The future of our interfaith dialogue

by Azly Rahman

Must engaging in dialogue on religion be painful? Must it be greeted with hostility? Or is it a moot question—that the answer lies in what we failed to have done through our education system, decades ago?

I have faith that we will one day be ready to appreciate interfaith dialogue. On this note, I too believe that we will one day appreciate philosophical discussions and scientific debates. My experience conducting interfaith dialogue every semester in the American classroom setting gives me the assurance that we will be ready. It would be good to one day know that our corridors of academia are filled with passionate discussions on the self, the universe, God, and fate of humanity.

The core of each religious foundation is there for us to explore and to learn from. We need to escape from being trapped in the particular and liberate ourselves into explorers of the universal. Of course this will take time given the nature of class and caste system we are in; developments that have impacted upon our consciousness. But evolve we must, if we are to see a progressive country emerging out of these ruins of communal politics, immorality of modern capitalism, and persistent religious misunderstandings. Ignorance is the greatest enemy of knowledge, as the sage Socrates once said.

What is interfaith dialogue?

The incident of the aborted Bar Council forum was a good example how we will continue to approach inter-faith dialogue. There is vision in chaos, creation in destruction, and opportunities in threats. Educators of peace and social justice must not give up. In a country in which we have for example Center for Civilizational Dialogue in Universiti Malaya, and in a country wanting to be known as a “moderate country with a Muslim majority”, we are seeing contradictions. It will get uglier if we fail to reflect upon the means and methods of religious dialogue. We do not know much what each one of us believes in and what are the rituals and practices of our neighbours. We do not know what scripture they read, let alone the meaning of the prayers, the doa, zikir, the pujas, and the mantras. We lack the knowledge of the fundamentals. This is understandable – fear governs our consciousness and directs our actions and ultimately reproduces itself inter-generationally. Religion is a “sensitive” issue, they say— which needs desensitization, I would contend.

Back to the protests on the Bar Council forum. It is a misrepresentation of what Muslims are and a reflection of how we have approached not only dialogue on religion but also on other “sensitive issues” as well. In this environment and in this regime where exploitation of issues are orchestrated by opportunists at the expense of peaceful dialogue, we will always be at the losing end of education for critical consciousness and for peace.

We must go back to the drawing board of our approach to teaching religion in terms of curricular design and how to juxtapose or even infuse it with core idea of humanism and rationalism. This will take another few decades given the complexity of our society and how it has evolved in line with the “half-bakedness” of hypermodernity.

Here in the United States, I have just finished teaching two summer classes on “Religions of the World” and Introduction to Religion” in a college where I have also been asked, for the last three years, to teach “Islamic Scriptures”. I find it liberating to conduct classes after classes in which my students not only are American and foreign-born Muslims but also Jews, Christians, Catholic, Buddhists, Hindus, Atheists, Agnostics, and even Pagan. At the end of each semester, they have a different perception of each other — more in-depth understanding of what could have remained antagonistic. We read the Quran and the Hadiths and look at the scriptures from a hermeneutic perspective, situate it in the present and projecting it into the future. Most often, our discussions on jihad evolved into a reflection on the struggles for the human self to explore suffering, violence, and liberation in all religious traditions. It includes passionate discussions on media representation of the concept.

Dialogue in Malaysia?

I often wonder if what I am doing is possible in Malaysia but I certainly have the confidence and hope that given the most peaceful way to approach it, a lot can be gained. Essentially religious dialogue need not be painful. It ought to help foster deep understanding and dispel misconception of ANY religion. It ought to make us become deeply religious and to learn to explore what others believe, to respect them, to learn from the universal themes of spirituality, and ultimately to contemplate our existence within the context of the struggle between Good and Evil and to evolve as more ethical and rational beings – so that we may participate better as political and social beings..

I believe we need to revamp undergraduate foundation courses in our public and private to include one that teaches the classics of the thoughts of the Eastern and Western tradition and the scriptures of the major religions. But then again, our university students are not even allowed to be involved in politics and to engage freely in public forum on political matters – how might this be possible with interfaith dialogue then?

We have a long walk to mental freedom and to a philosophical understanding of Islam and other religions. Unfortunately we are now known as people who are good at disrupting dialogues. I hope this perception will change.

But then again, education is about hope, peace, empathy, intelligence, and liberation — these we must use as a basis for a new design once we see major restructuring efforts under way, undertaken perhaps via a new political, social, and educational arrangement.

Let us look at possibilities in interfaith dialogue. Let education for peace and justice do that.

[NOTE: I have gathered some background materials on various major religions, on my website. Please scroll down to the very end http://azlyrahman-illuminations.blogspot.com/]

———————-
My Facebook supporters page.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by gundam on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 11:36 am

it’s nt abt religion or faith, it’s abt survival of mankind.

scientists believe that the separation between the ancestors of modern man and the ancestors of a modern apes occured between 4-7 million years ago. modern looking Cro-Magnon man appeared somewhere between 100,000 and 200,000 years ago. however, there was a dramatic change in tool use and creativity abt 40,000 years ago. tis was not a physical change, bt involved thinking and problem solving. If you ask fundementalist christians, the answer is around 6,000 years ago when God created man.

so mankind lived for million of yrs without religion, and they survived.
    will religions lead us into total destruction one day?

somehow sometimes i believe the world could be a better place without religions. still, i do nt believe in communism.
    nothing is too sensitive and too sacred to be challenged as spirit of inquiry is wat driven mankinds’ advances.

2. #2 by gundam on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 11:40 am

dear adam,

i still have faith in PR though.

from a non-intellect with a pure heart for change.

3. #3 by i_love_malaysia on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 12:01 pm

John 14:6 TNIV

6 Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

4. #4 by Captain on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 12:40 pm

‘We read the Quran and the Hadiths and look at the scriptures from a hermeneutic perspective, situate it in the present and projecting it into the future.’ – Azly

If Malaysian muslim can understand this, all our problems can be over.
    jus legitimum Says:

“Some people say Islam is a religion that promotes peace and tolerence.I do not think people now can accept it anymore”

This is what we say … the demonstrators are traitors to Islam.

The fault is really with Bar Council. They only invited civilised people for the forum. So the donkeys, monkeys and pigs did not come in. So they created havoc lah outside.

5. #5 by Kathy on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 1:52 pm

Captain, least you forgot that pigs were one of the invitees (that is why the demostrators can actually call “Babi”).

It is the governments fault for not taking firmer and faster action in updating and changing the relevant laws to go with the current times. The longer they take to amend the laws, the more misunderstanding would occur between Malaysians.

6. #6 by tenaciousB on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 2:04 pm

Malaysia has not developed mentally as yet, it will be a long time before such forums can ever be considered again. At present all races should be at peace with each other and stop these racial slurs. I’m sure Islam does not condone these terrible hurtful words hurled at the non malays.

7. #7 by taiking on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 2:08 pm

I got it!

I finally figured the whole issue out.

Yes.

They were unhappy because an invitation was extended to a pig and none to them.

8. #8 by Adolf_Napoleon on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 2:30 pm

Dear YB And All
    HARD LESSON TO US BUT MUST REMEMBER FOREVER
    Rule #1

Since young and our Malaysian history speaks that, the word “racist” and “sensitive” only could be use if one discuss Ketuanan Melayu (Malay Rights) and Islam. Any other thing would not be deemed racist and sensitive. So you can openly discuss about any other thing and ISA will close its eyes.

Rule # 2

Its wise that the Chinese and Indian not to involve in politics, involve in street demos and talk to much BECAUSE it will give more opportunity to race-based politician to spark the fire again. Bear in mind that many race-based politicians still carrying the May 13 torch in their heart.

Rule # 3

The word “Special Rights” exist because of the existence of Chinese and Indian. If is 100% malay than there is no more special right. And now Chinese and Indian is only 30%, let the “Special Right” continue and is how many “Right” could be evenly distributed to the remaining 70%.

Rule # 4

For Chinese and Indians, just concentrate on our family and livelihood and recite or chant the above Rule #1 – Rule# 3 everynight before we go to sleep.

Rule #5

NO MORE RULE #5 anymore. Is just Rule #1 – Rule #4.

9. #9 by haris01 on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 3:28 pm

sad sad sad things happening now…..
    now suddenly so many dumbfcuk become so clever about religions…
    we all are middle age civilians…so…
    just follow how it was yesterday….
    racist our terrorist…..

10. #10 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 7:03 pm

Must engaging in dialogue on religion be painful? No, but where you have a non-Muslim minority trying to dictate their anti-Islamic agenda on a national level, this will be more than just painful. Ignoring the social demography of Malaysia is the first folly.

11. #11 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 7:40 pm

How can we expect to have any meaningful civil dialogue on religious issues when Malays are so sensitive even with the mention of opening of UiTM to a small number of non-Malays?

12. #12 by cancan on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 7:56 pm

The idiotic and the patriotic

Link: http://www.kingsmary.blogspot.com/

13. #13 by badak on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 9:41 pm

Zak_hammaad.I feel sad for your parents .After spending so much money on your education.Yet you don,t see what the BAR FORUM is all about.So let me tell YOU.( By the way i am a kindergarden drop out )
    The forum is not about Malay or the rights of the Muslim.The FORUM is about the rights of NON MUSLIM. Who are forced to hear their cases in SYARIAH COURT.
    The FORUM is about a poor Old Hindu lady whose bachelor son died,and his Insurance money was taken away by a rich ISLAMIC association.Just by saying that her has converted to ISLAM.
    The FORUM is about a chiness family losing everything.Just because their eldest brother who converted to ISLAM.Put his dying father,s thump print on the converting form.
    The FORUM is about an Indian man who converted to ISLAM and later coverted his two sons without the knowledge of his hindu wife.
    The FORUM is about NON MUSLIM who converts to ISLAM just to escape civil courts and at the same time uses the SYARIAH COURT to their advantage.
    So kasim hammaat is this the teaching of ISLAM.I for one don,t thing so.

14. #14 by taiking on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 8:55 am

Father Lawrance, editor of the Herald, said: “The editorial is only asking people to pray for a just and fair by-election [in PP]. Cant we christians ask fellow christians to pray? Is that against the law?” – Star Online, Aug 13, 2008.

He said that because the Herald was threatened by the Home Ministry with revocation of its publication permit for proposing to carry an article to that effect.

So guys, brace ourselves for an unfair and unjust by-election.

15. #15 by taiking on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 10:07 am

Zak said this:

“a non-Muslim minority trying to dictate their anti-Islamic agenda on a national level”.

We are not mere minority. You are aware of this, I am sure. In fact our (i.e. non-muslims) presence in this country is well represented in very significant numbers. Take away indonesian and filipino muslims who were made citizens in the last twenty years under the fast track system, the muslim majority here may even plunge into the realm of insignificance.

I presume that you are from a muslim family and were borned a muslim. Do you know what it is like for one to change course mid-stream? And do you know that he who made that decision to change course mid-stream, was not sailing solo in a tiny boat. There are others on the boat and in other boats as well, all sailing along with him; and all of them would be affected by his decision? Do you know what it would be like for them? Dont you want to know? Arent you concerned?

There is nothing anti-Islamic about the topic under discussion. It is merely a forum for people to bounce their views about on some practical issues (and the legal impact) facing muslim converts.

Actually, to my mind the topic under discussion was meant for non-muslims for the issues under discussion do not apply to those who were borned muslims. It touches on the hypothetical situation where a non-muslim converts and becomes a muslim. The discussion actually hinges on the periphery of the religion.

If you dropped your wallet, dont you want to know what has gone missing? I am not equating conversion to muslim to dropping one’s wallet. So lets not mistake the significance of my analogy which really is this: The occurance of an event would bring about effects and consequences. What are those effects and consequences? In the name of prudence, shouldnt we be equipped with fore-knowledge? Cant those amongst us who are minded to convert be so equipped?

There is nothing anti-islamic about the forum. There is no such agenda in reality. And it certainly is a folly to view the forum as an attempted dictation, by the minority upon the majority, of anti-islamic agenda.

Like any other blogsites, where the hammer head weighs lighter than the nip of a pen and moves quicker then the flow of ink, I say this:

OPEN YOUR EYES AND EARS AND HEART.
    OPEN UP.
    OTHERWISE YOU WOULD BE WASTING YOUR TIME AND ENERGY.

16. #16 by Sagaladoola on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 12:47 pm

My Opinion on the Recent Interfaith Dialogue

Link:
    http://sagaladoola.blogspot.com/2008/08/my-opinion-on-recent-interfaith.html

17. #17 by sirrganass on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 3:49 pm

Has PAKATAN RAKYAT been “pakat”ing to discuss about the entire Interfaith problem? Get all the BEST ULAMAK from PAS to gether with the most religious individuals from PKR and invite 10 or 20 representatives from DAP. Sit down and talk about SYARIAH COURT and those family-related problems.

Then, PAKATAN RAKYAT will definately come up with the true situation. THis will determine if Malaysia will be the IDEAL place to live in.

Soon after the discussion, DAP will see whether or not PAKATAN is the viable team. It may be otherwise, cos Haji Awang has said that his and PAS’s agenda must be the ISLAMIC APPROACH to multiracial society. PAS has never talked about UMNOPutra. But talking about ISLAM? Yes it does it openly!

PAS may have to leave PAKATAN if majority of you rejects ISLAM but first please organise this face-to-face discussion and see what is on the table. If at the end of the day we still see the dark future, then… too bad… we just couldn’t be together again!

18. #18 by emgbrl on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 3:31 pm

Dear Readers,
    For those interested, here’s the mugshot of the infamous History teacher who caused a controversy in her school with her racist comments and got promoted to a Smart School by the Education dept!!
    The History teacher’s name is Cik Rusitah Bt Abu Hassan, B. Ed (Hons), Guru DG 44. Another mug shot of her can be seen using the link below. Please note her mugshot has been removed from the school’s website (SM Teluk Panglima Garang ). Anyone who knows her new school, please alert the parents of the students to be aware of this racist pig-faced teacher!!!

http://72.14.235.104/search?q=cache:wXAIm5M2gHMJ:groups.yahoo.com/group/Indian-Malaysian/message/26465+cik+rusitah&hl=en&ct=clnk&cd=4&gl=my

Leave a Reply

19. #19 by zak_hammaad on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 1:41 pm

“Interfaith dialogue”? This is simply another by-word to reduce the influence of Islam in Malaysia and to relegate it to a faith of mere rituals. In conclusion, interfaith dialogue means a move towards secularism which can never be accepted by Muslim majority Malaysia!

Comments are closed.