Stop harassing Anwar for DNA

by Dr. Chen Man Hin

THE POLICE SHOULD STOP HARSSING ANWAR FOR A BLOOD SAMPLE, AS HE HAD GIVEN SEVERAL DNA SAMPLES BETWEEN 1998 AND 2004.

It is unfair and mischievous to put the blame on Anwar as he is justified in refusing to give further samples. It is not Anwar who is un-coperative. It is the police forensics who are at fault, and insisting on further blood samples when he had already given many times over between 1998 and 2004.

The onus of providing an DNA sample is on the police as it has ample DNA samples of Anwar in its possession.

From the experience of police forensics in other countries, DNA samples collected are well preserved for many many years, and do not get ‘old’ as claimed by PM Abdullah.

The police forensics have misled the prime minister.

The home minister and the police should not try to pull over the eyes of the people. By claiming that Anwar’s DNA samples are old, they are making themselves the laughing stock of the whole world.

Why DNA samples do not grow old. There are many living examples:-

1. Stephen Hawkings Nobel Prize winning physicist has donated his DNA samples to the Human Genome institution for posterity and for research. Professor Hawkins does not subscribe to the claim by PM that a DNA sample can grow old.

2 In advanced countries, DNA samples are collected and stored for purposes of statistics and scientific research.

3. Police forensics in developed countries have DNA libraries of felons and crooks. There are innumerable cases of rapists who escaped but were nabbed years after the crime, because they left tell-tale semen on the clothes of the rape victims .

4 Scientists have discovered preserved DNA in prehistoric humans and animals.

It is obvious that Anwar’s DNA samples given between 1998 and 2004 must be available and intact for examination purposes by police forensics department

The home minister and the police must stop harassing Anwar for new DNA samples. The onus is on the police to provide DNA samples, not by Anwar.

The frantic appeal to Anwar to give a blood sample has caused suspicion that the police have no substantive evidence of sodomy on the body of Saiful in their possession

Public perception is that a fresh blood sample from Anwar is desperately needed in order to fabricate evidence against him.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Hishamuddin on Thursday, 24 July 2008 - 8:20 am

YB Lim,
    This is a simple rape case CSI case. In more advance country or even Malaysia this case can be solved in 1-2 days. They already have the victim and rapist. So why need more investigation ?

All they need to check is the sample inside Saiful now. If they find the rapist sample in it, then the case is finish. case close. I am sure they already have Anwar’s DNA profile by now to do matching after the case 10 years ago.

if they require another DNA profile of Anwar, he can always go to a credible Singapore Hospital and get it done with and give the Malaysian police his DNA profile and see if it matches. This samples must be marked.

Case close. Why takes so long ??????

2. #2 by yhsiew on Thursday, 24 July 2008 - 8:25 am

“Remember the case of Sukma Dermawan? He spent six months in jail. I spent six years! There was evidence by the foreign doctors of tampering with evidence. They found no penetration, but we were still jailed.” ……….In a strident voice, he reminded reporters and photographers present today of the stained mattress hauled into court 10 years ago and how the chemist under questioning then had first claimed the stains to be “sperm” but later when questioned by foreign experts, backtracked his statement and alleged that the police had forced him to give the first statement.

http://themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/headlines/42-lead-stories/2130-anwar-this-is-not-1998

3. #3 by smashchye on Thursday, 24 July 2008 - 8:48 am

im sure anwar are well aware of his action now. shud hev learnt from experience.i dun tink hes that stupid to do that again(if he did it last time) just to jeopardize his newfound career

4. #4 by StevePCH on Thursday, 24 July 2008 - 9:01 am

What do u expect to get fm the current cabinet ?
    The Health Minister tarak Dr. , mayb if Dr. CSL is at helm then it would make a difference. But he was a bit too bz scr**ing.
    As for the rest of the “new” minister, haha … hardly know anyone else.
    Shabby, first time heard and seen him.
    Who is the current Work minister…? mayb next time we hear from him is going to be toll naik 10%
    Science n Technology Minister … is it Ongkili ?

err…

After going through this blog, I seriously think Malaysia have no chance of survivng the next recession !

5. #5 by tourman53 on Thursday, 24 July 2008 - 9:17 am

6. #6 by law1999 on Thursday, 24 July 2008 - 9:18 am

Recession is coming.
    At your door step NOW

Prices of good is up up up.
    Inflation is at 27 years high.

Crime rate is up up up.

Interest rate will be up up up

Business activity down down down

Just wait a see how we go down down down

7. #7 by ktteokt on Thursday, 24 July 2008 - 9:26 am

Someone please sodomize the RUKUNEGARA!!!!

8. #8 by fido on Thursday, 24 July 2008 - 11:24 am

If don’t know anything about DNA, better keep their mouth shut. Everytime they open their mouth with the HP6 info and questions, they make themselves a laughing stock to the world.

Have the govt reached a point of no return?

9. #9 by yhsiew on Thursday, 24 July 2008 - 12:45 pm

Comment from Condoleezza Rice:

“We want to see transparency and for rule of law to be completely followed here,” she told reporters just before going into the 27-nation meeting. “We are always going to speak up on human rights cases, political cases, but we do so in a spirit of respect for Malaysia.”

Rice said “part of the comfort level or the confidence that states need to bring to the international system is that their judicial systems are indeed responsive to rule of law and (are) transparent and fair.”

She also rejected Malaysia’s claim that the Anwar case is an internal affair.

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/headlines/42-lead-stories/2145-us-follow-rule-of-law-in-anwar-sodomy-case

10. #10 by negarawan on Thursday, 24 July 2008 - 12:59 pm

The USA is not blind and ignorant. They can see the judiciary rot that is going on in Malaysia re the Lingam case, Altantuya, Anwar. Thank you Condoleeza for making a fair stand, and we hope EU will also make their stand soon. US and EU should impose some kind of sanction on the corrupted UMNO “leaders”.

11. #11 by One4All4One on Thursday, 24 July 2008 - 2:12 pm

Where are all the smart scientists, doctors, and technologists in the country? How come no one come forward to advise the government on the real situation and facts regarding genetics and related matters?

It really doesn’t reflect well on the nation which boasts of first class facilities. The reflection of a third world mentality and capability is so glaring in this instance.

Mr. Anwar’s DNA is perhaps the most researched DNA in Malaysian forensic labs. What conclusion can we make of this? Make sure when we ask for something, we know what it is all about, else there would be more questions than answers. And the doubt would be on the party who ask.

In a situation like this, Mr Anwar would be seen as a victim rather than the perpetrator. What about the status of the said victim? If the police is so confident that they have a case against Mr Anwar, they should proceed to charge him now. So many weeks have passed, and still no clue as to what to charge against him? Malaysian police seem to be very efficient in many cases and glaringly claim credit for being effective, it is thought. Why the delay then?

Justice delayed is justice denied, so the saying goes. The trial by the mainstream media and interested politicians are most unfair to the so-called accuse. The Malaysian Bar Council’s statement on the matter should be upheld and respected. Politicians should not make, let alone throw, incriminating and partial statements in this regard. There should be a gag on this.

12. #12 by Richardqed on Thursday, 24 July 2008 - 4:20 pm

“When 96 foreign diplomats rushed to a Home Ministry briefing on a two-hour notice yesterday, Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar was pleased. He had managed to attract twice the number of diplomats than Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim did a day before and there were many more ambassadors and high commissioners in the audience.” — malaysianinsider website

The diplomats can return to their embassies with smiling faces and typical diplomatic politeness, but whether they are convinced at all by Syed Hamid’s explanations is a totally different thing.

How do you think Syed Hamid would explain:
    - why his boss the PM made that joke of a statement about the DNA sample being too old?
    - why the alleged victim meets up with the DPM?
    - why the DPM initially denies knowing the victim?
    - why the need to hide the police report? does it still need amendments to make the case against Anwar air-tight?

If the man in the street is not convinced, these diplomats are not going to be convinced either. If anything, the moment they get back to their embassies, they will be letting out the laughter they had been trying to suppress, and start rolling on the floor upon recalling the jokes-of-excuses they heard during the briefing.

13. #13 by negarawan on Thursday, 24 July 2008 - 5:42 pm

The problem with UMNO politicians is that they have overrated themselves into thinking that they can also control and play their dirty games on other nations. Rais Yatim lost Pulau Batu Putih and now we are also going to lose the waters, and he is still portraying an arrogant attitude. No foreign diplomat believes in Hamid Alba’s lies and deceit, and already they are making statements that they vehemently disagree with him. Foreign investors are losing confidence in Malaysia because the PM is talk only but no results.

14. #14 by Evenmind on Thursday, 24 July 2008 - 5:51 pm

There will be a CSI Malaysian version soon , lookout for it, its all going to about main pantat, changing DNa’s ( latest study )and more titilating forensics that will make CSI Miami look so tame.The whole budget for this production will granted by UMNO becos they so love this kinda of s h i t. , and yes there would be a world wide release too.

15. #15 by milduser on Thursday, 24 July 2008 - 6:02 pm

” Someone please sodomize the RUKUNEGARA!!!!”

Get the father of sodomee, that roadside mamak stall ex-PM to start first!

16. #16 by law1999 on Thursday, 24 July 2008 - 6:41 pm

WAHHHHHHHHHHH!!!

Syed Hamid have a party in PUTRAJAYA to BRAIN WASH all the DIPLOMATS

We are taught from young that if you are RIGHT you need not tell the whole world you are RIGHT.

So only those who are guilty will try to JUST*FY they are NOT.

Syed Hamid have cause a STAND STILL in KL traffic for 3 days and he have not give a VALID reasons for doimg so.

WAH too many NONSENCE and CLOWNS is running the country

We already KNOW NAJIS and PI will not be call to court because BN is there.

I am not in favor to any political party. I am for the person who do RIGHT things.

17. #17 by riversandlakes on Thursday, 24 July 2008 - 8:43 pm

The age of impunity is over!

18. #18 by riversandlakes on Thursday, 24 July 2008 - 8:45 pm

Didn’t mean to rewind that.

DSAI should refuse and blow up the matter as huge as it can get.

“Make Barang Naik the laughing stock of the world” -> good one, Uncle Lim.

19. #19 by myint3 on Thursday, 24 July 2008 - 10:33 pm

Maybe they are going to clone DSAI, kidnap the real DSAI and transplant a cloned DSAI to do their bidding.

20. #20 by shamshul anuar on Thursday, 24 July 2008 - 11:32 pm

DEar Law1999,

SAy what? If you are right, no need to tell the world about that? now this is sure one recipe for disaster.

What is wrong with Syed Hamid informing diplomats on the other side of the coin. I see that as an intelligent move. Tell your part of the story.

As for Myint3, there is no need to clone Anwar. What an idiotic expression. The million dollar questions asked by Malays in mosques, coffee shops, wedding reception of evev funeral is this: Why the reluctance is swearing in the name of Allah if you are not guilty. What is there to afraid of?

21. #21 by Richardqed on Friday, 25 July 2008 - 1:25 am

“After sketching events surrounding the sodomy allegation against the Opposition icon, Syed Hamid took questions on the political uncertainty in the country; on why Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak met Anwar’s accuser a few days before police report was lodged and on the police handling of the case so far.”
    – malaysianinsider website

Despite the much-reported and publicized excuses the Barang Naik gang provided about why the DPM met with the accuser, the diplomats still questioned Syed Hamid on this. It’s pretty clear how much they doubt this fellow’s answers. It is obvious that his answers to the diplomats could not be different from what was published in the newspapers, because then he would be contradicting his earlier statements. And since his answers would be the same answers he had given all along, obviously they are still doubting him.

In fact, the TRILLION-DOLLAR questions asked by ALL MALAYSIANS including Malays, Chinese, Indians and everyone else, and by diplomats of nations worldwide now:

- why the PM made that joke of a statement about the DNA sample being too old?
    - why the alleged victim meets up with the DPM?
    - why the DPM initially denies knowing the victim?
    - why the need to hide the police report? does it still need amendments to make the case against Anwar air-tight?

And to people who keep asking why Anwar does not swear, they must have forgetten that Najis also never did swear regarding the Altantuya thing. Yeah, first ask Najis the same question. “What is there to be afraid of?” Obviously, when it comes to who should swear first, the more serious the crime, the more whoever should swear first. So, which crime is more serious: murder or sodomy?

22. #22 by undergrad2 on Friday, 25 July 2008 - 6:15 am

Rais Yatim said he sent a protest letter to Condi expressing regret over what he said were “uncalled for” and tantamount to interference in Malaysia’s affairs.

Condi Rice said the United States doesn’t recognize this very firm barrier that it is simply internal affairs when a case of this kind comes up!

If this is not a slap in the face of Malaysia’s Foreign Minister I don’t know what is!! Ordinarily this would have led to some staff reduction in the U.S. Embassy as a gesture to show Malaysian government’s displeasure over the remarks – but it did not!

23. #23 by yhsiew on Friday, 25 July 2008 - 8:15 am

Former Canadian prime minister Paul Martin, ex-World Bank chief James Wolfensohn, and Michel Camdessus, the former head of the International Monetary Fund, asked Malaysia to drop its sodomy charges against Anwar because similar unsubstantiated charges filed 10 years ago against him were overturned by the Supreme Court.”

They hoped that “the government of Malaysia will … demonstrate, by dropping the charges… an exemplary sense of respect for the rights of the individual which are so important to the international standing of Malaysia.”

The three expressed “full confidence in Anwar’s moral integrity.”

It is a shame that BN is prepared to allow the country’s image to be tarnished internationally in order to fulfill its selfish agenda. BN’s irresponsible action will scare away prospective foreign investors.

24. #24 by AhLiew on Friday, 25 July 2008 - 12:00 pm

shamshul anuar,

Read what medical expert say about this DNA laugh stock:
    http://medicine.com.my/wp/?p=3647

what can be possible “on the other side of the coin”, as Syed Hamid phase it? If there is any, why not tell it to us, all Malaysian? Everyone are urge for the explanation.

You say :”Why the reluctance is swearing in the name of Allah if you are not guilty. What is there to afraid of”.
    Don’t you understand that it’s the prosecutor’s responsibility to prove that Anwar is guilty and not the other way round. We do not even have a case here, no police report to show.

On the other hand, your logic is really twisted.
    Now I believe you have take too many drug.
    I challenge you to “swearing in the name of Allah if you are not”. dare to talk my challenge? “What is there to afraid of”?

25. #25 by AhLiew on Friday, 25 July 2008 - 12:07 pm

By the way, it become a laughing stock because most average Joe know DNA profile is permanent.
    Still it’s good to get verification from expert.
    http://medicine.com.my/wp/?p=3647

26. #26 by trublumsian on Friday, 25 July 2008 - 2:08 pm

shamshul anuar,

what can the other side of the coin be? the discerning world leaders have long formed their opinion of the ruling malaysian government at the outset of tdm’s ploy at anwar. all the rudimentary mistakes made by the current pm, dpm, syed hamid, police, ag, just can’t be explained away. condi is a very intelligent person, so is joe biden, who was a presidential candidate. the bn goons are best not to embarrass themselves by engaging in exchanges over the global media. just look at the comments reported in the last 2 days. syed hamid’s is laughable, and that’s a compliment.

27. #27 by dkkl on Friday, 25 July 2008 - 4:07 pm

aiya, Police assume Anwar’s body is like a food factory mah… so the DNA must have expiry date lor…

So PDRM is making themself like a stupid clown in the eye of the world…. What a shame!

28. #28 by Godfather on Friday, 25 July 2008 - 6:01 pm

Shamshul Anuar:

While Syed Hamid was presenting “the other side of the coin” to foreign diplomats, Singapore is quietly gearing up to present its side of the coin on pedra branca. Instead of making stupid remarks like “fresh DNA specimen” and “what are you afraid of”, can you get Syed Hamid, Rais Yatim and the AG to prepare the Malaysian side of the coin for a more important case ahead ?

Or is maritime law too difficult for UMNO, and sodomy law is significantly easier to handle, which explains why everyone in UMNO wants to jump on the bandwagon ?

29. #29 by cucu adam on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 7:58 pm

The claimed that they hope to attain a first class mentality is sheer wistful thinking and does not hold water.

Indeed it is a shame to the whole world that our leaders and their advisers cannot understand the purpose of DNA, and as to whether it will change through the passage of time. An innocent mistake I supposed.

Of late we had Ministers whom we feel were different from the rest and that they will used their brains and listen to the public appeals. From their reactions over the past few weeks they had been talking rubbish and it became obviously they too were also like the rest. In particular the two ministers that I am referring are Syed Albar and Sharil.

30. #30 by shamshul anuar on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 10:41 pm

Dear GOdfather,

There is no need for Singapore to present its case on Pedra Branca. Singapore was awarded sovereignty on Pedra Branca While Malaysia over adjacent outcrop.

As far as I know, Dr Raias had already registered diplomatic note to Singapore . Anyway, you are right. Malaysia has also right in that area as ICJ awarded Batuan Tengah to Malaysia. Any unilateral action is wrong.

31. #31 by shamshul anuar on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 10:51 pm

Dear Ahliew,

Exactly that is the situation. Why making fuss over Hamid Albar’s informing Govt side of the story. If Anwar can present his view, why cant Syed Hamid.

As goes the saying, the truth shall prevail. What is that to afraid of. I assume you are not aware the significance of swearing in the name of Allah as per islamic tradition. It is considered by Muslim worldwide as the ultimate act of declaring one’s honesty. Ask any Muslim and they all are waiting for Anwar to swear. Why cant he just accepting the challenge from his accuser. What is holding him. Why cant he swear in full view of press say in Masjid Negara or in his constituency. By swearing, he will turn back the pressure to his accuser.

Why the delay. You were accused of sodomy . And you said you did not do it. So, just swear. It has no legal implication. But your reputation is enhanced.

And for your info, as far as I know, there is no charge against Anwar until today.

I am not accusing Anwar nor I am supporting him in this case.

Comments are closed.