Permatang Pauh by-election – turn it into a mini political tsunami

The voters of Permatang Pauh have a historic opportunity to create a mini-political tsunami in the impending by-election with far-reaching impact to the national political landscape far exceeding the fate of an individual or a constituency.

The stakes involved in the Permatang Pauh by-election is not just about an individual and a constituency but the future of the Malaysian people and nation.

The issue in the Permatang Pauh by-election is not whether Pakatan Rakyat leader and Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) adviser Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim can win but whether he can achieve a thumping and landslide victory with a majority bigger than the 13,388-vote majority won by PKR President Datuk Seri Dr. Wan Azizah Wan Ismail in the March 8, 2008 general election.

If Anwar can win the Permatang Pauh by-election with an even greater majority won by Azizah five months ago, despite an even more massive onslaught by the whole weight of the Barisan Nasional juggernaut, it would have a special import in shaping the development of the Malaysian political landscape.

If the voters of Permatang Pauh can speak up on behalf of the people of Malaysia to express their disgust at the worsening political, economic and nation-building crisis in the past five months and send a clear and unmistakable message to the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi on the continuing loss of national confidence at his failure to learn the lessons of the March 8 “political tsunami’, then the Permatang Pauh by-election will assume a far-reaching national importance and not be about an individual or a constituency.

DAP is fully committed to ensure that the Permatang Pauh by-election can create a mini-political tsunami with far-reaching implications to the healthy democratic development of Malaysia.

I call on all Malaysian organisations and individuals to unite behind the banner of Pakatan Rakyat to ensure that Anwar not only wins the by-election but with an even greater majority of 13,388 votes won by Azizah on March 8 to make the Permatang Pauh by-election the most historic and important by-election in Malaysian history.

(Speech at the conference of Perak DAP State leaders, MPs, State Excos, State Assembly members and local councillors in Lumut on Sunday, 3rd August 2008 at 9 am)

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:53 am

Most of the international banks are prostitutes. Banks in Switzerland still do business with corrupt officials around the world. Banks in Singapore and Thailand still do business with the Myanmar regime.

Where do you think Mugabe and his generals keep their money ? Not under their pillows !

2. #2 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:56 am

Limkamput:

The problems in the local councils are so deepseated that it will take much much longer for improvements to come through. Changing the official mindset will take years. For the past 30 years it has always been “makan, makan, makan” or “gaji buta”. Getting rid of the “makan” mindset is much easier than getting rid of the “gaji buta” mindset.

3. #3 by limkamput on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:05 am

Sometimes I think no need to talk too much law and legality with all these bast*rds. Just ask them to account for their wealth (all members of the family, include wives and mistresses and children (adopted or otherwise)). If they can not explain, just confiscate them. Prevent all of them from leaving the country. They still can hold on to their Swiss accounts, but they will not be able to enjoy it, how nice. All these must include not only the present administration, but also those during Mahathir’s adminstration and also future PR government, if they come into power. This country has suffered enough of the third world tribal leadership – real m*nkeys, everyone of them.

4. #4 by oknyua on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:06 am

Most of the international banks are prostitutes.. Godfather.

You want contacts for Negeria? I have been recceving e-mails from Negeria and England, wanting to wash “black money white” through Malaysia. Defintiely attracted by the reputation of this country, where UMNO man can walk in and out of immigration with bags of hard cash.

5. #5 by oknyua on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:10 am

Limkamput, remember the case of one Harun, swindled Bank Negara, caught and convicted. Part of the loot recovered. After 3 years, released and now living like a king in Indonesia. I suppose there are more Malaysia black money stashed up in Indon than elsewhere.

6. #6 by wizzerd on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:10 am

Hope that BN will lose by a big margin and the candidate to lose the deposit. That’s the biggest cheer!!!

That will send an unmistakable chill down the BN spine. Let us show them that the PP by election is a microcosm of the next General Election. A comprehensive wipe-out of the corrupt regime.

Ong Tee Keat, Koh Tsu Koon.and MIC (minus Semi Value pls)…and other components of the BN,, what are you waiting for??? Leave the sinking ship..do you want to sink together with BN???

7. #7 by k1980 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:12 am

To attract crowds to its ceramahs, BN might resort to exhibiting coffeeboy Saifool and ordering him to remove his pants showing the audience his smelly rectum which had been supposedly buggerized

8. #8 by limkamput on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:15 am

Godfather says:Changing the official mindset will take years. For the past 30 years it has always been “makan, makan, makan” or “gaji buta”. Getting rid of the “makan” mindset is much easier than getting rid of the “gaji buta” mindset.

Sorry, it is difficult for me to accept although many share the same views as you. I believe, PR must provide the leadership and the firmness to impose change. It is time to kick butts if all these civil servants can’t move fast enough. I suspect the PR government especially at local levels are also indulging populist tendency. There are no urgency and the will to change things around. The same haphazard hawkering, illegal parking, uncollected garbage, clogged drains, and stupid traffic light and traffic system are everywhere. May I know when we can see some changes, another 5 years?

9. #9 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:17 am

The Altantuya case was always about money – illegal commissions made through the structuring of a deal with the vendors where the vendors pay the commission, and the not the buyer.

10. #10 by taiking on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:30 am

An issue on recovering ill-gotten gains hidden outside jurisdiction seems to have taken root here.

Our problem is actually far worse then in the Phillipines during the marcos era.

Then the filipinos had to deal with only the marcos family.

Here we have the whole ship-load of people to investigate, and including investigators themselves.

The answer as to how in the world we could have degenerated to such a state and for so long, really escaped me.

The simplest and quickest way to deal with the problem I suppose is to swat them like flies with a giant swatter.

11. #11 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:40 am

“The voters of Permatang Pauh have a historic opportunity to create a mini-political tsunami in the impending by-election with far-reaching impact to the national political landscape far exceeding the fate of an individual or a constituency.” – YB
    ———————————————-

A mini-political tsunami that has mega-tons of explosive fire power that will start the chain reaction that will trigger triga-tons of explosive fire power across Malaysia that will destroy all the BN-UMNO and all its cronies, partners etc. once and for all!!!

12. #12 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:40 am

You guys missed the point. The point is to ensure a victory for the opposition and not having to wait for the next general elections.

13. #13 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:41 am

Offer immunity from prosecution in return for cross overs now!

14. #14 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:44 am

Yes, a victory for the Opposition so that the changes can be made to the judiciary, the ACA, the PDRM, the AG’s Chambers. Once there are people with integrity in these institutions, it will be far easier to put the country back on an even keel. It’s been tilting for so long that many people don’t even realise it !

15. #15 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:47 am

The CJ in waiting should do the decent thing and decline his nomination for the post.

16. #16 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:52 am

Does he really have a choice ? He’s been swept along by events not necessarily within his control !

17. #17 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:54 am

When PR comes to power, the first thing they should do is to force the resignations of the members of the Federal Court, the AG, the IGP, Deputy IGP and the head of the ACA. The shock waves generated will be much higher than anything Bolehland has ever seen.

18. #18 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:59 am

If Rehnquist could be the head of the US Supreme Court well into his 80s, there is no reason not to recall Salleh Abas or Steve Shim to the Federal Court – at least for a fixed duration, until a truly independent judicial commission is set up (not the half-baked one proposed by UMNO).

19. #19 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 11:06 am

Godfather Says:

Today at 10: 54.27 (10 minutes ago)
    When PR comes to power, the first thing they should do is to force the resignations of the members of the Federal Court, the AG, the IGP, Deputy IGP and the head of the ACA.”

Expect resignations en masse.

20. #20 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 11:08 am

taiking Says:

Today at 10: 30.55 (9 minutes ago)
    An issue on recovering ill-gotten gains hidden outside jurisdiction seems to have taken root here.

Our problem is actually far worse then in the Phillipines during the marcos era.

Then the filipinos had to deal with only the marcos family.

Here we have the whole ship-load of people to investigate, and including investigators themselves.

The answer as to how in the world we could have degenerated to such a state and for so long, really escaped me.

The simplest and quickest way to deal with the problem I suppose is to swat them like flies with a giant swatter.
    —————————————————-
    “The answer as to how in the world we could have degenerated to such a state and for so long, really escaped me”- Taiking

The answer is very simple, it is something like using one credit card to cover the outstanding amount of another credit card until there’s no more credit left!!!
    Due to our rich natural resources, hard working people of marginalised races and lots of FDI in the past plus the corrupted money was kept circulating in our own country and not siphoned out of the country like now, we are able to have excesses and losses running into hundreds of billions!!!
    Why the people are making so much noise now is because they are affected by the hyper inflation!!! If the BN govt is as smart (for the wrong use) as TDM time, no one will notice anything wrong on the outside e.g. just like the wooden door eaten by the termites, it looks perfectly ok on the outside, but it is completly rotten inside!!!
    Just take Trengganu for another good e.g. , when it was under BN govt in the past, they got all the royalties from Petronas oil, but what did they do for Trengganu? nothing!!! But they kept Trengganu people felt happy (no money spent and yet people were feeling happy!!! that’s the greatest management Guru the world ever produced) all the times and the MB was the longest serving MB in Malaysia’s history!!!

21. #21 by AhSeng on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 11:08 am

wahhhh , AhPek , come come jiak kopi jiak kopi. Bravo. I like your comment , i agreed what u said. I buy u drink if i got the chance to meet u.

22. #22 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 11:08 am

Federal court justices should have security of tenure. They should not be afraid of being forced into early retirement.

23. #23 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 11:09 am

Nah, expect them to brown-nose Anwar with the typical suggestions that they can do for him what they have done for Mahathir and Badawi. These people are not very smart so they will continue to do what they know best.

24. #24 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 11:11 am

Godfather Says:

Today at 10: 52.24 (16 minutes ago)
    Does he really have a choice ? ”

I assure you that the CJ in waiting is too rich to care for anything but the respect that the highest judicial office holds for him! He is not about to decline the offer.

25. #25 by StevePCH on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 11:16 am

UMNO will never fall …. PR will make it crawl !!!
    AG or SG …. samalah … want it to be fair, then get a independent judiciary team. Not from Malaysia. Where got integrity & credibility ? Lingam case had proven that judiciary is not independent from executive.

Saifool for UMNO !!! yeah. or Maybe Najis should step down and fight like a gentleman at PP. Not Ezam, he is not qualified. Even a cat will do better than Ezam.

26. #26 by taiking on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 11:23 am

Actually, there is no necessity to force judges out if PR gained control.
    Without the comfort of UMNO’s protection, then the bunch of umno judges would just have to do what they are suppose to do i.e. to adjudicate based on facts and law. In fact, some of them may even want to distance themselves from umno and politics.

Some of them may not be as good as we would prefer but then again they enjoy security of tenure. Let them continue till retirement. PR must refrain from repeating mahathir’s 20 year-old stunt unless there is a genuine case which demands removal like say, fairuz.

AG and IGP of course may be replaced.

Printing Press Act, ISA and OSA must be repealed.

Press freedom must be ensured.

27. #27 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 11:25 am

“Without the comfort of UMNO’s protection, then the bunch of umno judges would just have to do what they are suppose to do i.e. to adjudicate based on facts and law. In fact, some of them may even want to distance themselves from umno and politics.”

I think the point is that the public no longer has any trust in these people, and instead of a witchhunt to figure out who could be truly independent and fair, the simplest way is to remove all the federal court judges since they were all appointed by Mahathir and Badawi in the first place.

28. #28 by taiking on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 11:27 am

Fair observation godfather.

29. #29 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 11:29 am

I think the worry is that if we take the drastic step of removing all the top judges, then would there be sufficient and capable replacements. The answer to that is yes, as a number of ex-judges are still around, and even though they are of relatively advanced ages, their minds are still sharp.

30. #30 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 11:33 am

All those who were part of the conspiracy to convict Anwar in 1998 – the prosecutor, the investigating officer, the judge, etc – were all promoted literally to the highest positions in their professions. I don’t share Undergrad2′s views that if PR seizes federal control these people will resign en masse. I think these people will need to be pushed out.

31. #31 by k1980 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 12:02 pm

If PR seizes federal control, these people will not resign en masse. They would had emigrated en masse for fear of retribution and being hauled up to the courts.

32. #32 by limkamput on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 12:03 pm

Godfather says: I think the point is that the public no longer has any trust in these people, and instead of a witchhunt to figure out who could be truly independent and fair, the simplest way is to remove all the federal court judges since they were all appointed by Mahathir and Badawi in the first place.

I don’t think we should do what you suggested. Even in the US, they don’t and they can’t replace the Supreme Court justices when a new government is formed. I still feel that there should be investigation, and if some are guilty, then only they are removed. However, to quicken the process, we should give them the opportunity to go quietly if they do not want to be embarrassed (provided the wrongs committed are not too severe). Those did not do any wrong should be allowed to continue. If we simply remove everyone, then what make you think that the new ones we appointed will not be unduly pro-PR. What we want is judges who are pro truth and pro public good, not pro BN or Pro PR.

33. #33 by Razor Ramon HG on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 12:28 pm

Say~! Say~! Say~!

I would never vote for a guy who likes backdooring. Cause the only person who should backdoor here would be me!

I’m sorry but I still think that BN deserves to rule.

BN Hoooooooooooooo~!!!

34. #34 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 12:40 pm

Ah, another paid UMNO cybertrooper ? The only people who needs backdooring will be the UMNO people. With my toilet plunger.

35. #35 by taiking on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 12:54 pm

How to create sustainable project?

You must have a concept. Any concept. Say, a bridge.

There you have the first project – design the bridge.

Then, the second project is to construct the bridge.

It is important to underdesign the bridge slightly and to cut corners in terms of construction materials and procedures. Say specify Grade B steel instead of Grade A and then use Grade C steel instead of Grade B, specified. In other words, ensure that the bridge show signs of failure.

When that happens, the third project will kick in. Engage a team of consultants to study the failure.

Then engage another team of consultant to study the report by the first team of consultant. This is the fourth project.

After that engage a specialist consultant to propose remedial works – the fifth project.

Then engage specialist constractor to carry out repairs – the sixth project.

In the execution of the fifth and sixth project the steps in project one and two must be followed. That way, the cycle can be perpetuated.

This is sustainable project.

36. #36 by oknyua on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 1:03 pm

Razor Ramon, backdooring is UMNO past-time and your confession you should be bakdooring, you are one UMNO man.

Compare backdooring with C4 or David Copperfield disappearing Immigration record, I take backdooring anytime. That makes two of us, but I can never take UMNO as bedfellow. The cancer of coruption is oozing puss and it stinks (as per Syed Hamid’s analysis).

37. #37 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 1:08 pm

The rakyat just can’t wait to get rid of the bumbling, corrupt and incompetent Barang Naik administration. March 8 didn’t get the job done, so we have to ensure that the job is complete this time.

38. #38 by Jamesy on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 1:19 pm

Don’t rest on your laurels. Don’t over-confident. If Anwar is defeated in the by-election, UMNO will say its another political tsumani (on BN’s side) as now the rakyat has come to their senses.

UMNO will use either the sodomy charge or eliminate Anwar via the Permatang Pauh by-election (using money politics, bribes, wide accusation stories and etc). Either way, Anwar stand no chance to become the Prime Minister.

I suspect UMNO has something up its sleeve in this by-election. A dirty one, of course.

39. #39 by Yee Siew Wah on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 1:22 pm

You know why some BN goons are calling to boycott the election in Permatang. Well the reason I can think of is that they do not want the rakyat to know how unpopular they are for what they have done to the rakyat and country.
    But also they do not realise that by boycotting, the rakyat will hate them even more for not having any courage and integrity to face PKR. They know they are going to get thrashed to the garbage bins. Really shame on them.

40. #40 by badak on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 1:28 pm

Todays NST EZAM said PKR is undemocratic all party decisions made by DSAI and his wife..YEAHHH would all believe him if not for the inter-net.
    What bull is he talking about,From day one,way back in 1999 GE Dr Wan Azizah, had always said that she is keeping the seat for her husband,and she will vacate her seat when DSAI is eligible to stand.
    Talking about being democratic.How democratic was UMNO when it started talking to PAS without the knowledge of MIC,MCA PPP or GERAKAN.Any way EZAM is the one that can not to be trusted by BN or PR. l

41. #41 by trublumsian on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 1:32 pm

so all the hoopla is on whether the igp finds the evidence at hand, or lack of, is enough to charge anwar. what many westerners finds baffling, though, is the illogicality in the whole purported crime. how did a 63 year old man with a bad back get a 23 year old guy to strip, bend over, and succumb to the dildo?? IF the whole boopah did happen, either a gun was to saiful’s head, or he played the willing!

42. #42 by yhsiew on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 1:38 pm

CORRECTION:

yhsiew Says:
    Today at 08: 29.13 (5 hours ago)
    “…..they (BN) should let Anwar win contested and save the money.”

should read:
    “…..they (BN) should let Anwar win UNCONTESTED and save the money.”

43. #43 by trublumsian on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 1:46 pm

Godfather,

The BN appointed judges can only be removed if there is evidence of crime. I’m sure irregularities are abound, but the process of putting together a case to nail a judge would do more harm than good to an already fragile political landscape.

44. #44 by yhsiew on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 1:55 pm

Bad news!

Nanyang Siang Pau today exclusively reported that the police are going to push for a new law to be passed by parliament this month to compel DSAI to give DNA samples.

The police may also consider using his 1998 DNA sample. Should any argument arise due to the use of this old sample, the police may force DSAI to give new DNA samples.

Even though DSAI may win the Permatang Pauh by-election, he can be disqualified as MP if the DNA-probe, conducted after the by-election, indicates that he is guilty and is fined more than RM2,000 or jailed longer than 2 years.

45. #45 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 2:26 pm

trublumsian:

My suggestion was not to “nail them”. My suggestion was to “let” them retire with their pensions. Put people who are beyond reproach in their place, at least temporarily until a truly impartial judiciary commission is in place. Limkamput thinks otherwise.

46. #46 by son of perpaduan on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 2:40 pm

Statistically are proven permatang pauh is belong to PKR. It is really a big news if PKR not winning, whole world is very well aware of BN will paying unlimited price to jeopardize our future leader. In order to save our future generation out of debts, I’m willing to draw my blood if neccesarry. GOD SAVE THE COUNTRY. Anwar deserved this change…

47. #47 by somaris on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 3:22 pm

ALL MALAYSIAN.
    Let”s go all out to tell the people of PERMATANG PAU to vote for ANNUAR IBRAHIM for our PRIME MINISTER for all MALAYSIAN.Its time to CHANGE for the better future for our children. HIDUPDAP>PAS.
    MAY DOD BLESS ALL OF US

48. #48 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 3:29 pm

A corrupted judge whether for money or power or other forms of corruption or didnt standup for the truth and justice should not be allowed to continue to serve no matter under which govt. as they are people without principles and didnt carry out the duties which they are entrusted in the first place to uphold the laws etc etc!!! Moreover, who can ensure their impartiallity in the future when under different govt???
    If we allow them to continue based on the assumption that they will repent of their wrong doings or inaction when actions were demanded, we should give the same treatment to criminals who claimed to have repented of their wrongs and be set free, but first have to go to the jail for the wrong done!!! All men are born equal, except in our beloved country Malaysia!!!

49. #49 by somaris on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 3:30 pm

ALL MALAYSIAN.
    Let”s go all out to tell the people of PERMATANG PAU to Vote for ANNUAR for our future PRIME MINISTER for ALL MALAYSIAN.
    KICK all UMNO-BN,MCA,MIC,PPP,GERAKAN OUT.
    VOTE PKR.
    LAWAN TETAP LAWAN.
    FOR OUR FUTURE AND FOR OUR CHILDREN.
    GIVE BIG ANGPOW FOR ANNUAR
    SMASH,SMASH the UMNO.
    PERMATANG PAU SHOW UR POWER
    Long live ANNUAR.

50. #50 by Anak_Penang on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 3:38 pm

“3 Kingdoms in Malaysia” @ sonofpenang.blogspot.com (???????)

Comments are closed.