If the Permatang Pauh by-election is decided by the Nomination Day turnout this morning, Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) adviser Anwar Ibrahim would win hands down.
Never before in any by-election nomination in Malaysian electoral history has the Barisan Nasional been so-outnumbered and overwhelmed, whether in terms of supporters; publicity materials whether flags, buntings or banners; or sheer enthusiasm, morale and spirit of the supporters.
In the sea of humanity at the Nomination Centre this morning, Anwar’s supporters from the three Pakatan Rakyat parties of PKR, DAP and PAS simply drowned out the Barisan Nasional supporters from Umno, MCA, Gerakan and MIC, led by a very subdued Deputy Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak himself, Umno Youth leader Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein and his deputy Khairy Jamaluddin.
There are those who estimate that the crowd was as big as 100,000 or more, with the Pakatan Rakyat supporters exceeding the Barisan Nasional supporters by a ratio of from 1:7 to 1:10.
UMNO Youth Hishammuddin yesterday played the sympathy card when he “begged” Permatang Pauh voters to support the Barisan Nasional candidate “because we are the underdog”.
The role of an “underdog” does not sit well with Hishammuddin as memories among Malaysians are still fresh that he was far from being an underdog when he wielded the Malay keris at the Umno Youth general assembly for three consecutive years, utterly insensitive of the sensitivities of a multi-racial Malaysia. Nor is the Prime Minister’s son-in-law best cast in the role of an “underdog”!
The impression the outnumbered and demoralized BN team gave at the Nomination Centre this morning was certainly not one of an “underdog” but of a Chinese description of the “rat running across the street”!
Anwar is right however in his caution to all workers and supporters not to be complacent and take the BN mechanism lightly, as the BN is fully capable of turning the table on polling day by snatching victory from the jaws of defeat with its tested “bag of dirty tricks”.
It is a sad commentary on Anwar’s total lack of confidence in the independence and integrity of the electoral system that Dr Mansor Othman, former Penang PKR leader, had to be nominated as an independent candidate as a “strategic contingency” move in case Anwar was unreasonably and unjustly disqualified – with Mansor announcing his withdrawal when Anwar sailed through the nomination process, forfeiting RM15,000 in the process!
Anwar had very good reason to take such a precautionary measure as the decision by the Election Commission to fix a Tuesday – August 26 – as the polling day for the by-election was clearly unfair and undemocratic, designed to discourage a high voter turn-out being a working day particularly for the high percentage of factory workers in the constituency and therefore unfavourable to Anwar’s candidature.
The battle royale of the Permatang Pauh by-election for the next ten days is on – with far reaching consequences not just for Anwar and the constituency, but for the nation and 27 million Malaysians.

#1 by Freddy on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 4:21 pm
All the best wishes to Pakatan Rakyat. May Anwar win with a bigger majority.
#2 by roger lim on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 4:31 pm
Pagi tadi seronok sangat ke Permatang Pauh. Menjerit-jerit sampai kerongkong pun lingkup. Tapi nak komplain satu je. Ada satu budak BN
tayang punggung dia kat sayalah. Nasib baik ada bengteng, kalau tak siaplah punggung dia. Celaka punya budak. Adik beradik Saiful kut?
#3 by tenaciousB on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 4:35 pm
The funny thing was, the DPM was booed by the public, and the other leaders of the BN that turned up namely samy vellu, koh tsu koon, sharizat…oh man have these people no shame, they lost the elections with utter embarassment and they turned up!?!?!
These are the politicians that malaysians have tolerated all these years so much so they don’t even have an ounce of remorsefulness and would like another crack at being a despiseful politician with personal agendas.
The people have voted them out but yet they still hold prominet positions in the government therefore what i reckon the people should do is totally ignore and boycott their significance in whatever way possible, For starters the press should stop taking note of their appearances in any events. Just strike off their so called celebrity status!
#4 by a-malaysian on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 4:43 pm
All precautions must be taken. Volunteers and supporters of PR do not be complacent and be on the alert of umno dirty tricks. umno is going all out to win by dirty means together with the unfair EC.
Permatang Pauh By Election, Who will Prevail
GE 13 – No matter what, we must ensure that racist umno bn do not regain the power like they had for the past fifty years.
#5 by KennyGan on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 4:44 pm
YB Lim,
The EC has certainly committed a disgusting partisan act by putting polling day on a working day. Making a round trip back from the work place to vote is just too impractical.
But despite this, voter turnout can be encouraged by telling voters to vote first before going to work. Factories and companies must accept late arrivals without penalty on Aug 26 for their staff and workers. Bus Kilang from Permatang Pauh should be re-scheduled.
#6 by Freddy on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 4:46 pm
with all the protests and demonstrations shown nationwide regards UiTM, it is also an opportunity for the people to know the stand taken by BN, especially its component parties … Gerakan, MCA and Gerakan.
it would be wonderful to hear from them. hahaha
#7 by yhsiew on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 4:47 pm
Sarimah Ali, a 33-year-old teacher who was among the huge crowd of Anwar supporters, said the renewed allegations were of no concern.
“Nobody believes Saiful. His swearing in the mosque yesterday makes it more clear that it’s a government conspiracy to bring down Anwar,” he said. – YAHOO ASIA NEWS
——————————————————————-
Apparantly Saiful’s swearing yesterday has backfired!
#8 by Loyal Malaysian on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 4:57 pm
May the force be with all Permatang Pauh voters who are on the side of change – for a better, freer, more just , democractic and civil Malaysia.
The voters there have this unique opportunity to give Anwar the mandate to work for change in Malaysia or otherwise derail it.
I have no illusions as to the sort of weapons BN will employ, I can but hope Anwar and his strategists will be up to them.
But at the end of the day, despite the biasness of the Elections Commission and the machinery of BN, opposition candidates had triumphed before.
Anwar should and must!!
#9 by Patek 1472 on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 5:03 pm
Permatang Pauh Voters decide for Nation?
Pengundi Permatang Pauh tentukan untuk Negara?
1. Voters of Permatang Pauh will vote come 26 August 2008. Who to vote for and What to vote for? (Man of Honour in Nostradamus Quatrains on Wag the Dog?)
Pengundi-pengundi Permatang Pauh akan undi menjelang 26 Ogos 2008. Mengundi Siapa and mengundi untuk Apa? (Man of Honour di Nostradamus Quatrains Wag the Dog?)
2. 50 Questions to test your Conscience at Jeyklls and Hydes in Malaysia – Are You?
50 Soalan untuk menguji Suara Hati anda di Jeyklls and Hydes di Malaysia. Adakah Anda?
http://patek1472.wordpress.com
#10 by Mr Smith on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 5:04 pm
That swearing is worth 2 sen.
Just walk into any court and see the number of witness who take oath – to tell the truth and nothing but the truth – and then lie through their teeth.
Remember the Lingam Inquiry – former Chief Justices and even Mahathir lied. So what’s the difference between Saiful and all these witnesses.
Remember how the IGP and AG lied about the indelible ink on the eve of the GE. They too lied like Saiful.
PAS ulamaks have said this swearing is invalid.
Saiful said he did not know that Anwar was contesting the by election but in his blog he had wished him good luck.
So he swears and the very next minute he lies.
#11 by penang308 on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 5:19 pm
The atmophere was “FANTASTIC”, regardless of race, we were shouting “ALTANTUYA” & “REFORMASI”.
This is the beginning of “THE END” of “RACIST BN GONE-MAN”.
#12 by k1980 on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 5:23 pm
Can’t the Penang State Government declare 26 August as a holiday to be replaced by a Saturday?
http://anilnetto.com/malaysian-elections/live-10000-pkr-supporters-but-where-is-the-bn-crowd/
#13 by taikohtai on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 5:33 pm
If TDM even admitted that DSAI cannot be defeated in PP, BN better be prepared to face him in Putrajaya and stop wasting tax payers money with this by-election.
But then again, UMNO or rather BN has over RM200 million of election pamphlets, banners and so on, so they rather continue make use of their ill-gotten assets and hope for an AM-KONG? Such is this BN party that has no shame, no morals, no nothing!
DSAI, WELCOME BACK!!
#14 by Tulip Crescent on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 5:37 pm
Freddy
The write-up and photograph of the 5,000-strong UiTM protests were somehow taken off. I thought I saw the report in Malaysiakini last night before dinner, but somehow it was taken off after I returned from dinner.
Perhaps, “they” know that it is embarrassing. Firstly, students are not supposed to do that. Secondly, when universities in the American outback are prepared to given Asian students scholarships just to get them to compete with American students, we have such a stew-pee’d policy in place. Probably, they are stewing the pees.
#15 by just a moment on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 5:37 pm
Well, well, I can almost feel the excitment though Im not there at Permatang Pauh. Ppl, keep the rest updated. Nice to know the support overwhelms the “Dogs going under” Underdogs?
Best Wishes – Full steam ahead!!! PR!!!
(Before) Saifools – Final Acts of desperation On Eve of Campaign.
(During) Others ploys – Watch out for the so called people who
suppose to protect or prevents.
(After) PR and nation celebrates The Birth of New Nation
The Malaysia that we called “Home” Free from fleas & ticks.
#16 by Tulip Crescent on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 5:44 pm
Yes, having a back-up candidate was a good move, although it cost RM15,000.
This underlines that the PKR and Pakatan campaign cannot allow complacency to set in.
In the days before the Internet, I recall, a cross was put on the Kadazan headgear that a then Opposition figure wore.
Beware of dirty tricks. And don’t ever read the mainstream newspapers.
Let us march to victory. Let us secure the new politics where principles and policies prevail. Let us do away with the politics of expediency.
Koh Tsu Koon should not be there. During his watch, the Penang Scouts ended up with the lease of their Coronation Camp being taken away.
Even Jubilee Camp has gone. And that was the site where the First Malaysian Jamboree was held.
Don’t ask me for more … because it is a big scandal involving very big names.
#17 by k1980 on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 5:49 pm
Photos from the nomination
http://sloone.wordpress.com/2008/08/16/i-was-at-p44-mother-of-all-elections-with-pixs/
#18 by isahbiazhar on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 5:49 pm
Annuar will win with a better majority and prove to the world that even by swearing in the mosque the people will still vote for him.The tide has changed and it will be next to impossible for UMNO/BN to win.It is in the interest of the nation for UMNO/BN to reduce oil prices and free the HINDRAF detainees.I see a bleak future for the government.The whole world is against them.Never in the history of the nation has one person brought such a change to the thinking of the people.To please the Indians perhaps MARA university wil be opened to them for a start.To please the Chinese perhape the ERA college will be given a university status.To please the Malays perhaps all those above the age of 70 will be given a monthly pension of RM500.All these will not change the people from voting Annuar into power.He will be the next PM.It is fated,
#19 by badak on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 6:13 pm
Dr Mansor would not had lost his RM15.000 if he waited 3 days.There is a cooling off period.Any candidate that drop of before the cooling of period his money will be given back….
#20 by KennyGan on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 6:14 pm
Yes! It is the beginning of the end for the corrupt BN regime. The people have spoken. All the lies and manufactured scandals can’t turn the tide. Anwar will win the seat by a huge margin and onwards to Putrajaya!
#21 by ShiokGuy on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 6:16 pm
Dear YB
The following is my open letter to P44: Permatang Puah voter
AFVL = Action First Vote Later
http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2008/08/permatang-pauh-voter-afvl.html
No more I promise if I am elected kind of talk!
Shiok Guy
#22 by peterchiang on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 6:34 pm
Come on BN, you should not under estimate the wisdom of Pematang Pauh folks. They know who to choose between a future PM and a ya-betol-man.
UMNO should seriously consider making up a story such that Arif is potentially a future Prime Minister of malaysia and lay out the path and milestones how he can do so after winning the seat.
A future PM who can speaks Mandarin the way Arif did can be attractive enough to swing votes, but certainly not another ya-betol-man. Alantun should know we oledi have enufff Mandarin speaking ya-betol-men in Parliament.
#23 by wanderer on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 6:40 pm
Barring any dirty tricks from BN, Anwar will win convincing…never a doubt in my mind. It is so refreshing and encouraging, to see the tremendous turn out of supporters for our future PM.
From the photos, I saw of this morning event, there was definitely not too many smiles in BN camp…it made my day!!
#24 by just a moment on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 7:04 pm
Thanks a zillion k1980, for those wonderful photos.
Keep em comin’. PR!!!
#25 by Godfather on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 7:11 pm
I wonder where UMNO gets their funds for the banners, posters and buntings. Perhaps Amin Shah donated these out of pity for the party.
Doesn’t UMNO realise that we have been sodomised for the past 30 years ?
#26 by sirrganass on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 7:29 pm
Look: THe nomination day was intead a PR celebration day. All the leaders are THERE! TGNA (PAS) LKS (DAP) DSAI (PKR) and THOUSANDS of supporters from all these three parties. A GREAT DAY!!!
Now, pls, everybody, for PERMATANG PAUH, pls set up groups to monitor all UMNO machineries, especially PUTERI UMNO who determine to go “ALL OUT” to win. All puteri UMNO must be adviced to go home because they are cheated by somebody who said “campaigning for BN is a JIHAD” which is not true at all (non of ULAMAK agree with this). Ladies of PUTERI UMNO are not spiritually well guided, they can ask very wild for handsome payments. Tell them that it is better for ladies to stay at home!
Always stand-by to see if any PUTERI UMNO enter any village and catch them red-handed if they start giving money to kampung villagers.
You see, millions of Malays from PKR and PAS (also in DAP) have agreed that the malays in UMNO are not really good people, so all of you can go ahead asking the voters not to choose the bad government.
THose live is Permatang Pauh pls work hard! We need to change the government. If you have to BALIK KAMPUNG take an unpaid leave, pls do it!
THANKs to K1980 for wonderful pictures. I am in Kelantan and i miss the “celebration”. Thanks again!
Saiful case? ha! we don’t know what type of “sumpah” he is making – it is NOT the teaching is ISLAM to do that. So, let him and his sifu do whatever he wants. Anwar doesn’t have to follow the stupid tune. Everybody knows he did this just before the nomination day and so the reason is very obvious.
Pakatan Rakyat will win (insyaAllah – God Willingly!)
#27 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 7:35 pm
Why Saiful not showing his ‘damaged’ butt at the same time? he can show it through a recorded video. Even that, we are not sure who actually disturbed his butt… Religion is a belief, and I doubt how can one use a religion to ask you to believe in him, instead of believing in God/Allah??
#28 by ReformMalaysia on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 7:38 pm
Value of Saiful’s SUMPAH? -zero!
If he use another primitive way – soaking himself in a drum of boiling oil, and come out OK…… perhaps I can believe him…
#29 by digard on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 7:51 pm
And the best is, the UMNO supporters are being ‘compensated’ while the PKR supporters come out of conviction!
Well done!
#30 by Elwin Heng on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 8:20 pm
Who polluted value of ‘swore’ or ‘sumpah’?
No guts to show up few weeks (or even months) ago, so coincidence his appearance is shameful that chosen the day before by-election nomination date! Open our eyes, see why such coincidences can happened in our country; isn’t it plenty ‘blue’ dirty or dishonest politic threats!
Referred to today press information, increment of ‘bus fee scheme’ might be confirmed and/or approved by ‘blue’? Intend to query ‘blue’, why must wait until or after by-election of Permatang Pauh then only ready for announcement?
From the day of petrol price hiked, ‘blue’ administration had burdened us, doubt:”why no guts or preparation to face on 308 voter and/or 826 voter, just affirmative and announce the latest ‘bus fee scheme’ to publicity?
Realization is required!
Permatang Pauh voter, understanding today ‘blue’ coincidences; look@ your pocket, daily expenses, our generations’ education journey…
I/we lived under ‘blue’ administration for 51 years, recent years, how is our life style? money into our own pocket, or else ‘blue’? How many ‘blue’ administrators awarded ‘titles’ or ‘millionaire’ or ‘billionaire’? What is ‘blue’ contribution to us and/or our lovely peaceful country?
Sincere wishing all Permatang Pauh qualified voters, give a chance to us, a chance to Pakatan Rakyat (PR), a chance to En. Anwar, a chance to yourself and our generation-by-generations!
Authenticate and authorize En. Anwar back to parliament, on behalf of us as ‘knight’ or ‘warrior’; new administration of CAT community is seriously required!
Wishing you, Permatang Pauh voters, all the best and appreciate your votes and support to PR.PKR En. Anwar :-) !!!
TQ.
Warmest regards.
#31 by ShiokGuy on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 8:42 pm
Sodo mee of the future?
Just come across the video of Siaful swearing in the mosques..
He mentioned 26 August 2008 for the date for “Mother of all Sodomy”
http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2008/08/saiful-sodomized-on-26-august-on-by.html
I tot we usually vividly remember those very important or bad date which affect our life. From how he was reading from the script, I can help to think he is coached.. Just my humble opinion.. Shiok Guy’s Opinion
Shiok Guy
#32 by Damocles on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 8:50 pm
The PR should think hard, very hard regarding what dirty tricks the BN, particularly UMNO can throw up and ways of countering them.
#33 by shagg.in on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 8:58 pm
Go Pakatan Rakyat, go!
I agree with calls to Permatang Pauh eligible voters, wherever you are throughout Malaysia, to consider going the extra length to cast your vote. Unpaid leave for a day or two if necessary. You are the kingmakers come Aug 26th and I believe any right-minded voters know the only ballot box that can lead Malaysia back on track is PKR’s.
Do not buy BN’s bullshit no matter how tempting. It’s time to look beyond your own backyard as Malaysia’s progress has been stunted by BN mismanagement for the pass 51 years. It’s high time we put things right again.
#34 by pkrisnin on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 9:02 pm
Which is it ?, looks like from his swearing, Saiful claimed to be sodomized by Anwar. Was it forced like he was claiming all the while or consensual like what the gov. is charging Anwar right now.
This gov. continue to make mockery of its people’s intelligence and their religion. It makes very angry.
#35 by Jong on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 9:09 pm
“….with Mansor announcing his withdrawal when Anwar sailed through the nomination process, forfeiting RM15,000 in the process!” – YB Kit
Let them forfeit it, well worth it anyway!
What a shame, shows the world how much citizens of Malaysia, Anwar Ibrahim included, have lost total confidence in the independence and integrity of the Malaysian Election Commission.
Disturbing events the past few days have showed the Election Commission, Police and mainstream Media are working in colloboration to discredit Anwar in whatever ways they can to please their political master!
They have not been fair to Anwar and that was why such precautionery measures of strategic contingency move was most necessary and well worth it.
#36 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 9:13 pm
“Desperate times call for desperate measures” – this is the new mission statement for UMNO/BN. UMNO will stop at nothing. So be prepared!
UMNO is in its death throes as a political party.
#37 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 9:15 pm
Jong,
$15k is a very small price to pay for ‘freedom, equality and justice for all !!
#38 by grace on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 9:26 pm
PERMATAN VOTERS,
YOU ARE OUR VOICES AT THIS POINT IN TIME!
VOTE OVERWHELMINGLY FOR ANWAR JUST TO SHOW PAK LAH THAT WE ARE REALLY FED UP OF HIS ADMINISTRATION AND HIS CABINET MINISTERS!
#39 by just a moment on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 9:35 pm
Folks, Wow, just thinking about it.
10 days more to go!! Theres no doubt it’s gonna be the longest 10days I’ll ever lived!!
Know what?
Its not just witnessing the birth of New Nation.
Its the crumbling of “51 Yrs of Bondage”!!
Watch carefully in all forms of media
How an empire succum, just before the last dying breath.
What strategies, methods, actions, smokescreen, Lies,
will be envail day by day till Election date.
Desperado will used Sai-fool in terms of religion swearing.
How low more, can one imagine these ppl are prepare to go
just to stay alive.
Be vigilent pls and continue praying for protection, strengths, wisdom, and courage for DSAI and family plus all the PR ppl.
We shall overcome!!!
#40 by pjboy on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 9:41 pm
Agree with Undergrad. The 15K is worth the sacrifice in this case. With the huge 100k people turn, everyone just need to make a 15cent donation to pay for the 15k forfeiture. BN-UMNO-Baru screw us all Malaysians mega billions anyway, so what’s 15k???
To all PP-voters out there: Aug-26 is your once in a lifetime chance to make history, not only for fellow Malaysians but to the rest of the world. This will probably never ever happen again. Even the rest of the world have no confidence with our current ruling gov coz they are only interested in enriching themselves, family members & cronies. This is the BN-UMNO-Baru legacy started by TDM.
BN-UMNO-Baru & EC has made it difficult for PP-voters to go & vote on that day. No surprise that the factories or companies would have been approached by BN agents to make it difficult for their employees. Do not let all this deter you. The factories still need you regardless otherwise they will close down. Get the unions involve – unless the unions are in the BN fence…but report such cases to P-R officers should any employers do not allow you to excercise your most powerful right as a citizen ie to vote. Do not let them rob you of your one & only right to voice out to the gov. A day that you can voice your disatisfaction without being jailed for ISA!!! A voice withour sound & a very powerful one indeed.
It’s a small sacrifice for the future of our country. That 1 day can mean the next 50 years for Malaysia. Think of the future generations.
Finally, the whole of Malaysia now rest in your hands. Show them who is the BOSS.
#41 by Jong on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 9:46 pm
Yeah I agree with you Undergrad2.
Vote Anwar – Movement for Change!
#42 by Tulip Crescent on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 9:48 pm
This is what I just got from Susan Loone’s blog:
‘Kunta Kinte (20:45:08) :
‘One group within the Pakatan Rakyat camp shouted “Najib” and the other replied “Altantuya.” This went on and on.
‘Then one group within the Pakatan Rakyat camp shouted “Lawan Tetap Lawan” while the other group, this time from the Barisan Nasional replied “Liwat Tetap Liwat.”
‘Meanwhile, Santa Claus descended on this lovely morning in August – yes, August, because Christmas comes early this year, at least in Permatang Pauh – and gave a few million ringgit to the Chinese schools.’
What does this all mean? Mongolians in Malaysia? Santa Claus in Permatang Pauh? August? I thought Christmas was in December.
#43 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 9:51 pm
Yeah, I agree with you agreeing with me!
#44 by Yee Siew Wah on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 10:19 pm
Do not waste our time of this idiot “Sai the FOOL”. He was plugged from behind so much recently that his arse has gone to his mouth. He is now vomiting shit whenever he speaks. The whole world does not listen and believe in him anymore.
Lets concentrate on the Permatang Puah election. I hope all PKR supporters to ensure a BIG victory for DSAI. Rakyat must open their eyes and ears to make sure the BN do not play their usual dirty tricks on voters. Watch the EC guys too because they r also under BN influence.
Long live PKR!!!!
#45 by badak on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 10:51 pm
I Will be PERMATANG PAUH.My job, i will be taking photos of government vehicles with BN FLAGS or POSTERS..I will take pictures of all out station PERJAPAT PERNERAGAN VEHICLES.Gorvernment machineny cannot be used.
#46 by shamshul anuar on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 10:59 pm
Dear Yhsiew,
Being a non Muslim, you. I assume do not understand the significance of swearing in God’s name and asking for divine punishment should one lie.
The fact that Saiful swore shows that he is dead serious about his allegation. The fact that Anwar refuses to swear reflects that he understands the consequence of lying while swearing in God’s name. The fact that Mufti of Perlis and all Muslims are waiting for him to swear shows that that it is accepted practice in Islam. It is the ultimate act of telling the truth .
What is there to be afraid of. If you have not committed the act of sodomy, please swear in full view of the world. It will enhance your reputation. People will say ‘”See Anwar had sworn in God’s name” . The burden will be on Saiful again.
Why the hesitation. As goes the saying “Berani kerana benar”.
By the way , I agree with Undergrad2. Vote for Anwar is vote Change. I had seen him in his political life. Perhaps because I have the advantage to live in constituency bordering Permatang Pauh. If I were to be Anwar, I would be ashamed of what I am doing to PM. It was Pm’s influence as UMNO Liason Chief in Penang that enable him to get cooperation from UMNo Permatang Pauh to support him. Initially, they were reluctant to accept him in Permatang Pauh in 1982 as he just joined UMNO.
AS Saiful had sworn, the attention turns to Anwar. Malay community is asking this million dollar question. Why he is reluctant to swear of his innocence , knowing well the act of swearing as in what Saiful did is the ultimate act of declaring one’s honesty as one is inviting Divine punishment should a person lie.
so, Anwar. What are you waiting for?
#47 by RKP on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 11:04 pm
We were touched by Tok Guru Nik’s presence, though he was not that well..He is a good example. YB Karpal Singh and LKS too.
As a CM, LGE showed exemplary support too and the presence of Selangor MB TSKI and all the other MPs of Pakatan.
We Malaysians are very proud of you all.You are all very capable men.Your excellent leaderships reflected well on the Pakatan supporters.
Well done DSAI and the wonderful Pakatan team. May God be with you always.
#48 by mata_kucing on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 11:04 pm
They still don’t get it do they? The more they play dirty, the more the people hate them. They are losing whatever little sympathy votes they have left and yet they continue to do things in their merry way. It’s not about Anwar anymore. People are really fed up and even if they stop Anwar by whatever dirty means up their sleeves, PR will gather strength until they form the next government. This is the people’s wish.
#49 by imranj78 on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 11:17 pm
Anwar needs to win by a big margin to be convincing. While I expect this to be more likely then not, if the contrary happens and his majority is reduced, this will not bid well for him and PR. PR is showing a lot of cracks lately especially with PAS just starting to flex their muscle. With so much negative energy directed towards Anwar from PAS grassroots, it will be interesting to see how people from PAS vote. Expect more muscle flexing from PAS in the coming weeks. PAS will indeed be the king maker in the end, not Anwar.
#50 by imranj78 on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 11:21 pm
One more thing, PR needs to have stronger control over their supporters. There have been too many incidences lately which reflect terribly on the mentality of PR supporters. Reporters being bashed up, ladies being molested by PR supporters. I hope this does not reflect what lies ahead if Anwar wins.