PM has turned Terengganu Perdana/Mercedes controversy into pure fiasco

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has transformed the Terengganu Proton Perdana V6 Executive/Mercedes E200 Kompressor controversy into a pure fiasco.

What is the solution? The 14 RM245,000 Mercedes E200 Kompressors purchased by the Terengganu government for RM3.43 million are to be used only by VVIPs – “foreign dignitaries” for “major functions” – while the State Excos must continue to use the fleet of 16 RM130,000 Proton Perdana V6 Executives bought in 2004.

Reason? This is from Abdullah’s own words, explaining the Cabinet decision: “Since the cars have been bought and to sell them would only result in a loss, all of them must be used for state guests or dignitaries.

”This is the decision, nothing more, nothing less.”

Wouldn’t this ridiculous and laughable solution result in greater losses to the public coffers?

Who are the VVIPs or “foreign dignitaries for major functions” who would qualify to be chaperoned around the state in the 14 Mercedes E200 Kompressors?

Would there be 14 or 28 or 42 such “VVIPs” visiting Terengganu per year? Can the people of Terengganu and Malaysia be informed of such VVIPs who had visited Terengganu each year since 2004, or will the 14 Mercedes E200 Kompressors go into the Guinness Book of Records as the most garaged and unused Mercedes Kompressors in the world?

Mingguan Malaysia of 20th July 2008 had reported that the 14 Mercedes E200 Kompressors for the 10 Excos, the State Speaker, State Secretary, State Legal Adviser and State Financial Officer had already been delivered, as they had been seen as being used by several Excos and the State Secretary at official functions.

Are all the State Excos, Speaker, State Secretary, State Legal Adviser and State Financial Officer to return the 14 Mercedes Kompressors to the state garage and to take back their old Proton Perdana V6 Executives?

The front-page headline report of Utusan Malaysia of 23rd July quoted the Mentri Besar’s office as alleging that the maintenance costs for Proton Perdana V6 Executives had totalled as much as RM132,357.36 to RM175,229.97 each for the fleet bought in 2004.

The Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) has started to probe into the high costs of maintenance of the 16 Proton Perdana V6 Executives, and rightly so, and I will ask for a report on the outcome of these ACA investigations when Parliament reconvenes on August 18 next month.

What is noteworthy is that the ACA investigations into the Terengganu Exco Proton/Mercedes imbroglio has prompted a retort from the Terengganu Mentri Besar Datuk Ahmad Said why the authorities had not investigated into the other high-profile projects in Terengganu like the prestigious Monsoon Cup sailing event and the Islamic Civilisation Park.

Ahmad is indeed very right in his retort.

The Prime Minister should answer this pertinent rebuttal from the Terengganu Mentri Besar in Parliament next month.

1. #1 by yhsiew on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 1:00 pm

I heard rumors that some government officers, when they brought the state vehicle for repair they also brought along their private car to the same garage for repair.

The repair fees for both the private and state vehicles would be lumped together as one payment and charged to state government account!

2. #2 by Mr Smith on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 1:03 pm

Abdullah knows that this “only for VVIP’s use” directive is a fiasco. This would be the stupidest directive of his premiership. Then why is he doing it?
    Actually he is punishing the MB who was not his, but the sultan’s choice. In other words he is telling the MB and the sultan, ” I am the boss.”

3. #3 by yhsiew on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 1:05 pm

The state government should immediately start a vehicle repair system whereby state vehicles can only be repaired at a government APPROVED garage.

4. #4 by k1980 on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 1:08 pm

If Bn wins again in Trengganu, all its ADUNs will be provided with Cessna executive jets courtesy of the rakyat

5. #5 by comingto50 on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 1:11 pm

What about the RM200M jet? Reserve for foreign dignitaries and country guests????????????????

6. #6 by js on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 1:15 pm

PM is still sleeping….

7. #7 by yhsiew on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 1:19 pm

To save cost, the 14 Mercedes E200 Kompressors used for VVIPs should also be used by Excos and the State Secretary at official functions.

Why the people of Terengganu have to pay road-tax and maintenance cost for 28 state vehicles at this difficult time, if 14 state vehicles are adequate for the purpose??

Abdullah should put cost efficiency as top priority when managing the nation’s resources at this difficult time.

8. #8 by Emily Pratt on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 1:38 pm

Dear God/Allah/Yahweh,

I know you are almighty and all knowing, and all busy… but maybe your omnipotent may have overlook our tiny little country called Bolehland.

Could you kindly ask our PM (aka Mr Nincompoop aka Abdullah Bodoh) to relinquish his position with immediate effect. He is ruining our prosperous country with poor governance.

Thank you God/Allah/Yahweh.

EP

9. #9 by hang_tuah on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 1:50 pm

maybe the PM son-in-law (Khairy Jamaluddin ) can solve this problem bcoz he is more powerful than PM……..

10. #10 by rckk007 on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 1:55 pm

Ya, this got to be the stupiest explanation ever. Any simple minded Rakyat will be able to see through this lie. “14 Mercs for foreign dignitaries for major events” indeed. Where got foreign dignitaries? How many major events? Even renting such cars as-and-when basis will be far cheaper.

Besides, when the fiasco dies down from the MSM (which it will), it is back to biz as usual.

11. #11 by year of snake on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 2:10 pm

The chinese saying “Dead chicken kicking the cooker cover”
    He knows that the MB of Trengganu is thumbing his nose at him and cannot do anything except to give this ridiculous directive which the MB will not follow eventually. What is buying 14 Mercedes car compared to bulldozing his way to become the MB of Trengganu even though he was not selected by him. What a Farce! What is the PM talking about that if the cars were sold the state would make a loss. If offered to the public there will be hundreds lining up to buy them at a higher price as these were bought duty free and they will even make a profit, of course this will depend on customs which is under the PM anyway.

12. #12 by baoqingtian on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 2:15 pm

If it is for VVIP only one car is enough. Why need 14. So keep 1 and sell the rest.

13. #13 by BoycottLocalPapers on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 2:15 pm

This is Badawi & Kera Jantan’s ways of “balas dendam” at the new Terengganu Menteri Besar. Do you think UMNO will brought up this issue if that old corrupt Menteri Besar is still around?

I salute the new Menteri Besar of Terengganu for his bravery in fighting corruption in Terengganu. He was interviewed by UMNO’s media TV3 and he suggested that BPR take a look at Monsoon Cup & other projects by Kera Jantan’s friend in Terengganu. LOL! I can’t stop laughing.

I hope this new Terengganu Menteri Besar will join Pakatan Rakyat one day. Why use Proton when it sucks big time? I would rather see my tax money go to Mercedes.

14. #14 by lhslhv on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 2:24 pm

Every mature citizen walking on the street of Malaysia knows that the government departments inflated everything they do, econimically and politically. It has become Malaysian culture of doing things here since BN takes control of the government.

If this culture continues for another 50 years, we will see our new Malaysia ringgit note of 100 billion similar to Zimbabwe.

15. #15 by budak on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 2:29 pm

Badawi, Badawi…
    We know lah, Ahmad Said not your “people”…

You’re trying to tell people that putting into garage will reduce the depreciation value of the car…

No wonder you fail you “Statistics” module… :-)

16. #16 by Steven on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 2:29 pm

Damn! another of his constant flip-flop decisions…..unbelievable! Just one day of announcing that these new Mercedes cars are not allowed, the next day he announced that it is okay for the Trengganu government to use them. What a joke! Another recent flip-flop is the case with the immigration form for foreign tourists, just a few months back they took away the necessity for foreign visitors to fill in immigration form to enter Malaysia, which is a god-send decision as we all know how troublesome it is to fill in all these endless forms when you are travelling. With the technology available nowadays, you would think all personal data could be obtained from the passport by simply swiping it and storing them on the immigration records. Now, we have heard announcement that the immigration form is going to be implemented again soon! Why can’t they research and check thoroughly before they implement regulations. And these two cases are not the only flip-flop ones and certainly are not going to be the last. This really speaks a lot of the shallow mentality and ad hoc ways of doing things by this regime. First world veneer and third world mentality indeed!

17. #17 by Emily Pratt on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 2:33 pm

Let’s look back at this episode:

MB of Trengganu looks like a country bumpkin at first sight ala his toothy grin and “kampung look”.

He is either really stupid or has hidden objective. We all know that buying Merz at these times will incur the wrath of the public.

But he proceeded anyway. Then he highlighted to the press that Proton is expensive to maintain. Obviously this is to force a reaction from Proton and the press and public. Because we know it isn’t true.

Then he start to show repair bills showing hundred of thousands ringgit from the previous administration. He is again trying to force a reaction.

Now, Trengganu MB asked ACA to investigate Monsoon Cup etc etc

We all know that the previous administrator was not well-liked by the palace. We all know that the palace insisted on the current MB.

We all know that current MB has a big toothy grin and looks like a country bumpkin.

We know better not to judge a book by its cover…..

Stay tuned or more drama from Bolehland…

EP

18. #18 by yhsiew on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 2:52 pm

Bro. Lim Guan Eng got it right: He said the proposal by UMNO Terengganu to replace Proton Perdana V6 Executives with Mercedes E200 Kompressor was tantamount to giving more hardship and suffering to the people in exchange for self convenience and enjoyment.

The people of Terengganu should now see what kind of government they had voted in.

19. #19 by lovemalaysia on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 3:05 pm

This is totally bullshit! MB terengganu, not the first time, and is he trying to show the previous MB corruption problems,why the maintenance cost need to so high? dont need tipu Rakyat, that day i heard a workshop owner called to radio station and discussed abt this issue, they said, normally a aircond repairing cost abt RM500, but the govt officer force them to plus a zero behind and became RM5000, this is the way they wasted Rakyats’ money, and then blame the cost so high, and now, need more luxurious, Benz.

SO, its all bullshit, and no reasons for that! the only way, whether we want to try or nor, is to get Pakatan Rakyat (PR) to rule the country, rather than the current bullshit incidents.

ANd Pak Lah seems like cant control this Trg MB, this MB thought he was selected by SUltan, and he is the King. Watch ur day, and u will penalised by Allah!

20. #20 by kosmoalpha on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 3:34 pm

this umno top spin doctor most probably would use the 14 merce to send his guests to rantau abang watching the turtles laying eggs!!yet,it is only seasonal…bodowi hav to ampuate the whole issue in prompt manner after realised that ahmad said ada udang di sebelah rocks,his main target is actually one of bodowi’s dude!!the rest is u guess…..

21. #21 by ktteokt on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 3:41 pm

On the one hand Malaysia wants to boast of its national car but on the other hand, the PM agrees that Mercedes is more economical. Doesn’t that amount to slapping his own bloody face???

22. #22 by voice on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 3:45 pm

This reflects the stupidity of the PM

23. #23 by A true Malaysian on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 3:51 pm

I picked up this ‘must read’ news from Norman Fernandez blog :-

http://normanfernandez.blogspot.com/2008/07/dap-tidak-pernah-tipu-pas-pengakuan.html

DAP tidak pernah tipu PAS. Begitulah pengakuan Tuan Guru Nik Aziz semasa ditemubual akhbar Siasah. Apabila ditanya Siasah bagaimana Pas boleh berbaik dengan DAP sedangkan dengan UMNO tidak, Tuan Guru Nik Aziz menyatakan :-
    “DAP tidak pernah tipu kami, semasa dia hendak keluar dalam pakatan Gagasan Rakyat sebelum ini mereka memberitahu dengan terbuka. Biar pun DAP keluar dari gagasan tetapi tidak macam PAS keluar dari BN sehingga pecah tiga parti itu.
    Umno bawa PAS masuk dalam Barisan Nasional maka kami setuju, kemudian apabila sudah tidak perlukan lagi dia tendang kami keluar.”
    (Sila baca Siasah edisi 20 – 26 Julai).
    Semoga PAS mengambil iktibar daripada kenyataan Tuan Guru.
    Semalam suratkhabar-suratkhabar tempatan memaparkan pendedahan Perdana Mentari Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi yang mengaku bahawa yang UMNO dan PAS telah bertemu sebanyak tiga kali untuk berbincang berkenaan dengan hal kepentingan bersama.
    PAS perlu sedar sejarah persefahaman mereka dengan UMNO-Barisan Nasional sebelum ini.
    Kini UMNO-Barisan Nasional bergoyah dan bagi UMNO, PAS adalah talian hayat.
    Harapan baru untuk Malaysia ialah P.R – PAS, DAP & PKR bukannya Barisan Nasional.

24. #24 by kosmoalpha on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 3:56 pm

it is getting havoc,’perdana’ has no quality,’perdana menteri’ is worse off!!’timbalan perdana menteri’ lagi tak boleh pakai……where is malaysia heading to????

25. #25 by Jan on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 4:26 pm

…where is malaysia heading to????
    This country is heading down the gutter if you asked me. Every indicator seems to say so and right now we have this lazy and incompetent person of a PM running the show. God help this country.

26. #26 by smeagroo on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 4:30 pm

imagine the Germans using a Korean made car or Japanese made car for their govt servants.

27. #27 by wanderer on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 4:38 pm

I think, I am becoming more stupid by the day if I am contineously, feed with all these rubbish statements and explanations from PM, DPM, Ministers and top executives of this Bolehland. I think, I need a break or I may become insane!

28. #28 by Patek 1472 on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 4:39 pm

17. The next PM of Malaysia will follow R.A.H.M.A.N theory? (Fact).
    17. PM Malaysia yang berikutnya akan mengikuti teori R.A.H.M.A.N? (Fakta).

Quatrain 17

In the month of summer games
    When leaders are chosen and thrown away
    Man starts to think again
    Power, Gold and Glory to gain

Problems to glory are but hindrances
    To be solve is such a simple game
    Sleeping partner is to be cast away
    Expendable are those as such before

http://Patek1472.wordpress.com

29. #29 by James on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 4:40 pm

Hey People

In my humble opinion we have missed out a most important, pertinent and significant point. That is the factual fact that Proton Perdana cars (brainchild of TDM) is totally defective which incur expensive repairs and maintenance even during the first year of service.

My friend bought one brand new Perdana and in the first 12 months it has to be sent to the Proton workshop a more than 6 times to repair various parts of the so-called premium car from the Proton stable!! He was so disgusted with the “quality” that he gave up & dispose it off at a big loss. He has since swear that he will not touch the Perdana ever again.

In this respect the Trengganu MB may be wise in his decision. Unfortunately the BN govt is in denial ever since TDM’s time and refuse to admit that Proton is not only loss making but also spreading the bad image of bolehland in its manufacturing standards through their defective cars. God Almighty pls deliver us rakyat from this curse……
    Subsequently the poor guy has to

30. #30 by grace on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 4:51 pm

Aiya, if no VVIP comes, the Mercs can be used by the drivers to drive their wives to the market. Very common la!!!
    I believe ahmad Said has made his point very clear to Pak Lah that he is a clean man. He is asking Pak Lah to investigate into the wrong doings of the previous government. And Pak Lah , being lembik as usual , tries to buat tak tahu.
    Yes, Investigate the MONSOON CUP which is a sheer waste of public money. Ahmad Said would be commended if he could scrap the Monsson Cup.
    In fact create an international competition for kite flying which is popular in Trengganu

31. #31 by penang308 on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 5:03 pm

If it is “TRUTH” that maintainence for Mercedez is “CHEAPER” than “PHEN-TAN-SAR-KUAH”, then I would strongly recommend the “GONE-MAN”(GOVERNMENT) to use MERCEDEZ AS OUR POLIS PATROL CAR!!!!!!

WE CAN SAVE TONNES OF TAX PAYER’S MONEY!

32. #32 by Kulim Folk on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 5:34 pm

What a stupid solution in keeping the cars for VVIP visiting Terengganu in future. The problem is not the cars but the maintenance cost that incurred. The investigation by ACA to me is only a sandiwara to please the angry rakyats. We’ve been bombarded by strings of investigations by ACA on various alleged corruption wrongdoings. But what is the following up actions ? Sad. Sad. Sad.

It appears that the wealth of rakyat has been hijacked. Tonnes of money has been wasted and flew to the pockets of those greed creatures. Something need to be done by PR. We can’t wait to see the change of sky in this loving land.

33. #33 by Loh on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 5:45 pm

///This is from Abdullah’s own words, explaining the Cabinet decision: “Since the cars have been bought and to sell them would only result in a loss, all of them must be used for state guests or dignitaries.///

The loss would be more as the cars age, and if sold within the next twenty years. But if the cars are kept for half a century, the state governemnt might be able to sell them as antique with unique history. They will be the only batch of official cars that are used only for VVIP, as decided by the highest authority in the country. PM AAB has foresight for long term view, and knows well how to create history.

The MB of Trengganu has a case for using Benz rather than Proton perdana. It seems that when Proton Perdana becomes official care, whether in Trengganu or Selangor, the repair bills are ten times higher compared to when they are used by the public. Official cars go to designated garages and the MB of Trengganu knew that only non-Proton cars might be free to have the cars services by non-Proton designated garages. The MB might not know why the cost of serving official Proton Perdana were high, and that he should be commended for using cars that can be serviced elsewhere.

It is certainly not the MB’s business to know why it costed that much to repair the cars, but he was smart to use the right statistics for decision making. It seems that only the Cabinet ministers including the PM and his Deputy had the time to try to minimise the loss of part of RM 3 million on the 14 cars when they were quite happy to spend billions away on projects that might not be worth a tenth of its contract value.

The Defense Minister should have considered means to save part of RM 500 million said to be fees for services to be performed on the submarines. A one per cent saving would be more than enough to pay for all the 14 benz.

But that would be too much to ask from the people who are fated to be leaders, rather than elected because of their capability.

34. #34 by pgsilai on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 5:47 pm

Our PM simply can’t count! Rakyat is suffering due to the escalating standard of living yet he allows them to keep 2 cars? Hello, whoever vote BN last round please wake up!
    Your leaders are a bunch of spenders and good for nothing!

Next round when we submit our tax make sure we utilize all rebates and relief. If I have a choice I rather feed the pigs then to pay tax to leaders who can’t manage the wealth of this country.

35. #35 by kosmoalpha on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 5:53 pm

bodowi hav been persuading the rakyat to alter their life style in order to ride the on coming imminent economic onslaught;n this is one of his umno way to do it!!

36. #36 by A true Malaysian on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 6:11 pm

Whatever you address yourselves, will come back to square, we are Malaysian.

For this, I encourage all Malaysians, especially Malay brothers and sisters, to participate in Dr. Hsu’s Forum,
    http://hsudarren.wordpress.com/

Dr. Hsu, a Gerakan member, is Bangsa Malaysia of the ‘truest’ sense. Whether you agree or disagree, I believe in diversity, ‘DIVERSITY IS OUR STRENGTH’ fellow Malaysians.

37. #37 by LittleBird on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 6:23 pm

Aiyoh kadavele!!!! There will be so many foreign dignitary for mondoon cup for which 14 mercs not enough. BTW, since mercedez cannot be used are the Trengganu going buy new perdanas to replace the merc. I am sure the old already been sold or written off. BTW, why is Trengganu paying full for Mercs? No APs for them??

Keep cheating the rakyat you BN@%&*@!

38. #38 by mata_kucing on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 6:25 pm

Talking about Proton poor quality, one gets the feeling that the country is run by ministers with the same quality standard as the national car. Good for maybe six months and after that it’s all the way down to the junk yard.

We start with 16 expensively maintained cars and now end with an extra 14 expensive new cars in addition to the 16. We can now add another “Malaysia Boleh” record by having the most stupid government in the world. It’s so pathetic.

39. #39 by milduser on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 6:35 pm

i’ve been longing for a merc for a long time. my boss said u can have it, but u need to earn it. work harder, make money for me first, then i’ll get u one. the vvip can wait!

40. #40 by mata_kucing on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 6:35 pm

Incidently why is this common malady of Perdana gearboxes failing? If this happen to reputable margues like Toyota or Honda, the cars would have been recalled and the gearboxes replaced FOC. Likewise the stupid electric windows from the earlier Proton models till now. My neighbour’s 3-year old Waja has its window mechanism replaced 3 times in the last one year or so. The vendor must be making a fortune from this alone.

41. #41 by nyghtsky on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 6:39 pm

Ha ha ha! Despite what Bodowi said, Terengganu Tourism, Culture, Arts and Heritage Committee chairman Datuk Za’abar Mohd Adib just attended the Malaysian Flora Fest in his brand new black Mercedes-Benz.

Its as if, they know they will definately not get re-elected, thus… to hell with what everybody thinks… Might as well go out in style instead of an old Proton…

Wonder what Bodowi is going to say next???? ( after kena big pigeon poo-poo on his head )

42. #42 by citizenwatch on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 7:14 pm

The decision to allow the 14 merc to be used by visiting dignitaries is rather brilliant and far sighted.

1) What happens if the decision opens floodgates among other BN controlled states where they too want mercs?

Answer: No problem, let them have the mercs. Then everyone will see that BN reward those who support them. Come September before parliament is dissolved, MPs will be persuaded to stay on in BN and eventually after winning the snap election will each be given a merc.

2) Merc benefits and need not spend a sen on advertising, promotion or publicity as a result of this episode. But the national car is given bad publicity worldwide. Tun Mahathir sees this as a black ‘eye’ on Proton. Any way to remedy this?

Answer: Off the record, that’s one of the purposes of this decision.

3) Word has it that the 14 mercs will be for the use of VIPs in the Monsoon Cup. Is this true?

Answer: It’s for anyone’s use as long he is a visiting VIP or dignitary. ACA is welcome to use them while investigating the Monsoon Cup and other mega projects.

43. #43 by monsterball on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 7:21 pm

What do you expect Dollah to do?
    Sack them….for bragging an being so irresponsible?
    No..anything UMNO guys do…all are ok.
    They desperately need every UMNO parliamentarian support..right now.

44. #44 by Xiao He on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 7:27 pm

Terengganu govt bought 14 Mercedes E200 with RM3.43 million, so each car costs them RM245,000

However, if you are familiar with the Mercedes prices, you’ll know that ONE Mercedes E200 costs around RM340,000 to RM350,000, and certainly u won’t be able to buy it with the price of RM245,000

So, something is still not right or untruthful in this fiesco. Did they really buy 14 E200, or less? Or did they really pay RM3.43 million, or more??

45. #45 by Xiao He on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 7:31 pm

One example of webpage that listed Mercedes E200 prices can be found here:
    http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles/0/article_282/page_m.asp

At the end of that article, it is listed it costs RM350,000, or more..

So, something is still not right here..

46. #46 by FanOfKit on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 7:50 pm

Another bodoh decision by Bodowi! Now, let us wonder who qualifies as VVIP & as if Trengganu is constantly swamped by VVIP visitors. It is obvious that the decision is not mathematically-mind boggling but just to chide the MB into admitting that “I’m Bodowi PM, I’m the BOSS!”

But then again, the ‘ala kampung stupid smile” of Ahmad “Shadey” Said isn’t that stupid at all….it has a hidden agenda to find an excuse to flush out all the Idris Iblis’s corrupted practises eg monsoon cup. What say all of you anti-iblises?

47. #47 by bentoh on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 7:51 pm

Dear Xiao He,

Because it is governmental purchase, the heavy tax and the AP thingy will be reduced or levered… ;)

The same goes to the purchase of Proton… Proton will give discount to the governmental purchase as Proton itself is a state(nation)-linked company… :)

48. #48 by bentoh on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 7:54 pm

this may sound not “right”… but since the 14 cars were bought and put onto use already… I don’t see why the usage of these cars by these government officials should be discontinued…

The money has been spent… now explain it… and think of how you could make this 3.4m worth it, in the view of rakyat…

49. #49 by Xiao He on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 8:15 pm

Dear bentoh,

this is one possible explanation – the AP thing and tax free..

but we still don’t know what really happens..

50. #50 by isahbiazhar on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 8:24 pm

The state government should go on and use the new mercedes for its excos.The MB is justified and I see no reason why PM should interfere.Terengganu had been deprived since the days of Mahathir and during PAS era.Our national car is good only for the poor people as planned.Besides it is not reliable when compared to other foreign makes for hardy use.I hope the MB orders a light aircraft and a helicopter for visiting areas in an emergency.Terengganu had been given projects that benefitted the Umno cronies.It never benefitted the rakyat.Two projects that benfitted Umno was the Monsoon cup and the crystal mosque.There is no need to investigate these projects.I hope the MB with the royalty moneywill consult Singapore as to,how to invest and make Terengganu rich.Depending on Federal advice will see the money depleted and caught yawning.Only Kemaman is developed and all the other major projects connected to oil had gone to other states.Mahathir and Wan Mokhtar are to be blamed.So the MB should invests overseas and not in the country.

51. #51 by sickandtired on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 8:42 pm

Hmmm…. i am wondering now, since Proton cars are such lousy car, why the police forces official cars are all Proton. Maybe ACA should and must investigate thier repair bill after all. The police cars repair maintenance must been huge.

52. #52 by sickandtired on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 8:45 pm

Proton that need to be export to oversea need to be modify to that country strict rules and condition otherwise it’s no deal. So just imagine how inferior are that useless junk called Proton.

53. #53 by sickandtired on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 8:47 pm

What else can Bodowi do or say. So he just make up some stupid decision to ‘ lock toy’ to save his face and tell the rakyat he ‘s still the boss. The truth is he at all time powerless and lembik.

54. #54 by Yee Siew Wah on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 8:50 pm

If what our sleepy head PM say that the Mercs r 4 V VIPs or whoever, then, every BN state control should do the same la. All BN states should now buy Mercs 4 their V VIPs etc…to be fair. Doesnt matter if they hv no V Vips etc… for the whole year.
    What a stupid bodowi idea just to justify the purchase of Mercs. How many V Vips etc… state has to entertain each year??

55. #55 by 1to1 on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 9:07 pm

With the recent obscene increase in the price of petrol and the government’s advice to the people to tighten their belts, the Proton Persona will do. Elected representatives should lead by example and not show ostentatious consumption.

If the PM uses a Proton Perdana, it is absurd that an ADUN uses a Mercedes, right?

56. #56 by Damocles on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 9:09 pm

The less talked about Proton, the better.
    I bought a Proton Saga in 1992 and within a few years rust appeared all over.
    I have to change (replace) the bonnet, three of the doors, the boot and even the roof have to be removed and replaced due to this problem.
    And every time, I made the replacements, I had to respray the car.
    Even today rust started appearing on the remaining door that was not replaced. It’s been one long nightmare!
    Do they dare ship such cars that are sold locally, overseas?

57. #57 by hang_tuah on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 9:38 pm

now we will know how lousy our national car.shame

58. #58 by oknyua on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 9:47 pm

Let’s not discuss proton – the first one to roll down the line, I was there – forget about that.

Now is the wisdom of maintaining two (2, “renda,” ‘loro” “yat”) cars for each of the 14 excos. The Mercedes had been bought – used or not, it still incur maintenance as well as opportunity cost (“opportunity cost” is a term too hard for AAB to understand.) The cars have been bought, so use it.
    The issue here is this: Putra Jaya directive had been ignored. Why? YB Lim KS touched a very important note here. Leadership is by example and why pick on the dime and cts when Ahmad Said had witnessed the embezzlement of millions? Would Ahmad be so daring first to defy him about the MB post, then the purchase of 14 Mercedes, and now openly declare an investigation of monsoon cup?

If the PM really hears what the people say, really has big ears, what else is he hearing now? Can’t he hear when people talk, when action is louder than words? I guess getting old is mandatory for all of us, but growing in wisdom is optional for many of us, especially for our PM.

59. #59 by choonchoy on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 10:00 pm

When I read about it in the papers all I could do was HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA LMFAO!

There isn’t an English word yet to discribe the stupidity. I’ll try anyway, nincoompoop,neanderthal, nitwit. Even the Fword will not surfice. Typical LOCAL punya grad, patut tak dapat baca econ. IQ pasti -ve.

60. #60 by yhsiew on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 10:11 pm

Najis is a hopeless DPM. When questioned by reporters why the 14 mercs were used by VVIPs only, he said everything had been settled and asked reporters to stop questioning. It will be a nightmare if such hopeless irresponsible DPM becomes the next PM.

If no. 1 is insane, I expect no. 2 have the sense to explain why the mercs are used this way. I am totally disappointed by the two of them.

61. #61 by mybangsamalaysia on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 10:22 pm

I have no problem with our state exco, ministers and MPs driving good cars or rather luxury cars, and even high pay and fly first class (of course i will also aplause those want to save some cost in the name of Rakyat).

But… GET YOUR WORKDONE, DONT TALK ONLY.

Get it?

62. #62 by blablowbla on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 10:31 pm

tis stupid dato seri abdullah badawi has no brain!
    how often vvips will visit tis turtleland?if it is occasionnally,just like some1 suggested,v cud rent n i guess these vvips wud most probably stay in 5-star hotel,didnt the hotel wud provide limousies?

tis is rily a crab pm,always intimidating malaysians infront of foreigners!

he is rily THIRD CLASS MENTALITY!

i think he is not fit to be chauffeured perdana exec too,he sud drive kancil himself to work,dun waste rakyat’s money for tis idiot hadhari ulamak!

step down with immediate effect!we got no place for you in putrajaya!

63. #63 by mobileworld on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 10:34 pm

The 14 cars can be used for Monsoon Cup VIPS…..one for Bodowi, one Najis, onr for Rosemary, one for Patrick Bodowi…..looks like 14 may not be enough…..nevermindlah, can buy some more after all Trengganu is the richest state in malaysia mah……kow tim loh……

64. #64 by milduser on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 10:35 pm

Bodowi has to explain why he appointed the ex-MB who had plan to replace the inferior Perdana TDM cars? When the current rebel “MB” decided to purchase as planned (2 years in planning) he has to justified himself. And this same bodoh UMNO guy screwed up by cooking up some maintenance figures (maybe 20-150% more) to justify the purchase. When got caught with his pents down, he ask that BPR also investigate other “big investment screwed up” of the previous adminstration, signalling ‘don’t demonised me or i’ll expose more’ CBT cases in the future.

65. #65 by blablowbla on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 10:43 pm

yes,i totally agree with u,choonchoy!

i noe u r not choonchoy,i think dato seri abdullah badawi is choonchoy!

but,very funny,after so many incidents,he is still able to maintain his bunker!

is he masquerading pig to eat tiger?very interesting!

66. #66 by blablowbla on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 10:53 pm

sometime i dun understand ,in the gomen top leaders’ mouth,they always say”pemantauan akan dijalankan…..”,
    if thy have ‘pemantauan’,y these million dollar maintenance cud b claimed?y these 14 merze cud b bought?
    i think thy are sitting comfortably on how to sodomise the Rakyat!right?

67. #67 by law1999 on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 10:55 pm

I like to volunteer to maintain the 16 Perdana for half the price and yet make good money from it.

Valid point to note that PM and DPM have no more RIGHT to tell their UMNO member to use only PERDANA.

Ahmad Said have many bullets in hand. That is why he need not afraid to buy 14 Merc 1st then inform PM later.

Why send ACA to check ?
    Send an INDEPENDENT auditors to check.
    It just does not make sense the value of maintenance.

They are checking into their own BN /UMNO members wrong doing that NEVER be punish so long BN is the government.

Another cover up again.

I believe LEADERSHIP by EXAMPLE:
    Are the PM and DPM CLEAN and UPRIGHT ?
    If they are not there are NO WAY they can DISCIPLINE their members.

LIKE FATHER LIKE SON. Right…..

It just an EXCUSE that the 14 MERC is use for VVIP and Dig….
    It is more for the REASON to prevent others state EXCOs and ….will follow the PRECEDENCE to buy MERC for their use.

I look like we have a LEADER but without the HEAD.

So what you call such LEADER?

68. #68 by blablowbla on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 10:58 pm

the ex-mb of turtleland is having a one-month international course in france,i think he is learning intercorse,instead!

69. #69 by ReformMalaysia on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 11:00 pm

why don’t auction it off?

I offer EURO1 for i Merc….

Agusta was sold for EURO1…

why not the mercs?

70. #70 by law1999 on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 11:03 pm

Too low I offer RM1000 each

71. #71 by KennyGan on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 11:09 pm

Shows how weak the PM is. He cannot impose his will at all in any matter even when the rakyat demands it. Totally useless PM.

72. #72 by kopi kau kau on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 11:09 pm

Bro Kit Siang,

I propose the Federal Government buy back the 14 merc from Terengganu and then sell 1 merc each to all the states for their so-called VVIP use… but must remember to keep one for Pak Lah !!!

This should sound more pleasing to our ears and also to show to the Rakyat his ability to solve problem….. It a Win Win Situation lah…( How come he do not have Advisors??)

The problem with Proton vs Merc is indeed a non-issue….. This Kampung MB is testing the water and see how Pak Lah is going to react and when Pak Lah send his army of ACA to Terengganu .. Well this Kampung MB is smart to also ask the ACA to investigate the Monsoon Cup and etc…. Funny eh????

I really feel sad for Pak Lah and all the burdens he is carrying for the Raykat…. Why he is alway to be blamed??? Tidur pun tiada….
    We all are happily going to bed hugging our love one….. He is snoring at the meeting table…. Have a little heart and leave him alone to take care of our country so that we can continue to hug our love one……don’t disturb me now…. I am sleeping……

73. #73 by alaneth on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 11:10 pm

What an even bigger waste of public funds!!!

Leaving the cars idling & not using them (except on the once in a blue moon VVIP visits), then spending more money on the Perdanas…..

Simply amazing of BN way to spend funds….. Are they trying to prop-up Proton? ACA should investigate…

74. #74 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 11:10 pm

If Pak Lah has any power, he will do the following :

Ask Terengganu MB to tranfer the 14 Mercedes cars to the Federal Government for use of VVIPs etc. They get more visitors.

In return, the Federal Government gives Terengganu 14 new Proton Perdanas using old cars as “trade ins”. Or use these cars as a new KLIA Taxi fleet. (Don’t let the Terengganu fellas keep them. They will use the taxpayers money to do up the cars and then sell them cheaply to their wives and mistresses, as is common).

Balance is forfeited as “punishment” for being a naughty boy.

But Pak Lah just don’t have the guts to do so. The score then will be Terengganu 2, Pak Lah 0.

Next step. Watch closely the Oil Royalty monies. It will be abused soon.

75. #75 by limkamput on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 11:16 pm

Think about it, whatever we know and discuss here are mainly based on what BN and main stream media disclosed to us. I wonder whether we will be taking about V6 and Kompressor if they are not fought among themselves and disclose this to us. May be for the next few days many will be taking about Monsoon Cup, Crystal Mosque and Islamic Theme Park. What have all the PR MPs and ADUNs been doing since March 8. Seriously have they highlighted any issue of substance? We like to hammer (and rightly so) BN Ministers, MPs and ADUNs. What about PR MPs and ADUNs? May I know who evaluate them? Have they contribute any pertinent idea or disclose any earth shattering misdeed?

76. #76 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 11:22 pm

It is time that the Japanese leadership style popularly known as ‘leading by example’ and ‘bottom up management’ lauded by none other than Mahathir be put into practice by his successor.

In times like this, don’t you think Ministers and their deputies should be given Made in Malaysia bicycles at taxpayers’ expense to use when commuting from house to office?

77. #77 by twistedmind on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 11:29 pm

This NOT hearsay – I drive a Waja, I have replace my power windows 6 times over the last 6 years and 7 door handles over the same period. Can you beat that!!!

78. #78 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 11:30 pm

I think Lim Guan Eng together with the other Pakatan leaders should lead by example. We should be promoting the greater use of bicycles among Malaysians. We have a great climate – no snow storms, no Hurricane Dolly to deal with! It is green and sunny all through 365 days of the year. What more do you guys want??

79. #79 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 11:32 pm

I can understand why some Ministers need a faster means of transport when running away from their wives and their mistresses – from one to the other. But they shouldn’t be doing that at taxpayers’ expense.

80. #80 by limkamput on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 11:34 pm

sorry, repost due to mistakes:

limkamput Says:

Today at 23: 16.59 (11 minutes ago)
    Think about it, whatever we know and discuss here are mainly based on what BN and main stream media disclosed to us. I wonder whether we will be taking about V6 and Kompressor if they have not fought among themselves and disclosed this to us. May be for the next few days many will be taking about Monsoon Cup, Crystal Mosque and Islamic Theme Park. What have all the PR MPs and ADUNs been doing since March 8. Seriously have they highlighted any issue of substance? We like to hammer (and rightly so) BN Ministers, MPs and ADUNs. What about PR MPs and ADUNs? May I know who evaluate them? Have they contribute any pertinent idea or disclose any earth shattering misdeed? I think some of bloggers here disclose more discourse than PR MPs.

81. #81 by pastaman on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 11:41 pm

Badawi is a joke…he JUST CANNOT MAKE ANY DECISIONS like a real man. Either he puts his foot down and say a) Ok , so the Mercs are already bought, so just use it! or b.) Return the cars, we take a loss, and buy new Protons.

But no, he wants to please everyone, so they can keep it but cannot use it! What the ????! Thats even a worse, now the local govt has to maintain 2 fleets!!! Somehow I think this is only talk. Just watch..2 months down the line everyone will be using the Mercs…the Protons will be scrapped.. just see.

Every day I see and hear these STUPID decisions by the STOOPID man. Pity the Rakyat they are screwed left right and centre all the time, after all its the Rakyat’s money. Do you think Patrick badawi has a hand in this? DOesn’t MB sponsor the Monsoon Cup? Eh what?

82. #82 by patriotic1994 on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 11:44 pm

Abdullah spent his time to interfere with cars. His real job is to run the country. But he ignored.

Rice asked Malaysia to respect Rule of Laws. Abdullah asked Rice to respect “Law of Malaysia”.

What is “Law of Malaysia”? It mean Law is for everybody and he is Above Law!!!

83. #83 by nkeng11 on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 11:45 pm

How come nobody ask Pak Lah to use his jet plane to ferry foreign dignitaries instead of ferrying himself and family for their personal trips?

84. #84 by law1999 on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 12:05 am

PETALING JAYA: The average maintenance cost for each Perdana car sent by the Terengganu Government was only RM542 per year, said Proton Holdings Bhd managing director Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir
    THE STAR

1 PERDANA maint per year= RM542 x 12 =RM 6504
    16 PERDANA maint per year=RM 6504 x16 =RM104064
    4 Year for 16 PERDANA= RM 416,256

TELL US WHERE THE EXTRA goes?

85. #85 by law1999 on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 12:07 am

SORRY the figure is 12 TIMES OVER it should be

RM34,688

Where the EXTRA GOES?

86. #86 by law1999 on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 12:10 am

1 PERDANA maint per year= RM542
    16 PERDANA maint per year=RM 542 x16 =RM 8672
    4 Year for 16 PERDANA= RM 34888

TELL US WHERE THE EXTRA goes?

87. #87 by cemerlang on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 12:20 am

Allah berfirman yang bermaksud: “Dan juga mereka (yang diredai Allah itu ialah) yang apabila membelanjakan hartanya, tiadalah melampaui batas dan tiada bakhil kedekut; dan (sebaliknya) perbelanjaan mereka adalah betul sederhana antara kedua-dua cara (boros dan bakhil) itu.” (Surah al-Furqan, ayat 67)

Malaysia is an Islamic country. No, no, no. Malaysia’s national religion is Islam. Yes, yes, yes. Or is it ? No, no, no. It should be the other way round. Or is it ? So confusing.

88. #88 by ahpiow on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 1:29 am

I bought new Proton many years ago. After 2 weeks use rattling heard in doors. I stripped doors and personally padded in sponge to solve the rattling problem. Sold car after few years and vowed never to buy Proton again. After that I used 2nd hand Toyota 2.0 Corona. So far mileage todate has gone to 550,000km, equivalent to 14 times around the world, and still going strong like Johnny Walker! Proton – high price low quality and poor performance record!

Current car sales – how many percent is Proton? People tend to go go for foreign cars these past few years. Proton’s demise akan datang?

PR Selangor plan to use Toyota Camry? – correct decision. It is a reliable and low maintenance car. Mercedes? Also good decision – low maintenance, spare parts easily available and comparatively cheap.

Trengganu Merce for VVIP? How many VVIP visitors per annum? Even investors in Trengganu can be counted on one hand, and these are not VVIP stuff! VVIP I consider maybe people like Bush, Condoleeza, Barack Obama, Lee Kuan Yew, etc. How many centuries do they visit Trengganu once? Hmmmm!

89. #89 by dapforever on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 1:42 am

why our PM support Terrengannu?..he should punish them…If our PM dun support Terrangannu, guess what happen? Then our PM will lack of support from Terrengganu…so how?Close one side eye lor..:)

90. #90 by dapforever on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 1:44 am

agreed with Kopi Kau Kau…
    Now got 14 Mercedes..

Each states get ONE for VVIP……fair enough?

91. #91 by m.hwang on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 2:16 am

There is actually a simple solution to this fiasco as some of our readers here have suggested one way or another. Since market price for the merc is 350k and the goons bought paid 245k for them sans tax and AP, SELL them to the public!

Even as almost new 2nd hand cars they should be able to fetch at least 90% of the market price. So 350k less 10% is 315k. That means the state govt makes 70k each! The figure can be higher coz we all know buyers are willing to pay slightly more for the nice number plates that the cars carry.

With the extra money earned they can buy another car (but not Perdana since they have ‘taroh’ the car like nobody’s business). Maybe a Camry or Accord (same 2.0 litre ones) which sans tax and AP will cost 90k. That means the state govt pays less than 20k for each car! Now that’s a lot of savings for the rakyat!

Alternatively they can use back the same car but every repair estimate to be sent to an independent adjuster (cost only RM100 per report) and audited at the end of the each year. Did our PM think of this? The readers here certainly did!

92. #92 by alphapower on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 2:36 am

We need a new PM. Kick Bodowi,Najis and cronies out kau kau punya.

93. #93 by Rakyat Teraniaya on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 5:39 am

Let’s put aside the fact that proton is a lousy car. Let’s put aside the cost that the corrupt terengganu government has fraudulently spent on the present fleet of perdanas.
    What we should focus on now is that the splits in umno,the in fightings, that badawi can no longer reign.

Muhyiddin isn’t impressed with the “power transition” crap, 2010 badawi will step down for najib? Like he can last so long? So muhyiddin is going to challenge badawi in the upcoming umno elections defying standing orders that nobody challenges the top 2posts.

Now a country bumpkin buys 14 mercedes e200s defying another of badawi’s rules that state exco members are only allowed protons,stating exorbitant costs as an excuse in the mean time causing enormous rift within umno terengganu,blowing the whistle on the horrendous monsoon cup and the Islam park.

The Pakatan Rakyat must make the most of this umno civil war to pry the governance of Malaysia from the hands of badawi-najib-khairy regime. I pray for the rise of the Pakatan Rakyat government as soon as possible. YB Lim,it’s your time to rise as well to become part of the new Pakatan Rakyat government of Malaysia.

Salam Reformasi!

LONG LIVE PAKATAN RAKYAT! LONG LIVE DAP! LONG LIVE PKR! LONG LIVE PAS!

94. #94 by dawsheng on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 5:45 am

Seriously, we don’t have time for all this nonsense!

95. #95 by Rakyat Teraniaya on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 6:08 am

Proton says it costs rm542 to maintain a perdana for 1whole year? Yeah right,just because badawi can say any damn thing(that dna can be expired) without thinking it is now a trend to talk nonsense in Malaysia is it? To maintain a normal wira would even cost more! A normal service at proton service centre would set you back rm70(don’t know what quality engine oil from drums), rm35(oil filter), rm5 (window washes liquid), rm15(battery ring), rm10(paper cover for side of car and seat), rm20(oil treatment-their engine oil so inferior they need oil treatment?), rm50-60 (service charge) so that roughly works out to plus/minus rm250.
    So what the proton ceo quoted of rm542, the perdana only needs 2services a year? Even a normal car can clock 5000Kms every 2months. So with my estimate of rm250 per service.the maintenance cost alone would be rm1500 on proton service alone,where does the figure rm542 come around? Is it they use cooking oil to replace the engine oil? No change of oil filter every service? Or is it use of all inferior items? Come on! We all know badawi talks rubbish,you too? Ceo my foot! This nation under badawi-najib-khairy regime has really gone to the animals.

96. #96 by Kathy on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 7:01 am

Dawsheng, you are right about us not having time to waste on such matters but everyone is wondering where did the money and who did the money went to from the maintenance of the perdanas. PM should not be looking into this directly – he got much more important things to do like making sure the country’s economy is stable, etc. But then again those are not interesting enough for him.

Undergrad2, how about supplying sun block to all MPs that cycles to their offices and meetings?

97. #97 by Kathy on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 7:08 am

Proton’s quality has always been dubious. Many of my friends (and I) bought the models Wira and Waja and found out on the day that we brought the car back from the dealer that there are defective parts that we need to change.

It irks me when people defend Proton on the issue of quality. Even my own sister can tell me that Perodua has better quality management than Proton – True.

Was involved in an accident while riding a Perodua Kancil and the little Kancil came away with just a small scratch on the bumper, unlike the Wira – need to change the whole bumper in the similar incident.

Perodua has a better reputation than Proton.

98. #98 by taikohtai on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 7:39 am

I would strongly suggest all to follow the example of Yusmadi, Balik Pulau ADUN who goes around in his old faithful BASIKAL TUA visiting his constituency.
    Now that’s my politician anytime, anyday and anywhere!

99. #99 by darkknight on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 8:38 am

This whole fiasco is a joke. When the Head loses his head, the rest comes out to play. Smells strongly of ill-play over here. ACA must not turn a blind eye this time around.

100. #100 by chin on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 8:46 am

Guys like these knows how to abuse power & authority, BUT they got long way to learn how to cover their ass. Such silly move will get themselves as shooting duck, moreover they had just make their miserable cousins (Proton) for suicide mission. Poor guys!

101. #101 by kentutoyol on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 9:28 am

Kathy,

I take your words.

I will sell / trade-in my proton and get a Mercedes.

Any Mercedes sale person around?

Of course a huge thanks to Terengganu MB.

102. #102 by ChinNA on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 9:28 am

I disagree that all Proton cars are of bad quality. They are one of the better quality cars in other countries. The exported cars are good. Unfortunately the ones for in-country consumption are different.

No matter.

It is unthinkable that so much had been spent on something that of not proportional to the value returned.

That is the crux of the matter. The cars are only incendental.

103. #103 by monsterball on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 9:29 am

Dollah ordered Trengganu guys to use the Merz for foreign VVIPs visiting Trengganu only and to continue using the Proton cars.
    All of then drove their brand new Merz to Johore Baru….for celebrations…defying Dollah’s orders.!!
    Lets see what PM going to do about it.
    As usual….expects forgiveness and understandings.
    UMNO is showing clear signs of a disunited party….right now.
    Personally…I sympathized with Dollah……….while simultaneously feel he deserved it all…being slow and selfish….half heartedly want to prove he is People’s PM….the other half…..how to protect his own interest and position…..by supporting the false sodomy case…..keep humiliating Anwar.

104. #104 by shortie kiasu on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 9:48 am

Another glaring case of ineffectiveness of Abdullah as PM of the country. A ruling and policy from treasury can be ignored and by passed just because Terengganu EXCO had bought the Mercs.

The best part all the Terengganu EXCO don’t give a damn to what he said about the cars, for official guests of the state government.

What the tempting ‘fish’ are lying around waiting to be savoured, do you think all those nasty and greedy ‘cats’ would let the opportinity pass??

When Abdullah said the expensive Merc cars bought against the rules and policies of the country, but with tax payers money, can only be used for the guests of the state, who is there to ensure and monitor the compliance of his instruction? ACA? Police? or the State secretary? but these people are subservient to the MB & the EXCO!!

They, the Terengganu EXCO members, had already flashed their newly acquired Mercs in Johor Baru. Who is there to stop them?

Abdullah should have slapped his own face in the public. Shame on him for his ineffectiveness as a prime minister of this country.

105. #105 by shortie kiasu on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 9:57 am

On reflection, Terengganu state government, MB & EXCO, treated the laws of the country, rules & regulations as dirt.

Without a second thought they can just defy the laws and rules by spending millions on the luxury Mercs cars just to satisfy their own ego and luxurious lifestyle.

This is what the federal government called the rakyat: “change your lifestyle” to suit the new reality of high cost of living due to oil price hikes!! Spend more on luxury like Mercs cars like the example set by Terengganu MB & EXCO members.

106. #106 by kentutoyol on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 9:57 am

It was said Terengganu have breached the government circulars for purchasing of the merc cars to be used by the EXCOs. A wrong is a wrong. Why must there be compromising condition? Its a fishy decision in fact.

107. #107 by Loh on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 9:58 am

It is generally agreed that we cannot use the word intelligent to describe PM AAB, but he cannot be so stupid as to believe that his decision to restrict the use of benz would be practised as instructed. Of course he would not be establishing a special force to look into the use of these benzs, unless he hears official complaints again. So to AAB it is the practise of ‘close both eyes and ears’ and pretend that the problems have been solved.

If indeed the Trengganu MB follows AAB’s directive to use the Benzs for only foreign VVIP, then they should have in addition to the Benz, another proton for their ‘normal’ use. That should include an official driver too. So the cost would be higher, even though the salary of these drivers are nothing compared to the maintenance of the vehicles.

If AAB really care about the loss when the benzs are sold, he should allow free auction fto sell the cars to the highest bidders. AAB dared not order Trengganu MB to sell the cars. He is inventing the excuse to use the cars for VVIP, and wanted everybody to close their eyes.

DPM said that the Benzs issue is closed. To him you may not say what he does not like and he would do why he pleases. He seems to be closing issues whenever he pleases.

108. #108 by marc.placo on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 10:16 am

I see what you see. Our PM is clearly a dud, there is clearly no difference between our PM and a scavenger. He is displaying a very bad and extremely weak leadership. In this world, he is without doubt, the worst leader, or prime minister equating to rubbish. What he speaks is wasting people’s time. He is not firm at all, and nothing qualifies him as PM…this has been well proven. An established federal policy or system is a policy or system which must be followed, otherwise what is point of having a policy, a system or a rule? the rest of the politicians will benefit from precedent, that influences them “buy or commit first, then let federal govt led by PM approve it. People behind say, ” sure ok one lah, our PM is stupid and easily ‘kau-tiam’, at the same time, people sit back and laugh at the PM and present govt….the all kind of bad acts will continue”….what PM we have? …reflect badly on Malaysia… come on even my neighbour’s 6 years old son is commenting the same way. Don’t allow our young children be influenced by the PM’s rubbish leadership, and frankly, if we don’t have a brilliant PM is ok, as long as a PM that knows how to speak, know how to lead, and can resolve reasonably problems, and know how to take care of people’s lives. Definitely not the current PM, no no….please go.

109. #109 by liketoknow on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 10:20 am

I believed that Abdullah actually is sent by the god to destroy BN, the things he done actually benefited to PR, he is helping PR to take over the government more early.

110. #110 by grace on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 10:43 am

I have driven Proton cars for more than 10years statrting from saga to Waja, not Perdana, and I calculated my repair bill din not reach that RM100,000 bill. Much, much less!
    The Service centres must be investigated too for all these hanky panky.
    Don’t let go this Monsoon Cup. Read fromMT that SIL was one of the organisers.

Pak Lah wanted to save face by telling them to use for VVIP. Only he can bluff himself and his third rated cabinet. Do you think that Trengganu Excos can simply watch those shining Mercs in the garages and keep quiet aa?
    IfPak Lah has priciples, he would force the state gomen to sell even though at a loss. Why? Integrity is worthmore thanmoney can buy. That is why Chinese are good in business. They play on trust. Once promised to sell goods at an agreed price, he would not backtrack even though the goods may suddenly go up in prices. To them honour and trust is worth mopre than the oss in money. Pak Lah cames to such stupid ecision because he is a lame duck. Even he offended Trengannu Excos, next he would find Trengganu UMNO nominating Muhiddin as the President. Habisla dia!!!

111. #111 by choonchoy on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 11:18 am

blablowbla,

Thx. I chose this name cause the govt take us the rakyat as fools, but that does mean we are. Like how the govt want to project they are intelligent but have urea in between the ears.

112. #112 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 11:28 am

Loss to public coffers is the last consideration.

The Proton Perdana V6 Executive is top range national car supposedly a symbol of national pride of the country’s ‘achievements’ which is why state and government officials have to use it in official functions.

But what great acheivement is there really in the national car? We hear often enough all kinds of complaints from users – power window malfunctioning, high costs of maintenance etc.

True or not it is of course not comparable to the Mercedes E200 Kompressor because of the brand name “Mercedes” and the prestige it entails .

And what the state councillors and officials really want is “prestige”. They detest playing by the rules : that the national car deserves support, and if governmental and state officials do not support it, does one expect the rakyat to??

Terengganu state councillors and officials think it fit to now rebel. They have a leader in the Menteri Besar. The MB Datuk Ahmad Said wants to make a public statement. He is independent of Kuala Lumpur. He enjoys the patronage of royalty. His very appointment amid controversy and resistance from central government has, with royal support, prevailed. He also wants to make the statement that all this hype about Proton Perdana V6 Executive is but what it is – just “hype” and symbolism of pride grounded on no real justification. It is timely to make such a statement because Proton’s patron TDM is no longer in power. In his stead, the present PM who is perceived to compromise when pressure is exerted. That is why this half way – half baked – compromise of the Mercedes may be retained but used only by VVIPs – “foreign dignitaries” for “major functions”! Smelling “weakness”, at least 4 of Terengganu reportedly used the Mercedes when travelling to official functions and meetings – The Star (Front page) 27th July in defiance of the cabinet order. It is like saying to central govt. , “see what can you do to us”?

This fiasco is symtomatic of the state of affairs of governace for some time : a certain tendency for government and state officials to assert independence from a central government perceived weak under a political milieu when things fall apart!

It is also symtomatic of the hypocrisy, humburg and charade prevailing in governance for the last 20-30 years where pride and hubris is asserted as more important than real acheivements. Hence the importance of the national car, the importance of having the tallest building in Petronas Twin Tower, the importance of dubing our own Malaysian space tourist as an astronaut etc all in the “Malaysia Boleh” spirit unbacked by real acheivements backed by merits and excellence in any endeavour. Merits and Execllence are a shunned and unadmired principle incompatible with the social re-engineering program of the NEP upon which praxis the ruling party has been able to leverage on to stay in power.

Of course, Ahmad Said is not free from this malaise of hypocrisy when he cited costs of maintenance and burden of maintaining Proton Perdana V6 Executive to public coffers as the reason. Since when has the public coffer and loss to it ever been a consideration? Must be joking!

Pride, comfort prestige and “gaya” are the main reasons. These considerations have always been there, only now expressed more openly. However at least the MB dares to snub the central government by openly saying they prefer the mercedes over the Proton Perdana and challenging this “penny wise pound foolish” attitude of making a big hullabalo over RM3.43 million spent on the mercedes and nothing about the larger sums in the projects like Monsoon Cup and Islamic Civilisation Park, which he has asked the ACA to investigate. Indirectly he is saying, come on, the whole system is based on enjoyment of public coffers a part of which comprise Terengganu Oil money, so let our state officials and representatives enjoy these benefit and not just the pwoerrful calling the shots from KL.

Atr the end of the day, it and all political quarrels are about the spoils, sharing the spoils “equitably” and not monopolistically amongst the ruling clique and those connected to them. It is about prestige and pride, never mind not based on merits and fairness. It is about pretences not reality or truth. This is the singular ethos of governance amongst those in and connected to power that will bring the country, its national recources, productivity, currency and economy to steady descent in calmer times and a plunge in more turbulent times.

113. #113 by lew1328 on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 11:52 am

Greetigns!

U all know what’s the different between Proton & Merz… It sound like me, look like me, but it’s not me. Yes.

114. #114 by lee wee tak_ on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 11:59 am

The crap thrown out by the Terengganu car is a disgrace

1) finally someone from the BN adminsitration come out to tell the truth, Proton is second or third class despite almost 3 decades of protection and indulgence

2) government contractors admit to over charging – is the administration department so slow that they have to build 25% surcharge? that’s even beyond some of the loan sharks’ going rate. Credit card company charges 18%. Does the Bank Negara want to say something as the regulator of financial instruments?

3) the amount incurred for all these repairs and maintenance give questions to the driving practice of the drivers, the condition of the roads in Malaysia. The administration tell us to change our life style (i.e. suffer while the minority continue to enjoy) then can they be truthful about whether they can look into vehicle handling to identify ways to save costs

4) The PM’s solution looks idiotic. Mercedes in question are to be used for VVIP’s visit. Who the heck qualifies for that? How many of them visit Terengganu (Michelle Yeoh, you got a car now!)? How often? Is the Terengganu state government going to fork out more of OUR money to buy another set of cars?

My solution is to determine the difference in purchase cost of Proton and Mercede and deduct from the state government’s entertainment and training budget. Since they enjoy the car, they give up their holidays entitlement. Training? Forget it and get back to work. Training is mostly about tea breaks and 5 star hotels anyway, right?

115. #115 by Kathy on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 12:06 pm

Wah!! Look how “cool” they look on the front page of the Star newspaper.

They maybe defiant to PM’s orders but they will get away with it since PM would not be taking the cane and discipline them…..

116. #116 by milduser on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 12:43 pm

Now let me get at this Bodowi for once:

Where is his PRIORITY, this stupid fiasco is nothing compared to the national economic problems the country is suffering now. He was not elected to deal with is sidetrack issue (and he got the cheek to get his deputy and the whole cabinet to be involved in this fiasco decision making). AS A PM, and SUPPOSED to be an important and busy man with limited time to carry on the SO CALL unfinished projects for the RAKYAT, yet he got he time and energy to be drawn into this FIASCO! Does he not have a Minister of Local Government to take care of the issue? That minister can be guided by governmental protocols and administrative procedures to deal with the problems. It’s a small matter but blown out of proportion! Down with BN, one more example of incompetent administration of a lame DUCK PM. One more nail to the BN coffin!

117. #117 by kc66 on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 12:45 pm

I don’t understand how selling the Mercedes would incur a huge
    loss. They were bought duty free. If these cars were
    to be auctioned off on open market I am sure they will fetch
    prices above what they had been paid for. For good measure they
    can be auctioned off together with some “auspicious” license
    plate numbers like “888”, “8888”, “168”, etc.
    In that case the Terengganu govt can even turn a tidy profit
    from the car sales!
    The cars are still very new aren’t they?
    Is ANYBODY using his brain?

118. #118 by Damocles on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 1:00 pm

“Ask Terengganu MB to tranfer the 14 Mercedes cars to the Federal Government for use of VVIPs etc. They get more visitors.” – Sheriff Singh

Pak Lah don’t have the balls to do that.
    Remember, this particular MB is the choice of the sultan and he is all out to tweak the nose of the PM!!
    Watch out, more fun will be coming our way.

119. #119 by Damocles on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 1:05 pm

I think that it should strike Malaysians that the calibre of both the PM and the DPM are of the lowest type.
    And both have been hand-picked by the erstwhile PM, one to succeed him and the other to succeed his protege.
    With such absolutely horrendously bad judgement, it is not surprising that his twenty years as the top executive of this country has resulted in complete havoc for us, the tax payer!
    Just one question – who is he to select the PM for this country?
    Shouldn’t that be the right of the people!

120. #120 by Damocles on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 1:15 pm

“Does the Bank Negara want to say something as the regulator of financial instruments?” – lee wee tak

Do you really think that BNM regulates financial instruments?
    This agency is even more somnolent than the PM!!!
    That’s why the banks are left to their own devices in charging whatever bank charges they feel like and some rake in one billion ringgit just from them!
    The ONLY way this country can ever change is to have a completely new and different government.
    Don’t ever listen to the cock and bull story by the BN that they are going to push for reforms.
    After fifty years of pure bull shit, we should know that once they have the power, they will cover the sky with one hand (Chinese saying) and we will go on suffering!

121. #121 by oknyua on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 2:04 pm

Mr Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is like a rejected lover; “don’t call me, don’t sent me flowers or chocolate, don’t mention my name..” Yet he is teling all his buddies, “My girlfriend and I are very loving. She likes me a lot.”

Five states rejected him.

Sabah openly defied him.

Johore asked him to step down.

Now Trengganu defied him yet AGAIN.

He has one MPs in the Federal Capital.

He almost lost N Sembilan.

In all these, he is telling everybody, “We have the people’s mandate. I am the prime minister.” Cry for him. Don’t condemn him.

122. #122 by StevePCH on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 2:20 pm

hmm…. I don’t think Kampung MB is really out of touch. But really, I think he is smart and brave at this moment. He is not the common UMNO yes man.

The car maintanance issue is just the tip of the iceberg.
    When he give a go ahead to ACA for investigations into the various projects, he knows what he is doing.
    He also need to have a solid support and who in the first place gets him into becoming the current MB !!! Can AAB do anything to him ??

Defying the order for usage solely to VVIP seems logical enough for everone except those suggesting it.

AAB must be having nightmares haunting him nowadays.

Let us all see what other skeletons BN have in the closet that is coming out !!!

123. #123 by FY Lim on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 3:43 pm

The Trengganu State govt is a BN ruled state under Ahmad Said.
    The PM who is the president of UMNO and Federal govt gives a ruling and directive not to use the Merc for individual Exco member’s use.

However, Ahmad Said , a member of UMNO decides otherwise. What does this act of defiance means ? Gross party indiscipline and the PM cannot do anything. This is tantamount to the head moves but the tail refuses to budge.

This clearly shows that the party is in disorder and confusion and the PM’s words and action are taken with a pinch of salt. Sad to say.

124. #124 by law1999 on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 7:30 pm

It look like .We get better advisors here than what the PM and DPM get in Putrajaya.

SIMPLE economic for the 14 MERC.
    SOLD to public on auction can make handsome PROFIT.

WORKABLE option but we have a PM and DPM that have no POWER to DISCIPLINE the members.

But dont forget got a lot of POWER to DISCIPLINE rakyat

125. #125 by 7even Sins on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 8:26 pm

Whatever the headlines, whatever ACA investigation conducted and whatever damned commissions set, everything will be swept under the carpet. It is always Abang-Adik culture…!!! Nobody will be will get prosecuted in the process. That’s the magic in this BolehMampusLand’s politic…!!!

126. #126 by Rocky on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 10:24 pm

our stupid DNA becomes old PM is at it again.yeah he need to kow tow to all UMNO warlord due to Dec elections but he expects us to swallow his reasons like we were born yesterday. come on Mr.PM, we are not all bodoh and rice is not cheaper in Msia than Thailand.

yes the perdana is not the best car around but buying a Merc and not C200 but E200, is the wrong decision.Buy a Toyota or Honda la. and to keep the car for VVIP is another stupid and wrong decision. Guess no one told the PM there is such a thing called depreciation and Merc depreciate a lot. Is this leaving the car in a garaged for VVIP a smart thing. and please save us this we want to save tax payers money cos BN never has tried to save tax payers money and keeping the car just shows it.

The best solution and a lesson to others would be, sell the car at a loss since it will depreciate anyway.That is a firm and sound decision making by a PM. But we know this decision is more like people will forget about the car in 6months and then you guys can use it after that.But looks like someone can’t wait to use them.

Pak Lah better step aside then be a sitting duck and think Msian are stupid PM!!! Let Najib or someone else step in.

127. #127 by AhPek on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 1:30 am

Ahmad Said may look like a village bumpkin with his ‘toothy grin’and ‘kampung
    look’ but one can be deceived by looks alone as is the case of this Trengganu MB.He is in fact making a statement and that statement is that he has also a right to have a fair share of the spoils as well and if the ACA has to investigate his purchase of the Mercedes they should also investigate the Monsoon Cup sailing events and the Islamic Civilisation Park.Bodohwi must be completely stumped by MB’s intransigence and certainly been rendered impotent to act as any CEO would have.
    But this is what is expected in any organistion if the CEO is tainted, one would also expect their underlings too.So how could Bodohwi act when he is just a lame duck with hands tainted like the rest of them!

128. #128 by AhPek on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 1:32 am

Correction. “Ahmad Said may look like a village bumpkin………….but one shouldn’t be deceived by looks alone as is the case of this Trengganu MB.”.

129. #129 by undergrad2 on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 8:37 am

“Undergrad2, how about supplying sun block to all MPs that cycles to their offices and meetings?”

Is the tender closed or open?

130. #130 by taiking on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 9:09 am

The country bumkin is smart. See he has got the sleepy head by his neck.

“Kalau you buat bising saya expose lagi!”

“Baik you diam.”

131. #131 by alphapower on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 1:35 pm

Hi Bro 7 even Sins,

I agreed with you no matter how tick the files are taken by BPR, end of the days only the small flies that will be prosecuted. BPR are only sandiwara that they are really looking into this matter. As far as we know BPR report directly to the PM.

132. #132 by NewDAP on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 9:26 pm

this type of cases only involved the small flies, like the drivers, the states officers and mechanics.

they will normally change the new perdana parts with the used parts. Then the new parts will be sold in black markets.

The amounts involved were to small for the Exco or MB to take…

because most of the government officers and exco are sleeping, therefore those small fries able to cheat up to hundred of thousand.

only if, our exco or those officers in-charged of payments are more careful in carry out their duties, such thing will not happen undetected. it proved that most of the exco and government officers are real stupid and slept on their jobs exactly like their boss.

133. #133 by eloofk on Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - 7:03 pm

Ai ya, dont waste your time asking the ACA to investigate. Find out where the officers from ACA get their pay from.