2nd Abdullah premiership – is it to be even worse than 22-year Mahathir administraiton?

To many concerned Malaysians, the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, has shown his true colours yesterday – he is not that open, liberal and tolerant after all.

He laid down two edicts for his second administration:

• No open forums or dialogues on religious or racial issues as they can undermine peace and stability – no more discussion on matters of religion or race that had already been enshrined in the Federal Constitution; and

• No objection to the use of Internal Security Act and Sedition Act against those who organize such forums like the Bar Council – up to the Home Ministry to act against the Bar Council.

Is it any wonder that Malaysians react to such edicts with the premonition that the second Abdullah premiership could be even worse than the previous 22-year Mahathir administration?

In one fell swoop, Abdullah has backed his deputy, Najib Razak and the Home Minister, Syed Hamid Albar in lining up against the Bar Council for organizing the forum on Conversion to Islam to discuss the conflict of laws arising from civil and shariah court jurisdictions and Article 121(1A) of the Federal Constitution and freedom of expression in general, as well as gave back-handed approval if not outright embracing of the demonstrators who had successfully stormed and disrupted the Bar Council forum by dragooning the police into their service.

How ironic that Abdullah could make such a statement in the same breadth as talking about the importance of making Malaysia more attractive to encourage more foreign direct investment by having good governance – after chairing the first meeting of the Economic Council.

Was Abdullah unaware that he was in fact going against the fundamental principles and precepts of good governance in giving his blessing to the storming and disruption of the Bar Council forum by demonstrators on Saturday – which is not going to inspire confidence of investors, foreign or local, about the rule of law, the system of justice or the integrity of national institutions?

The media have published some MCA, Gerakan and MIC leaders speaking up in support of the Bar Council forum. The acid test is whether the leaders and Ministers of MCA, Gerakan, MIC and other Barisan Nasional component parties from Sabah and Sarawak are prepared to raise this issue in Cabinet tomorrow and the Barisan Nasional Supreme Council in an emergency meeting to demand that the fundamental right of the Bar Council and Malaysians to hold such forums should not be abridged or denied but must be respected and protected.
———————-
My Facebook supporters page.

1. #1 by a-malaysian on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 2:57 pm

As long as umno is running this country, Malaysia is surely going the way of Zimbabwe and many other third world countries. What bodohwi is trying to say is “do not challenge me or you will be ISA’ed”, I want to stay in power as long as I want and nobody is gonna stop me, period.

Citizen of Malaysia, is this the type of government that you want? If not, then you should all know what to do in this coming by election at Permatang Pauh and the next General Election.

We need to fully change government and there is no other options, its A DO OR DIE MISSION.

Blood-Suckers

GE 13 – No matter what, we must ensure that racist umno bn do not regain the power like they had for the past fifty years.

2. #2 by haris01 on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 2:59 pm

ISA is for those who brings up religion matters….
    no body have any right to even question an religion….
    we all all the middle age civilians…..so….
    how come some [deleted] can become suddenly clever about religion….???
    just follow each religion like how it is yesterday….tq

3. #3 by oknyua on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 2:59 pm

Mahathir, for all his ways, was never in the Ulamaks’ good book. In fact he was directly confrontational against the ulamaks. Under him religious extremism was curtailed. During the 1998 Mahathir vs Anwar, many of non-Muslims preferred Mahathir, referring to him as the “lesser of two evils.” Anwar was seen as too Islamic. In this aspect I would rather have Mahathir than Abdullah anytime.

In respect to the Home Ministry, Mahathir imposed draconian grip for an “idea that he was clear about.” Abdullah in my opinion, make edict without really thinking or knowing what it is all about. Many evils of today started with Mahathir, that is true, but the evil caused by Abdullah will be tragic. He had unleashed the power of the extremism. Some of the evils surfaced already, but tragedy of the future won’t be limited to just name calling or body snatching.

4. #4 by haris01 on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 3:06 pm

based in my analysis….
    this country is gonna [deleted]-up really good….in a angle of racist..identify a racist get rid of him/her….tq

5. #5 by lhslhv on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 3:18 pm

The difference between Abdullah and Mahathir is the latter makes his own decision while the former does not.

6. #6 by kiren on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 3:24 pm

i duno- but personally i think mahathir is so much better… well he was much more modernized….for whateva we are today.. i feel its all becuz of him..thats y he is called as modernized father.. i think to be a leader .. you must always look at the background fundamental of a person.. remeber folks.. mahathir was a doctor….before prime minister.. my parents used to say beside his house back than in alor star… my mom use to go to his clinic for her asthma… and we were very poor… my mom told mie that she use to get free treatment… cus mahathir had two types of patients coming to his clinic.. looking at the address of the patient he will charge or he wont charge… ( free medication and consultation) – we were poor people… and we are not muslim or malay… yet my father and brothers and mother gets free medication. my sister told mie.. she was jobless before 1981… but after mahathir became minister- he open up 80 000 jobs for ppl in malaysia… which my sisters both got jobs… and mind you again we are not muslim or malays…. well you cant deny other exceptional things.. that might had happen during his premiership… but he was so much better than badawi… thats what i can say… do you know the moment i heard from the radio in my car that badawi is going to take place of mahathir – i told to my frens and family ( that hope so we dunt have to eat porridge with salt!!)

7. #7 by dranony on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 3:38 pm

Although the topic is wrt the Second Abdullah administration,
    I’d like to comment on the First Abdullah administration.
    It’s in the news (NOT the MSM, though) recently that a High Court ruled that
    “UMNO has to pay up RM218million.”
    But subsequently an UMNO lawyer argued that “It was BN, not us!”
    (see Malaysiakini)

Actually, if we were to examine the wider implications of this High Court judgment, and the subsequent UMNO claims ie that “it is BN’s spending” –
    it would mean that the entire BN government is guilty of election offences,
    and thus the entire BN government of 2004 (yes, the first Abdullah administration, the one with the biggest majority) –
    is ILLEGAL!

According to the Election Act 1954, parliamentary seat candidates cannot spend more than RM200,000 for election campaigning, while state seat candidates cannot spend more than RM100,000.
    Therefore the total budget for BN election spending for their 222 parliamentary seats and 505 state seats should NOT have been more than RM95million.

To have spent RM218million, would have meant that the entire BN machinery has overspent, to the tune of twice the legal limit on election campaigning.

8. #8 by max2811 on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 3:41 pm

Nothing is good about BN/UMNO. Chase them out of the country. Chase them back southeast, way south. Stupidity reigns inthis country.

9. #9 by jjireh99 on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 3:42 pm

people are very strange, isn’t it? When present pm is out of favour, we tend to go back and compare the former and suddenly everybody is preferring tdm to bdw! It doesn’t make sense now. We have to vote for change! People, please, we cannot go back and bring back the past. tdm IS THE PAST. DSAI IS THE FUTURE!!

10. #10 by Malaysian citizen on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 3:43 pm

From what the pak Lah said yesterday has shown their true colours.
    ISA is an UMNO law, what jail before trial, only cowards like UMNO could be so inhumane and a big bully of the Nation.
    All racial disharmony is created by the UMNO bunch so that they can continue to take bribes and corruption can continue.
    The day when the races join hands is day when UMNO will be kicked out, that is the reason why they will continue to incite racial disharmony.
    The police and other government departments are their soldiers, they have no law, and their instruction is only from UMNO, whether it is right or wrong, these soldiers will just do it.
    Please don’t believe a single words they say, vote them out 100% in the coming election.
    We can and will only be a true Malaysia Malaysian without UMNO.

11. #11 by smeagroo on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 3:44 pm

he tried to be clean but ended up as a pile of dung.

he tried to be nice but ended up as a nasty dimwit.

tell me one good thing abt this sleepy head?

he tried to act stupid and he succeeded without trying.

12. #12 by RKP on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 3:56 pm

It has got to do with the way they think.

If they think they have ‘lost’ out on reasoning, than they would use the animal instinct in them to ‘capture’ the prey, squeeze it,chew it and spit- out the remains.To them the problem is solved.

But what they don’t know is that,they are leading an ‘animal kingdom’ in their own eyes. Some ‘animals’ move in a herd. They might retaliate and might tear you to ‘pieces’.

If you treat humans like animals, you will get the ‘animal’ reaction from humans.

The good news is most Malaysians are truly reasonable human beings. They do not want to behave like animals and do not expect to be treated like one too.

So if you feel you are the only ones in Malaysia who think it is alright to behave like animals go ahead and enjoy yourselves to the maximum because, as soon as Pakatan comes into power, they are going to ‘cage’ you up and rehabliltate you effectively until you see human reasoning and its capacity.

13. #13 by Mr Smith on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 3:59 pm

By threatening non-Malays/Muslims is a hollow display of strength – by an idiot PM who is fighting for his dear political life.
    Every utterance from now on will be to consolidate Malay unity and prop up his fast plummeting popularity.

14. #14 by Hishamuddin on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 4:14 pm

As we see it. There is this BN shi[p. It is sinking after been torpedo in the last election.

The captain does not know what to do. He is getting desperate, panic and crying for a miracle. He hear anything, he is willing to try it out, hopping a miracle will save his ship.

He have already his life jacket on already and ready to abandon ship anytime.

15. #15 by Tulip Crescent on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 4:20 pm

We have no quarrel with Umno, only with Umno Baru.

The only one we have to torpedo is Umno Baru, not Umno.

Umno has already been declared illegal.

16. #16 by Captain on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 4:25 pm

Abdullah Badawi is not fit to be Malaysia’s Prime Minister. He is so stupid. His mouth and his brains are disconnected. He does even know that the Constitution guarantees.

He tried to turn Islam in hadhari, now he is misintrepreting freedom guaranteed to all malaysians. He is not peturbed with the gross injustice his admin is doing to the minority. Is he only PM for the Malays?

The PM, Najis and Hamid are traitors to the Nation and traitors to Islam.

Let the Govt know, this is the feeling of 99% of Malaysians.

If the MCA, MIC, Gerakan and all non malay parties do not speak out now, suggest we pelt them with rotten eggs if they come to your area to speak about championing minority issues.

SPEAK NOW damit you non malay Barisan leaders!!!! NOW NOW NOW, you stupid fools.

17. #17 by Captain on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 4:30 pm

It is so sad, Badawi istead of supporting the civilised people in the forum, he is backing the monkeys, donkeys and the pigs that we demonstrating outside.

He is supporting PKR and PAS. He is dinging is own grave.

18. #18 by RKP on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 4:32 pm

“No open forums or dialogues on religious or racial issues as they can undermine peace and stability – no more discussion on matters of religion or race that had already been enshrined in the Federal Constitution; and”

Abdullah says the above but…..

Sharizat says “lets declare ‘jihad’ on Anwar”

“No more matters on religion” but this kind of statements come from a ‘failure’ or a ‘drop-out’ from Um-No.

I don’t know what this miserable country is coming too?
    Just get them out of our sight,Pakatan.

19. #19 by wtfm on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 4:53 pm

dranony wrote

According to the Election Act 1954, parliamentary seat candidates cannot spend more than RM200,000 for election campaigning, while state seat candidates cannot spend more than RM100,000.
    Therefore the total budget for BN election spending for their 222 parliamentary seats and 505 state seats should NOT have been more than RM95million.

To have spent RM218million, would have meant that the entire BN machinery has overspent, to the tune of twice the legal limit on election campaigning.

interesting very interesting….

20. #20 by limkamput on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 4:57 pm

I just wonder the protest at the Bar Council forum would be so vehement without the participation of PKR and PAS members and MPs. So stop worrying about the lack of meaningful action from MCA, MIC and Gerakan. I am not disappointed with them because they are expected to be so. How about PAS and PKR? Have they openly condemned and disciplined those involved in that fracas. And why is the MP of Kulim Bandar Baru doing a Bala or Dr Osman act?

21. #21 by despin on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 4:59 pm

It is quite obvious that Umno is happily stoking the fire on the Bar Council ill-timed forum on conversion. The more we debate about it, the more we play into their hands. Let’s remain united and stay focus on the crucial Permatang Pauh by-election.

22. #22 by Godfather on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 5:10 pm

Limkamput: We are waiting for Zulkifli Nordin’s SD, which will claim that he was forced to protest vehemently by someone holding his family hostage.

Bolehland’s favourite game is still Hide and Seek.

23. #23 by bystander on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 5:19 pm

this country has no hope as long as umno/pkr/pas is in charge. just look at recent events:
    1. bar council forum-no freedom of discussion?
    2. show cause letter to Herald – no freedom of religion and speech?
    3. teacher hurling racist slurs at indians promoted-double standards. if she is nonmalay hurling unislamic slurs she would be under ISA or death threat- indian third class citizen?
    4. police condoning protesters at forum-why water cannon and tear gas nor used on the protesters which were used on Hindraf protesters-double standards?
    5. MRR2 debacle-are corrupted culprits let off?
    6. Altantuya murder-relevant witnessess not called- is the trial a sandiwara?

24. #24 by k1980 on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 5:22 pm

The mullah’s third edict: No money for you, because all the money’s for me

25. #25 by limkamput on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 5:22 pm

according to undergrad2 it is cop and robber.

26. #26 by atlk on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 5:33 pm

crap.

I can only say one thing -> grow up kids.

27. #27 by atlk on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 5:36 pm

when you look around, you thought hey, these people are grown ups. they should be able to think more openly and know how to differentiate between good and bad. physically, they are grown ups. mentally, they are babies.

28. #28 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 5:39 pm

Mahathir & Badawi, the difference is one is clever to wipe his mouth after eating.
    latest classic on 2004 Election, how can you spent Rm218million on campaign materials alone when you are only legally allowed to spend less than Rm95million in total?
    http://malaysiakini.com/news/87653
    Badawi is really exposing himself with his pants down this time. What an international joke. Another bad day for Malaysia. Sigh!
    Badawi & his cabinet owe our Agong an explanation. This is far worse than any sodomy.

29. #29 by Bobster on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 5:49 pm

People generally losing hope with this sinking ship leads by AAB. Just talk to the general public you will find out the ground sentiment. If not because of this even more hopeless Najib, rakyat continue to sustain AAB for the time being before a more capable leader ready to take over when the time is right.

9MP is a very good example why AAB should be kicked out before yr end. Till today Mr PM still trying to fool with the rakyat toking kok abt mega projects and corridors and continue to ignore the very fundamental and basic necessities of the general public eg improving public transportation so that people have an option not to drive when crude oil hits historical high again in future. Effect of globalization continues to be ignored by the gomen. Mr PM and cronies still in their dream think today is the same as yesterday.

Goodbye BN!

30. #30 by alancheah on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 5:51 pm

It is truely sad to see how the existing leaders
    lead this country. Hope that the 2nd BIG political
    Tsunami will come soon!

31. #31 by Sagaladoola on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 5:52 pm

To answer your question according to my own opinion, YB ….

YES, IT IS

Regards,
    http://sagaladoola.blogspot.com

32. #32 by Yee Siew Wah on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 6:12 pm

AS long as we have this sleepy flipflop PM running the country we forget about moving forward. Telling the rakyat that sensitive issues like religion and race cannot be discussed openly in public. This is the very reason we r in shit today in terms of race and religion in particular. What crap was he talking.
    After 50+ we should be open and mature enough to discuss ALL ISSUES affecting the rakyat irrespective. Now he behaves like the champion of his race and religion because he knows he is going to go down in history as the worst PM Malaysia ever have. From hero to below zero.

33. #33 by wanderer on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 6:15 pm

Mahathir administration to Abdullah is like sitting on a water slide board going down from bad to worst. The former did a ‘control robbing’ of the govt coffer and the latter, out of control robbing. The bottom line is, both are doing the same, the master know how to wipe his mouth after stealing, the apprentice is not that sophisticated more exposed. As long as UMNO runs the country, don’t dream of any change.

34. #34 by devilmaster on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 6:42 pm

The media have published some MCA, Gerakan and MIC leaders speaking up in support of the Bar Council forum.

talk,talk,talk. And this is what MCA, Gerakan, MIC could do. The only difference is these bunch of people are more “talkatve” than last time. But their principles stay the same. Nothing changed, will forever remain as eunuch as long as they can participate and put their hands into the national coffers.

Umno political hegemony..

35. #35 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 6:51 pm

Abdullah’s premiership has shown him to be the worst Malaysian PM since our independence. Period.

36. #36 by badak on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 6:57 pm

The issue is the bar forum… This UMNO, PAS and some in Keadilan, don,t even know what the issue is all about yet they blindly storm the forum… The forum is about NON MUSLIM who are being effected by the two diferrent laws we have in our country.
    The issue is about Muslim converts using the SHARIAH COURT to their advantage.
    I can go on and on.Is this how religion is use to control the minority.

37. #37 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 7:04 pm

It seems that people like AAB, Najis and Hamid do not understand Vision 2020. Perhaps in their minds, for Malaysia to become a developed country, the government needs only raise GNP per capita to US$11,500 (current threshold to qualify a country as “developed”), improve Malaysian technologies and make sure Malaysians are morally sound and well behaved. Yes, these are some of the pre-requisites for a country to claim “developed” status, but there are other more important aspects for a developed country.

In 1993 the European Council created the Copenhagen criteria. To join the European Union (which is made up of a group of developed countries) an applicant country must meet the Copenhagen criteria. In other words, the Copenhagen criteria sheds light on the definition and characteristics of a developed country. Below is the Copenhagen criteria:

1) Stability of institutions guaranteeing democracy, the rule of law, human rights and respect for and protection of minorities.

2) The existence of a functioning market economy as well as the capacity to cope with competitive pressure and market forces within the Union.

3) The ability to take on the obligations of membership including adherence to the aims of political, economic and monetary union.

Item (3) above is irrelevant to Malaysia since it does not intend to become a European Union country. Items (1) and (2) probably give the definition and characteristics of a developed country. We cannot deny that Malaysia has fulfilled item (2), that is, Malaysia has a market economy and the capacity to cope with GLOBAL competitive pressure and market forces. However, Malaysia has only partially fulfilled item (1). I would give Malaysia a score of 60% for this item. I believe the country still has to work hard at item (1) before it can claim “developed” status (by European Union definition).

38. #38 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 7:08 pm

Umno and BN can break all rules and still get away with it! RM218 million and more spent in the 2004 GE!

No open forums or dialogues on religious or racial issues and no objection to the use of Internal Security Act and Sedition Act against those who organize such forums like the Bar Council!

Wow, is this part of AAB’s Islam Hadhari?!

39. #39 by Kasim Amat on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 7:15 pm

As a responsible citizen, we should not make comparison between the two Premiers as each of them have their own strengths. Both possess the qualities and the right characters of what a Prime Minister should have. I will say to make comparison between the two is like comparing Ronald Reagan with John Kennedy. Both are the saviours of the country and both lead Malays and other races to continue to win in the competitive international environment. Both deserve equal credits on their outstanding leaderships. Maybe Tun Mahatir is slightly at the advantage because he has led the country for 22 years and everyone can see his results and contributions. We should give Abdullah Badawi more time to prove himself to be fair. It is too early to judge him now. Abdullah Badawi is more open minded but yet he is a determined person. I am confident he will outperform his predecessor if we give him a chance to.

40. #40 by PSM on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 7:18 pm

Permatang Pauh voters please take note!

41. #41 by Blue.kinetic on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 7:25 pm

Hello YB Kit,

DAP DOUBLE FACE too? See quote below.PR not even in full charge of country but look likes not getting better than BN. first, DAP municial got summon( girlfrend operated un-licience pub), 2nd with PAS leader and PKR MP acts at Bar council forum. Now want to use ISA? what else will come up. Please don’t dissapoint me further. Pls.

“Its state deputy chief[DAP Negri Sembilan State] and Senawang asemblyman P. Gunasekaren said police should have arrested the demonstrators rather than allowed three of them to enter the Bar Council office, which was private property.

“It is sad that the police allowed them to dictate terms. The demonstrators should be arrested and detained under the Internal Security Act for stoking racial sentiments,” he said when met at the district police station in Seremban 2.”

42. #42 by just a moment on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 7:26 pm

Abdullah has been given enough opportunity before entire country becomes catastropied. These belongs to ‘trash’ not history worthy. K Amat, between DM and Abdullah, one is a Field Mashall and the other General, both are dictators- period!
    Don’t shame US presidents lah pls. Its like comparing a pea and a planet.DSAI will become the next PM, God’s willing.

43. #43 by Godfather on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 7:35 pm

You guys are giving Badawi (and my bisnes partner Kasim Amat) too much credit.

When Badawi first assumed power, it was recommended that he remove the ISA. So he did – he removed the then CM of Negeri Sembilan.

44. #44 by Blue.kinetic on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 7:35 pm

Kasim, 1 or 2 times doing wrong ok lah, but Bodowi keep doing wrong. Look like he never learn. Well, somebody is never learn no matter how you teach them. Bodowi is one of them. His style is leading this country nowhere. You think he will change his style and mind? He can’t. That is all his quality. Manage country is no joke, but Bodowi seem tak apa lah. Makan ubi pun boleh kenyang.

45. #45 by Godfather on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 7:37 pm

Let’s give Badawi more time. Let’s give him time to pass his Statistics 101. Then give him time to pass his economics 101. Let’s given him a total of 22 years before we make any comparison with the Mamakthir.

46. #46 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 7:49 pm

If AAB could say “no more discussion on matters of religion or race that had already been enshrined in the Federal Constitution”, immediately I know he is a very simple minded and naive person. AAB just can’t sweep the “conversion” problem under the carpet. Can’t he see the victim and his family are suffering and crying for help?

Sad to have an inept PM.

47. #47 by Godfather on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 7:59 pm

Only a village idiot would say this:

“What we did had the approval of the party’s supreme council. It’s not like me and Najib made a secret pact and conspired to politically bribe party members,” he told a press conference in Serdang.

So the whole supreme council sanctioned the corruption, and it’s OK. Illegality is in the eyes of the beholder.

48. #48 by cancan on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 8:01 pm

This man is making comments and decisions according to the winds of change.
    When a leader is weak,he can be easily influenced and pressured by the Umno gang.

Link: http://www.kingsmary.blogspot.com/

49. #49 by Godfather on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 8:14 pm

Kasim:

While your boss is still totally confused, can we increase our AP allocations ? Malaysia Boleh !

50. #50 by Loh on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 8:17 pm

Race and religion is the bread and butter of UMNO. If the myth of their sensitity is removed, these leaders will have nowhere to lead their followers to.

AAB has been getting attention of his impending removal by UMNOputras who have lost their business opportunities. He has to divert attention even by invoking emergency rule. His utterances are meant to pave the way so that something could happen by 15 September.

51. #51 by Tulip Crescent on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 8:18 pm

Kasim Amat

As it is, he has outperformed all his predecessors in the Flip-Flop department. I do not think future prime ministers can equal or better that record.

Haiya, if we have sodomy as an event in the Olympics, Malaysia will be sure to get a Gold medal, nothing less.

Remember, with his time-table for departure in 2009, Pak Lah will be the third longest-serving prime minister of Malaysia.

Dr Mahathir – 22 years 3 months
    Tunku Abdul Rahman – 7 years as PM of Malaysia
    6 years as PM of Malaya
    Pak Lah 6 years and a few months, depending on when he retires.
    Hussein Onn – 5 years 6 months
    Tun Razak – 5 years 3 months

52. #52 by Loh on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 8:26 pm

///I am confident he will outperform his predecessor if we give him a chance to.///–kasim amat

Both of them have no equal in terms of enriching their families and cronies. TDM has destroyed the country, but he claimed that he did it for his people and the religion. AAB knew that TDM was a sinner to the country, but he was happy to take advantage of the system TDM created.

Both are liabilities, and it really does not matter who wins in their efforts to create hell for Malaysia.

53. #53 by Loyal Malaysian on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 8:39 pm

I hope not.
    Though there are ominous signs, I’ll like to believe that despite all his shortcomings as a leader, he is basically a decent guy.

54. #54 by monsterball on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 8:40 pm

Now guys are comparing Mahathir and Dollah..like two..film stars…who is better or worst..totally forgetting…..both are from UMNO and we are going all out… to vote against corruptions and massive mismanagement of our country.
    But if judging Dollah is what we are after…then this man knows his and UMNO days are numbered.
    Mahathir is a much smarter ..more cunning..thicker skin..crook than Dollah.
    Dollah is trying to save his own skin….and by doing so……..is showing what type of person he is.
    Right now…he dare not say…….he is People’s PM anymore….too shameful.

55. #55 by just a moment on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 8:55 pm

GOOD NEWS! PETALING JAYA: Two former leaders of the Bandar Tun Razak Umno division led 148 members to cross over to PKR
    Bandar Tun Razak PKR deputy chief Othman Karim.
    “He said … he prefers to work for the people, not only for the Malays,” said Othman.Thats what I call true Rakyat. Listen, Not only for Malays.

56. #56 by kutlakut on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 8:58 pm

Don’t everyone see that the wrong policy that is detrimental to our country now is squarely on the shoulders of the BN coalition partners? If they are in agreement with the present PM, then we have nothing to say except that voters made a terrible mistake in electing the BN . It is going to be a long long time of regrets.

But if they know that we are in a headlong plunge into the abyss, and that they are accountable for this disaster, then they had better put a stop to it as UMNO alone cannot misrule.

Either of the two scenarios, it is imperative we must throw out all BN people in the next election.

It is now up to the folks in PP in his by-election.

57. #57 by badak on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 8:58 pm

For once i agree with kasim amat.You cannot compare Tun Dr M and PAK LAH.Just that with Tun Dr M he rule with an iron fist.But with PAK LAH. He rule while half asleep.
    With Tun Dr M,When he speaks he speaks with authority.But with PAK LAH.When he speaks,he sounds like he had just woke up from a long nap.

58. #58 by limkamput on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 9:15 pm

It is just so funny.

Selangor MB Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim suggested UiTM opens 10 percent of its admission to non Malays. The Prime Minister, in response, said that Khalid has no power to do so. On top of that UiTM students (thousands of them) gathered at Khalid’s office demanding him to rescind the suggestion.

The argument of the students was UiTM has this “special tradition” – a tradition that the university is solely Malays from its inception. See how archaic some of the people in this country have become. It is like USA trying to keep its all white schools or universities in the 1960s. So, we are in a way half a century behind in mental development.

It is so funny I must say. I thought with non Malay students, perhaps UiTM could become more competitive to face the world. I just wonder why some Malays dislike other races so much. Are they not bored mixing with their own people? Is it part of their psyche or is it because they are indoctrinated from young.

Frankly, if today UiTM is opened to other races, I don’t think many non-Malays may even want to join the university. I must say those in UiTM are really “ketinggalan zaman” (left behind) people. It is not that they don’t want us. We may not even want to join them.

I think there are good reasons for Tan Sri Khalid to make such a suggestion. I think he could see the hollow and stupidity of single race institutions. He could see that unless the Malays change and adapt quickly, nothing in this country could work. The non-Malays population is getting smaller proportionately and many are migrating. If we want a dynamic and vibrant Malaysia, the Malays must be efficient and dynamic.

59. #59 by Godfather on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 9:18 pm

See, you said that PR hasn’t done anything worth remembering !

60. #60 by Godfather on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 9:19 pm

Add to Khalid’s bold move is Nizar’s move to make all Perak land sales subject to open tender.

61. #61 by dasty on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 9:22 pm

PR is definitely not that open, liberal and tolerant after all, too!! By the looks of it, the few PKR members in the protest are definitely on the same stand as Abdullah – wanting no discussion/forum on religious (or can we say just Islam?) matters.

Unless anyone from PR stands out and voice out their stand on this matter, I’m not having that much faith in them. Hypocrisy much? With BN being so incompatible and the recent happenings on the protest being related to PR, I’m on the brink of being in despair for the country’s future.

But being a country’s leader, Abdullah’s actions like this is definitely disgusting. What’s wrong with a healthy discussion on religious matter? It’s not like the religions is getting bashed in anyway.

62. #62 by shortie kiasu on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 9:36 pm

Yes, it is no big deal for non malays to join uitm, it is not ‘sour grapes’.

Afterall for the last 30 over years mara institute has been in existence solely for the malays and ‘uitm’ is just an offshoot of mara institute, a change of name but the quality of education, training & moulding of young characters in the context of ‘ketuanan melayu sahaja’.

Non malays have excelled in the sphere of education, training, skill, knowledge, technology and science for the last 50 years without the full aids of government as compared to the malays.

Generally such pampering for malays had resulted in churning out tons of unemployable graduates except in the government service and government linked corporations, where all posts and jobs are reserved exclusively for the malays.

Over the years the malays have generally becomes so protective of themselves of the ‘privileges’ and ‘rights’ that would further deteriorate their self reliance and determination to survive in adversity, and a race that is heading nowhere but depending on others to support them.

Who pay the most taxes in this country to support these ‘privileges’ and ‘rights’?

It cannot be like manna dropping from the sky, can it?

It is hard working and resilient groups that are supporting the crutched members of the country.

To other groups, it is a shame; but to them it is privileges and rights.

That is the type of democrazy practised here, but nobody is allowed to comment or criticise as it is classified as sensitive.

63. #63 by Loh on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 9:47 pm

///No open forums or dialogues on religious or racial issues as they can undermine peace and stability – no more discussion on matters of religion or race that had already been enshrined in the Federal Constitution.///—PM AAB

Why then have UMNO led government changed the constitution, especailly removing the provision that article 153 was to be reviewed in 1972?

64. #64 by Rose Fashion on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 9:48 pm

why bother comparing a loser with a big time loser?

65. #65 by Blue.kinetic on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 9:52 pm

Hi YB Kit

another disgrace news from DAP as below:

DAP leaders will not be able to campaign for Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim for two days prior to the Permatang Pauh by-election as they will be away at their party’s national congress in Kuala Lumpur on Aug 23-24.

PR should stand together by actions in coming by-election. Your party’s national congress can’t be postponed? Is it more important than the effect of the by-election? Which one is your priority- DAP ‘s own interest or the rakyat? I feel sad when DAP can’t be there for DSAI at critical timing.

66. #66 by Godfather on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 9:54 pm

Kasim Amat:

Do you understand what Rose Fashion just said ? I just don’t know who is the bigger loser between Sleepy Head and Mamakthir.

67. #67 by Godfather on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 9:55 pm

The rakyat are the biggest losers as we have been sodomised by both Mamakthir and Sleepy Head for almost 30 years.

68. #68 by Laoshan on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 10:03 pm

YB Lim

I hope that the leaders of DAP ,PKR and PAS have the wisdom to handle together well on this issue of the Bar Council Forum so as not to weaken the cooparation among you in the coming by-election.

69. #69 by Rose Fashion on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 10:03 pm

Look at China and you will realize how silly we are. They used to be 20 years behind us but they are now god know how many years ahead of us in terms of infrastructure building and economy performance. What impressed me is the Chinese people gave full support for the country’s leaders all the time and in return the country is doing their people proud time after time without fail. See the difference between China and Malaysia? Let me reiterate this, whoever leader that cannot do their people proud, must leave!

70. #70 by limkamput on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 10:05 pm

See, you said that PR hasn’t done anything worth remembering ! godfather

I don’t know whether i really said that. I can’t remember. But i think we must continue to remind them from time to time that people are watching. Another example, what happened to the public declaration of assets by EXCO? Semua diam diam sekarang lah.

71. #71 by Godfather on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 10:10 pm

“…whoever leader that cannot do their people proud, must leave!”

said Rose Fashion.

Let me reiterate this: We have a finance minister who failed entrance statistics and could not get to do economics at university. We have a second finance minister who lost RM 12 billion of our reserves speculating on FX. We have a BN secretary general who is implicated in the Lingamgate scandal. We have an UMNO information chief who was indicted for bringing into Australia millions in cash, but who got off on a technicality.

How to be proud of this country ?

72. #72 by Godfather on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 10:13 pm

….and it is dangerous to compare Bolehland with China. Many in UMNO still want the Malaysian Chinese to balik Cina.

73. #73 by mohrafael on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 10:31 pm

Dr M & Bodohwi – the difference is former is brainy and latter is brainless and wasting everyone’s time. Wake up Malaysians, know what you are drinking… time to put our act together…

74. #74 by hiro on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 10:39 pm

I’d like to add one more edict from Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and it is this: Abuse of power as President and Deputy President of UMNO? He’ll decide whether to let ACA investigate.

Talk about absolute power – these guys (BN/UMNO) only hold about 51% (purportedly that is) majority of the voting population and they are still behaving like kings in kingdoms.

Please Permatang Pauh voters, give Anwar a landslide and let the opponent lose his deposit, and show em who’s boss in Malaysia.

75. #75 by ahluck on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 10:48 pm

A frank discourse by a bumiputra of Malaysia.

The writer is a nephew of Dr Mahathir. Excellent one !

By Ahmad Mustapha

Singapore’s Minister Mentor, Lee Kuan Yew, who was Singapore’s founding father, has always been very direct in his comments. This was the man who outsmarted the communists in Singapore (with the innocent help of Malaya then and the willing help of the British) and who later outwitted the British and outpaced Malaysia in all spheres.

Singapore practises corrupt-free meritocracy and Malaysia affirmative action. The former attracted all the best brains and the latter chased out all the brains. The Singapore cabinet consists of dedicated and intelligent technocrats whereas Malaysia has one of the most unwieldy cabinets. Not only that, brain wise it was below par not even good for the kampong. With that kind of composition, one that is very brainy, naturally Singapore , with no natural resources could outstrip Malaysia in every aspect of development. Malaysia, on the other hand, was too much preoccupied with its Malayness and the illusory ‘Ketuanan Melayu’ and was also more interested in useless mega iconic development rather than real social and economic development.

Whenever Kuan Yew utters anything that was deemed to be a slight on Malaysia, voices were raised admonishing him. Malaysia would never dare to face reality. That Singapore had shown that it could survive was a slap on those who believed that Singapore would fold up once it left Malaysia . Therefore, it was natural that these doomsayers would try to rationalise their utterances to be in their favour to combat whatever Kuan Yew commented. Its political jealousy.

Singapore achieved its development status without any fanfare. But here in Malaysia , a development that was deceptive was proclaimed as having achieved development status. It was trumpetted as an achievement that befits first world status. This was self-delusion. Malaysians are led to believe in a make believe world, a dream world. The leaders who themselves tend to believe in their own fabricated world did not realise the people were not taken in by this kind of illusion.

Lee Kuan Yew believed in calling a spade a spade. I was there in Singapore when the People’s Action Party won the elections in 1959. He was forthright in his briefing to party members as to what was expected of them and what Singapore would face in the future. Ideologically, I did not agree with him. We in the University of Malaya Socialist Club had a different interpretation of socialist reconstruction. But he was a pragmatist and wanted to bring development and welfare to the Singaporeans. Well! He succeeded.

Malaysia was so much embroiled in racial politics and due to the fear of losing political power, all actions taken by the main party in power was never targeted towards bringing wealth to all. Wealth was distributed to the chosen few only. They were the cronies and the backers of the party leadership to perpetuate their own selfish ends.

Seeing the efficiency and the progress achieved by Singapore caused the Malaysian leadership to suffer from an inferiority complex. That Malaysia should suffer from this complex was of its own making.

In a recent interview, Kuan Yew said that Malaysia could have done better if only it treated its minority Chinese and Indian population fairly. Instead they were completely marginalised and many of the best brains left the country in droves. He added that Singapore was a standing indictment to what Malaysia could have done differently. He just hit the nail right there on the head.

Malaysia recently celebrated its 50th year of independence with a bagful of uncertainties. The racial divide has become more acute. The number of Malay graduates unemployed is on the increase. And this aspect can be very explosive. But sad to see that no positive actions have been taken to address these social ills.

Various excuses were given by Malaysian leaders why Singapore had far outstripped Malaysia in all aspects of social and economic advancement. Singapore was small, they rationalised and therefore easy to manage. Singapore was not a state but merely an island.

There was one other aspect that Malaysia practises and that is to politicise all aspects of life. All government organs and machinery were ‘UMNO-ised’. This was to ensure that the party will remain in power. Thus there was this misconception by the instruments of government as to what national interest is and what UMNO vested interest is.

UMNO vested interest only benefited a few and not the whole nation. But due to the UMNO-isation of the various instruments of government, the country under the present administration had equated UMNO vested interest as being that of national interest. Thus development became an avenue of making money and not for the benefit of the people. The fight against corruption took a back seat. Transparency was put on hold. And the instruments of government took it to be of national interest to cater to the vested interest of UMNO. Enforcement of various enactments and laws was selective. Thus a ‘palace’ in Kelang, APs cronies and close-one-eyed umno MPs could exist without proper procedure. Corruption infested all govt departments, the worse is the police and lately even in the judiciary.

Singapore did not politicise its instruments of government. If ever politicisation took place, it is guided by national interest. To be efficient and to be the best in the region was of paramount importance. Thus all the elements like corruption, lackadaisical attitude towards work and other black elements, which would retard such an aim, were eliminated. Singapore naturally had placed the right priority in it’s pursuit to achieve what is best for its people. This is the major difference between these two independent countries.

Malaysia in its various attempts to cover up its failures embarked on several diversions. It wanted its citizens to be proud that the country had the tallest twin-tower in the world, although the structure was designed and built by foreigners. Its now a white-elephant wasting away. It achieved in sending a man into space at an exorbitant price. For what purpose? These are what the Malays of old would say “menang sorak” (hollow victories).

It should be realised that administering a country can be likened to managing a corporate entity. If the management is efficient and dedicated and know what they are doing, the company will prosper. The reverse will be if the management is poor and bad. The company will go bust.

There are five countries around this region. There is Malaysia , and then Indonesia . To the east there is the Philippines and then there is that small enclave called the Sultanate of Brunei . All these four countries have abundance of natural resources but none can lay claim to have used all these resources to benefit the people. Poverty was rampant and independence had not brought in any significant benefits to the people.

But tiny Singapore without any resources at all managed to bring development to its citizens. It had one of the best public MRT transport systems and airlines in the world and it is a very clean city state. Their universities, health care, ports are among the best in the world.

It is impossible to compare what Singapore has achieved to what all these four countries had so far achieved. It was actually poor management and corruption, and nothing more. Everything is done for the vested interest of the few.

Malaysia, Indonesia and the Philippines and the Sultanate of Brunei need good management teams. They would not be able to do this on their own steam. I would advise that they call on Kuan Yew to show them what good governance is. Why look East to Japan when it is just next door across the causeway.

76. #76 by GodFromHeaven on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 10:50 pm

we should accept the Fact that we are now behind china. We should admit that our country economic is now behind a lot of country, we should admit these is our failure. We have running out of time, we should now focused on our economic agenda instead of talking sodomy, religion & races issue. Our ‘Yang Berhormat’ should know how to play their role, but i can’t see the ‘cabinet’ knew it… disappointed. 50 years since Merdeka, we are still in the Old issue.. Come on, Yang Berhomat, Cabinet, is time to wake up & do the right things.

77. #77 by toyolbuster on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 10:52 pm

Obviously this retard had dozed off during the 12GE tsunami and missed out the impact. But he will not know what hit him after 26 August but by then it will be too late for him and umno.

78. #78 by js on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 10:53 pm

DAP should postpone the party’s nasional congress to help in by-election at Permatang Pauh. This is for the interest of the rakyat.

79. #79 by choonchoy on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 10:59 pm

Thks Dr.M for screwing the country up. I don’t agrees with the others saying that you are brainy.

As Obi-wan says ” Who is the fool? The fool or the fool who put the bloody fool incharge?”

80. #80 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 11:04 pm

js Says:
    Today at 22: 53.26 (7 minutes ago)

DAP should postpone the party’s nasional congress to help in by-election at Permatang Pauh…….
    ——————————————————————-

Lim Guan Eng said the congress date could not be changed as it had been decided three months ago.

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v5/newspolitic.php?id=352040

81. #81 by Jong on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 11:06 pm

js, I sokong! That’s a brilliant idea.

82. #82 by MyPeoplePower on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 11:10 pm

To: All the Supporters of Pakatan Rakyat and Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim,

If you are not the voters of Permatang Pauh and you also unable to help on the campaign for this coming by-eletion, the below are certain
    things that you can contribute to Pakatan Rakyat and Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim to win in this election.

i. Make cold call to the residents, factory or commercial office and introduce yourself as the PR supporters and explain to them the country current situation and request them to vote for DSAI to vote for the change of federal govt!

ii. SMS to any friend who are the voters for Permatang Pauh or SMS to someone you don’t know but request them to Forward the SMS for any of their friend who are the voters in Permatang Pauh and request them to vote for DSAI to vote for the change of the federal govt!

Pls don’t offense the voters if they oppose you!
    Pls give them your counter arguement to convince them to vote for DSAI!

Remember, PR target in this by-election is to WIN BIG and create another political tsunami in our beloved country!

83. #83 by limkamput on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 11:12 pm

Hello, may be it is a strategy not to have too strong the presence of DAP in Pematang Pauh!

84. #84 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 11:22 pm

MyPeoplePower Says:

>> Pls don’t offense the voters if they oppose you! Pls give them your counter arguement to convince them to vote for DSAI!

hmmm, counter argument? Like explaining the contradictory nature of Anwar and his greed for power? Or maybe his long list of historical misdemeanours?

85. #85 by parameswara on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 11:25 pm

Kasim Amat Says:

“We should give Abdullah Badawi more time to prove himself to be fair. It is too early to judge him now. Abdullah Badawi is more open minded but yet he is a determined person. I am confident he will outperform his predecessor if we give him a chance to.”

you are abudollar bodowi, admit it!

86. #86 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 11:36 pm

I heard a policeman was shot in the head after he stole one million ringgit of drugs, and the peddlers might just walk out of jail. I heard many things DAP failed to address and seemed to have forgotten about it.

87. #87 by edgoh on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 11:53 pm

Difference person view differently. As for me I will not compare the current and previous leader. Nowaday with modern technologies, we can easy find out what is going on around us. But we cannot voice out. If we voice out we are consider trouble maker. If we don’t voice out, we are to be blame. No way for us. The only solution is to have changes. So vote for Anwar and his team player Pakatan Rakyat. I strongly believe if Anwar is to lead us, good future will laise ahead of us. May God bless us.

88. #88 by miles on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 11:57 pm

Many a time I just feel that AAB is just in a constant state of denial, the longer he stays in power, the worse is the situation in Malaysia.

However, ironically, personally I feel that the greatest contribution of AAB to Malaysia is his incompetency which caused the political tsunami in the election. Without a person like him and the son-in-law, BN might not fall this hard.

Should we thank him or should we not? On 9 March 2008, I woke up and felt the air was fresh and the sky was clear and sunny. I look forward to the same thing on 27 Aug 2008 and 16 Sep 2008.

89. #89 by Malaysian Mummy on Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - 11:58 pm

Dear Rakyat Malaysians,

CASE (A):-

Aiyoyo, now Uncle Samy is deaf and dumb about the sensitive issue that Indian students were sodomised in school by a irresponsible history teacher with racist remark. MIC closed both ears and no eyes see to allow a simple history teacher used racist, derogatory and even unprintable slurs against Indian students and the Indian community in class.

Why Pak Lah is silent about this issue?
    Why Pak Lah failed to inform the Home Ministry to act against the history teacher?

Pak Lah should advised the Education Minister, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein to explain to Parliament, the nation and the voters of Permatang Pauh why the Education Ministry is condoning the unforgivable misbehaviour of a history teacher who repeatedly made racist, derogatory and even unprintable slurs against Indian students and the Indian community in class.

CASE (B):-

DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng said in a press statement here Tuesday the Kuala Lumpur High Court judgment meant that UMNO party had exceeded the spending limit of RM94.3mil at the maximum of RM200,000 per parliamentary constituency and RM100,000 per state constituency.

It was reported Tuesday that a High Court deputy registrar had ordered Umno to pay the sum to supplier Elegant Advisory Sdn Bhd for printed materials, transportation and mineral water used by the party in the 2004 general election.

“Umno had claimed that the campaign materials were for Barisan Nasional and had nothing to do with Umno. With 219 parliamentary seats and 505 state seats contested in the 2004 general elections, this means that a party like Barisan that contested all seats cannot spend more than RM94.3mil or else Barisan’s victories are illegal.

“With RM218mil spent whether by Barisan or Umno on campaign materials alone, this is more than double the legally permitted amount,” said Lim.

=================================
    Based on both CASES mentioned above, should we trust PM, Pak Lah is a credible leader to lead the nation for all Malaysians. Tun Dr M regretted!
    We wonder ?

90. #90 by imranj78 on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 12:00 am

Maybe no one noticed (or maybe chose to not notice), but Anwar ‘s view was more or less in line with Abdullah’s and Najib’s in that the forum should have been done behind close doors and not be made an open forum due to its sensitivity. So what does that say about PR? Doesn’t sound to be much different then BN isn’t it?

91. #91 by jabber on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 12:18 am

indeed his leadership is worst than Dr.M.. i love Dr.M, he is the father of modernization and liberalization of Malaysia in many areas.

I can feel that we, the non-bumis, is having a very very tough time to get into government business. They are having big big equities issue of their own. Even my friend of bumi’s are having difficult time getting tenders as he’s not Malay. This is not just bare allegations.

Ask around, WHY Chinese, Indian and even Malays professionals don’t want to come back to Malaysia. Because outside Malaysia,theres no double standard in government policies.

92. #92 by m.hwang on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 12:21 am

dawsheng Says:

Yesterday at 23: 36.59
    ‘I heard a policeman was shot in the head after he stole one million ringgit of drugs, and the peddlers might just walk out of jail. I heard many things DAP failed to address and seemed to have forgotten about it.’

Your point exactly?

93. #93 by m.hwang on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 12:24 am

zak_hammaad Says:
    Yesterday at 23: 22.48

‘hmmm, counter argument? Like explaining the contradictory nature of Anwar and his greed for power? Or maybe his long list of historical misdemeanours?’

And how sir is Anwar contradictory? How is he going to achieve anything for the country without power? Historical misdemeanours? Please do tell us more.

94. #94 by m.hwang on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 12:29 am

jabber, forget about government tenders it’s not for people like you. Concentrate on building your business in the real world and in a million years you will not fail. Otherwise go get a real job and learn from others, gain more exposure tehn start your business. But if you start a business with a view to get government tenders you will fail before you even start.

95. #95 by Patek 1472 on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 12:31 am

Permatang Pauh Voters decide for Nation? – Appeal by Nostradamus.
    Pengundi Permatang Pauh tentukan untuk Negara? – Rayuan oleh Nostradamus.

1. Voters of Permatang Pauh will vote come 26 August 2008. Who to vote for and What to vote for?
    Pengundi-pengundi Permatang Pauh akan undi menjelang 26 Ogos 2008. Mengundi Siapa and mengundi untuk Apa?

2. 50 Questions to test your Conscience at http://www.patek1472.wordpress.com
    50 Soalan untuk menguji Suara Hati anda di http://www.patek1472.wordpress.com

96. #96 by jabber on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 12:38 am

AAB must back to his previous promises before he becomes PM.. Solving all the CORRUPTION cases. In order to gain back peoples confidence and save BN, he must look into all his minister’s background on corruption. There must be more corruption in the MINISTRYs, MINISTERS and his SON-IN-LAW!! But AAB just shove asside at this moment.

CORRUPTION causing people to lose confidence in BN as more and more cases brought up by PR state governments just like in Selangor and Penang and mostly covering ups. No transparency at all.

Don’t they(BN) learn from their neighbours like Indonesia and Thailand on corruption cases? basically they don’t have time to watch news, too busy with money matters.

Thailand, once was far behind us economically, but now progressing and developing faster than Malaysia with all the resources they own. Now, Thailand is far more developed than Malaysia, no bluff. They are economically better than us with much more FDI and they don’t differs races in business policies, no double standards. That’s why they are succeeding us in every areas even they have some MUSLIMS problems in the south.

Well, it’s my view.. ISA? detain those UiTM students rallied today for questioning. Why aren’t they detained? HINDRAF cannot rallied eventhough they annouced it earlier in media? DOUBLE STANDARD??
    you decide..

97. #97 by ahpiow on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 1:28 am

Religion is something that is of a very personal matter. We cannot and do not impose our religious beliefs or dogma on to any other individual.

If a person has converted and wishes to re-convert, then it is strictly his/her personal matter. Is it justified then for the Muslim govt to impose its beliefs on the individual? You call this democracy?

I do not believe in religion or the existance of god. This concept of god and religion is all in the mind. The psychology of god and religion had been introduced in the earlier milleniums for the ultimate control of rebellious societies so that a superior individual can take “political” control of the masses.

I guess the same strategy is currently being used all round the world to achieve this control of the masses – put fear and damnation to Hell to all who do not abide by govt religious policies.

I know the majority of the people will condemn my view. It is irrelevant. You keep to your beliefs and I keep to my belief. This is true political and religious democracy.

I do not expect the Moderator to censor my views. If you do, then what are we talking about democracy?

People, if you want to be counted as a knowledgeable individual, then have an open mind! Do not be fanatical. Understand the true belief of your deeper feelings, and face reality.

98. #98 by roger lim on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 1:49 am

Rose Fashion, I wouldn’t compare Malaysia with China. While it’s true that China has progressed superbly, it will be some time before I consider migrating there. I don’t know how much you frequent China but I have businesses there. I will not write of their government’s dark secrets in here. It will make Malaysia sound like heaven. Actually, after visiting many countries, Malaysia is quite a paradise. Now if we were to get rid of AAB and company, I think it would be even better.

99. #99 by ahpiow on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 1:51 am

To add on to my above comments, let everyone think for a moment. If there is such a thing as God, then why are there so many natural and un-natural calamities occurring in the world so frequently where thousands of lives are lost, humaity’s inhumanism to humanity, people born retarded and handicapped, wars, etc etc etc.

God is almighty and God cares for all. Why all this misery then? Of course theologians will have all the explanations.

Just a personal view.

100. #100 by AhPek on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 2:04 am

‘Both deserve equal credits on their outstanding leadership.’. kasim amat.

I beg your pardon what sh*t are you mouthing, may I ask?

101. #101 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 3:50 am

Whether the PM “has shown his true colours” is the small issue.

There is a larger one in which all are interested to find out, ie : what is the real reason behind political tsunamy of 8th March causing BN to lose Parliamentary 2/3 majority & 5 states?

It would not happen if a significant part of the Malay ground had not shifted against UMNO. What’s the real cause of that??

Then on March 8th and now, UMNO’s policy has been more or less the same : championing race and religion to stay in power.

More so now in aftermath of 8th March and confronting Permatang Puah by election and Anwar’s threats of iminent change of government from cross overs.

The Bar Council forum (especialy with its dissentient comprising Parti Rakyat KeAdilan & PAS’s members) provided the perfect bogeyman to the dominant party of BN that is presently in crisis (some say implosion), unable as yet to reinvent itself to address the multifarious grievances and disaffection of large segment of electorate against its policies, and in this state still wondering whether its loss of support of a segment of Malays, as had happened on March 8th, was largely due to the failure and irrelevance of Ketuanan policies or actually not but some other factors yet to be fully divined, which a present return to and re-emphasis on the well tried formula of traditional appeals to race and religion, that have worked so well in the past, might still yet be relevant to check the party’s decline and unite the factionalism ensuing from March 8th to confront the challenges of Permatang Puah and calls of 16th Sept change of govt.

So there is nothing new – this “no more discussion on matters of religion or race that had already been enshrined in the Federal Constitution” and “no objection to Home Ministry’s discretion to use the Internal Security Act and Sedition Act against those who organize such forums like the Bar Council”. It is an old tried formula reinvigorated : an almost predictable response arising from acute anxiety and self-doubt.

Malaysians have a stake to want to know what actually happened on March 8th 2008 to structure their lives in the future to come.

The important question : did March 8th really signify a seismic paradigm shift of electorate attitudes against the BN’s and UMNO’s platform and well tried formula of traditional communal politics?

Well this is not say that race and religion don’t matter any more or have lost entirely their appeals but that notwithstanding that they do matter and still have appeals, whether on balance, they would outweigh the electorate’s and in particular Malays’ esp. amongst the growing numbers of urbanised young voters’ tiredness of 50 years of continuous mis-governance : that is really the issue!

So, in a perverse sense, it is perhaps timely in the eve of the major battle in Permatang Puah leading to the decisive struggle for crossovers in the months ahead over the allegiance of BN’s members for the leader of BN to beat the chest on race and religion so that all would know whether they would score political brownie points or not much – and whether Malaysians in general and Malays in particular have crossed the Rubicon on March 8th 2008 making race/religion, which still matter, however matter far less than other considerations in the larger scheme of things….

We – and they in UMNO – will want to know and will soon know whether the Rubicon was unmistakably crossed 5 months ago if the BN/UMNO get roundly trounced by PKR/PR in Permatang Puah.

102. #102 by tenaciousB on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 6:03 am

Absolutely not, no malaysians will tolerate another badawi term. He must be removed from office if malaysia is to be dynamic again. All his ministers should leave as well. these fellows have been in office too long, they are in their comfort zone, cashing in the bribe cuts and have absolutely poor trac records in terms of serving the public.

If you remember perhaps 5 yrs ago, Tun mahathir raised the issue that most MPs are not attending parlimen which is their job and they are getting paid for nothing. Most are busy manning their side bussinesses. It long enough to let these counch potatoes man our country. Judging from the views out forward in this blog, malaysians are starting to mature and are aware of their rights, this is not kampung politics anymore, if one can’t perform, kick their asses out immediately, no one needs to suffer for these ministers inadequacies!

103. #103 by trublumsian on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 6:46 am

the forums are an opportunity to exchange views and agree to disagree. it is not a policy making meeting and will only do good by allowing laundry to be aired without cornering any one into a threatened spot. what abdullah did, however, was essentially tightened the tension by holding on to a don’t ask don’t tell taboo position. we all can see he is banning the forums not in the name of peace and stability, but peace and stability enough for him to weather the erosion in his power base, i.e PP election.

104. #104 by wtf2 on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 7:27 am

the entire malay mentality is suspect – do they really cherish a multiethnic nation? The malay culture is definitely not undergoing a “gemilang” phase- why? because the politicians are indoctrinating the malays with corruption, extremism and a whole lot more. If the malays don’t stand up and say “stop the rot” and embrace equality they will forever try to stamp down on the non-malays every which way they can. The world of course will begin to look at them with derision. Just imagine the response from the outside world to the statement ” I am a Malay from Malaysia”.

“Oh I see – next please”

105. #105 by Malaysian Mummy on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 7:41 am

Kasim Amat said “I am confident he will outperform his predecessor if we give him a chance to.”…Rakyat Malay replied “MY FOOT”.

Both of Pak Lah and Dr M have no equal in terms of enriching their families and cronies by way of abusing the rights of NEP for Malay communities and Indegenious Bumiputras in Sabah and Sawarak. Many local Bumiputras were worst off and hard core poor because of both PMs have rule almost 28 years enough is enough to destroy the rights of Malay. It is shameful for UMNO arrogant, greedy and corrupt leaders to fight for Ketuanan Melayu but they are destroying the future Malay generations with money politics, cronies, nepotism and corruption practises among the Malay communities.

Malay communities felt betrayed by UMNO Baru leaders today as compared with the good hearted and sincere UMNO Lama leaders were more clean and trustworthy in discharging their duties to protect the interests of all Malaysians and less racist in their government administrations.

Kasim Amat is too young age to learn from past good UMNO Lama leaders and corrupted mind by present BE EN leaders with money politics and cronies system. Please read more and growth up. Malay communities are crying FOUL and Betrayed by UMNO Baru …..The Judge said UMNO is FINE for RM218 million for 11th GE contracts . Malay hawker cried out loud : “PANDAN MUKA UMNO CORRUPT”.

As Malaysian see it and read it and write it today .

106. #106 by k1980 on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 8:10 am

The “PM for all malaysians”(sic) does not want non-bumis in UiTM
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Wednesday/Frontpage/2319771/Article/index_html

107. #107 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 8:18 am

The problem with your charge is that Malaysian are a very tolerant lot and some are already saying Badawi has to say what he says because he is heading into an UMNO election and is backed against the wall.

The thing is the excuse is not-relevant actually. Firstly, he could have chosen to stay silent on the matter rather than come out strongly. Secondly, its clear he is not going to be challenged and would just be embarassed at most come this Dec. election. at most if even. He is a lame duck UMNO president regardless given his annoucement of succession.

What Badawi risk more than anything else is to join a long list of failed Malay leaders starting with Sultans of 15/16th centuries who was always more concern about themselves and self-rigteousness. He will not even rank himself to be redeem in the future like Gorbachev is to the Russian although at one time he had a chance. History will look at any of his positive move as just a bankruptcy of ideas, not a commitment to an ideal.

Badawi cannot see that the storming of the Bar Council is a failure of Malay leadership, nothing more. Same the way the Sultans adopted Islam because it saw it as a tool to control his subject (how many Malay ask why is it no Sultanate ever had a council of Ulamas and they are always the head of religion of their state despite their poor education? How many Islamic schools did Sultans organized and paid for?). Its not about religion, its not about rights. Its simply a failure of leadership.

108. #108 by Godfather on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 8:28 am

Badawi has no capacity to think, so what he does or say is generally due to the thinking of someone else. No prizes for guessing who is doing the thinking for Badawi. Remember the incident where someone was foaming at the mouth and protesting against Condoleeza Rice at the US Embassy several years back ?

109. #109 by Godfather on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 8:32 am

Years from now, there will be a number of Made-in-Malaysia movies: the Village Id!ot…the Village Id!ot Strikes Again…the Village Id!ot and the Temple of Doom…the Dark Village Id!ot….

110. #110 by ahluck on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 8:36 am

Just a thought!
    when Anwar wins with the public support him to be PM, how if Agong steps in and says Anwar has Sodomy Case and he cannot be PM instead King choose his own candidate as PM! how ah?
    Malaysia anything can happen! Malaysia boleh! “Public vote important of Kings command”

111. #111 by tenaciousB on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 9:08 am

Dear bloogers,

This is today’s NST article!

GEORGE TOWN: Pas has warned that it would not be part of any new Federal Government formed by Pakatan Rakyat if the number of non-Muslim members of parliament outnumbered that of Muslim MPs.

The matter was brought up by Pas president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang at the Penang Pas convention here on Sunday.

State Pas Youth chief Mohd Hafiz Mohamed Nordin said Abdul Hadi received full support from the delegates when he announced the party’s stand.

He said the state Pas Youth supported Abdul Hadi’s stand.

“It is our hope that Pakatan Rakyat will continue to protect the interests of Muslims as is enshrined in the Federal Constitution.

“We hope this will be so if the Pakatan Rakyat goes on to form the Federal Government after Sept 16.”

He said the state Pas Youth hoped that the party’s stand would be accepted by Pakatan Rakyat leaders in line with their aspirations to bring about change in the country.

I seriously think PKR should remove PAS from PKR or else we may have a greater problem perhaps a more racist party than UMNO. Citizens beware

112. #112 by oknyua on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 9:09 am

Actually I envied Kassim Amat. She is quite bright – but made herself dumb and get paid by the posting she makes here. How I envy that job!!!

Kassim, I stand by my posting above. If Malaysia should descend to chaos and even bloodshed, I still point my finger at your boss, nobody else, not even Mahathir.

113. #113 by Anba on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 9:40 am

Dear Malaysians,
    The conversions of someone into the Islamic religion is surely a controversial issue thats been bothering our country for a long time.
    1. Is it only in Malaysia when a person ( who is not a Muslim) marries another who is a Musim, that the person who was not a Muslim has to convert to Islam? Which verse in the Quran or other Islamic scriptures that stresses this point?

2. In countries like India and USA, when someone marries a Muslim, they seem to be living happily and there is no nonsensical disturbances from the Syariah or any other Islamic officials. Thus, is this tactic of scaring people to convert only happens in countries like Malaysia?

3. Does the Almighty or the just God wants any individual to convert from one religion to another? Are we not all the Children of God? Or is this the works of fanatics of a particular religion to increase the population of thier folowers?

Can any Muslim enlighten us on this matter?

May truth and justice set us free.

God bless.

114. #114 by blablowbla on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 9:42 am

my dear all muslim friends,your religion teaches u 2 b fair n berusaha(work hard),i m rily sadden tat u all failed!

ur religion also encourages u ppl 2 help the weak,instead,u all “terang2” bully thm!so arrogant n so “kurang ajar”!

ur racist leaders stood outside Bar Council n yelled:dlm ada satu ratus,kata di luar beribu2,patutkah kita masuk?patutkah kita masuk?patutkah kita masuk……..

my dear muslim frends,i noe majority of u like peace n support fairness,nevertheless,thr r not less muslims tat r extremed!

Malaysia is just a small country,whn v try 2 compare with singapore,how good thy r,u all said,thy r small,easy t b managed;when v try to compare with big countres like usa,gb,china n australia,u all said:no,thy r big,thy hv all the expertise!so,v ended-up equal 2 sudan,kenya,myanmar n zimbabwe!

if the statemnt made by ur racist leaders r correct,then u all sud shut ur mouths!bcos thr r more non-muslims than muslims in this only world!!!

if u all like 2 talk sensitive issues behind doors,infact,BN has done tat many2 times,but the problems unsolved!now,the rakyat want the experts(for instance,lawyers)to discuss n debate the article 121 issues,finding out the solutions,remedy the tensed situations which had occurred long-2 time!

if ur hadhari head dunno how 2 solve the problems,pls step down immediately!

n,if small group of attendants,u all said:hanya satu ratus,if 100,000 ,or 500,000 KL non-muslims went 2 the site?wat do u expect?stupid remarks made by stupid leaders!!!!!

115. #115 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 9:47 am

blablowbla, please don’t torture us readers and write not in the way you text your messages. Have some sympathy for readers who read with their eyes and not pronounce the words as they read!

116. #116 by Toyol on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 9:55 am

Tell me which minister from BN has ever done anything properly?
    1) Education Minister-racists teachers, schools always operate on deficits with hardly any allocation from govt
    2) Sports Minister-Nothing to show from the Olympics, our sports non-existence except for squash and badminton
    3) Trade Minister-whats to say…our economy is going down the drain with FDI going elsewhere
    4) DPM-accused murderer!
    5) PM-still sleeping!
    6) Works Minister-bad workmanship!
    7) Health Minister-what’s that?
    8) Home Affairs-Aiyoh!!!
    We are going the way of the dodo if we keep BN.Period

117. #117 by Kathy on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 10:09 am

Toyol, we are already headed the way of the dodo for some time already – only now that we are aware of it. To your question about which minister have perform his duties properly — it would be Dr Chua, former Health Minister. Too bad, his personal life scandal disrupted it.

The current ones are not doing their jobs at all. They only know how to create hatred and incite fear. Should get rid of all of them. By the way, why is Samy Vellu not called to explain about the MRR2 issue?

118. #118 by kcb on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 10:16 am

“blablowbla, please don’t torture us readers and write not in the way you text your messages. Have some sympathy for readers who read with their eyes and not pronounce the words as they read!”
    – undergrad2

I totally agree with undergrad2.

119. #119 by dbrutal on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 10:16 am

Migrate Guys,

It is un-believably surprising that with all the so called difficulties and dis-satisfaction that all of you are experiencing, and yet you guys are still in Malaysia.

You guys tok kok as if the situation in this country is worst than in Zimbabwe.

You will regret it for the whole of your life if this country turn into Zimbabwe like since it’s due to your own act guys

120. #120 by kcb on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 10:24 am

“…You will regret it for the whole of your life if this country turn into Zimbabwe like since it’s due to your own act guys”

I am not sure who is “tokking kok”.
    LOL

121. #121 by yyh on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 10:24 am

lks

he is the most clueless PM thsi country ever had.

can we celebrate when he step dwn in 2 years as scheduled? hell no, god forbids if the DPM becomes the PM especially with all the controversies around his neck.

the future sure looks very very hazy.

122. #122 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 10:50 am

Muhyiddin said: “I think Malaysia’s judicial system is as efficient and fair as any other judicial systems including Singapore.”

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/headlines/42-lead-stories/2902-singapore-malaysia-trade-hits-s58b-but-businesses-voice-concerns

123. #123 by milduser on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 10:52 am

ISAed for politicians, C4 for foreigners, and sodomee for ordinary citizens?

124. #124 by oknyua on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 11:03 am

YB Lim, what has our country descended down to? MRR2, sue counter sue? Immigration directors corruption, today another arrest of DG tourism Malaysia. Alleged corruption among ministers – I am not suprised anymore. Money laundering with minister. ACA checking umno men. ACA checking ministers. ACA cecking PM and DPM. Police against their own kind.

Almost everyday new case of corruption errupts.

What has happened to our country???

125. #125 by AhPek on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 11:14 am

That’s an interesting question posed by Jeffrey when he mused whether the Rubicon has actually been crossed on 8th March that is to say whether a tsunami of attitudinal change against BN has actually happened then.The result of PP will serve as a confirmation whether it will signal the arrival of the 2 party system which is really what Malaysia needs.Of course UMNO sensing that will do all her best to prevent this from happening as can be seen from the events of the last few days with UMNO touting away supremacy of the Malay race as well as Islam for these 2 issues they know will tuck at the heart string of the Malays.

126. #126 by tenaciousB on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 11:34 am

Interestingly the ACA is the most hardworking department in the country cf. government ministers and bodies. They are cracking down on all misdeeds. Perhaps they should be given more funding so that they may employ more workers to sort out all the corruptions within the government.

I wonder who’s next, samy vellu?

127. #127 by cheng on on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 11:54 am

BN or UMNO overspend for 2004 GE, why owe money and let supplier of banners sue?

128. #128 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 12:01 pm

oknyua Says:

Today at 11: 03.28 (46 minutes ago)
    YB Lim, what has our country descended down to? MRR2, sue counter sue? Immigration directors corruption, today another arrest of DG tourism Malaysia. Alleged corruption among ministers – I am not suprised anymore. Money laundering with minister. ACA checking umno men. ACA checking ministers. ACA cecking PM and DPM. Police against their own kind.

Almost everyday new case of corruption errupts.

What has happened to our country???

————————————-

These are the results of transformation that our beloved country needs to go through in order for her to be well again!!! It is a painful process, but it is necessary as what is rotten inside needs to be cleansed and healed. It is easier to say than done, but without going through this painful process, the same rots and ills will continue to pass down from one generation to another generation until the country collapse because of rampant corruption and incompetent “leaders” are running the country and making lousy decisions which will bring down the country in no time!!! It is not that there’re no corruption in the past, but they were covered up and seemed to be ok on the surface!!! I see the ACA working slowly towards a cleaner govt (hopefully it is not just due to one person in ACA but it should be a good system implemented) , but much more need to be done expecially at the highest level!!!

129. #129 by cheng on on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 12:03 pm

dbrutal Says:

Today at 10: 16.53 (1 hour ago)
    …….. in this country is worst than in Zimbabwe.

You will regret it for the whole of your life if this country turn into Zimbabwe like since it’s due to your own act guys…

Of course, Msia is still better than Zimbabwe, but no guarantee it will NEVER be like Zimbabwe! IF Msia ever turn into Zimbabwe, Regret Yes, BUT, it is SURELY NOT due to bloggers who support uncle Kit or DAP or PR.
    BUT due to rotting governing party, so pls don’t talk cock or rubbish by idiotic, moronic reasoning!

130. #130 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 12:05 pm

cheng on Says:

Today at 11: 54.56 (6 minutes ago)
    BN or UMNO overspend for 2004 GE, why owe money and let supplier of banners sue?
    ——————————
    Due to bad times, suppliers need to get back the money instead of empty promises of ordering of more banners in future, who can guarantee that BN will still be in power in the near future, better get back money than believing all the bullshits by BN!!!

131. #131 by k1980 on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 12:05 pm

ACA checking umno men. ACA checking ministers. ACA checking PM and DPM.. These are all sandiwara saja. I will vote for BN the monment ACA ARRESTS PM and DPM

132. #132 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 12:05 pm

cheng on Says:

Today at 11: 54.56 (6 minutes ago)
    ——————————
    Due to bad times, suppliers need to get back the money instead of empty promises of ordering of more banners in future, who can guarantee that BN will still be in power in the near future, better get back money than believing all the bullsh*ts by BN!!!

133. #133 by mohrafael on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 12:11 pm

We can see prevalent abuse of power, in many forms…i need not put them in detail. as reflected by true colours showing. Don’t waste more time, it’s time to use fists

134. #134 by tenaciousB on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 12:15 pm

Dear dbrutal,

you said:

“It is un-believably surprising that with all the so called difficulties and dis-satisfaction that all of you are experiencing, and yet you guys are still in Malaysia.
    You guys tok kok as if the situation in this country is worst than in Zimbabwe.
    You will regret it for the whole of your life if this country turn into Zimbabwe like since it’s due to your own act guys”

I say: It is a very cowardly statement, why? because we are malaysians born and bred here, our forefathers contributed to the very development of this country, when instability such as this emerge, we don’t cut our losses and run away! In fact we should brace ourselves and persevere whilst holding on to our principles which should be peace loving, law abiding and resentment towards injustices such as these issues raised. i sincerely believe we would not end up as zimbabwe God forbid, these are crucial times our country is going through transitional phase, it needs a more understanding and tolerant society to help it through it.

135. #135 by Yee Siew Wah on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 12:19 pm

This sleepy flipflop lame duck PM is talking crap when he said “no more discussion on matters of religion or race that had already been enshrined in the Federal Constitution”.
    Does this idiot know that enshrined in the Federal Constitution one can also have freedom of speech. We should be mature, honest and open enough after 50+ years of independence to discuss all issues involving the rakyat especially on race and religion which we are now worse off under these BN goons all these years. He is now trying to gain support from these extremist idiots by his actions. Instead of taking actions against these dump idiotic protesters including the police force in the recent Bar Council meeting, he try to harass the Bar Council members under ISA.

136. #136 by mysn1st on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 12:58 pm

Another obious prove that Malaysia is getting hopelless. It bullet prove now as YB said, we are getting beckwards.

137. #137 by lhslhv on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 1:04 pm

Nature is our best educator. For any natural system to function properly, the basic units of the system must be well maintained. Take for example, if we want fish in our rivers, we must not polute them. In additon we have to look after the jungles to prvent soil erosions. so that we do not turn our land into desert.

For a car to run, every sub-systems must paly its part.

If we want our society to prosper, we should have balanced development in all environments. Be it physical environment, education environment, social environment, political environment, economic environmet, religious environment and cultural environments,

Looking at our Malaysian scenario, education policy is hopeless (biase with no quality), political system is oppressive and race-based, social environment is not friendly and harmonious, economic conditions are not investor-friendly, religious environment is not tolerant and culturally we are so diversed without unity. Malaysia is so out of balance. It will topple in no time.

Based on these environments, Malaysia is indeed in a very bad shape.

If we want a developed Malaysia, all these envirnments have to be revamped. The only solution that can save Malaysia is a complete overhaul and change. Malysia is too corrupt for change with present UMNO-led government.

Malaysia need a new hero to save it from destruction because we cannot afford to have an unbalanced system

138. #138 by richard.wong8 on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 1:20 pm

I dun understand why must we here in Malaysia always bring religious and race into non related issues, e.g. UiTM, a place for education not matter what race or religion you are. Those who have good results and qualified for the enrollment, go ahead, and not those not qualified, why ‘force’ them self to enroll?
    Are we 50 years behind time?

139. #139 by Kasim Amat on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 1:28 pm

If comparing Malaysia with Singapore, it is not necessary that Malaysia is always behind Singapore. In terms of natural resources, there is no way Singapore can compete with Malaysia. Malaysia practise a more tolerate kind of policies which the ruling party does not simply sue the oppositions for defamation even there are plenty of chances for them to do that. Singapore will not tolerate any dissenting view on their policies. Just look at the plight of their opposition leaders and you will know. Further, Singapore promotes a society with strong elements of materialism with no substance of spiritual life. Malaysia is however more balanced on this whereby they place stronger focus at good religion practice. The problem of brain drain is mainly due the the strength of Singapore Dollar. If the currency of both countries are the same, I believe no one will ever willing to work in Singapore. Singapore is also a smaller country which is easier to manage comparing to Malaysia. Singapore is just a small town and should not be considered as a proper country. Do you know that the Malays in Singapore have been seriously marginalised until they have become totally brain washed as if they were being marginalised. Ask yourself, is this the country that we want? If comparing with China, Indonesia, Cambodia, Vietnam, Myanmar and Philippines, Malaysia is still far better in terms of living environment and I think it is due to the foresight and great leadership of our past UMNO leaders. Some degrees of corruption is inevitable and it is a very natural sign in any developing country. As long as the country is progressing, we don’t see it causes any big harm to the country at this stage. If we are to live happily, we have to be content with what we have and not keep pursuing what we don’t. Everyone must learn some teachings of Islam and we will live happily with each other.

140. #140 by Jong on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 1:43 pm

This village idiot is behaving more of an “Emperor” now! Is he not aware of our freedom of expression in Article 10 of Fed Constitution 1957?

What’s this umno-led BN Govt afraid of? What’s so seditious about solving religious issues via open forums and dialogues? What is this government afraid of that it’s not encouraging critical thinking and habitual analytical mind?

Religious issues has somewhat never been encouraged and has always deemed ’sensitive’ issue in this country, why?

What are umno politicians afraid of, their own shadows? So that they are able to control the masses, keep them opiated, cloud the rakyat’s mind to stir them up emotionally as a tool for their political motives as what just happened at Bar Council Forum on 9 August 2008?

It must be reminded that Islam does not belong to one particular race, it’s being embraced by many all over the world, not theirs alone.

141. #141 by swipenter on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 1:55 pm

Malay/Islam/Special privileges is akin to mixing water with water. You cannot separate them. This is the most successful branding by Umno of the malays to win their support in order to have political stranglehold over the country for the past 50 years. To maintain the branding no discussion is allowed on these sensitive issues supported by the ISA and the Sedition Act. Why would the political masters want to be more liberal and open about it now? Instead Umno is using race and religion to win back the support of the malays. We can see that PR is also riddled with racists and religious extremists. Unless the rakyat fight for what is right and good for the country irrespective of race and religion the future of our country would be in deeper trouble than the dire straights that we are in now. Perhaps the forces of globalisation would knock some sense into our politicians to work for the country instead of themselves.

142. #142 by taxpayer on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 2:10 pm

AAB is a rotten PM, but the one who puts him there is worst. It is because of the latter that he behaves in this manner. His successors from UMNO will be like that. No radical reforms but only a variation of the existing system. Any reform in the judiciary ?, the PDRM ?, the ACA ?, the list can go on and on.

143. #143 by Godfather on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 2:10 pm

“Everyone must learn some teachings of Islam and we will live happily with each other.” My bisnes partner, Kasim Amat.

Hey, is stealing condoned under Islam ?

144. #144 by cheng on on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 2:12 pm

Kasim Amat Says:

Today at 13: 28.34 (41 minutes ago)
    If comparing Malaysia with Singapore, it is not necessary that Malaysia is always behind Singapore. In terms of natural resources, there is no way Singapore can……Singapore is just a small town and should not be ……
    This fellows is either very ignorant or half sleeping!

145. #145 by Godfather on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 2:13 pm

Kasim is right. Don’t compare us with Singapore. Singapore doesn’t have APs. Singapore doesn’t have resources. Singapore doesn’t have our rich heritage. Singapore doesn’t have thieves. What a bummer….

146. #146 by Godfather on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 2:15 pm

This fellow is being paid by Mike Tyson each time he makes a posting on an Opposition blog…so let’s humour him, and allow him to “cari makan” from UMNO. One fine day, when UMNO stops paying him like they stop paying their banner suppliers, then my bisnes partner Kasim will stop the parrotting on this blog.

147. #147 by cheng on on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 2:33 pm

Accoding to Kasim Amat reasoning—-Yes, Spore is no where near Msia, Spore don’t hv a town councillors able to built a mansion which cost more than 33 years his councillors income. Spore dont spent so much money to maintain / upgrade their road flyover like what we did / will do for MRR2 kepong flyover. They are so poor!
    Spore bankers so stupid don’t know how to make money, sell their US$ only at SG$1.40 (so cheap) to their Rakyat!

148. #148 by Godfather on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 2:42 pm

Singapore so stupid…don’t know how to produce cars. It proves our technology is so much better. They can’t beat us in our growth rate – population growth rate lah. They can’t even beat our cabinet size….

149. #149 by NewDAP on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 3:03 pm

Singapore does not has racist MARA, Malaysia does.
    S’pore does not has racist MARA students and officers, Malaysia has.
    Singapore does not has racist Mamaktahi, malaysia does
    Singapore does not has racist history teacher, malaysia does.
    Singapore does not has racist UMNO, malaysia does.

150. #150 by kcb on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 3:22 pm

Dear Kasim, let me assist you where you have left out:
    – Malaysia have sent a tourist into space but have Singapore sent?

151. #151 by NewDAP on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 3:26 pm

I wonder why the Malays are so afraid to open up UiTM for non-malays? a mere suggestion to open up 10% only, some of them already went berserk…. hello, it just a suggestion only…….
    lucky is not suggested by a non-malay leader, if not he will be detained under ISA.

it is not good to always close our doors.
    must learn to open up our doors in order to enchance knowledge and wisdom….

152. #152 by cheng on on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 3:53 pm

Spore confuse / mislead / waste time by using 4 languages for announcement in their MRT stations.
    Spore cannot export talented ppl or students like Msia. Msia ‘export’ many such ppl every year.
    Pity Spore Malay have to learn English / study hard /work hard, while Msia Malay need not do so….

153. #153 by m.hwang on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 4:08 pm

Come on guys, Kassim is good for us in so many ways. It’s also good for the blog. Otherwise how to get so many postings in such a short time?

154. #154 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 5:53 pm

Kasim Amat,

You really can twist and turn the facts into fictions and spin our heads into accepting fictions become facts!!! No wonder you are paid for writing in the blog!!! Anyway, the truth will prevail and people wont buy what you said because their eyes are crystal clear!!!

155. #155 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 5:55 pm

Comparison between MM and AAB: the former sodomised the nation and the latter r@ped the nation. The nation is totally skrued up and f@cked up under them and Umno!

156. #156 by Adolf_Napoleon on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 7:15 pm

WARNING! WARNING!! – Please also Inform all your Non-Bumi Friends

I urge Non-Bumi to stay out of politics, street demos and any new demands for equality and meritrocacy. At the height of this Political cum Economical tension, dont create any slightest excuse for those race-based politician to create racial tension.

There are many people still carrying the “May 13th” torch in their heart. Please advise your loved ones and friends. Stay out of active politics. ONLY involve is coffee shop and mamak talk.

The ONLY WAY for a NON-BUMI to express themselves is in the voting ballot box. FULL STOP !!!!!!!!!!

157. #157 by tenaciousB on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 7:30 pm

I agree with Napoleon, lets not waste our intelligence on dumb politicians. It’s a shocker for me the moment i saw Syed Albar on BBC hardtalk gettin drilled and literally pissed in his pants and looked like he had a seizure on screen whereby he reiterated the same words again and again despite getting quizzed different Q’s. It is a mockery that substandard ministers govern this nation. We have much more intelligent citizens but unworthy leaders. Shocker!

158. #158 by just a moment on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 9:58 pm

Heh guys, wait for me, almost missed the joy ride with our. K Amat. Enjoy reading it’s (his/she or neither here nor there) input, it’s ok lah-for the heck of it. It amazes me to the point of entertaining with Amat’s – childish ‘comprehension of the world his in” even though many more younger child can have better understanding.

Dear Amat, Your logics (obviously you’re be excuse for not having any) of comparing Singapore and M’sia tickles my toe somehow. But here’s some questions you ought to ask.

Is it because you think that M’sia is such a tolerant country that all the great entertainers of the world, be it musical groups, football team, singers, great teachers, great Motivators choose to avoid coming to Malaysia? Why Singapore? tell us when you have the answers.

Amat, in terms of natural resources. All our chidrens, regardless of races can have free full education up to University levels.Do we have it?
    In terms of natural resources. All our elderly folks would have nice home to be cared for plus free healthcare. Do you have it?
    In terms of natural resources. Tourist should be jamming to Malaysia. Have you met any foreigner lately?
    The list is endless. Its not just about natural resources, so what? can’t you see? Amat sleep on this lah. find out the answer yourself,ok?

Why see the plight of Singapore Malays when you are blinded by the plights of non-muslim here? I bet if theres an Kasim Amat there in Singapore, he’ll have better IQ there, I’m sure you’ll agree.

The only different in Spiritual life in Singapore is, they have more Mega Churches whereas M’sia have Acromegaly Mosques.
    and just a ‘few’ surau’s

Amat, if Ringgit can be as strong as Sing dollars, can you imagine how much more pulaus and airplane our INDUVIDU Gov’t can owned? (none would be yours, well, since you’re be paid..toilet for you lah)

In terms of our great leadership past Umno, ok lah to be fair, the good ones are all dead, the live ones are bad.
    Anyway, the country’s leadership is so good until we loose
    1.Academic excellence University standards to India, Myanmah, aiyo shy to mention also..
    2.Sports exellence to Vietnam, China, Korea …aiyo shy also here
    3.Many more shameful stuff to mention here also.
    The only great leadership here is to suppress, bondages to its own kind and making sure we are always behind the rest of the countries.
    (Amat Some degrees of corruption is inevitable and it is a very natural sign in any developing country. As long as the country is progressing – Are You?)
    Amat, tonite as you sleep, probably the only progress you have achieved is only situated in your mind – in your big head!! Sleep well folks. Nice chatting with Amat.

159. #159 by badak on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 11:55 pm

Kasim amat ..Yes i agree that all must know abit about ISLAM.The problem here is that the MALAY Muslim are so superficial.In Malaysia now, you will never see a MALAY entering a temple or a church.
    But this same MALAY who go on tour overseas will enter a temple or church just to take pictures so that they can show of to their friends that they had just gone to LONDON or PARIS.

160. #160 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 7:15 am

“It must be reminded that Islam does not belong to one particular race, it’s being embraced by many all over the world, not theirs alone.” Jong

There are more Muslims in China than there are in Malaysia.

161. #161 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 7:18 am

“Ask yourself, is this the country that we want? ” Kassim Amat

Yes, I did. Many times. Every time the answer is “Yes” and it is BN/UMNO that I do not want.

162. #162 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 7:21 am

“If we are to live happily, we have to be content with what we have and not keep pursuing what we don’t.” Kasian Amat

We pursue what we do not have. What we have we keep.

163. #163 by tenaciousB on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 2:24 pm

Malaysia is still a safe haven. It is still the best country to live in in the whoel region. The malays are wonderful people, their names are smeared by a handful of hooligans. I have a fantastic number of malay friends whom i cherish and appreciate. So are the other races indians and chinese, all have their unique cultures and so forth.

That’s why we can’t afford to let corrupt individuals destroy this country, we need to reclaim the very true image of malaysia being multicultural,racial and tolerant. God bless Malaysia, truly asia!

164. #164 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 3:32 pm

/// Kasim Amat Says:
    Yesterday at 13: 28.34
    Singapore will not tolerate any dissenting view on their policies. Just look at the plight of their opposition leaders and you will know. ///

You mean like throwing Lim Kit Siang and Lim Guan Eng in jail. Like throwing Raja Petra K and Nathaniel Tan in jail. Like throwing Anwar Ibrahim in jail on trumped up charges. Oops, scratch that last one out – Anwar wasn’t an opposition member. He was with the governing party. Heck, he was the number two and the right hand man of the guy who stabbed him in the back.

Yes, Kasim, you are right – Malaysian politics is so clean and above board…

165. #165 by aquaimplotec on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 10:07 pm

Kasim Amat,
    You have your right to voice your opinion here but perhaps you have not got the point expressed by the others i.e. your comments do not gather much respect in this forum. You have only ridiculed the acts of your grand masters more by restating UMNO and BN statements that have been time and again disproved by the many revelations that we see both in the local and foreign press day after day time after time, endless unceasing acts of misappropriation of public funds, corruption in public office, blatant disregard of the rights of Malaysians, unilateral enforcement of laws to prevent injustice and lastly but not the least, circumventing the natural laws of justice.

Perhaps your masters should redo your faulty programming, you robot UMNO propaganda machine.

166. #166 by Adolf_Napoleon on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 3:44 pm

WARNING! WARNING!! – Please also Inform all your Non-Bumi Friends

I urge Non-Bumi to stay out of politics, street demos and any new demands for equality and meritrocacy. At the height of this Political cum Economical tension, dont create any slightest excuse for those race-based politician to create racial tension.

There are many people still carrying the “May 13th” torch in their heart. Please advise your loved ones and friends. Stay out of active politics. ONLY involve is coffee shop and mamak talk.

The ONLY WAY for a NON-BUMI to express themselves is in the voting ballot box. FULL STOP !!!!!!!!!!