Malaysia Today blocked – MSC Bill of Guarantees Violated

In my interjection during the debate on the DNA Bill in Parliament this morning, I had raised the blocking of popular website Malaysia Today on the directive of the Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) and the violation of the Multimedia Super Corridor (MSC) Bill of Guarantees as “a gift to the world” of no censorship of the Internet by the Malaysian authorities.

I quoted it as the latest example of the rampant abuses of power by the government which explains why there is so little public confidence in the independence, professionalism and impartiality of the various enforcement agencies with the vast powers as proposed in the proposed DNA bill.

Almost all key institutions of the state, whether the Attorney-General’s Chambers, the Police, the Anti-Corruption Agency or the judiciary have come under a grave cloud and lost the high respect and public standing they were held by Malaysians in the early years of nationhood.

The MCMC directive to block Malaysia Today and the violation of the MSC Bill of Guarantees must be roundly and unanimously condemned by all right-thinking Malaysians, and the reasons cannot be more eloquently summarised by Jeffrey in another thread:

The government has a plethora of laws against Internet abuse and it has already brought sedition and criminal intimidation charges against website owner RPK so why the censorship?

Under point 7 of the Multimedia Super Corridor (MSC) Malaysia 10 Point Bill of Guarantees to the international community, the government promises to ensure no internet censorship.

Here government does the censorship ‘indirectly’ by invoking Section 263 of the Communications and Multimedia Act (1998) by pressuring license holders (such as ISPs) to take action against service user like Malaysia Today alleged to be contravening national laws. (Under of the Act, a licensee must “use his best endeavour” to prevent his/her facilities from being used to violate any law in the country”).

If they can block Malaysia Today they can block other blogs like this one too.

As mainstream media is controlled and used as a propaganda machine, the Internet is the last bastion of free speech and source of truths (as well as untruths) though it is up to readers to sift and separate wheat from chaff.

Please remind them on implications of breaching an international guarantee like MSC Bill of Guarantee and its effects on MSC, investments and gfenerally government’s credibility in the international arena.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Loh on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 4:45 pm

///If they can block Malaysia Today they can block other blogs like this one too.///

They have been reminded. It is now a matter of time.

2. #2 by ahpiow on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 4:48 pm

MalaysiaDtoday has been reborn. Those haven’t found RPK Jr, please go here
    http://mt.harapanmalaysia.com/2008/
    Syabas on DSAI’s official swearing in as head of opposition!

3. #3 by haris01 on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 4:54 pm

i dont know why they dont want to fight like a brave….
    everything and anything also YES or NO…….

4. #4 by tan chi nam on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 4:56 pm

haris…
    this is the art of loser….

5. #5 by Captain on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 4:56 pm

BN is a poor loser.

The more BN tries to stiffle opposing views, let alone blogs that continue to dig truths and expose the rots in the BN leadership or Admin, the more the BN ship will sink.

What we want to know is after Anwar wins Ptg Pauh, whose political carreer is going to be terkubur? Badawi? Khairy? Hisham? Hamid Albar?

MCMC act against Malaysiatoday is an act of Cowardice.

6. #6 by Toyol on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 5:02 pm

Cyberspace is too big for their small brains.

If what is published in MT is slanderous,incite hate and seditious, what about the waving of the kris and threatening the Chinese called?BN is scared shitless because they are guilty of all that is said in the blogs. Why not block porn websites, gambling websites and phishing websites because these cause more social problems. Don’t they know that websites cannot be blocked. How stupid? Their stupidity increases every day.

7. #7 by k1980 on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 5:06 pm

To paraphrase Lincoln’s Gettysburg Address:

Two score and eleven years ago, our fathers brought forth on this land, a new nation, conceived in Liberty, and dedicated to the proposition that all men are created equal. But somehow, somewhere along the way, the men who are created equal became unequally treated, because someone thought that the men who are created equal need to be treated differently according to their skin colour.

8. #8 by limkamput on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 5:12 pm

We have Bill of Guarantees, but we also have the Communications and Multimedia Act (1998). Surely we cannot uphold one and overlook the other. Both probably exist for good reasons.

We argued that other laws are available to prevent internet abuse. But the reality is people get influenced and people get hurt when half truth and lies are allowed to spread. Blog owners must exercise reasonableness and responsibility if internet is to remain a viable option for information dissemination and free speech.

9. #9 by son of perpaduan on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 5:17 pm

I’ve no objection if malaysia embrace to communism.

10. #10 by Emily Pratt on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 5:21 pm

Sorrylar…I am not so pandai wrt Computer-computer stuff, please allow me to ask:

So if MT is blocked, and MT moves to a new url, won’t it be blocked again and again ad infinitum by the Authority?

EP

11. #11 by yhsiew on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 5:33 pm

So one more added to the list: OSA, PPPA, ISA, MCMCA…..

PR can capitalize on this issue during the next GE to get a bigger win.

12. #12 by taiking on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 5:36 pm

Only stupid fools will pick to greater of evils.

Control MSM and block alternative media.

What’s left?

Yes. Rumours.

That they certainly cannot shut down. Nor prevent.

And rumours are worse and because they are rumours they spread pretty fast and are almost always accepted as true or at least as bearing some truth.

Instead of fighting a enemy that at least has a recognisable form, UMNO decided to pick one without any form.

Maybe Strawberry is really good at shadow thai kick boxing.

13. #13 by riversandlakes on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 5:53 pm

Yes, Uncle Lim, it is a blatant violation of the Bill of Guarantees. Please raise as much noise on this as possible. Foreign investors will bring the pressure that is required against the Barang Naik government.

14. #14 by eloofk on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 5:55 pm

The Pen is Mightier than the Sword!

15. #15 by yhsiew on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 6:10 pm

The government should not blame bloggers websites for its drop in popularity. As long as it practices transparency, accountability and impartiality, bloggers will be dumbfounded and have nothing bad to criticize on the government.

The current seemingly negative comments on the government found in bloggers cyberspace were due to the government’s lack of transparency, accountability and impartiality in its administration.

16. #16 by grace on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 6:16 pm

It really goes on to show that the governmentis lost for directions.
    They could not even reduce Anwar’s majority. This shows that they lacked leadership.
    Why must they block MT? MT is doing a very good jobin exposing the dirts of BN leaders which no mainstream media would dare do.
    If you are clean , no one can ever slandwer you.

17. #17 by wanderer on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 6:18 pm

We should invite Mr Kevin Rudd, Prime Minister of Australia, to see how vibrant a democracy Malaysians are enjoying…perhaps, democracy UMNO’s style.
    DPM commented, “Democracy is alive.” Mr Najib, what sort of democracy were you refering?

18. #18 by StevePCH on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 6:38 pm

they can stop him from blogging, so they think they can unplug it. If you look at the web, it’s kinda open. Confusing yet arousing. I know of so many RPK’s fan. Mirror n mirror n mirror ….. MT won’t die even if RPK is caught.

Blocking MT is just like what BeEnd is doing to MSM. I do not buy newepapers nowadays. I don’t watch RTM and TV3 at all. Yeah just go around and ask how RTM fared on live telecast of Beijing Olympic. Pathetic. I rather not watch.

BeEnd can block control internet but again and again …. it will backfire. Just like kena SUMPAH laknat !!!

19. #19 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 6:55 pm

If anything on earth deemed ‘sensitive’ is blocked
    Then all blockheads should be the first to be blocked
    Often when the door is wrongly closed
    There’ll be a window still left exposed

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 280808
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Thu. 28th Aug. 2008.

20. #20 by boh-liao on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 7:19 pm

At this age of Information and Communication Technology, the BN government still wants to stop the free flow of information to rakyat. This is really dumb. The only reason why it wants to do it is because truth is being circulated. And truth hurts, but truth will eventually be transmitted to all.

What next?

21. #21 by firefox on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 7:47 pm

The BN & Police are stupid moron that i ever seen. It’s not work to block Malaysia Today. RPK can create another or even more Blogs using WordPress or Blogger. It’s not about the Domain, it’s about the Articles even RPK can forward email to all. It’s so simple. How many blog they want to Block? Stupid!

22. #22 by butul on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 7:48 pm

Son of Perpaduan

Communism shoots the corrupted in government. We protect them.

23. #23 by Loyal Malaysian on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 7:58 pm

To give the UMNOputras credit, they had tried to keep to the spirit of the guarantee till now.
    But they know thay are losing their hold on power , in particular their spin on events had all been torn to shreds especially by MT.
    So, I believe this is the first in a series of drastic steps taken by the UMNOputras to try to cling to power.
    Let’s hope the light we see at the end of the tunnel will soon turn into glorious daylight and the UMNOputras will be booted out soon.
    Anyway, the son of MT is up and running and I wish it many happy returns for the day.

24. #24 by Joshua Tan Kok Hauw on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 9:09 pm

The stupid BN can block Malaysia Today but BN cannot block the hearts of Malaysians who want changes.

BN is actually blocking itself from the feelings and opinions of Malaysian, I should say true Malaysian.

25. #25 by AA234567 on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 9:12 pm

ahpiow Says:

Today at 16: 48.17 (4 hours ago)
    MalaysiaDtoday has been reborn. Those haven’t found RPK Jr, please go here
    http://mt.harapanmalaysia.com/2008/

ahpiow, thanks for the info.

26. #26 by devilmaster on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 9:19 pm

i am confused of this – can a bill be passed into becoming law with less than 2/3 majority? Or a 2/3 majority is only good for amendment?

[A bill only needs a simple majority of MPs present in Parliament at the time of voting to be passed. Two-thirds majority of MPs (and not just MPs present) is required for any constitutional amendment to be adopted. - Kit]

27. #27 by subject on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 9:38 pm

Raja Petra is the only one hero who fight endlessly.

28. #28 by kutlakut on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 10:01 pm

So is Malaysia Today ‘a blog keep churning out stories that can not be proven or substantiated’ deserving blockage of access as directed by Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission? said limkamput.

Sigh. Long sigh. Come on, let us not swallow this rubbish brandished by the so called MSM aka fourth estate that is the fifth column. Challenge it. We are able to distinguish curses in the bloggs from reports of what really happened.

MSM don’t report on the truth, lie by not not reporting the truth, lie by telling half truths, lie by ommission and we become igonrant. Criminals are not confronted and the criminals continue to raid the pantry. You ask them why did they not report on something that the blogger got wind of? Reply: their source is NOT Verifiable.

Poppycock@! So convinient. The BN fellas had been hoodwinking us for half a century and they won’t want us to know. Thats why they control the press and the journalists become whores of the establishment. Their editors have to consult before publishing the editorias – worthless trash compare to RPK.

Have faith in bloggers who stick their necks out for the sake of the country, so that we may know and do something to get back our country. If more people had known what was going on behind our backs, BN would have been swiped off the slate on March 8. Half the nation did not know! Half the nation did not think that we could have done it, viz shake the corrupt government that is filled with non professionals. We are being ruled by nincompoops, incompetants.

If we had known more and much earlier, then even Mahathir would have been tsunamied out sooner.

The MSM owes us a lot of confession.

29. #29 by sabri on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 10:07 pm

no problem if they are keep blocking. just download the freegate(v 6.76) at download.com and try it. u can access to the blocked pages.

30. #30 by StevePCH on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 10:16 pm

it also spells the end of MSC in principle.

BeEnd flying kite very high now. saying Anwar’s victory does not represent anything. If it is not, why can’t you win. If it is not a trend, what is ?
    Mamaktir may sound hypercritical but the truth is Rakyat has loss confidence in not only AAB but whole of BeEnd.

For PR… DSAI,LGE,LKS,Pas leaders please watch your back. There will be more traps in store and barely 5 months, some have fallen into it. Remember, we expect CAT !!! don’t fail us and wee won’t fail to support PR !!!

Death for MSC , waste of public funds , incompetent governing … Budaya Lalang Negara …. flip flop !!!

31. #31 by StevePCH on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 10:17 pm

luckily we have expert like sabri to bypass these. MCMC M*rons

32. #32 by drsd1665 on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 10:39 pm

They can block any sites they like but we can learn lots from China’s internet censorship, and use their firewall circumvention tools, such as freegate (mentioned above by sabri) or ultrasurf.

For Ultrasurf, you can download from:
    http://www.ultrareach.com
    http://www.wujie.net/downloads/ultrasurf/u.zip

Then extract the file and run, that’s it.

If you are using browser other than IE, then you have to manually change your proxy IP address to 127.0.0.1 with port :9666

33. #33 by drsd1665 on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 10:52 pm

In the event that MCMC decides to further implement a China-styled full blocking of websites or blogs perceived as being not friendly to UMNO/BN, the followings can be used as an effective way to circumvent internet censorship:

1. Accessing a mirror site
    2. Using a non-censoring DNS-server
    3. Using a non-censoring proxy server

More details here –> http://malaysian-today-net.blogspot.com

34. #34 by limkamput on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 10:57 pm

Kutlakut, I think you have to sort out who said what before you gave your comments.

By all means condemn the msm and I agree with most of it. My question for you and for another fellow too proud to even mention my name when responding to my comment is this: is internet media also becoming like msm? If so, what difference will internet media be in the future?

Don’t talk about naivety with me kutlakut. I saw the follies of mamakthir way before even PKR was born.

35. #35 by Tulip Crescent on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 11:19 pm

devilmaster Says:

Today at 21: 19.14 (1 hour ago)
    i am confused of this – can a bill be passed into becoming law with less than 2/3 majority? Or a 2/3 majority is only good for amendment?

devilmaster

A Bill on any matter that is not entrenched needs to attract only a simple majority. This is called a simple Bill.

A Bill that deals with entrenched matters requires a two-third majority.

As to what is entrenched or what is simple, please refer to the Federal Constitution.

Generally, when Bills are made, where clauses require a two-third majority and are therefore entrenched, these will be spelt out. Otherwise, a simple majority will do.

I hope this explanation suffices.

36. #36 by milduser on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 11:34 pm

They can try and block the website but will never succeed. Why? Administratively, they can send as many orders as they like to ensure the ISP licence holders to comply but technologically they are not sophisticated enough. The only country in the world that has succeeded in blocking any site (other than wholesale blocking, eg YouTube) is China. In the latest tech report, China was able to prevent its citizens from downloading a specific song (deemed offensive) from the Apple iTune store. Precision missile targeting, I suppose.

37. #37 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 11:35 pm

Get to feel the pulse of thinking people through their blogs
    Rather than to stifle the bloggers with any foolish block
    Daily read their blogs carefully and then take good stock
    To avoid getting from the intellectual bloggers any hard knock

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 280808
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Thu. 28th Aug. 2008.

38. #38 by Tulip Crescent on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 11:39 pm

Targetting a website or websites and blocking one or all of them is the way of the bully and the coward.

If this is the way power is being exercise, it is way irresponsible because it goes against decency.

The only sustainable way out is to fight an argument with a better argument. No sane person will try and sweep away an argument. Fight it.

With all the powers at their disposal, I am wondering why they dare not counter an argument with a better argument. Why? Why? Why?

39. #39 by de_Enigma on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 11:55 pm

It’s been rather funny to the point annoyed by how ‘professional’ our government deals with problems.

The Coalition Government without fail again demonstrate the ‘Boleh’ philosophy by taking such amateurish action. It doesn’t make sense to pressure the ISP(s) to block certain sites where they again can set up another similar operations. Watching a cat chasing his own tail is not funny at this level and certainly this action would further fuel the uproar among the opposition supporters.

I thought they have learned not to underestimate the power of internet from the recent general elections. I guess they just ‘boleh’ make the same mistake twice.

40. #40 by zak_hammaad on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 11:57 pm

The MSC Bill of Guarantees is void and not applicable when someone violates national stability and provokes endless libellous, slanderous and defamatory material and comments.

MT and other blogs and online activists are not above the laws of the country. They must understand their responsibility towards safeguarding cohesion and the laws that include the preservation of national security.

The promise that there will be no censorship of the Internet in the country is not without conditions; especially when material is allowed that is insulting to one section of the community and can lead to civil unrest. No government can take chances with it’s internal security; especially in a uniquely diverse country as Malaysia.

Section 3 of the Act, which reads: “Nothing in this Act shall be construed as permitting the censorship of the Internet.” can not be understood independently of section 263 of the Communications and Multimedia Act, which states that an ISP must obey a written request from the commission “in the national interest.”

Interpretations may vary as to what is construed as “in the national interest” and the MCMC has decided to act against the blog site within this scope. RPK’s seditious and insensitive and unwise nature is common knowledge, his blog almost always manages to incite.

People must remember that MT has been in operation for years, therefore the latest action is not a crack down on “dissenting views”. RPK has been given ample warnings in the past to amend his unethical ways.

The fact that sites like MT exist is proof of Malaysia’s sincerity in opening up cyberspace for one and all. Singapore, that is hailed as a model for Malaysia would never allow a site like MT to exist because they too understand the nature of their social make-up and internal security matters.

41. #41 by milduser on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 11:57 pm

If the gomen is so afraid of a handfull of bloggers, i think they really have a problem. It shows that what the bloggers are revealing are “true” except the ‘facts’ may not be easily verifiable. If the gomen thinks that what the bloggers write are a load of rubbish, they can also counter them with their arguments (like a debate) and challenge the bloggers to link the government’s rebuttal in their websites, with links of “facts” and “figures” if they wish. Use the same technology against the bloggers not to block but to counter their ‘revelation’. So, what’s the fuss? Because, I believe this corrupt government has NOTHING to counter – that’s why they are so afraid! VERY AFRAID!
    Anyway, everybody (including the gomen) has his rights – to sue for defamation. But why violate the Law (BILL of Guarantee) and stifle the freedom of expression. STUPID gomen, shooting its own two feet, esp that Hermit bald chap!

42. #42 by tunglang on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 11:59 pm

Write no evil(BN), Read no evil(BN), Blog no evil(BN).
    Just be like Monkeys of BN.
    Hooff, Hooff, Hooff, Hooff, Hooff, Hooff, Hooff,
    Eeeeekkk, Eeeeekkk, Eeeeekkk, Eeeeekkk, Eeeeekkk, Eeeeekkk,
    Eeeeekkk, Eeeeekkk, …..

43. #43 by zak_hammaad on Friday, 29 August 2008 - 12:03 am

milduser, the government is not afraid of the bloggers in and of themselves, they are afraid of the fall-out from their promotion of libellous, slanderous, misinformed, defamatory material and comments. The very type of material that has a very real danger of spiraling out of control. Why is it so hard for you people to understand this? The preservation of many by restricting the actions of a few is not nonsensical!

Night night.

44. #44 by milduser on Friday, 29 August 2008 - 12:07 am

Who says the Singapore gomen do not allow freedom of expression? The only difference in Singapore is that the bloggers there are “STUPID”. The reverse of BOLEHLAND. The get caught with their pants down. They talk “rubbish” withot ‘facts’. With one scoop the gomen corner them and they are dead. Why? Because the government is “CLEAN”, like its city, STUPID.

45. #45 by kutlakut on Friday, 29 August 2008 - 12:08 am

‘is internet media also becoming like msm? If so, what difference will internet media be in the future? Don’t talk about naivety with me kutlakut. I saw the follies of mamakthir way before even PKR was born.’ limkamput said.

I was not criticising you. I picked your paragraph as lead to my message regarding internet blogging and that it is largely trust worthy. People should trust internet bloggers more, and not be misled by those bad mouthing of it.

Say, tell why is the internet becoming like the msm? When you substantiate this part then we may go on to ‘what difference will intermet media be in the future.’

Internet blogging is not in competition with the msm. In other countires, reputable and reponsible journalists have turned to blogging to get the message out to the public because the msm refused to do its duty of informing the people of issues that affect their lives intimately. Internet blogs exist to fill in a vacuum created by the irresponsible bought up media moghuls.

The fourth estate has the role of examining issues, both side of the pros and cons so that the public may see both sides and make an informed judgement. They owe us that much for the simple reason they are in the business of the media. If it can’t fulfill this condition, get lost. Make way.

Take for example the DNA bill – why has not TV talk shows call up the legalists to tell us both side of the story? Do you understand what it is all about? I don’t know.

As it is, they admit your right to an opinion and they have their right Not To Allow You to get heard. You have the right to know but they have the right not to tell you, as they think it is not important. They own the press.

We know that msm in most countries, including Malaysia, have lost its ideals and serve the unseen masters. So internet blogging grows more and more the vehicle that is replacing the traditional media of print and audio and video. My advice is that we must not be led by the nose that internet blogging is unreliable, un believeable, don’t trust its reporting is false and other such accusation.

Our source of real and true information comes from bloggers like uncle Lim and RPK just to name two. Responders like you and I may not be believed. We are not bloggers.

46. #46 by zak_hammaad on Friday, 29 August 2008 - 12:20 am

milduser Says:

>> Who says the Singapore gomen do not allow freedom of expression?

Err, I thought we were talking specifically about online blogging!? Singapore has strict guidelines for bloggers otherwise they are out. Some no no’s are race and religion. Figure out why?

Adios.

47. #47 by The Enforcer on Friday, 29 August 2008 - 12:33 am

Hei silly GOONS!

Why don’t create a law that says ownership of a computer, PC or laptop is an offence! Ban internet in Bolihland lah!
    This way you can be sure nothing is exposed, stupid GOONS!

48. #48 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Friday, 29 August 2008 - 1:52 am

zak_hammaad Says:

Yesterday at 23: 57.04

“MT and other blogs and online activists are not above the laws of the country: violates national stability and provokes endless libellous, slanderous and defamatory material and comments.

Blablaablaablaaaa…”

And….

AS WELL AS TRUTH AND EVIDENCE MUST BE CONSERED Ya RIGHHHT! WOOOT IM ON INTERNET!

http://mafrel.wordpress.com/2008/08/24/dr-ng-yen-yen-distributing-money-to-senior-voters/#more-282

Whats that link above are not above the laws no?

49. #49 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Friday, 29 August 2008 - 1:54 am

i mean “CENSORED” sry… typo error heheh

50. #50 by lchk on Friday, 29 August 2008 - 2:11 am

zak_hammaad posted:

“The MSC Bill of Guarantees is void and not applicable when someone violates national stability and provokes endless libellous, slanderous and defamatory material and comments.”

Utter rubbish.

Don’t assume the folks here are dumb enough to believe that what you wrote is gospel truth.

1 2 3

Comments are closed.