Permatang Pauh by-election – censure BN’s 6 months of zero legislative reform

I have received the initial notification of the parliamentary business for the 41-day budget meeting beginning on Monday, August 18, which will break for six weeks after the 2009 budget presentation by the Prime Minister-cum-Finance Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi on Friday, August 29 for the fasting month and Hari Raya holidays, resuming on Oct. 12 for 32 sittings till December 11, 2008.

It is a great disappointment, for it is evident that there will be no reformist bill for Parliament in August, whether for the establishment of

(i) the Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission (IPCMC), the most important of the 125 recommendations of the Royal Police Commission more than three years ago in May 2005 to create an efficient, incorruptible, professional world-class police service to keep crime low, fight corruption and uphold human rights;

(ii) the Judicial Appointments Commission as the first step to restore national and international confidence in the independence, impartiality, integrity and quality of the judiciary after two decades of “judicial darkness” and being the laughing-stock of the world; and

(iii) the Malaysian Commission on Anti-Corruption (MCAC) to eradicate the rampant corruption in the country which has seen Malaysia’s ranking in the annual Transparency International Corruption Perception Index sliding relentlessly from No. 23 in 1995 to No. 37 in 2003 and No. 43 in 2007 and to spearhead a “zero tolerance for corruption” campaign to place Malaysia among the world’s 20 least corrupt nations.

This means that despite the Prime Minister claiming after the March 8 “political tsunami” that he has heard the message of the people in the recent general election, resulting in the ending of UMNO political hegemony and Barisan Nasional two-thirds parliamentary majority in Parliament, and the establishment of five Pakatan Rakyat state governments, he has nothing to show in terms of legislative reforms in the first six months of his second premiership!

When Parliament starts its budget meeting on 18th August, the legislative business after the question time will be debate on three bills which had been tabled for first reading in the previous meeting, viz:

(i) National Kenaf and Tobacco Board Bill 2008;
(ii) Education (Amendment) Bill 2008;
(iii) Universities and University Colleges (Amendment) Bill 2008.

The failure to introduce any legislative reform in anyone of the three important institutions of police, judiciary and the fight against corruption in the first six months after the March 8 “political tsunami” should be the subject of censure by the Permatang Pauh voters speaking on behalf of all Malaysian voters in the August 26 by-election.

1. #1 by PureMalaysian on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 12:44 pm

AAB is just gonna enjoy his days until he hands over to Najis. So why must he care so much… afterall, he is still the “Premier”, and he still gets to enjoy everything first class – not any tom dick and harry has that opportunity anyway!

2. #2 by Freddy on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 12:49 pm

after Aug 26, the people looks forward to Sept 16.

If Sept 16 is going to be a reality, who cares about the 6-week break?

3. #3 by One4All4One on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 1:20 pm

Malaysians have the right to demand answers from the administration regarding the tabling and implementation of bills which are of importance to the rakyat. The government is answerable to the rakyat as they are chosen by the vote of the rakyat.

The failure to do so could be deemed to be an act of mismanagement and an abuse of the mandate of governance. And the rakyat can question that mandate, as the power to govern is not absolute.

Could parliament ( the people’s voice ) coerce the administration to do what is of urgency and importance to the country? What sort of recourse could be taken if the necessary is not done? The country cannot be held at ransom by the inaction on the part of the administration, can it?

4. #4 by boh-liao on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 1:25 pm

Expecting reformasi from Umno-led BN? Tan-lah! Tan ku ku!

5. #5 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 1:28 pm

Guess AAB will be on cruise control mode untill his retirement.
    Maybe it is better that way and more Malaysians will withdraw their support for the BN.

Is there not a saying from Shakespeare like “Nothing becomes him so much as his leaving”? or something like that.

6. #6 by Navinda on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 1:37 pm

Mr. Flip Flop did nothing the first term as Premier except empty promises and plenty of it. The speeches were well written and conformed to what the people wanted to hear. When it came to the implementation, the result was zero. The PM was a Zero during his first term.
    After March 8th, he promised the reforms as he had ‘heard the peoples” message. He promised the Bar Council plenty of action. None came. He promised the independence of the ACA. What we are getting is witch hunt; the objective to get rid of those who stood in the way to amass riches. There has been no concrete action by Mr. Flip Flop.
    Instead he seems to be under the control of some invisible force that seems to negate all good intentions he might have had when he made those too good to be true promises. The last six months of his second term in office has been ZERO too.

7. #7 by oknyua on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 1:45 pm

2004 to 2007, he was in somnambulant mode. He had some good points when late Endon was around – bless her soul. Then he started the denial mode: Denied this and denied that, no point to mention it again. After the 8th March tsunami, he was in compensation mode – compensate the loyalists at the expense of good governance. Do we need examples?

Right now, YB Lim, PM Abdullah is in combative mode. He has to. I have chased rats in my house and when cornered, the rats started the combative mode, no reference to him being a rat, okay less someone sue me. If it’s combative in right spirit, I am for it, but it’s is a combat without head (“taiking analogy). You start anything constructive, he would respond with two hands up against you, without even thinking carefully first.

Let Pematang Pauh be the first and I am waiting for exodus of BN MPs to jump ship. I received some e-mails from Sarawak and AAB may thanked them, but grassroots there are very disappointed and their MPs have to listen less 2010 (state election), the whole state would be PKR, DAP and Independent.

8. #8 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 1:48 pm

It looks like UMNO/BN strategy is to chip at Anwar through someone he cannot attack personally, while UMNO/BN will do so at him. Its defensive, they know he is going to lose, his job is not to make BN look bad. Given his multi-lingual skills, local grassroot connection, so long as his rival within UMNO don’t attack him, he has the best chance of holding the votes from going all to Anwar.

In order to embarass UMNO/BN, PR best although underhanded tactic is to get the warlords all jealous – warn them if he gets even a decent vote that he will rise up Penang/Kedah UMNO politics and the other candidates will be sidelined i.e. that PM, KJ and Najib will favour him over others.

PR message to his supporter is they have already won the election for the rakyat because BN have chosen someone that looks and sound just like Keadilan candidate – multi-racial, moderate, for serving the people, etc.. So they better vote for the genuine article anyway because they are the future….

9. #9 by One4All4One on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 1:49 pm

Talking and making promises are free!
    Everyone can talk and promise.

However, can anyone take any action if promises are not fulfilled?

The rakyat can demand action, can’t they?

10. #10 by Pak Long on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 2:14 pm

“Tolong.. saya tengah sakit kepala ni!! tak habis-habis ..berilah sikit masa untuk saya mencari lebih alasan, minta maaf..saya tertidur tadi” kata AAB.

As usual, AAB and the government are finding more excuses to delay…nothing new la..minyak boleh naik besok tetapi turun angkat masa sikit…

11. #11 by wanderer on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 2:35 pm

All talks and no action is second nature to this this crooked BN govt.
    Meanwhile, the nation have to live in frustrations and annoyance.
    Without a change of govt. expect nothing to happen…get ready, for a tougher time to come.

12. #12 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 3:24 pm

Navinda Says:

Today at 13: 37.44 (1 hour ago)
    Mr. Flip Flop did nothing the first term as Premier except empty promises and plenty of it. The speeches were well written and conformed to what the people wanted to hear. When it came to the implementation, the result was zero. The PM was a Zero during his first term.
    After March 8th, he promised the reforms as he had ‘heard the peoples” message. He promised the Bar Council plenty of action. None came. He promised the independence of the ACA. What we are getting is witch hunt; the objective to get rid of those who stood in the way to amass riches. There has been no concrete action by Mr. Flip Flop.
    Instead he seems to be under the control of some invisible force that seems to negate all good intentions he might have had when he made those too good to be true promises. The last six months of his second term in office has been ZERO too.
    ————————————————-
    You are right in pointing out that “he seems to be under the control of some invisible force that seems to negate all good intentions….”, we call this the evil forces, bottomline is that there’s “fighting” in the spiritual realm. Do pray for our leaders even though they are on the other side, so that the Almighty may use them to bless our country!!!

13. #13 by RKP on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 4:28 pm

Is uprooting a fifty year old tree coming soon?

Is tearing down a fifty year old building in place?

Is destroying a fifty year old wicked rule next?

Is overthrowing a fifty year old corrupted power the coming event?

Yes and a triple yes!!!

14. #14 by yhsiew on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 6:12 pm

When the Bar Council was anxious to find a solution to the “conversion to Islam” problem, these are the words uttered by Abdullah: “No more discussion on matters of religion or race that had already been enshrined in the Federal Constitution”. If a person can make this kind of statement (when there is an urgent need to get the problem solved), how you expect him to undertake legislative reforms?!!

I am convinced that Abdullah will not carry out any reforms till the day he leaves office.

15. #15 by Elwin Heng on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 6:23 pm

Dear voter of Permatang Pauh,

Wish you all be present for the re-election date to vote.
    As PR volunteer or supporter, in the hope of majority will support and vote PR most respective (or better leadership compared to ‘blue’) candidate, En. Anwar. Your vote is most valued and appreciated, in believe surely bring more fortune to us and/or our generation-by-generations!

Referred to previous lessons, we should be trained (wouldn’t cheat or lie by ‘blue’) and be confident to PR; to believe only PR community members will bring more bright lights to us, restructure our lovely country, beneficial to us!

Believe or not, eye-on federal and/or 5 states election result, majority is chosen PR as most of us (no differentiate races of Malay, Chinese, or Indian) are welcoming PR-(PKR, DAP & PAS) *VIP En. Anwar* to ‘counter-attack’ or ‘erase black.dots’ or ‘anti-corruption’! In believe only talented-&-experienced leadership or PR community, such as En. Anwar, Penang C.M. MP Lim Guan Eng, dare to challenge and restructure our lovely country!

Prove him totally 100% innocent, is a dirty politic threats which might criticized or created by ‘blue’!

Give a chance to En. Anwar, equals a chance to 308 voters, equals a chance to yourself and your generations!

TQ.
    Warmest regards.

16. #16 by Yee Siew Wah on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 6:27 pm

Mr. Flip Flop, Sleepy, lame duck etc.. did nothing since 2004 after his great victory as PM. He gave fantastic speeches and promises to the rakyat that he will do this and that. After 4+ years what did the rakyat got ? Not only a BIG FAT ZERO, but more racialism, corruptions, nepotism, cronisms, murders etc…

Then come March 8th,( btw he was wacked to wake up from his slumber on this date) he told rakyat that he had ‘heard the peoples” (probably he was again sleeping then also)message. He again promised reforms on judiciary, ACA, etc… again nothing gets done. Another big FAT ZERO for the rakyat. Instead what the rakyat got were worst, fuel price, electricity, foodstuff, etc… increased. Meanwhile country economy is going down and investors are running away.
    What a “great” PM and a bunch of “excellent” deputies running the country.
    The rakyat must make sure to give a big thumping win to PKR over the country destroyers in the coming Permatang election.

17. #17 by k1980 on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 6:55 pm

Anwar interviewed by AsiaTimes

Look at the royal commission on the judiciary: no further investigations; the case is closed. The same tainted corrupt judges are still there. Look at the police force – I would say we used to be proud of the judiciary and police at one time, but look at them now. Now the top brass is just like a stooge for politicians and those in political office and not respected for their professionalism.

Look at the state of the economy – just compare it to the 1990s. The 1990s were not the ideal, although I was part of it, but certainly if you compare the 90s to now you have neither the policies nor direction. The management of the economy is haphazard. They announce a policy today, withdraw it the following day … Not only do they lack concern for the poor, but also for the direction of the economy.

http://www.atimes.com/atimes/Southeast_Asia/JH15Ae01.html

18. #18 by badak on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 6:57 pm

UMNO led BN Government need the police , judisiary and ACA on their side.So that they can keep on sodomizing the nation.
    TOURISM DG CHARGED SCREAMS ALL MSM.But can they convict is another matter.
    The charge a lone is a big joke.”” receiving a bribe of RM13,OOO in the form of dental treament three years ago from a company own by his brother””
    If that is the case PAK LAH must also be charged for giving out RM billions worth of contract to his son.Rafidah must be charged for giving thousand of APs to her son and son inlaw.Samy vellu must be charged for giving out RM billions worth of contracts to his son.
    I can go on and on.ACA is just a lame duck.

19. #19 by bennylohstocks on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 8:53 pm

this is his best- he brings you…

A FLUENT HOKKIEN-SPEAKING MALAY

20. #20 by Godfather on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 9:28 pm

There are two types of people in UMNO:

The first is the type who promises you the world, and denies every wrongdoing. These are the people who say “Stealing ? You must be mistaken. The money just dropped into my pocket.”

The second is the type who looks you straight in the eye and say “Stealing ? It’s my right to steal. What do you want to do about it ?”

Whichever type we face in our constituency, we must vote them out for good.

21. #21 by Anak_Penang on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 9:30 pm

Anwar vs Arif, what whould be the vote margin ?

Express yourself @ votingmalaysia.blogspot.com

22. #22 by choonchoy on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 10:10 pm

Budget again ah!!! AAB is very happy. Time to announce his new ideas to “Milk the Rakyat”. Barang Naik lagi!!!!

Every time that idiot opens his mouth the rakyat get sodomized. Under AAB’s administration price of everything goes. The only things that goes down are:-

1. Uni rankings go down the list.
    2. Accountability and transparency rating goes down the list
    3. Blah blah too damn many
    4. Oh yeah, Kepong (MRR2) bride is going down too just a matter of time.

Vote BN the scourge of the nation. At you own peril.

23. #23 by choonchoy on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 10:12 pm

Opps, typo sorry,

4. Oh………..(MMR2) BRIDGE…….

24. #24 by riversandlakes on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 12:03 am

What Lah is irrelevant.

25. #25 by riversandlakes on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 12:05 am

For I am for one really sick of non-news about this irrelevant and incapable person in the seat of any country’s Prime Minister. Surely any Westminster-inherited country deserves better than such a Prime Minister? Go away, What Lah.

Bring on the fight between DSAI and Najib. Now that should be worth watching.

26. #26 by aquaimplotec on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 3:07 am

I noticed a comment in the Malaysian Sun which is self explanatory to shed light on what is happening in parliament–

—-Anwar Ibrahim said â??Ini medan untuk kita merdeka, malam ini saya nak (mahu) isytiharkan moto kita merdeka. Bulan ini bulan ogos, kita merdeka, kita tuntut kemerdekaan. Itu motto kita. Kita hendak merdeka dari kezaliman, kita hendak merdeka dari rasuah, kita nak merdeka dari penindasan, kita nak merdekakan rakyat supaya keadilan tertegak,â?? 51 years of upbringing for me and similar years of Merdeka for Malaysia. I happy to say that I have not become cruel, corrupt nor wicked. I am sure many Malaysians will concur that they have not strayed from the path and that justice does exist and is being upheld by many Malaysians. Malaysia is not a nation consisting wholly of cruel, corrupt and wicked people! Unfortunately it is governed by people who are accused by Anwar Ibrahim as being just that! The question is what kind of people are we Malaysians generally? If the majority is CCW then poeple who uphold justice ARE a minority and will RIGHTLY have little or no representation in Parliament. Can you imagine a democratic nation of homosexuals electing a heterosexual as the Prime Minister? Such a senario just does not happen at all. But Malaysia may be an exception. Have you not heard the phrase being spoken about Malaysian politicians, “its not a matter of whether they are corrupt, its how corrupt they are.” In the eyes of the world a nation practising democracy in electing parlimentary representatives have elected a bunch of villians into parliament to run its country! Surely if the democratic process of election is for real, the people who elected them MUST also be villians! Unsuspecting foreign investors may find out the hard way after investing billions. So there goes our economy down to the lowest world ranking after these investors have their say. HOWEVER, I am happy to say that I may have been swindled into voting for BN in the past, I have now atoned for my mistakes by going through needless sufferring for many years. I will no longer condone non-representation in parliament of Malaysians who uphold justice. JUSTICE WILL PREVAIL! We Malaysians are not CCW’s. CCW’s will soon find that they are but only a minority! —–

Hear hear.

27. #27 by StevePCH on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 8:23 am

give BeEnd another 50 years and everything will still be the same.
    Corruption and abuse of power. The only way is to change the Feds.
    Wake up People of Sabah and Sarawak. You need to break free too before your states are in infected by Ameno AIDS.

28. #28 by PHUAKL on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 9:35 am

Dear Friends

I’m a sociologist and I have taught political science in the past. This MSM “Anwar must win by a bigger majority or he has actually lost” stuff is BN propagandistic crap. It is a strategy by the loser to claim victory in the face of impending defeat. So what if Anwar wins by a smaller majority? He has still defeated the BN candidate.

My advice to PKR and the PR is this: ignore this BN propagandistic crap; do not be complacent; hit BN on the inflation rate, the cancer-like corruption, the gross mismanagement of the economy, the abuse of the law; get as many voters out as possibe to the polling booths; have faith that the voters will make the right choice! Power to the People!

Phua Kai Lit

29. #29 by Loh on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 11:23 am

Nobody other than Arif Khan would want to be the UMNO candidate waiting to be slaughtered in Permatang Paul. UMNO would have to pay a huge price to lure any other candidate to lose there. So UMNO has created history by choosing somebody who holds a state seat to stand for the parliamentary election. This is a desperate act in response to desperate situation. UMNO hopes that the people who voted Arif Khan in the past would continue to do so, out of personal feelings for the candidate. With that he would be able to retain his deposit, rather than creating another history for UMNO in losing it.

The voters in the other two state constituencies under Permatang Paul who voted for candidates put up by PK to spite BN in March, have been eagerly waiting for Anwar to take control in Putrajaya. They wanted justice to be seen done, and those corrupted see their days in jail.

30. #30 by HJ Angus on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 1:20 pm

Voters in PP have the unique opportunity to get Malaysia back on the track to better governance.

http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/08/voters-of-permatang-pauh-your-date-with.html

31. #31 by k1980 on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 1:47 pm

Arif Khan or Arif Singh or Arif Shah– the end is the same: loses his deposit

32. #32 by bennylohstocks on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 2:30 pm

He is the candiadate..

TODAY IS THE HUNGRY GHOST DAY

33. #33 by Godfather on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 3:07 pm

Just because he speaks Hokkien and Mandarin makes him a “clean” candidate ? Didn’t Ling Liong Sik speak Mandarin ? A member of the den of thieves is at best an accessory to theft.

34. #34 by emgbrl on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 3:14 pm

Dear Readers,
    The picture of the alleged racist teacher was posted in a website recently.Please go to the address below.Feel free to distribute her pics to those who need to see it.

http://www.indianmalaysian.com/sound/modules.php?name=News&file=article&sid=1532

35. #35 by badak on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 4:01 pm

GERAK WANTS ACA PROBE ON SENIOR MINISTER…. TODAY SUN PAPER.
    If what was reported are true,Then the ACA Director must resign.PAK LAH can never be trusted.The best part of the report is the statement by Ezam the turn coat.Who is the founder of GERAK.”” ITS THEIR PREROGATIVE NOW TO BRING UP THE CASE “” Said EZAM.”” WHILE I AM CONFIDENT OF THE PRIME MINISTER,S EFFORTS TO FIGHT GRAFT, I WILL ONLY DO THINGS THE UMNO WAY AS I AM NOW IN UMNO””
    EZAM .. The more he open his mouth ,more the people are convinced that he is paid by UMNO to shut his mouth on corruption.
    EZAM is an asset to DSAI in this BY – election .The people just don,t trust EZAM any more.

36. #36 by HJ Angus on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 4:36 pm

she looks like a man!
    No wonder all those remarks about “no testxxxxx”.
    Definintely needs counselling.

37. #37 by parameswara on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 10:08 pm

umno/bn owing (but not paying) rm218million for 2004 election paraphernalias alone.

i wonder who would still supply them.

– in God we trust, all else pay cash.

38. #38 by pjboy on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 10:41 pm

RPK wrote an interesting article regarding the BN-UMNO-candidate for the PP by-election. It seems his 2 brothers (cronies) screwed us of over RM 24Billion (something relating to Ministry of Defence)…& still walking around scott-free. Best part is, this was admitted by current PAC – a BN-UMNO-man. This is what BN do best. Bankrupt-kan Negara (BN).

39. #39 by k1980 on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 7:39 am

So this is not money politics?
    Met at a BN function later, Arif Shah cited the allocation – where the five schools will get RM200,000 each – as an example why the voters should back the ruling coalition.
    “The Permatang Pauh people will benefit, you can see it happen (such as this allocation),” he told reporters after the launch of the BN Youth election machinery in Permatang Pasir.
    Arif Shah, who is also the Seberang Jaya state assemblyperson, appealed to voters to give him a chance as he said he will then be able to have more allocations to develop the constituency. “Although I am the Seberang Jaya state assemblyperson but in the state government, I am the opposition. I don’t have the allocation.

http://www1.malaysiakini.com/news/87894

40. #40 by yhsiew on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 9:40 am

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi had said that Abdul Khalid had no authority on the quota of UiTm students while Ibrahim said Abdul khalid’s statement implied that the university lacked in quality whereas records showed otherwise.
    ——————————————————————-

Do you expect this kind of people to carry out reforms?

A university should not be a reclusive, inward looking kind of cocoon institution as that is against the very principle of a university which is a place where brains of different races/nationalities meet to discuss and exchange views on social issues and scientific discoveries.

Up to now, no Malay leader (except Anwar) dares challenge the NEP and expect to survive in his/her political career. We will see how Anwar fares in the Permatang Pauh by-election.

41. #41 by cheng on on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 11:56 am

4 corner fight now. Never hope BN to do any reform lah!

42. #42 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 1:56 pm

How many six months are there in four or perhaps five years? AAB’s non-action for six months is simply a bad start of his new premiership and after losing 5 states! Keep counting, he only has another seven to nine 6 months to go before GE13!!!!!