UMNO-PAS “Malay Unity” talks

The Federal Government spent RM100 million for the 50th Merdeka anniversary celebrations last year. For what?

It should be to celebrate half-a-century of nationhood to build a multi-racial, multi-religious, multi-cultural and multi-lingual nation where our diversity is the strongest national asset and to chart out the path to achieve the Vision 2020 objective of a Bangsa Malaysia in the remaining 13 years.

But Malaysian nation-building has gone backwards and the Vision 2020 objective of a “Bangsa Malaysia” is increasingly frowned upon as a misplaced target.

The recent revelation by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi that there has been three Umno-PAS talks to address issues of Muslim and Malay unity since the March 8, 2008 general election has raised to the fore the question why the pre-eminent issue bothering the Prime Minister is still that of Malay unity rather than Malaysian unity.

Has he forgotten another of his pledges to be the Prime Minister of all Malaysians and not just for any race?

Print Friendly

1. #1 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 9:57 am

“The fact is that you cannot trust the majority of politicians, whichever side of the political divide. They will promise a bridge even where there is no river…” Jeffrey

Promising a bridge where there is no river??

First they tell us we need a bridge. Next they call for a tender – a closed one, of course. Then they appoint their cronies to do the job. No river to flow under the bridge? Make one. I think that’s one hell of a way to ‘do business’.

2. #2 by trublumsian on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 10:04 am

racial divide is as old as human genus. where and when do we see truly race-blind culture that thrived? not 10,000 b.c., not 0 a.d., not now. as a species and sub-species, all living things subscribe to the notion of survival of the fittest, and boy, do we band to ensure we’re the last one standing! and some does it better than others, the minority, the ill-adept, and the fringe. malaysian chinese is a minority, and make no mistake, a 3rd class citizen. but the chinese race on this planet dwarfs everyone with sheer numbers. the “han” tribe (yes, that likely includes you, him, her, and me) total more than 1 billion, were never ingrained to work together for a common good, not for long anyways. chinese do practice “ki ki ku ki ki”, fill my pockets then we’ll talk. to the chinese datuks and datuk aspirants of this land, we say, good job! don’t get me wrong, the chinese are self-sufficient people, sometimes through hard work, but more often a product of ingenuity and smarts. isn’t that why the nep is a living document? it’s never a done deal as long as the chinese stays!

so, either we keep status quo by gaming whatever umno deals us, oh yeah, and pray for our next generation, OR we wake up and smell the roses! the latter requires a grass root upheaval. easier said than done.

3. #3 by oknyua on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 10:14 am

Undergard 2 & Limkamput, why are you two picking on each other?

4. #4 by milduser on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 10:19 am

As ALL practising polititians know, in politics (maybe limited to BOLEHLAND, there is NO PERMENANT friend or enemies! For example, DSAI was once DAP enemy no.2 of DAP and PAS and NOW coalition partners! PAS WILL never work with DAP (accused of only championing the Chinese cause) because it is against the ISLAMIC state. After GE12, the whole scenario has changed. See how cooperative they are! So, it’s no surprise if PAS was to talk to UMNO, MCA, MIC or what have you, it’s all in a days work. So, dont be too perturbed cos as long as MP are allow to JUMP SHIP, which ever ship is sinking, our politics will be as such, racialism aside.

5. #5 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 10:48 am

oknyua Says:

Today at 10: 14.12 (33 minutes ago)
    Undergard 2 & Limkamput, why are you two picking on each other?”

We’re just having fun!

6. #6 by Godfather on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 10:50 am

Talking about corruption being haram, and therefore unacceptable to PAS, the Trengganu state government announced the purchase of 14 Mercedes E200K cars at a cost of above RM 3 million. Their rationale ? The E200 series is cheaper to maintain than Proton Perdana cars. To support this rationale, and to quell public anger over this blatant abuse of funds at a time when everyone is asked to tighten his/her belt, the state is going to release maintenance figures on the Proton Perdana cars. It appears that maintenance per car was in excess of RM 100,000 over the past 4 years. Now who can believe such maintenance numbers ? Who is taking a “cut” from the maintenance of those cars ?

I am willing to bet on one thing – they won’t release the maintenance numbers because it would mean digging a deeper hole for themselves. Such is the culture of the den of thieves, and the culture of AAB – make promises, live to fight another day, and then forget about the promises.

Is this what Islam is all about ? Is this what certain people in PAS are willing to compromise on ? If the answers are “yes”, then I say that UMNO and PAS are a match made in heaven.

7. #7 by dkkl on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 10:59 am

why secret meetings? Are they a communists to the rakyat? Only communists will perform secret meetings. A good government will never held secrets meeting when there is multi racial party around.

8. #8 by dkkl on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 11:02 am

If this kind of government continue on…… One day all malaysian will be left far behind by other third country like cambodia and vietnam. Vision 2020 become vision 4040

9. #9 by PSM on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 11:16 am

I guess UMNO (Pak Lah) wants to achieve the following:-

1/ Continue with the “Ketuanan Melayu” (he forgets that his children are 1/2 Japanese & his current wife is of Portugese Lineage) agenda
    2/ Cause a split in PAS or if the talks really works,
    3/ Cause a split in the PR
    4/ Show that he is a “champion” of “Bangsa & Negara”

Sorry to say as far as UMNO is concerned, to hell with the Non-Malays & National Integration (I guess the MCA, MIC & Gerakan being the Lap Dogs of UMNO, can’t see that!).

10. #10 by oknyua on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 11:28 am

“Is this what Islam is all about ? Is this what certain people in PAS are willing to compromise on ? If the answers are “yes”, then I say that UMNO and PAS are a match made in heaven.” Godfather.

Yes.

11. #11 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 11:43 am

These type of talks should not be taken that seriously as people will anything to retain power.
    It is up to the moderate Malaysians to reject parties that resort to race and religion to garner support.
    I think we should be more concerned about other issues that may endanger us all.
    http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/07/doomsday-for-malaysia.html

12. #12 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 11:46 am

UMNO is not Malay it is illegal all this while, else why they are talking and saw there is a need to unite.

Sharizat – Did not wear tudung
    Rafidah (AP Queen) – Did not wear tudung
    Azalina (Brickendory scandal) – Did not wear tudung not even been recognized by or belong to Puteri UMNO

All these bad Malay ladies are unislamic, why are they interested to join back the parti Islam?

13. #13 by pkrisnin on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 11:50 am

Either way if UMNO manage to convince some of the PAS leaders to join them, it will split and weaken PAS. So there is no down side for UMNO to try. They want Selangor back at any cost

14. #14 by oknyua on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 11:57 am

Look at the latest episode of Anwar Ibrahim. The court will not be able to find a settle to this.

The answer and the cry now are for “Swearing on the Koran.” That is the mentality we are facing – where “full settlement” of all crimes and woes are settled. Every conviction for murderers and thieves would be obliterated just by swearing. Imagine our Undergrad2 addressing the court, prepared with all his submissions, only to be told by the judge that the defender had sworn before the Koran last night. No case for undergrad2. Case closed.

So would it be surprised if UMNO and PAS treat each other that way? “kou-tim” everything with God and man by swearing.

I view this “unity talk” seriously. I am not worried of Malay Unity. Malays are fine people that I easily live with.

15. #15 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 12:01 pm

///These type of talks should not be taken that seriously as people will anything to retain power. It is up to the moderate Malaysians to reject parties that resort to race and religion to garner support/// -HJ Angus said Today at 11: 43.56 (8 minutes ago)
    This is not just “talk” and it is serious if you believe what former menteri besar and Umno supreme council member Dr Mohd Khir Toyo said as was reported by Malaysiakini (Syed Jaymal Zahiid | Jul 22, 08 4:13pm)

I quote the report:
    “In a posting on his blog, Khir said Umno had offered its arch-rival PAS the menteri besar post during a dialogue session held shortly after the elections. Apart from this, he said PAS was also offered the deputy menteri besar as well as four executive councillors posts if it agreed to form the coalition. “I brought them (PAS) for a muzakarah (dialogue) with the prime minister and suggested to Abdullah (Ahmad Badawi) that PAS leaders in Selangor be offered those posts,” he added. He said Umno and PAS could form a synthesis in championing Malay interests in the state which fell into opposition control. “Unfortunately the influence of Anwar in PAS through the party’s secretary-general Kamaruddin Jaafar blocked the initiative. “As long as Anwar is important in Pakatan Rakyat, the muzakarah will not succeed. Anwar does not want to see Malays unite and that is why he formed Pakatan that thrives on the ideals of equality to the extent of elevating other religions on the same par as the primary religion in this country, Islam,” he added. Khir said this was proven by the fact that Anwar was being supported by ‘extremist’ Chinese and Indians via opposition party DAP and the Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf).

Yesterday, Malaysiakini quoted a PAS leader as saying that Umno had offered them the Selangor menteri besar post during a meeting held two or three days after the general election.

PAS central committee member Abdul Khalid Samad, who attended the meeting, disclosed that the agenda was issues pertaining to Islam and the Malays. Also present were PAS deputy president Nasharudin Mat Isa and the party’s Terengganu commissioner Mustafa Ali.

Despite the offer, PAS chose to back the Pakatan Rakyat state government with PKR supreme council member Khalid Ibrahim as menteri besar. PAS has three state executive councillors.
    However, Khir is still optimistic about the possibility of Umno and PAS striking a working relationship.

On Sunday night, PAS president Abdul Hadi Awang confirmed that top-level meetings had taken place between the two parties.
    However, it is believed that the talks had caused a rift in PAS with certain leaders, including Nik Aziz, not keen on collaborating with Umno”. [Unquote]

16. #16 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 12:10 pm

Can they insert Anwar semen old specimen into Saiful anal?

U kno the police can put a cocaine into ur pocket and cause serious problem, they can oso rape ur gal fren if u r unfortunate driving a bike without license. They do all sorts of thing at low level, do u think at high level they dun? in many countries i went and stayed, especially 3rd world country u can even escaped from murder charge, at 1st u must admit u did it, then at the end the case drag on till 1 day it will disperse and u wun get charge, provided tat fellow is filthy rich, like OJ Simpsons.

17. #17 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 12:11 pm

A report from Malaysian Insider 23rd July:
    (Quote) “After her concert in Johor Baru last week was cancelled by a district officer, Indonesian dangdut superstar Inul Daratista will face another obstacle in trying to entertain thousands of her fans in the capital city here this Sunday.
    This time, Pas is building the momentum to protest her planned concert at Stadium Putra in Bukit Jalil. It made a similar protest at her previous show in Stadium Merdeka a few years ago.
    Kuala Lumpur Pas Youth information chief Herman Samsudeen yesterday demanded the authorities ban the new show, describing it as an insult to Malaysians.
    He said the government should not entertain such an artiste who had been rejected by some Indonesian Muslim scholars for her erotic and almost pornographic dancing style. Besides corrupting moral values, (the concert) is also a waste of money because of the soaring fuel prices. The government should prevent wasteful and moral corrupting programmes such as this one,” the organisation said in a statement.
    Inul who was shocked with the cancellation of concert scheduled to be held at Stadium Tan Sri Haji Hassan Yunos in Larkin Johor Baru recently had also indicated she was unsure whether she could perform this Sunday.
    Herman is adamant that the Kuala Lumpur PAS Youth would send a protest note to City Hall and the Federal Territories Ministry.
    “Whatever the excuse, we will remind (the authorities) that the locals reject this concert. Most of the people who attended her (Inul) concert before this are Indonesians who never had a chance to see her in their own country.
    “If this concert is on, this country’s sovereignty will be “prostituted” merely to satisfy the needs of Indonesian citizens here who could fulfill their wish in their own country. We hope the government will be serious in handling this matter to protect the image of our country as a member of the Organisation of Islamic Conference (OIC),” said Herman. (Unquote)

Question : Is Selangor under Pakatan Rakyat becoming like Kelantan?

18. #18 by Emily Pratt on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 12:24 pm

If it is genuinely a Malay Unity talk…

Then it should not be just UMNO-PAS. PKR should also be included because they have Malay leaders/members.

PAS and UMNO is not THE ONLY MALAY PARTY in Malaysia. Even PAS allow non-Malay as members.

EP

19. #19 by Kathy on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 12:34 pm

PAS allows non-malay as members provided they are already converted to Islam.

20. #20 by ch on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 12:35 pm

Dear All,

It does not need a rocket scientist to tell us that the demographical numbers in this nation favours the Malays. The population ratio between Bumi and non-Bumi of 67:33 as tabulated by the government barely a year ago would have moved the political parties from MCA, DAP, MIC and Gerakan to come up with ideas as to how to encourage the non-Bumi to have more children. But I tend to believe that they are lacking the will power or financial resources to move forward strongly with such a programme. It is a fallacy to believe in totality that Malaysia will one day become a nation for all if only 30% of the population subscribes to such a notion. What we are hearing now from certain BN’s component parties of merging and forging with a more multi-racial outlook are mere political rhetorics and would not take place in reality. UMNO has yet to give up on racial politics and how would the other component parties break away from the norm? For example, I could not imagine Ong Tee Keat or Samy Vellu coming out in public that they are defending the rights of the Malays as that would put UMNO in a rather awkward position.

The alternative platform offered and being actively pursued by Anwar Ibrahim under Pakatan Rakyat also does not reflect a real Malaysian Malaysia outlook although I must say that it is the best available option there is given our current political and racial landscape now. Even if Pakatan Rakyat forms the federal government I would believe that there will be discontentment from all sides in the distribution of power. PAS would like to further its cause on Islamic state which DAP is dead against but may have to compromise in one way or another in order to avoid disintegration of the pact.

Malaysia has been deeply rooted on racial politics and the resistant to change to adopt new method is the biggest stumbling block for us to move forward with this Malaysian Malaysia notion. There are so many other social and economic disparity issues that stand its way to a Malaysian Malaysia nation. It is rather unfortunate but that’s the truth.

The truth hurts but we have to be pragmatic to learn to live in reality.

21. #21 by Emily Pratt on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 12:49 pm

Kathy says: “PAS allows non-malay as members provided they are already converted to Islam.”

Then isn’t it true that PAS is not a Malay only party but an Muslim only party?

And we also know that Islam is not a Malay only religion but a religion for all mankind regardless of race and creed.

Dear PAS, it is high time you recognizes that Islam does not equate Malayness and Malayness does not equate Islam, they are two different thing.

EP

22. #22 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 12:53 pm

Increasing the Malay population may have been an excellent idea in winning more votes for BN but in these times of economic crisis, I think the Malays are the most affected with so many mouths to feed and after this lesson, do you think the Malays themselves will take the advise of TDM in achieving a 70 million population target consisting mainly of Malays in Malaysia??? Then again, not all Malays will vote for BN and thus this programme is a total failure.

23. #23 by badak on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 1:04 pm

Look at the bright side if PAS join BN … Then the other non Malay Parties in BN will have to look really hard on where they stand.Sabah and Sarawak will accept PAS. The top leaders may still want to be in BN for WEALTH and POWER.. But the grassroot will surely back out .

24. #24 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 1:05 pm

In today’s papers, Liow Tiong Lai is calling the Chinese to unite because UMNO and PAS are going to unite the Malays. I say this is a big shame on MCA which professes to “represent” the Chinese in Malaysia and “fighting” for this and “fighting” for that when in fact each time it does so, its powers are being diluted. I remembered in the early days, MCA held many important ministerial positions in the government including the Minister of Finance. Today, we see MCA holding lousy portfolios such as Minister of Transport, Minister of Health, Minister of Housing and Local Government and Minister of Women Affairs.

In view of all these, MCA still has the guts to say they represent the Chinese in Malaysia. Such thick skin fellas just don’t know what “shame” means!!!!!! And as I have said many times in many of the blogs, why the hell should MCA be fighting for this and fighting for that? Isn’t MCA a component party in BN which is the ruling party in Malaysia? Ever heard of a component party in a ruling party having to “fight” for anything? Only the opposition need to do so!!!!!! So, is MCA telling the whole world that it is the “opposition” within the ruling party?????

25. #25 by Saiful Ambar on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 1:33 pm

“kcb Says:
    Yesterday at 14: 38.52
    Now I know why some people have to pray 5 times a day!!! ”

I believe this statement is inappropriate especially in our due course to pursue for Malaysia Baru. Why should utter this kind of words when we know for sure it would provoke other people? We condemned racist – but we think and act like one – but this time we attack on other people religion practice.

26. #26 by Kathy on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 1:37 pm

KTTEOKT, MCA has never represented the Chinese race at all. It only represented its own party members. Since its inception, its leaders have already sold out their own kind. It is okay for one of them to be Finance Minister, then relinquish it to the Malays but have never given any thought for the future generations.

This is as long as they. MCA members get the benefits from the UMNO party.

27. #27 by Kathy on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 1:41 pm

It is sad that they only gave YB LKS such a small article space in the Star newspaper. They should highlight the Unity of Malaysians in BIG, BOLD letters.

28. #28 by liveleas on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 2:00 pm

What ever uttered by a moron who feels fresh DNA sample needed to replace the old one is irrelevent, I just can’t wait for PRU13.

29. #29 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 2:06 pm

Those who sees PAS willingness to talk to UMNO as a indication of the weakness of PR, I beg to differ.

Many in PAS is frustrated because they don’t see the Islamic state goal being achieved under PR. Hence it is willing to explore joining with UMNO to reach for that goal. But if it also realise that it can’t either with UMNO, it will actually strengthen PR.

Think of it this way. UMNO-PAS partnership must be a marriage where PAS is the head. It can never be a friendship or partnership of equal. They are too feudal for that to happen. However, PAS with PR may never be a marriage BUT it can be friends and faithful partners. If you can’t marry well, no sense in marrying badly.

What is important is PR sticks to its goal of transparent accountable govt and politics. They must be honest with each other. So far, its doing a pretty decent job of that. If it falls into the trap of feudal politics then it is lost. Anwar’s opportunistic way is worrying because of this. If he keep playing games without results and it spills over to into Keadilan membership and partners, we may be feudal politics in PR and all will be lost then.

So longa as PR stick to THE PROCESS of transparency, accountability to its partners and constituent, PAS really have no choice but be friend and partner.

30. #30 by Godfather on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 2:12 pm

Bigjoe said:

“Think of it this way. UMNO-PAS partnership must be a marriage where PAS is the head.”

You sure of this ? The den of thieves giving up its right to steal ? Nah, that won’t happen in a million years.

31. #31 by artemus22 on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 2:57 pm

If the Malays can have their unity talks, can we the non-Malays hold such talks too among ourselves, the Chinese, Indians and all the natives of Sabah and Sarawak? I wonder what UMNO would say if there’s such a talk and would the Malays feel threaten by this?

32. #32 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 3:09 pm

Please bear in mind that PAS’s final objective is to establish a theocratic Islamic country in Malaysia as soon as possible with all cost!!! Some top guns in PAS is willing to work with UMNO kafirs to achieve the final objective!!! Those who voted for PAS (including myself) might see a United UMNO-PAS very soon!!! It might be a mistake to vote for PAS in the first place i.e. voting the wolf with the sheep skins!!!

33. #33 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 3:18 pm

1. ///Those who sees PAS willingness to talk to UMNO as a indication of the weakness of PR, I beg to differ/// – Big Joe.

This is not so. It is UMNO’s willingness to talk to PAS, and not the other way around. In a posting on his blog, Mohd Khir Toyo said Umno had offered its arch-rival PAS the menteri besar post during a dialogue session held shortly after the elections. Apart from this, he said PAS was also offered the deputy menteri besar as well as four executive councillors posts if it agreed to form the coalition. “I brought them (PAS) for a muzakarah (dialogue) with the prime minister and suggested to Abdullah (Ahmad Badawi) that PAS leaders in Selangor be offered those posts,” he added. (Source Malaysiakini report, Jul 22.

2. ///UMNO-PAS partnership must be a marriage where PAS is the head. It can never be a friendship or partnership of equal. They are too feudal for that to happen. However, PAS with PR may never be a marriage BUT it can be friends and faithful partners. If you can’t marry well, no sense in marrying badly.///- Big Joe.

UMNO may be feudal, PAS is medieval – and DAP/PKR more pluralistic and inclusive, gap between feudal and medieval less than that between medieval and pluralistic/inclusive. How can PAS be friends and faithful partners (outside “marriage”) when a segment of their senior leaders held secret talk with UMNO, which is not denied, and had it not been for DSAI putting his foot down Selangor would have been controlled by PAS/UMNO coalition with MB & Deputy MB position held by PAS (per Khir Toyo)?

3. ///So long as PR sticks to THE PROCESS of transparency, accountability to its partners and constituent, PAS really have no choice but be friend and partner/// – Bigjoe.

The rest of PR (DAP+PKR) have been transparent : Have we heard imputaion to the contrary? No. it is PAS that has not been transparent. And the untransparent party is not going to stick with the transparent ones because here the former is not transparent (proven by deed) because it puts in party’s interest (perceived as divine ordained) above the coalition’s temporal interest & manifesto.

34. #34 by Kathy on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 3:37 pm

Artemus22, UMNO always feels threaten when the non-malays all over Malaysia (definitely including Sabah and Sarawak) unite and discuss on how to further strengthen their ties.

Why do you think they are always talking about ketuaan Melayu?

35. #35 by gundam on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 3:41 pm

the world is becoming smaller, one day everyone is free to live and work anywhere he/she likes.

race is no longer an issue, it’ll be about the survival of an individual.

the shallowness of the current leaders might be a curse for his own ethnic in long run.

36. #36 by Bernice Tang on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 3:57 pm

I am born and live in Malaysia for 36 yrs. I spend last 2 yrs in Germany. You know what I notice? The Chinese in Malaysia is among the most bullied in the world. I am employed by Malaysia chinaman company and I brought back billion and billion of ringgit / business back to Malaysia. And I don’t think I am getting the right respect. I am seriously considering saying bye bye to my birthday place.

37. #37 by imranj78 on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 5:49 pm

limkamput,
    It is true that in most countries the rights of the minorities needs to be protected more. But in Malaysia, it seems that the minorities are questioning the rights of the majority. Constructive comments through proper dialog I can accept, but to openly question such rights is not only arrogant, but without any due thought to the rights of the majorities (of course this should work both ways as well)

38. #38 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 5:52 pm

limkamput?? I do not see limkamput here?! There’s Kathy. Yes, I can see ‘her’.

39. #39 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 5:54 pm

“Why do you think they are always talking about ketuaan Melayu?” Kathy

Because they run out of topics to talk??

40. #40 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 5:59 pm

“Dear PAS, it is high time you recognizes that Islam does not equate Malayness and Malayness does not equate Islam, they are two different thing.” Pratt

To help you i.e. an ‘orang putih’ understand, may I refer you to Article 160(2) of the country’s constitution. All this talk about ‘Malays being Muslims’ and ‘Muslims being Malays’ are confusing to them. Can you blame them??

41. #41 by zak_hammaad on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 6:07 pm

Why Malay unity and not Malaysian unity? To answer this question, the country’s geo-social, political and economic realities will need to be addressed and understood. Malays constitute 65% of the population of the country and of this, 62% are Muslim – 20% of the population is Buddhist; 10% Christian and 6% Hindu and 2% other.

The Chinese population currently stands at 26%, while the Indians make up 8% – Demographically Malays are a majority in the northern, eastern and southern parts of Peninsular Malaysia, dispersed within rural areas primarily.

Malays are not a monolithic entity and do not all share a same level of social and economic balance; neither are they politically affiliated with one party. Unity amongst the majority Malay race is first and foremost crucial to the strengthening and consolidation of their identity and values. When unity is strong amongst the majority race, the stability and the security that is created by this, is shared and reflected within the country as a whole; this will benefit the non-Malays and the non-Muslims.

The concept of ‘Malaysian unity’ is a misnomer in its very essence. Malaysian unity requires that each citizen agree to find a common bond that all Malaysians can relate to and unite under. The single greatest unifier for the Malays is religion because it transcends all social and political boundaries. When the Malay unity is strong, so shall their religious identity; when their religious identity is strong, political activism and affiliation will not be a stumbling block in their alternate visions for Malaysia’s direction towards development and success.

Chinese and Indians are not all willing to do away with their cultural baggage from “back home” and neither are they willing to do away with their respective language schools for example, so how then do you promote a “Malaysian Malaysia” or Malaysian unity? Upon what platform do you want to unite all races and religions and cultures that are present within Malaysia?

Human rights and personal freedoms are not a uniting force because they mean different things to different people. Nationalism is also not a tangibly defined proposal for unity. Chinese continue to control over 65% of Malaysian equity and therefore a unity of perceived inequality has shown to fail.

It can therefore be concluded that the best chance for Malaysia’s continued success lies first and foremost in Malay unity, whereby the institutions of the government are strengthened for the betterment of all Malaysians. This is a task that all Malaysians need to help with.

The best foundation for any Malaysian unity however, needs to be based upon social justice. In the context of the geo-social race reality, it is with Malay unity first and foremost, where this social justice needs to be streamlined within a workable consensus from all Malaysians.

42. #42 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 6:22 pm

“It is true that in most countries the rights of the minorities needs to be protected more. But in Malaysia, it seems that the minorities are questioning the rights of the majority.” imranj78

When it involves universal values and human rights, your membership in a minority group should have no relevance. Any need to impose a nexus between those rights and those enjoyed by the rest of society can only stem from the desire to keep the former in their oppressed state simply because of who they are – and that’s just wrong.

43. #43 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 9:50 pm

“Chinese and Indians are not all willing to do away with their cultural baggage from “back home” …”

This could help ‘explain’ why someone who despite having made a life long career in the service of the UMNO government – and despite having been decorated for his very long service with a PPN medal – chooses to come out swinging with both hands against his employer. Could he be lugging a luggage we may not be aware of??

44. #44 by pjboy on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 10:47 pm

Perhaps PM using Plan-B (stir up Malay Unity as issue) coz Plan-Sodome don’t seem to be working under DPM’s orchestration to make sure DSAI got no chance to come to power. Otherwise not enough $$$ to sustain the bungalow in Perth. So, Plan-B is desperate attempt to make sure can stay in power next 2 years to oversee all the pet-projects of various money-corridors to suck tax-payers $$$.

Malaysia Boleh…ada banyak VIPs (Very Idiotic Politicians) dalam cabinet.

45. #45 by imranj78 on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 10:49 pm

undergrad2,
    I am sorry if my post disturbed your `idealistic’ mind. Yes universal values and human rights is true; to a certain extent! Values are different from culture to culture and this extends to so called `human rights’ as well. In an Islamic country, it is fine to broadcast your azan and to Muslims, this is a natural right. But do you think this will be allowed in a mosque in many towns say in US or UK? Of course not as this is against their values there. Should the Muslims there demand for the azan to be blared out loud? Of course not unless agreement with the local community is obtained.

But having different values should not mean one should be oppressed or another. It is understanding how to coexist. It is also just natural that the group in the majority has the right to prioritize some of their values over the minorities. This is by no means oppression, but for the sake of integration. One simple example is in UK where any new citizens are required to know the English language irrespective of where you come from. If you don’t know how to speak English, no nationality for you. Is this oppression? No! it’s for the sake of integration and is a fact of human social interaction from the dawn of humanity.

46. #46 by flim1961 on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 11:43 pm

First: I salute all you Malaysians out there who are trying to make a positive difference: the Malays, Chinese, Indians, and all the other races who make up the demographics of this beloved land. I also salute Islam, which preaches tolerance and is color blind, and all the other major religions that propagate the message of compassion and peace.

Amidst all the racial overtones within the Malaysian political landscape, I sincerely do hope that one day, all Malaysian children will be judged, based on the content of their character rather than the color of thier skin (paraphrasing MLK Jr.).

47. #47 by shamshul anuar on Thursday, 24 July 2008 - 12:07 am

DEar Sikembangcina,

Perhaps you should try to listen to advice by Dr Nazrin, the learned Raja Muda of Perak.

His Excellency said that “Anak bangsa janganlah terlalu ghairah untuk mencantas dahan tempat bergantung….”. It is a timely reminder that one’s action today have a great implication on times to come.

UMNO may have its warts and all. It is accused of helping UMNOputras only. If that is the case then all Malays and also other races are UMNOputras.

I know many of my friend who hail from remotes areas and born and bred by very humble backgrounds are now holding senior posts in civil servant.

I remember one of my classmate now is an engineer in Sudan. Another is MITI Director in northern state. One of my senior holds a very senior post in MIDF. Many receive scholarships from this govt( meaning UMNO). Quite a number joined the bandwagon in ridiculing the Govt that enables them to further studies in reputable Universities in UK, USA, Australia, Canada .

I saw nothing harm in criticizing. But when someone denies the help from his own govt, then he is actually being an ungrateful lot.
    Search your heart. Be honest to yourselves. No need to be pretentious. Try to remember one instance that the much hated UMNO ( through its influence in politics) has ever enabled poor Malays( and also non Malays) to come out from poverty through good education.

It is your right to be a member of any political party. But surely, you do not have to mock the party that gives so much to your own race.

The scenariom in Malaysia reminds me of what happen to the Arab way back around 90 years ago. Much of Arab territory currently known as Saudi arabia, Oman, Qatar, Iraq, Kuwait, Syria, Lebanon was then ruled by Ottoman Empire.

One Arab nobility who was then Governor of Saudi Arabia was instigated by the British to fight against Ottoman Sultan . The reward is independence. So fought he did. But the result
    ( if you ask any Arab) was a disaster. Arab lost a homeland in places currently called Israel.

My point is very simple. Be careful , as advised by Raja Dr Nazrin. Or have you heard “Mendengar guruh di langit, air di tempayan dibuang”. Maybe that is what exactly Malays are doing.

48. #48 by trublumsian on Thursday, 24 July 2008 - 4:01 am

imranj78,
    minority does not equate to 2nd or 3rd class citizens. u speak of the uk. i tell u what the uk and u.s. is like. ALL citizens are equal. equal economic access, equal education access, equal housing access. IN FACT, in the u.s., affirmative action is reserved for the minorities. what kind of crack r u smoking???

49. #49 by trublumsian on Thursday, 24 July 2008 - 5:52 am

imranj78,
    majority has the right to prioritize their values over the minorities?? why don’t umno and the malays tell it to the face of ALL chinese and indians they’re 2nd class citizens and they don’t deserve equal treatment? if it’s a fact, say it ain’t!

tell me something more, why is it despite the 60% population clout and 50 years of prioritizing your values over others we’re still debating the merits of all the convoluted practices of special treatment? because malays are…what?? say the word, bro, say the word!!

and shamshul anuar,
    being sponsored as a scholar by the government does not mean one can be indifferent to the mistakes the government is making. many, many, and i mean MANY more chinese and indian kids have better academic and brain smarts to take on the rigors of a foreign education than malays, but in the name of race supremacy, they are told their skin color sucks! THINK what the country will be like if all the deserving ones, in the name of all-men-are-created-equal, are sent to engineering, law, medical, and business schools, and choose to return to an even playing field. we’d be a developed nation like, yesterday! we’d be thumbing our noses at the competition.

and get this, u ought to be grateful the kids we sent abroad did learn and did pick up the critical capacity to tell what works and what doesn’t, ought u not??

50. #50 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 24 July 2008 - 6:07 am

It is all about PUMA – or party unity my as^s

Comments are closed.