2nd Abdullah premiership – is it to be even worse than 22-year Mahathir administraiton?

To many concerned Malaysians, the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, has shown his true colours yesterday – he is not that open, liberal and tolerant after all.

He laid down two edicts for his second administration:

• No open forums or dialogues on religious or racial issues as they can undermine peace and stability – no more discussion on matters of religion or race that had already been enshrined in the Federal Constitution; and

• No objection to the use of Internal Security Act and Sedition Act against those who organize such forums like the Bar Council – up to the Home Ministry to act against the Bar Council.

Is it any wonder that Malaysians react to such edicts with the premonition that the second Abdullah premiership could be even worse than the previous 22-year Mahathir administration?

In one fell swoop, Abdullah has backed his deputy, Najib Razak and the Home Minister, Syed Hamid Albar in lining up against the Bar Council for organizing the forum on Conversion to Islam to discuss the conflict of laws arising from civil and shariah court jurisdictions and Article 121(1A) of the Federal Constitution and freedom of expression in general, as well as gave back-handed approval if not outright embracing of the demonstrators who had successfully stormed and disrupted the Bar Council forum by dragooning the police into their service.

How ironic that Abdullah could make such a statement in the same breadth as talking about the importance of making Malaysia more attractive to encourage more foreign direct investment by having good governance – after chairing the first meeting of the Economic Council.

Was Abdullah unaware that he was in fact going against the fundamental principles and precepts of good governance in giving his blessing to the storming and disruption of the Bar Council forum by demonstrators on Saturday – which is not going to inspire confidence of investors, foreign or local, about the rule of law, the system of justice or the integrity of national institutions?

The media have published some MCA, Gerakan and MIC leaders speaking up in support of the Bar Council forum. The acid test is whether the leaders and Ministers of MCA, Gerakan, MIC and other Barisan Nasional component parties from Sabah and Sarawak are prepared to raise this issue in Cabinet tomorrow and the Barisan Nasional Supreme Council in an emergency meeting to demand that the fundamental right of the Bar Council and Malaysians to hold such forums should not be abridged or denied but must be respected and protected.
———————-
My Facebook supporters page.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 3:50 am

Whether the PM “has shown his true colours” is the small issue.

There is a larger one in which all are interested to find out, ie : what is the real reason behind political tsunamy of 8th March causing BN to lose Parliamentary 2/3 majority & 5 states?

It would not happen if a significant part of the Malay ground had not shifted against UMNO. What’s the real cause of that??

Then on March 8th and now, UMNO’s policy has been more or less the same : championing race and religion to stay in power.

More so now in aftermath of 8th March and confronting Permatang Puah by election and Anwar’s threats of iminent change of government from cross overs.

The Bar Council forum (especialy with its dissentient comprising Parti Rakyat KeAdilan & PAS’s members) provided the perfect bogeyman to the dominant party of BN that is presently in crisis (some say implosion), unable as yet to reinvent itself to address the multifarious grievances and disaffection of large segment of electorate against its policies, and in this state still wondering whether its loss of support of a segment of Malays, as had happened on March 8th, was largely due to the failure and irrelevance of Ketuanan policies or actually not but some other factors yet to be fully divined, which a present return to and re-emphasis on the well tried formula of traditional appeals to race and religion, that have worked so well in the past, might still yet be relevant to check the party’s decline and unite the factionalism ensuing from March 8th to confront the challenges of Permatang Puah and calls of 16th Sept change of govt.

So there is nothing new – this “no more discussion on matters of religion or race that had already been enshrined in the Federal Constitution” and “no objection to Home Ministry’s discretion to use the Internal Security Act and Sedition Act against those who organize such forums like the Bar Council”. It is an old tried formula reinvigorated : an almost predictable response arising from acute anxiety and self-doubt.

Malaysians have a stake to want to know what actually happened on March 8th 2008 to structure their lives in the future to come.

The important question : did March 8th really signify a seismic paradigm shift of electorate attitudes against the BN’s and UMNO’s platform and well tried formula of traditional communal politics?

Well this is not say that race and religion don’t matter any more or have lost entirely their appeals but that notwithstanding that they do matter and still have appeals, whether on balance, they would outweigh the electorate’s and in particular Malays’ esp. amongst the growing numbers of urbanised young voters’ tiredness of 50 years of continuous mis-governance : that is really the issue!

So, in a perverse sense, it is perhaps timely in the eve of the major battle in Permatang Puah leading to the decisive struggle for crossovers in the months ahead over the allegiance of BN’s members for the leader of BN to beat the chest on race and religion so that all would know whether they would score political brownie points or not much – and whether Malaysians in general and Malays in particular have crossed the Rubicon on March 8th 2008 making race/religion, which still matter, however matter far less than other considerations in the larger scheme of things….

We – and they in UMNO – will want to know and will soon know whether the Rubicon was unmistakably crossed 5 months ago if the BN/UMNO get roundly trounced by PKR/PR in Permatang Puah.

2. #2 by tenaciousB on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 6:03 am

Absolutely not, no malaysians will tolerate another badawi term. He must be removed from office if malaysia is to be dynamic again. All his ministers should leave as well. these fellows have been in office too long, they are in their comfort zone, cashing in the bribe cuts and have absolutely poor trac records in terms of serving the public.

If you remember perhaps 5 yrs ago, Tun mahathir raised the issue that most MPs are not attending parlimen which is their job and they are getting paid for nothing. Most are busy manning their side bussinesses. It long enough to let these counch potatoes man our country. Judging from the views out forward in this blog, malaysians are starting to mature and are aware of their rights, this is not kampung politics anymore, if one can’t perform, kick their asses out immediately, no one needs to suffer for these ministers inadequacies!

3. #3 by trublumsian on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 6:46 am

the forums are an opportunity to exchange views and agree to disagree. it is not a policy making meeting and will only do good by allowing laundry to be aired without cornering any one into a threatened spot. what abdullah did, however, was essentially tightened the tension by holding on to a don’t ask don’t tell taboo position. we all can see he is banning the forums not in the name of peace and stability, but peace and stability enough for him to weather the erosion in his power base, i.e PP election.

4. #4 by wtf2 on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 7:27 am

the entire malay mentality is suspect – do they really cherish a multiethnic nation? The malay culture is definitely not undergoing a “gemilang” phase- why? because the politicians are indoctrinating the malays with corruption, extremism and a whole lot more. If the malays don’t stand up and say “stop the rot” and embrace equality they will forever try to stamp down on the non-malays every which way they can. The world of course will begin to look at them with derision. Just imagine the response from the outside world to the statement ” I am a Malay from Malaysia”.

“Oh I see – next please”

5. #5 by Malaysian Mummy on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 7:41 am

Kasim Amat said “I am confident he will outperform his predecessor if we give him a chance to.”…Rakyat Malay replied “MY FOOT”.

Both of Pak Lah and Dr M have no equal in terms of enriching their families and cronies by way of abusing the rights of NEP for Malay communities and Indegenious Bumiputras in Sabah and Sawarak. Many local Bumiputras were worst off and hard core poor because of both PMs have rule almost 28 years enough is enough to destroy the rights of Malay. It is shameful for UMNO arrogant, greedy and corrupt leaders to fight for Ketuanan Melayu but they are destroying the future Malay generations with money politics, cronies, nepotism and corruption practises among the Malay communities.

Malay communities felt betrayed by UMNO Baru leaders today as compared with the good hearted and sincere UMNO Lama leaders were more clean and trustworthy in discharging their duties to protect the interests of all Malaysians and less racist in their government administrations.

Kasim Amat is too young age to learn from past good UMNO Lama leaders and corrupted mind by present BE EN leaders with money politics and cronies system. Please read more and growth up. Malay communities are crying FOUL and Betrayed by UMNO Baru …..The Judge said UMNO is FINE for RM218 million for 11th GE contracts . Malay hawker cried out loud : “PANDAN MUKA UMNO CORRUPT”.

As Malaysian see it and read it and write it today .

6. #6 by k1980 on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 8:10 am

The “PM for all malaysians”(sic) does not want non-bumis in UiTM
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Wednesday/Frontpage/2319771/Article/index_html

7. #7 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 8:18 am

The problem with your charge is that Malaysian are a very tolerant lot and some are already saying Badawi has to say what he says because he is heading into an UMNO election and is backed against the wall.

The thing is the excuse is not-relevant actually. Firstly, he could have chosen to stay silent on the matter rather than come out strongly. Secondly, its clear he is not going to be challenged and would just be embarassed at most come this Dec. election. at most if even. He is a lame duck UMNO president regardless given his annoucement of succession.

What Badawi risk more than anything else is to join a long list of failed Malay leaders starting with Sultans of 15/16th centuries who was always more concern about themselves and self-rigteousness. He will not even rank himself to be redeem in the future like Gorbachev is to the Russian although at one time he had a chance. History will look at any of his positive move as just a bankruptcy of ideas, not a commitment to an ideal.

Badawi cannot see that the storming of the Bar Council is a failure of Malay leadership, nothing more. Same the way the Sultans adopted Islam because it saw it as a tool to control his subject (how many Malay ask why is it no Sultanate ever had a council of Ulamas and they are always the head of religion of their state despite their poor education? How many Islamic schools did Sultans organized and paid for?). Its not about religion, its not about rights. Its simply a failure of leadership.

8. #8 by Godfather on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 8:28 am

Badawi has no capacity to think, so what he does or say is generally due to the thinking of someone else. No prizes for guessing who is doing the thinking for Badawi. Remember the incident where someone was foaming at the mouth and protesting against Condoleeza Rice at the US Embassy several years back ?

9. #9 by Godfather on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 8:32 am

Years from now, there will be a number of Made-in-Malaysia movies: the Village Id!ot…the Village Id!ot Strikes Again…the Village Id!ot and the Temple of Doom…the Dark Village Id!ot….

10. #10 by ahluck on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 8:36 am

Just a thought!
    when Anwar wins with the public support him to be PM, how if Agong steps in and says Anwar has Sodomy Case and he cannot be PM instead King choose his own candidate as PM! how ah?
    Malaysia anything can happen! Malaysia boleh! “Public vote important of Kings command”

11. #11 by tenaciousB on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 9:08 am

Dear bloogers,

This is today’s NST article!

GEORGE TOWN: Pas has warned that it would not be part of any new Federal Government formed by Pakatan Rakyat if the number of non-Muslim members of parliament outnumbered that of Muslim MPs.

The matter was brought up by Pas president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang at the Penang Pas convention here on Sunday.

State Pas Youth chief Mohd Hafiz Mohamed Nordin said Abdul Hadi received full support from the delegates when he announced the party’s stand.

He said the state Pas Youth supported Abdul Hadi’s stand.

“It is our hope that Pakatan Rakyat will continue to protect the interests of Muslims as is enshrined in the Federal Constitution.

“We hope this will be so if the Pakatan Rakyat goes on to form the Federal Government after Sept 16.”

He said the state Pas Youth hoped that the party’s stand would be accepted by Pakatan Rakyat leaders in line with their aspirations to bring about change in the country.

I seriously think PKR should remove PAS from PKR or else we may have a greater problem perhaps a more racist party than UMNO. Citizens beware

12. #12 by oknyua on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 9:09 am

Actually I envied Kassim Amat. She is quite bright – but made herself dumb and get paid by the posting she makes here. How I envy that job!!!

Kassim, I stand by my posting above. If Malaysia should descend to chaos and even bloodshed, I still point my finger at your boss, nobody else, not even Mahathir.

13. #13 by Anba on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 9:40 am

Dear Malaysians,
    The conversions of someone into the Islamic religion is surely a controversial issue thats been bothering our country for a long time.
    1. Is it only in Malaysia when a person ( who is not a Muslim) marries another who is a Musim, that the person who was not a Muslim has to convert to Islam? Which verse in the Quran or other Islamic scriptures that stresses this point?

2. In countries like India and USA, when someone marries a Muslim, they seem to be living happily and there is no nonsensical disturbances from the Syariah or any other Islamic officials. Thus, is this tactic of scaring people to convert only happens in countries like Malaysia?

3. Does the Almighty or the just God wants any individual to convert from one religion to another? Are we not all the Children of God? Or is this the works of fanatics of a particular religion to increase the population of thier folowers?

Can any Muslim enlighten us on this matter?

May truth and justice set us free.

God bless.

14. #14 by blablowbla on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 9:42 am

my dear all muslim friends,your religion teaches u 2 b fair n berusaha(work hard),i m rily sadden tat u all failed!

ur religion also encourages u ppl 2 help the weak,instead,u all “terang2″ bully thm!so arrogant n so “kurang ajar”!

ur racist leaders stood outside Bar Council n yelled:dlm ada satu ratus,kata di luar beribu2,patutkah kita masuk?patutkah kita masuk?patutkah kita masuk……..

my dear muslim frends,i noe majority of u like peace n support fairness,nevertheless,thr r not less muslims tat r extremed!

Malaysia is just a small country,whn v try 2 compare with singapore,how good thy r,u all said,thy r small,easy t b managed;when v try to compare with big countres like usa,gb,china n australia,u all said:no,thy r big,thy hv all the expertise!so,v ended-up equal 2 sudan,kenya,myanmar n zimbabwe!

if the statemnt made by ur racist leaders r correct,then u all sud shut ur mouths!bcos thr r more non-muslims than muslims in this only world!!!

if u all like 2 talk sensitive issues behind doors,infact,BN has done tat many2 times,but the problems unsolved!now,the rakyat want the experts(for instance,lawyers)to discuss n debate the article 121 issues,finding out the solutions,remedy the tensed situations which had occurred long-2 time!

if ur hadhari head dunno how 2 solve the problems,pls step down immediately!

n,if small group of attendants,u all said:hanya satu ratus,if 100,000 ,or 500,000 KL non-muslims went 2 the site?wat do u expect?stupid remarks made by stupid leaders!!!!!

15. #15 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 9:47 am

blablowbla, please don’t torture us readers and write not in the way you text your messages. Have some sympathy for readers who read with their eyes and not pronounce the words as they read!

16. #16 by Toyol on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 9:55 am

Tell me which minister from BN has ever done anything properly?
    1) Education Minister-racists teachers, schools always operate on deficits with hardly any allocation from govt
    2) Sports Minister-Nothing to show from the Olympics, our sports non-existence except for squash and badminton
    3) Trade Minister-whats to say…our economy is going down the drain with FDI going elsewhere
    4) DPM-accused murderer!
    5) PM-still sleeping!
    6) Works Minister-bad workmanship!
    7) Health Minister-what’s that?
    8) Home Affairs-Aiyoh!!!
    We are going the way of the dodo if we keep BN.Period

17. #17 by Kathy on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 10:09 am

Toyol, we are already headed the way of the dodo for some time already – only now that we are aware of it. To your question about which minister have perform his duties properly — it would be Dr Chua, former Health Minister. Too bad, his personal life scandal disrupted it.

The current ones are not doing their jobs at all. They only know how to create hatred and incite fear. Should get rid of all of them. By the way, why is Samy Vellu not called to explain about the MRR2 issue?

18. #18 by kcb on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 10:16 am

“blablowbla, please don’t torture us readers and write not in the way you text your messages. Have some sympathy for readers who read with their eyes and not pronounce the words as they read!”
    - undergrad2

I totally agree with undergrad2.

19. #19 by dbrutal on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 10:16 am

Migrate Guys,

It is un-believably surprising that with all the so called difficulties and dis-satisfaction that all of you are experiencing, and yet you guys are still in Malaysia.

You guys tok kok as if the situation in this country is worst than in Zimbabwe.

You will regret it for the whole of your life if this country turn into Zimbabwe like since it’s due to your own act guys

20. #20 by kcb on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 10:24 am

“…You will regret it for the whole of your life if this country turn into Zimbabwe like since it’s due to your own act guys”

I am not sure who is “tokking kok”.
    LOL

21. #21 by yyh on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 10:24 am

lks

he is the most clueless PM thsi country ever had.

can we celebrate when he step dwn in 2 years as scheduled? hell no, god forbids if the DPM becomes the PM especially with all the controversies around his neck.

the future sure looks very very hazy.

22. #22 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 10:50 am

Muhyiddin said: “I think Malaysia’s judicial system is as efficient and fair as any other judicial systems including Singapore.”

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/headlines/42-lead-stories/2902-singapore-malaysia-trade-hits-s58b-but-businesses-voice-concerns

23. #23 by milduser on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 10:52 am

ISAed for politicians, C4 for foreigners, and sodomee for ordinary citizens?

24. #24 by oknyua on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 11:03 am

YB Lim, what has our country descended down to? MRR2, sue counter sue? Immigration directors corruption, today another arrest of DG tourism Malaysia. Alleged corruption among ministers – I am not suprised anymore. Money laundering with minister. ACA checking umno men. ACA checking ministers. ACA cecking PM and DPM. Police against their own kind.

Almost everyday new case of corruption errupts.

What has happened to our country???

25. #25 by AhPek on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 11:14 am

That’s an interesting question posed by Jeffrey when he mused whether the Rubicon has actually been crossed on 8th March that is to say whether a tsunami of attitudinal change against BN has actually happened then.The result of PP will serve as a confirmation whether it will signal the arrival of the 2 party system which is really what Malaysia needs.Of course UMNO sensing that will do all her best to prevent this from happening as can be seen from the events of the last few days with UMNO touting away supremacy of the Malay race as well as Islam for these 2 issues they know will tuck at the heart string of the Malays.

26. #26 by tenaciousB on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 11:34 am

Interestingly the ACA is the most hardworking department in the country cf. government ministers and bodies. They are cracking down on all misdeeds. Perhaps they should be given more funding so that they may employ more workers to sort out all the corruptions within the government.

I wonder who’s next, samy vellu?

27. #27 by cheng on on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 11:54 am

BN or UMNO overspend for 2004 GE, why owe money and let supplier of banners sue?

28. #28 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 12:01 pm

oknyua Says:

Today at 11: 03.28 (46 minutes ago)
    YB Lim, what has our country descended down to? MRR2, sue counter sue? Immigration directors corruption, today another arrest of DG tourism Malaysia. Alleged corruption among ministers – I am not suprised anymore. Money laundering with minister. ACA checking umno men. ACA checking ministers. ACA cecking PM and DPM. Police against their own kind.

Almost everyday new case of corruption errupts.

What has happened to our country???

————————————-

These are the results of transformation that our beloved country needs to go through in order for her to be well again!!! It is a painful process, but it is necessary as what is rotten inside needs to be cleansed and healed. It is easier to say than done, but without going through this painful process, the same rots and ills will continue to pass down from one generation to another generation until the country collapse because of rampant corruption and incompetent “leaders” are running the country and making lousy decisions which will bring down the country in no time!!! It is not that there’re no corruption in the past, but they were covered up and seemed to be ok on the surface!!! I see the ACA working slowly towards a cleaner govt (hopefully it is not just due to one person in ACA but it should be a good system implemented) , but much more need to be done expecially at the highest level!!!

29. #29 by cheng on on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 12:03 pm

dbrutal Says:

Today at 10: 16.53 (1 hour ago)
    …….. in this country is worst than in Zimbabwe.

You will regret it for the whole of your life if this country turn into Zimbabwe like since it’s due to your own act guys…

Of course, Msia is still better than Zimbabwe, but no guarantee it will NEVER be like Zimbabwe! IF Msia ever turn into Zimbabwe, Regret Yes, BUT, it is SURELY NOT due to bloggers who support uncle Kit or DAP or PR.
    BUT due to rotting governing party, so pls don’t talk cock or rubbish by idiotic, moronic reasoning!

30. #30 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 12:05 pm

cheng on Says:

Today at 11: 54.56 (6 minutes ago)
    BN or UMNO overspend for 2004 GE, why owe money and let supplier of banners sue?
    ——————————
    Due to bad times, suppliers need to get back the money instead of empty promises of ordering of more banners in future, who can guarantee that BN will still be in power in the near future, better get back money than believing all the bullshits by BN!!!

31. #31 by k1980 on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 12:05 pm

ACA checking umno men. ACA checking ministers. ACA checking PM and DPM.. These are all sandiwara saja. I will vote for BN the monment ACA ARRESTS PM and DPM

32. #32 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 12:05 pm

cheng on Says:

Today at 11: 54.56 (6 minutes ago)
    ——————————
    Due to bad times, suppliers need to get back the money instead of empty promises of ordering of more banners in future, who can guarantee that BN will still be in power in the near future, better get back money than believing all the bullsh*ts by BN!!!

33. #33 by mohrafael on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 12:11 pm

We can see prevalent abuse of power, in many forms…i need not put them in detail. as reflected by true colours showing. Don’t waste more time, it’s time to use fists

34. #34 by tenaciousB on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 12:15 pm

Dear dbrutal,

you said:

“It is un-believably surprising that with all the so called difficulties and dis-satisfaction that all of you are experiencing, and yet you guys are still in Malaysia.
    You guys tok kok as if the situation in this country is worst than in Zimbabwe.
    You will regret it for the whole of your life if this country turn into Zimbabwe like since it’s due to your own act guys”

I say: It is a very cowardly statement, why? because we are malaysians born and bred here, our forefathers contributed to the very development of this country, when instability such as this emerge, we don’t cut our losses and run away! In fact we should brace ourselves and persevere whilst holding on to our principles which should be peace loving, law abiding and resentment towards injustices such as these issues raised. i sincerely believe we would not end up as zimbabwe God forbid, these are crucial times our country is going through transitional phase, it needs a more understanding and tolerant society to help it through it.

35. #35 by Yee Siew Wah on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 12:19 pm

This sleepy flipflop lame duck PM is talking crap when he said “no more discussion on matters of religion or race that had already been enshrined in the Federal Constitution”.
    Does this idiot know that enshrined in the Federal Constitution one can also have freedom of speech. We should be mature, honest and open enough after 50+ years of independence to discuss all issues involving the rakyat especially on race and religion which we are now worse off under these BN goons all these years. He is now trying to gain support from these extremist idiots by his actions. Instead of taking actions against these dump idiotic protesters including the police force in the recent Bar Council meeting, he try to harass the Bar Council members under ISA.

36. #36 by mysn1st on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 12:58 pm

Another obious prove that Malaysia is getting hopelless. It bullet prove now as YB said, we are getting beckwards.

37. #37 by lhslhv on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 1:04 pm

Nature is our best educator. For any natural system to function properly, the basic units of the system must be well maintained. Take for example, if we want fish in our rivers, we must not polute them. In additon we have to look after the jungles to prvent soil erosions. so that we do not turn our land into desert.

For a car to run, every sub-systems must paly its part.

If we want our society to prosper, we should have balanced development in all environments. Be it physical environment, education environment, social environment, political environment, economic environmet, religious environment and cultural environments,

Looking at our Malaysian scenario, education policy is hopeless (biase with no quality), political system is oppressive and race-based, social environment is not friendly and harmonious, economic conditions are not investor-friendly, religious environment is not tolerant and culturally we are so diversed without unity. Malaysia is so out of balance. It will topple in no time.

Based on these environments, Malaysia is indeed in a very bad shape.

If we want a developed Malaysia, all these envirnments have to be revamped. The only solution that can save Malaysia is a complete overhaul and change. Malysia is too corrupt for change with present UMNO-led government.

Malaysia need a new hero to save it from destruction because we cannot afford to have an unbalanced system

38. #38 by richard.wong8 on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 1:20 pm

I dun understand why must we here in Malaysia always bring religious and race into non related issues, e.g. UiTM, a place for education not matter what race or religion you are. Those who have good results and qualified for the enrollment, go ahead, and not those not qualified, why ‘force’ them self to enroll?
    Are we 50 years behind time?

39. #39 by Kasim Amat on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 1:28 pm

If comparing Malaysia with Singapore, it is not necessary that Malaysia is always behind Singapore. In terms of natural resources, there is no way Singapore can compete with Malaysia. Malaysia practise a more tolerate kind of policies which the ruling party does not simply sue the oppositions for defamation even there are plenty of chances for them to do that. Singapore will not tolerate any dissenting view on their policies. Just look at the plight of their opposition leaders and you will know. Further, Singapore promotes a society with strong elements of materialism with no substance of spiritual life. Malaysia is however more balanced on this whereby they place stronger focus at good religion practice. The problem of brain drain is mainly due the the strength of Singapore Dollar. If the currency of both countries are the same, I believe no one will ever willing to work in Singapore. Singapore is also a smaller country which is easier to manage comparing to Malaysia. Singapore is just a small town and should not be considered as a proper country. Do you know that the Malays in Singapore have been seriously marginalised until they have become totally brain washed as if they were being marginalised. Ask yourself, is this the country that we want? If comparing with China, Indonesia, Cambodia, Vietnam, Myanmar and Philippines, Malaysia is still far better in terms of living environment and I think it is due to the foresight and great leadership of our past UMNO leaders. Some degrees of corruption is inevitable and it is a very natural sign in any developing country. As long as the country is progressing, we don’t see it causes any big harm to the country at this stage. If we are to live happily, we have to be content with what we have and not keep pursuing what we don’t. Everyone must learn some teachings of Islam and we will live happily with each other.

40. #40 by Jong on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 1:43 pm

This village idiot is behaving more of an “Emperor” now! Is he not aware of our freedom of expression in Article 10 of Fed Constitution 1957?

What’s this umno-led BN Govt afraid of? What’s so seditious about solving religious issues via open forums and dialogues? What is this government afraid of that it’s not encouraging critical thinking and habitual analytical mind?

Religious issues has somewhat never been encouraged and has always deemed ’sensitive’ issue in this country, why?

What are umno politicians afraid of, their own shadows? So that they are able to control the masses, keep them opiated, cloud the rakyat’s mind to stir them up emotionally as a tool for their political motives as what just happened at Bar Council Forum on 9 August 2008?

It must be reminded that Islam does not belong to one particular race, it’s being embraced by many all over the world, not theirs alone.

41. #41 by swipenter on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 1:55 pm

Malay/Islam/Special privileges is akin to mixing water with water. You cannot separate them. This is the most successful branding by Umno of the malays to win their support in order to have political stranglehold over the country for the past 50 years. To maintain the branding no discussion is allowed on these sensitive issues supported by the ISA and the Sedition Act. Why would the political masters want to be more liberal and open about it now? Instead Umno is using race and religion to win back the support of the malays. We can see that PR is also riddled with racists and religious extremists. Unless the rakyat fight for what is right and good for the country irrespective of race and religion the future of our country would be in deeper trouble than the dire straights that we are in now. Perhaps the forces of globalisation would knock some sense into our politicians to work for the country instead of themselves.

42. #42 by taxpayer on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 2:10 pm

AAB is a rotten PM, but the one who puts him there is worst. It is because of the latter that he behaves in this manner. His successors from UMNO will be like that. No radical reforms but only a variation of the existing system. Any reform in the judiciary ?, the PDRM ?, the ACA ?, the list can go on and on.

43. #43 by Godfather on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 2:10 pm

“Everyone must learn some teachings of Islam and we will live happily with each other.” My bisnes partner, Kasim Amat.

Hey, is stealing condoned under Islam ?

44. #44 by cheng on on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 2:12 pm

Kasim Amat Says:

Today at 13: 28.34 (41 minutes ago)
    If comparing Malaysia with Singapore, it is not necessary that Malaysia is always behind Singapore. In terms of natural resources, there is no way Singapore can……Singapore is just a small town and should not be ……
    This fellows is either very ignorant or half sleeping!

45. #45 by Godfather on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 2:13 pm

Kasim is right. Don’t compare us with Singapore. Singapore doesn’t have APs. Singapore doesn’t have resources. Singapore doesn’t have our rich heritage. Singapore doesn’t have thieves. What a bummer….

46. #46 by Godfather on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 2:15 pm

This fellow is being paid by Mike Tyson each time he makes a posting on an Opposition blog…so let’s humour him, and allow him to “cari makan” from UMNO. One fine day, when UMNO stops paying him like they stop paying their banner suppliers, then my bisnes partner Kasim will stop the parrotting on this blog.

47. #47 by cheng on on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 2:33 pm

Accoding to Kasim Amat reasoning—-Yes, Spore is no where near Msia, Spore don’t hv a town councillors able to built a mansion which cost more than 33 years his councillors income. Spore dont spent so much money to maintain / upgrade their road flyover like what we did / will do for MRR2 kepong flyover. They are so poor!
    Spore bankers so stupid don’t know how to make money, sell their US$ only at SG$1.40 (so cheap) to their Rakyat!

48. #48 by Godfather on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 2:42 pm

Singapore so stupid…don’t know how to produce cars. It proves our technology is so much better. They can’t beat us in our growth rate – population growth rate lah. They can’t even beat our cabinet size….

49. #49 by NewDAP on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 3:03 pm

Singapore does not has racist MARA, Malaysia does.
    S’pore does not has racist MARA students and officers, Malaysia has.
    Singapore does not has racist Mamaktahi, malaysia does
    Singapore does not has racist history teacher, malaysia does.
    Singapore does not has racist UMNO, malaysia does.

50. #50 by kcb on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 3:22 pm

Dear Kasim, let me assist you where you have left out:
    - Malaysia have sent a tourist into space but have Singapore sent?