Anwar Ibrahim will be the new Parliamentary Opposition Leader after he wins the Permatang Pauh by-election on August 26, 2008.
This is to take effect from August 27.
This was one of the decisions taken unanimously by Pakatan Rakyat leaders of Parti Keadilan Rakyat, PAS and DAP at a meeting last night.
A joint statement by Pakatan Rakyat leaders would be made at the Kuala Lumpur Court Complex before Anwar’s court appearance this morning.

#1 by KennyGan on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 8:56 am
YB Lim,
The Election Commission for reasons best known to itself has put the polling day on a Tuesday. Can the Penang State govt. declare Aug 26 a state public holiday to encourage maximum turnout? The more people vote the less the effect of any cheating such as vote stuffing or postal votes.
#2 by atlk on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 9:12 am
insya allah, justice will prevail.
#3 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 9:19 am
No more waiting. The kangaroo era should be over soonest.
Stop the suffering of people of all races and ages
#4 by Sagaladoola on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 9:20 am
Hope to see him back in Parliament.
Heard that he will be charged today :-(
Regards,
http://sagaladoola.blogspot.com
#5 by k1980 on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 9:22 am
The country will soon be blacklisted by the U.N. for persecuting its Parliamentary Opposition Leader as is happening in Mugabeland
#6 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 9:25 am
I am sorry to say that initially I thought Uncle Pet was a woman, quite charming lady. Only later when he spoke, I realised that he is a man.
#7 by Elwin Heng on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 9:31 am
Wish En. Anwar & Pakatan Rakyat(PR) all the best!
Wish all qualified citizen travel or go back re-election, turn up or show up 308 tsunami disaster against ‘blue’! No matter what’s the negative impact showed-on, such as ‘press interviewer misunderstanding’ or sodomy II or etc.’, I/we will definitely as sincere supporter of PR! Same to you, you know the answer, don’t you!
Don’t allow ‘blue’ dirty threats or tricks turn up victory.
Victory is only belongs to ‘rakyat’, En. Anwar (or PR) deserved victory!
Sympathy to ‘blue’, pity to ourselves!
Support & confident to PR, bright lights to our next generation!
TQ.
Warmest regards.
#8 by black crow on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 9:34 am
I am certainly delighted that Pakatan leaders are able to work amiably in choosing the Opposition leader amongst them. This augurs well for the well being and future of Pakatan and give us the rakyat hope that the coalition will be strong in the years ahead. Please continue to work on this aspect.
The EC fixing polling day on a Tuesday certainly smell fishy as it would effect voters turnout. But declaring a holiday on account of a by election while the rest of the state is not involve directly is irresponsible. The people who are eager to be involve should take leave from work. The holiday should be kept for when wee celebrate Pakatan reigning as the Goerment.
#9 by son of perpaduan on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 9:34 am
God of all gods, please bless anwar ibrahim from the evils of entire gorverment who wants him death. Please, all readers…save a prayer for anwar too. The entire gorverment wants to nail him down because of their past years of dirty jobs held by all corrupted monister (minister) felt threaten if PK come to power. This is a final showdown…between life and death. Only happen once in your life time…Long live PK….PROSECUTE all the thief who steal our country wealth. Don’t let us pay for their crimes.
#10 by langkah baru on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 9:37 am
Now the stupid Federal Government is really playing with fire. Purposely arrange the voting day on the Tuesday. Why? They know these people who can’t back to vote becos they are working elsewhere. Now as one of the citizen who wants to see changes in the government , please I ask for the people of Permatang Pauh who stay any part of the Malaysia and Singapore who suppose to vote in their state, please come back, you want to save for two days leave but you will suffer for four years term under these stupid good for nothing leader. Waste two days leave but you will happy for seeing changes for the whole of nation. Peoplea of government sector, be brave apply leave now vote for changes vote peace and fair.
#11 by oknyua on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 9:40 am
This is the one reason why so many of them (UMNO) already pee in their pants. Top of the list is AAB and Naj**. In the government department, IGP and AG are planning paln B for early retirement.
#12 by Anak_Penang on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 9:51 am
Hidup Anwar !
Hidup Melayu ! Hidup Cina ! Hidup India !
Hidup Iban ! Hidup Kadazan ! Hidup Bidayuh ! Hidup Melanau ! Hidup Dayak ! Hidup dll !
Hidup Malaysia !!
Daulat Raja Nazrin !
Daulat Tuanku Mirzan !!
#13 by Amoeba on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 9:56 am
U got to do something to help DSAI Mr. Lim since i am as normal citizen cant do much about it.
#14 by Anba on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 9:56 am
Dear Malaysians,
Anwar Ibrahim’s appointment as the opposition leader is applauded to show support for him to continue to voice out the discrimination done to him and to ensure further injustice not done to another Malay or other races in Malaysia.
Would Anwar Ibrahim speak for all the races or will he be another Malay fighting for his rights for the moment and could he be another ‘Dr.Mahathir in the making’. Dr. Mahathir too was seen to be patriotic when he wrote the book, ‘The Malay Dilemma’, although banned when it was published but was sold when Dr.Mahathir came to power. Dr.Mahathir’s book may have boosted the making or creation of the NEP in 1970.
Would Anwar Ibrahim sieze the political advantage by making a comeback and continue to be ‘Bapa Ketuanan Malaysia 2′ ( Dr.Mahathir being the ‘Bapa Ketuanan Malaysia 1′ ) or would Anwar Ibrahim fight for rights of Malaysians of all races?
I don’t totally trust Anwar Ibrahim. We have seen from the past how the Malay politicians have used their popularity to come to power and push for the Malay agenda and strengtening further the NEP policies.
If Anwar Ibrahim decides to abolish the NEP ( Dasar Ekoomi Baru) if he wins in Permatang Pauh and eventually leads the country, then, and only then I see light at the end of the tunnel for the minorities in Malaysia. Until then, lets wait and watch the drama that’s unfolding.
May truth and justice set us free.
God bless.
Anba
#15 by ShiokGuy on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 10:13 am
I agreed that Penang State Government should declared Tuesday 26 August as State Holiday.
Can we have the ink this round? Penang voter are not stupid and the EC has a few weeks to go on Air to tell people about the ink!
August Month is Merdeka Month, but out country is in distress. So a few of us blogger has hoist our national flag upside down online. The protocol of hoisting the flag upside down is to show the world that Malaysia is in DISTRESS.
It is NO WAY disrespect to our beloved country and flag, the flag is a symbol to unite all Malaysian. In battle field, we soldiers will just follow the flag and charge on.
REMEMBER HOISTING THE FLAG UPSIDE DOWN IS NOT DISRESPECT TO THE FLAG AND NATION. MALAYSIA IS IN DISTRESS AND WE NEED HELP NOW
If all Malaysia can hoist their flag upside down for this month, send a strong signal to the world that Malaysia is in distress. Or at least hoist the flag upside down in cyberspace, the least we can do to help to signal to the world that we need HELP.
Regards
Shiok Guy
http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/
You can get the graphic to link to your site and also information and protocol about hoisting a national flag at my blog. Merdeka!
#16 by Jong on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 10:22 am
A good political move, cheers!
#17 by yhsiew on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 10:27 am
Anwar deserves to be appointed new Parliamentary Opposition Leader. His struggle for a just, corruption-free government is what the rakyat need.
#18 by wanderer on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 10:30 am
We should be demanding for neutral empires and UN observers for all our future elections…especially, the next GE. We must deprive these
shameless ba*tards in Umno in using all the dirty means to win elections. These shameless scums of the earth must be widely exposed not only nationally, but also, to the international communities.
#19 by wanderer on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 10:35 am
Tuesday, the polling day for a full holiday maybe stretching a bit too far. Perhaps, work knock off 3 hours before end of polling time is more acceptable by the business communities.
#20 by budak on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 10:42 am
no need to fight also win liao…
read the SD from Dr. Osman, it’s clearly shows that Polis Meraja Di-Malaysia… who instruct this bunch of crooks neither than the PM himself… :-)
http://us2.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/10901/84/
if the BUTA judge still got eyes, please read this page before attend to PDRM + UMNO-BN sandiwara…
#21 by oknyua on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 10:53 am
“Anwar arrives in court accompanied by his wife and supporters. Strong show of support from Pakatan members with all the big guns like Lim Guan Eng, Lim Kit Siang present. Courtroom jammed full. Proceedings start.
Judge has set Sept 10 for mention and allowed Anwar to be out on personal bond at RM20,000 without surety.” Malaysian Insider.
Melurian, (sounds like durian), where are you? You have to stop your celebration – better pass the beer, XO and roasted pork to me, because it might be sometimes yet.
#22 by dawsheng on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 10:53 am
The polling date can be any day because that day is the judgement day, it is now known as Tuesday. I wish I am Permatang Pauh resident, but to bad God did not bestow the honour unto me to make that judgment call, although I’d like to save the country from hell. Will you not going to vote just because it fells on a Tuesday?
#23 by yhsiew on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:10 am
Last week, former US Vice-President and Nobel Prize winner Al Gore criticised Malaysia over the sodomy investigation. “The real tragedy is that the government engages in character assassination to silence an effective leader of the political opposition,” he alleged in a statement. “Twice, now, the government has used the same tactic in an effort to politically destroy Anwar Ibrahim. In the process, however, it is damaging its own credibility at home and abroad.” – Themalaysianinsider.
——————————————————————-
AAB has no brain letting the country open to international condemnation.
#24 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:14 am
“Anwar Ibrahim has been appointed the new Parliamentary Opposition Leader after the Permatang Pauh by-election on August 26, 2008.” Kit
Errr…”has been”? You cannot appoint somebody who is not yet a member of Parliament to be Parliamentary opposition leader!
#25 by oknyua on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:18 am
Undergrad2, the announcement in total context pls.
#26 by badak on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:19 am
What can go wrong, has gone wrong in DSAI case.It is a joke ,the whole world is laughing at at us..Why? DSAI was realease again on a personal bond.
Our AG and the police was given a slap by the judge.Don,t be surprise if another judge takes over this case.
#27 by limkamput on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:21 am
Anwar and PR have to seize power before he is found guilty, period.
It is simple: if Police, AG and Judiciary are found wanting as most of you said, then the livelihood of him being found guilty is almost a certainty. So what strategies does PR have if Anwar is found guilty and sentenced to jail. There is almost a vacuum. And that is why you find UMNO-BN have only targeted Anwar and no one else. It is almost like telling all Malaysians that UMNO-BN can almost write off all other PR leaders. To me it is also reawakening and “soul-searching” for many other PR leaders.
The alternative is for Anwar and PR to take control of the Federal Government and revamp the Police, the AG and the Judiciary before the completion of the trial. That calls for strategies to take control of the Federal Government before the completion of the trial. Has PR got one yet?
#28 by haris01 on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:22 am
heLLo,hai all pakatan rakyat heros,supporters..
to remove anwar is break off the pakatan rakyat….
to break out pakatan rakyat is to divide all opposition vote….
answer bn will gain back 2/3 majoriti votes….
we all from different parties dap,pkr n pas has united and now we must save our leader…to save our country…
my vote always for the opposition…
#29 by limkamput on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:23 am
Yes, the announcement seems a little odd to me too, undergrad2. Have to agree with you sometimes.
#30 by oknyua on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:24 am
melurian, are you still looking for the name of the judge? Its Sessions Court judge S.M. Komathy Suppiah.
#31 by badak on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:26 am
To all Malaysian, especially voters in Permatang Pauh.If we love democracy we all must see to it that UMNO BN led Government.Will not have a chance to cheat in this BY-ELECTION.If money is offered please make a police report.
If you see goverment machinenry being use please make a police report.Show all other Malaysian that the voters of PERMATANG PAUH will not be taken in by BN cheating ways..
#32 by FY Lim on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:30 am
Let all rakyat and specifically those voters in Permatang Pauh join hands together to give DSAI a heroic and warmest comeback into Parliament and the government.
Show to AAB and his deputy that the rakyat are solidly behind PR and fed up of BN’s farcical and clown display in the courts. These two have no credibility and what more claims to be Islam hadhari.
The corrupt incidents had drained the country of our rich resources and these resources are being used by priviledged individuals as if our coffers belong to no one but themselves only.
This aspect of mal-adminstration will certainly cause the fall of other govt worldwide but not BN.
The rakyat in Permatang Pauh will show BN with a very clear cut majority for Keadilan and this watershed victory will clear the way for BN’s downfall and PR to be the new elected govt.
The win will be a defining moment for DSAI. Fear no one but god.
The DAP and Pas will work doubly hard. DAP have to concentrate on Seberang Jaya and as CM of Penang , I believe Guan Eng can and will put your focus specifically in this area where there are more housing estates.
#33 by yhsiew on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:32 am
Sessions Court judge S.M. Komathy Suppiah allowed Anwar to be released on a personal bond set at RM20,000 without surety. Anwar has to go to the high court for the hearing on 10 September.
I suggest PR expedite taking over of federal government before 10 September, after all, 16 September is only 1 week away from 10 September.
Once the federal government is changed, there will be fair hearing for Anwar.
#34 by Kasim Amat on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:33 am
First of all, I think it is a joke that a defendant is being appointed as a leader in Parliament. I urge PR to think over this seriously as PR would lose it credibility if a sodomite is appointed as a leader.
It is no doubt that Malaysia is under spotlight again after Anwar was charged in Court. Anwar vowed that he has obtained supports from overseas that the charge is a political move aiming to derail his political campaign to topple the government. In this regards, he has successfully drawn adequate sympathies from the world and now everyone is casting doubts on the judiciary independence and the integrity of Police Force of Malaysia. He is very clever in turning around what was his shameful sin to be a very good weapon for him in his political campaign. What he wants is to make the world think that everyone in Malaysia is a liar or a crook. He must be very happy that the world is looking at all Malaysian in a very different way. If justice will prevail, it will prevail. Let the truth be uncovered and bring whoever was wrong to task. It is time to pay back the trust and reputation that our leaders have lost.
For your information, everyone here in office is celebrating. Hidup BN. Hidup Rakyat.
#35 by k1980 on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:33 am
Perjury is a serious offence as it can result in miscarriages of justice. In the United States the general perjury statute under Federal law provides for a prison sentence of up to five years. In the United Kingdom the penalty for perjury is a prison sentence of up to seven years. So whatever happened to Azizan Aboo Bakar, Oomi Halfida and others who lied under oath in 1998 during the trial of DSAI? As far as I know, they are living the good life that Saiful yearns to join
#36 by Cinapek on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:34 am
I am not sure if it is an omen. In JB we have been having dry, hot weather for many days now. Even earlier this morning the weather was still fine. But suddenly around 11 am, it turned dark and overcast. Now there is thunderstrom and it is raining heavily.
Are the Gods angry and crying for Malaysia on this day of shame and infamy?
#37 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:37 am
“What he wants is to make the world think that everyone in Malaysia is a liar or a crook.” Kasim Selamat
No. Just UMNO and their lackeys.
#38 by ALtPJK on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:38 am
Yes the announcement does seem curious indeed. But there was a mention ‘to take effect from August 27′.
I am just wondering if this is not just one of the seemingly ‘odd’ moves in the whole grand scheme of foxing and outfoxing one another. Let’s see how this pans out.
Just like the oft-quote cliche…’the plot thickens’!
#39 by rakyatmalaysia07 on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:38 am
Hey Kasim Amat
You got it wrong : It is innocent till proven guilty.
The sodomite is the person who says guilty even before the trial
#40 by yyh on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:42 am
there is an ongoing petition for an independent judiciary initiated by haris. Please visit http://www.harismibrahim.wordpress and sign up. Urge your friends to do so too.
Given the current political situation, an independent judiciary is our last bastion to defend our rights and our freedom. Please, I plead, join in the petition.
And sorry for the digression, Mr Lim Kit Siang.
#41 by yyh on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:43 am
sorry, it should be http://www.harismibrahim.wordpress.com
#42 by oknyua on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:44 am
This thread was posted at 8.26 am and YB Lim KS was on the way to court, with the rest of PR men. I can understand the hurry he was in and most likely the Mr or Miss moderator/administrator overlooked the wordings and sequence of the facts in this thread.
Anyway YB Lim is still not around I pressume and maybe he’ll correct the structure of the announcement – to make it less confusing.
#43 by limkamput on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:46 am
Kasim: I urge PR to think over this seriously as PR would lose it credibility if a sodomite is appointed as a leader.
Who bother what a coconut head says. PR is going to rule this country. Get your plane ticket ready.
#44 by limkamput on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:47 am
A coconut head says: He is very clever in turning around what was his shameful sin to be a very good weapon for him in his political campaign.
Hello what evidence have you got to pronounce him committing a shameful sin. Undergrad2, is this prejudicial? Can this coconut head be sued?
#45 by limkamput on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:48 am
A coconut head says: Let the truth be uncovered and bring whoever was wrong to task. It is time to pay back the trust and reputation that our leaders have lost.
That is right, let bring WHOEVER was wrong to task. Yes it is pay back time. Shall we begin with those who committed more harmful wrongs than just one ass being scr*wed if indeed it was the truth.
#46 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:50 am
How many coconut heads here limkamput???
#47 by gundam on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:53 am
im glad tat anwar is able to watch the opening of olympic games at home tmr.
#48 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:53 am
This banana head wants to play prosecutor, judge and jury.
#49 by Richardqed on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:54 am
“For your information, everyone here in office is celebrating. Hidup BN. Hidup Rakyat” — Kasim Amat a.k.a RealWorld a.k.a. Umnoputra agent.
Oh, you must mean your Umnoputra office. But you’re wrong: When BN hidup, Rakyat cannot hidup. So in order for Rakyat hidup, BN pergi mampus dulu. All other offices (besides yours) will be celebrating when PR takes over.
And by the way, after PR thrashes BN in Permatang Pauh, we hope you don’t disappear and sulk like you did after Mar08.
#50 by milduser on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:57 am
This is a smart move by pakatan. Should DSAI be denied bail, he will be an “absentee” opposition leader in parliament. A clear case of political persecution. A Mugabeland in the making!