Tunku Aziz – new DAP National Vice Chairman

Welcome Tunku Aziz into the DAP

Tunku Aziz, Malaysia’s most famous crusader for integrity and transparency, has been appointed a DAP national vice chairman.

Tunku is a Malaysian par excellence with an impressive c.v. and glittering public service record.

He was formerly vice chairman of Transparency International and founder President of the Kuala Lumpur Society for Transparency and Integrity, the Malaysian Chapter of Transparency International.

He was also formerly Bank Negara adviser, Group Director of Sime Darby and Director of Commonwealth Secretariat.

Tunku is one of the ten members co-opted by the Central Executive Commitee (CEC) this morning.

The other nine co-opted CEC members are:

Teo Nie Ching – MP for Serdang;
Vincent Wu Him Ven
Thomas Su Keong Siong – Perak State Exco
Leong Ngah Ngah – SA for Triang
Liew Chin Tong – MP for Bukit Bendera
Jeff Ooi – MP for Jelutong
Ronnie Liu – Selangor State Exco
P. Gunasegaren – SA for Senawang
Hiew King Cheu – MP for Kota Kinabalu

Sdr. Karpal Singh and Dr. Tan Seng Giaw have been re-appointed as DAP National Chairman and Deputy Chairman respectively. The five National Vice Chairmen are Tunku Aziz, M. Kulasegeran, Chow Kong Yeow, Teresa Kok and Chong Chieng Jen.

The other line-up are:

Secretary-General – Lim Guan Eng
Deputy Sec-Gen – Prof P. Ramasamy, Chong Eng, Ngeh Koo Ham
National Treasurer – Fong Kui Lun
Asst. Nat. Treasurer – Nga Kor Meng
Nat. Org. Sec – Tan Kok Wai
Asst NOS – Vincent Wu
Nat. Publicity Sec – Tony Pua
Asst. NPS – Teo Nie Ching
Political Education Director – Anthony Loke
Asst Pol. Dir. – Jeff Ooi
International Secretary – Liew Chin Tong

Bureau set up:

Education Bureau – Chong Eng;
Education (Chinese) Bureau – Sim Tong Him;
Education (Tamil) Bureau – M Manogaran;
Labour Bureau – A. Sivanesan

———————————–
* You are invited to join my Facebook Supporters Page. Thank you.

1. #1 by tiger88 on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 1:04 pm

Bring in more professional and respected muslim friends. This will help in a malaysian-malaysia goal from Sep 26 2008.

2. #2 by black crow on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 1:11 pm

This is certainly an improvement and boost to increase the multi racial outlook of DAP which is urgently needed if the clarion call for Malaysian Malaysia is to be responded and achieved.
    Its good to see your principles are being put in practice.
    But is it enough only to appoint one Malay man to create the dimension of multi raciality?
    A comparison between PKR will be inevitable.

3. #3 by drmaharajahrk on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 1:17 pm

yes we need more Malays in DAP, give it a more PKR multiracial look …………….

However Tunku Aziz, after the load of rubbish he has been writting in the NST, I wonder if he is a good choice

4. #4 by just a moment on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 1:26 pm

Yes!, Congrats YB Lim again.
    You showed what DAP stand for
    and to demonstrate by having Tungku Aziz
    reflects the true mission of DAP, its multi-racial.

Shame on all other Parties, especailly those who
    are ‘homogeous’ and brag about racial harmony.
    Typical NATO

See ppl, DAP showed the way, Can any other party
    do it? Show your face now!!!

Kudos YB!!!

5. #5 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 1:27 pm

Are Sarawakian politicians marginalised by National DAP?
    I hope not.

[updated – Chong Chieng Jen is one of the five National Vice Chairmen]

6. #6 by just a moment on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 1:31 pm

Hello “zak_hammaad Says:”
    are you still here?
    Zak, this is exactly what Im trying to tell you.
    Don’t just talk lah, do it!

What Islamic and Secular stuff are you talking about?
    The true rakyat Demands racial Unity,
    the difference is – some talk, some do, and then
    some Refuse – like your kind, isn’t it?

7. #7 by aje on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 1:47 pm

Syabas to the Tunku.I like your column in NST.

8. #8 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 1:51 pm

>Are Sarawakian politicians marginalised by National DAP?
    >I hope not.

I saw in the news just now that Wong Ho Leng was not elected as one of the Vice National Chairmen. Goodness. This is not going to be a good news for DAP in Sarawak. Despite the good works done by this man, Sarawak seems to be marginalised by the West. For long time, DAP has been known by SUPP as a party from the West. It again shown that the West imposed such a mentality on us.

9. #9 by Saint on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 2:09 pm

A good move. Keep up the pressure on UMNO.

10. #10 by MPSPK on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 2:09 pm

How to join DAP???? I am Malay

11. #11 by just a moment on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 2:27 pm

Welcome MPSK,
    just go to
    http://dapmalaysia.org/newenglish/
    Explore the site as you wish,
    then click Join

12. #12 by carboncopy on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 2:27 pm

Dear MPSPK,

Here is the link : http://dapmalaysia.org/newenglish/ta_ju.htm

13. #13 by kutlakut on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 2:48 pm

yes we need more Malays in DAP, give it a more PKR multiracial look ……………said drmaharajahrk.

Similarly ‘Bring in more professional and respected muslim friends. This will help in a malaysian-malaysia goal from Sep 26 2008. Tiger 88 said.

And also ‘Hello “zak_hammaad Says:” aree you still here? wrote just a moment.

Notice something? Ppl still see racial/religious differences at the first consideration. Not that these people are racists, but they are prisoners of Race Box Consciousness. Sure, race and religion are two things the human cannot deny play a great part in our outlook at life. But let it not be central. You people I quoted are doing a fine job of wanting a good racial mix. With the hope that racism will NOT Be Seen as the drivng force of the DAP?

How very important that ‘a good racial mix’ must be shown by recruitment into the steering leadership’. I wonder how DAP shall persuade the public that CAT transcend racial consideration. I suggest that we emphasis that the needy of all races be given special attention – not special priviledge.

It is so difficult to show that equal opportunities is beyond racialism.

14. #14 by teejay on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 2:55 pm

Hi pulau_sibu,

Fyi …. Chong Chieng Jen ( MP for Bandar Kuching) , came 8th overall in the polls @ 8th place for CEC.

15. #15 by AhPek on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 3:07 pm

Congratulations once again YB for succeeding in roping in a true towering Malaysian Tunku Aziz who will certainly enhance the party’s image and for sure give it a more multi-racial face.

16. #16 by oknyua on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 3:07 pm

pulau-sibu asked an important question.

But let me rephrase it in my way; has DAP marginalised the local kadazans, ibans, dusun, bidayuhs, kayans etc in Sarawak and Sabah? We know CJ Chong and HL Wong, but still it is a “Chinese Party.”

I still say there hasn’t been much to project DAP into other races in these two states. DAP has not been rejected by these indegenous people – DAP has rejected them.

17. #17 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 3:07 pm

//…“However Tunku Aziz, after the load of rubbish he has been writting in the NST, I wonder if he is a good choice..”// drmaharajahrk posting Today at 13: 17.06 .

What drmaharajahrk said might well refer to the following:

First of all Tunku Aziz is obviously not a die hard fan of defacto Pakatan Rakyat leader Anwar Ibrahim.

He dismissed Anwar’s allegation behind the charge of Sodomy II of political conspiracy as a kind of paranoid McCarthyism as theatrics and political posturing; he questioned Anwar’s rallying for international assistance to deflect what essentially is a personal problem. He said whilst Anwar expected the highest standards of proof in others, yet he was both careless and cavalier about his own by refusing to give his blood for the purpose of a DNA test.
    He criticised Anwar’s canvasing of cross-overs from BN’s camp (described by him as “ethically deficient political malcontents from The Land Below The Wind”) to take over the government as “unprincipled political machinations and manipulations”
    “I cannot imagine anything baser and more grotesque than attempting to corrupt and seduce perfectly decent and honourable parliamentarians to betray the trust of the voters who had put them there in the first place to represent them in their constituencies. What kind of message is Anwar sending to the people of this country?”

Reference – http://notashabery.com/shabery/?p=173

Well I can understand that he will not join PKR but if he were co-opted to be one of the 10 members of the DAP’s Central Executive Commitee (CEC) would he not cause friction between DAP & Anwar?

Neither is he committed completely to freedom of expression especially in the blogs. In fact he is skeptical about bloggers and more on the side of the government.

In NST Column 2008/08/03 under title “Truth about Bloggers” he wrote: “Governing the multiracial, multicultural and multi-religious nation that is Malaysia has never been a vicarage tea party or a Sunday picnic at the best of times. In this current political environment, the difficulties are compounded by the government having to pit itself against “cyber guerilla” forces whose rights to operate in cyber-space are unmolested because of the protection given them under the law… What all this has done is to allow the bloggers — the overwhelming majority of whom, sadly, are adventurers of sorts — to set themselves up as the sole purveyors of truth. This is what ultimately sets the mainstream media practitioners apart from the rest. This is the difference between a code of practice and the law of the jungle that seems to dominate cyber-space”.

For context read this link – http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Sunday/Columns/2310221/Article/index_html

18. #18 by chin on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 3:11 pm

Congratulations ! YB LIM & DAP. You have just engaged a very potential highly educated man in Malaysia. A very much respectable, in terms of education. Good Job !

19. #19 by lee wee tak_ on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 3:12 pm

kutlakut is probably right, most if not all Malaysians do look at things from racial perspective at varying degrees

innocent ones would be if I am having Indians friends over I would not have beef on the table, or will go to a muslim restaurant if I am having lunch with my malay co-workers

one big part of any political party is PR work and like it or not, Malaysian customers are race first, ideology second. perhaps we are seeing the dawn of wider acceptance for multi-racialism but Malaysia is still a long long way from maturity and fruit bearing in our quest

sizeable people are more comfortable with the status quo – racial segregation, just go and do a poll with UiTM students

Malaysians are missing out a simple point, in the course of in-fighting between ourselves on racial basis, we are throwing away our reputation, resources and competitiveness on the international stage. If we can gain more riches from overseas via economic activities & there is a fair wealth distribution system in Malaysia, we would not be so concerned about dividing what is within our national boundaries.

the key point is educating Malaysians on how other country works. countries free of corruption should be used as example for us to strive for. we should get these messages across. (e.g. Hong Kong is corruption free hence higher standard of living), instead of negative internal message like since the Chinese immigrants came the Malays lost out economically.

if Malaysians can be exposed to better administrative philosophies and can see for themselves the results of such polices then we might just focus on the right direction and make this country a better place for our children and grand children.

Do we Malaysians love our children enough to learn to discard our out dated mentality?

20. #20 by just a moment on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 3:17 pm

Good input Kuatlahkut, that’s how many yrs we’ve (excluding you?)been living in this country under these condition “Prisoners of Race Box”.
    Everyone need to extend their effort into encouraging one another on this possiblity. No one says Its going to be easy. But we must try, and try we must.

21. #21 by just a moment on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 3:25 pm

O dear, just missed important point. I meant to encourage on the possiblility of having a good mixed racial country.

22. #22 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 3:34 pm

I am surprised that Malaysia’s most famous crusader for integrity and transparency Tunku Aziz has joined DAP as national vice chairman.

But other than integrity and transparency in governance and perhaps non communal politics for multi racial Malaysia, what else does he share in common with the DAP, if his past writings in NST and bloggers sphere are anything to go by?

He certainly thinks not too highly about Anwar with whom DAP cooperates within Pakatan Rakyat (PR) to displace BN’s rule. He said Anwar’s allegation of political conspiracy behind Sodomy II as theatrics and political posturing; he criticised Anwar’s canvassing of cross-overs from BN’s camp (described by him as “ethically deficient political malcontents from The Land Below The Wind”) to take over the government as “unprincipled political machinations and manipulations”. He expressed skepticism of bloggers — “the overwhelming majority of whom, sadly, are adventurers of sorts — to set themselves up as the sole purveyors of truth” …..(see my earlier posting as of now still under moderation).

From the outside he looks more suited in a NGO. Being a man who speaks his mind as the truth dictates to him, he does not seem suited for partisan politics! (He may well have changed his mind now, putting bipartisanship in back burner, thinking that politics remains the only option to change then country for the better – I really don’t know).

Otherwise there are two possibilities : first he might bring DAP into collision course with Anwar and PR; or he might leave the DAP, like Chandra Muzaffa leaving PKR….

23. #23 by Damocles on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 3:50 pm

I think that it’s very important to vet those who are given high posts in the DAP very carefully.
    It is very easy to have a mole planted within the party.
    That’s also the reason why it is not prudent to have more members from other races just for the sake of being multi-racial.

24. #24 by BoycottLocalPapers on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 3:53 pm

I suggest DAP use Bahasa Malaysia in their ceramah & banner instead of Mandarin. I know that DAP is trying to reach out to Chinese who are not good in Malay but after 51 years of Merdeka I think every Chinese here should be able to converse in Malay.

25. #25 by user on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 3:58 pm

To pulau_sibu: Wong Ho Leng was not elected in the new CEC (he was placed 25th) and has decline to be co-opt in favor of Hiew King Cheu. Read: http://yippeego.com/ypwordpress/?p=641#comment-6954

26. #26 by milduser on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 3:59 pm

Hope he will not be illusioned by DAP. Time will tell. 3 years?

27. #27 by milduser on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 4:00 pm

typo error – disillusioned

28. #28 by teejay on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 4:08 pm

Oknyua says a very funny thing – DAP has rejected the indigeneous people. Why on earth would they want to do such a thing ? To say that they are a Chinese based party in East Malaysia, I would accept, but to to purposely reject a particular group of people….come on !! Let’s us not make such a wide generalisation.

29. #29 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 4:15 pm

//It is very easy to have a mole planted within the party. That’s also the reason why it is not prudent to have more members from other races just for the sake of being multi-racial// -Damocles.

It is an interesting point of insinuation here. One cannot prevent BN’s mole from gaining entry into any of PR’s component parties.

The advantage of mole is in the area of spying on one’s political rival to know its weakness and advance information of political strategies.

(Sometimes it is not just information being conveyed to the other side but the leader itself may be compromised and attacked as PKR learned hard way when it took in Saiful).

However the question here uncertain is whether Central Executive Commitee (CEC) of DAP has access to advance information on Pakatan Rakyat’s political strategies and is in part a formulator of these strategies contributed from the DAP’s part. If yes, there is a real concern here; otherwise – if it were a mere recipient of whatever strategies already formulated and now disseminated to CEC for endorsement – then it may not be that critical, if the info is something the opposite side will get to know anyway.

30. #30 by yhsiew on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 4:19 pm

DAP – truly Malaysian!

Well done Kit!

31. #31 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 4:22 pm

Only when there are enough genuine broadminded intellectuals serving the nation
    There is still hope yet for the nation to prosper and grow to great heights
    The reverse is unfortunately happening in some countries
    and their peoples have to be on ration
    While their undemocratic leaders are still free to throw around their weights

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 240808
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Sun. 24th Aug. 2008.

32. #33 by BOLEHSIA on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 4:42 pm

Yes, I really agreed that DAP should open up their doors to accept more non-chinese members to make it more multi-racial; away from racial politics and more towards a Bangsa Malaysia concept.

Congrats! This is the way to go!!
    A re-branded DAP into a new era, a new start to a better, fair and transparent future Pakatan government in waiting.

BN- UMNO, MCA, Gerakan & MIC are still day-dreaming with their politics and set-up.
    Looks like they have a lot of catching up to do now.

Umno? How? Are you going to invite non-malay into the party?
    I would not be surprised if OKT or KTK join them in December….LOL!

Cheers.
    HIDUP LKS!
    HIDUP DAP!
    HIDUP PAKATAN!
    HIDUP HIDUP HIDUP MALAYSIA!

33. #34 by lakshy on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 5:13 pm

YB,

Well done in appointing a towering Malaysian as one of the national VPs. Heard him speak during a Corporate Responsibility and Social Responsibility talk recently. Speaks very very well. LKS should learn to talk like that in parliament!

DAP has a lot more work cut out for it as it is still seen as a chinese party. Work on recruiting more Malays and Indian into DAP to become a true Malaysian party!

34. #35 by devilmaster on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 5:30 pm

Tunku Aziz explained that he chose DAP because while other parties talked about democratic principles, “DAP is the party that tries much harder to put it into practice” and he had been targeting the party “for 20 years without their knowledge

from The Malaysian Insider</i?

35. #36 by js on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 5:39 pm

bring him to Permatang Pauh to help in by-election.

36. #37 by Anak Msia on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 5:40 pm

It is a definitely a good move, we need multi-race party.

37. #38 by firstMalaysian on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 5:45 pm

With Tunku Aziz on board, DAP has enhanced its image as a credible political party that promotes democratic principles, social justice, transparency, equality and defender of human rights irrespective of racial and religious background.

This is a very positive sign and hope for the country as we break the chains of racial mistrust and divide that have tormented us for the last half century.

Enough is Enough

38. #39 by 5titlah on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 5:51 pm

Good on you Tunku Aziz. You know when there’s good & the bad..!

Malaysia is still flip flopping…! So many cases unanswered of the PM & DPM. How come ACA is not looking into these 2 gonnies? But going after others…!

It really goes to show that we Malaysians don’t want these 2 BN goons to govern Malaysia anymore..

Why are they still wanting to stick to power? Scared they will lose out on their SIN money income…?

Is swearing on the Koran gonna say that you are telling the truth? Your punishment is only in the afterlife… Its this fair I ask you?

You should be alive & kicking to receive these punishment.Not when you are dead & gone..
    Nobody… I tell you, nobody can say where we go when we die…!

When is Badawi gonna swear that there’s NO corruption in BN ?

39. #40 by Mr Smith on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 7:39 pm

Kit,
    I have voted for DAP in eight general elections and I have been following and supporting its principles since 1966.

I do not agree to this appointment of Tunku Aziz to such to an important position despite his zero contribution to the party.
    Is DAP so hard up for a Malay that it has to appoint him as VC? When did he join as member of the DAP? If recently, how can a new member be given such a lofty position.

However, I will see how he performs.
    If his NST thoughts are anything to go by, I reckon he will not make any significant contribution to the party and he will flee at the slightest setback or “provocation”.

40. #41 by Anak Msia on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 8:05 pm

DAP has been Chinese dominant party, i kind of like the concept of PKR(of course minus Zulkifli) where all races work together for the benefits of the country. If not because i am already a life member of DAP, i definitely consider join this PKR.

For DAP to go far, it must be accepted by all races, it is DAP to open up to other races to have some impact on the coming next election, who knows, there will be another big tsunami then.

41. #42 by Mr Smith on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 8:16 pm

Read this (URL below) and you will know what kind of character Tunku Aziz is. Even his good friend has lost faith in him.
    He could be an UMNO mole. Not everybody will get to write for the NST. Just beware!

“The Pathetic Gyrations of Tunku Abdul” by din merican here: Azizhttp://dinmerican.wordpress.com/2008/07/27/the-pathetic-gyrations-of-tunku-abdul-aziz/

42. #43 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 8:16 pm

Wow his not crusader his a knight! :bow: o.0!

well mr smith hello hello ^^

Can we recognised him through his achievement no?…
    He may not contribute yet, but his experience own his tittle ;) :wink:

43. #45 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 8:25 pm

>DAP has not been rejected by these indegenous people – DAP has rejected them.

following the good job and excellent achievement of PR in other states, I hope new blood will be attracted to DAP in Sarawak. The Iban/Dayak have been so close to BN and it is difficult to change their mentality. We are waiting to see them changing their mentality. Many of them are Christians and I have been thinking since they can abandon the traditional belief to become Christians, they must also be willing to change their preferred parties one day.

44. #46 by StevePCH on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 8:25 pm

maybe Tunku should swear that he will be loyal to DAP because this seems to be very popular among politicians nowadays.

Is DAP hard up for Malays ? I don’t think so, but having one truly shows that it’s not ethnically biased. It’s never been because all this while DAP’s struggle is for true democracy regardless of ethnic.

the late Ahmad Nor is one example of a good Malay DAP leader.

Just swear swear swear and
    you will get nowhere !!! Ha ha ….

don’t follow BeEnd , in desperation, they need to invoke God to show that they are “truthful”. They know that Rakyat do not trust them anymore !!!

45. #47 by AA234567 on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 10:04 pm

Reasons why Arif Shah should never be voted in as Permatang Pauh MP let alone be the Seberang Jaya Assemblyman for the following reasons:

1. He was the most notable Indian Muslim who claimed himself Malay and participated in the illegal protest at Komtar against YAB Lim Guan Eng and the newly installed Pakatan Rakyat State Government in support of Ketuanan Melayu (Malay Supremacy). A man who forgets his origin just because of his religion, calling himself another can never impress me and any right minded person. The Permatang Pauh Indians need to take note of this.

2. The BN had to scrape the bottom of the barrel to put up Arif Shah as the BN candidate because Ariff Shah is the ‘least-hated’ of the five warlords of Umno Permatang Pauh so they hope that with him as the candidate this would reduce the possibility of internal sabotage. Never before had Umno needed to have an Assemblyman to stand for elections as an MP as well.

3. Ariff Shah is the brother of Tan Sri Amin Shah Omar Shah who is in now in self-imposed exile in the UK. He shuttles between London and Dubai but would never dare come close to Malaysia because there are criminal breaches of trust (CBT) allegations he may have to answer to.Amin Shah’s company, PSC Industries Berhad, was awarded more than RM24 billion in naval contracts around 1998 at the time Deputy Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak was already the Defence Minister. The government paid him billions in upfront money but Amin Shah’s company never fulfilled its side of the bargain. Billions of Ringgit of Malaysian taxpayers’ money went down the drain in the biggest fraud in Malaysian history. Amin Shah’s brother, Azlan Shah Omar Shah, was the Managing Director of the company.This guy (Arif Shah) is obviously lying when he says that he did not know his university is a bogus one. If he can lie about this, can you believe him when he says that he has no interests in his corrupt brother’s business? In other mature democracy’s, Arif Shah would not even be considered as a candidate.

4. Arif Shah was the Indian Muslim Malay wannabe who made the call as Seberang Jaya state assemblyman to rename George Town “Bandar Datuk Abdullah Fahim”.

5. The BN controlled MSM keeps on spinning that Arif speaks Mandarin and Hokkien and can read and write in Chinese as well. I hope the Permatang Pauh Chinese will remember that this same Arif Shah marched to Komtar with the rest of the Umno racists chanting Ketuanan Melayu with the perceived fear that the Chinese have taken over the State. Do you want this racist as your MP? Don’t fall for the pictures of Arif Shah reading Chinese newspaper and speaking in Chinese in the local BN controlled MSM.

6. Arif Shah joined the rest of his racist pals from Umno to pressure the Federal Government to scrap all Mega Projects in Penang as punishment to Penangites for voting Pakatan Rakyat. Do we need to add another Umno racist who punishes Penangites to Parliament.

This Scribe hopes that whoever reads this will print and pass this blog posting around. This Scribe gives consent to fellow Bloggers to reproduce this Blog Posting in their own Blogs. If possible, share this by word of mouth with those who have no access to the Internet. Let’s expose Arif Shah for what he really is!

Posted by MarGeeMar at 7:01 PM 5 comments Links to this post
    Labels: Socio-political

46. #48 by kutlakut on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 10:05 pm

Jeffrey wrote: He certainly thinks not too highly about Anwar with whom DAP cooperates within Pakatan Rakyat (PR) to displace BN’s rule.

Wrote also : From the outside he looks more suited in a NGO. Being a man who speaks his mind as the truth dictates to him, he does not seem suited for partisan politics!

And Damocles wrote : I think that it’s very important to vet those who are given high posts in the DAP very carefully.

The three points presented can be addressed by an anecdote, true tale.

Very long ago I used to ply between KL and JB by train. The buffet car was operated by a Chinese, and the crew served a good variety of food. Fried mee, hokkien or Kantonese, fired rice and even chicken chop. Want a iced lemonade? No problem. Now I want to stress it it was NOT REALLY that a Chinese is better at food catering. No. The manager was the Hainanese tribe. They are the professionals in food and coffee. Any other untrained Chinese operator would have failed.

Lately I again traveled to JB by train, ulang alik. Both times I was disappointed with the buffet operator. A Malay operator. The man served white bread, white bread and more white bread on the rack. And he had a demeanor of aggression – take it or leave it challenge.

I again stressed it wasn’t really a Malay man but a fellow untrained and not gifted in that business!! He had no business to be there, and BN had NO BUSINESS giving him the special privilege.

Now nobody may get refreshment on the long tedious journey. A Malay, Chinese, Indian and foreigner traveler get no service! All were equal at the bottom.

I like to bring awareness to the BN ploy of racism. Not that UMNO loved the Malays more or really wanted them to supersede every other race. No.

UMNO did not teach the man to fish but took fish from us and gave it to him. This party did not help the Malays to stand on their feet, but insidiously ensured that they will depend on UMNO forever! Thats why I say Mahathir is a miserable failure given the enormous power at his disposal to do good towards the Malay race.

Lots of Malays never saw through the gravy train deception. Lets see how many more have opened their eyes in PP by-election.

Unfortunate and very tragic.

47. #49 by just a moment on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 10:07 pm

“Najib, Anwar ‘shop’ at same market.”
    Should see the photos in M’siakini.
    There’s a photo that shows our DPM
    talking to PP folks at the market.

That 2nd picture send ‘chills” to my spinal chord.
    Reminds me of Saddam.
    The way DPM acted… almost literally..
    Its so fake!!
    Simply ‘devilish’
    Not natural.
    Its even intimidating.
    Its true ‘hoodwinking’ in motion.

I can almost feel the atmosphere,
    Its cold!! Its empty!!

See for yourself, picture do paint a thousand words.

48. #50 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 10:21 pm

politicians should not trust in politicians
    i doubt if anwar should trust any of those in his party. they may as well be the one who betray him soon.
    i was surprised by the loyalty of malay nowadays. malays are more katak than anyone else. the incentive behind is money – umno offers money. the end conclusions is malays are more attached to corruptions and bribes. this problem is still there, and getting worse because of umno who encouraged corruption at all levels

49. #51 by StevePCH on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 10:28 pm

Has any Chinese been appointed to Ameno Spreme Council ? Indian ( other than Mamak ) , Iban , Orang Asli Bumiputera ? takde mah ! So to claim DAP is racist ? wah lau eh ! MSM need to change DAP from Chinese based to multiracial based oredi. And Ameno to UltraMalay party, definately not ultranationalist. Because, it’s not.
    Why ? Malay Supremacy is in question. YOU DON’T QUESTION IT ! So, forever they will be stuck in these doldrums. BeEnd will be obsolete soon.

50. #52 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 10:40 pm

I don’t find a suitable place to post this message about Arif Shah, so let me put it down here.

Instead of trying to buy a bogus PhD, it may be better for him to get a PhD from MARA for his capability in speaking good Mandarin and Hokkian. His Mandarin seems better than many Chinese, and his Hokkain is better than most Cantonese and Foochow. For that, recognising his achievement, MARA should award him a PhD. He doesn’t have to buy a fake PhD

51. #53 by just a moment on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 10:45 pm

More than 200 PKR members from 10 divisions in Kedah, Perak and Penang quit the party en block, saying they had lost faith in the party and its de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim because of his unwillingness to swear upon the Quran denying the sodomy allegations, was among the reasons they were quitting the party.

They included members from the Ipoh Barat division in Perak; Jerlun, Merbok, Sik, Padang Serai, Kulim, Alor Star, Pokok Sena and Pendang in Kedah; and several members from Penang

PKR Youth chief Ezam Mohd Nor and Malaysian Indian United Party president Datuk S. Nallakaruppan as special guests.

Let there be light! Its a blessing in disguise.
    Let these ppl go, its not worth keeping them.
    These ppl simply belief in BNs way of functioning.
    It is better the truth be revealed now than later.
    Be strong PKR!!!

52. #54 by cheng on on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 11:07 pm

pulau_sibu Says:

Today at 22: 40.49 (22 minutes ago)
    “I don’t find a suitable…………. Instead of trying to buy a bogus PhD, it may be better for him to get a PhD from MARA for his capability in speaking good Mandarin and Hokkian. His Mandarin seems better…”

What are u trying to say? so many other Msians can speak good Malay, English, Hokkien n Mandarin , so do MARA want to award thousands Ph D to all these Msian?? I don’t find anything special in such a Msian?

53. #56 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 11:12 pm

to cheng

how many malays who speak mandarin and hookian well?

you missed the point. chinese cannot get it from MARA lah, only bumi

54. #57 by AA234567 on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 11:15 pm

pulau_sibu Says:

For that, recognising his achievement, MARA should award him a PhD. He doesn’t have to buy a fake PhD

You are so correct, award him a “Permanent Head Damage”!!

55. #58 by cemerlang on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 11:23 pm

The election of 8th March 2008 should have taught us all something. Some mistakes cannot be corrected. If TDM has chosen somebody else as PM, would the election tsunami of 8th March 08 still happen ? Politicians should chart their course properly and to always have plan B ready in case plan A fails. Or even a plan C or as many plans as possible so as to save yourselves. Long time active politicians should groom their successors. Not just one successor. But many. DAP must be seen as a Malaysian political party. We have to face the fact that the world of politics is changeable. The politicians decide what is best. The politicians see how to relate their country to another. The politicians see what the people want. Probably it is the big land area and the small population in Sabah and Sarawak that the people there could not be too bothered about who is having the power. As long as they have enough to eat, clothes to wear and a shelter to stay, that’s all they care about. When it is a gangster politician which Barisan Nasional knows or a religious politician which Barisan Nasional also knows or a very corrupted politician which the Barisan Nasional knows, the people just could not be bothered. May be they will be bothered if there is no food and no money and the politicians could not give them anything. Then, they will start thinking of a change of government. For the moment, the Barisan Nasional is able to satisfy their tiny appetides. In East Malaysia, Barisan Nasional is like a mountain to the opposition parties. Many of the Bumis support BN. Many Ibans, Melanaus, Kelabits, Kadazans, Dusuns, Bajaus and so on and so forth have BN as their big brother. In many ways, BN has been good to them. Education, infrastructure, work, chances in life are given to them easier than to non Bumis. The term ” Bumiputras ” help a lot even though many of these natives are not Muslims. Wise man Naziran finds this quote ” Politics is war without bloodshed, while war is politics with bloodshed. ” Another reason for the election tsunami of 8th March 08 is because Malaysians want to have a transparent government and to be treated equally.

56. #59 by wesuffer on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 11:31 pm

these two days, police force is set road block all around kl, it is mean BN expected our rakyat prime minister Anwar ibrahim will won the by election and ready to go parliment on wednesday so BN dont want anwar supporter to go towards to parliment on wednesday ?

57. #60 by m.hwang on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 12:25 am

Mr.Smith, could it not be the rebuke from Din Merican that has changed Tunku’s mind? I mean of taking the wrong side? He cannot or will not join PKR yet he won’t join UMNO. He is definitely too liberal to join PAS so that leaves DAP where his joining will be a synergy of high proportions.

I believe other professional and forward thinking Malaysians of Malay descent will take the Tunku’s cue and join the fray. This can only be good for DAP to unshackle the CHinese chauvinist tag that has dogged DAP (courtesy of BN) for the last 30 years or so.

58. #61 by Tulip Crescent on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 12:26 am

wesuffer

the mounting of the road blocks is probably another exericse … but for what?

six thousand policemen posed to permatang pauh for the by-election where only 55,000 are going to the ballot boxes on tuesday. Is this a first for malaysia? 60,000 cops concentrated in one parliamentary constituency?

where is the budget for this? supplementary budget?

59. #62 by m.hwang on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 12:34 am

cheng, I think we have to take pulau_sibu’s comments in jest. On Arif, it matters very little that he can speak Mandarin or Hokkien well. We can speak English well doesn’t mean we will take care of the English in Malaysia.

If the BN kind of governance continues it doesn’t matter what you speak but what matters at the end of the day is your skin colour. Take Arif for example, at the end of the day the non Malays in PP will still look at him as a Malay and the Malays on the other hand will look at him as a Mamak. This is what KUTLAKUT meant in his earlier post and it’s the truth.

Many years we will need to rectify this mentality and if we don’t start now by rejecting the BN racist government then when?

60. #63 by m.hwang on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 12:38 am

Tulip Crescent, and we wonder who’s catching all the thieves since 10% (more if we discount all non-field police personnels) of our policemen are in PP? Come on PM, it’s the security and other bread and butter issues stupid.

61. #64 by StevePCH on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 12:39 am

SHA said subjudice to spread the flyers ? what about the swearing of Sai Fool ? Impartiality ? can anyone explain to Mr. Bo tarak o Tak ?

62. #65 by undergrad2 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 12:39 am

Tunku Aziz is a prize catch for the DAP – a loss for Pakatan! However, he has a reputation of being a loose cannon. So watch out!! He may send one your way!

63. #66 by undergrad2 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 12:41 am

ooops a loss for PKR!

64. #67 by undergrad2 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 12:49 am

“He could be an UMNO mole.” Mr. Smith

I know the guy. He has strong opinionated views on issues. One thing you can be sure he’s not, is he’s nobody’s mole. He’s not with UMNO to be an UMNO mole! There is no doubt he’s an asset to the DAP. The question is how long will he remain with the DAP?

65. #68 by undergrad2 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 12:56 am

“I do not agree to this appointment of Tunku Aziz to such to an important position despite his zero contribution to the party.” Mr. Smith

Surely a man of his stature cannot be expected to join DAP as a foot soldier. You’re also wrong in your assessment of the guy!

66. #69 by IloveDAPforever on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 1:05 am

Tunku Aziz should not let DAP leaders, members & supporters down after being elected to an important position. We all hope that he will help rather than retard the party in its noble cause.

The party had notable non-chinese leaders like the late Ahmad Nor, Zainal Rampak & the late P Patto. However, many do not know that elected to the CEC is another Malay from Johor, Ahmad Ton who has stick through thick & thin with DAP and who has won great admirations from Johoreans for his loyalty. Hats off to Ahmad Ton for his unwavering beliefs & support in DAP which is extremely rare for a Malay!

67. #70 by undergrad2 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 1:10 am

What surprises me is Tunku Aziz joining any party at all. Now that he is with the DAP as its national Vice Chairman, how long will he remain with the Party? In my opinon – not long!

68. #71 by m.hwang on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 1:14 am

IloveDAPforever Says:’Hats off to Ahmad Ton for his unwavering beliefs & support in DAP which is extremely rare for a Malay!’

You mean well but I don’t think it came out as well to some. There are many very very loyal Malay politicians but unfortunately history (as written by BN) has blasted them into another galaxy.

well said undergrad2, if Tunku Aziz joins DAP as foot soldier then the impact is a negative one. Headline : Capable non-Chinese intellectual of international repute fit to be only an ordinary member of DAP. You get the drift.

69. #72 by just a moment on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 1:15 am

Just thinking: Across the globe, same excitment is happening.
    US election: Obama and Mc Cain. Pardon me though, but the point I like to share here is…
    Most ppl says We’re like 10 or more years behind US, but due to advent of internet, knowledge and others are almost instantaneous
    hence, if we can choose, we can expedite our learning curve, isn’t it?
    The debate btw Democrate and Republican has focus into real issues like Economics, Daily bread and butter stuffs, Security, Education, and Healthcare, quality of life, The Real Stuff!

No one talks about the blacks and whites races or priviledge whites.Its the real thing with real competencies of leaders.

Having to think that Malaysia, we are still ‘struggling’ on issues like “Who or What is more hollier” “Who or What gets into Universities” “What race should be spoonfeed” “Stupid Rights of individuals at the expense of ignoring other races”, communicating by Satutory declaration, Swearing in holy rules, makes me very sad and disappointed indeed.

Its all a waste of time and energy. The only thing missing here, its a platform or foundation of changed. Cannot wait for New Government, must break away from this Stoneage Govment and 51 Yrs of Mentality Bondage or more like Area 51?

Ppl, time to move on?

70. #73 by Jeffrey on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 1:37 am

No doubt Tunku Aziz is an invaluable ‘acquisition’ by DAP to improve its Malay base at leadership level and reinforce DAP’s commitment to transparency and fight corruption.

However, Tunku Aziz has in the past been highly critical on record of Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, the PKR leader that DAP has agreed to work and colloborate within Pakatan Rakyat (PR) and endorsed as prime minister-elect should PR comes to power albeit by unusual means of cross overs from BN of (in Tunku Aziz’s description) “ethically deficient political malcontents from The Land Below The Wind” . …

The critical issue is how does one reconcile his views of Anwar (now that he is vice chairman of DAP’s powerful Central Executive Committee) in relation to DAP’s commitment to work with the PKR’s leader who is also the acknowledged de facto leader of PR in which DAP has committed to collaborate.

Has Tunku Aziz retracted his earlier views of Anwar and agreed to tow party line????

It does not look that way…..

Shannon Teoh of MalaysianInsider reported (Aug 25th ) : “He side-stepped a question as to whether he would now tow the party line, saying that “I always have independent views. I have been critical on a number of issues. While I subscribe to an organisation’s basic principles, there are times where we disagree. I have always championed the freedom to dissent.”

What does this mean? Will he cause friction between DAP and its partner PKR, and Asnwar in particular??

71. #74 by Jeffrey on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 1:51 am

I am sure the DAP has party discipline and does enforce it. For eg. Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng just recently announced that all DAP MPs and state assemblymen have been banned from applying for land in Penang “This is a step to counter unhealthy practices such as land improprieties which will impair the financial state of Penang. Any DAP MP or assemblymen who applies for state land will be breaching party discipline and action will be taken against him,” he told Ayer Itam voters
    (Source March 24th The Star)

Is criticism of Anwar or his much touted cross overs scheme a breach of DAP’s party discipline? If it is, then isn’t the DAP curbing freedom of honest expression or dissent by Tunku Aziz and unfairly compromising his integrity and consistency of public stand?

If the DAP says it is not breach of party discipline, does it make sense for a powerful Central Executive Committee member of DAP such as Tunku Aziz be allowed to criticise the defacto head of an Opposition coalition in which DAP is part of and whom the DAP endorse as PM designate should Pakatan Rakyat wrestled power to form government?

These are questions yet unanswered by the DAPs Central Executive Commitee …

72. #75 by undergrad2 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 2:13 am

“….does it make sense for a powerful Central Executive Committee member of DAP such as Tunku Aziz be allowed to criticise the defacto head of an Opposition coalition in which DAP is part of and whom the DAP endorse as PM designate should Pakatan Rakyat wrestled power to form government?” Jeffrey

The short answer to that is “It does not make nonsense of it”.

Like he said the right to dissent is fundamental to democracy. You can disagree with the individual views expressed by party leaders but that has nothing to do with party loyalty. There is a wide spectrum of issues over which you cannot be expected to see eye to eye. Like any other leader, Tunku Aziz must know that he has to share the same core values of his colleagues in the party. But that is as far as “core values” are concerned.

As for Anwar, he is not his boss. So he can disagree as much as he wants. Pakatan is a coalition of parties. When you say the DAP endorses Anwar as leader of the coalition, you’re referring to the leadership. He is just one voice among many voices. Of course, he would like to tone down his personal criticism of the man.

73. #76 by undergrad2 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 2:16 am

If your question is whether his personal views about Anwar will be a source of friction between the two component parties of the coalition, the answer is “Yes, if you allow it to be”. But I don’t see that happening.

74. #77 by undergrad2 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 2:20 am

“well said undergrad2, if Tunku Aziz joins DAP as foot soldier then the impact is a negative one.” m.hwang

Soon there will be discussions as to what role Tunku Aziz will play in Parliament. It does not make sense for the DAP to have Tunku Aziz only as Vice National Chairman as much as it does not make for Tunku Aziz to join DAP.

75. #78 by undergrad2 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 2:21 am

ooops ‘sense’

76. #79 by monsterball on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 2:51 am

This argurs well for DAP……being a multi racial party….like keDAILan.
    Congratulation to Tunku Aziz.

77. #80 by Jeffrey on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 2:57 am

It is not just the manner of Anwar’s refutation of Sodomy II Charges(eg. allegations of political conspiracy or of humiliation in hospital examination, not volunteering blood DNA, garnering international support etc) that Tunku Aziz criticised (which may be dismissed as mere Tunku Aziz’s personal dissenting opinion) but judging from the drift of what he wrote, the entire enterprise of the larger Pakatan Rakyat coming to power via BN crossovers and successful vote of no confidence against the government is undemocratic and improper.

I quote what he wrote : “What has happened to the mass exodus to his camp of ethically deficient political malcontents from The Land Below The Wind, across the South China Sea, that he predicted with an almost messianic zeal and prophetic certainty to help him topple the government and transform the nation?
    He (Anwar) has done our Sabah politicians grave injury to their reputation. They have proved that they stand by certain personal values and standards of ethical behaviour.

I cannot imagine anything baser and more grotesque than attempting to corrupt and seduce perfectly decent and honourable parliamentarians to betray the trust of the voters who had put them there in the first place to represent them in their constituencies.

What kind of message is Anwar sending to the people of this country, and in particular to the young people now beginning to take an interest in political issues?

Dislodge the government by all means, if this is your purpose in life, but there is a time and place as provided under our electoral process.

The place is the ballot box, and the time is the 13th general election.

This is all part of our democratic system and what business have any of us to bring about a change of administration outside of the legal electoral framework?” (unquote)
    See link : http://notashabery.com/shabery/?p=173

Does DAP and its Central Executive Committee share Tunku Aziz’s view that Pakatan Rakyat’s toppling of the government by such a means of cross overs is antithical and contrary to democratic practice?

78. #81 by undergrad2 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 7:53 am

There are two Schools of Thought here.

First School advocates crossing over (party hopping) if it is for a good cause. This group believes in the end justifying the means.

The second holds fast to the question of principle(s) i.e. these are duly elected representatives of the people and have been elected through the electoral process. They see these representatives switching loyalties without consulting their constituents and pary hopping as a betrayal of democratic principles. This group believes they should resign and by-elections held so their constituents could have their say over the issue.

Yet a third group would point to the fact that party hopping is not illegal and therefore there is nothing wrong. There is no law mandating their resignations and the holding of by-elections.

However, Tunku’s stinging personal criticism of Anwar seems motivated by personal acrimony. His criticism appears excessive.

79. #82 by Malaysian Mummy on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 7:54 am

DAP should be open to all races for all Malaysians now. Let MCA , Gerakan and UMNO jumping high with anger when their members quited and join DAP soon.

Please open up more positions for CEC for other races (non-Chinese) to reflect a better multi-racial composition in DAP. Eventually more non Chinese will join DAP without thinking of any high positions so that DAP is another PAP in Malaysia.

I look forward to join DAP after voting for the Rocket for past several GEs but I have doubt over DAP racist policies in the past. Now DAP has created a less fear and non racist party to attract more young Malaysians to join the party. Please do a DAP membership campaigns for non Chinese especially to attract Malays to become members.

Merdeka , Merdeka and Merdeka DAP !! Bravo !!

80. #83 by undergrad2 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 8:02 am

The truth is it is a betrayal of democratic principles.

But then one could argue it is for the greater good. The problem is if you subscribe to this line of thinking, you’re in effect placing yourselves and everybody else along with you, on the proverbial slippery slope.

81. #84 by Bigjoe on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 8:33 am

Tunku Aziz is a brave and enlightened person that in the final chapter of Malay history will remember him for being the torch bearer for Onn Bin Jaffar for just his move.

Tunku is joining at a good time with what looks like a transition plan in place for DAP. It means that DAP will not be bogged down by the traditional feudal problems of Malaysian politics for a while at least which means that DAP is unlike to betray what Tunku stands for anytime soon.

DAP must understand that hard times are ahead of it. It has limited resources and have to partnered up with Keadilan and PAS despite differences in ideology simply because BN is so far away from the original Malaysian ideal after 51 years of rule. To continue to fight for its ideal instead of tolerating potential betrayal on part of Keadilan and PAS is a tall order.

The achilles heel of DAP in selling its multi-racial agenda is being baited to attack PAS and its Islamic Agenda. DAP must make sure its secular vision has an emphasis of how Muslims in this country can have a secular country and yet Islam can be practised in a proud way in fact the proudest way. In the same way, DAP multi-racial stand must also emphasize that Malays in this country will ultimately control this country by sheer number and in the proudest way under its vision.

If DAP take the bait of of the frailties of PR for political expediency, then all these effort including the courage of Tunku will be short-changed.

82. #85 by NewDAP on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 8:40 am

hope is not just like another AliBaba company….

83. #86 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 8:53 am

After being rejected by the people, MCA has not waken up. MCA is still sleeping together with UMNO. I could only see MCA dying, and its only way of survival is to get absorbed by UMNO.

84. #87 by undergrad2 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 9:01 am

“In the same way, DAP multi-racial stand must also emphasize that Malays in this country will ultimately control this country by sheer number and in the proudest way under its vision.” Bigjoe

Here you are falling prey to the same old politics of communalism.

Malaysians cannot continue to be divided by race but united in ideology. There will always be racists and a racial agenda but so long as racism is frowned upon and racial discrimination made illegal and race ceased to be institutionalized, we are destined to suffer the same fate – be it under UMNO/BN or under PKR, PAS led coalition.

Racism will always be there so long as there are different races.

85. #88 by undergrad2 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 9:02 am

ooops ‘unless’ racism is frowned upon etc

86. #90 by NewDAP on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 9:15 am

Misbun Sidek to become a Datuk

BUTTERWORTH: The Malacca Government will honour national badminton coach Misbun Sidek with the Darjah Mulia Seri Melaka (DMSM) state award, which carries the title of ‘Datuk’.

Malacca Chief Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Ali Rustam said Yang di-Pertua Negri Tun Mohd Khalil Yaakob would present the award to the former national shuttler on Aug 28 at the Istana Melaka.

“As the coach of Olympic silver medallist Lee Chong Wei, Misbun has done a fantastic job in making the nation proud.

“He has also contributed tremendously to the nation’s badminton scene,” he told reporters at a meet-the-people session with Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak in Mengkuang Titi yesterday. Ali Rustam noted that this was a gesture of appreciation for Misbun’s success in enabling the country get its first Olympic silver medal.

why malacca award to misbun and not lee chong wei?
    both of them are not from malacca.

This is a real case of ” lembu punya susu sapi dapat nama”

87. #91 by Mr Smith on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 9:20 am

In other words, Tunku Aziz’ appointed as VC was not based on merit, not on past contributions to the party but solely on his skin colour in keeping with the much hated NEP-quota requirements.

His thoughts are not in sync with Anwar’s and that might make him the proverbial torn in the Pakatan Rakyat flesh.

88. #92 by NewDAP on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 9:28 am

malacca going to award datukship to misbun only.
    how about lee chong wei?

“Lembu punya susu, sapi dapat nama”

89. #93 by Jong on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 9:29 am

Tunku Aziz, another flip flop? – a prize win for DAP(at the moment) and a big smack on the face for Pakatan Rakyat?! Hahaha well said undergrad2.

Jeffrey hit the nail on the head when he said, Ill cut and paste:

“I am surprised that Malaysia’s most famous crusader for integrity and transparency Tunku Aziz has joined DAP as national vice chairman.

But other than integrity and transparency in governance and perhaps non communal politics for multi racial Malaysia, what else does he share in common with the DAP, if his past writings in NST and bloggers sphere are anything to go by?”

Jeffrey said it well for many who were shocked to read his last few articles published in nst.

On Permatang Pauh updates, please visit Mafrel for their latest findings. Mafrel went undercover and Ng Yen Yen was ‘caught’ distributing rm200 to each senior voters in ther polling roll under the name of Jabatan Kebajikan Masyarakat(JKM), check it out. More reports will come later today.

http://mafrel.wordpress.com/2008/08/24/dr-ng-yen-yen-distributing-money-to-senior-voters

90. #94 by just a moment on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 9:30 am

Uztaz Ramlang Porigi from the FT Mosque openly raises doubts on Saiful’s oath that he was sodomised by Anwar.
    Someone mentioned it in M’siakini, beating BN in their own game,
    Gratifying indeed.

DPM and BN have this message that Anwar is desperate to become PM is only half truth. The other half is, the Rakyat also wants DSAI to become PM. They kept on harping on personal attacks on DSAI and forgetting about the rakyat shows how personal this leaders have become and like herds of animal – The entire BN cronnies follow suit.

YES, we are desperate!! Desperate for DSAI to lead the country.

91. #95 by AhPek on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 9:31 am

‘I can only see MCA dying, and its only way to survive is to get absorbed by UMNO.’. pulau_sibu.

How?? Not even if all MCA members get ‘potonged’!! The only way is for MCA to become even better poodle.

92. #96 by Jeffrey on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 9:33 am

I believe Tunku Aziz is more likely a man of strong integrity who speaks his mind and will not be cowered by bipartisan politics for long. (This of course doesn’t mean he is right on all issues he disagrees with others).

You guys must wonder why RPK unlike Tunku Aziz will speak for Opposition Cause but won’t join Opposition parties. Why? Because with good cause he does trust politicians including this side of our fence! Having said that Anwar understands rough & tumble of Malaysian politics : he knows if he does not make the move by crossovers BN will with time recover its composure after 8th March ‘defeat’ to neutralise the Opposition. Anwar has his own logic, ends justifies the means whatever.

There is however a risk : the BN won’t allow this kind of unothodox divesting off them of power with no guarantee of amnesty. They may make their move soon- all gloves taken off – which is no good for either country or the cause of democracy. That’s the worst scenario that we should be prepared for (after Permatang Puah) victory!

93. #97 by kutlakut on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 9:33 am

If a man is honest, which means that he is a man with self pride, riding above financial gain for self, he will never be blindly loyal to people in charge or party. He will be a faithful defender of justice, truth, human equality, the whole works of universal good qualities.

So what is Tengku Aziz? Do we know him well?

94. #98 by Jeffrey on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 9:34 am

Correction in relation to RPK – “Because with good cause he does NOT trust politicians…”

95. #99 by oknyua on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 9:51 am

“Oknyua says a very funny thing – DAP has rejected the indigeneous people.” teejay

Let us have a good laugh then.

Let say you walk around Bukit Asek and Pandungan Kuching (YBs Wong and Chong) for a week and hear the talk personally. Unlike PKR, DAP has not joined itself with the indigeneous tribes. Tell me, which DAP branch has an indigenous committee member?

I returned on Saturday night – getting quite disappointed. I am seriously doubting the ability of changing the political landscape in E Malaysia through political struggles. If this is funny, then I rest my case. Over to you “teejay” and hopefully you provide suggestions that is good and less funny.

96. #100 by k1980 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 9:54 am

MIC condemns BN

Samy Vellu said: “They have been living here for more than 65 years (51 of that under BN) . No one has the initiative to see that a change takes place in the lives of these dwellers. This is slum, the worst slum….I have seen what is slum, but this is the worst slum I have ever seen. There is no way, no road, nothing! I think there should have been several attempts to change the conditions of the people’s lives.”

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/southeastasia/view/371424/1/.html

97. #101 by swipenter on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 10:09 am

In any democratic govt or even a political party there must exist room for dissenting views to act as check and balance to those in position of power. A dissident does not necessarily mean he is disloyal
    or out to cause disunity to his party . A dissenting view can also be the right view.

Look at BN for instant; MCA,MIC and Gerakan dare not even utter a word against Umno and the result is political hegemony by Umno and the rest we all know dont we?

98. #102 by PHUAKL on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 10:15 am

Dear YB Lim

Wonderful!
    The DAP needs to recruit more Malay members and,
    equally important, work actively to change the very negative image that many Malays (unfortunately) hold about the DAP.

Phua Kai Lit

99. #103 by Patek 1472 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 10:27 am

Malaysiakini Bloggers Headlines on 27 September 2008.

“Man of Honour” won Landslide Victory in P44 Permatang Pauh!

Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka!

A defining moment in Malaysian History was achieved when DSAI won the by-election in Permatang Pauh yesterday with a landslide victory over his opponent just 3 days prior to Parliament presenting it’s 2009 Budget (29 August 2008) and 5 days prior to Malaysians celebrating it’s 51st Anniversary of Merdeka (Liberty Day) on 31st August 2008.

Sit tight for the next episode on 29 September 2008, the preview to 16 September 2008 when Malaysia celebrates “Freedom Day”.

More Prophesies at Nostradamus Quatrains on “Wag the Dog” and Nostradamus Quatrains on Malaysia.

http://patek1472.wordpress.com

100. #104 by Tulip Crescent on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 10:53 am

m.hwang Says:

Today at 00: 38.37 (10 hours ago)
    Tulip Crescent, and we wonder who’s catching all the thieves since 10% (more if we discount all non-field police personnels) of our policemen are in PP? Come on PM, it’s the security and other bread and butter issues stupid.

m.hwang,

don’t worry. as i told some participants at a commonwealth conference some years back, thieves and robbers in malaysia are given annual leave during the conference.

i believe since then, such privileges have been extended for by-elections as well.

101. #105 by NewDAP on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 11:01 am

how about mamak? should DAP recruits more mamak members since our previous PM was a mamak.

102. #106 by Tulip Crescent on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 11:09 am

NewDAP

Why should the mamak join the DAP? At no time in our history have they enjoyed so much perks and so much influence?

Can we get real?

103. #107 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 11:13 am

invite michael phelps to become an honorary citizen of sarawak and give him a peihin title. so far, only taib is entitled to get peihin

104. #108 by dawsheng on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 11:17 am

“There is however a risk : the BN won’t allow this kind of unothodox divesting off them of power with no guarantee of amnesty. They may make their move soon- all gloves taken off – which is no good for either country or the cause of democracy. That’s the worst scenario that we should be prepared for (after Permatang Puah) victory!” Jeffrey

Agree. With suspected 40% of the force corrupted, who is going to arrest IGP Musa for abused of power and corruption?

105. #109 by Tulip Crescent on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 11:20 am

Dear all

If tomorrow, any police officer were to stop Permatang Pauh voters from voting because Anwar is gong to win anyway, the voters should tell them that they are voting for Barisan Nasional.

Then they should go to the polling station and mark the X against the PKR.

I am waiting anxiously to see the voting turn-out.

106. #110 by carboncopy on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 1:04 pm

# oknyua Says:
    Today at 09: 51.54 (3 hours ago)
    [snip]
    Tell me, which DAP branch has an indigenous committee member?
    [/snip]

1. Please check this post : http://blog.limkitsiang.com/2008/08/22/aca-extraordinarily-efficient-against-pr-but-terribly-incompetent-against-bn/
    [snip]
    This morning, DAP MP for Kota Kinabalu Dr. Hiew King Cheu, accompanied by DAP’s sole Sabah State Assemblyman, Jimmy Wong Sze Phin (Sri Tanjong) and Sabah DAP leader Edward Mujie was at the Dang Wangi police station
    [/snip]

2. http://blog.limkitsiang.com/2008/01/20/dap-kdm-declaration-let-kdm-not-end-up-as-outsiders-in-the-land-of-their-ancestors/

[snip]DAP KDM Declaration[/snip]

Make your own conclusion.

107. #111 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 1:29 pm

I find it rather amusing that many of the bloggers assumed so many things about the newly appointed Vice Chairman of DAP. If we just considered his background from an unbiased angle, one would surely noted that he was in ‘very good posotion’ to do many bidings of that power that was, and reaped all the gains he wanted. Well, obviously, he did not! Otherwise, he would be having his teas with all the VVIPs of the nation. Remember, being a Malay royalty and accepted credentials, he has much to gain by just toeing the line.
    Hence I cannot understand all the insinuations thrown at him at this moment of time. I always believe, people who like to ‘judge’ others in the negative manner are normally sour grapes, given the chance, they would swallow hook and sinker. Their only regret in life is they didnot have the opportunity!
    Sometime, one needs to ask oneself before throwing all negative insinuations at others. Just like the song ” look at the man in the mirror’!! In public office, it is acceptable the the public can criticize or comment someone’s action; but you can’t do it in anticipation. Politics is such that one sometime can only react to an event that happens suddenly. Remember it is a game of thousand of voters whose raionale cannot be measured in any perfection; otherwise all rocket scientists would have made perfect politicians!

108. #112 by jennifer cheong on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 1:37 pm

Dear lovely leader Lim Kit Siang, Lim Guan Eng, Tunku Aziz and all leaders,

Congratulations ! You are all great leaders who love the country and the people! We love you all too.

Keep it up! Fight for the victory of Malaysia ! DAP boleh! PK boleh!

Don’t give any single chance to UMNO,MCA,MIC or Gerakan to eat you up alive! Prevention better than cure! Do more works, speed up the progress and learn how to protect your selves from falling into the traps setup by BPR and UMNO !

Your faithful supporter since born :
    Jennifer

109. #113 by k1980 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 1:45 pm

Come on, let’s go to Permatang Pauh and get RM200 each from NgYY
    http://sloone.wordpress.com/2008/08/24/blatant-corruption-in-permatang-pauh/#more-2162

110. #114 by People on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 1:56 pm

By voicing one’s opinion against the Gov in an instant or two does not really categorize a person as a true justice fighter. A true fighter for justice, freedom, equal rights, corruption etc shld be judged over a period of time just like what LKS & LGE have done. Perhaps the Central Leadership has its own reasons or strategy in getting TA in. On this note, perhaps it should also try to bring in CSL who has been highly critical of MCA in his blog. Just a thought!

111. #115 by Godfather on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 2:17 pm

Whoever wants to join the DAP in its fight against corruption and injustice and for transparency is welcomed. I don’t think the DAP worries about previous mis-steps or allegiances as long as these are not criminal in nature.

“It does not matter if the cat is black or white. As long as it can catch mice, it is a good cat.” Deng Xiao-ping.

112. #116 by just a moment on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 2:19 pm

Can’t get in Malaysia today and Malaysia Insider, Whats wrong?

113. #117 by Patek 1472 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 2:39 pm

“War Cries” Before The Mother of All Battles in Permatang Pauh.
    “Laungan-Laungan Perang” Sebelum Perang Terbesar di Permatang Pauh.

“Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka!” – PKR

“Sodomy! Sodomy! Sodomy!” – BN

“Taliban! Taliban! Taliban!” – Akim

Posted at http://patek1472.wordpress.com

114. #118 by badak on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 2:49 pm

Hahahaha EZAM join UMNO to fight corruption,Now he is running down DSAI.At times i wonder where is EZAM brains.In december is UMNO,s election will EZAM go after all those who pratice money politics or will he be one of the money bags…
    If he was serious about corruption he should just stay out of politics and fight.TUNKU AZIZ my hats of to you.With UMNO,s racial stand it really took a lot of guts to join DAP.We need more Malaysians like you.Weather they are CHINESS INDIANS OR EVEN MALAYS.

115. #119 by tan chi nam on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 2:49 pm

why what is wrong with mamak….
    why they can’t join DAP???
    DAP is for all not just chinese….

116. #120 by just a moment on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 2:50 pm

Phew… ok, here’s alternative to keep you inform.
    http://anilnetto.com/civil-society/eve-of-polling-reports-from-ground-zero/

117. #121 by Mr Smith on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 2:53 pm

MALAYSIA TODAY HERE – http://sg.malaysia-today.net/2008/

118. #122 by just a moment on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 3:07 pm

Thanks Mr Smith. APPRECIATE IT.
    Cheers.

119. #123 by taiking on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 3:20 pm

In the name of prosperity I hv no problem declaring my allegiance to — well what do you think — allegiance to the RM200 of course!

Damn it. If only I qualify.

Like Lee Kuan Yew, UMNO too is afraid of the country falling into the hands of the Opposition.

Lee Kuan Yew is afraid that the Opposition might muck up the country’s wealth.

UMNO is afraid that the Opposition migh muck up its coffer of wealth.

Some stupid fools might just argue that the distinction between the two are not that significant; and insist that UMNO is alright.

120. #124 by ycchai62 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 3:20 pm

Since DAP is not so strong in southern state like Johor, isn’t it a logical choice to task Dr Boo Cheng Hau as the asst. publicity head to boost up their presence there. DAP may also co-opt more representative from Pahang and Johor to enhance their base in the said state.

121. #125 by smashchye on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 3:24 pm

this proven that DAP is a multiracial political party and ought to rule malaysia as DAP does not divide their members according to racial and beliefs like UMNO,MIC and MCA…and they call themselves “multiracial” and “living in harmony”.. what i say is that they are living in harmony in each other safe country

122. #126 by teacher on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 3:36 pm

I congratulate Tunku for finally coming into DAP. It is strange the day you entered DAP your articles in the New Strait Times on sunday has disappeared. No article yesterday 24th August. This goes to show the true colour of NSTP. Opposition members not allowed articles in National newspapers. No mention of him joining DAP over TV3.
    I wish you good luck and hope more Malays will join the party after all we are all Malaysians all are equal.By standing together we can build a mighty Malaysia. As long as you have racially based parties i.e MCA, MIC, UMNO we will never get far. Its a shame after 51 years we are still playing racial politics

123. #127 by undergrad2 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 3:58 pm

“In other words, Tunku Aziz’ appointed as VC was not based on merit, not on past contributions to the party but solely on his skin colour…..” Mr. Smith

If Anwar Ibrahim were to join DAP tomorrow would you be saying the same thing? Of course not! Because he is Anwar. But then this is Tunku Aziz. Who is Tunku Aziz? A respected member of the community with the kind of resume you’d like to see, who believes in the same core values as DAP does, who after twenty years (according to him) has chosen to make known his convictions now, and his confidence in the Party he has always believed in and supports.

Being who he is, the DAP leadership feels he is able to contribute both to the image of the Party in a dramatic way, and to the cause the Party stands for in a way an ordinary member would not be able to do.

Your role as the self-appointed gatekeeper for the DAP in this case reflects your prejudices and your real values. It is time for ‘change’.

124. #128 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 4:08 pm

Dear YB Lim,

Dap is right to welcome any race to the party. I am indeed glad that Tunku Aziz has joined dap as a member. Nonetheless, by offering a post of vice chairman is a little of a ” commercial trade off ” if i may post.

If someone is keen to be on board of the company, he certainly has to contribute something , which of late i notice , that university chancellors are so and so wife of some vvips. Tunku Aziz being an x head of Transparent International has done much writings but no actual visible actions and has been replaced by TS ramon. And what was our corrupt ratings during his tenure ?

Its dap’s right to admit anyone,but there is a chinese saying that we may be inviting an unwanted guest into the home. i hope some top secret meetings may be kept secret by your new vc. otherwise, while anwar had a coffee boy as a mole, dap has an executive vc as a mole. btw, tunku aziz would do better being apolitical, and the immediate promotion of a new member to a top post is ( caution needed ). just my view. who are the owners of nst. surely yb lim knows it. goodluck.

125. #129 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 4:15 pm

IF and that is IF , rafidah aziz will to join dap, what post will yb lim offer her?

126. #130 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 4:16 pm

why wouldnt tunku aziz join pas ?

127. #131 by carboncopy on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 4:17 pm

“In other words, Tunku Aziz’ appointed as VC was not based on merit, not on past contributions to the party but solely on his skin colour…..” Mr. Smith

Tunku Aziz have contributed far beyond most DAP members to Malaysia. And his contributions transcends ethnicity and beliefs. That far exceeds what you can contribute to the party itself.

In fact, it may be a lost to Tunku Aziz for joining DAP. Ppl that he knows will start shunning him.

Please grow up! Yes, DAP needs malay leaders, but DAP will not take in malay leaders just for window dressing!

p.s. For those who wants some proof of his contribution to DAP even before being a card carrying member of DAP. Watch – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QX8RpU1hdbU

128. #132 by budak on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 4:37 pm

i believe that he join DAP in his own accord and his appoint is based on his merits towards Rakyat Malaysia all these years…

Hidup Tunku, Hidup DAP….! :-)

129. #133 by Jong on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 4:53 pm

Tunku Aziz should join Hanafi Mamat who desperately need supporters! :D

130. #134 by mohrafael on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 5:02 pm

Excellent. It shows DAP righteousness. DAP has done a good job, and is a real fighter….. Carry on your good mission, which is certainly appreciated by most malaysians.

131. #135 by kutlakut on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 5:19 pm

waterfrontcoolie Says:
    Today at 13: 29.36 (3 hours ago)

I find it rather amusing that many of the bloggers assumed so many things about the newly appointed Vice Chairman of DAP. If we just considered his background from an unbiased angle, one would surely noted that he was in ‘very good posotion’ to do many bidings of that power that was, and reaped all the gains he wanted. Well, obviously, he did not! Otherwise, he would be having his teas with all the VVIPs of the nation. Remember, being a Malay royalty and accepted credentials, he has much to gain by just toeing the line.

Excellent point – certainly out of the Race Box Consciousness thinking.

Standing beyond self is the most important thing in a man’s life – honour, again self honour. Integrity is a rare commodity, so find these people and treasure them.

132. #136 by shadow on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 5:29 pm

Congrats DAP but its not enough. Get more malays who are well educated and broadminded unlike BN. You should do well in future and may be the next MB of Perak could be yours and so on.

133. #137 by k1980 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 5:48 pm

Identity cards are being collected in Permatang Pauh from rural folks under the pretext of registering them for a BN “loan scheme”.
    http://anilnetto.com/civil-society/eve-of-polling-reports-from-ground-zero/

134. #138 by cheng on on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 6:10 pm

PP voters, don’t put a “cross” bside bn candidate’s name, the “cross” look like a christian symbol, haram to bn!

135. #139 by penang308 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 6:44 pm

To all Pakatan Leaders,

Please watch out for the “Factories owners(bosses)” in Perai and Kulim area. They may stop their workers from going out to vote! or worst, even collect their workers’ ic and pass on the BN people.

Majority of the Permatang Pauh’s young voter are working in Perai and Kulim’s factories.

Most of the factories owner are BN supporters.

136. #140 by AhPek on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 6:46 pm

Arnold Toynbee,according to Din Merican held the view that responses of a society’s elite to the pattern of challenges posed by civilisation determine whether it would survive or perish. In other words,the way the way that the best and brightest respond to challenges thrown up by society is crucial to its longetivity.
    Tunku Aziz,by virtue of his background and lineage,education and career,is well placed to be considered as belonging to society’s elite.And I am sure DAP must have taken cognizance of its prize acquisition by placing him as the new DAP Vice Chairman on admission.Nothing wrong with DAP’s decision, Mr. Smith.I don’t understand your obsession in stressing that DAP is making a mistake and worseTunku could be a BN mole.Your comment on Din Merican’s posting “The Pathetic Gyration of Tunku Abdul Aziz” is met with Din’s response stating he was not angry with Tunku only disagreeing with him.And you full of anger, and for what? Tunku is his own man capable of taking contrarian views from time to time as with many people with character and good education.
    YB Kit has not been successful in his efforts to attract enlightened Malays into DAP to improve on its multi racial image.Tunku may just be able to help in turning it around this time.

137. #141 by badak on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 6:46 pm

UMNO leaders are so desperate in winning this BY ELECTION that they don,t even bother if their speaches hurt the chiness or indians.
    Voters of PERMATANG PAUH please teach UMNO how to be humble…

138. #142 by AA234567 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 7:11 pm

139. #143 by AhPek on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 7:25 pm

Should be ‘Tunku is his own man capable of taking contrarian positions from time to time …………………………………………’.

140. #144 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 7:35 pm

Mr Smith Post:
    Yesterday at 20: 17.16
    The URL here again.

http://dinmerican.wordpress.com/2008/07/27/the-pathetic-gyrations-of-tunku-abdul-aziz/

==================================================

OH wow! thx Mr Smith for the link…

Ah what a BANG, i hardly digest that, finally done phew…

well i would say it’s always good to see the dark turns to light, poseur or not, DSAI has a reasons to circumspect,
    remember he says “i forgive but not forget” priceless.

P/s: Dont know why my previous acc was hacked, fail to retrieve from email :buffle:

141. #145 by devilmaster on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 7:35 pm

Dear Permatang Pauh voters must read this:

http://www.p99ampang.com/2008/08/25/breaking-news-dari-permatang-pauh/

Not only the Permatang Pauh voters should read, the whole Bolehland. Where is the Badan Pencegah Rasuah?? You want evidence? There it is.

A commenter from that blog said: whoai ACA!! tidur kah??
    I LOL.

142. #146 by humanly on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 7:52 pm

Agree to disagree. Definitely I disagree with Tunku Aziz’s opinion on the bloggers. However I support his vice charimanship, not cos of his pedigree but his wealth of experience and stature will broaden DAP’s horizon.

Why some question his motive as if by presumption he is a mole of Umno cos of his ethnic.

143. #147 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 8:07 pm

All his allegation are null since the day he decide to join PKR ;)

“Forgive not Forget” Hahhah… u have a chance redeem urself.

144. #148 by Loyal Malaysian on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 8:18 pm

I am not a DAP member nor can I say I am any great fan of LKS.
    But over the years I have come to respect him for what he stood for -even though at times the internal party politicking leaves much to be desired.
    But the fact that a personage of Tunku Abdul Aziz’s stature chose to join the DAP speaks volume for itself.
    I wish him well and hope he’ll help in the growth of the DAP.

145. #149 by sirrganass on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 10:02 pm

Please take good care of Tunku because it will never be easy to get MALAY to join DAP. Now the malays have three big choices: If they are serious about good morality and strict to religous teaching, they will choose PAS. If they are a bit moderate (and not so holy) they can choose PKR. If they love cronism, racism, telling lies, bersumpah laknat, memperbodohkan orang lain, if they love curruptions, bribe, what will they choose?

If they are accepting “malaysian malaysia”, they will join DAP.

BTW, still Tunku is still the rare person. Can’t hope more Malay to join DAP. majority will be satistied with PKR if they quit UMNO. It’s ok, since we can recognise DAP as the voice of Chinese and Indian. Malay has so much choices already.

The set up of PKR/Anwar as the “middle man” to connect PAS to DAP is just a brilliant idea – very practical already!

Hidup PR!

146. #150 by undergrad2 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 10:02 pm

So by a show of hands, we can now say that the DAP did the right thing by offering the position of Vice National Chairman to Tunku Aziz Tunku Ibrahim who has a distinguised career mostly in the private sector.

147. #151 by dawsheng on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 11:45 pm

Well, action speaks louder than words, DAP is committed to recruit more Malays members, but I wonder if DAP will impose any quota on that?

148. #152 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 12:41 am

Based on the opinions of many of you, it would certainly take brave Malays, especially those with creditabilty to join DAP. Your minds are made up to to pass judgement on anyone based on your very narrow perception of things in life! You do not accept any kind of variance in thought and yet some of you happily criticised OLd Lee for his style. He has his passion for Confucius perception of things; but he never took advantage of all the treasures he had built for his country! And that is a high credit to him.
    For the good of this nation, have diverging opinions, argue them at the loudest voice but donot stoop to the level we are witnessing today at our Parliament!

149. #153 by aquaimplotec on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 2:01 am

Can I have the full name of Tunku Aziz; who is his father and grandfather? Why is he elected to top ranking immediately upon joining DAP? If he can see things clearly, can he explain article 153 plainly as to what it means!

150. #154 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 3:05 am

Tunku Aziz Tunku Ibrahim from Sg. Petani, Kedah. Educated in England and Australia. Served with Bank Negara as Advisor, moved to the private sector joining Guthries, Dunlop and Sime Darby as its Group Director. Went on to become Director, Commonwealth Secretariat based in London and Vice Chairman of Transparency International (TI).

He has his own views about most issues which differ from the mainstream views. Very opinionated. A strict disciplinarian. A man of high integrity. Not a guy to be taken for granted. Does not fit in any of the stereotypes you have ready for him. Meets the stereotype of the Malay anglophile educated in England and steeped in English values, having served multinationals (MNCs) like Guthrie, Dunlop and Sime Darby his entire career.

Not the UMNO type. Very critical of his own people.

151. #155 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 3:07 am

His approach is confrontational and abrasive. I don’t think he’ll last very long in DAP.

152. #156 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 3:10 am

Having said that he is a prize catch for the DAP. But for how long?

153. #157 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 3:44 am

Yay, i wish Tunku could kick some racist chinese outta DAP if theres any! hehe…

This is Malaysia nor elite malay or chinese majority rules, Karpal Singh saids it right, “Don’t let power go to your head”.

Team work essential and this are Malaysian future were talking about!

154. #158 by mysn1st on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 12:00 pm

Welcome Tunku to the Malaysian First platform. Hope Tunku can play him part to prove and convince the rest of malaysian who had negative impression with DAP.

155. #159 by AhPek on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 6:51 pm

‘I don’t think he will last very long in DAP.’. undergrad 2.

Well you can’t be too sure.I am reminded of the great Deng Xiaoping without whom China would not be what she is today.He is a true blue communist all his life and you will not expect this man a communist at the age of 70 plus to introduce market economy and property law into China turning China into an economic power today.One would expect his mindset to be cast in stone, too set to introduce such heretic ideas into China!

156. #160 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 7:54 pm

AhPek,

I hope he stays. But knowing where he’s coming from, my bet is he wouldn’t be able to even if he tries! For that to happen i.e. for him to remain either he changes himself in the process or changes the Party to which he says he now belongs. Both are unlikely to happen.

Tunku Aziz is also not the kind of man who would let himself be used.

Already Chinese chauvinists the like of Mr. Smith, for example, within the DAP leadership views with resentment the rock status given to this ‘Malay guy’. A case of reversed discrimination they would say.

157. #161 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 7:55 pm

oooops ‘rock star status’