The New Straits Times today carried the following report:
Racial abuse teacher gets ‘a better deal’
By : V. Shankar Ganesh
BANTING: It obviously pays to hurl racial abuse at students, going by what happened to the teacher who did so at a school here.
The 35-year-old history teacher from SM Telok Panglima Garang was not only transferred to a smart school but to one located nearer her house.
To add insult to injury, no disciplinary action was taken against her.
It is understood that her letter of transfer stated that she was being transferred due to concerns for her security and not because she had committed an offence.
Several parents and non-governmental rganizations gathered in front of the school yesterday demanding an explanation from the headmaster for letting her off with just a slap on the wrist.
However, the headmaster refused to meet them, saying the matter was no longer related to the school since the teacher had been transferred.
Coalition of Indian NGOs secretary G. Gunaraj said the transfer showed the teacher had got away scot-free.
”In fact, she even got a better deal. She is now in a better school and one that is nearer to her house.”
He said this set a dangerous precedent as others may think they too can get away scot-free uttering racial slurs.
He said the Education Ministry should be serious in tackling the issue as what the teacher had done could affect racial harmony.
This is the latest episode which is marring the 51st Merdeka Anniversary celebrations in less than three weeks time, highlighting the many failures in nation-building despite the government budgeting tens of millions of ringgit for this occasion.
The Education Minister, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein should explain to Parliament, the nation and the voters of Permatang Pauh why the Education Ministry is condoning the unforgivable misbehaviour of a history teacher who repeatedly made racist, derogatory and even unprintable slurs against Indian students and the Indian community in class.
By giving the delinquent teacher a “better deal” for her disgraceful misbehaviour, the Education Ministry is sending out a wrong and completely unacceptable message to all teachers as well as making a total mockery of the legitimate protests of the parents and the Coalition of Malaysians Indian NGOs who had protested against the teacher’s misconduct.
Or is Hishammuddin just unfit to demand that teachers should be exemplary model Malaysians to the new generation of students rising above race and religion when he himself has failed so miserably on this score with his three “keris-wielding” episodes at the Umno Youth general assemblies, showing utter insensitivity to the sensitivities of a plural Malaysian society and which is acknowledged by UMNO and Barisan Nasional leaders as a major cause for the Barisan Nasional defeats in the March general election and “political tsunami”?
———————-
My Facebook supporters page.

#1 by thaiming on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 12:46 pm
HISHAM himself is a ‘ KRIS MASTER’ !!!……so???? sama sama!!!
#2 by Jong on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 12:50 pm
He himself is tainted and full of sh*t, to expect him to speak up and take action is to ridicule him. I am sure he’s aware.
It’s a shame we have such characters ‘running’ this country. They can’t even hold their head high.
#3 by Jong on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 12:51 pm
Where is MIC?
#4 by yyh on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 1:10 pm
the descend towards racial bigotry continues.
this reime willl not change. change will only come with change in govt.
aint too long. only 4 years from now.
lets unite for a better malaysia by kicing out this corrupt and racist regime in GE13.
#5 by PHUAKL on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 1:13 pm
Hi All
Indonesia is doing it.
We can do it too (under new management, naturally).
Malaysia Boleh!
Take a look at this article from the BBC:
news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/7547414.stm
Phua Kai Lit
#6 by 7even Sins on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 1:14 pm
Again, abang-adik cover up….!!!
It is expected nothing will happen for a cases like this. Malaysia simply will not progress with these unprofessional and fanatic malays especially with Goblok-mudin’s administration. The younger generation will be destroyed under his hands.
Like before, now, & more of abang-adik episodes to come…!!!
Just wait and see…!!!
#7 by ch on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 1:19 pm
Dear All,
This clearly goes to show that the system currently in place can be quite easily abused if one has the right connections. Presumably, they have very good personal touch skills that could allow them off the hook. The current system may need urgent review in order to prevent such individual(s) off the hook but this would require full cooperation from several departments. It is easier said than done.
I have always remember a statement made by a Russian Air Force General, after the shot down of KAL in 1988 whereby he said that any issues will just wither away in 100 days and if something were to happen within that 100 days people will start talking about the new issue and leave the old issue behind, dead and barried. Similarly this issue of the teacher transfer will just wither away probably much lesser than 100 days. It is sad but we should start learning to accept the facts of life.
#8 by oknyua on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 1:25 pm
Jong, didn’t hear that old Sam was being called by ACA? Its something to do with the RM70m unpaid bill MRR2. Heard in Radio this morning.
#9 by manusia ada akal on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 1:31 pm
By not using “akal” to make a wise decision, one must bear the repercussions of the decision made because everybody else also have this “akal” to analyse matters arising.
#10 by smeagroo on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 1:35 pm
what is there to explain? the teachers are also learning from their master of racism, kerismuddin.
so next time teachers, be it chinese, indian or malay, if u wanna get out from a 2nd class school, just do this stunt. Guarantee you will be trx out faster than u can raise the keris.
#11 by RKP on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 1:35 pm
This is not something new in Malaysia. It has been there for the last lousy 50 years.
They say:
Superior minds have inferior feelings.
Inferior minds have superior feelings.
These kind of racial slurs and remarks come from inferior minds.
In the very near future,at the turn of the next events in Malaysia,
we hope a new government will emerge with people of superior minds but with inferior feelings for continual improvement of all departments.
Frankly, we are tired of arrogant (so-called) leaders who do not admit their limitations and blunders they commit on a daily basis.
They still think high and mighty of themselves and insist on holding on to their jobs that they don’t qualify for.
#12 by yellowkingdom on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 1:41 pm
His-sham-mudding the cesspool he created when he raised the keris. Now we have sick-headed teachers following in his infamous footsteps. How can we expect the mother crab to teach its young to walk straight? What more a Education Minister, who doesn’t have faith in the system he brilliantly designed, sending his children to private schools. Better to change the govt. and restructure the education system to reflect its glory days.
We must press for a deterrent action to prevent future sick-headed teachers from engaging in racial slurs and bigotry.
#13 by anak_malaysia on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 1:46 pm
the nation have no place for such a idiot history teacher. where did she get her qualification to teach? some lousy racist-breeding school? she really know the history? or she is just another quota-based products that learning history through the bias history book? Our kids will never learn to think if we continue to have such system. Fire that history teacher. Let her become the history, a lesson for those racist teacher that they are not above the law.
She should be subjected to ISA – making racist remarks and could trigger a racial disharmony.
We need to revamp our education system, not by Hishamuddin. I hope when PR become the government, that one of the main priority is education. Let an education people to lead the ministry.
#14 by Mr Smith on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 1:48 pm
Just imagine what would have happened had the roles been reversed – a non-Malay teacher using racial slurs on Malay students.
The BN Media, the cabinet ministers and every UMNO leader would have run berserk over the country like mad men crying for blood and demanding the teacher be stoned to death.
The teacher would have disappeared with PI Bala and Pusrawi doctor Md Osman.
Is my imagination running wild? No, I think not.
#15 by Kathy on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 1:49 pm
MPs from Selangor should demand a detail explaination from Hishamuddin in Parliament. The details of the teacher should also be told to the public – it is high time that Rakyat take matters into perspective with regards to those racists teachers.
#16 by tenaciousB on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 1:58 pm
hishamudin himself raised the ‘kris’ and declared some sort racial supremacy so why not the malay teacher that uttered racial slurs be let off easy as well. if the leader is untouchable for his irresponsible and bad behaviour with no repercussions it is a bad example to the rest of these people. the fact they know they are the majority and they can get away with plenty of things. i am shocked that this teacher got away with no repercusions, infact if its true the authorities were worried about her security more than anything. Pathetic!
#17 by swipenter on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 1:59 pm
What do we expect after decades of indoctrination on ketuanan melayu,special privileges and my religion is better than yours? A fair and open minded person or a racial n religious bigot? The minorities here are given lip service and when expedient demonised by the ruling elites.
#18 by taiking on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 2:05 pm
“It is understood that her letter of transfer stated that she was being transferred due to concerns for her security and not because she had committed an offence.”
So fearing for his security over the 20m repair costs which eventually balloned to 70m, samy will be made a Tun.
So fearing that saiful would commit consensual sodomy with anwar again, anwar will be jailed.
So fearing that he might raise the kris again, kerismudin will be made the prime minister.
See it all make good and clear sense.
#19 by rfbu on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 2:06 pm
hahaha… maybe that teacher must be Hishammudin’ staunch supporter!!
He must take care of his supporters!! who else will vote him??
someone will definitely declare… “never mind la… “
#20 by Yee Siew Wah on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 2:06 pm
This racist idiot teacher should be placed under ISA. If it was a indian or chinese teacher who did it, I am sure he/she will be locked up immediately by our Baldie HM under ISA in no time la.
Heard that this idiotic racist not only been protected by the BN goons but also rewarded as well. This is real justice for Malaysia.
BTW, where is our MIC Semi Value self claimed PROTECTOR of the indians and the toothless MCA./GERAKAN ??? Probablly they r all deaf or blind to this racist issue.
I reckon this is also one of the by-products of BN in resolving issues in so called CLOSED DOOR meetings. Not only nothing get resolved but it got WORSE in the end. See, after 50+ years we r much much worst off in terms of racial and religious issues especially. The government is only interested in their own pockets and self interest. Rakyat can take the back seat if any.
#21 by Hishamuddin on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 2:17 pm
MIC only talk and protest. In the end Samy will shut them up as usual.
He is anyway still the UMNO door dog until he is replaced
#22 by lhslhv on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 2:19 pm
When we talk about education, it is civilisation. When there is no civilisation, there is no education.
So if the matter is swept under the carpet, there is no education.
Without proper education, the Malays will always be backward and cannot be civilised.
#23 by Adolf_Napoleon on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 2:25 pm
Dear YB And All
HARD LESSON TO US BUT MUST REMEMBER FOREVER
Rule #1
Since young and our Malaysian history speaks that, the word “racist” and “sensitive” only could be use if one discuss Ketuanan Melayu (Malay Rights) and Islam. Any other thing would not be deemed racist and sensitive. So you can openly discuss about any other thing and ISA will close its eyes.
Rule # 2
Its wise that the Chinese and Indian not to involve in politics, involve in street demos and talk to much BECAUSE it will give more opportunity to race-based politician to spark the fire again. Bear in mind that many race-based politicians still carrying the May 13 torch in their heart.
Rule # 3
The word “Special Rights” exist because of the existence of Chinese and Indian. If is 100% malay than there is no more special right. And now Chinese and Indian is only 30%, let the “Special Right” continue and is how many “Right” could be evenly distributed to the remaining 70%.
Rule # 4
For Chinese and Indians, just concentrate on our family and livelihood and recite or chant the above Rule #1 – Rule# 3 everynight before we go to sleep.
Rule #5
NO MORE RULE #5 anymore. Is just Rule #1 – Rule #4.
#24 by tenaciousB on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 2:41 pm
Dear Napoleon,
your rule no 3 is interesting, funny that u mention it and it clicked, only 30% are non malays, imagine our economy is only working at 30% churning out the total economy for the country, and if indians and chinese disappear, malaysia will be in the dark ages. how frightening. you know the funny part is, if the non malays decide to migrate all 30% of them, the special rights would probably be discontinued because the government would e broke with no input of funds and then they may be civil unrest, increase in theft and so forth let your imagination run wild. The moral of the story the worlds 2 biggest population in the world china and india, the imminent super powers to be …China and India. Fellow malays please appreciate that these 2 races exist in your country. period.
#25 by nafasbaru on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 2:50 pm
the effects of ketuanan melayu – inability to differentiate right and wrong, and having the right to hate others.
worse than xenophobia.
#26 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 2:58 pm
YB Lim ,
Thank you for highlighting this issue in this blog. a bigot is a maggot by any other name.
as a history teacher, an educator, it puts to shame the mentality of such a person to teach the children.
this bigot should be put into a boot camp and get her brain cleansed, and better still have a free stay at kamunting.
what will happen next, will be that ms. shanker ganesh of the nst will be called in by the authority on how the transfer letter have been leaked to the media and public.
not only should the minister of education owes an explaination to all malaysians, but also the mca deputy education minister. we should also call upon the national union of teachers to lodge a formal and strong objections to the ‘ promotion ‘ .
thank you.
#27 by wanderer on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 3:09 pm
The behavior of this kris waving Minister, speaks volume of his moral standing and a silent racist….fit only for the rubbish heap.
Anyway, no one should be surprised to the ‘promotion’ of this racist teacher. Umno does not clamp down on unbecoming behavior but, encourages it. Recent events, Umno, Pas malay unity talks and the Bar Council forum which we have witnessed hooligans in action with their racist remarks, should open the eyes of these beggar political parties, MCA, MIC and Gerakan. No further excuses!!
#28 by Penang_soul on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 3:09 pm
IT IS HAPENING AGAIN AND AGAIN. DON’T FORGET THE LAST TIME WHAT HAPEN WHEN THE SO CALLED PK1 IN SUNGEI PUYU DID THE SAME THING. LEST SHALL WE FORGET..IT IS TRUE LIKE SOMEONE MENTIONED EARLIER ABOUT THE 100 DAYS EFFECT…. NO ACTION WILL BE TAKEN. PERIOD
http://blog.limkitsiang.com/2008/02/23/little-napoleon-at-sk-sungai-puyu-utterly-unrepentant/
http://blog.limkitsiang.com/2008/02/13/1009/#more-1009
#29 by walao on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 3:17 pm
Imagine what if it was a chinese or indian teacher made those racist remarks in the malay school. What Hisham will do? Or AAB will act? ISA on the teacher I guess???
#30 by walao on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 3:26 pm
I recommend the authority should ask newspaper to print her picture front page. Or can the students sue the teacher for racist remark and discrimination act?
#31 by tenaciousB on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 3:27 pm
You know, poor chua soi lek’s sex life was leaked into the public, these paparazis should take pictures of this racist teacher so that the nation can witness this person if the government is not going to punish her for her wrong doings, at least let it be an embarassment for her in the eyes of the public so that no others will repeat in her footsteps.
#32 by Freddy on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 3:28 pm
walao,
don’t need to ask also we know the answerlah.
but hahahahaha don’t you think this is the product of Ketuanan Islam ala UMNO? i wonder what will be wong chun wai’s take on this issue, whether he would classify this as a contender in making Malaysia a laughing stock of the world.
#33 by max2811 on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 3:46 pm
This is what is being advocated by UMNO. Biro Tata Negara is the culprit that brainwashes the teachers and other gov servants. Tak suka kah? Balik China lah!!!
Puki mak!
#34 by fungus on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 3:53 pm
They are still sooooo arrogant! Nothing has changed with them.
BTW….what happened to all that “soul-searching” they were supposed to do after the disastrous election results? Badawied again??
#35 by MadhavanR on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 4:07 pm
Dear Mr.Lim,
Since we all know that we cant rely on BN,MIC or the government officials to take proper action on this issue, why not PR make a move to solve this issue. the offense committed comes under seditions act and punishable under ISA. why not ask Home minister to put her under ISA and undergo rehabilitation just like the others ?
#36 by MadhavanR on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 4:09 pm
if still no result, then i think its time for me to write a police report against her and claim damage of RM 1Mil for making a statement that hurts my feelings. and i recommend anyone who feels the same to do so.
#37 by limkamput on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 4:16 pm
1. Why not some of you say this is also pre-planned – i.e the teacher is purposely asked to insult so as to gallant Malay unity. After all, only the Indians would dare to demonstrate and create an issue out of this insult. As for Chinese, they will just wait for other parents to do it.
2. I remember Wee Ka Siong, the loud mouth, has earlier said the teacher should be sacked if the insult was true. May I know where is he now?
3. As usual I can expect MCA “to talk and no action” because this is its DNA
4. Now, what about PR and DAP. We have raised many pertinent and relevant issues here. But have we actually pursued one to its meaningful end?
5. Can we start with this one – making sure that the teacher get the punishment she deserved before we talk about other issues.
6. I guess not, because the DNA of PR is also fast mutating to be similar to those in BN.
#38 by Malaysian citizen on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 4:23 pm
The present UMNO government has ruled Malaysia for the past 50 years, and did anyone see any improvement at all at our races relation, the relationship between the Malays and others races has become worst compare to the time when Tunku Abdul Rahman was in-charge.
Therefore this has proven that all 4 PMs has fail to come out with a strategy to unit the Malaysian citizens during their time of governance.
Therefore their sons like Tun Razak’s son Najib, Tun Hunsin Onn’s son Hishamidin, Tun Mahatir’s son Mukhriz and Pak Lah’s son-in-law Khairy should all not lead the country in any position.
They should all step down and out of UMNO or any political party and let other more capable people unit the people of Malaysia.
#39 by Bernice Tang on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 4:27 pm
Hishamuddin is an idiot when he waved the keris like a madman. He is an idiot again for this racist episode. So he is an idiot left, right, center. Period.
#40 by Saint on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 4:38 pm
DAP only talks and no action. They should have instituted legal action and then posted it here. Pointless discussing a week old issue, that also written by another individual.
#41 by tenaciousB on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 4:38 pm
The indians are the smallest population and at risk for getting bullied by UMNO and the government. We must give them credit for fighting for their rights and persevering lately despite being blasted with water cannons, tear gassed, put under ISA. Now they are on a hunger strike for their leaders. Presently they are in the limelight with racial slurs hurled at them by a malay teacher who wasn’t punished accordingly. Fellow chinese brethrens use the majority advantage and stand up with these just causes, be not on the fence on these issues for if this is allowed and shunned away it will become cancerous and too late.
#42 by melurian on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 4:38 pm
The matter is still under investigation, and since “innocent until proven guily”, security must be given to the teacher so she’s transfered out. Probably there’s negotiation between the ministry, headmaster and the teacher and the the teacher insisted she’s innocent, and will not budge, and the HM and ministry probably compelled to give her offer to this school so that she would agree to move out to calm down the issue.
is there any clear eveidence that the teacher is guilty ? remember last time ketuk ketampi case you ppl straight away saying the girl was chinese, but who was wrong at the end. there could be a twist in this case, you know…..
#43 by grace on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 4:45 pm
You don’t expect any discipline from them on that rouge teacher. There were so many cases in the past of similar nature and no teacher was ever disciplined.
In fact the education department or parents should report the case to the police and let them charge her in court.
If you leave it to the education ministry ??? NOTHING WILL HAPPEN TO HER AND THIS INCIDENT WILL BE REPEATED IN THE NEAR FUTURE!!!
Where is the deputy Minister of EUCATION? Aiya, this is the time to show that Hisham is not up to the mark.
#44 by melurian on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 4:47 pm
why don the newspapers publish the student side of the story… of course the teacher could have uttered the remark in class where non-indian, malay, cina students could have heard it and attest the incident. why they don have any words on it.
I’d not discriminate, but some students who have “masalah disiplin” would have planned to teach the teacher they hated a lessson by creating some story to destroy her career. we have students raping, murdering and arsoning, what’s more accusing teacher being seditious and racist…..
#45 by Captain on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 4:48 pm
Is is silly to expect reason and just from a Minister who is the racist of all in Malaysia. He is a person who has no feelings. If he had any, he should have committed harakiri next day after BN lost so badly in the election due to his kerismania.
I tell you, mention his name, I am sure his grandfather the first ‘Bapa Multiracial Malaysia’ will coy with shame in the grave. He is a result of his sin or Husseins’s , he must be thinking.
I agree. Hishamuddin the the greatest idiot ever born on this soil. But I am not sure. Th eperson who appointed him a Minister could be a greater idiot?
SPEAK UP DAMIT. where are the non malay BN leaders? SPEAK NOW NOW NOW you bloody fools.
#46 by tenaciousB on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 4:54 pm
MCA and MIC is the biggest mistake non malays supported all these years, if only there was a law that allowed automatic dissolution once they lost the elections.
#47 by thaiming on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 5:05 pm
Captain, the non malay BN leaders has no POWER !!! u think HISHAM’s deputy dare to speak against him????
#48 by Jong on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 5:13 pm
Thanks oknyua. I will watch tv news closely tonight.
I’m puzzled why is the teacher’s name withheld?
I agree with tenaciousB suggestion that paparazzis should take pictures of this racist teacher so that the nation can see the mug face of this teacher if the government wants to protect and not punish her for her racial slur on her student.
This despicable teacher must be exposed and let her be embarrassed!
#49 by k1980 on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 5:27 pm
Captain asks Today at 16:48.09
“where are the non malay BN leaders? SPEAK NOW NOW NOW you bloody fools.”
Speak up? SAPP’s Yong Teck Lee spoke up and the ACA is now homing in for the kill over his corruption cases! If Samy V or Ong KT speaks up now, don’t be surprised their personal aides run off to the police and make sodomee charges against them!
#50 by cheng on on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 5:35 pm
Those parents / students slurred by her should continue to make her famous in her new school, advertise free for her, put up posters / flyers around her new school, see where can she hide?
Take a picture of her, put on you tubes etc.