MALAYSIAN SPIRIT WINS OLYMPIC BADMINTON MEDAL FOR MALAYSIA

By Dr. Chen Man Hin

The whole nation is happy and proud that Lee Chong Wei battled his way in the Beijing Olympics and won a silver medal in badminton.

He has won honour and glory for Malaysia, and though we are a small country, we have people like Lee Chong Wei to strive hard and win a medal despite intense competition from bigger countries.

We must not forget that behind every athlete’s success, there is the guiding hand of the coach. The man behind Lee Chong Wei’s success is Misbun Sidek, the national badminton coach.

Misbun was also the coach who guided Hafiz Hashim to win the All England badminton triumph in 2003.

Misbun is the ideal Malaysian who rises above race or color and gives his experience and expertise to ensure that Lee Chong Wei would succeed. They worked as a team, a Malaysian team, with nary a thought of race.

It is the combination and co-operation of Lee Chong Wei’s skill and Misbun Sidek’s coaching that clinched the silver medal for Malaysia.

It is an inspiring example for all to follow – that Malaysians should work together to achieve success.

The lesson for Malaysians is to be united as one, irrespective of whatever race we may be.

With Unity and Solidarity, guided by the Ketuanan Rakyat philosophy, we can conquer the world.

1. #1 by bennylohstocks on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 12:58 pm

A silver will do, let others do the rest

IT’S A GOLD

2. #2 by highhand on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 1:01 pm

now he is getting a datukship and been pull here and there in permatang pauh….great great

the real heroes were those soldiers who fight with their lives for country in communis time yet one of them don’t want the title of datukship bcause he can’t afford it.

to this ex soldier i salute him

to mr lee, now you will have pension more than many of the average malaysian and the money is from the rakyat

and supposingly yuan yufang wins a gold in her event will she get a datukship too?

3. #3 by Emily Pratt on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 1:09 pm

When LCW won the semi final against the Korean player, I remember him jumping up and hugging Misbun, at that moment I manage to get a glimpse of how great it would be when race, creed and ethnicity is completely out of the equation.

EP

4. #4 by richard.wong8 on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 1:09 pm

Congratulations to Datuk Lee Chong Wei. I proposed that Misbun Sidek should also be given recognition for his contribution as a coach, whether with cash or a title as a reward.

5. #5 by highhand on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 1:21 pm

u can hug whoever u want, but here bware……..

6. #6 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 1:25 pm

>I proposed that Misbun Sidek should also be given recognition for his contribution as a coach, whether with cash or a title as a reward.

Lee is going to share half of his reward to Sidek?

7. #7 by batman_1 on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 1:49 pm

We can always get silver medal, or even gold medal in sports, music, charity doing etc in a mutiracial combination team-up.Once it has been politicised, we do not even able to get bronze.Only apolitical individual/team-up will fight for the best of the country.

8. #8 by pongsakling on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 1:51 pm

I proposed that former Misbun Sidek coach should also be given Datukship! He trained and coach Misbun to become a great player and also become a great coach, and Misbun trained and coach Datuk Lee to become our olympic silver medalist! ha! ha! ha!
    So Malaysia will become the Datuks nation. Boleh!

9. #9 by smashchye on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 1:57 pm

it is enuf for malaysia to get silver medal for now. there is no need to feel dissapointed. if anyone feel dissapointed try to join olympic. don’t tink u ken win any medal at all. Chong Wei ad done his best and we should thank him that with his entry into final round made everyone in the world know there is still a capable malaysian in malaysia after the BN govt has shame us on the eyes of the world.

10. #10 by smashchye on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 1:58 pm

i tink datukship now is easy to get eh?? senang2 saja win something get title but chong wei really deserve it.. hope he wont be “riak” like some other people.

11. #12 by yhsiew on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 2:02 pm

Misbun Sidek had got the formula right – he ignored the race issue and coached whoever was suitable to the job. He deserved reaping what he sowed.

It was a shame that many capable intelligent non-Malay Malaysians were sidelined by the government under the NEP and that has impeded the country’s development and progress as they emigrated to other countries.

12. #13 by alikim on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 2:11 pm

Hidup”Ketuanan Rakyat”

13. #14 by clearwater on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 2:15 pm

LCW’s Olympic silver medal is commendable but the financial rewards and decorations are a little overdone. Incentives to be the best, yes, but excessive rewards for only second best, no. Will LCW now strive to be #1 or will he be satiated and slide down the slippery path to mediocrity? Not a few past Malaysian sportsmen have gone down the slippery path in the past under similar circumstances.

14. #15 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 2:17 pm

We should treat each and every one the same irregardless of our race, religion or creed. Whether it is in sports, education, politics, economics etc. , we will raise up to the occasion when we put forth the best of our people in all fields and we will be assured that they will do their best to make our country a model to other countries!!! Let’s not to do this only in field that every one can see openly but do it even in fields or areas that people cant see!!!
    Congratulations to Chong Wei and his Sifu Misbun. A very good e.g. of Ali-Baba partnership that benefits every one and brings glory to our country!!!

15. #16 by boh-liao on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 2:19 pm

Yes, if and when we work together transparently and sincerely as a united nation and as equal Malaysians (regardless of race and religion), we can scale and achieve great heights and harvest the riches from the other parts of the world for the benefits of all Malaysians.

However, we cannot be selective and inconsistent. One day a certain group of individuals is hailed as patriotic Malaysians and the toast of the nation, but the next day, the same group of individuals is shown the unsheathed keris and crudely referred to as ‘pendatang’ or yelled at to ‘balik xxxxxx’.

This is the major problem in Malaysia – short memory and short sightedness, no appreciation of human diversity and talents, and at the end, it’s always race and religion.

Unfortunately, we are forever wasting our time, energy, and money going round and round the same vicious circles as divided people in a dis-united or un-united nation!

16. #17 by max2811 on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 2:20 pm

I wasn’t that positive on PKR recently on the beatings of the reporters. But when SIL opened his big gap, well my support is to PKR again. UMNO just has too many idiots in the party.

17. #18 by Anak_Penang on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 2:22 pm

Anwar vs Arif, what would be the vote margin on Aug 26?

3 more days left for you to express yourself @ votingmalaysia.blogspot.com

18. #19 by k1980 on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 2:33 pm

Since the umno-nites hailed from Yunnan Province, will they be yelled at to “Balik Yunnan”? (Not that Hu Jintao will agree to accept them with their mind-boggling theories of NEP and ketuanan melayu and the like)

19. #20 by despin on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 2:41 pm

After 50 years, the fact that we are still looking at Chong Wei as Chinese, Misbun as Malay (and Nicol David as Lain-Lain) is a terrible shame. We are all Malaysians, period. The opportunistic and hypocritical abuse of Chong Wei by BN politicians in the Permatang Pauh by-election makes me want to puke.

20. #21 by Adolf_Napoleon on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 2:51 pm

Dear YB & ALL

It will take another 100 years for Malaysian to think like USA.
    Even a black can run for presidency. If in Malaysia, even the
    army and polis raja di malaysia will shoot to kill if a chinese or
    indian ever talk about it.

Thanks to UMNO…….the race based champion.

21. #22 by Toyol on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 2:53 pm

BN should learn from the spirit demonstrated by LCW and Misbun. Irrespective of creed or color, if we all work together SINCERELY, only then we can succeed.

But we all know BN is incapable of learning. Even now, they ferry LCW to do their political bidding in PP. Real sad government and real sad for M’sia.

22. #23 by wanderer on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 3:17 pm

What has the olymics silver medalist got to do with PP by-election?
    He brought glory to Malaysia as a worthy sportsman. Umno now used him as a propaganda tool…what a shame. Hey UMNO, we too, as taxpayers of this country contributed to his success, he is not sponsored by your UMNO clowns.
    It is most despicable to see a hero of the nation abused by shameless politicians. To even make matters worst, they brought in another current ‘hero’ the sodomite of the nation in their campaign, Sinful. Is that all, this BN has to offer to the nation?

23. #24 by PHUAKL on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 3:29 pm

Hi Friends

I just read the latest headlines in Malaysiakini
    and Malaysian Insider.

In Malaysiakini, Khairy says he and his camp will “bury” Anwar
    My comment: Wishful thinking of the highest order!

In Malaysian Insider, the report is that AAB took the
    LRT in Serdang to check out the quality of its service
    My comment: The Prime Minister of Malaysia has too much time on his hands?
    No “machai” to do this for him?

Malaysian politics is getting more and more amusing by the day!

24. #25 by boh-liao on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 3:36 pm

Yesterday it was LCW on stage with the BN candidate and big shots.

Next few days, just before the polling day, the infamous sai hole will be exhibited on stage with the BN candidate and big shots. He will demonstrate how he was penetrated by an old man. 8X?

Akan datang! Not the Cicak Man but the Lubang/Liwat Man.

Where’s the latuk can-or-naut man?

25. #26 by boh-liao on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 3:40 pm

AAB took the LRT in Serdang to check out the quality of its service.

AAB wants to take over another cabinet position (the transport minister OTK busy campaigning lah) – another monthly income needed.

26. #27 by stnaaron on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 4:01 pm

ye

27. #28 by PHUAKL on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 4:04 pm

Hi boh-liao

I think our good kaki bodek (oops … I mean our good Ministers) will follow the PM’s example very fast e.g.

1. Minister X goes to your neighbourhood food court to see how much nasi lemak, Hainanese chicken rice and roti canai RM10 will buy these days
    (”I feel for the ordinary consumer in these days of high prices”)

2. Minister Y will drive to the petrol station in his borrowed Kancil and pump up a full tank of petrol and see how much it costs
    (”Don’t worry, the Govt will reduce the petrol price soon”)

etc. etc. etc.

Phua Kai Lit

28. #29 by walao on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 4:10 pm

AAB was not happy with the LRT services? Where is the Transport minister all the time? Yum cha with SIL while travelling in the Rolce Royce ?Our government no peple to check all this small matter ?

AAB , what is your action to our Tansport Minister who fail to check all this until you have to do this checking by yourself? You have bigger problem to solve in Malaysia , pls don waste our tax payer money and time.

29. #30 by grace on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 4:28 pm

I believe if a DATUKSHIP CAN BE GIVEN TO LEE CHING WEI. MISBUN TOO MUST BE AWARDED TOO. No easy task as a coach. He looked more tensed up on the day Chong Wei played Lin Dan.
    He too should be given monetary reward.
    But when monetary reward is given to Misbun, please say that it is the rakyat’s reward for a job well done.

30. #31 by malaysia-united on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 4:35 pm

Sadly LCW had become the fodder of BN, so as PR was also try to get him as fodder, please lah, leave him alone, let him go home!

One of the minister said, “you see! we treat fair to everybody!” after awarded LCW with RM300,000 and RM3,000per month! What lah… Only treat 1 person good also can be call fair to anybody?

LCW had done him best, but when we will get our 1st gold medal from Olympic since we had participate for 52yrs??? 100yrs from now???

31. #32 by yhsiew on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 4:43 pm

Sorry to sidetrack.

Malaysian opposition claims dirty tricks as three nabbed for graft – YAHOO ASIA NEWS
    —————————————————————————–
    Keadilan leaders questioned the graft arrests and said the Barisan Nasional (BN) coalition is trying to halt Anwar after March elections that handed the opposition an unprecedented five states and a third of parliamentary seats.

“The BN government is playing dirty tricks to try and prevent Anwar from winning and to give (the opposition alliance) a bad name,” Keadilan deputy president Syed Husin Ali told AFP.

“I was told the money officials claimed to have discovered in a bag was actually put there by some other individuals, so this smells of entrapment,” he added.

Perak’s chief minister Nizar Jamaluddin, from the conservative Islamic party PAS which is a member of the opposition alliance, said he was perplexed by the allegations.

“It is impossible for the two executive council members who have been victimised to approve the project when it does not even exist,” he told the New Straits Times.

32. #33 by ktteokt on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 4:45 pm

A fully assembled “Multi-Purpose Minister” in the making! He can soon shoulder the whole cabinet by himself, declaring himself as Menteri Serbaguna Malaysia!

33. #34 by walao on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 4:54 pm

fuel price rebate will continue till March next year…Ha ha…what a short prank to win people’s heart. So next year no more rebate…what a silly strategy.

34. #35 by teacher on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 4:57 pm

Today the sleepy head took a ride in the LRT. Finally he has seen the daily sufferings of the rakyaat.He and his band of robbers have not been aware or can’t be bothered how the poor suffer each day to go out to earn a living. The ministers should all go by trains and use other public transport to see the pain. Its no point telling us to use public transport. Do you think we are stupid and need to be told what means of transport to use. Finally the PM must have received some bolt of light from above.

35. #36 by ng say eng on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 4:59 pm

We already won a gold medal for sodomy.

36. #37 by riversandlakes on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 5:01 pm

Ketuanan Rakyat!

37. #38 by zheng on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 5:02 pm

congratulation….Lee Chong Wei. U have made malaysian proud. Especially malaysian chinese. Im nt trying to be racism….but there are a lot of race discrimination happened in malaysia. The latest one is the MARA case….and the Bar council meeting…..

38. #39 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 5:08 pm

/// clearwater Says:
    Today at 14: 15.12 (2 hours ago)

LCW’s Olympic silver medal is commendable but the financial rewards and decorations are a little overdone. Incentives to be the best, yes, but excessive rewards for only second best, no. ///

Aiyah, clearwater, can you be a little more generous of spirit than that. What second best??? He is the second best in the WORLD, and that is quite an achievement. I think the incentives are on a sliding scale – Gold more $$$$$, Silver a little less $$$ and Bronze just $.

maybe I should start training for the Olympics, and with luck and lot’s of blood, sweat and tears, I may make it to be the 1,000,002nd best in the world.

39. #40 by Richardqed on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 5:17 pm

If LCW should get a Datukship for a silver medal, then what about Cheah Soon Kit and Yap Kim Hock, who already did the nation proud by winning our first Olympic silver back in 1996?

Are they going to get theirs too?

And let’s not forget that Chinese coach Li Mao also played a key role in making LCW the player that he is today. Misbun has quite a few players under his charge. But it is no coincidence that LCW, who had the most benefit from Li Mao’s guidance, was the one that has the best achievement.

40. #41 by pathfinder on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 5:19 pm

My congratulations to Misbun and Chong Wei for showing to the Malaysia that a Malay and a Chinese can work together to bring home the one and only Olympic silver medal. That honor and achievement are priceless. Misbun must be rewarded too.

41. #42 by Richardqed on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 5:26 pm

LCW has to learn from Lim Guan Eng on “How to Thrash the Opponent”:

http://www.malaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/7952-guan-eng-wins-easily

42. #43 by sirrganass on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 5:40 pm

What lah u guys, LKS is talking about “The lesson for Malaysians is to be united as one, irrespective of whatever race we may be.”

THis is a very positive side of Uncle LKS… we should realise that Malay, Chinese, Indian everybody MUST work as one team NOW. No more UMNOPutra, no more racism, no pilih kasih etc. LKS recognises that Misbun IS behind the success… and this is VERY BEAUTIFUL.

Let’s hope in DAP Blog like this you people won’t freely condemn other race or other religion followers. We can see many of you dissatisfy with Malay due to UMNOPutra problem (not created by PAS). We can also see many people are very worried about ISLAMIC STATE that may hurt non-muslim.

But here in this section… LKS say that actualy we are helping each other, directly or indirectly. This is an amazing interracial success, said him.

If i can understand it, why can’t you…

43. #44 by mauriyaII on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 5:41 pm

What has Lee Chong Wei’s Olympic achievement got to do with the useless BN and the PP bye-election?

Did the BN give any sort of assurance to LCW before he went to Beijing that he would get monetary rewards or even a datukship? Do they think LCW achieved his silver medal because he was going to get those?

HIS ACHIEVEMENT IS A REWARD TO MALAYSIA. HIS ACHIEVEMENT PUT MALAYSIA ON THE WORLD MAP AGAIN FOR SPORTS AS DID NICOLE DAVID’S. IT IS ONLY RIGHT AND PROPER HIS ACHIEVEMENT IS REWARDED BY THE GOVERNMENT.

The shameless BN government and Najib in particular is trying to capitalize on LCW’s achievement by parading him with all the other shameless ones from BN as if they had won the Olympic medal.

The BN is bankrupt. Najib is the worst. He has no ideas left to woo the Indian and Chinese voters. So he offers SCRAP METAL LICENCES to the Indians and MONEY to the CHINESE. This … doesn’t realize that the Chinese have built mini colleges all over the country for even their primary and secondary schools with their own money. Even all their Buddhist shrines and temples are built by their own effort. The taxpayers money was not used to build those houses of worship.

What the Chinese and Indians want is recognition as equal citizens in this country according to merits. They are not asking for handouts. They do not want crutches. They are also not demanding that the handouts and crutches given to his kind shoud be taken away. All citizens should be treated as equals. Not according to race, colour or religion.

As long as the BN cannot promise these and walk the talk, they won’t get my vote or that of my family members. I am all for KETUANAN RAKYAT.

44. #45 by taiking on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 5:49 pm

A piece of advise to all MARA students and administrators and UMNOputras. Pls do not read this thread.

Skip it immediately lest it would contaminate you people’s minds.

45. #46 by sybreon on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 5:50 pm

I think that the awards are going overboard.

The DAP should stop exploiting LCW by giving a Datukship to someone who failed to get the gold. Don’t be like the BN who give Datukships to people who fail to sail around the world and other lacklustre achievements. The cash prize should be enough to spur him on to achieve more in 2012. Then, when he gets a gold, award him thoroughly for that achievement.

46. #47 by AhPek on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 6:16 pm

Correction:’……………….,and to Ng Boon Bee,YB i am most thrilled to learn of it for this sportsman who is a world class doubles player…………………….has come to be recognised at long last (about 40 years late in coming) thanks to DAP.’.

47. #48 by AhPek on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 6:19 pm

And mind you even Lee Chong Wei says he did not expect the datukship to be awarded!!!

48. #49 by boh-liao on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 6:33 pm

DAP and PR must have principle too. Don’t be like the BN, simply recommending titles to be dished out to people with minor and inconsistent achievements. Are they also jumping on the bandwagon to exploit LCW?

LCW had won an Olympic silver and he was well rewarded financially. That’s fine and he deserves it, ‘cos the reward was clearly announced before the Games started.

Silver is not Gold. LCW is not the World Champion. LCW is not the best in the world of badminton (men), unlike Nicol who is the best in the world of squash (women) and wins titles consistently. LCW is still young and he should be encouraged to reach for the sky.

LCW can be rewarded with a Datukship later. Why the hurry?

By bestowing a Datukship to a person who is not the best in his field of endeavour and still early in his career, the Penang State Government is setting a bad precedent. How can the State not bestow a Datukship to another similar mediocre achiever later? Kangkong datuk!

Likewise, a number of PKR and DAP Perak state assemblymen so quickly and greedily accepted titles (just because they were elected by the rakyat during the last GE), before they even started to serve the rakyat properly and before they show us their capability, is shamefully wrong!

We have to ask ourselves: Are DAP, PKR, and PAS politicians any different from Umno, MCA, MIC, Gerakan, etc politicians? Are they all just political animals?! Do they walk the talk? Who is holier than thou?

49. #50 by AhPek on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 6:51 pm

Moderator, the 2 postings just before boh-liao looks silly standing on their own. I suggest if you’ve to knock off the one which expresses my main thoughts on the awarding of datukship to Lee CW then you definitely look silly for not deleting the above 2.
    If you do at least I will know that you people also do not broach a contrarian stand!

[This blog has no problem with contrarian positions. The reason your posting that you referrred to was held up automatically is not because of your agreement with Richardqed but because of your use of a term which could be regarded as offensive. Your posting, after moderated, is reproduced below:

“Richardqed,

You are dead right and I think we have gone overboard with this Olympic Silver Medal thing.I must say I am a bit disappointed with DAP’s decision to join in the fray to make …of Lee Chong Wei.This is not to degrade the performance of Lee CW.He deserved his RM300,000 to be sure for that is the prize money for anyone winning a 2nd place in a world class like All England or the World Championship.It is the carrot that has been dangling for a couple of years for players and Chong Wei’s performance in the run-up to the final has been marvellous.It is however a big let-down in the final offering no resistance at all to Lin Dan’s play!

That DAP has given the Datukship to David Nicol is definitely well thought out and appropriate,and to Ng Boon Bee, YB I can tell you I am most thrilled for to learn of it for this sportsman who is a world class doubles player as well as a player who has played a vital part in bringing the Thomas Cup back to Malaysia has come to be recognised at long last (about 40 years late in coming) thanks to DAP.But Chong Wei’s case I will never agree with that,a silver medal is only a recognition for the 2nd top player in the world,only a gold medal says you are the top player in the world.Penang mustn’t descend to simply award datukship like many of the other states that have bastardised state recognition. WE NEED TO HAVE A HIGH BENCH MARK FOR SUCH A THING.Silver medal in a world class event cannot be judged to have a high bench mark, only a goal can!!” – Admin]

50. #51 by AhPek on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 6:53 pm

Moderator, Why do you put it back? Don’t feel bad if you have to!!!

51. #52 by stephanella on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 6:57 pm

I agree that Misbun and Chong Wei set a good example of how they put aside the racial differences, work together and even treat each other as a family. However, i don’t think Misbun is the only coach who help Chong Wei to improve his game. Credit should be given to other coaches as well. If Misbun is going to receive a datukship as well, what about other coaches who helped Chong Wei before? Is it fair to discredit their contribution?

I think the timing of awarding the high achiever atletes is too early while they are still active in sport. It will be better to give them the title after they retired as it will be more useful for them then…

52. #53 by k1980 on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 7:17 pm

Something fishy is going on:
    “I was told the money officials claimed to have discovered in a bag was actually put there by some other individuals, so this smells of entrapment,” …”It is impossible for the two executive council members who have been victimised to approve the project when it does not even exist,” he told the New Straits Times.
    http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/afp_asiapacific/view/370331/1/.html

53. #54 by Vidya Young on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 7:37 pm

I have been visiting this site only since Jan 2008 and have contributed on a couple of occasions. But forgive me if this is a premature observation.

Conspicuous in its absence is the fact that our comments and questions are not being answered, neither by YB Lim nor the moderator/admin. I sometimes wonder if our comments are being read at all.

Would it not be nice if either YB Lim or the moderator/admin occasionally gave his own observation on a comment, or answered a question posed, or even chastised a commentator here? It need not be lengthy.

Pardon me YB, my humble self is earnest to see better interaction here.

54. #55 by Dr_Albert_Schweitzer on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 8:15 pm

Both Lee Chong Wei & Misbun Sidek represent Malaysia’s new hope & future for a non-racial Malaysia. This is the spirit of Pakatan Rakyat. For Misbun Sidek you hopefully are a symbol of a new Malay not a crippled , spineless & parasitical Bumi bred by UMNO Putras. Your brains & mindset as well as soul will be freed & not imprisoned by the racist policies of the UMNO Putras

55. #56 by milduser on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 8:16 pm

Well said Dr Chen. We should treat one another as individuals and our skin color will disappear automatically. If we focus on the problem, the objective or the cause, we will be united to achieve more for the country in terms of honor and well being.

56. #57 by StevePCH on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 8:53 pm

Well … Misbun rightly deserve a Datukship too.
    I really think Misbun is also a true Malaysian Hero like what many expressed.
    He went through a lot as a player and as a coach, I think he is doing wonderful !!!
    Like what many had commented, he broke the racial barriers and coach all very well regardless of race. like Mew Choo , Choon Hann , the doubles team.
    Yes … I agree with Ketuanan Rakyat !!! Rakyat owns Malaysia !!! not Malays or Indians or Chinese and other minorities.

True enough also, PR assemblymen in Silver State has fallen into a trap. When BeEnd mentioned PR govt will fall by 31st August, they have already plotted something and guess what !!!

57. #58 by Dr.Mohan on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 10:12 pm

I think awarding LCW at this stage is setting a bad precedent.I would think the reward should be increased to RM 500,000.Yes LCW put Malaysia on the Olympic feats but so did cheah Soon Kit and his pair though a bronze.The title should havecome later in his career as in the case of Ng.Boon Bee.But were Tan Aik Mong and Tan Aik Hong duly rewarded?

58. #59 by ktteokt on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 10:17 pm

Soon we have AAB as the Menteri Serbaguna and “Qian Shou Guan Yin (Guan Yin with a Thousand Hands) in Malaysia. Might as well bubarkan kabinet since we have such a capable PM, Minister of Home Affairs, Minister of Finance and probably Minister of Transport! Let him assume this Menteri Serbaguna function and perhaps even privatize (or piratize) his Department to be Kementerian Serbaguna Malaysia Berhad!

59. #60 by ktteokt on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 10:20 pm

We may soon have a Malaysian BREW which is better than Carlsberg Special Brew – consisting of politics, money, business, religion, sports, space travel and whatever you can think of. Wow! This sure will bring a kick to drinkers! Malaysia Boleh (Mabuk)!

60. #61 by swipenter on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 10:21 pm

LCW did not ask for anything. The monetary rewards were there for anyone who perform in the Olympics. The datukship was conferred on him after the fact. Dont bash him for that and stop belittling the datukship. Not all datuks are not deserving of the title.

Yes due recognition should be given to Misbun too for his contribution to Malaysian badminton. A silver is a silver and a gold a gold but both of them (and others invovled) must have put their best foot forward to get an olympic medal for the country. Be proud of their achievements and magnanimous.

61. #62 by cemerlang on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 10:41 pm

Wise man Naziran remembers this quote ” Our greatest glory is not in never failing, but in rising up every time we fail.” The badminton sport in Malaysia has seen its’ ups and downs. It is indeed a great feat for everybody directly and indirectly to be involved in this badminton sports. Comparatively, China cares more for her sportspeople than Malaysia does. Each time a Malaysian wins, just know that the government helps only a little. The people in China spend years continuously in training. Their government cooperates because they know how important it is to win. Winning means respect. Their minds are already geared towards not just entering the competition but also to win.* sigh * If Malaysia can be like China.

62. #63 by One4All4One on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 11:03 pm

A recognition in the name of sports would be more appropriate.

A “datukship” does not reflect the reason for the award. On the other hand a specific award in the name of sport, in this case, would refer to the feat in the proper perspective.

Seems like there is a craving for “datukships”.

We should be advocating passion and endeavour for achievement in all fields, with or without the reward of “honours”.

Just a suggestion: Leave “datukship” for more senior citizens who have contributed greatly to society and nation.

63. #64 by limkamput on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 11:09 pm

I put this earlier in an earlier thread:

“Tribal people are not our teachers. Because they gave Datoship to Malaysia’s spaceman@”can-or-not”, we must also give datoship to Nicole and LCW. I think this is stupid. It all boils down to desperate politicians desperately wanting to share some limelight no matter how ridiculous the acts may be.

Sport is now a vocation. If sportmen and women achieve greatness, it is well and good. I don’t not see the need for special award or consideration each time they achieve something. That is what million of people in other professions accomplish everyday. If a sport man spends his lifetime trying to put a ball into a hole, how is he different from a carpenter doing his job in terms of accomplishment? We have too many stupid people around paying too much to this group of fellows whose contribution to the world is at most “entertaining”.

64. #65 by One4All4One on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 11:22 pm

A “datukship” is an award to show recognition for contributions to society and/or nation.

But sadly the award had been widely abused for personal glorification and selfish interests such as in business sector and dealings with the government offices/officials.

Can there be any rule made to disallow and prevent such abuse from occurring? The award should come with conditions and a reminder that it is not a licence to do as one wishes.

An award is an honour and recognition, Just that.

65. #66 by AhPek on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 11:47 pm

Mr. Moderator, I certainly cannot get to comprehend how in the context of what is written ‘DAP’s decision to join the fray to make …of Lee Chong Wei’ the word (which is neither a foul word nor an abusive one.it has also been used in this blog) can be I am sorry but that contrued as inflicting offence to this young man.Rightly construed it is a very strong criticism against DAP’s judgement and that is exactly what it is.I am sorry but that is what it is.

66. #67 by AhPek on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 11:51 pm

Correction:”……………………………………….the word (……….) can be construed as inflicting offence to this young man.In fact if it is rightly construed it is a very strong criticism against DAP’s judgement and that is exactly what it is.”.

67. #68 by lhslhv on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 12:47 am

Watching at the news today about the plight of Misbun Sidek’s wife, I feel sad that the government has not recognised the effort and sacrifice he puts into training Lee Chong Wei.

He should be given enough monetary reward for him to look after his sick wife for the rest of her life.

Rather than wasting money in unproductive projects and monies that have been squandered through corruption, this money can be used for medical treatment of direct dependent of national sportsman.

68. #69 by HJ Angus on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 12:49 am

Aaahh ….. Politicians always take advantage of anything and everything to further their cause.

As a professional LCW knew about the RM300k and lifetime pension during the game and maybe the Chinese champ was simply too good.

I think Malaysian sports should cast a wider net at the younger students to discover more talent at a younger age and we should educate parents that if your child achieves fame, tertiary education can be done later.

You can see that many poorer countries than Malaysia are producing superior athletes. Some of those Africans look as if they are starving!
    In Malaysia I think our staple diet is not good for sports.

69. #70 by undergrad2 on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 12:55 am

““If a sport man spends his lifetime trying to put a ball into a hole, how is he different from a carpenter doing his job in terms of accomplishment? ” limkamput

A carpenter can scr*ew.

70. #71 by cina on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 11:05 am

so far, in the summer olympic, the total medals won by malaysia since its olympic debut in 1956 are only 2 slivers and 2 bronzes.

The best thing is, the 2 silvers (including LCW’s) were won by Malaysian Chinese….

if LCW was to be coached by a chinese coach (malaysian chinese or mainland chinese), malaysia may had won the gold instead of the silver….

71. #72 by HJ Angus on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 11:55 am

cina
    what a racist remark!
    I think we had an Indonesian coach for badminton but he didn’t stay long.

Misbun is having success as a coach after some initial problems earlier on.
    I understand many athletes from Africa train in Germany for table-tennis – the Nigerian who lost to the Korean yesterday gave a good fight to the Korean who was ranked 100 above him.

We think of building sports complexes ala Bricks abroad! That RM10m in sunk costs could have been spent on a few months special training for some of our top athletes.

72. #73 by cina on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 12:43 pm

HJ Angus,

Malaysia was forced to engage such coach.
    He is not up to the mark and other countries have no interest to engage him as coach.

If LCW has a Chinese coach (Malaysian Chinese or mainland Chinese), he may win the gold instead of silver……….

same like our football team, if other races are given the same attention, today, malaysia football won’t be that bad.

Last time, the selection of football players were based on talent and skill but nowadays the selection is based on colour and quota…… that’s why Singapore, Philippine and even Laos also can beat us in football……

that also explained why our hockey standard has deteriorated……
    too much emphasis on skin colour and quota.

73. #74 by disapointed86 on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 12:49 pm

LCW deserve the title ok..bear in mind how many athletes have manage to get a medal in olympic..i think its not more than the fingers u have….

74. #75 by boilingmad on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 1:52 pm

Why are we so hung up on this datukship? I believe Honour and Respect are far more important than titles.

Both of them (for one cannot do without the other) deserve respect and honour. We should have a special dedication (not a title) to celebrate their victory. A special award of merit or something that is truly worthy of their effort.

I salute you both for bring pride to this frail nation. Thank you.

75. #76 by taiking on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 2:19 pm

Its good to see DAP supporters hammering DAP in here. Thats actually healthy. Unlike UMNO, no members of that party can even mutter half a word against the party.

Yes. Datukship for chong wei seems odd. To my mind it is odd because of the timing and not because of the award itself.

Chong wei has served the country well and has brought great pride to all of us. He actually deserves the honour just like nicole. The award to nicole certainly did not raise any eyebrow.

However unlike nicole, chong wei is caught in the middle of the PP by-election campaign. So all acts of either party would definitely be seen as a campaign move to woo voters and to win support.

So at the end of the day, like it or not, a badly timed decision is as good as a bad decision even if it is well intended. So DAP, careful there. In this country everthing can be politicised.

76. #77 by limkamput on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 2:30 pm

cina says: “if LCW was to be coached by a chinese coach (malaysian chinese or mainland chinese), malaysia may had won the gold instead of the silver….”

cina, you are the worst racist i have ever come across. You are disgrace to this blog.

77. #78 by cina on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 2:42 pm

limkamput aka limkaput,

you are the mother of hypocrite.
    you are a real racist who always against the malays.

if LCW was to be coached by a chinese coach (malaysian chinese or mainland chinese), malaysia may had won the gold instead of the silver.

this is not a racist remark. This is reality as chinese is the world leader or world power in badminton. most top indo players are also chinese.

only those who are real racist (stupig)people like you will think such is statement racist.

78. #79 by cina on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 2:45 pm

limkaput,

pls go back to your farm, pls don’t dirty this blog….

79. #80 by antiracist on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 3:14 pm

sirrganass,

Agree with u..if this show how DAP can cooperate with Malays and Indian i will support DAP. BUT when i see comment from limkamput,cina and etc ( racist comment, read : only chinese are greatest in the world ) i think malaysian have wait 10 years more to build bangsa Malaysia.

80. #81 by HJ Angus on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 3:25 pm

“only those who are real racist (stupig)people like you will think such is statement racist.”

how to argue against such remarks?
    In the heat of competition, anything is possible.
    Look at how both the USA 4×100 relay teams who were favourites flunked. Bribery?

Another 10 or even 20 years we will still have racists – so please do decide on the parties as they are at present – there is no such perfection.

81. #82 by cina on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 4:26 pm

sirrganass,

“chinese is the world leader or world power in badminton. most top indo players are also chinese.”

this is not a racist remark, this is fact and reality.

“American is the world leader in Baskeball.” is also a fact and not racist remark.

only those who himself is racist will find such remarks racist.

4×100 relay is not like badminton, cannot afford any mistake.
    In badminton, one can make few careless mistakes and still able to win at the end.

82. #83 by cina on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 4:27 pm

4x100m has no room for mistake, but badminton has.

83. #84 by limkamput on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 4:35 pm

Cina, you are not only a racist, you are the most moronic Chinese chauvinist in the world. Chinese are not naturally the world’s best badminton players. Is there a DNA for badminton, you moron? They have more people playing this game in China and they have a bigger pool of talents to choose from. Now, Cina, if you don’t understand what I am trying to tell you, please don’t bother to come back to me. Go to the zoo, this is where you rightly belong.

84. #85 by limkamput on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 4:37 pm

by the way, cina, you do not know what is fact and reality. The only reality you have is your moronic racist brain.

85. #86 by limkamput on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 4:40 pm

cina, what if i tell you if African Americans were to take up badminton in earnest, do you think they can beat the Chinese badminton players from China, Indonesia and Malaysia. You moron, period.

86. #87 by cina on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 5:06 pm

as long as UNMO and chinese schools still exist in malaysia, malaysian will continue to be very racist…..

87. #88 by limkamput on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 5:31 pm

Cina says: “as long as UNMO and chinese schools still exist in malaysia, malaysian will continue to be very racist…..”

May be you are right about UNMO. But surely you are wrong again on Chinese schools. I don’t know about you, many of us studied in English schools, does that make us English men? We can teach in Chinese schools about Malaysians, cosmopolitanism, inclusiveness, globalisation and other culture and languages. It is the idea, not the language, ok. Don’t insult Chinese schools again you phua tang sai. I came from one.

88. #89 by cina on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 5:33 pm

limkaput pls don’t that about what if,
    the reality is china had won the most gold medals in badminton
    the fact is chinese is still the best player in the world.

the mother of all realities is limkaput is the most absurd and retarded animal.

the fact is who let the stupig out again? limkamput or kaput, pls goes back to your barn…….

89. #90 by cina on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 5:39 pm

the fact is chinese schools are a racist school like UiTM,
    that why this retarded limkaput is so racist as he is an animal from such school.
    wasting my time talking to such retarded animal who are so racist.
    “chou tau”

90. #91 by limkamput on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 5:56 pm

cina, i think you come from Timbuktu school. You can’t write proper English and I doubt you can write good Malay or Chinese. You are a typical moron devoid of even one single language. Real good for nothing phua tang sai.

91. #92 by parameswara on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 12:45 am

In The Star there is a coverage of Lee CW going back to his hometown in Bt Mertajam, news about him getting a Datukship from the state government and getting his reward of RM 300K. Overall coverage is about half a page.

But is Lee CW’s trip so straightforward ?

Apparently not, and The Star (controlled by MCA) never reported this peculiar situation of the trip.

According to The Sin Chew daily, the leading Chinese newspaper controlled by a Sarawakian, there was more to the trip. The following is summarised from the reports in Sin Chew.

“Apparently Lee was supposed to fly back in the afternoon, landing at the Penang airport at 5 plus in the afternoon. The state’s CM Lim GE was supposed to go to the airport to welcome Lee. Then it was rumoured that Lee was taking the 1.00 flight. Lee’s elder brother and the state’s representative and the media rushed to the airport but Lee could not be seen.”

Lee’s elder brother got a call from Lee on the phone. Lee said ‘I am now inside a car. I am not sure what happened, and I can’t talk. Very sorry, it is against my will…:

—-Note: this phase of ‘it is against my will’ is not that explicitly said, but implied. The Chinese words used are ????—-

Apparently Lee was flown by an air force plane to the airport in Kelapa Batas in Kedah, and driven away. The media people also missed him. His whereabout was lost to his brother for a few hours. Later that day he was taken to a meet-the-fans session where the BN’s candidate in the Permatang Pauh by-election, Arif Shah was there.

Later he was taken to another place to receive his RM 300K cheque from the DPM. Both these places are in the constituency of Permatang Pauh while the Lee family home is in Bt Mertajam, outside the constituency.

Lee’s comment, ‘ I only come back to receive the money. Where they want to have it is beyond me. I also didn’t know Arif Shah is there. I am only a sportsman. I am not involved in politics…’

From the above description in Sin Chew, total coverage about 8 to 10 times that of The Star, we can see that Lee has become a pawn or a puppet in the political game. Poor Lee.

It also shows we have to doubt, again, the reporting of truth by The Star. Selective reporting.

A commentary in the same Chinese newspaper said it loudly,
    ‘leave him alone, please’

92. #93 by ctc537 on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 4:32 pm

Congratulations! Lee Chong Wei and Misbun.

93. #94 by imranj78 on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 11:39 pm

cina..
    yes it is fact that China is a world power in Badminton. But the way you say it is inappropriate and can be construed as being racist. remember, sometimes its not always about what you write/say, how you do it is also important and on this matter you have got it wrong.

but one thing i must agree with you. chinese or tamil schools do not encourage integration. in that sense, they are as guilty as uitm in this matter. BN is wrong in maintaining this. If PR is serious about `Malaysian Malaysia’, all chinese and tamil schools should be closed and national schools should be strenghten to cater for all races. Don’t only ask the Malays to compromise their institutions (i.e. uitm, mara etc.), non-Malays also have to compromise some of their institutions.

94. #95 by limkamput on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 11:57 pm

Imranj78@coconut head, did Chinese or Tamil schools forbid any race from joining the schools? Typical no brainer talking cock. Anyway, who cares really – a Malay racist talking to a moronic Chinese racist.

95. #96 by imranj78 on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 10:27 pm

limkamput,
    Please tell me which part of my post is racist? I beg you to please clarify as I believe you are the one who is a coconut head :) I never mentioned anything about Chinese and Tamil schools forbidding other races from joining those schools. Actually these schools are good but their time is up, similar to single race universities such as UITM.

I am a believer that for the concept of Malaysian Malaysia to be really achieved, a common education system for all the rakyat should be adopted. Isn’t this what we all want? True integration of all races. Isn’t that what we all want? Or is the concept of Malaysian Malaysia all talk only and requires only Malays to compromise on their institutions? I hope not.