No, this ‘Babi’ will Not ‘Balik Cina’

By Farish A. Noor

I have just read the reports on the internet about the goings-on that led to the disruption and early closure of the public forum organised by the Bar Council on Conversion in Malaysia over the weekend. Apart from the other rather offensive remarks that were featured in the various reports that I read, I also chanced upon a rather curious revelation: Apparently during the commotion caused when some of the so-called ‘defenders of the faith’ had entered the room where the forum was being held, there were calls for a certain ‘Babi’ to ‘Balik Cina’.

Now I have checked and double-checked all the photos that are available on the internet and have seen no image that corresponds to the ‘Babi’ in question. Therefore for the sake of academic consistency and objectivity, I am compelled to ask the Bar Council this: Was there a pig in the auditorium where the forum was held? And if so, how could the Bar Council invite a pig to attend a forum that was open primarily for Malaysian citizens (who are overwhelmingly human, as identity papers and passports have not been issued to pigs or any other non-human species as far as I know)

Furthermore I need to ask how the demonstrators knew that the pig (if one was present) was of Chinese origin? Did it carry a Chinese passport, and if so, why was it in KL when the Olympic games were being held in Beijing and the world’s attention was focused there?

(*ed. I can only assume that this was a rather anti-social pig from China who had come to Malaysia to avoid the throngs of tourists who have overtaken Beijing, which would be a sensible thing that I would have done myself, so I confess to having sympathy with this mysterious invisible pig.)

Lest there be any offence to pigs from China, I would like to remind the demonstrators who made that remark that there are enough pigs in southeast asia and that pigs are, in fact, a native species in the region (including Malaysia). To ask this mysterious pig to ‘Balik Cina’ was therefore offensive to say the least, as it overlooks the fact that it could have been a local Malaysian pig and therefore has every right to be in Malaysia. Though what it was doing at the bar council’s forum is anyone’s guess.

Here are some categories of local pigs (genus: Sus, subfamily species: suinea (Latin)) that have shared our very same bumi for centuries:

In Malaysia we have the babi hutan, babirusa (genus: Babyrousa) and wild boar (genus: Sus Scrofa) that have been long-time residents of the peninsula.

In Indonesia, there are also many types of local pigs such as the Sulawesi Babirusa, the Warty pig of Sulawesi (genus: Sus Celebensis), the Timorese Warty Pig (Genus: Sus Timorensis) and the Javanese Warty hog (Genus: sus Verrocosus).

In Vietnam there is of course the Sus Bucculentus, otherwise known as the Indo-Chinese warty pig, while in the Philippines there is the local Sus Cebifrons that hails from the Visayas Islands.

So how dare some people go around making wild allegations about the alleged foreign citizenship and/or origins of a pig that may or may not have been present at the Bar Council forum? To assume the foreign identity and origin of an individual merely on the basis of appearance and behaviour would reek of the highest form of prejudice, and points only to the ignorance of those who simply do not know: PIGS are not foreign to Malaysia or Southeast Asia. They are as localised and normalised as Durians and Corruption in this country.

———————-
My Facebook supporters page.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Yee Siew Wah on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 11:45 am

Look at the fat idiotic bum in front of the photographer in the hall. These idiots are trying to behave like holier than thou . But they do not know that they r making themselves known to the world with narrow, selfish egoistic brains. They thought they r champions of religion. Islam do not teach muslims to behave like this. They are bunch of idiots that spoilt the beauty of Islam.
    Big shame on them.
    After 50+ years we are worst off in terms of race and now religion. I fully put the blame on our BN goons running the country. This is one of their by-products. Wonder when r these idiots r going to face the REAL world.

2. #2 by Evenmind on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 12:00 pm

Now, pigs are being sodomized ! what else is left ?

3. #3 by Tulip Crescent on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 12:17 pm

Bigjoe

The poll results can be explained by way of the fact that the Bar auditorium had many Malays among the audience. As you say, in a Malay channel, 50 per cent disagreed that the forum should be held.

Thank God that not all Malays belong to the Zulkifli Noordin kind.

There is always the lunatic fringe.

4. #4 by gundam on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 12:25 pm

when someone dislike or disrespect u, it’s normally due to despisal or jealousy.

in tis case, it’s obviously the latter.

5. #5 by boh-liao on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 12:30 pm

Why the surprise? We have here the largest Animal Farm with some animals more equal than other animals!

Anyway University of Illinois animal geneticists Lawrence Schook and Jonathan Beever have created a side-by-side comparison of the human genome and the pig genome that reveals remarkable similarities. “The pig is genetically very close to humans.”

It’s a case of one pig calling another pig! Ha, ha, ……….

6. #6 by IbnAbdHalim on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 12:35 pm

It seems that our Kulim-Bandar Bahru and Kubang Kerian MPs got trapped in an UMNO plot with collaboration of the Bar Council. That’s what will happen if we cast aside the gray matter and resort to our emotions. Emotions do run high and can do more harm. All we need is wisdom.

7. #7 by aiD_kamikuP on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 12:47 pm

//Hard to find a single metaphorical usage of pig that is not derogatory : what a comprehensive indictment of pigs.// – Jeffrey

Indeed it is and what a pity.

Even the chicken with 36 chromosomes (often derogatorily linked to less than valiant effort) comes out as the unlikely hero in the battle of the breakfast table. The chicken is INVOLVED (providing the egg) but the pig is COMMITTED (providing the bacon).

But on the other hand – our human body cell has 46 chromosomes and in a pig there are 40. Our technological advancement in genetics for the benefit human health today owes a lot to the pig because of the near likeness of its chromosomes to that of ours – HUMANS.

But I suppose the pig will eventually have the last laugh. Creatures like that fruit fly (with 8 chromosomes only) who barged into the BAR Council forum screaming ‘babi balik Cina’ may one day soon receive a transplanted organ that had been ‘grown’ in a PIG.

Oh boy, what poetic justice would that be?

8. #8 by 5titlah on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 1:03 pm

Very simple mah……!
    What sort of race are mostly in jail…?
    What sort of race are the highest crime comitted?
    What sort of race that is trying to destroy Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim……..?

U tell me.
    Niamah ney…………………………!

9. #9 by lew1328 on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 1:06 pm

Greetings! All

It’s really SAD… once again we had such intolerant personnel whose lauds the irrelevant religion issued faced in Malaysia. Is this due to level of the country education problem?

Where is the juristic stand point, don’t you think we have a good system but somehow it’s not followed. If this is the case, why we engaged the professionals instead of the moron’s from BN?

Only pig will called others “PIG”…. Which is which…

10. #10 by Godfather on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 1:09 pm

And what do the Mute Chinese Association and the Mute Indian Congress have to say about this ? If they are really supporters of minority rights, then do something. Get out of the Barang Naik consortium. Let the extremists in UMNO, PAS and PKR get together and see how much support they have.

11. #11 by Godfather on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 1:12 pm

The misguided fools from PAS and PKR who joined in the demos do not realise that they are being made use of by UMNO. They do not realise that UMNO makes use of race and religion to continue looting the country blind. While we debate and discuss these issues, the looting goes on unabated.

12. #12 by nafasbaru on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 1:16 pm

taiking Says:
    “If a pig from china was indeed present then I would really be amused. I mean, the chinese government actually issued passport to that pig and our government actually gave that pig entry visa.”

sorry, immigration records deleted.

13. #13 by Loh on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 1:17 pm

Pig is an intelligent animal. The person asking for pig to go back to China may not be as intelligent as the pig. Pig does not offend, and if one does not make prok his food, there is no need to insult the animal.

14. #14 by ktteokt on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 1:20 pm

Don’t forget PIGS make great movie stars! Ever saw BABE?

15. #15 by aiD_kamikuP on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 1:26 pm

My comments of 37 minutes ago was only factual. No harm at all….but it will be no ham at all if there were no pigs.

16. #16 by limkamput on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 1:51 pm

Don’t worry about MCA, Gerakan or MIC not making any statement regarding this. They are to be expected. I am still waiting for official statements from DAP and PAS on the “extreme demonstration” against Bar Council forum.

17. #17 by Jeffrey on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 1:53 pm

Many of the postings here laugh off or see the funnier side of that ugly incident. There is no corresponding crass insults hurled, demanding apologies or threats of demonstrations or lodgment of police report over it.

The restrained and matured responses in this blog thread will go near to prove a measuring cast between those who hurled derogatory racial epithets and insults in the Bar Council forum that they opposed and those who, as a genric group, have been called “pigs” to return to China.

18. #18 by Jeffrey on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 1:53 pm

Ooops “generic”

19. #19 by oknyua on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 1:54 pm

Mute Chinese Association is still mute over their snopping business. Now they quarel over morality – as if they have any to start with.

20. #20 by Toyol on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 2:00 pm

Aiyoh, 50 years of independence has taught us this? Unbelievable!
    We are totally lost as a nation.

21. #21 by jus legitimum on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 2:02 pm

If that idiot had the cheek to call the chinese people ‘pigs’ because we eat pork,then what about other peoples like Europeans,Americans,Africans,Asians,they eat pork too.I can assure the person or persons who call us pigs that he or they are real pigs because he or they are as lazy and stupid as pigs.The chinese are hardworking and smart.How can they be pigs?

22. #22 by La Pax on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 2:28 pm

If malay eats ayam then why nobody calls them ayam.
    Im a non malay and I don’t eat pork for health sake.
    Just because somebody eats pork and you call them pig?
    That’s no right all together.

23. #23 by Luther on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 2:33 pm

Most man do not eat meat of man => man don’t eat man.so we call them man.
    Most tiger also don’t eat tiger => tiger don’t eat tiger.so we call them tiger.
    Man eat tiger,
    Tiger eat man too.
    Man eat pig,tiger eat pig but pig can’t eat tiger nor man.
    Pig also don’t eat pig.
    Pig eat what?? and call them what??
    Pity the pig so we call them pity pig for the time being.
    Pig created by God ,if the believe say so was true, then…
    God told us to be fair and so on to each other as we are all brother and sister of Kingdom of God.=>so God is all fairness mercifull and all mighty.=> God not only will allow man to heaven but pig too! as this creature is create by Him.=> so those who hate pig is against God’s will and will go to Hell.
    Most religion prevent thier followers from committed eating something which is believe to be harmfull but never teach them to dislike or hate them as every creature has God’s will & benignity => So accusing and hatred God creature is against God’s Will then you go to Hell.
    => those “defenders of faith” at the forum will go to Hell.
    and pig need not to go back to China, they belong to this world of God creation they don’t against God’s will=>God’s Will is for them to be eaten by man and thus all Pig will go to heaven.
    => Those who claim can go to heaven must rather be a pig than a man since they are guaranted a heaven.
    => Those “faith defenders” alreday against God’s teaching shall repent and become pig in order to escape from the doom day trial as only pig can be guarantee a heaven place.
    if this logic count then let us don’t offend the pig thing otherwise you will not go to heaven iirespective you are what faith defender unless you are Piggy.

24. #24 by lhslhv on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 2:34 pm

I am just curious, there are about 50 million Han Muslim in China. How come I have not heard any report to do with extremist view and action from them? They are a peaceful Muslim and selling pork as well.

Is it because of their civilisation?

However there was a recent report of suicide bombing which killed 16 people, in Xinjiang which do not belong to Han Chinese? Is it because they are less civilised?

25. #25 by caishen on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 2:39 pm

If the chinese are so-called PIG.
    What about the Bumi of Indon descendant called??..Khir Toyo????

26. #26 by One4All4One on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 2:50 pm

God must be sad, and perhaps angry, at what is happening in Malaysia.

We are taught that true RELIGIONS are universal in nature which encompasses the entire world and even the universe. It certainly encompasses all humanity regardless of ethnic origins.

God is One. ( The Oneness of God )
    Religions are One. ( The Oneness of Religion )
    Humanity is One. ( The Oneness of Humanity )

No one has the sole monopoly of any religion. And no religion belongs to any sole group of persons. To claim so would have been running afoul of teachings and precepts of religions.

Open discussions, debates and questioning would encourage the learning of religions and hence to learn about the true teachings and tenets therein. On the other hand, attempts to “control and monopolise” the teaching and learning of religion would lead to wrong and misleading understanding.

To all who are sincere and God fearing, do not abuse the platform of religions for personal and selfish ends. There should be no attempts to hijack other people’s desire to seek out truth, where there are urgent and imperative questions which affect segments of society. Instead, contribute your knowledge and understanding to further enlighten society.

There are right ways, and there are incorrect ways to do things. Let good sense and wisdom prevail. After all, aren’t religions supposed to guide humanity? If we are true to the teachings, then we would have been magnanimous and forgiving, and understanding. There should be no room for quarrels, shouting, discrimination, prejudice, hypocrisy, etc., etc.

27. #27 by caishen on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 3:01 pm

28. #28 by Luther on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 3:06 pm

Not all Chinese eat pork/pig => Not all man eat pork or pig.
    All Chinese who don’t eat pork not dislike pork/pig=> not all man dislike pork/pig.
    Pig for man to eat => God’s creation.
    God’s teaching is not to hate => don’t hate pig
    Who hate pig = hate God.

29. #29 by max2811 on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 3:15 pm

It was the same with UMNO. Now PAS/PKR has showed their true colours.

30. #30 by kiren on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 3:15 pm

i read some of these researches done in local and foreign universities about the aborigines in malaysia- to my surprise- the malay ethnic are not originated from malaysia. there are originally from indonesia.the real aborigines are those sabahans and sarawakians- in tanah melayu were only those burmese whom were worshiping hindu gods!! thats y if you read carefully in history- there are hindu elements in kedah / kelantan and perak. other than that the land was empty. the malays came in later with no religion. and even there are evidence that the chinese came earlier than them in kelantan- they found a tomb in kelantan sumewer the 12th centuries…to tell you the truth everyone of us are not the real owner for this land (http://malaysianunplug.blogspot.com/2008/07/anwar-ibrahim-will-stand-in-permatang.html).. everyone of us menumpang.. so ( the malays) in that forum has no rights to say such thing… actually sadly to say the malays have no knowledge of their background. most of them dunt know who are they….in 1999 my sister went to america- and sadly to say all of those mat salleh thought we were still staying on the trees!!! can you imagine that….they were very shocked seeing my sister dressed well … cus they thought we were illiterate and dirty and etc etc…some of them dunt even know that malaysia exits!!

31. #31 by boh-liao on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 3:30 pm

Those ‘defenders of the faith’ who yelled ‘Babi’ ‘Balik Cina’ should have a good look at their family tree or genealogy.

Each of us has 2 parents, 4 grand-parents, 8 great grand-parents, 16 great great grand-parents, 32 great great great grand-parents, 64 great great great great grand-parents, 128 ……… grand-parents, 256 ……… grand-parents, etc.

Are those ‘defenders of the faith’ 100% sure that none of their ancestors were babi-eating non-Muslims or came from outside Malaysia?

32. #32 by Loh on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 3:36 pm

Sorry off topic

///Sebaliknya jika kita belajar Sains dan Matematik dalam bahasa Inggeris kita akan dapat akses secara langsung sendiri semua ilmu yang diterokai dan dibukukan dalam bahasa Inggeris tanpa menunggu pengalih bahasa kita. Tiap-tiap tajuk yang terkini dan yang lama terbuka untuk kita menguasainya. Dengan itu kita tidak akan ketinggalan daripada segi ilmu pengetahuan berbanding dengan bangsa yang maju. ///–TDM

TDM tried to justify the teaching of science and mathematics in English—from primary school.

Nobody would argue with TDM on the need to master the English language. The teachers in Chinese, Malay and Indian schools considered it improper to teach mathematics and science in English in primary school when the students have not acquired the required proficiency in English. It was the approach to make the students learn English that they differed with TDM. Of course when the person had the power to implement when he pleased, he became the experts and all others were fools.

We do not know how much sufferings have been inflicted on the teachers and students in primary schools because of the policy dictated by TDM. Much funds have been wasted too. TDM shows once again how he linked cases through unrelated logic.

33. #33 by mauriyaII on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 3:42 pm

Human as well as animals recognize their species by association. As such the pig which was part of the MOB outside the Bar Council premises would have easily recognized the other pig. Calling the other pig to “balik Cina” is rather confusing. Maybe the ill-informed pig does not know the history of pigs as a whole.

So pigs that gave an ultimatum for the forum to be curtailed are so thick-skinned (pun intended) that they do not understand what the forum was all about.

IT WAS NOT ABOUT OR AGAINST ISLAM.

IT WAS TO DISCUSS THE PLIGHT OF NON-MUSLIMS WHO ARE FORCED TO FACE SYARIAH COURT DECISONS BECAUSE ONE OF THEIR FAMILY MEMBERS HAD CONVERTED AND THEY DO NOT HAVE RECOURSE TO JUSTICE IN A CIVIL COURT.

The aim of the forum among other things was to find amicable ways and means to settle disputes that arise when a member of a non-muslim family dies and the religious department claims the body as that of a muslim.

Or when the deceased member’s family becomes destitutes because the syariah court does not recognize their rights to property, etc. because they are non-muslims.

Calling for disputes to be settled behind closed doors is a non-starter in the first place. The non-muslim party under the circumstances does not have access to the civil courts and justice is denied.vThe syariah courts only recognize muslims and their interests. All their deliberations and decisions are pro-muslim.

That forum was to find ways and means out of this dilemma.

34. #34 by Bernice Tang on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 3:44 pm

can anybody tell what is the different between “ketuanan melayu” vs Nazi? did they preach the same thing?

35. #35 by boh-liao on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 3:45 pm

Each of us has 2 parents, 4 grand-parents, 8 great grand-parents, 16 great great grand-parents, 32 great great great grand-parents, 64 great great great great grand-parents, 128 ……… grand-parents, 256 ……… grand-parents, 512, 1024, 2048, 4096, 8129, 16384, and so on.

So, actually, like it or not, we are all related – some of my ancestors may be your ancestors as well, many many generations away.

If there is a Malay, Chinese, or Indian who thinks he is 100% pure, please let us know. It is scientifically impossible, unless the person is a product of continuous asexual cloning from one original human!

Each of us is actually a melting pot comprising genes from various ethnic groups. So, we should stop behaving as if we are 100% pure and stop condemning individuals of other ethnic or religious groups.

36. #36 by caishen on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 3:48 pm

Too bad that they are so many innocent Malays been dragged into such situation by Indon-originated Malays….
    Why are Indo-originated Malays be allowed to called themselves Bumiputra..???
    Why can’t a Chinese, Indian be one???

No wonder the UMNO are a hell of a party with a mixture of Indon hot tempered and typical Malays ….

37. #37 by Adolf_Napoleon on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 3:52 pm

Dear YB and to All Comrades

For Chinese “Hua Ren” in Malaysia, We have 2 choices :

a) To follow our ancestors who migrated to Malaysia and migrate to other countries, which I personally think the government is quite please with this.

b) To die-standing and stay here to continue to fight for a place and equality. But chinese based parties are not united. We have DAP, Gerakan and MCA, yet we are the minority.

We need another Dr.Sun Yat Sen here to unite the chinese.

38. #38 by caishen on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 3:56 pm

“can anybody tell what is the different between “ketuanan melayu” vs Nazi? did they preach the same thing….”

If you look closely at the Nazi swastika flag…is the opposite of a Buddhist sign.
    If you look closely at UMNO flag… you could see a NINJA TURTLE crossed keris…how amazing…

39. #39 by caishen on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 3:58 pm

Adolf_Napoleon Says:
    …We need another Dr.Sun Yat Sen here to unite the chinese’

We have Lim Kit Siang and the gang….

40. #40 by PureMalaysian on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 4:05 pm

When it comes to scholarships, Amanah Saham, special discount for property purchase…

All the BABI got no share.

But when it comes to TAX pay up time every year…

All the BABI gotta pay equally.

41. #41 by lhslhv on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 4:12 pm

if I can remember China, through Admiral Cheng Ho, provide protection to the Sultans of Malaya from the attacks of pirates from Indonesia and Siamese (now Thailand). Without the protection from China, history of Malaysia will be different now. The sultans should be grateful to the Chinese for protecting them.

This Najis was the person who call the Chinese and Indian “pendatang” until Datuk Lee Kim Sai told him off.

The so call “defenders of the faith” believe that everything happens on earth is the will of God. Since God wants the Chinese and Indian to be born in Malaysia, why on earth they want to go against the wishes of God to ask the Chinese to go back to China and the Indian to go back to India?

Are they practising what the God is asking them to do? Are they real “defender of the faith” of Islam?

42. #42 by caishen on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 4:15 pm

Bernice Tang Says:

can anybody tell what is the different between “ketuanan melayu” vs Nazi? did they preach the same thing?

Nazi is talking about expansion and conquering beyond their territory.
    “ketuanan melayu” means they want to be lord of his own territory forever fed by immigrant servants.

43. #43 by kiren on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 4:19 pm

44. #44 by caishen on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 4:30 pm

During the British occupation, there’s saying…
    The indian works for British people to spend…

Now, the Malay are doing what the British did.
    The Chinese are working so that the Malays can keep on spending.

45. #45 by shadow on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 4:37 pm

Members of MCA,GERAKAN,MIC, and PPP what are u waiting for. You have been named as ULAR and BABI. Is it what you want?

46. #46 by happytony on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 6:03 pm

is like that. We didnt see doesnt means no ma.

May be Boar was issue a passport for Pig neh.

47. #47 by StevePCH on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 6:40 pm

kiren, just be careful with your comment. we dont want to see you missing. anyway, don’t comment about Sultans. They are the customary head of states.

Why Zul goes missing ? well , nobody knows. What he did as a PKR MP was unimaginable ?

48. #48 by Loyal Malaysian on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 6:52 pm

I am a Malaysian , period.
    Even if the political leadership deems it otherwise, the fact of the matter is that Malaysia is my homeland.
    If the situation in my homeland becomes uninhabitable for me and my family members, I will be looking for refuge in a nearby Asean country rather than ‘balik Cina’

49. #49 by chiakchua on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 6:52 pm

The BABI CHINA hurts!

50. #50 by ReformMalaysia on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 7:28 pm

This land and the land elsewhere belongs to the creator, God..

Ketuanan? what ketuanan?

Man are created equal, have equal rights on earth….

Comments are closed.