Public apology to Anwar for fictitious charge of sodomy

by Dr. Chen Man Hin

A FULL EXPLANATION AND A PUBLIC APOLOGY TO ANWAR IBRAHIM IS DEMANDED BY THE PEOPLE FOR INSITUTING A FICTIOUS CHARGE OF SODOMY AGAINST ANWAR AND FOR CAUSING POLITICAL AND SOCIAL INSTABILITY AND INJURING THE REPUTATION OF OUR BELOVED COUNTRY.

The Home Minister appears to be in a hurry to close the Saiful sodomy case now that Dr. Mohd Osman medical report is widely known. Not so fast Mr Minister. There are many unanswered questions which he must explain to the people.

Gone are his old swagger and arrogant attitude. He is trying to run away fast now that the case has gone against the conspirators.

Do not let him off easy. Demand an explanation and there are lots for him to clarify and explain

Who instigated Saiful to make a police report accusing Anwar of sodomisng him?

Who were behind the conspiracy? Was it the IGP or the Attorney General? Was it the top echelon of Umno leaders who fear that Anwar might the next prime minister?

Why was the whole government machinery used to hound Anwar? A professional and independent approach was totalling lacking. At the earlier stage, the same two persons whom Anwar alleged were the principal conspirators in the 1998 sodomy case during the premiership of Tun Dr Mahathir, were directing operations.

although dr Mohd Osman’s medical report exonerated Anwar a month ago, why was the report not made public immediately?

After Dr. Mohd Osman had presented the medical report, which absolved Anwar of the sodomy charge, why did they still insisted on pursuing Anwar to give a blood sample to the extent of uttering threats and even proposing to amend the law to allow legal force to extract a blood sample. Anwar stood his ground and refused.

He refused because of the suspicion that a fresh blood sample would be used to fabricate evidence of sodomy e.g. DNA on underwear, etc. PM denied and insisted that a fresh blood sample was necessary, as the old blood samples taken between 1998 and 2004 were ‘old’.

On hindsight the suspicions were proven to be correct. A medical report on Saiful stated there was no tear, no ulcer – which would indicate there was no penetration of the anus. The report did not mention about semen. The conclusion to be drawn was there was no sodomy.

So why the insistence of a fresh blood sample when no sodomy was committed. The answer is obvious – to fabricate evidence.

There should be a demand for a full explanation by the Home Minister, and an open apology to Anwar for causing so much pain to him and his family and damaging his good name and reputation.

In the interests of justice and fair play, the conspirators must be exposed and duly punished for causing undue public disquiet and social instability, and for slurring the image of the country and causing doubts in the minds of foreign investors about justice and security of their investments.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Jameswong on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 11:03 am

Aiya, so easy to solve these 2 cases, it is called 1 stone to kill 2 birds, why our police take so long to investigate.

2. #2 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 11:04 am

dbrutal Says:

Today at 10: 10.19 (37 minutes ago)
    But Guys,

Where were you during the 1998/99 DSAI 1st allegation crisis. Should you guys acted like this during that time, the Pakatan Rakyat should have been in power by now. However, last time your eyes and ears solidly believed what the gov media published that DSAI was actually guilty and you guys were going against the Pakatan in drove during the 1999 election and deep down in your heart you’re thinking that DSAI was a mere extremist. Should half of you guys voted against the BN during 1999 election, the Pakatan would have been the government till now.

Ironically, what make the about turn now guys, is there any personal or political agenda that’s taking place

————————————-

If DSAI had not gone into jail in the past, you think many people especially the non-malays will support him (as he was well known for Islamization and a racist while he was a DPM) by just calling for equality etc etc. after that and now!!! It is a blessing in disguise indeed!!!

3. #3 by hotsync on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 11:05 am

Our bolehland gov assume that the rakyat and world is dumb. They even want to coax the diplomats into believing they do have case against Anwar behind closed doors. Is that necessary? All becos of one man whom will become the next PM maybe.

This is power abuse at the most corrupt level in history. Indeed is a chain that leads all the way to the top ministers including Pak lah.

4. #4 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 11:23 am

rainbowseahorse Says:

Today at 10: 54.56 (9 minutes ago)
    i_love_malaysia Says: …”At the end of it, it is Adam & Eve’s fault!!!”..

Are you sure bro???…Who created Adam & Eve???
    ——————————–
    God created Adam & Eve, but it is Satan’s fault for misleading Adam & Eve into sin!!! are you going to ask who created Satan??? yes, it is God who created Satan, but it is Satan’s own doing that cause his own downfall!!! Any one wants to find out more, can read the Bible in the internet!!! just google Bible and you will find!!!

Anyway, please dont blame everything on your father and mother or ancestors as every one has the freewill to decide what to believe and to behave, else the father or mother may go to jail for the wrong doing of their children even if the child is an adult!!!

5. #5 by sj on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 11:37 am

Latest from Malaysia Today:
    http://w2.malaysia-today.net/content/view/10560/84/

I am posting this to spread the news because I been having trouble entering Malaysia Today, and I acquire the website from a friend in order to view what is going on about Anwar’s case. As you can tell you start to see more nasty stuff on what the Goverment is doing in order to stay in power. Rakyat Malaysia, now you know how rotten your goverment really is. The whole tree must be chopped down and be planted new.

6. #6 by Cinapek on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 11:38 am

First we have Bala’s SD1 and SD2. Now we have Saiful’s medical report 1 (Pusrawi) and medical report 2 (HKL).

It is amazing how in this country we can twist supposedly conclusive reports at will to suit our needs.

What can we believe anymore?

This really is the wrong definition of Malaysia Boleh!! Macam macam pun boleh!!!

7. #7 by Jan on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 11:40 am

UMNO thinks it’s their birthright to rule this land….
    —————————————————-
    I believe they are more interested about what a new govt will do to them when they lose power. It’s very likely many of them will go to jail for all the abuse of power, murder, rape and massive corruption.

Those in govt realise the consequence of losing power and will stop at nothing to prevent it, even if it means dragging the country to pariah status as it’s happening now. The opposition party must be aware of this. Right now it seems the top brass of the polis and army seems to be on the side of the ruling elite. They will not hesitate to impose military rule at the last resort.

8. #8 by sj on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 11:41 am

What can we believe anymore?

I am sure people are smart enough to tell which one is right and which one is wrong. If in doubt, think, clarify and verify. Use your sense of logic and you will surely find that the loop holes of the case presented by our goverment is so full of shit. Would you rather believe people who has been lying to the Rakyat for 50 years? Still not enough? Then continued to be lied for another 50.

9. #9 by kun9999 on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 11:42 am

malaysia politic no eye see…

10. #10 by lhslhv on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 11:50 am

Liow Tiong Lai has been cleared from the 3-gang intelligence to remove his rival. Do you believe the committee’s report?

11. #11 by pkrisnin on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 11:52 am

The doctor could be reprimanded, suspended or even deregistered while the hospital can be fined and may have its licence revoked if the report is confirm by the hospital to be true.
    Looks like the Health Ministry is blackmailing the doctor and hospital to declare the report as fake.

12. #12 by pkrisnin on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 11:53 am

leaking a medical report is against the law, nice to see our gov. upholdign the law when it serves them

13. #13 by Toyol on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 11:57 am

When the time comes to vote, Malaysians from all walks of life, race and belief must come together to reject oppression, dictatorship, tyranny and biased application of the constitution. Only in M’sia can the government so transparently fabricate evidence. This stems from the arrogance and high and mighty attitude of being in power for so long. If Malaysians want even a remote chance of change for the better, the first step is to vote BN out…for good.

14. #14 by AhPek on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 11:59 am

‘In the event that the government proceeds to prosecute Anwar for the crime of sodomy,we would then prove that the government has withheld exculpatory evidence from the defence.We are talking prosecutorial misconduct on the part of the Attorney General himself. He could go to jail and lose his license to practise law for that.’.undergrad2.

I would have no problem with your statements above if this were to take place in America,Britain,Canada,New Zealand,Australia,Switzerland,Austria,Finland or Norway where fair play and the rule of the law is held sacrosanct.But if this unlikely event mentioned were to happen here I certainly would be more persuaded to believe that they would stage-manage it in such a manner that the Attorney General could not be charged for prosecutorial misconduct or if such a charge were to be staged then that charge would not be given a chance to see the light of the day. Aftwer all the Attorney General is performing meritorious service in doing the bidding of someone desperately fighting for dear life trying to hold on to power.Foul plays like this is as common place as rampant corruptions in the country and frankly can anyone tell us whether there is any difference between the behaviour of this government with that of governments from the Banana republics.

15. #15 by negarawan on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 12:01 pm

UMNO and their puppets, the police and judiciary, have probably pressured PUSPAWI to deny or change the contents of the original report. There is no justice and freedom in Malaysia anymore until UMNO is removed. UMNO is apartheid in Malaysia.

16. #16 by rainbowseahorse on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 12:06 pm

….”If Malaysians want even a remote chance of change for the better, the first step is to vote BN out…”

It’s all well and dainty to wish for that in this blog, but it’s the ordinary Rakyat who has to be turned around and convinced. In Sabah & Sarawak politices, the rural voters can be a problem as their mindset is, “If the BN YBs are no more, how to get the RM during election?”. A very hard nut to crack but still possible if the PKR MPs will get off their butt and start educating and winning the hearts of these rural voters instead of waiting for the next election.

For us bloggers, we should do our bit by keeping the “Time for change” momentum going with people of all walks of life.

17. #17 by Elwin Heng on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 12:07 pm

On negative site, ‘blue’ sure redundantly (again-&-again) black-dot our lovely country-M; misconduct or misuse power authority to benefit themselves or ‘mission accomplish’ by destroying ‘YELLOW’!

To all of us, think positive, do positive always! Positive mindset-&-attitude is required! How about ‘blue’ blackhand, will they to answer in the affirmative to say:”I/we are positive! Wouldn’t be political on investigation! C.A.Transparency like 5 states yellow governed!”

Doubts on asking ‘blue’, if private hospital without doctoring authority (no acceptance according to laws-&-legal!), why issued license authority to them? Medical report must be issued by ‘blue’ selected body(H)? Who is ruling the medical report? You know about it, don’t you!

So much coincidences appeared here!
    ~2nd time charge of sodomy!
    :where is he(s) nowadays? is he under guarantee? or free now?
    ~Bala 1st-&-2nd SD within 24hours!
    :where is he-&-family nowadays? detained? or free now?
    ~Medical report (1stly yes)-&-(2ndly NO?) within 24hours!
    :where is the doctor-&-family nowadays? detained again? or free?

Why asked about 2nd medical report details, there are so much ‘road blocks’ procedures set to apply! Till now, anyone of you review the exact (or original) medical report? Again, will ‘blue’ minimize MISUNDERSTANDING or realize the importance of TRANSPARENCY? Come on, purify and clean reputation/image of our lovely country-M!

‘Blue’, you dirty your business, don’t never-ever spoiled or influence us again-&-again!

TQ.
    Warmest regards.

18. #18 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 12:08 pm

“Earlier yesterday, Ismail denied that police were dragging their feet in the investigations.

He said the case was given priority as it was a high-profile investigation.” – MalaysiaToday
    ——————————————————————

What Ismail said was rubbish. I am sure the rakyat agree that Bala’s two statutory declarations, in terms of priority, are way above that of Anwar’s alleged sodomy as they implicate the highest office is involved in the murder of Mongolian national Altantuya Shaariibuu.

What Ismail should do is give TOP priority to investigating Bala’s statutory declarations in the hope of restoring Malaysia’s international standing.

The government cannot assume the rakyat and world community are idiots.

19. #19 by milduser on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 12:16 pm

What i about to say, i hope it make sense:

The so call “medical” report that was leaked is NOT a medical report per se. It is a Dr’s medical notes which will be the basis for any medical report to be prepared when requested by any interested party, be it police, insurance co., patient’s employer, Dr’s to be referred to, etc etc. However, any report to be released to 3rd party need the patient’s consent. Otherwise, there is a bleach of privacy. However, not all breaches are commited by Drs. Medical record personnel, nurses, hospital assistants, hospital staff etc etc can also leaked medical info. The point is that the 1st Dr had been allegedly threaten by the police to produce a diagnosis contrary to his notes. When he refused, the so called medical report was not even prepared, so the police do not have the report. Likewise, as circulating around the blogspheres, (Susan Loone) the so call government hospital (HKL) DRs are also sticking to their guns that they will not DR the report for purposes of the police investigations. As such the police have not received any official medical report as yet.

20. #20 by sjchange on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 12:24 pm

STOP THE SINS!

HOW IF THEY
    NEVER INVESTIGATE FAIRLY
    BUT JUST FABRICATE EVILLY
    WITH ALL THE CRUEL INTENTION.

HOW WE GONNA LOVE OUR COUNTRY,
    IF OUR COUNTRY NEVER LOVE US AT ALL???

WHY?

21. #21 by Elwin Heng on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 12:42 pm

This blog is belongs to PR!
    Victory is alongside PR too!

Hereis for us to post comment or opinion sharing upon our country politic! Not a place to ‘blue’ to promote or post or ‘push up’ own value!

Pls ever misuse again your priority (authority) to advertise ‘blue -yes follower’! Look or search on yellow pages for advertising or marketing company yourself!

Doubts to ask, for the past (recent) few years, is there anyone of ‘blue-M’ say NO to ‘blue-U’? No matter what topic or scenario, where is your guts? To retain equalize position, benefit to nation no exclude race, religion, & others, which role are you involve? How many of you or will you affirmative to say “I/we are clean!”?

I/we dare to challenge you (blue-M), we are in suffer, you’re in comfort zone! We poor, you rich! Face on or challenge to ‘blue-U’, will you dare on-going? How many times I post comment to ‘blue-Micheal’ asking his favor on my labour case which pending almost 2years+? Dare to challenge private sector, why no guts face on ‘blue-U’!? WHEN WE NEED YOU, WHERE ARE YOU!

STOP misuse your priority or authority! SAVE UP your energy to sincere contribute and deliver your promises (never-ever accuse PR again, look@ yourself in 1st place, blue-M)!

Bare in mind, your contribution is not only benefit to us, is beneficial to our generation-by-generation too!

TQ.
    Warmest regards.

22. #22 by milduser on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 12:48 pm

My last hope:

If the police, desperate for Dr’s report that will meet their purpose, i recommend that they get the DR of all DRS, Dr Tun Mamak who would be too willing to help in writing the perfect sodomee medical report on Anwar.

23. #23 by FY Lim on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 12:59 pm

Indeed it is a SAD day for all Malaysians who loved the country, civil liberty and most importantly a stable and peaceful environment to live in.

There was so much tension created and the political uncertainties which was unwarranted and uncalled for. We have wasted too much of our precious time trying to bring down your political opponents when they should be managing the country and economy.

Today we see the truth to the whole police investigations into DSAI ‘s sodomy charge. The world now knows that such allegations were untrue, yet this case had been pursued relentlessly to the fullest just to embarass an innocent victim. It is just not fair to DSAI and his family members and all Malaysians.

What is so unethical for the medical report to be ” leaked ” when it is much more so to conceal the truth ? Looks like those in power wants to hide this fact hoping that the world will not know. Why question the doctor when the complainant Saiful is not telling the truth ? He should rightly be charged.

It is good to note that there are still professionals like Dr Osman who have the courage to speak and write the truth no matter how painful it is to the interested party. They are the ones who give all Malaysians the hope that Malaysia is still a good place to be in.

24. #24 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 1:07 pm

Public apology to Anwar by the Home Minister? The IGP or the Attorney General? Umno ministers?

Fat hope! Wait lah – till the sun rises from the West!

25. #25 by k1980 on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 1:13 pm

How can medical report 1 (Pusrawi) and medical report 2 (HKL) regarding the coffeeboy’s anal distress differ from each other when they were made hours apart? Or will the Burmese doctor’s first medical report be dismissed as faulty due to the fallacy that Malaysian-trained docs are superior to Burmese ones?

26. #26 by imranj78 on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 1:33 pm

I think there is mass confusion here. There is no formal charge of sodomy on Anwar. What exists is a police report which alleges sodomy which implicates Anwar. There is a clear distinction between `being charged’ and `being alleged’. So Dr Chen, your article here is inaccurate.

Now lets say, if an alleged victim reports a rape, isn’t it expected that the police should investigate? What would you say if the alleged rapist say to the police – `Drop the investigation because I am innocent!’ It doesn’t make sense isn’t it? For the sake of the victim, the investigations must be closed properly.

Let me reiterate this – once a police report is made, the investigations must be investigated. We as citizens of this country should ensure all investigations are closed properly and not stopped just because someone thinks he is `priveledged’ to call for such a stoppage. In my view, it is more important now that the investigation be thoroughly completed. The investigations will show who is right and who is wrong; this call cannot be made by Anwar, not by Saiful and definitely not the public!

Yes many of us already have our own theories of what is happening at the background. But whatever we propose and preach, it must be consistent with the principles of law and justice and not to our whims and fancy.

27. #27 by taiking on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 1:35 pm

The prosecution has a common law duty to disclose evidence during trial. But Anwar has not been charged and brought before the court for trial yet. So the issue on disclosure of the medical report by the doctor-on-the-run has not arisen at this point in time.

However, the police’s reaction towards the disclosure of that report, and their denial of the said report are indicative of the possibility that they would not tender that report in court as evidence for the judge’s consideration.

Its good that the report is now in public domain. The attention now is on whether the AG would in view of the report prefer criminal charges against anwar and, if charges were made, whether the prosecution would be bold enough not to refer the court to the report.

For those interested pls read a canadian supreme court case on the subject: Taillefer v Canada @ http://www.ipsofactoj.com/international/index.htm [2005] Part 1 Case 11 [SCC]; or jump straight to the case here : http://www.ipsofactoj.com/international/2005/Part01/int2005(1)-011.htm

28. #28 by milduser on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 1:42 pm

Quote:
    Syed Hamid calls for action against those who leaked medical report
    by Tim Leonard

newsdesk@thesundaily.com

KUALA LUMPUR (July 29, 2008) : Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar today urged the medical fraternity to take stern action against a Myanmar doctor from Hospital Pusrawi or anyone responsible for “leaking” a medical report on Saiful Bukhari Azlan showing no evidence of sodomy.

What this this STUPID botak trying to do? It just confirm (another nail on BN coffin) that the investigation had a hidden agenda! Taking action against the person of institution for leaking the truth (which is the very basis of a sodomee charge against a private citizen, if convicted, may spend up to 20 years in jail) is preposterous! Unless, he wants the accused citizen to go to jail. If that is the case, please En Botak, say somthing along this line, which make better sense and more credible:

This leak report, if authentic, only shows a Dr’s diagnostic professional opinion. Not all Drs expresses the some conclusions. We need other Drs to examine the accuser and get to the bottom of the truth. Please be patient. Let the police do their work. Anyway, what ever the outcome, we still need to nail AI for good. See you in court for further update.

29. #29 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 1:52 pm

Anwar has said that the allegations by a young male aide…….have been made up to block his plans to topple the coalition that has ruled Malaysia for half a century.

Syed Hamid denied Anwar’s accusation and said that it would be very “irrational for the government to create a case of this nature, at this time, against such a person.” – Yahoo Asia News (Wed July 30, 12:31 PM)
    ——————————————————————-

Come on Hamid, you must not assume everybody is an idiot in Malaysia.

30. #30 by yskong on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 1:53 pm

keep on fighting DSAI, your sacrifice will be paid one day! BN thought we, the people can’t do anything, but they are wrong! we will show them what is people power, at lease during GE13! wait and see…

31. #31 by milduser on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 1:57 pm

Wow, wow, imranj78, you are sooo self righteous. Are you blind? The investigation, on the outset is already bias. Do you know what is a ‘gostan’ investigation. It is like this: We need to nail this guy! We need to plant evidence.

Go and fill in the details yourself. I hate to explain to dumb people like you. go and fly kite and come back and post some sensible remarks, lah!

32. #32 by Emily Pratt on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 2:04 pm

The current situation in Malaysia reminds me so much of Imperial China in the early 20th century. The whole empire of China was bogged down with corruption by eunuchs, mandarins that are more concern with profiteering and enriching themselves rather than doing the job of governance. The blatantly and openly commit corrupt practice.

Thank god, along came Sun Yat Sen to rid China of these pest. Good riddance to these corrupt officials.

I wonder if there will be a Sun Yat Sen equivalent in Malaysia soon?

EP

33. #33 by sj on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 2:07 pm

I have to disagree with you on this imranj78, although what you mentioned on technicality is right, but if you look at it in another perspective, the PDRM and Home Minister themselves did not actually follow protocol or technicality isn’t it? Starting with the DNA profiling fiasco all the way to arrest Anwar in balaclava. Anwar is not even a criminal with an AK47. Do you need a freaking SWAT team to arrest him? Plus when Anwar was compelled to give information for the case at 2pm, the Police themselves did not abide to what conditions they set. Anwar was giving info to the ACA and there were still plenty of time for him to even head out to Peace Hill. Then why was he ‘arrested’ and put into jail for 24 hours?
    This is what I call VINDICTIVE. This goverment must be punished on all full account and they should be prosecuted to the fullest extend.

34. #34 by sj on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 2:10 pm

Oh and dont forget how Kera Jantan was gloating at PR when Anwar was arrested that day itself.

35. #35 by trublumsian on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 2:18 pm

the conspirators will now say since the doctor acted unethically by leaking the report, he can not be trusted, so is his report. they will say they did their homework and the other report is authentic and is grounds for putting anwar behind bars.

36. #36 by Danniel on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 2:27 pm

The conspirators should be charged under ISA for evidence fabrication and causing massive fear among rakyat. THIS IS A HUGE THREAT TO THE NATIONAL SECURITY and what is the use of ISA if it only favors BN??????

In another separate case, Syed Hamid Albar should be arrested under Akta Hasutan 1948 for GIVING WRONG INFORMATION, wrongly accusing Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng, honorable DAP leaders Lim Kit Siang and Dr Tan Seng Giaw. Hamid also caused massive traffic congestions in KL by justifying the police’s move in putting up roadblocks in the major roads leading to Parliament House through his own made up so called “intelligence”. This is no intelligence, Hamid oh Hamid, this is SLANDER !!

37. #37 by boilingmad on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 2:53 pm

Please remember, that whatever the outcome, we MUST vote PR. UMNO believes that taking out Anwar means the death of PR. They believe that by taking out Anwar, we have no other choice but to vote back BN. Their desperate attempts to charge Anwar at whatever cost is clear cut evidence of this. Never before must we all be strongly united as one now. Just think, if incompetent politicians can “run” the country, any one can, even you and I, and we can even do a better job. So never lose hope, and never let the brainless UMNO even think that if Anwar is out, PR will die. In fact, IF Anwar is out, we must be even stronger in spirit to kick UMNO out at all cost.

38. #38 by dranony on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 2:55 pm

http://www.shiamasjid.net/books/GreaterSins1/page-0021.htm

Qazaf and the Responsibility of Other Muslims

“According to the philosophy of Islam, if a Muslim hears of another Muslim being accused of adultery or sodomy he should not pay heed to it. It is Haraam for him to believe it. It is also Haraam to repeat this slander to others. Till four just witnesses testify before the qazi and the qazi issues his decree, it is Haraam to associate any one with these sins. Even if one has witnessed the crime with his own eyes or believes the accuser, one should not spread the slander. Such an action would cause the accused person to lose his honour and dignity in people’s estimation. This is totally unacceptable in Islam.

Till four just witnesses have not testified, the accuser should be regarded as a liar and a transgressor, and it is wajib upon the person who hears him to consider him so, even if what he says is true. It should be said to the accuser, “This is a great allegation. We do not accept that the statement is correct according to Shariat.”

39. #39 by PSM on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 2:58 pm

Public apology? Ya rite!!!!!
    The PDRM is planning to arrest DSAI anytime now!
    They can’t take the chance of him becoming a MP soon & then take over the Federal Government come Sept 16th!!!!!
    They don’t give a hoot if noone believes them!

40. #40 by oknyua on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 3:57 pm

Imranj78 (13.3.27), thank you for your wisdom. The word “alleged and charged,” whatever word used, does it warrant the use of 20 police personnel, using skimask, brandishing automatics, fit to attack a terrorist? Do you get it?

Secondly, there is a police report against Dato’ Anwar. I am asking you, is it against the law to show that police report to the supposedly culprit? For that mater, what part of the law that says the culprit cannot see the police report? Are you a lawyer; maybe you can show me the relevant law.

Thirdly the police must complete its investigation, yes but look and read what the Deputy IGP says. Police report is to confuse the people; who is confused? The investigating officer is looking at all angles; what angle when police is to act based on police report?

Imranj78, if you have been following events since the last 6 months and you still think the police had been acting fairly, you are either blind or selective in your sight. I don’t condemn the police, imranj78, as I am connected to a few family members who are in the police force. I know that in the PDRM there are many good men who are sickened by what they see.

With the latest piece of information made known to the public, do you read that the police Deputy IGP and the DG of Health did NOT comment on the report or its contents, but focused on the “why” that report leaked. Such as the case, Dr Chen is right – apology and drop this case against Anwar.

41. #41 by FY Lim on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 5:01 pm

Imranj78 – I believe there is no mass confusion as alleged by you regarding Anwar’s sodomy case. If it is , it is definitely created by the police and the government.

If it is only an allegation then the following questions need to be addressed :-

1. Why use fully armed police to the teeth , clad in balaclavas with a convoy of unmarked police vehicles to track down Anwar. Is Anwar a known terrorist ?

2. Why make the arrest on Anwar before the 2 pm deadline when he and his lawyers had assured the police that he will be there ?
    Is this not to create public anxiety and mass confusion ?

3. Why didn’t the police make their decision based on the Purawi’s hospital’s Dr. Osman’s report rather than having to drag on for so long ? The police had in their possession the Universiti Kebangsaan Hospital medical report as well . Are they trying to get more documents in the hope that one of them can provide some link to the sodomy?

4. Medical examination on the complainant is an exact science and the truth cannot be twisted.
    Only the report can be altered for dubious means.

5. Why didn’t the police reveal that there was such a medical examination at Pusrawi on Saiful and it was negative if the police claimed that they are fair in their investigation ?

6. The police should have wrap up their case after the two medical examinations report namely one at Pusrawi and the other at UKM’s KL hospital.

7. I believe Anwar has the right to defend himself to the extent that his conscience is clear. All Malaysians will sympathised with Anwar and his family. I will sympathise with you or anyone is in the same predicament, wouldn’t you ? I am human as well and so are millions of Malaysians out there.

Thw whole episode clearly showed that the authorities did not do a good job of handling the case ,incompetency at its best.

This had made Malaysia a laughing stock in the eyes of the world :
    our judiciary with the fixing of cases ; the police with all this sodomy fiasco and last but not the least the BN govt for the poor handling of this sodomy case , the economy with rising inflation , the corruption in the police logistics dept. , the defiance on the use of brand new Mercedes in Trengganu state exco and the rising crime rate.

I suggest the BN govt get back to real governing and not creating issues to cover their weaknesses.

42. #42 by zak_hammaad on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 5:16 pm

Hi dranony, the issue of qazaf does not cover or include sodomy, it is specifically for cases involving adultery and fornication. Please remember this.

43. #43 by AhPek on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 5:28 pm

Excuse me, Daniel (his comments:2hrs ago), nobody uses ISA against himself.He and his mates will not hesitate to use it against you and me.Also if it is expedient they can also have the choice of using C4.
    So,please don’t kid yourself for they don’t use it on themselves!

44. #44 by dranony on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 5:58 pm

zak_hammaad, did you follow the link which was included in my post?
    Quote:
    “The person who accuses anyone falsely of adultery and sodomy belongs to this category.”

Here is the link again:
    http://www.shiamasjid.net/books/GreaterSins1/page-0021.htm

I presume that the site and its pronouncements are made by some ulama with proper accreditation. It also includes various references.
    Perhaps you would care to counter those with your own references?

Do understand Anwar Ibrahim has indeed lodged a complaint of Qazaf against Saiful.
    You might want to google that.

45. #45 by zak_hammaad on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 7:40 pm

dranony, bringing shia sources into the Islamic equation is a folly. Neither is shi’ism accepted by vast majority of Muslims nor is it’s rulings valid without established textual integrity from sources that have a concensual agreement to both religions.

Nevertheless, there is more to the liwat terminology than you would hear in the media, for an in-depth look at this issue, most sources are only available in Arabic unfortunately for some. It is the focus on the characteristics of the witnesses also that should be scruitinised to make sure the case stands on merit.

46. #46 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 10:38 pm

Below is probably VERSION 2 of Pusrawi report (very much like Bala’s second statutory declaration kind of event):

When asked to confirm whether what was stated in the leaked medical report that confirmed Saiful was never been sodomised, Wan Mahmood said, “What is in the report was the doctor’s observation. We have yet to verify it; we have already formed an internal investigation committee to confirm whether what was revealed is similar to what we have in possession.”

http://themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/headlines/42-lead-stories/2385-pusrawi-report-on-saiful-not-conclusive

It is a shame that the government is putting intense pressure on Pusrawi hospital – probably threatens them to twist the fact.

47. #47 by choonchoy on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 12:44 am

What happen 10 yrs ago?

go to Utube and search
    ‘Anwar Ibrahim – Foreign Correspondent [Part 1 of 6]‘
    by TriviaTriviaTrivia

Info on the vid

After an extensive investigation in Malaysia, featuring candid interviews with highly placed insiders, Foreign Correspondent presents compelling evidence that the trial of Malaysiaâs Deputy Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim……………………………………

Reporter Evan Williams and Producer Virginia Moncrieff have new evidence and first-hand accounts of an elaborate ……………….

In an explosive letter to Foreign Correspondent, from solitary confinement, Anwar …………………………………………….

—————————————————————-

I saw this link on another site. Is there any truth it it? Can any one shed some light on it.

48. #48 by sj on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 8:28 am

The new medical report that they churn out is so stupid is not even funny. They would just use the arguement saying that the good doctor is not a specialist yada yada. Can you believe it ? Even examining your ar_se you need a specialist to do so???? What do they need next? A sodomy specialist and a sodomy pyscho therapist for Saiful? This BS is getting way out of hand and they are making a mockery out of our intelligence.

49. #49 by dranony on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 10:00 am

zak_hammaad,
    you seem to be waffling, and also introducing “you don’t read arabic, so don’t argue with me” type of arguments.
    Do you think that Anwar’s syariah lawyers are so ignorant and stupid as to cite saiful for qazaf if it is totally baseless? or are you more knowledgeable than them?
    I’m not sure that your insinuation of shia and sunni being two different religions (“both religions” (sic)), would have much support? So are you saying that Shias are not muslims? It did seem to me that when US were up against Iraq and Iran, that many malaysians were enraged that “fellow muslims” were being intimidated.
    When Shia mosques were bombed, were these not muslim places of worship?

50. #50 by dranony on Thursday, 31 July 2008 - 10:20 am

zak_hammaad,
    the following is NOT from any shia site.
    It is from Terengganu.

http://www.wccpenang.org/l%27overviewhudud.htm

Overview of the Terengganu State Syariah Criminal
    (Hudud and Qisas) Bill 2002

6. Sodomy – Liwat
    Liwat is defined under the Bill as sodomy by a man with another person who is not his wife. Liwat is to be proven in the same manner as zina.

5. Slanderous Accusation of Zina – Qazaf

The Qur’anic injunction against qazaf (the slanderous accusation of illicit intercourse) is to prohibit a person from accusing chaste women of zina (illicit intercourse). However under the Bill, any person who accuses another person, man or woman, of illicit intercourse without bringing forth 4 adult male Muslim witnesses, is to be punished with whipping of 80 stripes.

Section 9 specifically states that any person complaining of rape in a case where such rape is not proven shall be deemed to have committed qazaf.

In relation to married couples, zina may be proven by the unrebutted sworn allegation of a person against his/her spouse. This means that the accusing person must take an oath that his/her spouse has committed zina. This is rebutted if the spouse so accused then takes an oath that the accusation is false.