Bad news.
Anwar Ibrahim to be charged in court tomorrow.
A sad and black day for Malaysia.
FLASH 2
Permatang Pauh by-election
Nomination Day – August 16 (Saturday)
Polling Day – August 26 (Tuesday)
Bad news.
Anwar Ibrahim to be charged in court tomorrow.
A sad and black day for Malaysia.
FLASH 2
Permatang Pauh by-election
Nomination Day – August 16 (Saturday)
Polling Day – August 26 (Tuesday)
This entry was posted on Wednesday, 6 August 2008, 11:43 am and is filed under Anwar Ibrahim. You can follow any responses to this entry through RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.
Comments are closed.
Fusion theme by digitalnature | powered by WordPress
Entries (RSS) and Comments (RSS) ^
#1 by Captain on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 11:56 am
Truly a black day for Malaysia. A black day for BN Govt. A black day for the Police and all the Govt. ‘baruahs’. Another black day for malaysian economics. A black for our Human rights…
If Anwar is arrested, Malaysians will not tolerate this. …..
The police should alao arrest Badawi and Najib based on Mazlan Harun’s report to ACA. Both must be put behind bars and made to sleep on the cement floor.
#2 by Jong on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:00 pm
I knew it was coming judging from the PM’s statement. He’s never sincere, one who speaks the opposite!
A SAD day indeed! They guys stop at nothing just to get him, don’t they?!!
#3 by mauriyaII on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:01 pm
How can they charge DSAI even without releasing the police report made by …? Have the AG’s office notified the charges to DSAI or his lawyers?
If the charges turn out to be ludicrous and malicious without an iota of truth, DSAI should institute defamation charges against all those involved in this malicious conspiracy to derail his attempt to take over the government by peaceful means.
Hope we don’t see the antics of another kangaroo court that tried him on the 1st sodomy trial.
#4 by clearwater on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:02 pm
I am ashamed of the BN- Umno government and its corrupt instruments, the Police and AG office. I shall mourn Merdeka Day and dress in black. Shameful news indeed, to charge DSAI in court, though not wholly unexpected. This is a sick perverted system where criminals can prey upon the public while state resources are misused to persecute political opponents.
#5 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:03 pm
Hope that does not badly affect his Permatang Pauh by-election campaign.
#6 by Everbright on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:04 pm
Sob sob. My heart aches.
#7 by Jong on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:06 pm
Sorry, I reword my last para:
“A SAD day indeed! They stop at nothing just to get him, don’t they?!! “
#8 by Yee Siew Wah on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:13 pm
Sleepy flip flop PM did not attend the conference yesterday was that he and his Baldie sh_thead considered spending time on the sodomy case is more important. It is time our rakyat do something to counter this conspiracy by our corrupted government officials.. We must help Anwar for all we can.
#9 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:15 pm
The police probably have FABRICATED some evidence with Anwar’s 1998 DNA sample. Let us wait and see.
#10 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:15 pm
With his growing influence on national issues day after day, UMNO’s only way to curb Anwar’s advances is by charging him with sodomy allegation in court, the soonest better. We Malaysians are not one bit surprised by this piece of news as we have been expecting it since the day the sodomy allegations surfaced.
#11 by trashed on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:15 pm
Obviously timed to affect his bid to stand for election. Presumably, if Dr Wan Azizah had not stepped down, then the charges would not have been forthcoming.
In a sense, better that the police be hastened to put the charges forward now than wait another few weeks. Who knows what new “evidence’ could be created ?
#12 by jc on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:15 pm
The Darkest hour. Please visit Dr Hsu’s site, @
http://hsudarren.wordpress.com/2008/08/06/the-country-is-cracking-up/#comments
#13 by PureMalaysian on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:18 pm
Oh gosh, will there be an impending curfew? Better get ready and stock up some cans of food!
What will PR do at this juncture?
#14 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:24 pm
Well, the only thing I regret about Anwar’s case is we can only sit down at watch the whole process of another kangaroo court.
#15 by melurian on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:28 pm
if during nomination and yet unable to get anwar presence, signature, so cannot contest lar…
aab is smart.
#16 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:29 pm
Despite being charged, Anwar still can stand for the Permatang Pauh by-election as long as he is not convicted by the court.
It is high time that PKR takes advantage of the situation and appeals to voters of Permating Pauh for sympathy votes.
#17 by monsterball on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:32 pm
So he is charged…but still need to be proven guilty.
Why loose faith?
Lets see…when is the actual case on?
Usually at least 6 months …from now.
If within few weeks…..before by-election….chance…he will be found guilty by a pro UMNO judge.
When will Dollah be real brave and truthful good deed .. for Malaysians……..demanding case close…and support Anwar…for once?
I am not dreaming!
I have faith…Dollah can be fair and proper…if he has the guts and do the right thing…..now that he knows…Malaysians do not trust him anymore.
Does he want to see his.. popularity ratings ..slight down…so very low….like Tony Blair?
Lets have some hope…to balance our minds…from going wild.
#18 by melurian on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:33 pm
how to attend when they going to put him behind bars just like baginda and sirul and azilah. the magistrate sure denies his bail one, just like speaker reject motion like dat – saying anwar might implicate his witness, sort of like this ….
so azizah made stupid move, if anwar to contest, who would take the seat…..
#19 by melurian on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:36 pm
just like baginda confident getting bailed and then got rejected, same too to anwar, though sodomy looks harmless (but may be harmful too)…..
#20 by Damocles on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:38 pm
“Hope that does not badly affect his Permatang Pauh by-election campaign.” – ygsiew
The news of his arrest is not all that bad!
The people are already very mad with this government.
The arrest will make them madder!
This will galvanise them to wage a much better, all out fight at Permatang Pauh!
#21 by taikohtai on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:41 pm
The BN gomen has now slithered to new lows, no two hoots about it.
They are so so sh*tscared of losing their honey jar that nothing is below them attaining their selfish, lewd gains at the expense of credibility and fair go.
They have no shame but then, who can really blame them as BN also stands for Bottoms Nincompoops!
#22 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:42 pm
26th August, this is going to be a fast game.
#23 by bentoh on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:52 pm
# melurian Says:
Today at 12: 28.24 (21 minutes ago)
if during nomination and yet unable to get anwar presence, signature, so cannot contest lar…
aab is smart.
=========================================
Anwar can sign in the jail (or rather, detention center)… Very much like Mr Manoharan the Selangor ADUN that is still staying in Kamunting DC right now… ;)
#24 by sani on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:57 pm
Here we go again !!! Malaysia Bolih !!!
#25 by k1980 on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 12:58 pm
Anwar Ibrahim is to be charged in court tomorrow, and AAB will produce the star witness, a 2-month pregnant Saifool with the baby’s DNA identical to Anwar’s.
#26 by just a moment on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:00 pm
Pls can someone or anyone enlighten us the ‘normal’ legal process on this? What will happens after appearing in court? What are the charges will be read out, right? What happen then. We need to know what all this means… other than trapping DSAI. Thks, very disturbing indeed.
#27 by melurian on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:03 pm
Manoharan is different with anwar. wat happen if polis (under aab and botak and moses and patail order) bar lawyer and even his wife, citing anwar don wan to see people, don wan to implicate the case, excuses and excuses. just like mr speaker reject motion with the “superb” excuses – you know wat i mean. probably anwar able to meet ppl after 16 aug…..
#28 by Tulip Crescent on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:03 pm
Perversity, perversity, perversity.
Avoid the perverse.
Alas, thanks to the National Front’s “success,” there are many of such people today.
#29 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:04 pm
#30 by melurian on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:05 pm
kill 2 (or 3) birds with one stone.
anwar cannot contest, azizah lose pp, no one contest for pp so pp goes to bn, pr lose oppos leader and crumbles……
#31 by Captain on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:07 pm
I second the motion by clearwater that all malaysians supporting Pakatan and those against Anwar arrest should all wear BLACK and march in another part of the city on Merdeka morning.
Let it be known to all that if Anwar is arrested, it is not Anwar but the Police, Malaysian Judiciary and the Badawi Govt that will be the actual party on trial.
Badawi popularity immediately after Anwar arrest will fall to 5%.
Can somebody remind Badawi to start shifting out of the official PM’s residence. He has lost credibility to stay there. Not worth spending so much public money or hard earned taxes on such a hopeless fella.
#32 by cinta Malaysia on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:08 pm
Kit,
What are the implications if he is arrested and charged without bail.
Can he still contest?
#33 by I Malaysian on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:10 pm
Can I ask our professional institutions of what are they doing in respect of this conspiracy?
So far I have only seen the Bar council issuing statements raising their concerns. Is this suffice for a body that supposed to uphold justice and law of this country? I’m ashamed if this is how the Bar reacts than they are no more than a body that merely being a part of these so call cahoots.
The same goes to Malaysia Medical Association. There are 1000s of qualified medical practitioners in this country. While even an ordinary has guts to pose relevant questions on the dubious medical procedures I am perplexed as to why the silence among medical fraternity prolongs.
Come on our so called professional! Can you please stand up? Whether one likes Anwar or Saiful is not a matter. It’s a matter of principle and procedures and ultimately the rule of law in Malaysia. With so many clouds surfacing this questionable charge, we Malaysians on behalf our young generation once again appeal to you, PLEASE, PLEASE STAND UP, SPEAK FOR JUSTICE. IT’S NOW OR NEVER
#34 by Tulip Crescent on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:12 pm
cinta Malaysia
If I am right, Anwar can still contest, although depending on the charge, if it is not bailable, then he will be in remand.
If remanded, it means that Anwar cannot campaign.
All the more reason to put our cross on Parti Keadilan so that this government can get out of the coma there was in after March 8.
I am going to Permatang Pauh to campaign.
And yes, come Aug. 31, I shall wear black … mourning the loss of my country’s soul.
#35 by I Malaysian on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:14 pm
Captain Says:
Today at 13: 07.37 (3 minutes ago)
I second the motion by clearwater that all malaysians supporting Pakatan and those against Anwar arrest should all wear BLACK and march in another part of the city on Merdeka morning.
—————————————————————-
I think we have to do that. I support Captain. Also I would suggest we fly our Malaysia flag upside down as some of our bloggers have started doing. I am SICK on with so call dirtiest government in the country.
#36 by just a moment on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:16 pm
Hi K1980 says: Anwar Ibrahim is to be charged in court tomorrow, and AAB will produce the star witness, a 2-month pregnant Saifool with the baby’s DNA identical to Anwar’s.
Thanks for this funny input – I take it as anti-stress dose. Man, I need it. Lets wait and see for 3pm press conference.
#37 by AhPek on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:19 pm
Campaigning is not the question,Tulip Crescent, as long as he is not barred from standing,Anwar will win hands down sitting in jail shaking his legs with the likelihood that his BN opponent might even lose his deposit.
#38 by k1980 on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:20 pm
UMNO itself is in shambles. Its infighting is beyond imagination. It’s killing itself from the inside. So, the next best thing is to find a way to unite UMNO. That is to accuse Anwar Ibrahim of sodomy.
It’s that simple.
http://www.malaysiawaves.com/2008/06/bn-is-desperate-anwar-is-close-to-his.html
#39 by Kasim Amat on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:25 pm
It is not a news that Anwar will be charged in court so please remain calm. The order of society has to be maintained and my view is Malaysia will be better without Anwar. First of all, Anwar is not sued by the government but by his own aide and he has to face it. Why does everyone has to be angry when the victim is asking for justice? This is a law society so we have to obey the law. Ask yourself, can you accept a sodomite to be a leader? Bottom line is Anwar has to be blamed for repeating his own mistake. He just never learn his lesson in 1998 so who else can he blame?
#40 by cinta Malaysia on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:25 pm
Tulip Crescent,
Thank you for your kind explaination.I totally support your
intention to campaign in Permatang Pauh.Let us all ensure that DSAI will obtain a greater majority.
you be blessed always in your struggle for our country.
#41 by Anak_Penang on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:25 pm
Which party do you think will form the next government of Malaysia ?
Express yourself @ votingmalaysia.blogspot.com
#42 by melurian on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:28 pm
polis will make sure anwar will not attend the nomination.
even pkr able to produce signatures, the ec will outright reject it citing the signature is forged and false, nulify the candidate and the constituent goes to bn. hooray for the bn candidate (i speculate they will put pirdaus again) and newspapers spread from underdog and 3 times contestants to finally dream comes true and he’d vow to serve the constituent better (just like ahmad said and idris jusoh on t’gannu).
remember mca how they got bukit bintang long long time ago by means legal, and lks motions everytime get rejected, same concept, same method but different venue only…….
#43 by Damocles on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:29 pm
One more thing – the government is always ready to use strong-arm tactics to remain in power.
The PR should be ready for it.
#44 by atlk on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:29 pm
obviously it’s politically motivated, and a show of power…
i set you free, and i can put you back in…
#45 by atlk on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:31 pm
pak la la la la said saiful needs justice.. what about anwar? anwar no need justice??????
#46 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:31 pm
I wish that PR takes over federal government before the court has time to convict Anwar.
#47 by Amoeba on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:34 pm
:-(………….
#48 by bentoh on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:38 pm
Melurian,
You can’t bar a person from seeing someone else, not even a convicted soon-to-be-hanged person… ;)
That is why even though Manoharan is in the KDC, he’s still able to see his wife, and his wife is still able to bring in the nomination form for Manoharan to sign it… :)
Anwar is not guilty until proven so… which usually takes years…~~ The government could technically block a bail-out, not a visit… ;)
And anyway, since the by-election is confirmed, Anwar can very well sign the nomination paper by today…~~
#49 by Tulip Crescent on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:39 pm
Melurian
MCA got Bukit Bintang for five years through a Court action but that decision is an absurdity since it equated “the sanctity of the ballot to the frivolity of a beauty contest.” The Judge (remember him, he was promoted and I shall not mention the name of this retiree), by his decision, put our judiciary to shame before the entirte Commonwealth.
We must tell Permatang Pauh voters not to be swayed by the “softer” approach that I expect this time. The way Anwar will be treated will be “softer” than the last time in 1998.
Even if it is a bailable offence, the Court can use its inherent discretion to grant bail to Anwar. Then he may campaign while the case is still pending.
Anyway, there is merit in preparing for another candidate, just in case these clowns are up to some nonsense. While the whole world watches, they will be desperate enough to do something stupid like the Judge in the Bukit Bintang case.
#50 by GodFromHeaven on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 1:42 pm
My poorest Son Kasim,
Of cox everybody will remain calm, No Protest. We will not give BN Idiots have good excuses to use ISA to detain DSAI. My son, pls go back to school. You need more education, your common sense is still stop in the kindergarten standard. Pls listen to me…. Upgrade yourself.
Love,
Father From Heaven