t need. Is this called blessings to malaysians? It doesn’t make sense at all. The planning is not creative but very passive…how about rebate $20? And they block MT again.
#9 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 10:28 am
http://ranking.heeact.edu.tw/
another world ranking.
1-500 boleh universities not seen. by country, we don’t find boleh.
#10 by Penang-boy on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 10:30 am
Having an idiot running the show and dogs (MCA, MIC, Gerakan and all those component parties) running around waiting for scraps to be thrown to them (instead of taking care of the interest of the people) is a recipe for failure.
Here in Malaysia, the worst case of all scenarios “the master-slave” relationship will result in utter failure of the country should this be left uncontrolled. We need to be vigilant, and to ensure that the extremely corrupt government is kicked out of office.
We must say no to these “hand-outs” which would not only bankrupt our country’s coffers, but would also transfer billions into the pockets of the monkeys (UMNO politicians). This budget reflects the worst colours of the UMNO-led BN. They have shon their true colours and it is time we reject them. My plead to all PR MPs, please vote against this budget. We don’t need all these hand-outs, at a time when more investments should be on building up human capital, healthcare, helping the poor, trying to attract investments etc, not giving billions to the 1.2m civil servants (1.2m odd to service 26m Malaysian?????? Do we really have that many? If so, why do we have to queue for hours to get things done in Govt dept which are usually under-staffed? We don’t have enough teachers in schools. They can’t be in the army, coz we would have one of the biggest army in the world……so where did the govt hide the 1.2m people then????)
The day when the UMNO-led BN is kicked out, will there be an opportunity for us as a nation.
#11 by kglim on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 10:30 am
Someone out that please help. RPK’s site blocked again. Anyone know the new URL?
#12 by js on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 10:31 am
By the way, does DSAI really need to fix the 16/9 for taking over the government? Can it be done before his hearing taken place? We really cannot wait liao….
#13 by alancheah on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 10:33 am
I could not believe that Pak Lah took such a chance in
the last part of his speech in delivering political-related
messages!
Pak Lah, this is Budget Speech, an important
Budget Speech relating to all rakyat’s life. I was
listening to you in delivering Budget related speech,
but out of sudden at the end of your speech, you talked
about politcal issues. How can you bring in political topic
to Budget Speech?
Truely fed up!!!
#14 by Godfather on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 10:47 am
These guys are so out of touch with reality it is simply unbelievable. That’s what 30 years of abuse and neglect have done to this country – a bunch of incompetents who try so hard to hang on to power, but does not even have the basic skills to help improve our lives.
We recognise that Pak Bodoh is what he is, but then what about the rest of the Treasury team ? Nor Mohamed may be a maverick, but about about the DG downwards ? No brains to craft something that is truly workable for the poor on utilities and transportation ?
We don’t need a budget to tell us what is wrong with our country. The fact that the poor and needy could have been helped with the proper implementation of the NEP is a damning indictment of the failed implementation of BN policies.
#15 by Penang-boy on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 10:54 am
#16 by yhsiew on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 11:05 am
MalaysiaToday son’s site is blocked. Here is the latest site for MalaysiaToday:
http://mt.m2day.org/2008/
#17 by penang308 on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 11:05 am
They said this is the “BIGGEST BUDGET EVER”!
Thet question is, “WHY THE BIGGEST BUDGET!” when he is going to retire in 2 years time?
I guess the answer is “TOO SAPU AS MUCH AS POSSIBEL B4 RETIRING”.
#18 by MyFoot on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 11:28 am
AAB don’t know what he is doing. Just trying to survive.
#19 by lew1328 on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 11:39 am
Greetings!
I think out of all, our “Legal Street Gangster” who got 5.4 billions must be damned happy at this moment. Cheers… Rusa
#20 by KennyGan on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 11:44 am
Free electricity for RM20 usage or less is an insult to the rakyat. A small fridge (100W) running 24 hrs a day uses:
0.1kW x 24 hrs x 30 days =72 kWH
Cost per month = 72 KWH x RM0.30 = RM21.60
Poorah!
#21 by noohceekeel on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 11:55 am
i wonder did the sleepyhead pass his math during schoolday…
rm54bil for developement exp, guess >40% will flow into their pocket, n his son-in-law need to make a bigger pocket for his shirt n pants..obviously the budjet is not relevant..why don’t use the budjet for free electricity below rm20 to invest more in public transportation..i feel sick using the LRT n KTM..and use the budjet to improve the quality of road..bump n hole here n there along the journey..
#22 by oknyua on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 12:06 pm
To parajurit Sarawak,
Each time the white-hair man make a statement, applauses could be heard from ALL IBAN MPs and ADUNs. The mighty Jabu called him “yang di Sayangi, Yang di Sanjungi.” When timber company Samling gave SALT to burnt Punan longhouse lat week, NO Iban, Kayan Kelabit MP, ADUN and minister said a word. Only two Chinese said something it was improper.
Parajurit, use your logistic knowledge to register all friends as supporters of DAP or PKR. Contact the nearest DAP office. Start small and collect all dissatisfactions and record them. Retrieve them when election time comes. Play it quietly less white-hair man “balas dendam.”
I spent one week in E Malaysia 2 weeks ago. There are dissatisfactions, but would that translate into votes during election time? To ascertain this, register all friends with DAP, okay.
#23 by smashchye on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 12:26 pm
let me tel u guys that actually he does not have a slightest interest in giving the goodies to the public. but despite anwar’s winning in pp seat, he has to give the goodies he saved for himself to public because he is scared that anwar really can take over the government this september. well, regardless of what he said that anwar’s winning means nothing, it actually means A LOT to him because from wat anwar said, pm was nervous while presenting the budget because he was scared and feel sorry for letting the goodies slip from his hand…pity pm.. he can save alot by not giving the bonus and others out but wat to do… hev to save his career first.. if not MALU looooooooooooooooooooo…and ending his budget presentation, sempat lagi he criticize the opposition and the MONKEYS of his did not lose any time but to agree alot with him and this is the time to bodek him.. look and listen to the way he talked and all the sudden the MONKEYS cannot control their bodekness..haha so fani
#24 by parajurit sarawak on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 12:47 pm
Mr Lim
Thank you (lew1328). You understand how we survive in the long house which was built before Sarawak joining Malaysia.
To continue with my comments, I must say here that the only person in our long house who receive free electricity from the “private operator” is the Tuai Rumah (head man). He laughed at me when I mentioned that the government is giving RM20 free electricity for every door in our long house.
You know why Mr Lim, we were always promised by the politician in every election that we will be provided with Electricity supply.
Until now, it is just a dream.
Apai used to the life with no electricity in the jungle operations area in the name of fighting for peace for our country. So AAB, just keep your RM20 electricity for your next year populist budget. Even the Tuai Rumah (head man) refused to accept your so called goodies. Pointless..
So, just leave us alone, let us continue with our living like before Merdeka (Fair Land Sarawak). Continue to increase the budget for the “White Hair (replacing White Rajah)” and family so as to get his fullest support for you.
Apai continue dreaming……..with moon light…
Apai
#25 by swipenter on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 12:48 pm
Yesteryear RM50 can buy u something , now RM100 cant buy u much. Friendly budget? Try a simple experiment. Change a RM100 note into demonination of RM5,RM10 and RM50 notes and see how fast your RM100 disappears and what it can buy you. We want a budget that is investment and biz friendly that can create jobs, anti inflationary and making our country competitive and not giving handouts to make the govt look good . Trying to spend to get out of the ecomonic stagflation with your impressive budget figures?
#26 by k1980 on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 12:54 pm
This is very much like the village bully extorting 30 sen from every kid who passes by his house, and then returning 5 sen to each of the kids when their parents confront him
#27 by cheng on on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 1:08 pm
To get the RM20, rebate, let’s see, at 21.8 sen / kwh
20*100/21.8 = 91.7 kwh per month,
91.7/30.42 = 3 kwh per day.
so, no fridge, no aircond, no ironing, no washing mc, no cooker, no kettle, no oven, etc
those who wan this saving, ensure yr elect mtr read less than 3kwh per day, read everyday! maybe candlelight dinner every evening!
#28 by m.hwang on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 1:35 pm
‘undergrad2 Says:
Today at 03: 56.52 (9 hours ago)
“Assuming we underestimate the deficit like last year, what is the actual deficit gonna be like in 2009?? A staggering 5.6%!!” m.hwang
That’s right! It is all about how the deficit is going to be financed. If it is going to be financed by a massive increase in borrowing, then we would be burdening the next generation. You’re mortgaging your children’s future!
And for what reason? To make sure these corrupt leaders stay in office. It would be easier and cheaper to just dump them!’
Spot on. And the bigger one’s deficit, the lower the ratings. That means borrowing at a higher cost. It’s just like getting a personal loan to finance your house. The better your record e.g. prompt repayment, low gearing etc. will ensure that you get the best interest rates. Otherwise you pay through your nose.
The only way out is to introduce policies that can increase our income e.g.aggresive and sound incentives to encourage foreign investment.
Recently a prominent figure in Petronas has warned the government that unless we reduce our dependancy on oil we are going to be in trouble in as a few years time. He also lamented that so much has been spent and policies bent on improving the manufacturing sector to the detriment of the rest of the nation and yet we have so little to show for it.
Question: Do you see anything that will attract foreign investments in Budget 2009? Has Muhyiddin done anything to ensure that we increase foreign investment 6 months on? Is our government so engrossed in politicking and ensuring their own political survival that the country is on auto pilot mode to destruction?
#29 by cheng on on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 1:52 pm
To finance deficit??
a). More borrowing–next generation suffer
b). Increase taxes,–rakyat suffer now.
c). Print more banknote–inflation, RM purchase power erode.
#30 by cheng on on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 1:54 pm
Finance deficit?
Issue bonds = borrowing too !
#31 by cheng on on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 1:57 pm
As long as bn continue its present styles, policies, not many ppl (local & foreign) will seriously invest big time in Msia
#32 by parameswara on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 2:00 pm
imranj78 Says:
“You guys are really cry babies. Rather then look at the bright side of things, you condemn even without thinking through. Free electricity with bills of less then RM20 goes a lot to ease the pain off the hardcore poor.”
=============================
hardcore poors may not even have electricity in their homes.
#33 by m.hwang on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 2:10 pm
The government should let us know how many households will benefit from this. I have not come across anyone whose bill is less than 20 thus far. Does anybody know of anyone who does?
#34 by ReformMalaysia on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 2:18 pm
Among the ‘candies ‘ offered by ‘kerajaan prihatin’ of Pak Lah in Budget 09 are reduction of import duties on microwave ovens, rice cooker, blender and electric kettle.
The problem is are the people buy these items every month?
Most people only buy these items once in 5-7 years!
#35 by Anak Msia on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 2:21 pm
inflation is in its highest, stock market dip to lowest, price of everything is up but my bank balance is in it lowest, i wonder the budget will help me as i am not civil servant.
#36 by yhsiew on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 2:24 pm
During the budget speech, Abdullah said in English: “We need to get on with the business of governing and not waste any more time with opportunistic threats to seize the people’s mandate through undemocratic means.”
Abdullah please remember that the present government was never elected through democratic means. Don’t forget how your MPs were helped by postal votes, phantom voters, vote-buying, controlling the main stream media and a biased EC. It is only natural that an undemocratic government be rendered democratic by more noble political parties such as PR.
#37 by ReformMalaysia on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 2:42 pm
‘If your electricity usage not more than RM20, the bill would be free’.
Soon the government would increase the electricity tariff …..
so the government don’t even need to shoulder this small subsidy anymore, because none would have electricity bill below RM20
#38 by boilingmad on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 2:46 pm
Ahhh, free electricity for those spending RM20 or less a month means more money for AAB and his cronies’ pockets.
Yeah, this free electricity really got my toes laughing!!
#39 by toyolbuster on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 2:47 pm
Why inflict upon the Rakyat with the greatest hardship in Malaysian history and then try to pacify with a meaningless effort to lighten the burden of all who have been suffering tremendously, even with many suicide cases being reported daily as a direct effect.
#40 by La Pax on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 2:49 pm
what’s the difference between badawi and shabbery? almost the same. It’s better don’t including this in the budget “Those who use less than RM20 of electricity per month will not be charged.”
Pls don’t keep squeeze..sqeece..sqeezing us to use less than 20 electricity..like going back to the jungle.
#41 by yhsiew on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 2:54 pm
Malaysia unveils expansionary budget, deficit shocks – YAHOO ASIA NEWS:
Spending would push the budget deficit to 3.6 percent of gross domestic product in 2009 and 4.8 percent this year, way above the government’s earlier targets — a move that is likely to hit the ringgit currency and bond yields.
“The 4.8 percent fiscal deficit is a whopper,” said Suresh Kumar Ramanathan, head of currency and rates strategy at CIMB Investment Bank. “Large and clearly to exert pressure on the ringgit.”
#42 by citizenwatch on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 3:16 pm
PM believes that if not for Thomas Edison’s invention of the electric bulb, his people would have prepared the 2009 Budget on the personal computers by candlelight. Hence, the tribute of use of less than RM20 free electricity reminiscent of Edison’s era in usage.
#43 by akarmalaysian on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 3:42 pm
to be honest i dun care a damn how this budget sounds like.it benefits no one but the greedy people fr umno itself.a whopping 200 over billion budget.my……how much more do u think they will korek again fr thr.and for this brainless pm of ours……pls tell him to teach us how to spend less than 20 ringgit electricity in a mth.who is he trying to kid.i told u most of these leaders dun even knw wat they are talking abt each time they open up their mouth.i dun believe in stupid people.but this pm of ours is just proof that he is really plain stupid or a plain useless bird brain.if he can really show us how to spend 20 ringgit of electricity in a mth i will hv my sss bent down for anyone to cucuk instead of saifuls but i wont be able to swear on the quran cos i am not a muslim.
#44 by StevePCH on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 3:46 pm
RM 20 free electricity not good enough kah !!!
Ok, LAH … Later will be free phone bill if usage less than RM 3 telephone bill , free NS “sex education”, free wheelies “RempIt”, Free PDRM water cannons for peaceful demo , Free stay in Kamunting/Sg Buloh, Free flood water, Free internet blockade, free useless leaders, free nearly useless healthcare , free UiTM from non Malays, free conspiracies , freely increase fuel prices , free toll plazas.
It’s all in the budget, just that you can’t see it.
Stop complaining guys … so many things oredi free, only we don’t have true FREEdom from BeEnd yet.
#45 by taiking on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 3:59 pm
What about the budget?
Oh its good.
Its the best ever.
The poor people will be cheering away.
The business people too.
It will help the economy.
It is a caring budget.
Good for the future.
etc etc etc
See I could roll all of these out of my tongue without any trouble.
And I hv not even seen or heard anything about the budget yet.
Its like faking an orgasm – all those who praise the budget.
And it isnt hard to do at all.
#46 by The Enforcer on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 4:00 pm
Thanks bro MrSmith, solcroft and devilmaster for the info. to MT.
Hope it’s not too late thanking all my bros on the blog who are so helpful and speedy in response.
Just got back, slogging to make ends meet. Only now have the time for my bros, uncle Lim and RPK.
#47 by Timmy on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 4:01 pm
Have to serve 25 long..long .years only to get pension rm 720, silly!
#48 by Timmy on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 4:05 pm
hopefully klse will start to bull from NOW! ITS 50-50 maybe…..
#49 by akarmalaysian on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 4:21 pm
ok…i am too free today.lets see in order to hv no charges on my electricity bill…
1. use candles for lighting?
2. charcoal for cooking?
3. go waterfall for bathing?
4. plant vegetables in my room?
5. borrow newspaper fr neighbours?
6. go kopi tiam or mamak stall to watch astro?
7. ask my children to walk to school?
8. ask my family to sh*t in the longkang and use old newspaper to
chebok?
9. no more kotex for my wife.must ask her to use toilet rolls or old
newspaper?
10. using candles also must be limited at nite for my childrens
school revision?
11. make a point i will kayuh basikal to work?(save petrol)
12. buy ice to keep fish and meat and put them in ice box?
13. ask my in laws to sit under the lamp post in order to hv dinner?
14. use iron that put charcoal to iron baju?
15. in order to save everything…maybe rear chickens or pigs in my
room?
so….if this deek head pm is thinking and asking the people to save fr his 200 over billion budget…pls ask him to do this as our fine example leader first before he utter another rubbish fr his mouth.
#50 by Timmy on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 4:27 pm
i hope klse will bull if it can rise above 1101 in a few days. But can it maintain the trend?i think only for very short period!