Hamid, what are you doing to carry out your basic duty?

Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar – What are you doing to carry out your basic duty as Home Minister to make the public places, streets and homes safe for Malaysians, tourists and investors?

Hamid declared yesterday that investigations into Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan’s sodomy allegations against Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim will not be dropped.

Hamid has a lot of time for the sodomy charge against Anwar. But has he got time to restore to Malaysians, tourists and investors their most basic human right to be safe in public places?

Has Hamid read or been informed of the following letter which appeared in today’s Sun and can he declare what he has done about it? Or has he just got no time for these mundane things as compared to the sodomy allegation against Anwar?

Hamid, waiting for your public response to the following letter in the Sun today:

Shaken by experience with gang of youths

ON Saturday (July 19), two of my foreign colleagues (a man and a woman) and I went in to work as there was a project to rush.

After dinner at KLCC, at around 8pm, we walked back to the office at Etiqa Tower, which is opposite the Mandarin Oriental Hotel.

On the way, on the slightly sloping road between the hotel and our office (which has an open air car park adjacent to it), we saw a gang of about 15 youngsters walk towards us from about 50m away.

We felt apprehensive looking at the group – consisting of about 20 or so-year-old male and female youngsters – but still continued on our way to the office. When we got closer to them, we picked up our pace to pass them, but one of them purposely walked into my colleague and then moved away.

We tried to hurry past, but to my horror, I saw another guy walk towards my colleagues from behind holding a metal water pipe and hit my colleague on the arm before walking away. We were in shock and unable to act because there were so many of them.

Then, regardless of how many and how fast the cars on the road, we took the risk and ran across, hoping to get as far away from the group as possible.

Luckily, they walked away in the direction of the hotel. But I saw a Chinese lady become their next victim. They walked close to her and started to disturb her. I saw her scream at them and run away.

Look at what has happened to our society today. There wasn’t a thing we could do about our experience, only feel that it was our bad day. I felt sorry that I was not able to protect my colleagues on what was their first trip to Malaysia.

So I write to warn others walking around Kuala Lumpur to stay alert at all times.

Brad
via email

Print Friendly

1. #1 by abang jamboo on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 10:15 am

Our PDRM has spent more time on causing discomfort and pain to us rather than criminals. Vast resources are for unnecessary roadblock and rally hunting. When Nurin was murdered, Sharlinie missing, did they actually blocked the entire KL to nab the culprit?? NO,NO,NO.

With IGP’s integrity in question, Pak Lah could emulate on what happened at the Customs Dept, have the guy suspended..at LEAST. But, he chose to keep his top dog.

2. #2 by yhsiew on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 10:24 am

The information chief of Mr Anwar’s party, Mr Tian Chua, brushed aside claims that the doctor had not performed any sodomy-related examination on Mr Saiful. ‘The report mentions ‘per rectal examination’. Why would it say that if there was no medical examination?’ he told The Straits Times.

Copies of the medical report that were leaked to popular websites showed the doctor’s notes as concluding: ‘P/R (Per rectal examination): No active bleeding, no ulcer or pus seen, no injury shown, no tear seen.’

http://us2.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/10568/1/

3. #3 by limkamput on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 10:26 am

Lextcs,
    give me a break you digest news from both sides. No, it is not politicians from both sides who are lying. You are a liar. You have an agenda here to run down the oppositions and protect the corrupted establishment and I think everybody can see it. Just to show some of your perverted logic here:

1. When you see mat rempit creating havoc, you said policemen were too busy handling democracy demonstrators. No, you are wrong again. Police were too busy sleeping and if they woke up, they are busy making sotong mee.

2. Shouting in the street for the cause of democracy is sending wrong signal? What is right signal for you, pervert? Sitting at home and hiding your moronic head like a proverbial ostrich is right signal for you?

3. I will teach my kids the right and wrong including the right to demonstrate and rebel if the country no longer provides the democratic space as mandated. And my kids will grow up unlike an ostrich like you.

4. You know what; I don’t even care whether DSAI has really done it. I don’t even care RPK was really telling the whole truth. What can be worse than the nation being scr*wed to the core?

5. Whoever take over the country is fine except your hudud gang, got it pervert?

6. How dare you condemn Sdr Lim for sensationalizing? Who allow you to say all the nonsense here? Go try doing it in Che det and see whether whatever you write get published.

4. #4 by lextcs on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 10:43 am

so what’s in for you if dsai got to become pm? whats in for you if uncle lim becomes home minister?….truth is they can do no better…could you effect a change?…comeon..they way we beat traffic lights, spits in public places, litter our rivers, double parks, swear, etc etc…we dont even set godly examples for our kids to follow…talk about changing the world…change our selves firm brother.

5. #5 by lextcs on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 10:47 am

the best is still PAS goverment…HUDUD for malaysia…deterent for crimes! ……. of course uncle kit and nik aziz couldnt even handshake each other……how to govern the country….so go ahead and idolized your heros and see where they will lead you…..

6. #6 by malimdeman on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 11:03 am

Crime rate has increased tremendously. Looks like it is a never ending problem for us. Conclusion!… The goverment is not doing their job. Period!
    Ministers, please stop sleeping!
    Very shameful that this happened to a foreign visitor. We are already a laughing stock in the eyes of the world because of all the recent happenings.
    Now, the rakyat is very angry….. you won’t like them when they are angry…….@##$@#@%&@@@@@@*&@@@@

7. #7 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 11:11 am

I still remember vividly that when I was in primary school, the BM teacher who was a malay would tell us the following thing whenever that there was someone didnt know how to read properly:-

“Kamu tak tau baca buku, kamu semua tau makan, minum, tidur, pangsai dan pangjio!!!” , I hope our PDRM will not be labelled as such i.e. “Kamu tak tau buat kerja, kamu semua tau makan, minum, tidur, pangsai dan pangjio!!!”

8. #8 by oknyua on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 11:13 am

Limkamput, save your energy on lextcs, he hasn’t given me a 2-para dissertation on Hudud.

9. #9 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 11:16 am

malimdeman Says:

Today at 11: 03.32 (7 minutes ago)
    Crime rate has increased tremendously. Looks like it is a never ending problem for us. Conclusion!… The goverment is not doing their job. Period!
    Ministers, please stop sleeping!
    Very shameful that this happened to a foreign visitor. We are already a laughing stock in the eyes of the world because of all the recent happenings.
    Now, the rakyat is very angry….. you won’t like them when they are angry…….@##$@#@%&@@@@@@*&@@@@
    —————————————————-

These incompetent BN-UMNO ministers derived joy when they see that you are angry!!! Got it!!! our pains is their joy!!! Do you think they want to take away their joy???

10. #10 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 11:20 am

oknyua Says:

Today at 11: 13.13 (3 minutes ago)
    Limkamput, save your energy on lextcs, he hasn’t given me a 2-para dissertation on Hudud.
    —————————–

Please forgive lextcs for he didnt know what he was doing!!! He was brainswashed and used by the evil ones!!!

11. #11 by A_Lagerfeld_Girl on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 11:58 am

We obviously need an increase in police patroling the city but i doubt that will happen anytime soon, or if it’ll be effective at all(for you know what its like here…)

Police should be out on the street and has the power to stop and search such people, esp those in a huge group, looks suspicious or of anti-social behavior. In short, the yobs…

…..otherwise, we’ll jst get to a point like britain is today where police on the streets are afraid of apprehending the chavs/yobs. Everytime some cops try to apprehend them, these youth would go on saying that its against their human rights for the cops to even touch them, and this in turn drives these cops away from confronting them for they themself dont want to be sue!

yes, they have the ASBO(Anti Social Behavior Order) to control such problems and they also upheld the human rights of their citizens and yobs included!!!

but what do we have here, Nothing! there’s no proper act/law to weed this out and definitely there’s not much of a human rights here too.

12. #12 by lextcs on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 12:17 pm

when drM was modernizing Malaysia uncle kit was still barking….where were we? we even voted out poor uncle kit in penang and perak then……was it becoz economic activities were thriving back then? or becoz we just could be bothered by those scandalous projects as long as it does not hurt us?…now those mega theme projects are gone….we are feeling the pinch of multi national companies relocating to china and other places….the truth is that corruption has been there all these while but we choose to close an eye. Even our ears are also shut tight while uncle lim barks non stop even in detention……talk about being patroitic….. we must be consistent with our stands and must not compromise between good and evil……..

whether one is brainwashed or used only time will tell….but we always change our views according to the info posted for our reading pleasure……just ask ourselves if we are not traitors of our own creed and country. in the end…our selfish ways justify our means!

13. #13 by lextcs on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 12:25 pm

its so easy to stirr things up here…coz everyone see things from an emotional point of view. Piece of advice : whoever makes you angry controls you! get it nimkamput!

14. #14 by Jamesy on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 12:46 pm

Even a blind man can see Syed Hamid is on the witch-hunt for Anwar’s blood………

Nothing complicated about Syed Hamid’s intention, or rather Najib’s intention……..

15. #15 by lhslhv on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 1:24 pm

UMNO has cultivated in Malay a culture of dependency. As a Malay scholar said without the government handouts, the Malay community will collapse.

They have been so dependent that whatever UMNO says is right for them.

It is up to them to rise above this steoreotyped culture. If they don’t want to change, there is nothing much we can do. They have to change within themselves.

16. #16 by Godfather on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 1:33 pm

Oknyua:

Kasim Amat is still holed up at Mike Tyson’s house in Kelana Jaya together with RealWorld. They are figuring out the next line of attack and for the time being they have conscripted year of snake to distract and divert.

17. #17 by Godfather on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 1:37 pm

Kasim Amat and RealWorld are totally perplexed by the pro-Hudud guy lextcs. They can’t come out in support of lexcts because the UMNOputras have had too much of the good life to implement hudud. They know that UMNO will be full of one-armed members if hudud is ever implemented.

18. #18 by moomin.ng on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 1:47 pm

Govt officers got time for intimating rakyat, no time to do the right thing!!! WHy bully the visitors to visit relatives in hospital.

My mother is hospitalized at SJMC for stroke. This morning I went to visit her. There was no parking space inside hospital compound, and I couldn’t find parking space along the shophouse at Jalan SS 12/1B. Eventually I found some spaces along Jalan SS 12/1D. My car was parked beyond the yellow line outside the road. On this side there were no houses. In front of me was empty land. I was not blocking any body nor any residences. I parked at 9.45am.

When I came to collect my car at 10.30am. I received a SUMMON for RM80.00. I am law-abiding person. I do not parking along the road where there is yellow line. I do not park in front of people’s house where I could block people from passing or parking. Here I parked in front of empty piece of land and beyond the road and outside the yellow line. How could they issue summon? For what? For parking at a place without a parking lot??

There were many other cars that parked along the road. Some at yellow line. If you summoned them I have nothing to say. But many were like me parked outside the road, beyond the yellow line, in front of empty land, not blocking any body. All were visiting relatives in SJMC. All will be as angry as me.

I am angry, not with the PR govt, but with the BN govt? These bad ways of doing things carried from the old govt day. These officers were trained by previous govt, and were doing things the old ways. They didn’t learned that their salary are paid by the rakyat, and they never think that there are to serve the rakyat and not to intimidate the rakyat. They never learn from the PR12 Mar 8 tsunami. And the more they make the rakyat angry, the more they will lose the rakyat’s votes, this I can tell you.

19. #19 by k1980 on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 2:14 pm

It seems that Saiful went to Pusrawi for stomach-ache complaint but the good doctor did a diagnostic examination on him for sodomy. Did Saiful think that he was pregnant and was going to abort the baby?

20. #20 by limkamput on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 2:28 pm

when drM was modernizing Malaysia uncle kit was still barking….where were we? lextcs

mahathir modernising? modernising your a** lah.
    read my posts on mahathir before you open your stupid mouth again. This country was scr*wed from day one. LKY saw in as early as 1964. Who need your two cent worth, lextcs.

21. #21 by sj on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 2:37 pm

“when drM was modernizing Malaysia uncle kit was still barking….where were we? we even voted out poor uncle kit in penang and perak then……was it becoz economic activities were thriving back then? or becoz we just could be bothered by those scandalous projects as long as it does not hurt us?…now those mega theme projects are gone….we are feeling the pinch of multi national companies relocating to china and other places….the truth is that corruption has been there all these while but we choose to close an eye. Even our ears are also shut tight while uncle lim barks non stop even in detention……talk about being patroitic….. we must be consistent with our stands and must not compromise between good and evil……..” by lextc

I think you might have something here. It is also partly the Rakyat’s fault during Dr M’s time. That is why Malaysians were categorised as Rakyat Bodoh. They cant see and blinded. But at the same time you can argue saying Dr M did a lot of voice silencing and media black out. He is good in killing off his opponents with ruthless tactics. One by one. Even Anwar Ibrahim was killed off by him within a stroke. Those project were very scandalous indeed. Some of them can even considered treasonous, like Project IC Sabah. That is just like selling out the people of Sabah. So I can say that Dr M should be investigated and scrutinised on all aspect of his past deed. Oh and dont forget his best partner in crime. Tun DAIM.

22. #22 by limkamput on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 2:37 pm

lextcs, you don’t have to worry too much about opposition not able to govern when they come into power. You don’t have to worry too much whether hudud will be implemented or not. Right now for you just go learn to write decent English first becoming here. It is a torture to read you postings and you may just contaminate mine. It is not that I wanted to read your posting very much. I just can not let your moronic half baked ideas go unchallenged, got it nut head.

23. #23 by m.hwang on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 3:46 pm

‘lextcs Says:

Today at 10: 43.35 (4 hours ago)
    so what’s in for you if dsai got to become pm? whats in for you if uncle lim becomes home minister?….truth is they can do no better…could you effect a change?…’

If DSAI becomes PM he will have to honour the major reforms that he has promised. LKS as Home Minister will move the cabinet to repeal all draconian laws like ISA, OSA etc etc

If they don’t we can vote them out. Kapish?

24. #24 by m.hwang on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 3:50 pm

lextcs Says: ‘….the truth is that corruption has been there all these while but we choose to close an eye. Even our ears are also shut tight while uncle lim barks non stop even in detention……talk about being patroitic….. we must be consistent with our stands and must not compromise between good and evil……..

whether one is brainwashed or used only time will tell….but we always change our views according to the info posted for our reading pleasure……just ask ourselves if we are not traitors of our own creed and country. in the end…our selfish ways justify our means!’

Now I feel really bad commenting on your latest post, you are one confused guy trying to confuse all of us man!

25. #25 by barble on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 5:20 pm

we can all sit in front of our computers and write about the incompetence of our politicians, the polices lack of interest in making malaysia more safe and the shameful judiciary system that we have in this country. But we the citizens of Malaysia has never made a stand on our right to be the ‘voice’ and do our

job to ensure the right person runs our country and makes us feel safe to live here like our parents and parents before them….

we can’t even walk in our own neighborhood to visit our neighbors across the streets, because of the fear that we would be harmed by a thief or rapist. our own children are not safe in their own housing play grounds…. why is this happening????

its all because we the citizens are not voicing enough of our frustration in public.. i don’t mean in the internet where its only writing, but actually going head to head with our elected politicians(politicians that we vote, our votes that put them where they are now) and pressure them to be more responsible in their actions as the elected leaders in this country.

do more public protests.. do you actually think that jails in malaysia can fit 26million malaysians??? obviously not right… and by doing this will not only impose fear in the politicians but they will definitely do they jobs well…

we malaysians are no ‘UNITED’ in wanting what ‘WE’ want and how we want our country to be… we malaysians just gossip, talk behind backs, curse and swear but at the end of the day do not show our frustrations to ensure that there are heard. why we do this? because a typical malaysian will answer you, that they just hide it and keep mum when it comes going against the government, is because they have mouths to feed…
    let me tell you all here, if we don’t do what we have to do to make sure our country is a safe place to live for us, our children and the next generations…
    we all will not have jobs to feed them anyway… so why bicker behind the scenes??? ask yourselves why not do much more than that??? are we not capable to do so??? are we the voice of this country???? is this a democratic country??? ask yourselves these questions… i am hoping it will open all of your eyes..

26. #26 by zak_hammaad on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 6:06 pm

taiking Says:

>> Zak_hamaaad said…

If you actually bother to read my first post on this thread, you would have seen it glaring in your face that I did NOT say that, it was a report I copied from a news item, with my comments at the bottom.

27. #27 by bennylohstocks on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 6:53 pm

28. #28 by hionghiong on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 11:49 pm

no one will take action unless it involves VVIP, tan sri or datuk datuk..if the victim is one of the prominent figure…then the whole police force will be deployed to do their job..

Welcome to real MALAYSIA..! truly asia..

29. #29 by StevePCH on Sunday, 3 August 2008 - 3:56 pm

well … the moral – social decline in Malaysian society is so bad that you can find self made videos of school children pornography on the net. These are all Malaysian boys and girls !!!
    if SHA can mobilise the UTK to arrest Anwar, surely I think they can do more to combat these fundamental issues underlining our society.

30. #30 by Swarnabumi on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 5:19 pm

Dear YB LKS,
    There was nothing wrong with what RPK has written. He spoke the truth and of course truth hurts for a moment. The way DS Syed Albar acts is more towards personal grudges. His opinion is not the opinion of the majority intelligent rakyat. The level of expectation and information access & processing changes with each generation – from builders to gen Z. People will want to satisfy their intelligence by expecting words of wisdom. When you are not able to provide it , don’t use ISA to shut down a man with above normal IQ level, in this case RPK. He did not insult anybody!The Rakyat know, on one to one basis Syed Albar is no match for RPK. It is no faulty of RPK he is born with wisdom. That’s God’s gift. In order to win the people’s heart, the BN Government should just release RPK with a mild reminder if necessary to end this chaos. Failure which GE13 will reply because nowdays, Rakyat don’t forget easily! Nobody in power should be allowed to use ISA to score a personal revenge and let the nation lose millions in FDI !

Dear YB, you are in the position to raise these issue.

Comments are closed.