The voters of Permatang Pauh have a historic opportunity to create a mini-political tsunami in the impending by-election with far-reaching impact to the national political landscape far exceeding the fate of an individual or a constituency.
The stakes involved in the Permatang Pauh by-election is not just about an individual and a constituency but the future of the Malaysian people and nation.
The issue in the Permatang Pauh by-election is not whether Pakatan Rakyat leader and Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) adviser Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim can win but whether he can achieve a thumping and landslide victory with a majority bigger than the 13,388-vote majority won by PKR President Datuk Seri Dr. Wan Azizah Wan Ismail in the March 8, 2008 general election.
If Anwar can win the Permatang Pauh by-election with an even greater majority won by Azizah five months ago, despite an even more massive onslaught by the whole weight of the Barisan Nasional juggernaut, it would have a special import in shaping the development of the Malaysian political landscape.
If the voters of Permatang Pauh can speak up on behalf of the people of Malaysia to express their disgust at the worsening political, economic and nation-building crisis in the past five months and send a clear and unmistakable message to the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi on the continuing loss of national confidence at his failure to learn the lessons of the March 8 “political tsunami’, then the Permatang Pauh by-election will assume a far-reaching national importance and not be about an individual or a constituency.
DAP is fully committed to ensure that the Permatang Pauh by-election can create a mini-political tsunami with far-reaching implications to the healthy democratic development of Malaysia.
I call on all Malaysian organisations and individuals to unite behind the banner of Pakatan Rakyat to ensure that Anwar not only wins the by-election but with an even greater majority of 13,388 votes won by Azizah on March 8 to make the Permatang Pauh by-election the most historic and important by-election in Malaysian history.
(Speech at the conference of Perak DAP State leaders, MPs, State Excos, State Assembly members and local councillors in Lumut on Sunday, 3rd August 2008 at 9 am)

#1 by boilingmad on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 5:56 pm
Yes, vote for PR and you will go down in history as the people of Permatang Pauh (PPP) who brought down BN!! You will show the world that you have matured politically.
And if you are given monetary rewards to vote for BN, take the money and vote for PR. After all, the money BN may give you is yours to begin with. They are just returning what belongs to you, and silently hoping that you will vote for them. Don’t let them laugh behind your back.
#2 by hiro on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 5:59 pm
If BN is smart, they should not contest Permatang Pauh, which can only give the perfect platform to Anwar to shore up the credibility of not only himself, but Pakatan Rakyat.
#3 by Tulip Crescent on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 6:07 pm
The foreign press will be focusing on this important by-election.
Let us wait and see what monkey tricks the National Front will come out with.
It should be an easy win, with one analyst I know already expecting Anwar to net 35,000 out of the 54,000 votes if the turnout is 80 per cent, leaving the National Front with less than 10,000 votes.
Make sure that the National Front candidate gets less than 10,000 votes. If it is Firdaus again, that is a certainty. If it is Ezam, make sure he gets less than 5,000 votes. That is the only way we can show our disgust.
#4 by Tulip Crescent on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 6:12 pm
Sorry for the typo. The constituency has 58,500 voters.
Assume that the voter turnout is 80 per cent, and assume that Anwar gets 35,000, the National Front candidate will get only 11,800.
Make it happen … that is message loud enough for Pak Lah to lose sleep.
#5 by lhslhv on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 6:20 pm
This is a fight between the civilised with wisdom and the uncivilised without wisdom.
I believe Permatang Pauh, where my aunty is staying, belongs to the civilised with wisdom.
#6 by bennylohstocks on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 6:25 pm
Yes, don’t be bothered with “THEIR” BUTT’S THE RAGE,
ENJOY THIS BUTT——- POETRY
#7 by dawsheng on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 6:34 pm
I think Permatang Pauh voters can create not only a mini political tsunami, it is also like a prelude to the perfect storm that will bring down the BN government. UMNO has no chance in winning the Permatang Pauh by-election, UMNO also realized the implications of losing, it is a matter of life and death. Remember Abdullah said the government will not stop Anwar from contesting the by-election but the due process of law cannot be ignored? Confusing statement isn’t it but that is the best part, what if Anwar is arrested and denied bail but still managed to win by a landslide majority? Either way, UMNO’s fate and future is sealed in this by-election.
#8 by nkeng11 on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 6:35 pm
The Raayat of Permatang Pauh must now realize that BN is just an opportunist political group out to benefit themselves and NEVER the Raayat.
Come byelection day, and even way before that, they will misuse all the government’s machinery to tar the roads, clean up the longkangs, feed the poor, give out aids, light up the roads and bring cheer to the homeless.
If there were no byelection, nothing happens!
Take all the goodies BN can dish out, say thank you and vote for DSAI to be in the forefront of change.
Change must be brought to the Raayat everyday not only during elections. Changes must be positive changes, life changing and lasting, not lip service.
Please, the Raayats of Permatang Pauh!!!. Vote wisely and send a strong message to the Monkeys in the BN.
Hidup Raayat, Hidup Raayat, Hidup Raayat. Never, never given in to communal politics these idiots in BN preach day and night.
#9 by Kasim Amat on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 6:37 pm
Anwar may win the by-election but he may not have the luck to open his mouth in the Parliament. Let our police do the thing they are supposed to do. UMNO will never fall!
#10 by nafasbaru on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 6:42 pm
I don’t know if international independent observers are allowed in by-elections. Should be great to have them around, to keep an eye, in case there are irregularities.
#11 by dawsheng on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 6:44 pm
Anwar will definitely win and UMNO will definitely fall.
#12 by yhsiew on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 6:49 pm
Watch out, UMNO may bribe voters of Permatang Pauh as the by-election result can ultimately effect a change of federal government.
UMNO may use all kinds of tactics (including dirty ones) to ensure they do not lose easily.
#13 by lhslhv on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 6:51 pm
Malaysia is blessed with so much natural resources: minerals, ocean products, fertile soils, habitable lands, plenty of sunshine, petroleum, natural gas, drinking water everywhere, human talents, multi-cultures, and multi-racial population.
Unfortunately Malaysia is also blessed with an UMNO to destroy them.
#14 by yhsiew on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 6:59 pm
Malaysian opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim said Sunday he was bracing for “massive” vote-rigging by the government to block him from winning a key by-election, which could propel him back to power. – YAHOO ASIA NEWS
#15 by KennyGan on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 7:16 pm
“Come byelection day, and even way before that, they will misuse all the government’s machinery to tar the roads, clean up the longkangs, feed the poor, give out aids, light up the roads and bring cheer to the homeless.” – nkeng11
But the people of PP should thank Anwar for all this, not BN. If Anwar doesn’t contest there, there would be nothing of this sort.
#16 by KennyGan on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 7:18 pm
Anwar cannot afford to lose this by-election any more than BN can afford to let him win. If he cannot win a safe seat, his political plans will be seriously derailed. If he wins, he may go all the way to Putrajaya.
An epic battle will be fought on the padi fields of Permatang Pauh. It is a battle for the political future of the country, of Anwar’s multiracial politics for the good of all against BN’s racially divisive politics for the benefit of a few. The people of Permatang Pauh will decide the future direction of the country. Never in the field of political conflict is so much at stake for so many depending on so few.
#17 by oknyua on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 7:26 pm
Kassim Amat, hey, no sizzling steak in Kelana Jaya kah?
Today Tan Yee Kiew brought in 2,000 MCA. Soon Sabah MPs leave. 8 MPs from Sarawak. Taib Mahmud hurriedly resuffled his cabinet and promised more resuffle in January 2009. In W Malaysia, some 15-20 UMNO will leave.
Then BN “tumbang.”
Siapa yang akan tinggal dalam UMNO? Who wants to be caught with stash of illegal treasures inside UMNO? Kapal tenggelam, lipas dan tikus semua keluar. UMNO will live forever, of course, but it will a pathatic life with barah of corruptions, smelly with puss oozing, “hidup segan, mati tak mau.”
Thank you Kassim, I am off to Kelana Jaya.
#18 by pkrisnin on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 7:27 pm
You know the only reason PR won the 5 states is because UMNO never expected it. Now with just this 1 election where Anwar would win hands down if it were a fair election but I think Anwar should have waited until the current EC resigns by end of this year.
#19 by catharsis on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 7:32 pm
A VOTE FOR ANWAR IS A VOTE FOR A CLEAN, TRANSPARENT AND ACCOUNATBLE GOVERNMENT-
A GOVERNMENT ……FOR THE PEOPLE…..BY THE PEOPLE……..AND OF THE PEOPLE………..
**** AGAINST THE CURRENT BN GOVERNMENT WHICH IS ……FOR THE SELF…………..BY THE SELF ……..AND OF THE SELF
THIS ARROGANT AND CORRUPT GOVERNMENT HAS TO GO………..WHAT SO BIG ABOUT THEM IS THEIR EGOS
#20 by haveaview on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 7:33 pm
BEWARE !! ELECTONS in the FUTURE post MARCH 2008 : NEW CHALLENGES ahead.
The race-based parties are cultivating NEW WAVEs of zomby
voters :
- Battalions of of NEW young VOTERS, via 1-3 years of brainwashing.
- RURALS of exisitng older voters, reawakening and brainwashed, and financed..
#21 by wanderer on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 7:43 pm
Oi Kasim, you Umno sh*thead. I never have a doubt Anwar will win the seat, hands down. It will be my wish, he can turn the tide and form a new PKR govt and put all the corrupted Umno monkeys in the cage!
#22 by Tulip Crescent on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 7:48 pm
However dirty the National Front wishes to plays, let us pray that they do not use the television to send “sublimal messages” to the rakyat as the rakyat unconsciously enjoy their programmes.
To Kasim Amat-
. Sorry, but a fullstop is all you are worth.
#23 by catharsis on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 7:49 pm
Kasim Amat Says:
………………………. Let our police do the thing they are supposed to do…….YEAH YOU CAN SAY THAT AGAIN………”NUDE SQUAT THE DEATINEES, GIVE THEM BLACK EYES
……UMNO will never fall!….YEAH YOU CAN SAY THAT AGAIN……BN ALREADY LOST PENANG, PERAK, SELANGOR AND KEDAH……………….
KASIM ARE YOU FROM MARS……….
#24 by KennyGan on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 7:56 pm
Will MCA be frightening the Chinese voters with the PAS bogeyman again? A vote for PKR is a vote for PAS, etc. After the PAS-Umno talks I suppose it’s not the politically correct strategy to play but in their desperation who knows? MCA has nothing to woo the Chinese.
The only way for BN to have a shot at Permatang Pauh is to put Saiful Bukhari as the candidate, hoping he can get some sympathy votes. It will also be a test of how many people believe Saiful which can be used to decide whether to charge Anwar.
#25 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 7:56 pm
The voters of Permatang Pauh are given an historic opportunity. Their votes will determine the eventual passing of the reins after 50 years of unchanging BN rule, and it will be theirs to now accomplish what large sections of rakyat – despite the pledges that were made to themselves for change – have almost succeeded but still failed to do as they stood in awe surprise and hope in the morning after of 8th March.
We can celebrate the political tsunamy that swept the nation 5 months ago and the hope of a further momentum in that direction that Permatang Pauh by-election will generate.
We have yet to celebrate the dream of change and reform.
#26 by I Malaysian on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 8:03 pm
I completely agree with YB LIm.
We have to treat this BY-Election very seriously. In fact it is not a matter of winning but winning very big. I’m planning with my friends to go to Permatang Pauh, to extend our support to Anwar.
#27 by dasty on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 8:22 pm
I won’t be surprised if BN send 20,000 mighty troops marching into Permatang Pauh to ensure the safety of the particular area (as an excuse) and get the votes from the armies. Anything is possible with this government in charge.
They will do anything to ensure the victory is theirs, not to mention the “impossible”. Nothing is impossible for BN. They can fabricate false evidence against Anwar, so can they make false votes. Their actions are beyond reasonable so we can never expect what they will do.
No matter what, I will support Anwar and wish him luck. Hope that he will not crumble under the massive pressure from the BN government.
#28 by Mr Smith on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 8:27 pm
An Anwar victory, no matter small or big majority, will be an embarrassing humiliation for the idiot PM. There will be more calls for his resignation and possibly see an exodus of UMNO members (including MPs) to PKR.
All economic and political indicators point to that. (Please refer to the Merdeka Center Poll).
Since March 8, what has UMNO done to win back its support? Nil. In fact it has slid further in its credibility and popularity.
#29 by Dr. W on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 8:43 pm
BN needs Harry Potter’s magic power to touch Anwar in Permatang Pauh if not, massive of HANTUs’ votes. .
Godspeed Anwar! Godspeed Pakatan Rakyat!
#30 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 8:46 pm
Is BN going to let Anwar win uncontested? That may save UMNO’s face instead of letting UMNO itself lose face. This is about UMNO and not Anwar. What will Abdullah decide?
#31 by tourman53 on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 8:48 pm
If the BN is smart they shouldn’t take the challenge knowing very well BN going to lose very badly. If they take the challenge they lose money and time and worse giving chance to PR to campaigne. Even if you put Mahathir with his ‘Malay Delima’ in there, he will also go bongkok.
#32 by StevePCH on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 9:21 pm
Kassim, even if Anwar does not have a chance to open mouth, he only need to prove 1 thing…. Rakyat is still with him. Not UMNO.
Anyway, PR will need to be very careful with dirty tactics which is being done now.
Be Careful ….. BeEnd will be going all out to sabo this mini tsunami.
#33 by badak on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 9:35 pm
End of the day money will win.That is the only thing our UMNO led BN Government is banking on. Other then that they have nothing.The rakyat had lost its faith in PAK LAH and his gang.
#34 by mohrafael on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 9:38 pm
PR has to be very careful of BN’s dirty tactics, as you can see how they have been serial liars. it’s a foregone conclusion as majority rakyat will support PR. let’s be extra careful, as they play dirty football…
#35 by penang308 on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 9:40 pm
Let BN bring in whoever they want, we will “HANTAM” them KUAT-KUAT!
#36 by Jameswong on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 9:47 pm
Let’s not celebrate now!!
Hope PKR will not take it lightly and should work together with DAP and PAS to ensure DSAI win the BE, then only celebrates.
For us outside PP, wonder what can we help ?
Let’s pray hard and PR will be the winner.
#37 by despin on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 9:50 pm
YB Lim, may I suggest that you start a donation drive like the last election. Since most of us are not eligible to vote, we can at least show solidarity with Permatang Pauh electorates by contributing some election funds. The funds will come in handy considering the monkeys at Putrajaya will use every dirty trick up their sleeves in this mother of by-elections.
#38 by Godson on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 9:53 pm
umNO-BN…give me another round of voting $$$…,
I WILL VOTE FOR PR.
umNO-BN..anymore election??? Let me know…i love $$$.
I WILL VOTE FOR PR.
umNO-BN…..money money come……
I WILL VOTE FOR PR.
I DONT CARE WHO OR WHAT ANWAR IS…..HES STILL MY HERO.
JUST CHANGE THE GOVERNMENT TO PR.
JUST DO IT.
#39 by dapsupporter8888 on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 9:54 pm
Anwar may win the by-election but he may not have the luck to open his mouth in the Parliament. Let our police do the thing they are supposed to do. UMNO will never fall! – KASIM AMAT
Yeah, maybe. UMNO will never fall —– for now.
But we, the rakyat, will MAKE DOUBLY sure UMNO falls in PRU13.
To the people of Permatang Pauh, please vote wisely in this coming by-election. Your vote will determine the future of this country!! Be proud of the golden opoprtunity given to you to bring a change to Malaysia – for most Malaysians are crying desparately for a change NOW!!
With the vote given to the hands of about 58,000 people in Permatang Pauh, it will change the lives of 26 million Malaysians!!
#40 by just a moment on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 9:57 pm
Greeting folks, Great news- Former MCA Wanita deputy chief Dr Tan Yee Kew today crossed over with 1,700 others to PKR in Klang. This is just the appetizer. Much more great news coming. Time is crucial now and ‘mohrafael Says’ is right on!.
Just a point to release – Tak boleh tahan with this ‘evil’ fellow Ezam Mohd Nor. A traitor and down right ungrateful scumbag by all accounts and talks about going after public justice.I believed he’ll be the last to go to hell – Simply because Satan would not allow such competition.Ok lah, syabas now.
All the same, pray for a total whitewash of BEnd during this coming tsunami and the rakyat just have to believed that “We Can Change This Gov’t” ITS NOW not a moment later.Just Believed & Act on it. Vote for DSAI PR, no one else!
#41 by KennyGan on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 10:03 pm
The MalaysianInsider reports the following:
“The state party chief Datuk Liow Tiong Lai, who is also MCA Youth chief, said that although it was traditionally an Umno seat, the party wanted to air its views before the top BN leadership made any decision (on candidates)”.
Is this guy for real? He seems unclear on the concept. Umno can put its hand and foot into any candidacy from MCA but not the other way around. Get it, fool? Now I’m waiting for slap for him from Umno for overstepping his boundary.
#42 by Godson on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 10:07 pm
Hey Guys….i enjoy reading all your blogs and i would like to welcome Kasim Amat to join us.
Kasim Amat is here to share his point of view about umNO-BN…and many of us reacted on his comment….but i found out that he is a good supporter of PR. WHY? The more he praise umNO-BN the more we hate umNO-BN….right? So..Kasim Amat is actually trying to create more hatred towards umNO-BN. In fact we should thank him.
Kasim Amat….anymore??? Bring it on. Welcome to PR.
#43 by badak on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 10:08 pm
EZAM said that he wants to challenge DSAI in PERMATANG PAUH.EZAM EZAM EZAM.. He is the biggest liar in my book.. For some one who wants to fight for corruption.What happen to that,ever since he joint UMNO not once did he talk about corruption.As far as i am concern he had been bought off by UMNO,s band of thieves
Any way it is good .If EZAM stands in this BY ELECTION he can kiss his deposit bye bye.
#44 by ahpiow on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 10:11 pm
Recent polls on the rakyat’s confidence level on AAB’s premiership shows a significant majority of the people against him and the BN UMNO govt.
The people’s sentiments are obviously with PR. DSAI will win big in Permatang Pauh, and this unlikely because of sympathy votes. The people are simply sick of the present adminstration.
The people will speak out loud and clear this time. Hopefully UMNO candidate will also lose his deposit, if there is one.
#45 by KennyGan on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 10:24 pm
Saiful Bukhari for Umno candidate!!
Face it, BN needs sympathy votes to win. Who else can deliver the sympathy votes by crying that he has been sodomized by a 61 year old man with a bad back?
#46 by milduser on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 10:27 pm
This by-election would be symbolically an end to the era of UMNO_BN if and ONLY IF it’s a landslide victory- nothings less than a resounding victory for PKR! So lets make it a RESOUNDING VICTORY!!!!!!!!!! Hidup PR, Hidup DAP, Hidup PAS, Hidup….. oops Mati Umno … mati Bn…
#47 by moomin.ng on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 10:35 pm
I vote for Anwar, even tho I am from Selangor.
Not only Permatang Pauh vote for Anwar, the whole nation vote for him.
#48 by James on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 10:39 pm
Hear ye, hear ye – All right thinking members of the Rakyat in PP constituency.
Please heed YB LKS call and give BN a sound thrashing that will shame each component of the evil gang. Please deliver much more votes for DSAI than the 13,388 majority casted earlier. We all owe it to PR to demolish BN gang of corrupted thieves once & for all. The shameless BN parties are all desperate and cheating Rakyat every way they can because they know they will not last.
Please send a super strong signal and a loud hard slap to bodohwi as he is still in deep slumber and maybe having delusions in his make believe world. We must shove him to wake him up and expel him from power. He is getting too scared of his SIL and is obeying each & every whim of this Oxford trained power hungry corrupt moron. It is our sacred duty to save Malaysia and its honourable reputation before it is forever destroyed by bodohwi & gang at the behest of his greedy SIL. No time to waste …..send BN to hell.
#49 by fighter on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 10:45 pm
YB Lim,
Please caution Anuar to have a stand-by candidate on the day of nomination as there is a strong possibility that on the day of nomination, Police will arrest Anuar to prevent him to file his nomination paper. If that happen the stand-by candidate will take his place thereby preventing BN from being returned unopposed.
A further precaution should be to get Anuar sign the nomination paper as soon as possible
in case he gets arrested before nomination and the Court refuse to grant him bail thereby preventing him from signing the nomination form. In case of this nature, a worst case scenario should be thought of and actions taken immediately to overcome them.
#50 by grace on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 10:53 pm
Hishamuddin criticised Anwar for choosing a safe seat. Well said.
He challenge anwar to a more difficult seat.
Hey Kerismudin, why not you pit yourseld against Anwar at Ptg Pauh if you think that you can be a hero by choosing a difficult seat?
I dare bet him, he will be trounced!!!