Battle Royale – Anwar to contest in Permatang Pauh

The battle royale is on.

Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim will contest in Permatang Pauh in a by-election to return to Parliament after a decade’s absence, following the resignation of Datuk Seri Dr. Wan Azizah Wan Ismail as MP for the seat.

This has just been announced by Anwar in a media conference.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by kentutoyol on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 7:03 pm

At last DSAI is going to parliament.
    Good for me,
    Good for you,
    Good for everybody,
    Good for MALAYSIA.
    Hidup DSAI…….!

2. #2 by hiro on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 7:03 pm

Is it strategically wise? Wan Azizah resigns, immediately they put Anwar behind bars so that he cannot contest, then Permatang Pauh falls to BN!

3. #3 by yhsiew on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 7:12 pm

I think PKR has made the right choice by vacating Datuk Seri Dr. Wan Azizah Wan Ismail’s seat to let Anwar participate in the by-election.

If the person who sacrificed his/her seat is other than Anwar’s family member, then UMNO will point finger at Anwar accusing him of “robbing” someone’s seat.

4. #4 by Richardqed on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 7:15 pm

To voters in Permatang Pauh, I hope you all make this the highest percentage turnout ever in history in any constituency.

Whether Anwar is prevented from contesting or not, give the biggest ever victory to PR this by-election. Show the Barang Naik thieves what the rest of the nation thinks of them!

5. #5 by Damocles on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 7:18 pm

This will be the mother (and father?) of all by-elections!!
    DSAI will wipe the BN off Permatang Pauh!

6. #6 by Loyal Malaysian on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 7:27 pm

It shall be an interesting battle and those of us who have watched all the political intrique with interest will have a yardstick to gauge PR’s ability to wrest control of the Federal government.
    With the full weight of the government machinery thrown behind whoever is UMNO’s candidate, the folks there are in for a good time.
    But I hope there will remember, is it Nik Aziz’s advice to his constituents, by all means accept whatever gifts offered but at the polling station vote true to your heart!

7. #7 by concerned_citizen on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 7:38 pm

To Permatang Pauh voters, it’s now the time for you all to show your responsibility towards all Malaysian. Make it a big winning for Dato Seri.

Malaysia has been filled by nonsenses from the BN goons since March 8th. Put them into grave yard!

8. #8 by zak_hammaad on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 7:39 pm

The stability of Malaysia is reflected in the way we bahave towards each other. I think it is the inter-generational conflict that is stifling our communities who have already pledged their allegiences to various political parties.

policy-lines are drawn, let the battle commence.

9. #9 by taikohtai on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 7:45 pm

Brilliant move by DSAI.

Since KULIM judgement has been postponed, PKR could no longer wait as the sodomy case could be ‘wrapped’ up soon and DSAI falsely charged once more. Now that he is contesting a by-election, the voters will be most sympathetic should he be falsely accused. Otherwise, he still wins their votes by maintaining his innocence all along. Furthermore, if I am a voter, my vote goes to him as the next PM of Malaysia.

Syabas DSAI and Syabas Pakatan Rakyat.
    BN, you are dead and buried!

10. #10 by AA234567 on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 7:53 pm

Hidup Anwar!!
    Hidup Pakatan Rakyat!!
    Hidup RAKYAT!!

Hidup Reformasi!!

11. #11 by budak on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 7:54 pm

may GOD bless Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim and Datuk Seri Dr. Wan Azizah Ismail and family…

me and friends from Ipoh Timur 100% support DSAI…

Lawan Tetap Lawan… :-)

Good Luck… Hope another history in Malaysia Election 99.9% votes to PKR…!

12. #12 by I Malaysian on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 7:54 pm

This must not be an ordinary winning or losing battle. This is a Battle Royale. Voters must prove of their 100% commitment to Anwar. All opposition parties together with NGOs must ensure the huge success for Anwar.

13. #13 by budak on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 7:57 pm

almost forget; PKR should handover “Ketua Pembangkang” position to YB Lim… therefore PKR can concentrate fighting in court & by-election… :-)

after all, we’re PR mah… :-)

14. #14 by KennyGan on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 7:57 pm

Anwar has little choice but to contest in a safe seat. A by-election is a very focussed thing and BN will use all its money and machinery to make Anwar lose but in Permatang Pauh, they can’t do much.

The danger is that if Anwar is arrested and cannot contest, Wan Azizah will not be able to contest as there is an election law that an MP who resigns will have to wait 5 years to contest again. This is to stop candidates from resigning to test their popularity.

But don’t worry, PP will not fall to BN even if PKR puts a monkey to contest against BN.

15. #15 by Mr Smith on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 8:08 pm

How many of you agree with me on this?

I have this gut feeling that Anwar will NOT be arrested or charged!!
    The Solicitor General will most probably say that the prosecution does not have a prima facie case or he might direct the police to plug some holes in the investigations. Case closed.
    Anwar wins Permatang Pauh. And bingo! and we have a new government.
    There is only so far this conspiracy can go. It has already gone to the ridiculously insane.
    I am an Optimist, and I dream dreams.

16. #16 by Freddy on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 8:17 pm

WTG … may this be the beginning to the promised truth that Malaysia shall see a new government …….

It’s time for BN to be the opposition in Parliament!!!

17. #17 by KennyGan on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 8:37 pm

I have a bad feeling that Anwar will be arrested and charged. This is how the people in power fights against their political foes – playing dirty is second nature to them. Furthermore, they have time and again demonstrated a contempt for public opinion.

Anwar is hoping desperately that with him contesting for a seat, the weight of public opinion will stay the conspirators’ hands but as I’ve said, these people are utterly ruthless and contemptuous of public opinion, believing they can do as they like.

What will happen then? Will we all rise up for Anwar? Will millions of us rally for his release and force the wicked ones to back down? It’s not about Anwar, it’s about the future of this country.

18. #18 by hongsichuan on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 8:48 pm

The ex-MP of PP was only elected less than 6 months ago. Her resignation is merely to advance the ambition of one man to become PM. It appears that her role has just been to warm the seat of PP for him. The nation may not be in good shape, but I remain to be convinced that that one man is its saviour.

19. #19 by jc on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 8:58 pm

This was what I predicted. I also posted it in my blog on June 11 citing 4 reasons.

1. He wants to come back with a LOUD BANG! What better way to do it; of course Permatang Pauh.

2. This will show that he goes back to his own people.

3. No other present PKR incumbent MP needs to vacate.

4. Wifey can take a deserving rest.

You see? It’s a win-win-win-win scenario!!

20. #20 by tourman53 on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 9:02 pm

Don’t worry DSAI I’ll be there to help you.
    Wish you all the best.

21. #21 by AA234567 on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 9:03 pm

Come,come,come by the THOUSANDS to drown UMNO!!
    Suara Rakyat!!

22. #22 by badak on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 9:03 pm

PR must put their heads together to pluck all loop holds,So that BN can,t cheat in this BY-ELECTION.Force EC to use the ink in this BY-ELECTION.Make sure the electoral roll is clean.

23. #23 by jc on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 9:04 pm

This was what I predicted in my blog ( http://blackandwhite999.blogspot.com/2008/07/its-permatang-pauh.html ) on June 11 citing 4 reasons.

1. He wants to come back with a LOUD BANG! What better way to do it; of course Permatang Pauh.

2. This will show that he goes back to his own people.

3. No other present PKR incumbent MP needs to vacate.

4. Wifey can take a deserving rest.You see? It’s a win-win-win-win scenario!!

24. #24 by The World I Know on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 9:06 pm

Mr. Smith, Hope that your dream come true so that this politic drama can have a happy ending!!

25. #25 by peterchiang on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 9:26 pm

BN should seriously consider a walkover because Penangites will want a PM from Pulau Pinang state instead of Pahang or Johor.
    There is no BN candidate that can assure that a win for BN will see a Penang PM after 2010.

Sending Ezam in will be asking for trouble as he is a Trojan despite all the sandiwara.

Going by the popularity of his blog, Mr. Chedek may stand a fighting chance though. Impossible is nothing in the battle of Royale.

26. #26 by mediadirect on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 9:43 pm

i sense that the BN, police and AG will expedite in bringing the sodomy case to court soon and more dirty tricks.

BN will at all cost bring anwar down. it will be a mess soon in the political scene. it could either end anwar being back in parliament or in jail. I fear the latter being the case.

27. #27 by kutlakut on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 9:59 pm

Is there any one here who dare to think that the AG will not charge Anwar because there is no case ?

Can that happen?

28. #28 by kutlakut on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 10:03 pm

Her resignation is merely to advance the ambition of one man to become PM. ….

Merely to advance the ambition of one man?

Gosh, you still don’t get it. The one man represent this one half of the nation’s hope of a new order.

29. #29 by yhsiew on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 10:06 pm

His lawyer, Sivarasa Rasiah, said even if Anwar is charged now, it would not legally prevent him from running in the election unless he is convicted before nomination or voting day.
    ——————————————————————-

I hope there is enough time for Anwar to go through the by-election before the court convicts him.

Anyhow, even if Anwar cannot contest for the seat and PKR calls another guy to replace him, that guy can still win easily because PKR can always capitalize on Anwar’s sodomy and appeal for sympathy votes.

30. #30 by riversandlakes on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 10:09 pm

DSAI ’08!

31. #31 by patriotic1994 on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 10:24 pm

Hmm… will BN hit 2 birds with one stone? Wan Azizah resign. Police arrest DSAI tomorrow or after, both out of politics for the moment?

32. #32 by Blue.kinetic on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 10:31 pm

Go go go DSAI, you have my full support!! and never feel PAS like a Hero like now when they turn down BN ! Shed more light, pls PKR :)

33. #33 by yhsiew on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 10:44 pm

Assume Anwar has won the seat and becomes the opposition leader and is jailed. We then have the following comparison:

Aung San Suu Kyi – the authorities, fearing they may lose power, put her under house arrest on the pretext she is a trouble maker.

Anwar – the authorities, fearing they may lose power, put him in jail on the pretext he is a sodomizer.

PR supporters can then request the UN to impose sanctions on leaders of the ruling party.

34. #34 by The Enforcer on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 10:52 pm

A very gentleman’s way of getting into parliament. Wife gives way so as not to be seen as taking another’s seat. After all PP is where DSAI belongs to. Can’t see any GOON being a threat here.
    Only fear is timing. Will those GOONS come up with anything to get DSAI with the sodomy case? That seat needs to be contested in 60 days. Is there sufficient time for DSAI?
    Uncle Lim, if physical help is needed up there, please ring a bell. Am very much willing to volunteer!
    May this be the FIRST step towards a united MALAYSIA for MALAYSIANS!

35. #35 by zak_hammaad on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 11:00 pm

yhsiew, that is definitely something to think about, I think outside pressure would be inevitable if Anwar become a political prisoner.

36. #36 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 11:07 pm

The stability of Malaysia is reflected in the way we bahave towards each other.” zak_hammaad

Thanks for telling. We never knew that!

37. #37 by hongsichuan on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 11:10 pm

>Gosh, you still don’t get it. The one man represent this one half of >the nation’s hope of a new order.

It’s not that I don’t get it. I don’t place my faith in a politician. I don’t have even an iota of the faith you have in that one man. If he does become the PM one day, maybe on this coming 16/9 if what he has been claiming all along is true, I only hope that he would not dissapoint you and the nation one day, just as Ferdinand Marcos gave hope to the Filipino in the 1970s only to dissapoint them and be chased out in the 1980s.

38. #38 by badak on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 11:16 pm

Tun Dr M..Is not going to sleep tonight,Najib and his goons are planning their next move,PAK LAH is fast asleep.Rosmah is worried there goes the FIRST LADY title.

39. #39 by mendela on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 11:28 pm

Anwar, you are our Nelson Mandela.
    Please save Malaysia from further rot!

40. #40 by limkamput on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 11:34 pm

hongsichuan, i suggest you become a hermit, and live deep inside the jungle with orang asli. Hello, we have to take some risks. Of course we will never know, but does this mean we shall do nothing and the let the plundering goes on and on.

41. #41 by limkamput on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 11:40 pm

hongsichuan, we have to take some risks. Of course we will never know, but does this mean we shall do nothing and let the plundering goes on and on.

42. #42 by ZhouYu on Friday, 1 August 2008 - 12:10 am

No wonder the govt is considering to lower down oil prices :D

43. #43 by m.hwang on Friday, 1 August 2008 - 12:13 am

‘zak_hammaad Says:

Yesterday at 19: 39.54
    The stability of Malaysia is reflected in the way we bahave towards each other. I think it is the inter-generational conflict that is stifling our communities who have already pledged their allegiences to various political parties. ‘

What the..????

44. #44 by justice fighter on Friday, 1 August 2008 - 12:19 am

Hidup Hidup, Hidup Rakyat!!!
    Hidup Hidup, Pakatan Rakyat!!!

45. #45 by zak_hammaad on Friday, 1 August 2008 - 12:25 am

limkamput, YOU won’t be taking any risks, you will sit back and allow others to take the lead and risk their lives and future. You are a keyboard demonstrator.

As I asked on a previous thread, what tangible impact have you made apart from shouting “we need to do this and that”? What difference have you made in your immediate locality and region? What positive impact have you made on the neighbourhoods that you live in and around?

Be practical for once.

46. #46 by zak_hammaad on Friday, 1 August 2008 - 12:26 am

ZhouYu, the government will do more than lower oil prices. This tactic has not worked for Labour in Britain and it ain’t going to work for UMNO.

47. #47 by I Malaysian on Friday, 1 August 2008 - 12:42 am

Ezam dares to stand against Anwar in Permatang Pauh. Actually UMNO guys do not trust him at all. This traitor has become a desperado to prove his worth(lessness) to win their hearts. This could be the only chance for him to get a seat at the expense of Anwar Ibrahim. He could even come out with accusation that he too was sodomized by Anwar.

But I think his chance against Anwar is worst than putting a donkey. NO CHANCE.

48. #48 by somaris on Friday, 1 August 2008 - 1:46 am

TO ALL PERMATANG PAUH.
    Vote for ANWAR IBRAHIM. We want Anuar to be our Prime Minister for all MALAYSIAN.Go all out .tell all the people give full suport to PKR. not BN-UMNO. We need Change.
    BN,MCA,MIC,GERAKAN all are useless they dont work for RAKYAT .
    They are YES SIR to UMNO BN.
    KICK ALL OUT.
    LONG LIFE ANWAR. REFORMASI REFORMASI
    GOD BLESS YOU
    FROM
    IRELAND MALAYSIA

49. #49 by limkamput on Friday, 1 August 2008 - 1:47 am

Zak, the third world coconut head, You talked like hero and challenge others for not reading and travelling widely like you. Ok, i challenge you now:

Who are your favourite authors, name me two and tell me the titles you read. Quick, I am waiting.

Where was the furthest you have travelled? Have you been to all the continents of the world?

I have already told you earlier, you are not my headmaster or scout leader, why should I be accountable to you what I have done or not done. By the way, what about you, what your done, since you like to ask others alot?

50. #50 by lhslhv on Friday, 1 August 2008 - 2:05 am

Human nature will come into play here. The BN desperadoes will try all means to stop DS Anwar from achieving his goal. There is no doubt about it.

However this is not the end of the righteous struggle for a truely Malaysian Malaysia. If DS Anwar is arrested this time, we still have the 13th GE. I believe DS Anwar is still young and healthy.

Sun Yet Sen took so many years to overthrow the last Chinese emperor.

Let the wise people of Permatang Pauh teach BN a lesson and show their undivided support and political maturity.

As long as the citizens are matured and have wisdom, there is nobody in BN who can rule forever. They will topple one day!