UMNO-PAS “Malay Unity” talks

The Federal Government spent RM100 million for the 50th Merdeka anniversary celebrations last year. For what?

It should be to celebrate half-a-century of nationhood to build a multi-racial, multi-religious, multi-cultural and multi-lingual nation where our diversity is the strongest national asset and to chart out the path to achieve the Vision 2020 objective of a Bangsa Malaysia in the remaining 13 years.

But Malaysian nation-building has gone backwards and the Vision 2020 objective of a “Bangsa Malaysia” is increasingly frowned upon as a misplaced target.

The recent revelation by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi that there has been three Umno-PAS talks to address issues of Muslim and Malay unity since the March 8, 2008 general election has raised to the fore the question why the pre-eminent issue bothering the Prime Minister is still that of Malay unity rather than Malaysian unity.

Has he forgotten another of his pledges to be the Prime Minister of all Malaysians and not just for any race?

Print Friendly

1. #1 by lew1328 on Tuesday, 22 July 2008 - 11:31 pm

Greetings! YB

What is the meaning to talk about the “Unity” when we had so many unsolved puzzles or jokes happening here in Malaysia.

1.. C4… C4… I Love U
    2.. Sound like me, Looks like me…but it’s not me
    3.. Bala.. Bala… where are you
    4.. Musa… Musa… musang atau rusa
    ETC…

2. #2 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 22 July 2008 - 11:37 pm

“I believe most non Malays are ever willing to work, contribute and sacrifice for the greatness of this nation if they are treated fairly and given the opportunity.” Limkamput

To put it in another way, you’re saying the Chinese are not willing to work, contribute “and sacrifice for the greatness of this nation” (whatever that may mean) “if they are not treated fairly”. I fail to see the nexus between the two!

What I do know is that the Chinese more than anything else wish to be left alone to do their business. It is all about business and more business. Should some develop political interests along the way, it is to protect their right to do business and more business.

The Malays have no business interfering in their business.

3. #3 by limkamput on Tuesday, 22 July 2008 - 11:49 pm

Have you seriously considered a change in profession? You’d make a good litigation lawyer. undergrad2

No i have not. I am retired and was perfectly happy with my profession.

4. #4 by limkamput on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 12:10 am

undergrad2,
    please don’t try to split hair here.

First, I agree that Chinese are generally inclined to doing business. I must say, even in business, the Chinese are subjected to unnecessary red tape, corruption and unreasonable and often conflicting regulations and licensing requirements.

Second, Chinese pre-occupation with business is also due to other opportunities not being available to them. I have often thought that civil service is one of the most important pillars of national development. Have more Chinese be given the opportunities to serve in meaningful positions (not tokenism) in the civil service, I believe this country will be much more efficient and dynamic.

Third, you just have to look at Singapore and Hong Kong. How the Chinese with Confucian value plus English education and civil law and liberty can create wonder.

Fourth, more Chinese involvement in Government, both at political and civil service levels will enhance multiracialism, cultural diversities and religious tolerance and hence promoting a national ethos that is more cosmopolitan and liberal.

I believe you know what is killing this nation? Like you, I usually do not ask questions that I do not already know the answers.

5. #5 by imranj78 on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 12:11 am

Richardqed wrote:
    `No one is oppressing the Malays. No one is tearing down Malay schools nor mosques. You don’t defend when no one is even attacking.

But when people are tearing down Chinese schools and Indian temples here there and everywhere, that’s when you need to defend your rights’

Malay and Muslim’s rights are being questioned when Syariah courts are being questioned, when Bumiputera status is being questioned etc etc so I disagree with when you say no one is attacking.

I agree that Chinese schools and Indian temples built in legally allocated land should be left alone. Remember suraus and mosques have also been torn down because of their `illegal’ status. I also believe that national schools should be given priority and that mother tongue language should be more widely taught in national schools to give people more choices. If we all go to different schools, how are we supposed to integrate as Malaysians?

6. #6 by mendela on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 12:11 am

Oh, what a night! Take a break!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=liyiT_DGREA

7. #7 by limkamput on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 12:29 am

imranj78,

May I know who is questioning the decisions of Syariah courts other than those that infringe on non-Muslim?

With regard to Bumi Status, the questions are usually related to the implementation of Bumi rights, not the rights per se. Besides, do you want to tell us what does the Bumi status entail? Please, we need to know. If Bumi status means deprivation of non Malays, what do you expect us to do? I think every one should earn his/her own upkeep. Nobody own no one a living. This is 21st century.

8. #8 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 12:30 am

“Like you, I usually do not ask questions that I do not already know the answers.” limkamput

No. I always ask questions to which I do not know the answers! Why ask if you already know the answer??!

I only ask questions to a witness on the stand to which I already know the answer when I’m cross examining him or her. It is important that counsel knows where he or she is taking the witness to with the questioning – or else he or she may end up going to places he or she does not want to go! How embarrassing!

9. #9 by Anba on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 12:32 am

Dear Malaysians,
    Is the UMNO-PAS Malay unity talk just to strengten the Ketuanan Melayu sentiments or to unite Malaysians of all races and religion. Since all UMNO and PAS members are Mulsims and all Malays are Muslims, can we expect the UMNO-PAS Malay unity talk to include the peace for all races in Malaysia.

Nevertheless,UMNO and PAS have fundamental differences in accordance to their Islaic beliefs. Let’s read the folowing excerp from Wkipedia:

The Pan-Malaysian Islamic Party or the Islamic Party of Malaysia (Malay: Parti Islam Se-Malaysia), commonly known as PAS or Pas, is an Islamist political party in Malaysia and is currently headed by Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang. PAS positions itself as a political party that aims to establish Malaysia as a country based on Islamic legal theory derived from the primary sources of Islam, the Quran, Sunnah as well as Hadiths, as opposed to Barisan Nasional’s Islam Hadhari, which PAS sees as based on a watered-down understanding of Islam.

Can they meet eye to eye and discuss?

God bless.
    Anba

10. #10 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 12:38 am

“Have more Chinese be given the opportunities to serve in meaningful positions (not tokenism) in the civil service, I believe this country will be much more efficient and dynamic.” Limkamput

You’re saying that Malays are lazy and inefficient because they are Malays. Sir, that makes you a racist.

11. #11 by imranj78 on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 12:45 am

limkamput,
    Come on, there has been so many calls for Syariah courts to be disregarded as a parallel system to the civil courts and make it a `lesser’ court. While I agree that rights of non-Muslims should not be infringed upon, it is also important that the rights of the Muslim MAJORITY is upheld.

I am not supportive of uncompetitive Bumi rights in the long term. But like it or not, this will have to stay for awhile longer till we have a more equitable wealth distribution in the country. Its implementation needs to be fine tuned to include people of other races who need such help and also remove any corrupt practices.

Everyone has to earn his/her own upkeep – yes everyone should work hard for his/her own upkeep but those who are at a disadvantaged at the start should be assisted.

12. #12 by limkamput on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 12:51 am

Undergrad2,

NO, you are putting words into my mouth again, which is not unusual.

What I have in mind is we must leverage on the expertise and capability of all races in the country, more so some communities have proven to be more dynamic, efficient and experienced. That is why I feel that there should be more Chinese given important positions in civil service to help propel this nation forward. If all races are encouraged to work together more, surely the opportunity to learn from the strength of each other is greater. If you just want to pick one or two lines out of context and label me a racist, then we better stop debating. It is hurtful to me when I know right in my heart I am not a racist.

13. #13 by limkamput on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 12:57 am

MAJORITY rights need no protection. Usually it is minority rights that need protection. Check out India – the right of Hindu vis-a-vis Muslims. The rest of your arguments I can go along.

14. #14 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 1:24 am

“It is hurtful to me when I know right in my heart I am not a racist.” limkamput

Show me someone who admits to being a racist and I’ll show you a Klu Klax Klan member who says he is not a racist!

15. #15 by sirrganass on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 1:25 am

Hei kawan2 semua… relax! bertenang! Nik Aziz has made the best stance on this issue. That “holy” man (!) rejected the PAS-UMNO talks whatsoever. he wanted to work closer with all friends in Pakatan Rakyat. Is that ok with you?

16. #16 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 1:26 am

ooops that should be spelt Klux

17. #17 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 1:51 am

Racism is embedded in our psyche more than anyone is willing to admit.

Many of the decisions we make in our daily lives are rooted in racism and our need for a racial identity. We are not even conscious of it. So perhaps you should not be in such a hurry to rebut allegations of racism.

Instead of saying we should tap on the best talent the country has to offer, you opted to say that the government service would be better off if more Chinese are employed because then government service would be “more efficient and dynamic” – efficient as in being industrious, opposite to being lazy and indolent.

That is clearly a racist statement!

There are lazy Chinese as there are lazy Malays or Indians. Laziness is not the monopoly of any one race.

18. #18 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 2:18 am

limkamput says,

“I am not supportive of uncompetitive Bumi rights in the long term. But like it or not, this will have to stay for awhile longer till we have a more equitable wealth distribution in the country.”

Haah! Now you’re an apologist for the UMNO sponsored NEP!

19. #19 by limkamput on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 2:27 am

undergrad2, you are a best of both world hypocrite which you will never admit.
    YA, THE best the country has to offer, i am sure is not white or black or latino, it is the races here in Malaysia. What is why i like to call all the good for nothing political correct people hypocrites. You are the epitome of that. The NEP itself is the admission that the Chinese are more dynamic and business like. If you can’t see it, you are moron who is also a hypocrite – a hypocrite moron, hmmm, can’t imagine what you will do!

20. #20 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 2:54 am

The DAP should ask its “partner” within Pakatan Rakyat (PAS) why the pre-eminent issue is still that of Malay unity rather than Malaysian unity before it asks the Prime Minister of the rival political camp this question!

When one’s ‘wife’ were enticed by a third party previous suitor/lover, does one question or blame the third party first before one’s own wife with whom one has exchanged ‘marital vows’ of betrayal and unfaithfulness?

Or shouldn’t one blame one ownself for entering (despite counsel to the contrary) into a “marriage of convenience” more out of the pleasure to spite and spurn that previous suitor/lover on March 8th than a genuine trust of and compatibility with one’s own partner??

That really is the crux of the question.

21. #21 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 3:30 am

Instead of counting on sufficient defections from the Barisan Nasional camp for Pakatan Rakyat (PR) to engineer a vote of no confidence on Pak Lah and form the Federal Government the prospect has now arisen whether Pak lah could engineer sufficient defections from the PR camp (from Hadi of PAS) to regain the BN’s threshold of parliamentary 2/3 majority. Anwar started this game of enticing cross overs from the other side. What can be said if the other side now plays the same game? What is sauce for the goose is sauce for the gander….

22. #22 by Godfather on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 3:53 am

Those voters who voted for PAS thinking that they have moved from a radical position to a centrist position will be disappointed. Those who voted for UMNO thinking that UMNO actually cares for all races (as per AAB’s “I am a PM for all races”) will also be disappointed. Will the two opposing forces cancel each other out and maintain the status quo at the next GE?

23. #23 by trublumsian on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 4:31 am

the everyday malays, those who are blue collar, white collar, and no collar (kampungs), are between a rock and a hard place. accept racial equality and they’ll get dropped with a thud by the merits of chinese and indians. reject umno and there goes the gravy train.

i’m sure some malays know the predicament they’re in, but they’re taking what they can and leave the future, or lack of, to the next generation.

the racial riots that gripped indonesia a few years ago were due to a tipping over of 90% concentration of wealth in the 5% chinese hands. but without the chinese what would indonesia be? so the question beckons, without the chinese and indians what would malaysia be today?

malaysia is going the path of oblivion. a country competes best by producing goods and services. if one is lacking, maximize the other (case in point singapore, hk, korea, tw, etc). natural resources are temporary at best, and one should parlay that into capital to fund the production of, guess what, goods and services! malaysia can’t compete on cost of goods produced. that has long gone to china. the service industry is its best bet, but look where we are on the competitiveness ladder. as a country, our skillsets are mired as an afterthought to global employers. didn’t we wanted to be the hub for financial, travel, entertainment, technological, and creative services? what the hell happened to that?

24. #24 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 5:17 am

Barisan Nasional has always won and maintained political power on communal approach based on praxis and double talk of “Malay Unity”, “Chinese Unity” and “Indian Unity” within the larger “Malaysian Unity” when the fact to it is that the objectives of “Malay Unity”, “Chinese Unity” and “Indian Unity” are inconsistent and diametrically opposed to that of Malaysian Unity.

To maintain otherwise is a pretext so shallow that it imposes even on the naive. This communal approach has been a scourge on our national life that is destined to accelerate our descent to the ranks of Nigeria and Somalia…It is an approach that is supposedly rejected by significant portion of Malaysians embrace the supposedly more inclusive agenda of the Pakatan Rakyat (PR) to give them a resounding victory by the much touted ‘political tsunamy’ of 8th March election but lo what do we see here??? A component of PR – Pas or a significant splinter of it – is having talks of “Malay Unity” with UMNO – the very approach that PR is supposedly opposed against .

Now if UMNO talks of “Malay Unity”, that is well known and discounted – but PAS?

What more is there to say further when DAP’s collaboration with PAS knowing fully well the dangers of PAS using PR for its own exclusive agenda for power to further its theocratic aims has already been gainsaid long ago?

The fact is that you cannot trust the majority of politicians, whichever side of the political divide. They will promise a bridge even where there is no river to get that which is the raison de etre of the profession – power, public position, influence and wealth at the rakyat’s expense.

This is why people who are serious about their integrity and principles – whether one agrees with their principles or not – shun politics and do not join political party : one example, RPK.

When Kit talks about politics being a serious business based on intregrity, he is merely talking about an aspiration which only the smallest minority like himself or even Nik Aziz can live up to.

The rest are mere philistines interested in personal prestige of positions and wealth, luxury cars, mansions, good education for their children and expensive jewelley for their wives…And they get to win and keep their positions because somehow and somewhere a bunch of suckers will buy their story and vote them in.

The real enemy is not the politicians, philistines as they may be. It is our mindset. We vote them in and let them be. It is our mindset to think based not on logic but on emotions aroused by appeals to our primodial and basic passions regarding race, religion and of late even sex (as our politics gets more sexualised by allegations of sodomy, an MP giving the hand sign etc). If we were not like that, the bunch of politicians will not be here to keep their positions; they will have long ago been booted out.

The purpose of blog is for us to share thoughts and change this mind set. That is why we must maintain a rational discourse here or else where in other blogs or forums having an influence on public opinion. This mindset is the ultimate primary problem, not the secondary politicians. Democracy grows from bottom upwards and not top down.

25. #25 by daryl on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 5:36 am

Isn’t it sad that a ruling party that champion multi-racial unity instigate race and religion disturbance every time they are challenge. It is even worst that all our MSM are part of the propanganda as well. So, do you still believe in BN. If you do you must really be clueless or you are racist just like UMNO.

26. #26 by kentutoyol on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 6:22 am

Why is it that protecting a majority group is more important than the minority groups who are the weakest and need extra protection. The minority groups doesn’t feel safe. Who can help them?

27. #27 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 6:43 am

“The real enemy is not the politicians… It is our mindset.” Jeffrey

Correct, correct, correct!

The real enemy is limkamput who doesn’t know whether he’s going or he’s coming. One minute he says he’s no racist and that it pains him when others accuse of him of being a racist. Then the next minute he lambasted the Malays for being an indolent lot, unsuitable recruits for the country’s civil service which would be more “efficient” and “dynamic” if it opens its doors to the Chinese. One minute he says we are ready for change. The next minute he says he would like to see the NEP continued until there is a “more equitable distribution of wealth”! He not only endorses the UMNO sponsored NEP but he is an apologist for the racist policies of the UMNO led government.

The likes of limkamput is public enemy #1, a danger to himself and must be eliminated with extreme prejudice.

28. #28 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 6:51 am

“Democracy grows from bottom upwards and not top down.” Jeffrey

Saiful would understand why it works best when it is from the bottom up rather then top down.

29. #29 by flyer168 on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 7:06 am

Dear YB LKS,

UMNO-PAS “Malay Unity” talks

Quote: “The Federal Government spent RM100 million for the 50th Merdeka anniversary celebrations last year. For what?” unquote.

Very well said & it shows “Desperation” in its last throes of “Death”.

I am of the same opinion with you. Do keep up the good effort as we are all in this “sinking Titanic” together.

Where are ALL you God fearing, Law abiding, Tax paying, Peace loving Malaysians…..

Have no fear….if God brought us there….have Faith & He will surely guide us out of there !

Ultimately God will anoint the “True” Leaders of this great nation, not necessary from any party….

In the mid 40s after the 2nd World War & japanese administration…..the Colonials administered Malaya with their “Divide & Rule !”….

Our Forefathers & the “Malayan Independence” groups also had their Trials & Tribulations….& had to be UNITED in their struggles to achieve “ONE GOAL”……

“ONE GOAL” – The Independence of Malaya from the British Colonial administration – Merdeka.

Tunku our Bapa Merdeka together with his first cabinet were established, honest, sincere “Noble” individuals of multi-race & multi religion who had worked & struggled to give Malaya, later Malaysia including all of us “Democracy, Justice & Freedom”….until Tunku was “Betrayed” by the Elite Nationalist Ketetuanan group (maybe some are still alive !)

Sadly, the the Powers-that-be (Elite Nationalist Ketetuanan group have “Divided us yet again & Ruled” !) have screwed this great nation, its assets & all of us for almost three decades….

We are now at the CROSSROADS….and YOU have a CHOICE…..Do we all want to allow the Powers-that-be continue to destroy this great nation, our nation’s assets including our Children & Grandchildrens’ Future…..OR…

We UNITE & FOCUS on the main issue TOGETHER to support our “Defenders of TRUTH, JUSTICE & FREEDOM…

For the BETTERMENT of our great nation, its assets, its Downtrodden rayaat & our Children & Grandchildrens’ Future !

Yes, I have a dream….that soon we will Overcome…to See….!

Malaysia for Malaysians…where EVERY Malaysian citizen can dream about, be given a chance to work hard towards it….to ACHIEVE their “Malaysian Dreams!” Insha Allah.

30. #30 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 7:12 am

“The NEP itself is the admission that the Chinese are more dynamic and business like. If you can’t see it, you are moron” lmkamput

If the NEP is admission of anything, it is an acknowledgment that it is a major tool in the tool bag of UMNOputras and their leaders without which they cannot re-distribute the country’s wealth among themselves, their cronies and their families in the ratio of one for you three for me.

Morons not included.

31. #31 by Kathy on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 7:18 am

kosong Says:

Yesterday at 18: 16.40
    I pity all you poor Chinese and Indians who are stuck in Malaysia. You have all dug a hole for yourselves due to your apathy and inaction over the Malay hegemony Subject to the prejudice and discrimination for decades and only belatedly speaking up when the house of cards have started tumbling down. It’s too late. You have a failing economy, a nation which is unable to compete and you are forever governed by fools. Your ringgit has no value and your education system have gone backwards over the last two decades, no thanks to your Malay brothers. The current generation is slack and lazy and they feed off the wasteful baby boomers who will leave nothing for the future generations. The hardwork of the Chinese and Indian forefathers/migrants have all gone to waste as no-one dared to stand up against the apartheid government and their discriminatory policies. It’s all too late. You have the money then save yourselves by sending the Chinese and Indian children abroad. Save them from these bumis who feast only greed but do not toil

Kosong, most of us non-malays that decided to remain here in Malaysia have our own reasons. Yes, many Chinese and Indians are migrating or sending their children overseas so that they would have a better life here (who wouldn’t?!).

But to me, I chose to come back to Malaysia as I see myself as a Malaysian, not as a Malaysian Chinese but just plain and simple, Malaysian. That means I want to do something for my country, but that does not mean that I totally agree to be treated like a third class citizen and face all the racism that the BN has created.

We are here to make this country a better place for the future generations and I am proud to say that I am a Malaysian.

By the way, the whole world economy is also in the limbo (if you have not notice) not just Malaysia. Laziness is not form in one race – it can be found in all races all over the world.

It is time for people like you to stop talking about the disunity and start taking action on how to unite all races of Malaysians. Start standardizing the policies and laws (especially those in Sabah and Sarawak) to be aligned with the Peninsular side.

Start seeing ourselves as Malaysians and not as Malay, Chinese, Indian, Iban, etc….

32. #32 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 7:47 am

Culture, Arts and Heritage Minister Datuk Seri Shafie Apdal welcomed Malay Unity talks between political rivals, PAS & UMNO. He said the meetings would not only unite the Malays but also other races.

“It doesn’t mean that if one race is united, the rest will be left out. If a good consensus is made, everyone will benefit,” he said.
    PM Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi was quoted to have also said any decision to strengthen Malay unity would take into consideration the interests of non-Malays.

Source – NST at this link http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Tuesday/National/2299804/Article/index_html

By same token and if their logic holds, then it would be good for the DAP to likewise also hold talks with MCA, Gerakan, MIC, PPP and East Malaysian Parties that are predominantly non Malay to talk about the Non Malay Unity.

For it doesn’t mean that if Non Malays were united, the Malays will be left out. If a good consensus is made, everyone will benefit.

And any decision to strengthen Non Malay unity would take into consideration the interests and Special Rights of the Malays under the Constitution. This is the way to go to foster greater Malaysian Unity.

33. #33 by Kathy on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 8:03 am

Jeffrey, agreed with your comment above. If the non-malays hold talks about unity, then UMNO and PAS should not worry at all since it would also benefit them.

But I can bet that , UMNO would send MCA and MIC out to rattle the others in fostering the UMNO way than fostering the Malaysian way.

34. #34 by StevePCH on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 8:16 am

Dear YB… you said it rite. Malaysian Unity !!!! PR is becoming a true coalition of Malaysia unity.

35. #35 by Godfather on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 8:22 am

Non-Malay unity talks ? Who are we kidding here ? What’s the “glue” that is going to hold the non-Malays together ? UMNO and PAS can “justify” their unity talks through a common religion. The non-Malay parties have nothing in common, except for “ki-ki-ku-ki-ki” and that’s no basis for unity talks.

36. #36 by Godfather on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 8:27 am

What Mahathir has taught us during his tenure as PM is that there is a price for everything, and that includes those who cling strongly to their religious tenets. If you can’t win them over with rhetoric, win them over with money. If that doesn’t work, use the ISA.

Hadi and Nasaruddin know what they are getting themselves into. For them to want to talk, despite people like Mike Tyson and Tengku Adnan – implicated in haram activities – holding senior positions in UMNO, can only mean that certain key PAS officials are nothing more than hypocrites.

37. #37 by Elwin Heng on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 8:51 am

He talked, she talked!
    ONLY they can talked, purposely talked abt race!

Who are we, as M’sian?
    Since 1957 independent day, who and/or which race are including/excluding as M’sian? Should we refer backward this history retain our country harmony? Show our respect to M’sia knight(nenek moyang) whom fight for independence?

Whether or not, do you (our current admin, PM) study pendidikan moral or sejarah? Respect, peaceful, harmony, warmest country ~is important or if just comparing to personal benefit (or only for one race)? Come on, you shame, don’t try to influence others!

Throughout 50years, confidence to all races of M’sian, open-minded and ‘tolong-menolong’ ~retain peaceful and warmest environment! To certain ‘tricks’ or ‘darkness’ which might created by “them”, hereby allow us to say: NO, we’re smart enough, wouldn’t easily been influenced by you! We’re peace, wouldn’t prejudice upon race benefit topic!

Do they actually studied or understood, nowadays why certain majority changed to be PR supporter? In believe, Pakatan Rakyat is multi-race and work for rakyat, not benefit for personal! So that, I/we confident and willing to walk alongside PR, will you? You know the ans, don’t you!

Not just only 308, even the following election, still will vote and support PR! One day, willing await and welcome PR to become federal administration!

TQ.
    Warmest regards.

38. #38 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 8:56 am

If Non Malays cannot find the “glue” to unite even amongst themselves, then what hope is that to find the “glue” to forge wider unity between Non Malays and Malays under the banner of Malaysian Unity”? May as well forget it! Any community or collection of communities divided by disparate and divergent selfish interests and incapable of uniting under a common glue will fall and be defeated by a more united community and could blame and protest to no one but only themselves for being continually subordinated and subject to the hegemony of the more united community.

39. #39 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 8:58 am

Oops should be “….what hope is THERE to find the “glue”….”

40. #40 by stjames on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 8:58 am

The mind of the former MB of selangor….. read link.

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/86544

41. #41 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 9:02 am

I for one don’t believe that UMNO-PAS can even work together so long as BN is still in power. The feudal culture just makes it impossible. However, the issue really is whether UMNO-PAS will get together if BN loses power and the threat is real. Many of UMNO MP will defect to PAS if BN loses.

Inevitably that will mean it will come down to Malay Islamic state vs secular-multi-racial. It does not necessary mean that PAS-UMNO will rule but its very real possibility.

UMNO multi-raciality is a facade and is no defense against Islamic state ambitions.

This is not about Malay unity otherwise, talk with Keadilan makes more sense than with PAS. No this is about a defensive move on UMNO part and it reveals the ultimate chess play of UMNO. When the chips come down, they will turn their backs on multi-raciality and secularity.

42. #42 by Kathy on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 9:04 am

The Malays use Islam as their “glue”. What is the common thing among the non-malays then?

Peace, harmony, prosperity, strength in diversity, the common identity as Malaysian? Are these not some of the things that all of us want in common?

We need to stand firm and forget the previous teachings on taking care of our own race only and not bothered about the others. As Malaysians, we stand united in all causes.

43. #43 by Godfather on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 9:06 am

The glue that binds PR since March 8 is simply not strong enough to hold the disparate interests together. Like Jeffrey QC has said, it is more likely that crossovers will occur from PR to BN as opposed to what DSAI has been saying all along. There is a price for everything in politics, and BN can afford that price by virtue of their incumbency.

44. #44 by hennesy on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 9:16 am

Perhaps it’s time for DAP, Gerakan, MCA & MIC and all the other parties unite. We should promote non-racial politics and the bests way is to form a TRUE multi-racial party consisting of EVERY RACE in this country & shed that 200 year old British left-over stigma called race segregation policy. This is provided, MCA & MIC are willing to change. PAS has lost it’s focus, they now harp on racial & religious tones to regain power. They are no different than UMNO anyway. One a religious fanatic, the other, racists power mongers.

45. #45 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 9:16 am

“I have to earn a living due to high inflation to keep my standard of living unlike you who will continue to milk the international community for the rest of your miserable life.” limkamput

Got milk??

46. #46 by Kathy on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 9:20 am

How true Hennesy. But do you think that MIC and MCA will leave the table scrapes that UMNO toss to them on and off for the last 50 years? I don’t think so. If they wanted to change and do what is right, they would have done it within the last 50 years and not wait until everyone tells that they have not done anything for the country.

47. #47 by Kathy on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 9:23 am

Limkamput, at least you have a job to go to. Unlike some of us wanting to work and unable to do so as the Malays in the organizations that we applied to said that the number of non-malays in the organization as exceeded.

48. #48 by blablowbla on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 9:29 am

yes,for all the stupid trengganu bn voters,now u see an ugly face has surfaced!
    14 brand new E200 compressor mercedes!
    which company in bolehland can one shot,purchase it?
    correct me if i m wrong,mb md said just completed a taklimat called”plan your work n work your plan”!
    even he says merze got better 2nd hand values,but after 3-4 years,he will sell all these 14 merze to a ‘self-owned’ used car company for an extremely low price,and later ofcourse will follow the market price,my fren,simpan satu sendiri pakai,lain semua jual,walauyeh,lebih satu jutalah!

is it a good plan?

btw,dear mb md said,can u make a phonecall to ingvar kamprad,ask him despite being a billionaire,how the hell does he still driving an 20- year-old old-junk called volvo?dun also forget to ask him,is LORENZO sofa good?u do not want to buy IKEA bcos it is very cheap n common!U want your guests to stick to the seat for hours so tat u can tell them your successful stories!

49. #49 by hope for futre on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 9:47 am

Don’t PAS leaders have better things to do than talk with Umno.
    Umno leaders had/have so much dirt on them from corruption to abuse of power to injustices that PAS should steer clear of them or mix with them and become like them as it is easier to change from good to evil than the reverse.
    Pas should focus strengthening PR.

50. #50 by oknyua on Wednesday, 23 July 2008 - 9:51 am

“I for one don’t believe that UMNO-PAS can even work together so long as BN is still in power.” Bigjoe

Agree, yet what is that unsettling feelings among us? The unifying agenda among the Malays is religion; the same factor where we read of their blind support for unknown religious fanatics worldwide, or the joint condemnation of what they perceived as a challenge to Islam.

Theocratic PAS and secular UMNO can’t meet; that’s our perception. But the crafty UMNO can change its coating to suit its purpose eg appointing more PAS ulamaks at every corner. They did this when Anwar Ibrahim was kicked off by Mahathir. UMNO shifted from a secular political party to embrace more visible Islamic (Arab) practices. They were fighting for Malay supports. Islam Hadhari is the pinnacle of this Islamic coating, except many Malays regard Hadhari as total failure.

If we follow this argument further, we must remember PAS and DAP as sworn enemies. “Over-my-dead-body” comment has not been buried, yet PAS and DAP forged this PR alliance for what is expedient. To me, PAS-DAP was harder to forge when compared to PAS-UMNO.

No, YB Lim KS, it was not for “Malay-Unity.” I may be alone in this view – but for the sake of Islam they are willing to sacrifice the fine racial balance that has existed for the last 50 years.

Comments are closed.