Anwar Sodomy II – internationalising Malaysia’s Misrule of Law?

I had wanted to ask the Foreign Minister, Datuk Dr. Rais Yatim the following supplementary question in Parliament this morning:

“Are you aware that by taking Anwar’s Sodomy II selective prosecution to the United Nations by way of a letter of protest to the UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon at American interference in Malaysian domestic affairs as well as organising a series of ‘information sessions’ overseas, you are only internationalising Malaysia’s ‘misrule of law’ which you had so eloquently and devastatingly criticised in your book ‘Freedom under Executive Power’, exposing the nation to greater mockery in the global arena as we will only be able to depend on rogue states like Myanmar, Zimbabwe and Sudan for sympathy and support for the following reasons:

(i) deterioration of the rule of law in the past decade since the publication of the book, as evident from disturbing developments in the system of justice in the country, such as

(a) the selective prosecution of Anwar on Sodomy II under Section 377B of the Penal Code on consensual sodomy when the complainant Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan had alleged that he had been raped, which should have come under Section 377C on sodomy rape;

(b) why Saiful was not similarly charged under Section 377B on consensual sodomy;
and

© the insistence by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi that Anwar should also swear on the Quran like Saiful, making Malaysia an international laughing stock as to whether we have a Prime Minister who understands and upholds the system of justice in the country;

(ii) grave loss of national and international confidence in the independence, impartiality, integrity and quality of the system of justice when material witnesses like private investigator Bala Subramaniam on the Mongolian Altantunya Shaariibuu murder trial and the Pusrawi Hospital doctor Dr. Mohamed Osman Abdul Hamid had “disappeared” together with family members after making two contradictory statutory declarations within 24 hours in the former and after penning medical notes on his first examination of Saiful in the latter;

(iii) grave international concerns of a conspiracy against Anwar Ibrahim in the Sodomy II charge, which has been expressed not only by Western leaders but also by Islamic leaders like former Indonesian President and head of the largest Indonesian Islamic organisation Nahdlatul Ulama with 40 million members, Gus Dur, yesterday.”

Unfortunately this multi-barrelled supplementary question to Rais was not asked as I did not get the chance to pose it during the exchange on the first question this morning on the measures the government was taking to tackle “foreign meddling in the sovereignty of laws of the country”.

However, as these questions continue to be uppermost in the minds of right-thinking, justice-loving and patriotic Malaysians, is the Abdullah government capable of answering them?

If so, I call on the Prime Minister or even Rais to make a Ministerial statement to answer all these questions before next Tuesday – the polling day for Permatang Pauh by-election.

1. #1 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:24 pm

Given the way he flip-flopped over his thesis, how does anyone have any confidence in Rais?

2. #2 by BoycottLocalPapers on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:38 pm

UMNO leaders like to criticize other countries like Israel & USA but they themselves cannot take criticism from other countries. What a shame!

UMNO leaders should shut their mouth! Don’t try to be seen as
    the so-called champion of the Palestinians as you will only expose to others your own hypocrisy!

3. #3 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:48 pm

Ask mahathir to swear that there was no political conspiracy with Sodomy I

Ask Abdullah and Najxb to swear that there was no political conspiracy with Sodomy II

Ask Najxb to swear that he ha snothing to deal with the Mongolian woman

4. #4 by Emily Pratt on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:57 pm

Whenever USA brings up the question of M’sia infringement of Human Rights ala ISA or LOL!JOKE! Kangaroo court proceeding, BN’s verbatim/standard respond is to say, we have ISA, you have Guantanamo Bay, therefore we are abang-adik”, case close, every thing is swept under the carpet.

EP

5. #5 by One4All4One on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 1:06 pm

The question is why is there a need to bring Malaysia’s domestic issue to the attention of the international audience?

Is it because are we so short of any noteworthy issues or happenings that just anything would do so long as international attention is harnessed?

Are we in any competition of any sort to gain international attention? Just as China is getting the world’s focus?

Or we have nothing better to do with other countries?

When our own house is in total disarray.

6. #6 by batman_1 on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 1:24 pm

If government is so firm of this prosecution , I suggest government open up everything and let a team consisting of reputatble outsiders( Non Malaysian ) handle it,with condiitons : Open up everything to them.
    Instead of explaining to all internationally.
    If A say to B- I do not trust you and B says the same to A, then let C do the judgement without using anyone from A or B in the trial.

7. #7 by taiking on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 1:39 pm

UMNO certainly has very good PR skills and their damage control measures are of course first class.

Its almost like the thief who made an unsolicited announcement to the world that he did not steal his neighbour’s sheep. They hoped to disassociate themselves from their misdeeds by that announcement.

Something my three year + son would do. He came to me just the other day with a broken toy in his hands and these words at the tip of his tongue: “Papa I did not break it. It broke by itself.”

8. #8 by malaysia-united on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 1:43 pm

UMNO have so many secreats that can’t tell to the public, don’t expect them to give any profesional answer, probably you will get something totaly out of topic, as what our Bodowi did…

And YB Lim, your questions are really profesional, show them what is profesional cos they are still practising swear swear, playing masak masak…

9. #9 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 1:45 pm

It is indeed a “sensitive” question likely to “offend” certain people thereby unnecessarily “raising tension” and should therefore not be discussed or raised at all in the “public interest” lest they be “misled”.

Only comments and statements by Saiful, Rais, Muhammad2, Albar, Najib and Badawi are “accurate” and reflect the “true picture” and the whole world should know about it no matter how stupid and ridiculous they may be.

10. #10 by Patek 1472 on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 1:51 pm

Malaysian’s Sensitivities. A Foreigner’s Guide?
    (Sensitiviti rakyat Malaysia? Panduan untuk Pelawat Asing?)

Malaysians are sensitive like the plant called Mimosa. They curled and closed up so fast the moment something touches them.
    (Rakyat Malaysia adalah sensitive umpama tumbahan Mimosa. Ia mengerekot dan menutup dengan cepat apabila disentuhi.)

Malaysians are also sensitive like a woman scorned. Say anything right or wrong and wait for her to unleash the storm.
    (Rakyat Malaysia juga seumpama wanita dihina. Cakap betul ke salah tetap tetap kena belasah umpama menunggu angin ribut.)

So, if you are a foreign visitor to Malaysia, please be aware of the following, else you may be charged under the Internal Security Act or Sedition Act or maybe get whacked or maybe get a cold reception.
    (Jika anda seorang pelawat asing ke Malaysia, kenalah prihatin, silap-silap terkena dakwaan di bawah ISA atau Akta Hasutan atau kena tumbuk atau mendapat reaksi dingin.)

1. Do not talk anything about Pigs or Dogs or Cows or Snakes.
    (Jangan bercakap apa-apa berkenaan Babi atau Anjing atau Lembu atau Ular.)

2. Do not talk anything about Mongolia, Israel or Singapore.
    (Jangan bercakap berkenaan Mongolia, Israel atau Singapura.)

3. Do not talk anything about C4.
    (Jangan bercakap berkenaan C4.)

4. Do not talk anything about Sodomy.
    (Jangan bercakap berkenaan Liwat.)

5. Do not talk anything about Religion.
    (Jangan bercakap berkenaan Ugama.)

6. Do not talk anything about God.
    (Jangan bercakap berkenaan Tuhan.)

7. Do not talk anything about Bumiputera or Race.
    (Jangan bercakap berkenaan Bumiputera atau Bangsa.)

8. Do not talk anything about ISA or Sedition Act.
    (Jangan bercakap berkenaan ISA atau Akta Hasutan.)

9. Do not talk anything about sleeping.
    (Jangan bercakap berkenaan tidur.)

10. Do not talk anything about oil.
    (Jangan bercakap berkenaan minyak.)

11. Do not talk anything about any sound or prayers you hear.
    (Jangan bercakap berkenaan bunyi atau sembahyang yang kedengaran.)

12. Do not talk anything about the Bar Council.
    (Jangan bercakap berkenaan Majlis Peguam.)

13. Do not talk anything about the latest world fashions.
    (Jangan bercakap berkenaan fesyen dunia terkini.)

14. Do not talk anything about the latest world singers.
    (Jangan bercakap berkenaan penyanyi dunia terkini.)

15. Do not talk anything about the latest novels.
    (Jangan bercakap berkenaan novel terkini.)

16. Do not talk anything about the latest music.
    (Jangan bercakap berkenaan muzik terkini.)

17. Do not talk anything about the best universities.
    (Jangan bercakap berkenaan universiti terbaik.)

18. Do not talk anything about local universities.
    (Jangan bercakap berkenaan universiti tempatan.)

19. Do not talk anything about keris or songkok.
    (Jangan bercakap berkenaan keris atau songkok.)

20. Do not talk anything about Mat Rempits, Ah Longs or Transvestites.
    (Jangan bercakap berkenaan Mat Rempit, Ah Long atau Pondan.)

21. Do not talk anything about tolls, electricity or water.
    (Jangan bercakap berkenaan tol, elektrik atau air.)

22. Do not talk anything about prices of cars, education, sin or not sin taxes.
    (Jangan bercakap berkenaan harga kereta, pendidikan, cukai haram atau tidak haram.)

23. Do not talk anything about Press Freedom.
    (Jangan bercakap berkenaan Kebebasan Akhbar.)

24. Do not talk anything about Past Malaysian History.
    (Jangan bercakap berkenaan Sejarah Malaysia Lampau.)

25. Do not talk anything about The Malaysian Constitution.
    (Jangan bercakap berkenaan Perlembagaan Malaysia.)

In short, when visiting Malaysia, pretend to be Malaysians, be dumb and deaf and don’t even think because a lot of people can read your mind and know ahead what you are thinking or planning to do.
    (Secara ringkasnya, apabila melawat Malaysia, berpura-pura jadi rakyat Malaysia yang bisu dan pekak dan jangan sekali-sekali fikir kerana ramai orang boleh membaca minda dan ketahui apa yang difikirkan atau dirancang oleh anda.)

If you are the type who just need to talk, just talk about the weather only in Malaysia and anything else critical of any other country except Malaysia. Don’t even wish anybody, else you may be seen offending someone’s religion.
    (Jika anda jenis yang suka bercakap, cakap sahaja tentang cuaca di Malaysia dan benda-benda lain yang mengkritik Negara lain kecuali Malaysia.)

Just enjoy the scenery and pay as you go along. Better still, get an Electronic Payment Toll Card and you don’t even have to talk to anyone.
    (Nikmatilah pemandangan sekeliling dan bayarlah semasa merayau-rayau. Seeloknya dapatkan Kad Bayar Tol Elektronik dan anda tidak perlu bercakap dengan sesiapa pun.)

http://patek1472.wordpress.com

11. #11 by IloveDAPforever on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 1:51 pm

I used to regard Dr Rais Yatim as `better’ that the lot of disgusting BeEND guys. But sad to say, his recent actions have been very disappointing and has eroded his image as a ‘not so bad guy’! But, what to expect … these vultures attack with no mercy towards their single target ie. DSAI.

They are so rotten until they do not care whether their actions are justified or make them look more rotten. A big bunch of hopeless idiots that are a great embarrassment & pain to the nation. All, or rather the suffering people are looking towards our saviour in DSAI & his Pakatan colleagues. We pray that they will save dying Msians from the cruel clutches of the BeEND gomen!! It is now or never!!!

12. #12 by trublumsian on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 1:57 pm

so, if anwar does swear on the quran, won’t we hv 2 swearers getting back to square one on he-said-he-said? what’s the point? ah…. glad that you ask. the point may be that umno will instigate prosecuting anwar under islamic law for blaspheming the quran, while pitting pas against pr with stone no. 2.

13. #13 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 2:32 pm

The fabrication of Sodomy II by BN will only drag the country into the rank of a rogue state devoid of any creditable international standing such as Zimbabwe.

14. #14 by Mr Tan. on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 2:43 pm

Nobody can denies that this whole sodomy case is a political conspiracy cooked-up by UMNO.

If Saiful is really as innocent as he claims himself to be, to the stage where he sweared on the Quaran, how do you explain his own confession that he has been sodomized 8 times by Anwar?

A normal rape victim would have gone to the police to lodge a report after being raped or sodomized and with the semen or proof still inside him, this would be proof with DNA that the semen belongs to who.

Why Saiful did not report this since he has 8 opportunities to report this.

Obviously, if the allegation is true, it is either Saiful has enjoyed or agreed to the sodomy or he has been sweet talked as many as 8 times by Anwar to do it.

A tall 23 years old young chap can definately overcome a 61 years old Anwar if he does not agree with the sodomy.

As a true rape victim, he would have lodged a report at the nearest police station after the first rape incident and not after 8th times.

By swearing on the Quaran after 8 sodomies affairs with somebody, if it is true, is really an insult to Islam in the whole world.

15. #15 by Godfather on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 2:44 pm

You folks think that the fat cats worry about the reputation of Bolehland ? They couldn’t care less because they have been brought up in the last 50 years to understand that the word “shame” is not in their dictionary.

Why worry about embarrassment when they drive Bentleys, smoke cigars, build huge mansions, and travel first class ? It’s all in the psyche of the people, and these people no longer have any sense of shame.

16. #16 by Godfather on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 2:49 pm

Badawi went to a function at a kindergarten, and was asked by a little kid how come we see lightning well before we hear the thunder. Badawi’s response was that our eyes are ahead of our ears.

At this response, people like Kasim Amat and melurian stood up to applaud this “out-of-the-box” answer. That’s what places like Uitm teach – out of the box education so that these people can continue to rule the country.

17. #17 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 2:51 pm

Kit, a bit off topic, but how about starting a thread to celebrate your ka-ki-nang Lim Chong Wei – the true-blue Malaysian hero who just won a silver medal at the Beijing Olympics. Now, if a space-tourist can be given a Datuk-ship, should Chong Wei be given a Tun-ship?

18. #18 by I Malaysian on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 2:55 pm

Dear YB Lim,

As I have commented earlier, Rais Yatim is more interested in his eloquent lectures to others. He wants others especially the English speaking people to know there is another Malay in Malaysia who could speak like them. Unfortunately he could only talk but not think like them

Please do not pose questions that will be tough for him to reply!

19. #19 by AhPek on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 3:16 pm

In their desperation to prevent Anwar from assuming the Prime Ministership by 16th Sep, they don’t see the inconsistency in charging Anwar under 377B of the Penal Code on consensual sodomy with Saiful whereas Saiful has sworn upon the Holy Koran that it was a forced sodomy on him.Even this Rais Yatim is prepared to close one eye and proceed to trot the globe (of course on taxpayer’s account) telling about Anwar’s case not giving a damn that in fact, as YB stated,he is internationalising misrule in Malaysia and also, borrowing a phrase fromYang Chen Ning, glorifying the primitive law of behaviour as practised in this country.
    But then again what other choice they have…they can’t get the solid evidence from the private hospital, neither can they get from the government hospital and also from the Chemistry Department.Besides these guys are not prepared to do their bidding.Anwar is not prepared to give his semen to them to smear on Saiful’s underwear.So as the saying goes ‘desperate time requires desperate
    action’.Thus to hell with inconsistency.

20. #20 by madmix on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 3:21 pm

How stupid can this Rais get? His intended audience come from liberal societies. Imagine the shock they would express that a person can be prosecuted at all for consensual homosexual sex! UN would say such laws are against basic human rights.

21. #21 by shortie kiasu on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 3:23 pm

Most of our Malaysians’ mind are now over-sodomised.

We are getting bored to death with daily doses of sodomization in the media glare.

22. #22 by PHUAKL on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 3:27 pm

Dear All

Have you heard about the Government’s proposed DNA Bill
    to be debated in Parliament?

I think it stands for “Desperate to Nail Anwar” Bill.

Phua Kai Lit

23. #23 by newchief on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 3:35 pm

Rais is getting old along with his brains . So are the rest of BN. their brains now are just only thinking about how to get money from the suckers like us ( the rakyat ) & use police or ISA to put fear upon us when we question their ignorant acts!!

when rakyat complain or protest , BN never sit down & asks themselves why rakyat do that BECAUSE they ALWAYS THINK & KNOW WHAT THEY DO IS ALWAYS RIGHT!!! these are some of the examples :

1) bodowi says ‘ wow!! crude oil price very good!! let’s increase fuel price so that we can get more into OUR POCKET !! let the rakyat pay more !! No need to debate in parliment . Do it within 3 hours meeting!! ‘

2) bodowi says ‘ alamak !! crude oil falling !!! Rugi banyak !! never mind. we purposely delay announcing oil reduction price & reduce it at a minimal of only 0.20cents by using monthly average formula so that won’t need rugi so much !! ‘

3) bodowi says ‘ you rakyat don’t know about money management. let me teach u – CHANGE YOUR LIFE STYLE , Go TANAM TANAM or TERNAK TERNAK!! I give u chance to learn using MY RM. I give u gaji half a month !! don’t question or expect me to reduce my RM18,000 monthly entertainment allowance bcs i need RM that much to energise my brain to sucking more money from you ppl !!’

4) rais says ‘ why meddle into our affairs . we know we are always right and you are always wrong, no doubt about it !!! Our rule of law is the best there is in the world not to mention ISA which has proven its track record !! ‘ Who write the Rule of Law by the way??

4) rais says ‘ u outside ppl are not as smart as we are. when there is demo, we use red army & police to arrest if these demos are not in our favor but u outside ppl , what do u know? u let opposition to demo around freely with police whom u pay salary to to even accompanying them . U ppl learn NOTHING from we SMART BN ppl . See . we keep quiet when UiTM marched & we take stern action like road blocks for oppositions demo & we kurung ( group) them inside a stadium for their stupid speech. Learn from us, u outside ppl !!! ‘

I expect BN old junks do not think properly because they are OLD but i didn’t realise that even the BN youth will also follow their style. So its better to kick them out of office & put in anwar who has the brains to try to make our life better like can afford to buy more nutri food to our tables to feed especially our children. We must give anwar 5 years to try – if he can’t do, we shall BOOT HIM TOO !! As for this BN, WE MUST BOOT THEM NOW by winning the Permatang Puah Election !!!

24. #24 by Mr Tan. on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 3:41 pm

This UMNO government is really dirty, first they came out with Saiful, now they propose the DNA bill, they are desperate to force Anwar to surrender his DNA to be attached to Saiful’s police report as evidence.

UMNO is trying very hard now to fabricate what ever evidence that they can get, that is after an allege crime has been reported earlier on.

They are the lowest government you can find in this world.

If evidence is in Saiful’s anus, please show it to the world the day Saiful made the police report and not finding ways and means now to get fabricated evidence on any targeted persons.

25. #25 by eloofk on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 3:53 pm

Now, why dont Rais tell Gus Dar not to interfere in the M’sia domestic political affairs?

26. #26 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 4:05 pm

/// Mr Tan. Says:
    Today at 15: 41.26 (20 minutes ago)

This UMNO government is really dirty, first they came out with Saiful, now they propose the DNA bill, they are desperate to force Anwar to surrender his DNA to be attached to Saiful’s police report as evidence.

UMNO is trying very hard now to fabricate what ever evidence that they can get, that is after an allege crime has been reported earlier on. ///

Has anyone seen the details of the DNA Bill? Will it suffice to submit hair or mouth swab samples, instead of blood or semen samples? If they are really serious about doing DNA profiling, then 25 hairs or a mouth swab with a cotton bud will do. But if they have other intentions, then I am sure they will insist on blood, or preferably, semen samples.

27. #27 by cheng on on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 4:08 pm

Rais should organize a protest around Indonesia embassy to protest Gus Dur comment on Anwar case to show others not to mess up with Msia affair, they did that to US, why not Indon.?

28. #28 by smashchye on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 4:23 pm

i am absolutely think that saiful dad is crazy. just because his son swore on quran, he expects anwar do the same thing. it is a laughing stock to the world that malaysia now has so many idiots nowadays. playing with quran is absolutely crazy. quran is like the catholic bible. it is an holy message from GOD and malaysian nowadays like to play with GOD greatest gift of all.

29. #29 by smashchye on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 4:27 pm

short saying, everytime everyone who is caught doing anything unlawful should be asked to swear on quran or bible everytime they refused to admit their mistakes. easy… so there is no need to engage any lawyer. jimat luiiiiiii

30. #30 by Mr Tan. on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 4:28 pm

Just Like ISA, Jailed without going to court for a fair trial.

In Anwar’s case, he is sentence to guilty first and fabricate the evidence later.

Only Malaysia with the UMNO bunch can create this kind of Dictatorship Law. They treat themselves above law and god.

31. #31 by peterchiang on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 4:35 pm

“i am absolutely think that saiful dad is crazy. just because his son swore on quran, he expects anwar do the same thing.”
    —————————————————-
    Sai (meaning tahi in some language)-fool dad and son are in this drama together, at least for now. Do expect same tune and wavelength.

32. #32 by bumi-non-malay on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 5:04 pm

Waste no time PLAN for MASSIVE WEAR BLACK on Merdeka……tell the Agong and Sultan and UMNO-BN…….how pissed you are.

MASSIVE means FLOOD the Merdeka Celebration with Black and send a Clear message to the leaders…RAKYAT IS BOSS. Wear Black its cool. You have 12 days to decide on this MASSIVE….Save Malaysia Campaign…!!

33. #33 by peterchiang on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 5:09 pm

It gets dirty by the day…UmmNO’s racist juices oozing out and YB Lim is again their boogieman.

Evidence at
    http://www.merdekareview.com/image_files/news/n080819_9.png

34. #34 by wanderer on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 5:13 pm

If you put a good apple among the bad ones, eventually, the good one will turn bad. This explains Rais behavior today. They are all the same.

35. #35 by Bobster on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 5:23 pm

Uncle Kit,

My advice is make it international. We are living in a globalised society, let the world knows how corrupt and racist is this BN gomen, what else to be ashamed if own innocent countrymen also got sodomised, jailed, harrassed, beaten, murdered by the you-know-who. What else to be ashamed if ‘elected few’ manipulate the whole country in order to stay in power and continue their misdeeds against their own rakyat. UMNO is not different from the formal Apartheid regime in South Africa. The rakyat have been keeping quiet for too long, 51 yrs of silence under the UMNO regime is enough.

Make it international, show them how rotten are the judiciary, police, ruling regime, ISA, election commission and the list goes on and on. Let United Nation and international pressure get rid of this evil regime that has deceived and sodomised the country for the last 51 yrs.

36. #36 by k1980 on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 5:32 pm

George Bush is pissin’ mad ‘cos the UN wants him to release all the Guantanoma detainees as they had followed Saiful’s example and sweared on the Quran that they are not terrorists but angels

37. #37 by pwcheng on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 5:51 pm

By now most of us are sick to the core on the antics of UMNO. We are desperately looking for a change of government. I am sure all those who had no political leanings previously has all of a sudden woke up and are yearning for a change of the a government. People are just fed up with UMNO and their running dogs. They have only themselves to blame but unfortunately we had a stupid PM who do not even know how much people are fed up with them. They are nothing but a bunch of racialist, liars, plunderers, corruptors and devil in disguise.

38. #38 by AhPek on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 5:55 pm

If that is the case, then Saiful’s swearing on the Quran should be made precedent in International Law court proceedings.

39. #39 by bennylohstocks on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 6:00 pm

40. #40 by taiking on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 6:10 pm

Like I say before KJ really ought to cash into this fat one.

Start University of Swearing, Malaysia.

And let interested candidates enrol for B.Swear (Hons) or M.Swear or PhD (Swear) programmes.

The bachelor course will teach students to swear on all sort of holy books and where appropriate unholy ones too.

Masters would be taught to form accurate swear sounds with their fart.

And PhD. Oh they are the grand masters really. They could swear without you knowing. And they could unswear and undo some else’s swear.

I think J.K Rowling would be a suitable senior lecturer.

41. #41 by Bobster on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 6:32 pm

The more this B-END stir this sodomise case, the more they getting themselves into deep shit.

Most people have seen YouTube of Mahathir confession regarding how he threw Anwar into lockup during one his his closed door speech. ‘Saya tangkap Anwar dan buang dia ke dalam jail’ said Dr M. Do you think people still believe BN this time after watching Mahathir confession.

Wake up D-END!

42. #42 by Jong on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 6:47 pm

Patek 1472,

Can you please do us a BIG favour and stop your nonsence of spamming on every thread in every blogs?!!!!

Do you realise how irritating it gets? No one reads your posting!

Thank you.

43. #43 by cina on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 7:07 pm

Patek 1472,

good write up. Pls contribute more….
    you can ignore jong’s posting….

thank you.

44. #44 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 7:32 pm

45. #45 by uncle_boy on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 7:33 pm

YB Lim,

With all due respect, I truly admire your passion and honesty.

No one comes close to you.

But, somehow, somewhere, I can’t help but to hate myself for doubting that you got lost in transition.

But really, have we all been blinded by our own eagerness, and lost the ability to judge?

Yes, DSAI could’ve been framed….. but there’s also a chance that he was not?

Would you be so supportive of him if such allegations were thrown 10 years ago?

If not, then why blindly now. Believe me, I am praying everyday that DSAI is innocent.

But why are u so sure?

Has the road to glory blinded us as well?

We have assumed that DSAI is innocent even before a judgement.

We have passed a judgement even b4 evidence and case were presented.

All that DSAI says are like mandate……not true……I’m be cynical? Think again\

The cleaning lady in my office said today…..haiyah, you think government so silly to use same trick again and again meh!

Well honestly DSAI’s sexual preference is of no concern to us, he can be…., bi for all we care and still deliver.

But the scary thing is that the truth is not important anymore…………………..hope you, of al ppl YB can stand true and firm………

Truth is more important than convenience

Then I’d understand if you say….young man it’s politics

So mis rule or we have lost even the basics of judgment in our chase????

46. #46 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 7:44 pm

>Najxb wants Indians, Chinese to back BN

the news title. The sodomy cabinet is always racist. It should get support from all Malaysians and not just a race here and there.

47. #47 by parameswara on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 7:59 pm

Godfather Says:
    Today at 14: 49.27 (5 hours ago)
    “Badawi went to a function at a kindergarten, and was asked by a little kid how come we see lightning well before we hear the thunder. Badawi’s response was that our eyes are ahead of our ears.”

now we know why some people say dna can expire.

48. #48 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 8:23 pm

“Are you aware that by taking Anwar’s Sodomy II selective prosecution to the United Nations…. (and) at American interference in Malaysian domestic affairs as well as organising a series of ‘information sessions’ overseas, you are only internationalising Malaysia’s ‘misrule of law’ …” KIT

In that case we should leave him to his devices.

His remarks are about an on-going trial and every statement he makes should be added to charges against him for contempt of court.

49. #49 by just a moment on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 8:24 pm

Patek 1472, Good effort, I enjoyed reading your posting. Keep it up.

50. #50 by Loyal Malaysian on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 8:28 pm

Rais Yatim has sold his soul to the devil, he has joined the ranks of the UMNOputras.

51. #51 by StevePCH on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:14 pm

2 wrongs does not make 1 right. You think UN is stupid RY ?
    been dreaming too long to be back in the fold, now have to “protect it/Malaysia” right ? pathethic. Wasting taxpayers money for writing nonsense to UN.
    same with the grey hair guy from Johor.
    Agreed with PHUAKL what DNA Bill stands for !! why wait till now after delayed for so long ? Conspiracy.

The many wrongs of BeEnd will BeEnd wrong too….

Like Anwar motto … Merdeka ! Merdeka ! Merdeka ! from BeEnd

52. #52 by flyer168 on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:16 pm

Dear YB LKS,

The BN & UMNO’s “Token Promise” of the BN gomen to “Reward” anyone who can “Champion” BN’s cause “ANY which WAY” in their “Dying” throes!!!

With so many “winning contenders”, they have run out of “Positions” to give out….so this “Moron” ends up being given a last chance to seek “International Sympathy votes” against the “US inference” at UN with US dominance there!

Hello, just because it works for the “Powers-that-be” in Malaysia with their AG & IGP, etc to sing their tune, they now try their luck fishing for creditability support Internationally.

The typical reaction of our cry-baby BN/UMNO party & Leaders who have lost their “Credibility” with their “Regional” peers & the Malaysian rayaat, now gets this FM to do his last “Heroic Stunt” for his Political Masters on the International arena.

At this rate, very soon the International arena will just “IGNORE” any Malaysian gomen’s statements including their so called “Representatives” – straight into the “UN Garbage Bin” category, which even the 3rd World gomen gets some ranking !

How do you expect the BN/UMNO morons to answer your questions appropriately, to acknowledge, to work together to seek solutions & give positive policies / actions / assurances relevant to our nation’s decadence that they have managed to achieve.

See the difference between “Meritocracy” vs “Mediocracy” & this one is definitely “Moronicracy” of the Highest order.

Have no Fear as God will continue to Bless & Protect the “Defenders of Truth, Justice & Freedom” for this great nation & the rayaat.

The dawn of a new “Malaysia for Malaysians” will come soon…where EVERY Malaysian citizen can DREAM about, be GIVEN the OPPORTUNITY to work hard towards it & ACHIEVE the “Malaysian Dream”.

Let us all not be DISTRACTED by other ISSUES , DEVIATIONS, etc…

For now until the polling day, Let us all UNITE, FOCUS, STRATEGISE & ACT aggressively but WISELY towards this DESTINATION to WIN this P44 seat.

53. #53 by milduser on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:16 pm

When credit is due we need to acknowledge. Some months ago, TDM critize the ABB adm and said that it is a police state. It was denied but over the months we can see the actions and presence of the police in almost every incidents, threatening, intimidating and conspiring against innocent people who speaks out against the gomen. What are those fools up to is anybody’s guess. Now, our Rusty Victim is try to draw unnecessary attention at the international level. Wow, local somdomee I, 10 years ago and now international sodomee II. What a publicity! Land of sodomites!

54. #54 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:55 pm

Datuk Dr. Rais Yatim, during his overseas ‘information sessions’, should also explain to the world community why Najis and his wife were not thoroughly investigated by the police in regard to Altantuya’s murder, as the case has created a bad perception to the world community that high-profile figures in Malaysia were involved in the murder. Perhaps Datuk Dr. Rais Yatim can tell the world community that Bala’s statutory declarations are just lies!

55. #55 by ShiokGuy on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:57 pm

Dear YB..

Politician tend to contradicting themselves all the time. Aren’t they?
    Based on some personality test and analysis.. Politician fall into the category of Opportunist. Their principle tend to change like lallang following the wind. Am I right YB?

http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2008/08/politicians-personality.html

Shiok Guy

56. #56 by limkamput on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:10 pm

shiok guy, owah, so enlightening, we do not about this before!!

57. #57 by limkamput on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:15 pm

A few days earlier, PM talked about swearing on the holy book to prove one’s innocence. Today, he talked about the need for DNA law to prove one’s innocence or guilt.

Can we just choose one, please. Make up your mind which direction we should move on.

58. #58 by limkamput on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:23 pm

This is the problem with our leaders. They don’t even know they are stupid. They don’t even know the more they highlight this case internationally, the more stupid they would appear to the internationally community.

59. #59 by limkamput on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:27 pm

just a moment Says: Patek 1472, Good effort, I enjoyed reading your posting. Keep it up.

You enjoy reading Pateh’s posting at every thread? Obviously you are still reading Enid Blyton.

60. #60 by I Malaysian on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 11:26 pm

I had never heard this word liwat until Anwar’s first court case on sodomy back in 1998. I was 36 years old then. Today my son who is only 11 years knows the true meaning of liwat.

How clever and forward looking our government leaders? Social life changing rapidly. In another 10 years, Malaysia might have to amend the law that could permit males screwing males. Malaysia as modal Islamic country has done it again with its visionary leadership. Congratulations for being the first in the world among the countries that follow the same faith as us.

True Muslims are definitely embarrassed by this brainless leaders.

61. #61 by tenaciousB on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 11:36 pm

The last few weeks must have been an eye opener for all malaysians. The incompetence of the government is so much more obvious now. The corrupted ministers make fools of themselves on national tv almost daily.

I would like to pose a question to all malaysians, ‘how could you allow badawi to continue to run this country given his obvious incompetencies and involvement in slanderous accusations against another person without proof beyond reasonable doubt. The motives clearly based on political interests to continue with his cronysm and nepotism.

We could come to a conclusion that we have a hasty, unfair, prejudicial and recently also racist PM(firing Tan sri khalid for suggesting non malays entrance into UiTM)! We don’t deserve such unworthy people governing us. Do the right vote him out for good.

62. #62 by parameswara on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 11:44 pm

despite having multi-racial blood in his veins, aab walks the mono-racial path.

it’s politics Lah!

63. #63 by just a moment on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 11:45 pm

Dear limkampat Says: Don’t believed I know you. Thanks You just woke me up. Looks like you’re bored.

Sling shots like yours is an exact replica of degredation of human kind. I do enjoy your input as well. I just hope you do not prejudge unless you want others to do the same to you. Peace to you. Just try a little kindness and be generous with your understanding.

If this blog cannot hold a few of us in harmony, pls stop ur opinion in this blog – trying to tell the rest what is good for the new PR. Stay focus – pls. If you have nothing good to encourage or edify, skip and be selective in your viewing. Im sure many will also enjoy ur contribution here, meanwhile you you are not asked, just keep and apply to your goodself until you are asked, you dig?

You shall not hear from me again. If you cannot make friends, don’t make enemies. Sleep well and God Bless.

64. #64 by KennyGan on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 12:10 am

“The cleaning lady in my office said today…..haiyah, you think government so silly to use same trick again and again meh!” -Uncle_boy

Yes, I think so. These are arrogant people who think they can get away with anything they want because they control the mainstream press.

In the same vein, if you want to judge on believability, do you believe a 61 year old man can forcibly sodomize a 23 year old youth who is bigger and stronger than him?

65. #65 by passerby on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 12:26 am

Datuk Dr. Rais Yatim.

Why don’t you let the world know that Malaysia is a very fair, non-oppressive and liberal country. Your boss already said we don’t believe in persecuting anyone and all they need is to just swear on the quran. That’s is.

66. #66 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 12:39 am

Uncle Lim
    sorry to digress.
    I really can’t see any logic for LGE having the need to entertain a ‘flat tyre’ into any kind of debate. Honestly, Koh is already a defeated man riding into his sunset faster than he realizes.Why give him any space to say anything, especially now? A wounded animal can be extremely dangerous!

67. #67 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 12:41 am

nah…if the U.S. cannot even free Aung San Suu Kyi from house arrest, do you all think she can do anything with Malaysia ? Nobody is under house arrest here. It is going to make things worse because it confirms what is going on internally. Is it not enough the way foreign press report about us ? Do we need to add petrol to the already burning fire ?

68. #68 by trublumsian on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 1:00 am

uncle_boy,

it doesn’t matter if dsai is gay or not, the people’s judgment is on umno’s overzealous but circus like rush to prosecute. dsai is the most viable hope we’ve got, so unless he is being charged with murder, we can live with his peeve behind closed doors. n that is a worst case. what hv we got to lose?

69. #69 by trublumsian on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 1:10 am

gofortruth, i suspect lge has lots of ammo and sees the debate as an opportunity to highlight umno’s wiles, via koh. i bet koh knows lge will bring up the mismanagement in land deals, it’ll be interesting to see what excuses koh can cook up. koh does not hv much on lge given the latter is new n has little track record to comment on, so the debate will likely be koh’s attempt to spin his accomplishment as cm as well as sugarcoating bn.

70. #70 by daryl on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 2:01 am

Sorry to divert from the topic:
    I heard you are going to get a datukship. Hopefully, you accept it and I understand your principle but you have to accept that Malaysian has change. Most of the royaties understand now about these titles and are not pressure into giving them out by the ruling government. Congratulation and do give face to the royalty that give them out. You deserve them more than anyone else on that list…

71. #71 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 5:42 am

Rais’s taking Sodomy II to UN is joke on us.

He proceeds on basis of UN’s principle of non interference in internal affairs of sovereign states.

This principle – non interference in internal affairs – gained universal acceptance in period immediately after World War II with UN being formed & decolonisation by colonial powers of new countries joining UN membership.

Newly independent Countries newly freed from colonial york argued that they were poor, had diverse ethnic populations in conflict and therefore needed “some time”to generate wealth for their peoples free from interference from other sovereign states of different political or cultural values.

This was 40-50 years ago : since then, over the passage of decades, the UN evolved : by various declarations and conventions, there are other international universal norms articulated and increasingly accepted by the international community especially the importance of Human Rights, Rule of Law and Gender Equality!

I agree that the principle of non interference in internal affairs of sovereign states still stands but it is not absolute; it is qualified by principles of Human Rights & Rule of Law equally held sancrosanct by international norms and on this basis members can criticise other members states (in spite of the first principle of non interference) if they are in flagrant breach of Human Rights and Rule of Law.

When US Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice urged Malaysia to ensure a “transparent” investigation into Sodomy II it is very clear that US “interference” in this limited context of statement of position is based on principles of Rule of Law in conjunction with Human Rights that the UN also upholds : so what’s the big deal? It is not as if Uncle Sam despatched the 5th Fleet to West Port Klang by way of a Gun Boat gesture threatening sovereignty.

We are not right in being selective and seek refuge under non interference of sovereignty if it suits our purpose and otherwise play sanctimonious by criticising other nations like Burma for human rights violation or non adherance to Rule of Law.

It is like a 18 year old boy wanting privilege (freedom) to go with a girl and yet disclaiming responsibility for molesting actions on excuses that he is too young to know consequences of his actions.

Norms including international norms come in an interlinked package that Rais canot selectively use one strand when it suits our convenience and reject the rest when it does not!

72. #72 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 5:46 am

In further buttress of my above posting I would refer to the United Nations Millenium Declaration (“UN’s MD”) per General Assembly resolution 55/2 of 8th September 2000 signed by 189 countries including Malaysiain UN HQ New York.

Declaration No. 4 of UN’s MD – “We rededicate ourselves to support all efforts to uphold the sovereign equality of all States, respect for their territorial integrity and political independence, resolution of disputes by peaceful means and in conformity with the principles of justice and international law, the right to self-determination of peoples which remain under colonial domination and foreign occupation, non-interference in the internal affairs of States, respect for human rights and fundamental freedoms, respect for the equal rights of all without distinction as to race, sex, language or religion and international cooperation in solving international problems of an economic, social, cultural or humanitarian character.”

Declaration No. 6 of UN’s MD –

“. We consider certain fundamental values to be essential to international relations in the twenty-first century. These include:

· Freedom. Men and women have the right to live their lives and raise their children in dignity, free from hunger and from the fear of violence, oppression or injustice. Democratic and participatory governance based on the will of the people best assures these rights.

· Equality. No individual and no nation must be denied the opportunity to benefit from development. The equal rights and opportunities of women and men must be assured.

· Solidarity. Global challenges must be managed in a way that distributes the costs and burdens fairly in accordance with basic principles of equity and social justice. Those who suffer or who benefit least deserve help from those who benefit most.

· Tolerance. Human beings must respect one other, in all their diversity of belief, culture and language. Differences within and between societies should be neither feared nor repressed, but cherished as a precious asset of humanity. A culture of peace and dialogue among all civilizations should be actively promoted.”

Foreign Minister, Datuk Dr. Rais Yatim should state how many international principles above adumbrated to which we have legally signed and embraced for the New Millenium that we have followed before we accuse the US of breach of international principle of non interference! The NEP is also not in accord with the above principles.

73. #73 by tenaciousB on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 6:36 am

Sorry to divert from the topic, but has anyone thought of this, How come saiful is not charged or sued by the religious leaders for misusing or abusing the holiness of the Al-Quran? isn’t it a frank defilement?

74. #74 by trublumsian on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 7:04 am

On Yahoo’s home page today front and center: “Malaysia cancels ‘too sexy’ Avril Lavigne concert.” The news report cited the government saying the show was scheduled too close to the national day (2 days). To that I say, is morality only 48 hours worth? Where is the consistency? And who are we kidding by banning these foreign artists’ performance we’ll retain our decency? How many muslim patriach figures have commited incest? How many muslim men have committed rape? And these are just the ones who got caught and were reported. So much for imposing and suppressing.

75. #75 by tenaciousB on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 7:56 am

The country has been raped of its identity and potential due to BN. The current PM and DPM don’t deserve the rights to rule over the people of this country, because time and again they have prooved themselves incompetent mentally and ethically.

The whole cabinet needs a revamp, remove them and their cronies from office as soon as possible if we want to see potential growth.

76. #76 by mendela on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 8:06 am

To say it many times. If Anwar really is a bisexual, how much difference when we compare it to crimes like:

1. Corruption and bribery in hundreds of millions of Ringgit.
    2. Abuse of powers
    3. Using C4 to kill the innocents
    4. Creating hatred among Malaysians
    5. Erasing emigration records

Straight, gay, bi are just personal preferences. It won’t do harm to Malaysia economy or security.

77. #77 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 8:36 am

According to bookies up north, the bets are Anwar will win with a HUGE landslide. If they can’t fool the kampung and new village people of Permatang Pauh, they expect to fool the world? How delusional and desperate are they?

78. #78 by Godfather on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 8:48 am

Yeah, consensual sodomy is worse that the issuance of billions of dollars’ worth of AP to UMNO cronies…..worse than the millions of dollars spent on the MRR2 for repair after repair…..worse than not knowing and not caring who actually used C4 on a foreign woman….worse than allowing Taib Mahmood to allow the logging of virgin jungles in the guise of TWELVE hydroelectric dams…..worse than allowing a company controlled by Tengku Adnan to hijack the RM 18 billion broadband project….worse than allowing UMNO and MCA to get away scot free on the multi-billion PKFTZ fiasco which had to be bailed out by taxpayers’ money….

We are really desperate – desperate to get rid of this bunch of liars, cheats and thieves.

79. #79 by smashchye on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 9:19 am

as for dna bill that was presented yesterday, even though abdullah say it is not a political issue.who’s at fault would like to admit their faulty mistakes. its clearly it is to force anwar to give his dna. how abt if abdullah was the one who was accused for sodomy? i tink he will not agree to the dna act to be ammended…. and for saiful, i tink he need money to further his studies ( i read somewhere that he plan to further his studies). well, everyone is denying now…. MALAYSIAN MINISTERS – BIG DENIAL! mebi everytime people speak up, they should bring their holy bible and their quran for swearing.. eh? that will ensure people wil believe that ur talking the truth nothing but the truth.. sorry GOD…

80. #80 by Godfather on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 9:24 am

sorry..typo…the posting currently “under moderation” should refer to Adnan Yaacob, and not to Tengku Adnan.

81. #81 by cheng on on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 12:28 pm

Why, bother, if someone want to internalize his “kebodohan”, let him lah!

82. #82 by aquaimplotec on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 12:57 pm

(1) It shall be the responsibility of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong to safeguard the special position of the Malays and natives of any of the States of Sabah and Sarawak and the legitimate interests of other communities in accordance with the provisions of this Article.

83. #83 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 7:36 pm

Who knows if Rais Yatim is the agent of ful of sai? Perhaps while Rais is in the US, he may be looking for blue film, yellow film, gay film contracts for ful of sai to act – where his sai hole will be filmed with long dong or prick moving in and out. Yes, a gold-medal export from Malaysia!

84. #84 by bennylohstocks on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 9:14 pm

85. #85 by shamshul anuar on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 11:12 pm

Dear Lim Kit siang,

Perhaps in order to avoid internatinalizing the Anwar saga, you can advise him to hide in some embassy, thus creating problem to the poor ambassador. Anwar can also avoid giving briefing, ussually peppered with scathing remarks on Malaysia, to ambassadors . Last February, Anway went to Jakarta and in one TV interview, condemned Malaysia left , right, and centre.

Among other, he accused election in Malaysia is so tainted. One wonder whether the same process that brought him to win under BN ticket in Permatang Pauh also tainted.

Dr Rais just did his duty. To represent Malaysia in world stage. If Anwar can tell his story, why the fuss when Wisma Putra told the other side of the sodomy accusation.

As for Boh Liao, I hope you are not that “insane” while writing. Beside you, anyway, who else in this planet understand your sentences. What is this blue or yellow film.

As for Mendela, you are quite spot on on topic of “hatred”. Just ask Uncle Lim on his “contribution” in making perception that any alliance between Chinese and Malay political parties is the manifastation of weaknesses of the Chinese.

86. #86 by AhPek on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 11:39 pm

“…….do you believe a 61 year old man can forcibly sodomise a 23year old youth who is bigger and stronger than him?”. KennyGan.

Not just once but 8 times and to answer you yes that’s what Sleepy Head and Najis would have like us to believe.In anycase Shamsul is one such believer and Rais Yatim is globe-trotting the world on taxpayer’s account to have others believe as well.

87. #87 by taiking on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 9:36 am

AhPek,

Cant you see it? That’s why UMNO have decided to charge him with consensual sodomy. In fact they were forced to do so under the circumstances.

You see, I would be interested to know how the sodomy took place. Since anwar has a bad back he obviously cannot be the active party in the alleged acts. That leaves UMNO with one and only one possibility. Saiful must be the active party. He being on top with anwar below him.

This scenario of course will not click well with the allegation of rape and sexual assault. The way to overcome this hurdle is say that saiful participated in the act with knowledge and consent.

The trouble is, those jokers failed to anticipate this complication. They went to the press and the police shouting sexual assault of the unnatural type. An allegation which contradicts the charge of consensual sodomy.

Let us watch and see how they plot their way out of this.

88. #88 by boh-liao on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 11:00 am

shamshul anuar, you are so pure and innocent! :)

89. #89 by eloofk on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 5:13 pm

Who are u kidding? Charging only Anwar with consensual sodomy? It involves two parties to carry out the act. Why was Saifool not charged? I wonder.

90. #90 by aquaimplotec on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 6:45 pm

Article 7 of the Constitution of Malaysia
    (1) No person shall be punished for an act or omission which was not punishable by law when it was done or made, and no person shall suffer greater punishment for an offence than was prescribed by law at the time it was committed.

Applying article 7 to the Bill on DNA sampling of convicted persons, it looks like in the Saifu/Anwar case DNA samples still cannot be legally taken even if Parliament passes the bill as it has no retrospective effect. The act in question was commited on June 28, 2008, i.e. before the passing (if any) of this bill.

Don’t waste time pushing this bill, it should laid to rest as it has been slept on since 2001. Let sleeping bills lie. Time in Parliament sholud be spent wisely and not for the purpose of unilateral implementation of laws of justice for BeEnd’s own agenda.

91. #91 by taiking on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 6:55 pm

Dear Shamsul, I quote you here

“If Anwar can tell his story, why the fuss when Wisma Putra told the other side of the sodomy accusation.”

I see that you too could appreciate that the sodomy charge has two sides. So ladies and gentlement, in the red corner, we have 61 years old anwar ibrahim and in the blue corner, UMNO.

I shall assume that you are either an UMNOputra or an UMNOputra wannabe. Either case, your words would reflect UMNO’s position accurately. And from your remark it is fair for all to infer that UMNO is really the prosecutor and anwar the accused.

In other words, the sodomy charge may have been styled as PP v Anwar Ibrahim but in reality it is UMNO vs Anwar Ibrahim.

That should not be and is wrong. And that is precisely why anwar ibrahim is complaining.

What is Rais doing? Telling the world why UMNO is right to do wrong?

92. #92 by tchow on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 8:40 pm

If no correction of the campaign strategy in permatang pauh.
    Anwar may lost in by-election.

Malay voters had strongly swing over BN. (propably they felt strong challeges from non-malay). This is the turning point of malaysian politics and the on-going social and politics reformation.
    i afraid

93. #93 by Loh on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 5:08 pm

///Only the mufti can decide whether the swearing by Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan that he had been sodomised by Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim was in line with Islam, not the imam who was present during the ceremony, Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak said today.

He said that apart from Saiful, the mufti was the main person at the swearing ceremony while the imam was only present and did not play a principal role.///—NST 25th August.

///Uztaz Ramlang Porigi from the FT Mosque openly raises doubts on Saiful’s oath that he was sodomised by Anwar.///–Malaysiakini

Saiful’s oath should be between him and God, and DPM’s comment that the mufti played a principal role is interesting. Does DPM mean that the mufti has to be the intermediary between Saiful and God, and that the procedure is more important than the truth.

Najib has now become the authority on religion, and he is more qualified than the Imam in terms of oath taking. We are not sure whether the mufti or the Imam knows more about oath taking, and it would appear that it is the position held by the mufti which made Najib insist that the mufti is the authority on Saiful’s oath taking.

When Najib declared his non-association with Atlantuja, he did it in the mosque without a mufti taking a principal role. Clearly though a DPM holds a higher official position than mufti, but it is not a religious position. So Najib would need a mufti to play a principal role if his statement made in a mosque is to be treated as though given under oath. So he did not take oath in line with Islam. Why did he make the declaration which could confuse the people as though he was speaking under oath?

94. #94 by Hishamuddin on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 8:34 pm

YB Lim,

Have you ever realised that our leaders like Syed Hamid, Najis and our AAB always jump to the defence of Saiful whenever new evidence emerge that he is lying ?

I thought the politician leave matter to the police. Now it seems that they are very much involved and already ready to say he is guilty. They just lack evidence now, so nothing they can do.

They just waiting for the right opportunity to plant the evidence. If they got the evidence by now, they would already nail him by now.

95. #95 by aimoe on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 5:36 pm

I have to agree with Hishamudidn. I find it quite amusing.

Anyway.. for information… check out

http://biblelore.com/Koranlore%20Chapter%203.html

This might perk your interest.