The voters of Permatang Pauh have a historic opportunity to create a mini-political tsunami in the impending by-election with far-reaching impact to the national political landscape far exceeding the fate of an individual or a constituency.
The stakes involved in the Permatang Pauh by-election is not just about an individual and a constituency but the future of the Malaysian people and nation.
The issue in the Permatang Pauh by-election is not whether Pakatan Rakyat leader and Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) adviser Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim can win but whether he can achieve a thumping and landslide victory with a majority bigger than the 13,388-vote majority won by PKR President Datuk Seri Dr. Wan Azizah Wan Ismail in the March 8, 2008 general election.
If Anwar can win the Permatang Pauh by-election with an even greater majority won by Azizah five months ago, despite an even more massive onslaught by the whole weight of the Barisan Nasional juggernaut, it would have a special import in shaping the development of the Malaysian political landscape.
If the voters of Permatang Pauh can speak up on behalf of the people of Malaysia to express their disgust at the worsening political, economic and nation-building crisis in the past five months and send a clear and unmistakable message to the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi on the continuing loss of national confidence at his failure to learn the lessons of the March 8 “political tsunami’, then the Permatang Pauh by-election will assume a far-reaching national importance and not be about an individual or a constituency.
DAP is fully committed to ensure that the Permatang Pauh by-election can create a mini-political tsunami with far-reaching implications to the healthy democratic development of Malaysia.
I call on all Malaysian organisations and individuals to unite behind the banner of Pakatan Rakyat to ensure that Anwar not only wins the by-election but with an even greater majority of 13,388 votes won by Azizah on March 8 to make the Permatang Pauh by-election the most historic and important by-election in Malaysian history.
(Speech at the conference of Perak DAP State leaders, MPs, State Excos, State Assembly members and local councillors in Lumut on Sunday, 3rd August 2008 at 9 am)

#1 by Steven on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 11:06 pm
Hey, all good people out there…with all these excitement and hysteria about the BE and all…let’s not forget about DS Dr Wan Azizah, a truly remarkable lady of the highest esteemed. We have in her, a brave, loyal, dedicated, intelligent, honest and upright person. The push for true democracy cannot succeed without her. I am sure all Malaysians (except for the UMNO goons that is) would be mighty proud to have her as our first lady. Let’s ensure this becomes a reality. People of Permatang Pauh…we are looking to you to trash those BN morons!
#2 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 11:18 pm
“If Anwar can win the Permatang Pauh by-election with an even greater majority won by Azizah five months ago, despite an even more massive onslaught by the whole weight of the Barisan Nasional juggernaut, it would have a special import in shaping the development of the Malaysian political landscape.” Kit
I see it differently.
If Anwar is able to win by the smallest of majorities, it is a testimony to the fact that despite the best of efforts by the powerful UMNO machinery against which Anwar has had to do battle with single handedly, he wins! That speaks volumes!
#3 by AhPek on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 11:19 pm
The people of Permatang Pauh is given a golden opportunity to make history.What would be better than if you could kick the BN candidate out ignominiously by making him lose his deposit sending the message emphatically that the time has come for them to pack off from Putra Jaya.
#4 by Tulip Crescent on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 11:20 pm
WAN AZIZAH
Wan Azizah is the Perdita of the Shakespearean world. She can found movements by her very character. Throughout history, the world has never been endowed with such people.
Perdita is just a Shakespearean invention. But she lives in the person of Wan Azizah.
Having seen her in her recent performance against the Member from Rembau, Wan Azizah is no ordinary housewife. She has comes into her very own as a politician.
I am sure this will not be the last we hear of her. And it is good for Malaysia that we have people like Wan Azizah. We can sleep easier.
The same cannot be said of …
HISHAMUDDIN HUSSEIN
Considering his illustrious progenitors such as Onn Jaafar and Hussein Onn, Hishamuddin is a poor caricature of his whakapapa.
Onn Jaafar died with 300 ringgit in his pocket. Hussein died a rich man, but Hishamuddin will die an even richer man, except that he cannot match his progenitor in terms of contribution to the nation.
Sad remark, but true.
#5 by pinkdolphin on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 11:27 pm
Good luck Malaysia & DSAI, not that you need it but knowing BN scumbags, you’ll never know what’s next on their dirty sleeves. Be very careful and stay alert at all time. The nation supports you, I simply can’t wait to see the new wave drowing all the corrupted Umnoputras! The time has come!!!
Kerismuddin – shut your stinky mouth, wash it and bleach it thoruoghly. You stink!!!
#6 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 11:28 pm
Kasim Amat Says:
Today at 18: 37.05 (4 hours ago)
Anwar may win the by-election but he may not have the luck to open his mouth in the Parliament. Let our police do the thing they are supposed to do…”
Yes, the Deputy IGP has decided that the subject of police investigation is guilty. He is guilty though the AG has yet to make up his mind if there is sufficient evidence to prosecute, guilty when the person accused of a crime has not been formally charged and before he could nominate counsel to defend himself!
What kind of justice is that?? We have had enough of UMNO justice. We want real justice!
#7 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 11:30 pm
Looks like the deputy IGP is also judge and prosecutor all rolled into one.
#8 by A true Malaysian on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 11:31 pm
Walk over maybe the option for Umno instead of getting embarassing defeat.
Save everyone’s money, just walk over Pak Lah.
#9 by AhPek on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 11:33 pm
Well said Tulip Crescent. Truly Hishammudin is a total disgrace to both Onn Jafaar and Hussein Onn cos for the life of both these noble gentlemen drawing the kris out like what Krisammuddin did would never have entered their mind.Inciting racial discord would be most unthinkable for both of them.
#10 by devilmaster on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 11:34 pm
Try to clean up all the electoral rolls and see whether Umno will fall or not:rolleyes:
#11 by pinkdolphin on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 11:37 pm
I just can’t take all this UMNO gibberish anymore. Kasim Amat has done UMNO a good favour by hinting that there will be a dirty Plan B if DSAI wins. There is no JUSTICE in Malaysia and it is a real SHAME! Being abroad in a REAL DEMOCRATIC country now, I feel so helpless looking at my fellow Malaysian suffering with such a retarded government. There is no chance in hell Malaysia can be saved under BN. The people have given them too many chances but all they do is taking each and everyone of us for granted..but there is a limit and it is PAY BACK time now..
#12 by IloveDAPforever on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 11:46 pm
Let us all rally behind Uncle LKS’s call to ensure PR wins really big at Permatang Pauh to teach the arrogant BeEND idiots a lesson …. that they are now just trash of the nation.
Please do your part by reaching out to the voters in PP whom you know to ensure the fence sitters vote for PR. We are aware how powerful & enormous the BeEND’s machinery is. Of course the whole BeEnd batallion will be at PP & all the cost (good food, grand hotel & M$$ claims) will be at the expense of the Rakyat.
This is an opportunity for the PR members, Keadilan, DAP & PAS to prove their unity and ability to work closely together towards one aspiration which is to kick-out the BeEnd Govt.
Long live PR!!
#13 by cucu adam on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 12:17 am
As in the previous by elections, it will be DSAI against the BN/UMNO, and entire Federal Government of Malaysia and the state governments dominate by BN/UMNO. It will also be against the prime mass media – TVs and mainstream newspapers. As other bloggers had said massive amount of money will be spent and on spot approval of grants are to be expected. The entire leaders of BN/UMNO and components parties are expected to camp at Permatang Pauh.
It will be a difficult task for BN/UMNO to pick the candidate to stand in the by election against DSAI, and the much said will be Ezam, Firdaus and some local UMNO leaders. But as said by some bloggers, Saiful should be serious considered as a candidate to contest the Permatang Pauh by election, as he will have much more to say than any other inspiring candidates especially on the part of sodomy that was forced on him by Anuar. Does it makes sense that a 61 years old man can over powered a 23 years old lad, unless of course the lad is a pondan. Surely he could resist if he wanted to.
Should Saiful accepts nomination, would it not be proper to hold a debate between Anwar and Saiful. What better way to televise it live to the nation, to disgrace DSAI and end PKR to govern the nation.
Only idiots will expect BN/UMNO to win in this by election. As for Ezam who is one of the favourite to contest the by election, that Anwar should choose other places and leaves Permatang Pauh showed his shallow thinking and bad taste. As a matter of fact if indeed Anwar should choose other places for a by election, you could expect Ezam to have said Anwar as an opportunist and only care of his family, and would question why not Permatang Pauh or Lembah Pantai.
As many have said this is the mother of all by elections. It will be history in the making, and let pray DSAI will win handsomely and perhaps caused the BN/UMNO candidate to lose his deposits. Many had said that it is in the interest of BN/UMNO not to contest the by election to save face and to avoid the embarrassment. Should
DSAI win only 1 vote it is still a victory for him and Pakatan Rakyat.
http://www.positivecriticism.blogspot.com
#14 by m.hwang on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 12:17 am
‘undergrad2 Says:
If Anwar is able to win by the smallest of majorities, it is a testimony to the fact that despite the best of efforts by the powerful UMNO machinery against which Anwar has had to do battle with single handedly, he wins! That speaks volumes!’
I understand where you’re coming from. It’s tough pitting oneself against the might of the BN machinery who gets to use our money (That’s why DSAI always say take the money and vote for PR). Imagine the entire gang of goons will swarm into P.Pauh and millions (if not billions) will flow in to ensure BN will not lose too badly.
However it’s imperative that DSAI gets a huge majority to proof to all BN supporters including the 50-50 MPs that the Rakyat is no longer taking all the bullsh*t being served to them all these years. With a bigger majority comes a clear message to these people that it’s time to jump ship. Hang on at your own peril!
#15 by Jeffrey on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 12:39 am
Strategy-wise, Anwar has seized an important initiative of getting Dr Wan Azizah to resign to pave way for a by-election in Permatang Puah in which he would contest.
The initiative is a politically deft move by him. It took maximum advantage of the prevarication and dissembling on part of authorities weighing whether or not or when is the best time to arrest and charge him for sodomy II, if at all this needs to be carried out.
That the authorities should prevaricate & dissemble is understandable. They know what is at stake. Apparently it would appear that the evidence against Anwar is not that full proof or else surely he would have been arrested and charged earlier.
For one thing, the first medical report of Hospital Pusrawi and the second from the government KL General Hospital are not likely of much evidential value to prove sodomy having occurred. If they had the solid evidence they would not be trying to get Anwar’s DNA. Then we have the much publicized meeting of Saiful with the DPM prior to Saiful’s making the police report. More important is the current public skepticism of the political neutrality of the entire administration of criminal justice system.
The authorities are aware of the importance of the psy-propaganda war in such a case where ‘perception’is more important than the truth; and the Court of Public opinion holds as important if not more important a card than the actual opinions of the courts of law, especially in light of doubts cast on judiciary independence in the wake of the royal commission’s findings from the Lingam video clip public enquiry.
So there is a delay to arrest and charge him : they are not sure they have got everything to make the arrest and charge credible in the eyes of the public.
However this delay is costly to BN’s leaders that works to Anwar’s benefit. Once he has declared his intention to contest the Permatang Puah parliamentary (before arrest/charge), he has already seized the most important initiative advantageous to him : any arrest and charge after his announcement of candidacy would straightaway send the message to rakyat that the BN fears him winning, and that the arrest and charge are motivated by political considerations. Much more would this perception takes greater hold if the arrest and charge come after his victory in the Permatang Puah by-election : the public would think that his taking the rightful place as Opposition head in Parliament is feared by the BN!
As I commented before any rest and charge would not mark the end but would actually mark the beginning of the competition for public opinion as to whose story to believe – Anwar’s or Saiful’s & the government.
Trial that comes from an arrest and charge is not a matter that may be resolved in one or two months : it takes years during which time where the public support increasingly leans is decisive to determine whether more and more defections would occur to bridge the gap of 30 over seats for a vote of no confidence to pass in the Dewan Rakyat. (Once the vote of no confidence is achieved leading to the fall of the federal government and Pakatan Rakyat taking over, further prosecution of the sodomy II charges will be academic, and be dropped….)
Already former MCA Wanita deputy chief and Ministry of International Trade and Industry parliamentary secretary Dr Tan Yee Kew has just anounced today that she has crossed over with 1,700 others to PKR in Klang – the constituency which she once represented for 13 years.
This is what Malaysiakini reported of what Dr Tan Yee Kew said : “The BN just doesn’t get it,” she said. “The March 8 election was a warning to them to act quickly and take steps to tackle issues like rising costs and crime, restoring the judiciary, and bringing equitable development for all,” she added. “But the BN has not only lost its sense of priorities, it has also lost its direction”.
The country needs new leadership,” said she added, turning to look in the direction of PKR de facto leader Anwar Ibrahim who was seated on the stage in the hall. “All of us here respect the leadership you can provide,” she remarked to applause from the crowd.
So will an arrest and charge thrown at Anwar now whip up more sympathy and accelerate other crossovers from other BN components unconvinced like the public that the arrest and charge are bona fide???
That is the question the BN leadership has to weigh deeply. Meanwhile Anwar is, up to now, still having the upper hand and advantage greatly bolstered by the strategic move to contest in Permatang Puah.
#16 by hkh on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 12:48 am
Everyone please pray that BN will lose their deposit.
It will be a perfect gift to the nation.
#17 by limkamput on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 12:50 am
Why, BN MPs will only cross the aisle after Anwar has become MP? Why so no bola? So far only the “has been” politicians from BN are crossing over to PR. So while we want change, I think the journey is till long and winding.
#18 by limkamput on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 12:55 am
“The March 8 election was a warning to them to act quickly and take steps to tackle issues like rising costs and crime, restoring the judiciary, and bringing equitable development for all,” she added. “But the BN has not only lost its sense of priorities, it has also lost its direction”. Jeffrrey
Coming from someone who was in MCA and BN for more than 20 years, i think it is a little too late. I also wonder would she say the same thing if today she is a sitting MP and holding a executive position. The same goes to Tan Kee Kwong of Gerakan. It is just too difficult to me to buy story like this anymore.
#19 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 2:55 am
“With a bigger majority comes a clear message to these people that it’s time to jump ship.” m.hwang
Kit,
Talking about jumping ship, BN politicians holding government positions should be given a choice.
Cross over now or face prosecution for corruption and abuse of power later under a Pakatan government to the full extent of the law. That way we can ensure immediate victory for the opposition and we do not have to wait until September! Of course they would have to surrender their ill-gottens wherever they are located in caves in Afghanistan or in numbered Swiss bank accounts and vaults of banks in tax-free havens and shelters.
The offer should be made immediately after Anwar’s election victory or as we go into the by-election.
#20 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 2:57 am
ooops ‘ill-gotten gains’
#21 by Kathy on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 7:37 am
Let us hope that BN would not be sending in the phantom voters. If yes, the phantom voters should vote for DSAI!!!!!
#22 by yhsiew on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 7:54 am
Kathy Wrote:
Today at 07: 37.14 (4 minutes ago)
Let us hope that BN would not be sending in the phantom voters….
—————————————————————-
If I am not wrong, Datuk Seri Dr. Wan Azizah Wan Ismail obtained a majority votes of more than 10,000 in the 12th GE. If UMNO were to bring in phantom voters, their number will have to exceed 10,000, which is not practical for UMNO to do that.
I suspect UMNO may resort to vote-buying.
#23 by Malaysian Mummy on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 8:00 am
Salam Bloggers and LKS,
Permatang Pauh by-election is a mother of all by elections when Sdr Anwar wil turn it into a biggest political tsunami to change the government in Malaysia.
Malaysians will witness money politics and corruption of buying votes from millions are pouring into Permatang Pauh to influence Malay voters and other Non Malay voters in Permatang Pauh. Do ACA ( Aku Cari Angin) team ready to trap the money corrupt politicians in the by election ? As mentioned by Tun Dr M said previously that Malay voter maruah valued RM200 to buy vote for BN victory . Let us see whether Tun claimed hold water in Permatang Pauh.
This by election is the last bastion for Sdr Anwar political survival and also for Malaysians last change to push political tsunami to sink the titanic BN to BE END forever and remove UMNO leaders and cronies responsibles as mentioned in Tun Che Det’s blog.
Happy Voting for Pakatan Rakyat. Bravo !!
#24 by Bigjoe on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 8:10 am
Permatang Pauh already have an impact on the country at least on UMNO given that there are several calls by UMNO leaders to boycott it. They are already giving up before the fight!!
This whole boycott call reveals the very poor quaility of UMNO bench of leaders. It will change nothing because Anwar will simply turn it into a very long celebration leading to his victory on election day that will be riotous. But it betrays the mentality that fills the rank that constantly seek underhanded ways and fear of competition, transparency, accountability and meritocracy.
Clearly they have not got the message of 308 and this election is important because they did not get the message…
#25 by js on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 8:18 am
Hopefully Anwar will be our next PM soon to bring back the mega project for Penang.We Penangites, definately will give FULL support to make sure Anwar wins.
#26 by 318 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 8:20 am
to voters of PP pls vote wisely to mca liow tiong lai consult other bn component party who you think you or mca are? remember gerakan beggar’s minister you mca are running dog minister LTL WHY THE MCA SAY NOTHING WHEN UMNO PAS HAD A SEEEEECRET MEETING
#27 by AhPek on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 8:22 am
Undergrad2, you might have a point there in suggesting the offer ‘cross over or face prosecution for corruption and abuse of power’ and perhaps to add teeth and urgency to the matter the offer must also have a time factor, say a six months expiry or maybe even a year.
#28 by yhsiew on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 8:29 am
Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) advisor Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said he will definitely contest in the by-election for the Permatang Pauh parliamentary seat even if he were to be locked up behind bars…..
Anwar said the question of his wife, Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail, betraying the Permatang Pauh electorate by resigning as the member of parliament for the constituency should not arise because she had explained from the beginning that she would make way for her husband as soon as he was eligible to contest…….
http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v3/news.php?id=350351
By the way, PKR said if BN thinks that the Permatang Pauh by-election is a waste of public funds and inconveniences the people there, then they (BN) should let Anwar win contested and save the money.
#29 by mohrafael on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 8:44 am
BN’s major milestones:-
1. Has mismanaged national economy and finance;
2. Neglected its responsibilities in managing the needs of rakyat like society safety, crime prevention and independence of natural justice;
3. Being serial liars (eg. no fuel increase, but deep increase next day; many others, I think everyone knows)
4. “Legalising” one-sided unruly behaviours to its advantage;
5. Leading Malaysia backward;
6. Wasting resources by unfair allocation and abuse;
7. Talk more, do less (or never do at all)
8. Not listening to public grievances and rakyat’s basic rights.
9. Its component parties, are equally weak supporting weak BN leaders (except those crossing over or quiting soon who are brilliant/talented ones)
As a qualified professor in economics & statistical science, I have observed and computed carefully, the probability of next general election is a definitely a >2/3 big win for PR. PR is expected to initiate many reforms for the benefits of rakyat. PR will send BN leaders to Bodohwood (new “bollywood” for malaysian best actor roles)
#30 by taiking on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 8:49 am
Let us show those clowns the 308 tsunami is no freak flash.
Re-stamp it – this time with a larger majority.
Make 26,000 majority PR’s target.
What is this call by some within UMNO not to contest?
Too afraid to challenge the obvious and unstoppable winner?
Or too embarass to play the opposite-losing part of the re-stamping exercise?
PR need not re-cycle any of the old tsunami election issues in this election.
PR can just concentrate on the new ones.
Three are enough of them.
So what are the clowns afraid of?
#31 by taiking on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 8:52 am
BY THE WAY, MRR2 KEPONG ELEVATED HIGHWAY CRACKED UP AGAIN.
#32 by oknyua on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:16 am
Kassim Amat, urgent, read Syed Hamid’s comment on “cancer in UMNO..” I didn’t say it, but Syed Hamid said it. -Bernama report.
#33 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:23 am
Kasim Amat, my Ali-Baba biznes partner, after all the secret meetings at Mike Tyson’s house in Kelana Jaya, all you can do is to threaten those who speak the truth ?
Will you threaten to sue me if I call your party as the den of thieves ? MRR2 built by an UMNO crony for God-knows-how-much, fell apart at the seams, needed another RM70 million of taxpayers’ money for repairs, and now falling apart again ? You seriously think that we are stupid ? You seriously think that the rakyat will vote the BN thieves again ?
Go back to Mike Tyson’s house, discuss with your masters (and RealWorld) and come back to us with something more original. Boleh ?
#34 by taiking on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:24 am
I quote kassim from another thread:
“… I am tasked to post my comment here …”
Tasked to post his comment here in uncle lim’s blogsite, he said.
So its just a job huh.
How much they pay you?
#35 by k1980 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:26 am
Don’t send BN leaders to Bodohwood! Send them to Pusat Pemulihan Akidah bootcamps to teach them racism does not pay!
#36 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:32 am
AhPek Says:
Today at 08: 22.52 (50 minutes ago)
Undergrad2, you might have a point …”
Having said, we do not practice plea bargaining. So whatever arrangement or agreement made will have no binding effect – legally speaking. It is all based on trust.
In the U.S. such plea bargaining is legal and thereforce binding and legally enforceable.
But it is worth giving a thought.
How else do we recover the ill-gotten gains which in the aggregate could add up to hundreds of millions except to make a bargain with them in return for their ‘immunity’ from prosecution and at the same time ensure an early victory. But like I said. Would they be so naive as to buy it? I guess some would, simply because they have no choice.
#37 by Sagaladoola on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:32 am
My writing on this issue:
Anwar in Permatang Pauh, PAS Will Not Join BN, Ex-MCA People Leave BN
Link:
http://sagaladoola.blogspot.com/2008/08/pas-will-not-join-bn-ex-mca-people.html
#38 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:35 am
I believe most would wait until the last minute and then run helter skelter to the exits and leave the country.
#39 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:35 am
“Recover ill-gotten gains” is but a distant dream. The funds have long been transferred to London, Sydney, Perth, Singapore, even Jakarta. Those UMNO goons who are stupid enough to leave their ill-gotten gains in Bolehland deserve to be caught and their gains confiscated.
#40 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:39 am
We know that. Hence the offer. Choose between prosecution or ‘immunity’ from prosecution but hand over the ill-gotten gains wherever situated.
#41 by limkamput on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:41 am
even those transferred out of the country, we still have to get them back!
#42 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:43 am
Many still have properties worth millions in landed property which could be identified and confiscated.
We have legislation to recover assets of drug dealers but is there legislation in place to recover assets accumulated through abuse of power and corruption?
#43 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:43 am
It’s far easier to take a boat in the middle of the night to Riau and from there to Surabaya or Medan. If the money is already out, they will just “disappear” and knowing the efficiency of our immigration people and our police, you can almost guarantee that they won’t be caught.
Poor Kasim Amat and RealWorld are nothing more than paid employees of UMNO.
#44 by limkamput on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:44 am
And we must seek to punish those who abused, corrupt and mismanaged. This must be the clear message to BN and also PR members of administration if they come into power. Otherwise I think it will always be one tyrant replacing another – the common adventurous story.
#45 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:45 am
Landed property will be in the names of their third or fourth wives, or of their thirteenth or fourteenth children.
#46 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:45 am
limkamput Says:
Today at 09: 41.34 (1 minute ago)
even those transferred out of the country, we still have to get them back!”
Not that simple. Jurisdictional problems. They need first to be charged, tried and convicted. Hence we need to enter into some informal plea bargain with the individuals concerned. Hand over in exchange for immunity from prosecution.
#47 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:47 am
Godfather Says:
Today at 09: 45.20 (19 seconds ago)
Landed property will be in the names of their third or fourth wives, or of their thirteenth or fourteenth children.”
But these are only legal problems. Assets accumulated through fraud could still be recovered using common law principles.
#48 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:50 am
Dinner times chaps!
#49 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:51 am
The Philippines tried for 20 years to go after the Marcos loot. It was rumoured that secret bank accounts in Geneva, Luxembourg and Singapore held billions. After 20 years, what did the Philippine government get ? About US$200 million in agreed repatriations back to the Philippines ? Most of this was already spent on legal fees chasing the Marcos family around the globe.
#50 by limkamput on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:52 am
I am disappointed that four months have past and there is hardly any change or improvement in the administration of local authorities – still the same haphazard, dirty and disorderly towns and cities around the country. May I know when we can see some improvement?
If we use this as an indicator, am I justified in saying that when PR takes over the Federal government, there may not be much of the change? Sorry for being sceptical but I am beginning to see lots of rhetoric but not much of real strategies to enable this country to move toward better governance that makes a difference to people’s life.