International Herald Tribune
By Thomas Fuller
Friday, August 1, 2008
KUALA LUMPUR: Government censors in this majority Muslim nation uphold an ethos of modesty by snipping sex scenes from films and ordering entertainers to avoid outfits that reveal too much on Malaysian stages – bare belly buttons and figure-hugging outfits are off limits.
But these days Malaysians looking to avoid R-rated content might be advised to read past news reports about their own leaders. Top politicians are embroiled in two scandals involving accusations of sodomy and the gruesome murder of a Mongolian mistress.
Reports on the finer points of a rectal examination and revelations about the sexual preferences of the dead mistress make other sex scandals that once shocked people here – such as Monica Lewinsky and her blue dress – seem almost Victorian.
This is not the first time that sex and politics have publicly collided in Malaysia. The trial of Anwar Ibrahim, a former deputy prime minister, for sodomy in the 1990s featured, among other highlights, a blood-stained mattress being hauled into the courtroom.
This time, wider use of the Internet has helped disseminate documents, facts and rumors that would otherwise have been filtered out of mainstream news media tightly controlled by the government.
The two scandals encompass much more than just sex. They are part of a broader clash between two men vying for power: Anwar is facing new allegations of sodomy at a time when he is vowing to unseat the governing party, while the other scandal involves Anwar’s principal political rival, Najib Razak, the deputy prime minister and anointed heir to Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.
What is worrying for many Malaysians is that the gloves appear to have come off in the high-stakes fight between Anwar and Najib.
Testimony in the murder trial revealed that immigration records of the Mongolian woman and her friend had been deleted.
Malaysia’s political opposition says the case highlights the impunity of the police and high officials in government as well as a lack of independence in the judiciary. A police officer took the stand and said she was tortured by police investigators – her own colleagues.
Witnesses in both cases have dropped from sight, including a private investigator, Balasubramaniam Perumal, who alleged in a sworn statement issued shortly before disappearing that the dead Mongolian woman was Najib’s mistress.
The statement by Balasubramaniam, which has been widely circulated online, contradicted Najib’s repeated assertions that he never met the Mongolian woman, Altantuya Shaariibuu.
Balasubramaniam spent two months writing and revising a 16-page declaration about the case, based on conversations he had with the murdered woman and Abdul Razak Baginda, an aide to Najib. Balasubramaniam retracted the allegations in a hastily convened press conference and then disappeared.
“It’s obvious what has happened here. You don’t need to be a rocket scientist,” said Americk Sidhu, the private investigator’s lawyer. “Somebody needed him to shut up.”
Balasubramaniam’s wife and three children are also missing. The family’s two Rottweilers were left behind in their cages.
“A lot of very dark things are happening now,” said Raja Petra Kamarudin, one of the most influential and prolific Malaysian bloggers. Raja Petra was formerly a political associate of Anwar’s wife, Azizah Ismail, in her National Justice Party.
Although a number of gruesome facts in the Mongolian case have emerged in court over the past year – Altantuya, for example, was shot and her body obliterated with explosives in the jungle outside Kuala Lumpur – Raja Petra asserts that only a fraction of what happened is being admitted into court.
Citing sources in military intelligence, he issued a sworn declaration in June alleging that Najib’s wife, Rosmah Mansor, was present at Altantuya’s killing. Government prosecutors say Altantuya was killed by two commandos who also served as bodyguards to Malaysia’s top leaders.
“I don’t think Malaysia can afford to have a prime minister who has a huge question mark hanging over his head: Is he, or not, involved in the murder of this girl?” Raja Petra said in an interview.
Najib has called the allegation in the declaration “total lies, fabrication and total garbage” and a “desperate and pathetic attempt to discredit and taint my political image.”
The government charged Raja Petra with criminal libel, a law that lawyers say has not been used in recent memory in Malaysia and which, unlike civil defamation, can carry a two-year prison term. Separately, Raja Petra has been charged with sedition and his house raided several times.
Raja Petra was also responsible for leaking a medical report last week relating to the sodomy case. Anwar’s accuser, Mohamed Saiful Bukhari Azlan, a 23-year-old former campaign volunteer, went to a hospital in Kuala Lumpur hours before lodging a police report charging that Anwar had sodomized him. But the medical report, which also circulated widely on the Internet, says he complained of a piece of plastic being inserted into his anus. The doctor who wrote the report, Mohamed Osman, said he found “no active bleeding, no pus, tear or scar.”
Since then, Osman also has disappeared, although the hospital says he will be back Monday.
Anwar, who on Thursday announced that he would run for Parliament in his quest to unseat the government and become prime minister, said in an interview that he expected to be arrested soon. He has refused to give a DNA sample because he believes it will be used against him. “There’s nothing stopping them from fabricating evidence again,” Anwar said.
Although Malaysians enthusiastically share the latest developments in both cases, some have grown tired of the graphic details.
“A good word is disgust – whether it’s sodomy or blowing up the Mongolian lady,” said the Reverend Wong Kim Kong, executive adviser of the National Evangelical Christian Fellowship, an umbrella organization of protestant churches. A narrow majority of Malaysians are Muslim but the country has sizeable Christian, Hindu, Buddhist and Sikh minorities.
Wong said the constant barrage of allegations made by bloggers, paired with the government’s steady denials, have left Malaysians pining for clarity.
“People just cannot trust the word of any of these people,” Wong said. “They cannot distinguish who is telling the truth.”
The scandals come at a time of great political uncertainty in Malaysia. The governing party of Abdullah and Najib and the ethnic-based system of politics that it represents is in disarray. There is simmering resentment between the majority Malays and the minority Chinese and Indians, and corruption within government is rampant, despite promises by Abdullah to clean up the system.
Anwar has vowed to remake the country’s politics and revoke the authoritarian laws that, among other things, ban students from protesting, keep the media controlled and allow the government to lock up dissidents without trial. But Anwar remains a polarizing figure who is not trusted by many in the elite.
“I think there will at some point be a crisis of legitimacy,” said Ibrahim Suffian, the head of the Merdeka Center, a polling agency. “‘The leaders seem to feel that they can get away with a lot of things so long as the masses are satisfied with the economic opportunities given to them.
“But the economy is so bad that people are losing faith. There is a feeling that maybe it’s time for major changes.”

#1 by boilingmad on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 5:47 pm
Kassim Amat’s brain cells are just as dead as his bosses. But then again, anyone who is still supporting the brainless AAB is an even bigger idiot. AAb’s supporters have no grey matter … they have maggots in their skulls, maggots that ate all their brain cells and are now living in comfort in the space they created.
When I read some comments in Malaysia Today, I noticed that some bloggers use the word ‘mastermind’. If you bloggers read this, please, please, do not ever use the word ‘mastermind’ with our politicians. They don’t deserve this word. ‘Mastermind’ is often used on people (or criminals) with great minds, devising strategies or plots that are truly clever. The sodomy charge is DEFINITELY NOT CLEVER. Peleeeeese!!! Don’t degrade this word!
#2 by mendela on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 6:00 pm
Rosie and C4 sure have a copy of belw,
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ipozfj_OkRQ
#3 by sj on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 8:57 pm
Every time Kasim Tak Amat opens his mouth, it makes me laugh for a good weekend. This dude never failed to amaze me with his UMNO mentality. Actually if I was his boss in UMNO, I would have fired this dude for being an idiot and continue to tarnish the party’s image. Hahaha.
If Tunku Abdul Rahman and Dato Onn Jaafar was still alive and seeing UMNO in this state of shambles, they would most definitely have joined PR and bring UMNO down.
#4 by StevePCH on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 9:15 pm
Kasim Amat is obviously still living and thinking pre GE12 UMNO style. But truly , it’s “great” to see the true mentality of a man with blind loyalty to Party orders.
If AAB tell Rakyat to eat shit, then we eat shit lah !!! Luckily AAB is still far from being Adolf Hitler or Osama.
Recent developments have seen changes in MCA,Gerakan and even MIC. To some degree some softcore UMNO supporters.
Being bigots does not make you a champion, especially when voicing dissents in “Western” media. Malaysian MSM is no better.
#5 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 10:25 pm
Kasim Amat Says:
Today at 15: 21.00 (6 hours ago)
“Our leaders are kind enough to be easily taken advantage of. If they are as merciless as the Singapore’s leaders, all these article writters would have been sued and put in jail…blah, blah, blah
The danger, mostly to himself and his ilk, is that he believes in the ‘truth’ of what he is saying!
Why has the BN government not clamped down on the internet and threw bloggers into jail but managed only to hack into certain blogs in an attempt to restrict their readership. Is it because their leaders are kind? Why is a blogger facing criminal charges for criminal defamation and why have key witnesses gone missing. Why have two rothweilers not been served with a summons to appear in court to answer questions about their missing masters??
#6 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 10:33 pm
For those of you who said that Kasim is in the wrong blog, think again.
We need him here not for the garbage that he writes but we need him here to serve as the lightning rod for our anger and frustration and to remind us of the absurd lengths to which the BN government is prepared go in holding on to power when everything else fails.
#7 by sj on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 10:42 pm
Thats a good one undergrad2. I bet Kasim himself is probably shocked to find out that there are so many people who wants the change to initiate. Part of a job of a cyber trooper is to stir shit and to be as a scout to find out what is going on among the midst of the Rakyat.
#8 by blablowbla on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 10:43 pm
faklah is just a kampung leader,some said he just fit to be ketua kampung!he forgoten his deceased mother told him to do good things for the country,yes,infact he did,he cleanswept all the mega projects for his cronies,and SIL!
DSAI is a world class leader,colour blind,upholding meritocracy,destroy racism NEP,promoting harmonies among races,competent,intelligent,far sighted,and very positive spirit tat never say die!
A person who can lead only cud b classified as Leader,otherwise he or she wud be just a Dealer!(yes,umno dealer,try to negotiate power-sharing with pas!)
And btw,coincidently,DSAI also means “dosa punya saiful!”:-)
#9 by AhPek on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 10:47 pm
Kasim,
Since when have your bosses got the type of reputation you claim they have.As far as the public and much of the outside world goes, they are perceived to be a bunch of thieves robbing the country silly, and now one of them is perceived to be involved in Altantuya’s murder, can you beat that?And you talk about reputation, just go piss off!
#10 by cemerlang on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 11:06 pm
Malaysians, you have to decide whether a politician living a promiscuous life is acceptable. In ancient times, a ruler had many wives, mistresses and concubines. A Queen had affairs beside her king husband. Why was it acceptable then which is not acceptable now ? Their names are written in the history books with no mention of anyone condemning them. Religion had already come into the lives of the people then. Even in ancient civilization, the people believed in a religion. It does look like our politicians have a jolly good time when their wives are not beside them. Like one politician who once said that if his counterparts can do that, why can’t he ? He is confirming that this sort of thing is being practised. A big smile in exchange for a mega deal. Is that what the government’s entertainment budget is for ? Not just for drinks and stomach food. But also for the physical food for the big people out there. Then one of the big savings should be to stop all the entertainment budget. Issue a circular that says you cannot spend more than so and so. Spend it first. Claim later after a thorough investigation. Then you know that it is a real big wastage spending on the physical food. If physical food is more important, then that means the nation’s affairs come second. History also tells us that many leaders fell because of this physical food.
#11 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 11:39 pm
Cemerlang,
What have you been smoking??!
#12 by limkamput on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 1:09 am
Kassim Amat says: The reporters from the West, without having a good understanding of the unique culture of this country, have already put the reputation of our entire government into jeopardy. We, as citizen, should not join the West to discredit our leaders and all of us have due duty to defend the actions taken by our government.
You know what, sometimes I wish for more than what you complained. I wish the British are back here again. I prefer that. We have enough of third world tribal leaders using national sovereignty and independence to scr*w their own people, plunder nation’s wealth and destroy the livelihood of their own people. Just look around you, you another coconut head, how many countries have achieved anything worthwhile since breaking from the colonial yoke. Almost ZIP.
#13 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 3:00 am
limkamput,
Where’s your coconut head ‘friend’? Is he on top of a coconut tree viewing the Promised Land that no one could see but he??
#14 by lupus on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 6:35 am
Since we can’t seem to get off this topic of R-rate topic:
1) Where is the censorship on this from the Govt ? – Why haven’t they slap a ban on this sexual explicit news reporting ? I mean, we have to protect the average Malaysian from sexual exploits of recent member of parliament. Some have even decide to venture into being a porn star and I pay Parliament to be leaders, not some B-grade movie actor !!!! Hey, if they want to tell the world about each other sexual power, should go to a Western country and live it out. Leave the Govt to serious people.
2) The local paper also reported that the victim of rape started a blog and wishing his rapist “all the best”. I do not know about you, but I have never ever come across a rape victim NOT ANGRY at his attacker, let alone a male man who claims NOT GAY being raped by another man. It not normal and any subject matter experts will tell you that rape victims will hate their rapist.
#15 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 6:59 am
Nope! All rape victims have a subconscious desire to be raped!! What have you been smoking??!
#16 by AhPek on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:21 am
He hasn’t been smoking anything,undergrad2, just that he has not live long enough on this planet to know that like most of the UMNO goons have.
#17 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:27 am
Limkamput’s coconut head friend is now holed up together with RealWorld at Mike Tyson’s house plotting their next moves. They will threaten to sue Thomas Fuller, William Pesek, and the guy Down Under who have all been critical of the den of thieves known as UMNO.
Problem is the leader of the den of thieves is no Lee Kuan Yew.
#18 by Godfather on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 9:31 am
The thieves are all holed up in Kelana Jaya, drinking Tongkat Ali teh tarik, and discussing the contents of a protest letter to be sent to The Herald Tribune, Bloomberg, Time, the Age, etc. Problem is Mike Tyson doesn’t understand English…..
#19 by Evenmind on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:44 am
Well Thomas Fuller , you are more than right, because this nation’s top leaders are a bunch of hippocrates and hiprocrisy is thier ideology, and race based politics is ther top priority , they are the product of their own archaic NEP policy , becos they are chosen from the dumb of the dumbest , so what do u expect of these people, the country is surely and slowly slipping away economically , and these dumd heads still think that they are smart. Don’t you worry there wud be more SODOMY in the news in the near future, becos they know not of any other sensational issue, stay tuned, more hippocrisy to follow , you can label m’sia to have the best sex news in the world , forget playbot and penthouse , the contents are so TAME., that’s why it is banned here.
#20 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 10:44 am
That or he is busy getting sodomised!
#21 by boh-liao on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 11:22 am
Malaysia is the world’s expert/centre on sodomy and C4-murder. The BN government will soon promote sodomy and C4-murder related tourism! Come one, come all to Malaysia – truly fantastic!
#22 by Yee Siew Wah on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 12:55 pm
The government is more concern on people sexual issues instead of resolving the serious issues happening in this country. Just look at the 1)Mongolian girl murder which clearly involves some high profile people especially our powerful couple which everyone knows, 2) Lingam juduciary case, 3) Submarines purchase corruption, 4) IGP and AG case, 5) Monsoon cup case which Oxfart graduate is the main suspect, 6) Bala’s SD (by the way where is the police keeping him???) the list goes on…..
The rakyat must help Anwar rise up and save malaysia. We r already a laughing stock to the world.
However, end of the day, the main culprit to let all this happen to our country is our flip-fop, lame sleeping beauty.
Problem is ,he has no feelings any more even the rakyat kick him real hard on his butt. I weep for our country.
#23 by badak on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 1:37 pm
This Saiful GUY is just not right in the head.If he is out to frame DSAI the best thing he can do is keep his mouth shut.But then again its to late .
#24 by Adolf_Napoleon on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 2:53 pm
Hello ! All !! Please wake up…..!!
Anyone understand the meaning of “Licensed Mob” or ” Licensed Triad”….
Our politics are similar to it…….I personally believe….if you have the experience in running a triad successfully…you can be a successful politician.
#25 by boilingmad on Monday, 4 August 2008 - 5:15 pm
Yee Siew Wah: “Our government is more concern on people sexual issues …..” …..but that is where they have more experience in. Looking into other more serious issues (as you have mentioned above) is just too complicated and difficult for them. They don’t have the knowledge, experience and people with brains to deal with these kind of issues.
#26 by jeremiah on Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - 9:46 am
In the absence of a just and independent judiciary, we bloggers have inadvertently formed the people’s court where we sit and judge people who are suspected of committing certain crimes. This seems to be quite understandable as it may compensate for the lack of justice administered by an untrustworthy system.
However, in setting up ourselves as public judges, are we not also accomplices who were guilty in supporting/voting in the present government for the past two decades (out of economic satisfaction/complacency)?
In other words, we deserve the mediocre fruits (government) we have planted (voted for) over the years. For a change, PKR/DAP/PAs should stop harping about spilt milk and start planting good seeds today. You guys need to move one step forward if you want to form the next government with solid proposals and a national plan of regeneration.
#27 by zak_hammaad on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 2:55 am
If PKR “knew” that Saiful was planted by UMNO, they would have kept him under strict surveillance; they failed. They knew that he went to DPM’s residence yet were unable to pre-empt his next move. If UMNO is playing dirty to keep Pakatan from seizing power, then Pakatan also must have prepared to play equally dirty to stay one step ahead of UMNO.