Two days ago, the MCA secretary-general Datuk Seri Ong Ka Chuan said that instead of development and prosperity, the key issue during the Permatang Pauh by-election would be Anwar Ibrahim’s Sodomy II charge.
He said:
“Permatang Pauh will be a battle of public confidence. The winner will be the side that most convincingly explains the situation surrounding Anwar’s charge.
“If the opposition succeeds in painting a picture that Anwar is a victim of some government conspiracy, then they win. But if the Barisan Nasional can convincingly explain to the grassroots that what’s happening to Anwar is just a criminal justice process, then we win.”
Ka Chuan should not be so fast to jump the gun.
Before MCA leaders, Ministers, Deputy Ministers and MPs go down to the hustings in Permatang Pauh to woo the support of the 14,846 Chinese voters (comprising 24.8% of the 58,459 voters), they should publicly declare whether they fully support the latest persecution of Anwar and the gross abuse of the legal process to further the petty interests of Umno leaders.
After the March 8 “political tsunami”, MCA leaders have been declaring that they have learnt the lesson and would no more be “dumb puppets” of UMNO whether in the Cabinet or the Barisan Nasional Supreme Council.
The first question MCA leaders, Ministers, Deputy Ministers and MPs must answer before they start their campaign in Permatang Pauh is whether they have kept their post-March 8 pledge to speak up for justice and fair play in the Cabinet and the Barisan Nasional Supreme Council, or whether they are no different from the MCA of pre-March 8 “political tsunami” in being mere subservient puppets of Umno “Big Brother”!
The same political challenge applies to the Gerakan and MIC leaders, Ministers, Deputy Ministers and MPs – have they spoken up in Barisan Nasional government and Supreme Council against the Sodomy II persecution of Anwar or are they in full support of the obsession of the top Umno leadership with one person regardless of the national trauma and international infamy it is creating?

#1 by ablastine on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 9:09 am
I simply wonder whether the average IQ of MCA members is less than 50. We all know that they have sold their souls and people for self gains. Do they know that their master who has been sodomizing them for the past 50 years is going to fall. Their perverse and filthy control of the important institutions in the country is not going to save them from the wrath and fury of a people awaken. Stupid MCA, there is nothing to be had anymore with a sinking ship. Maybe those with IQ slightly more than 50 will see that and jump ship become they perish. MCA, you do not represent the Chinese. You are a disgrace to the community. Nobody respect you. Definately not the Chinese and of course your master whom you beg from and who sodomizes you everyday. So keep your mouth shut, imbeciles.
#2 by mauriyaII on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 10:40 am
If the component parties in the BN especially the MCA, MIC, GERAKAN AND PPP had any brains and guts they would have realized that they had been buggered by the UMNO controlled BN for the past 50years and would have either stopped being lapdogs or would have walked out of the BN.
Don’t expect such decent behaviour from self-serving beggars who are getting ready to campaign for the UMNO racists.
September 16 is just round the corner. Would they listen to the rakyat and cross over when DSAI walks into Parliament as victor of the PP by-election?
#3 by k1980 on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 12:54 pm
no national leader is going to champion the cause of non-Muslims and risk alienating the Muslim constituency. Certainly not the man who once said that he was the leader of all Malaysians. That claim rings hollow among many non-Muslims today.
http://us2.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/11125/84/
#4 by Rocky on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 1:12 pm
ka chuan is way out of touch with malaysians like his other friends in BN. we do not believe the Anwar charges and we can see that from the survey. Ka chuan is out of topic, he can’t bash PAS cos UMNO is wooing PAS thus PAS is no loner evil..Ka chuan has not balls to tell UMNO that PAS is evil
so Ka chuan, you talk a lot. why you run away from Batu Gajah in 2008 election? well wait la, soon MCA will also kick you out like wat your bro kena.
BTW MCA plse do not talk about cross overs cos you accepted cross over from Bahau MP last term so you do not have the moral right to talk!!!
#5 by KennyGan on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 1:25 pm
MCA has no place for conscientious people who genuinely want to do some good for the community. The whole party is filled with self-serving politicians who carry Umno balls just to get some crumbs from the gravy train while selling out the Chinese community. Witness all the racist policies in education, employment and economy which were all done under the nose of MCA and its companion dog, MIC.
The 7 branches of MCA PJ should just quit MCA and join PKR. Their leadership has paid no heed to their concerns as if they don’t exist; they are just an embarrassment to the MCA leadership who have made sucking up to Umno a fine art.
In any case, the trend now is to multi-racial parties which fight for issues for all race instead of race based parties which fights for its own race. History has shown that this does not work – the dominant race will always get the most under this flawed system.
#6 by StevePCH on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 5:23 pm
kanthanboy Says:
Today at 04: 10.30 (13 hours ago)
…//MCA has done a lot for setting TAR College n UTAR//… StevePCH
It would be a big deal if you were a beggar. But it is an insult if you consider yourself the representative of the 7 million Chinese citizens in the BN government for the past 50 years. We have to think beyong the beggar mentality
Yes, I am a beggar. I did not make it to the local u. I got the offer from Singapore U instead but did not have money to futher. I HAD no choice but to study at TARC college for a degree. If that is your narrow definition of beggar, I am. There are so many like me being beggers unlike you kanthanboy graduating from Harvard or MU. Those without better results but not making it to our courses of choice due to the quota system.
Your insult does not really make you better than a beggar though but I guess you are not since you make “marvelous” comments huh ?
#7 by limkamput on Sunday, 10 August 2008 - 11:45 pm
StevePCH, i am experienced enough to know you are promoting MCA here.
#8 by kanthanboy on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 3:40 am
StevePCH,
I did not call you a beggar. I was referring to the MCA and NOT you or anyone who has to study at TARC or UTAR. Read my statement //.. if you consider yourself the representative of the 7 million Chinese citizens in the BN government for the past 50 years.//
If I understand you correctly, you were trying to say that MCA deserves our praise for setting up TARC and UTAR. I disagree with you on this point. You could have enrolled in courses of your choice at a local university but you were denied your rightful opportunity as a consequence of the beggar mentality of the MCA. Lim Keng Yaik of Gerakan disclosed that MCA and Gerakan ministers are beggars of BN. MCA always like to brag about TARC and UTAR as proof that BN’s educational policy is fair to all races. We need to think beyond the beggar mentality of the MCA.
#9 by Bigjoe on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 9:18 am
Oh. Its quite clear MCA is still a puppet. Any protest is just for show out of desperation because they know the PM is weak…
#10 by StevePCH on Monday, 11 August 2008 - 11:41 am
limkamput/Kanthanboy. maybe u are right in one sense but promoting MCA ? sorry lah. I am totally against these puppets but what am I to say ? I am a beggar ! of education — you see. I have no choice but to stick to these mentality. Many are also still stuck.
Without TARC, I would probably still be selling kacang putih or tending my estate and not commenting on this blog.
Have I ever voted for MCA,MIC ,BeEnd hell never. Why should I ? Their leaders are the ones whom betrayed Chinese/Indians/minorities in the first.
Like it or not, PR/DAP will have to fight for equal business/education rights for all based on merits. Entry into courses via “backdoor” matriculation had also reduced our quality of graduates and entry opportunities. Else, they will end up like MCA too. Engrossed in ammassing wealth.
Indians are even in a tougher situation but lo…. survival of the fittest. We have thousands of professional Indians that came through via private colleges.
That’s why PR provides the best platform for these desperate communities to act in Parliament.
PKR – major Malay / multiracial , DAP – Chinese/Indians , PAS – “islam inclined” Malays.
As for Gerakan,MCA,MIC with Ameno as master , what can they do other than BEG. They totally deserve their current state as they had not spoken out in public and societies biasness always end with political death.
Failure to make strong stand in Anway case is also a prove that they are still afraid and still behaving like beggers.
#11 by aquaimplotec on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 12:50 am
One sure way for BN to win in the coming Permatang Pauh by-elections would be to repeat what happened in the March 08 elections. i.e. delay ballot counting until 4 a.m. in the morning when everyone will be too sleepy to care. The NTV7 camera man will forget to switch on the microphone when the election commission announces the results and what will go on air will be like the Beijing Olympics opening day fireworks – a pre-recorded perfect win for BN.
#12 by Pak Long on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 2:26 pm
Saya rasa Datuk Seri Ong Ka Chuan dah terlalu makan.. sampai tak tahu apo nak makan.. “makan tulang”. If you got nothing to say, please don’t talk rubbish and made stupid statement like this, just keep quiet and do something more meaningful to the citizen.. thank you