Tunku Aziz – new DAP National Vice Chairman

Welcome Tunku Aziz into the DAP

Tunku Aziz, Malaysia’s most famous crusader for integrity and transparency, has been appointed a DAP national vice chairman.

Tunku is a Malaysian par excellence with an impressive c.v. and glittering public service record.

He was formerly vice chairman of Transparency International and founder President of the Kuala Lumpur Society for Transparency and Integrity, the Malaysian Chapter of Transparency International.

He was also formerly Bank Negara adviser, Group Director of Sime Darby and Director of Commonwealth Secretariat.

Tunku is one of the ten members co-opted by the Central Executive Commitee (CEC) this morning.

The other nine co-opted CEC members are:

Teo Nie Ching – MP for Serdang;
Vincent Wu Him Ven
Thomas Su Keong Siong - Perak State Exco
Leong Ngah Ngah – SA for Triang
Liew Chin Tong – MP for Bukit Bendera
Jeff Ooi – MP for Jelutong
Ronnie Liu – Selangor State Exco
P. Gunasegaren – SA for Senawang
Hiew King Cheu – MP for Kota Kinabalu

Sdr. Karpal Singh and Dr. Tan Seng Giaw have been re-appointed as DAP National Chairman and Deputy Chairman respectively. The five National Vice Chairmen are Tunku Aziz, M. Kulasegeran, Chow Kong Yeow, Teresa Kok and Chong Chieng Jen.

The other line-up are:

Secretary-General - Lim Guan Eng
Deputy Sec-Gen - Prof P. Ramasamy, Chong Eng, Ngeh Koo Ham
National Treasurer - Fong Kui Lun
Asst. Nat. Treasurer - Nga Kor Meng
Nat. Org. Sec - Tan Kok Wai
Asst NOS - Vincent Wu
Nat. Publicity Sec - Tony Pua
Asst. NPS - Teo Nie Ching
Political Education Director – Anthony Loke
Asst Pol. Dir. – Jeff Ooi
International Secretary – Liew Chin Tong

Bureau set up:

Education Bureau – Chong Eng;
Education (Chinese) Bureau – Sim Tong Him;
Education (Tamil) Bureau – M Manogaran;
Labour Bureau – A. Sivanesan

———————————–
* You are invited to join my Facebook Supporters Page. Thank you.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by swipenter on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 10:09 am

In any democratic govt or even a political party there must exist room for dissenting views to act as check and balance to those in position of power. A dissident does not necessarily mean he is disloyal
    or out to cause disunity to his party . A dissenting view can also be the right view.

Look at BN for instant; MCA,MIC and Gerakan dare not even utter a word against Umno and the result is political hegemony by Umno and the rest we all know dont we?

2. #2 by PHUAKL on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 10:15 am

Dear YB Lim

Wonderful!
    The DAP needs to recruit more Malay members and,
    equally important, work actively to change the very negative image that many Malays (unfortunately) hold about the DAP.

Phua Kai Lit

3. #3 by Patek 1472 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 10:27 am

Malaysiakini Bloggers Headlines on 27 September 2008.

“Man of Honour” won Landslide Victory in P44 Permatang Pauh!

Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka!

A defining moment in Malaysian History was achieved when DSAI won the by-election in Permatang Pauh yesterday with a landslide victory over his opponent just 3 days prior to Parliament presenting it’s 2009 Budget (29 August 2008) and 5 days prior to Malaysians celebrating it’s 51st Anniversary of Merdeka (Liberty Day) on 31st August 2008.

Sit tight for the next episode on 29 September 2008, the preview to 16 September 2008 when Malaysia celebrates “Freedom Day”.

More Prophesies at Nostradamus Quatrains on “Wag the Dog” and Nostradamus Quatrains on Malaysia.

http://patek1472.wordpress.com

4. #4 by Tulip Crescent on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 10:53 am

m.hwang Says:

Today at 00: 38.37 (10 hours ago)
    Tulip Crescent, and we wonder who’s catching all the thieves since 10% (more if we discount all non-field police personnels) of our policemen are in PP? Come on PM, it’s the security and other bread and butter issues stupid.

m.hwang,

don’t worry. as i told some participants at a commonwealth conference some years back, thieves and robbers in malaysia are given annual leave during the conference.

i believe since then, such privileges have been extended for by-elections as well.

5. #5 by NewDAP on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 11:01 am

how about mamak? should DAP recruits more mamak members since our previous PM was a mamak.

6. #6 by Tulip Crescent on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 11:09 am

NewDAP

Why should the mamak join the DAP? At no time in our history have they enjoyed so much perks and so much influence?

Can we get real?

7. #7 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 11:13 am

invite michael phelps to become an honorary citizen of sarawak and give him a peihin title. so far, only taib is entitled to get peihin

8. #8 by dawsheng on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 11:17 am

“There is however a risk : the BN won’t allow this kind of unothodox divesting off them of power with no guarantee of amnesty. They may make their move soon- all gloves taken off – which is no good for either country or the cause of democracy. That’s the worst scenario that we should be prepared for (after Permatang Puah) victory!” Jeffrey

Agree. With suspected 40% of the force corrupted, who is going to arrest IGP Musa for abused of power and corruption?

9. #9 by Tulip Crescent on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 11:20 am

Dear all

If tomorrow, any police officer were to stop Permatang Pauh voters from voting because Anwar is gong to win anyway, the voters should tell them that they are voting for Barisan Nasional.

Then they should go to the polling station and mark the X against the PKR.

I am waiting anxiously to see the voting turn-out.

10. #10 by carboncopy on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 1:04 pm

# oknyua Says:
    Today at 09: 51.54 (3 hours ago)
    [snip]
    Tell me, which DAP branch has an indigenous committee member?
    [/snip]

1. Please check this post : http://blog.limkitsiang.com/2008/08/22/aca-extraordinarily-efficient-against-pr-but-terribly-incompetent-against-bn/
    [snip]
    This morning, DAP MP for Kota Kinabalu Dr. Hiew King Cheu, accompanied by DAP’s sole Sabah State Assemblyman, Jimmy Wong Sze Phin (Sri Tanjong) and Sabah DAP leader Edward Mujie was at the Dang Wangi police station
    [/snip]

2. http://blog.limkitsiang.com/2008/01/20/dap-kdm-declaration-let-kdm-not-end-up-as-outsiders-in-the-land-of-their-ancestors/

[snip]DAP KDM Declaration[/snip]

Make your own conclusion.

11. #11 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 1:29 pm

I find it rather amusing that many of the bloggers assumed so many things about the newly appointed Vice Chairman of DAP. If we just considered his background from an unbiased angle, one would surely noted that he was in ‘very good posotion’ to do many bidings of that power that was, and reaped all the gains he wanted. Well, obviously, he did not! Otherwise, he would be having his teas with all the VVIPs of the nation. Remember, being a Malay royalty and accepted credentials, he has much to gain by just toeing the line.
    Hence I cannot understand all the insinuations thrown at him at this moment of time. I always believe, people who like to ‘judge’ others in the negative manner are normally sour grapes, given the chance, they would swallow hook and sinker. Their only regret in life is they didnot have the opportunity!
    Sometime, one needs to ask oneself before throwing all negative insinuations at others. Just like the song ” look at the man in the mirror’!! In public office, it is acceptable the the public can criticize or comment someone’s action; but you can’t do it in anticipation. Politics is such that one sometime can only react to an event that happens suddenly. Remember it is a game of thousand of voters whose raionale cannot be measured in any perfection; otherwise all rocket scientists would have made perfect politicians!

12. #12 by jennifer cheong on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 1:37 pm

Dear lovely leader Lim Kit Siang, Lim Guan Eng, Tunku Aziz and all leaders,

Congratulations ! You are all great leaders who love the country and the people! We love you all too.

Keep it up! Fight for the victory of Malaysia ! DAP boleh! PK boleh!

Don’t give any single chance to UMNO,MCA,MIC or Gerakan to eat you up alive! Prevention better than cure! Do more works, speed up the progress and learn how to protect your selves from falling into the traps setup by BPR and UMNO !

Your faithful supporter since born :
    Jennifer

13. #13 by k1980 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 1:45 pm

Come on, let’s go to Permatang Pauh and get RM200 each from NgYY
    http://sloone.wordpress.com/2008/08/24/blatant-corruption-in-permatang-pauh/#more-2162

14. #14 by People on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 1:56 pm

By voicing one’s opinion against the Gov in an instant or two does not really categorize a person as a true justice fighter. A true fighter for justice, freedom, equal rights, corruption etc shld be judged over a period of time just like what LKS & LGE have done. Perhaps the Central Leadership has its own reasons or strategy in getting TA in. On this note, perhaps it should also try to bring in CSL who has been highly critical of MCA in his blog. Just a thought!

15. #15 by Godfather on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 2:17 pm

Whoever wants to join the DAP in its fight against corruption and injustice and for transparency is welcomed. I don’t think the DAP worries about previous mis-steps or allegiances as long as these are not criminal in nature.

“It does not matter if the cat is black or white. As long as it can catch mice, it is a good cat.” Deng Xiao-ping.

16. #16 by just a moment on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 2:19 pm

Can’t get in Malaysia today and Malaysia Insider, Whats wrong?

17. #17 by Patek 1472 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 2:39 pm

“War Cries” Before The Mother of All Battles in Permatang Pauh.
    “Laungan-Laungan Perang” Sebelum Perang Terbesar di Permatang Pauh.

“Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka!” – PKR

“Sodomy! Sodomy! Sodomy!” – BN

“Taliban! Taliban! Taliban!” – Akim

Posted at http://patek1472.wordpress.com

18. #18 by badak on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 2:49 pm

Hahahaha EZAM join UMNO to fight corruption,Now he is running down DSAI.At times i wonder where is EZAM brains.In december is UMNO,s election will EZAM go after all those who pratice money politics or will he be one of the money bags…
    If he was serious about corruption he should just stay out of politics and fight.TUNKU AZIZ my hats of to you.With UMNO,s racial stand it really took a lot of guts to join DAP.We need more Malaysians like you.Weather they are CHINESS INDIANS OR EVEN MALAYS.

19. #19 by tan chi nam on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 2:49 pm

why what is wrong with mamak….
    why they can’t join DAP???
    DAP is for all not just chinese….

20. #20 by just a moment on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 2:50 pm

Phew… ok, here’s alternative to keep you inform.
    http://anilnetto.com/civil-society/eve-of-polling-reports-from-ground-zero/

21. #21 by Mr Smith on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 2:53 pm

MALAYSIA TODAY HERE – http://sg.malaysia-today.net/2008/

22. #22 by just a moment on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 3:07 pm

Thanks Mr Smith. APPRECIATE IT.
    Cheers.

23. #23 by taiking on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 3:20 pm

In the name of prosperity I hv no problem declaring my allegiance to — well what do you think — allegiance to the RM200 of course!

Damn it. If only I qualify.

Like Lee Kuan Yew, UMNO too is afraid of the country falling into the hands of the Opposition.

Lee Kuan Yew is afraid that the Opposition might muck up the country’s wealth.

UMNO is afraid that the Opposition migh muck up its coffer of wealth.

Some stupid fools might just argue that the distinction between the two are not that significant; and insist that UMNO is alright.

24. #24 by ycchai62 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 3:20 pm

Since DAP is not so strong in southern state like Johor, isn’t it a logical choice to task Dr Boo Cheng Hau as the asst. publicity head to boost up their presence there. DAP may also co-opt more representative from Pahang and Johor to enhance their base in the said state.

25. #25 by smashchye on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 3:24 pm

this proven that DAP is a multiracial political party and ought to rule malaysia as DAP does not divide their members according to racial and beliefs like UMNO,MIC and MCA…and they call themselves “multiracial” and “living in harmony”.. what i say is that they are living in harmony in each other safe country

26. #26 by teacher on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 3:36 pm

I congratulate Tunku for finally coming into DAP. It is strange the day you entered DAP your articles in the New Strait Times on sunday has disappeared. No article yesterday 24th August. This goes to show the true colour of NSTP. Opposition members not allowed articles in National newspapers. No mention of him joining DAP over TV3.
    I wish you good luck and hope more Malays will join the party after all we are all Malaysians all are equal.By standing together we can build a mighty Malaysia. As long as you have racially based parties i.e MCA, MIC, UMNO we will never get far. Its a shame after 51 years we are still playing racial politics

27. #27 by undergrad2 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 3:58 pm

“In other words, Tunku Aziz’ appointed as VC was not based on merit, not on past contributions to the party but solely on his skin colour…..” Mr. Smith

If Anwar Ibrahim were to join DAP tomorrow would you be saying the same thing? Of course not! Because he is Anwar. But then this is Tunku Aziz. Who is Tunku Aziz? A respected member of the community with the kind of resume you’d like to see, who believes in the same core values as DAP does, who after twenty years (according to him) has chosen to make known his convictions now, and his confidence in the Party he has always believed in and supports.

Being who he is, the DAP leadership feels he is able to contribute both to the image of the Party in a dramatic way, and to the cause the Party stands for in a way an ordinary member would not be able to do.

Your role as the self-appointed gatekeeper for the DAP in this case reflects your prejudices and your real values. It is time for ‘change’.

28. #28 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 4:08 pm

Dear YB Lim,

Dap is right to welcome any race to the party. I am indeed glad that Tunku Aziz has joined dap as a member. Nonetheless, by offering a post of vice chairman is a little of a ” commercial trade off ” if i may post.

If someone is keen to be on board of the company, he certainly has to contribute something , which of late i notice , that university chancellors are so and so wife of some vvips. Tunku Aziz being an x head of Transparent International has done much writings but no actual visible actions and has been replaced by TS ramon. And what was our corrupt ratings during his tenure ?

Its dap’s right to admit anyone,but there is a chinese saying that we may be inviting an unwanted guest into the home. i hope some top secret meetings may be kept secret by your new vc. otherwise, while anwar had a coffee boy as a mole, dap has an executive vc as a mole. btw, tunku aziz would do better being apolitical, and the immediate promotion of a new member to a top post is ( caution needed ). just my view. who are the owners of nst. surely yb lim knows it. goodluck.

29. #29 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 4:15 pm

IF and that is IF , rafidah aziz will to join dap, what post will yb lim offer her?

30. #30 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 4:16 pm

why wouldnt tunku aziz join pas ?

31. #31 by carboncopy on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 4:17 pm

“In other words, Tunku Aziz’ appointed as VC was not based on merit, not on past contributions to the party but solely on his skin colour…..” Mr. Smith

Tunku Aziz have contributed far beyond most DAP members to Malaysia. And his contributions transcends ethnicity and beliefs. That far exceeds what you can contribute to the party itself.

In fact, it may be a lost to Tunku Aziz for joining DAP. Ppl that he knows will start shunning him.

Please grow up! Yes, DAP needs malay leaders, but DAP will not take in malay leaders just for window dressing!

p.s. For those who wants some proof of his contribution to DAP even before being a card carrying member of DAP. Watch – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QX8RpU1hdbU

32. #32 by budak on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 4:37 pm

i believe that he join DAP in his own accord and his appoint is based on his merits towards Rakyat Malaysia all these years…

Hidup Tunku, Hidup DAP….! :-)

33. #33 by Jong on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 4:53 pm

Tunku Aziz should join Hanafi Mamat who desperately need supporters! :D

34. #34 by mohrafael on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 5:02 pm

Excellent. It shows DAP righteousness. DAP has done a good job, and is a real fighter….. Carry on your good mission, which is certainly appreciated by most malaysians.

35. #35 by kutlakut on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 5:19 pm

waterfrontcoolie Says:
    Today at 13: 29.36 (3 hours ago)

I find it rather amusing that many of the bloggers assumed so many things about the newly appointed Vice Chairman of DAP. If we just considered his background from an unbiased angle, one would surely noted that he was in ‘very good posotion’ to do many bidings of that power that was, and reaped all the gains he wanted. Well, obviously, he did not! Otherwise, he would be having his teas with all the VVIPs of the nation. Remember, being a Malay royalty and accepted credentials, he has much to gain by just toeing the line.

Excellent point – certainly out of the Race Box Consciousness thinking.

Standing beyond self is the most important thing in a man’s life – honour, again self honour. Integrity is a rare commodity, so find these people and treasure them.

36. #36 by shadow on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 5:29 pm

Congrats DAP but its not enough. Get more malays who are well educated and broadminded unlike BN. You should do well in future and may be the next MB of Perak could be yours and so on.

37. #37 by k1980 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 5:48 pm

Identity cards are being collected in Permatang Pauh from rural folks under the pretext of registering them for a BN “loan scheme”.
    http://anilnetto.com/civil-society/eve-of-polling-reports-from-ground-zero/

38. #38 by cheng on on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 6:10 pm

PP voters, don’t put a “cross” bside bn candidate’s name, the “cross” look like a christian symbol, haram to bn!

39. #39 by penang308 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 6:44 pm

To all Pakatan Leaders,

Please watch out for the “Factories owners(bosses)” in Perai and Kulim area. They may stop their workers from going out to vote! or worst, even collect their workers’ ic and pass on the BN people.

Majority of the Permatang Pauh’s young voter are working in Perai and Kulim’s factories.

Most of the factories owner are BN supporters.

40. #40 by AhPek on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 6:46 pm

Arnold Toynbee,according to Din Merican held the view that responses of a society’s elite to the pattern of challenges posed by civilisation determine whether it would survive or perish. In other words,the way the way that the best and brightest respond to challenges thrown up by society is crucial to its longetivity.
    Tunku Aziz,by virtue of his background and lineage,education and career,is well placed to be considered as belonging to society’s elite.And I am sure DAP must have taken cognizance of its prize acquisition by placing him as the new DAP Vice Chairman on admission.Nothing wrong with DAP’s decision, Mr. Smith.I don’t understand your obsession in stressing that DAP is making a mistake and worseTunku could be a BN mole.Your comment on Din Merican’s posting “The Pathetic Gyration of Tunku Abdul Aziz” is met with Din’s response stating he was not angry with Tunku only disagreeing with him.And you full of anger, and for what? Tunku is his own man capable of taking contrarian views from time to time as with many people with character and good education.
    YB Kit has not been successful in his efforts to attract enlightened Malays into DAP to improve on its multi racial image.Tunku may just be able to help in turning it around this time.

41. #41 by badak on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 6:46 pm

UMNO leaders are so desperate in winning this BY ELECTION that they don,t even bother if their speaches hurt the chiness or indians.
    Voters of PERMATANG PAUH please teach UMNO how to be humble…

42. #42 by AA234567 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 7:11 pm

43. #43 by AhPek on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 7:25 pm

Should be ‘Tunku is his own man capable of taking contrarian positions from time to time …………………………………………’.

44. #44 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 7:35 pm

Mr Smith Post:
    Yesterday at 20: 17.16
    The URL here again.

http://dinmerican.wordpress.com/2008/07/27/the-pathetic-gyrations-of-tunku-abdul-aziz/

==================================================

OH wow! thx Mr Smith for the link…

Ah what a BANG, i hardly digest that, finally done phew…

well i would say it’s always good to see the dark turns to light, poseur or not, DSAI has a reasons to circumspect,
    remember he says “i forgive but not forget” priceless.

P/s: Dont know why my previous acc was hacked, fail to retrieve from email :buffle:

45. #45 by devilmaster on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 7:35 pm

Dear Permatang Pauh voters must read this:

http://www.p99ampang.com/2008/08/25/breaking-news-dari-permatang-pauh/

Not only the Permatang Pauh voters should read, the whole Bolehland. Where is the Badan Pencegah Rasuah?? You want evidence? There it is.

A commenter from that blog said: whoai ACA!! tidur kah??
    I LOL.

46. #46 by humanly on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 7:52 pm

Agree to disagree. Definitely I disagree with Tunku Aziz’s opinion on the bloggers. However I support his vice charimanship, not cos of his pedigree but his wealth of experience and stature will broaden DAP’s horizon.

Why some question his motive as if by presumption he is a mole of Umno cos of his ethnic.

47. #47 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 8:07 pm

All his allegation are null since the day he decide to join PKR ;)

“Forgive not Forget” Hahhah… u have a chance redeem urself.

48. #48 by Loyal Malaysian on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 8:18 pm

I am not a DAP member nor can I say I am any great fan of LKS.
    But over the years I have come to respect him for what he stood for -even though at times the internal party politicking leaves much to be desired.
    But the fact that a personage of Tunku Abdul Aziz’s stature chose to join the DAP speaks volume for itself.
    I wish him well and hope he’ll help in the growth of the DAP.

49. #49 by sirrganass on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 10:02 pm

Please take good care of Tunku because it will never be easy to get MALAY to join DAP. Now the malays have three big choices: If they are serious about good morality and strict to religous teaching, they will choose PAS. If they are a bit moderate (and not so holy) they can choose PKR. If they love cronism, racism, telling lies, bersumpah laknat, memperbodohkan orang lain, if they love curruptions, bribe, what will they choose?

If they are accepting “malaysian malaysia”, they will join DAP.

BTW, still Tunku is still the rare person. Can’t hope more Malay to join DAP. majority will be satistied with PKR if they quit UMNO. It’s ok, since we can recognise DAP as the voice of Chinese and Indian. Malay has so much choices already.

The set up of PKR/Anwar as the “middle man” to connect PAS to DAP is just a brilliant idea – very practical already!

Hidup PR!

50. #50 by undergrad2 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 10:02 pm

So by a show of hands, we can now say that the DAP did the right thing by offering the position of Vice National Chairman to Tunku Aziz Tunku Ibrahim who has a distinguised career mostly in the private sector.