(Speech at the opening of the Tasek Dalam DAP Branch, Ipoh on Sunday, 20th July 2008 at 12 noon)
The International Trade and Industry Minister, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin said yesterday that his ministry will be looking into attracting investors who are pulling out from China because of high costs there.
Muhyiddin is being too optimistic when he should know that Malaysia has become even more uncompetitive in the past four-and-a-half months since the March 8 “political tsunami” because of the political weakness of the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi which has resulted in his failure to deliver his numerous long-overdue reform pledges.
This is one important reason why despite the Mid-Term Review of the Ninth Malaysia Plan, the Kuala Lumpur Composite Index (KLCI) on Friday plunged to its lowest level since the end of 2006!
After the recent general election, Abdullah had assured Malaysians that he had finally heard their voices and would begin to implement reforms to regain public confidence in his administration.
Nearly five months have passed and apart from rhetoric, very little has been delivered by Abdullah.
In the three areas of police, judicial and anti-corruption reforms which Abdullah had made specific mention, Abdullah has nothing to show.
What is worse, recent events, in particular the scandal of the two statutory declarations by private investigator Bala Subramaniam and his disappearance, the continued harassment of Anwar Ibrahim and Raja Petra Kamaruddin, the abuse of police powers and the lack of accountability by the Home Minister, Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar over the three-day 1,600-strong police lockdown of Kuala Lumpur and Klang Valley based on the false intelligence of a non-existing Pakatan Rakyat top leadership meeting to plan massive demonstration in Parliament, have further undermined national and international confidence in the Abdullah government.
As a result, the past four-and-a-half months have witnessed the continued deterioration of the crisis of confidence confronting Abdullah, although the Barisan Nasional had been returned with a strong majority of 58 MPs in the recent general election – with even leaders in Barisan Nasional losing confidence in Umno and BN government.
Malaysia is not going to be attractive to foreign investors unless the nation is capable of being globally competitive through major institutional reforms and by giving top priority to meritocracy in all spheres of national endeavour.

#1 by riversandlakes on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 10:36 am
Did you guys see “Malaysia police chief, AG barred from Anwar probe” :D
Pak “What” Lah exposes yet again his inability to lead. What kind of “rule of law” is he trying to show in this country with suspending the police chief and AG?
WAHAHA!
#2 by ch on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 11:11 am
Dear All,
From my point of view, Malaysia is a truly God-gifted country, with its abundance of natural reserves, diversity of multi-cultural and religious society and relatively safe from natural calamities. These three vital ingredients would have given Malaysia an advantage over Thailand, Singapore, Vietnam and Indonesia in attracting foreign investors. Almost everyone in Malaysia speak English and this is yet another advantage over others, for example, Thailand or South Korea for that matter. Malaysia boasts itself with the largest industry in manufacturing, relatively thriving electronics and semiconductor chipmakers and strong furniture factories. We are also extremely strong in agricultural, construction and tourism.
Malaysia can always be a good home for Middle Eastern investors due to Islam. Halal hub is yet another sector which the government should strongly take advantage of.
However, Malaysia is currently under-going a difficult path as the political scenario has changed drastically after March 2008 election. UMNO has suddenly found itself somewhat of a power-struggle and many were questioning the efficacy of Abdullah’s stewardship going through these turbulent period. The Opposition has renewed calls incessantly that they will form the new Federal Government by Sept 16 with collosal defections from the ruling coaliations. Investors are now packing their bags in search for some other more politically stable country while we are given time to sort out our political mess. For better or for for worse, the political mess that our politicians got into after March 2008 got even messier with the purportedly trumped up charge on Anwar, Raja Petra’s “web talk” of Najib’s involvement in the Altantuya murder case, hike in petrol price and an array of other political issues. These political issues created a situation whereby politicians are busy doing fire-fighting and I hope they have not neglected their most important priority i.e. administering the country as a result. The most recently report that PAS is holding friendly talks with UMNO is yet another given fact that Malaysian politicians have yet to mature themselves above race and religious politics. For fear of being marginalized, we can note that politicians will be more than willing to do anything.
Negative overseas reports of human rights abuses, beating of detainees by police and all have given a bad splash on Malaysia in the eyes of foreign investors particularly from the US, Canada and most European countries. Bold and daring IT heist in Penang a year or so ago had created a bad taste on Malaysia to IT investors from the US. The issue is further exacerbated as the case went unresolved!
Having said all the above, I note that Penang and Perak have came out cheering with the notion that billions of foreign direct investment figures will be moving into the states in the near future. Are they true or mere rhetorics? Time will tell and at the end of the day, investors are only interested in a politically stable country to do business and earn money.
Are we going through the birth pangs of a new government?
#3 by Toyol on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 11:14 am
What do foreign investors want?
1) stable political landscape
2) good education system
3) impartial judiciary
4) transparency and good governance
5) effective police force
6) able workforce
7) effective leadership
8) well managed economy
Do we have any of these? If not, then we will not be competitive.
Factories who relocate from China will end up in Vietnam or Thailand, rather than Malaysia. Why? Because we have the opposite of all the above!
#4 by monsterball on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 11:36 am
Lim Kit Siang should do well….pracitizing freedom of speeches and rights.
Few of my messages are moderated and deleted.
I wonder why.
#5 by alikim on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 11:41 am
“In the three areas of police, judicial and anti-corruption reforms which Abdullah had made specific mention, Abdullah has nothing to show” shows it will only be a dream if we persist that we have an edge over our neighbouring countries to attract investors.
#6 by kcee on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 11:45 am
A well write article about the outstanding issues confronting Malaysia in Asia Sentinels:
http://asiasentinel.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1338&Itemid=35
#7 by monsterball on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 11:47 am
When Gerakan was riding high and mighty…any opinions that the Gerakan leaders do not like to hear….were told to resign.
Does DAP also practise such habits?
I for one believe…one who dares to criticise a friend …with substances…is a real good friend.
#8 by Cinapek on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 12:22 pm
When I read the minister’s statement “… attracting investors who are pulling out from China because of high costs there…”, the first thing that came to my mind was he has resigned himself to be a second choice investment destination for MNCs. In other words we are now resigned to picking up the crumbs that fell off the table.
Why such defeatist attitudes? By doing so, he has already tacitly admitting that we have lost out to countries such as China, Vietnam etc as investment destinations of choice. In short, FDI has seriously dropped and we are feeling the pinch, contrary to all the public spins put out that we are doing well.
There is a lot of hypes that Arabs are investing in the various economic development regions. But these Arab investments rarely create significant employment or contribute to Malaysia’s economic growth. Most of them are property purchases that the Arabs sees as a quick money making venture which they can resell at a later date.
What this Govt. need to do is to sit down and go back to the drawing boards and rethink, reengineer and rebrand Malaysia as a good investment destination in order to be perceived as a investment destination of choice and not as an afterthought.
#9 by nyghtsky on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 12:58 pm
Govt too concern with covering their behind to look into the public interest let alone Malaysia’s competitiveness.
#10 by donng55 on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 1:03 pm
Appended below is a piece from RPK which I would like all to share and chew on.
I don’t believe everyone in PKR is like this but it is something we all need to be aware of and watch out for when PKR is leading the PR. The question is is Anwar aware of it, does he condone such ‘cult’ behavior/trend, and, above all, what’s he going to do about it?
We condemn in the strongest terms the manner Anwar was arrested (before the 2pm deadline), treated (unnecessarily spent a night in the lockup), and being deprived of the police report made by the accuser. But, we MUST NOT EVER AGAIN allow our emotion to rule our head when we come to deal with things that affect our nation and the future of our children. … God Bless.
——————————–
The cult called PKR
Written by Super Admin
Sunday, 13 July 2008
THE CORRIDORS OF POWER
Raja Petra Kamarudin
http://72.47.215.31/2008/content/view/9836/84/
#11 by gundam on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 1:06 pm
all the skeletons in the closet mst be revealed first b4 malaysia can be competitive again.
#12 by JeyS on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 1:32 pm
hahahahaha
what public’s interest?? They (BN) only see for their interest la friend. The day they actually do things for the publics’ interest…thats doomsday in malaysia.
#13 by alancheah on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 3:09 pm
Good Luck to Malaysia!
#14 by JeyS on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 3:20 pm
Well said alan…Good luck Malaysia!!
#15 by lew1328 on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 4:54 pm
Greetings! YB
It is time for you and all others PR members to draw a future road map for Malaysia in order to prepare yours for a new government instead. These must come from various sector stated in all the above.
We do not wish to see the step and repeat of the blind leads the blind story when the time is close.
We pray and hope for the “Change”, and country “Stability” count on you.
#16 by One4All4One on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 5:01 pm
My dear fellow discussion members and all who care enough to read and reflect:
So much had been said here and elsewhere regarding the state of affairs in the country we call home.
What has come out of all the views and opinions? Surely someone in position would have taken note of all and sundry? And having sieved through whatever there are, the good and the bad, sensible and nonsensical, wise and silly, novel and archaic, workable and impossible, balanced and off-side, etc., etc., where do we go from here?
The leaders do not seem to be doing what are considered to be urgent and rightful for the general good of the rakyat. Money seems to be pumped here and there on an, at best, ad hoc and reactionary basis. The methodologies ( if, any) do not appear to be cohesive and well thought out. It adds to confusion and glaring inefficiencies the manner the country is being administered.
The rakyat surely deserve better. But in the state of confusion and gross neglect what hope and recourse do the rakyat have? Indeed, the average Malaysians are in a state of loss and delusion.
Disappointment and anger is everywhere. Don’t the powers-that-be sense these? Certainly we can do away with denials?
In this climate, how does the government hope to attract foreign investment? If the house is not in order, how could we expect our guests to feel comfortable and confident?
The people must not be mislead to believe in whatever the leaders thought are fundamental and final. Certainly Malaysians of all ethnic background are generally a gentle and sensible lot. It is the so-called leaders who are adding salt to wounds, lacking in wisdom and commonsense, who are doing more harm than good.
From the parliament house to the everyday newspapers, magazines and even the electronic media, one can read and hear ill-balanced articles and writings which serve nothing more than provocation and misinformation. To the uninitiated these could be perceived as gospel truths. Racial strive and tension are, more often than not, borne out of these irresponsible and parochial messages. Where do we draw the line?
Race, ethnicity, religion, culture and customs are sometimes taken out of context and being used as cards and chips in the gamble for a place in our society. For those who profess religious beliefs in whatever form and being God-fearing, religions are not to be brought up at all as no one is questioning their right.
The same goes for one’s ethnic background. No one is questioning the colour of another’s skin. If one cares to note, certain politicians are bent on sensationalizing issues of race and their inherent rights, believing that there are protecting their own kind? Why can’t they be fair and sensible to do good for all? Why have to fight for quotas when they can have it all, if they do it right? Thought we are taught to be meritorious the day we stepped into the place called schools? What do we expect of our kids if we don’t practise what we preach?
I pray that Malaysians would open their eyes and mind in this ever great place called Malaysia, lest we fall further backward in this beautiful and challenging world.
#17 by Puppy-Power on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 5:24 pm
the govt shouldn’t do anything about the economy. They do not have the intellectual prowess or gumption to do so. We’re talking about a govt that can think 10 years ahead of the value curve.
I’m talking about Singapore plonking huge R&D and incentives in biotech when everyone was still going gaga about computerchips and rubber.
I’m talking about South Korea specializing in shipbuilding way back in the 1970′s…..look at these economies now – they are market leaders in their own right, and self-sustaining. These results in value creation and a higher standard of living.
I’m not interested in myopic policies like building bridges, buildings and FDI without any concrete economic vision. It’s so damn passe!
I have yet to see anybody that far-sighted – both from BN or PR.
#18 by k1980 on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 5:42 pm
Will malaysia end up like nigeria, an oil exporter?
With oil prices at record highs, government coffers in the world’s eighth biggest oil exporter are swollen to unprecedented levels.Yet the vast majority of Nigeria’s 140 million people live in no better conditions than their neighbours in West Africa, the least developed region of the world’s poorest continent…
http://www.reuters.com/article/homepageCrisis/idUSL14702123._CH_.2400
#19 by One4All4One on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 6:29 pm
Correction:
The rakyat surely deserve better. But in the state of confusion and gross neglect what hope and recourse do the rakyat have? Indeed, the average Malaysians are in a state of loss and disillusioned.
#20 by Godfather on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 6:57 pm
“I have yet to see anybody that far-sighted – both from BN or PR.” Puppy-Power said.
Vote in PR and I will show you. I will not show the BN how it’s done in other countries because all they care about is how much can they steal out of every initiative.
#21 by citizenwatch on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 7:22 pm
It’s unfortunate that we see the relentless attacks on the BN Ministers and bigwigs. Muhyiddin is the latest casualty.
Hamid Alba has been termed stupid. Please give him a break. The poor man is only doing his job as Home Adornment Minister. Of course there was an impending rally. The reliable intelligence he acquired from Intelligence Quotient 25, (I.Q. 25) not to be taken lightly.
Khir Toyo until now is still within the cross-hairs of opponents. It’s not fair. Didn’t he help in sprucing up Selangor by holding up a broom in public to start a community campaign in cleaning up? As a result the civil servants and the community he gave the brooms to paid back in kind and cleaned up Selangor of dirt and Khir himself. And he was reported (discussed by bewildered Sun reporters) to have said several times to the effect of, “…the funds will be put in the state coffin”. I think Khir will agree when one dies, he or she will be put in a coffer.
As for Muhyiddin, most of you attacked him for being too optimistic, out of touch and not too smart. Au contraire, on the contrary. If I were him, that’s what I will gladly do and go to China – during the Olympics. Meet the investors at the Games at the various exclusive corporate hospitality lounges, namely stadiums, hotels, etc. and enjoy the sumptuous spread of food and drinks and first class treatment. Talk with the investors about the latest scores, medal tally, who’s the favourite to win most medals. And not forgetting to talk about investing in Malaysia – in a few years time when it is stable again and with a new government.
#22 by ktteokt on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 8:00 pm
Badak, you forgot one more criteria – abolishing the NEP and Malay equity. You think any idiot will want to bring in RM1 just to “share” 30 sen with the Bumiputras?
#23 by AhPek on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 8:12 pm
All countries require FDI for economic growth. We generally categorise foreign investment into 2 types, foreign portfolio investment and foreign direct investment.The investment that I think Puppy-Power thinks we shouldn’t be having is probably foreign portfolio investment.Portfolio investment is seen as a volatile source of investment because of whims.Investment managers or hedge fund managers can pull money out of one country and put it into another or into gold or dollars and if a lot of such investors do this at once,the coutry could experience a financial crisis.So such investment should obviously best avoided.Foreign direct investment is seen as the more stable source of foreign investment because it is less liquid.In an ideal world,it will also bring additional technologies or management skills to the recipient country.
Having said this, less take a look at the ten most attractive FDI destination in 2007 based on the WORLD INVESTMENT SURVEY by UNCTAD.
(1) China
(2) India
(3) The United States
(4) Russia
(5) Brazil
(6) Vietnam
(7) United Kingdom
(8) Australia
(9) Mexico
(10) Poland and Germany
The UNCTAD result is based on surveying 192 largest transnational corporations,over two-thirds of which expect to expand their foreign
investment annually and by 11% of which confirmed Vietnam would
be their most attractive investment opportunity in the coming years.
So Muhyiddin who mentions about MALAYSIA?It is not in their radar
screen,you id..t. And China has always been top destination since
survey started.So don’t talk c..k again!!
#24 by AhPek on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 8:26 pm
Correction. “So such investment should best be avoided.”.
“Having said this, let us take a look,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,”.
#25 by kosong on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 8:37 pm
I am so happy to see this country rot and become like Indonesia. While the country goes down the drain, the bumis fight from dusk to dawn over who should rule this shit hole. The Cinas/MCA/Gerakan now just keep quiet like naughty schoolboys who have been sent to the corner. The Indians fight for nothing because they have nothing to fight over. Meanwhile the dumb Malaysians use up all their oil and complain about their cheap subsidized oil being expensive. Wait till the oil runs out and all hell will break loose. UMNO will not be able to give the bumis what they used to have and will take all from the Cinas and Indians will become like slaves and then when there is nothing left to take from the Cinas and all the Indians drop dead, the bumis will burn the country and Cinas/Hindus down just like their brothers the Indos.
My advice to Uncle Kit and his family, you’re wasting your effort. When you’re winning you might end up in ISA or they might just C4 you.
#26 by Hishamuddin on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 8:51 pm
YB Lim,
I never understand this inflation calculation thing. Since Jan 2008
1. Petrol price up more than 40%
2. Average eggs price up 20%
3. Meat, Chicken, pork, mutton and beef up more than 30%
4. Rice up 30%
5. Average a cup of coffee in the mamak store up 20%. From RM 1 to 1.2
6. Average “Chap Fan” up 20%.
7. Even the shaving foam I use is up 20% from the supermarket on sales now.
8. Electricity up 10%
My spending or household usage up easily 20% now.
What the hell is our Minister talking about an inflation rate of 5% this year ?. Does he not know mathematics and never go to the supermarket ?
If they still have this mentailty that everything is under control at 5%, then we are all heading for a tough time. He is so stupid, hedoes not know anything.
Come on, wake up and meet the real world rather than sitting in your tempuring.
#27 by lopez on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 8:52 pm
Please please economics in the contemporary school of thought teaches us that it is either under state control or otherwise , as we called market determinants
So why r some of us so sucked into the idea that is has to come from the gomen.
What is really needed is relaxation of the strangle hold onto those boilhland horsey from running and galloping to their respective home runs,,,,,,all it needs is market orientated policies, the gomen return to their traditional roles , let us have honest policing
It a change of those policies that most would lile to us happening and it is gravely urgent, i hope some of you can see from that angle.
Not the current hum lan grasped and preferentially partitioned or any of it variants and bull shitting pretending to be smart or intelligent hopefully can impressed some the fence seaters out there.
#28 by The Enforcer on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 9:06 pm
Thanks bro Ahpek for the info.
#29 by Puppy-Power on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 9:31 pm
Godfather says:
“Vote in PR and I will show you. I will not show the BN how it’s done in other countries because all they care about is how much can they steal out of every initiative”
No offense – but i think you just know how to write good English. U ain’t no Lee Kuan Yee. As for me, I admit – i do not have the brains or the heart to govern. Perhaps u shouldn’t be so quick in blowing that flashy trumpet of yours, greenhorn
#30 by Puppy-Power on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 9:32 pm
ooops typo – lee kuan yew – sorry, my england not so good – i also quite stupid – not so clever like godfather :)
#31 by Godfather on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 9:56 pm
Puppy-Power:
I’ve been called many things in the past, but never as a “greenhorn”. Anyway, I forgive your “england”. If you are not so clever like me, then give way to those who are cleverer. That’s what meritocracy is all about.
#32 by Puppy-Power on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 10:08 pm
sure – i’ll give way to other people that r deserving
just not to you, greenhorn :) didn’t realise u r soooo sensitive…..cheer up, clever one…..the bastion of our brighter future……….
#33 by Godfather on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 10:10 pm
Puppy-Power:
It doesn’t take a genius to realise that if a foreign investor has to give away a minimum of 30 pct of his shares to a bumiputra, and over time if there is a dispute with that bumiputra, the foreign investor will lose his case under an UMNO-controlled judiciary, which foreign investor would be so stupid as to come invest in Bolehland ?
A greenhorn foreign investor ? A puppy foreign investor ?
#34 by Puppy-Power on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 10:13 pm
godfather – no such word as “cleverer”
u cannot stoop to my level of england lah – maintain lah some standard sikit :)….u must raise the bar on meritocracy mah….
malu saja u…….. :)
#35 by Godfather on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 10:20 pm
eh, got Malaysian English mah….local school makes cleverest students….ask people like RealWorld….
#36 by Godfather on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 10:22 pm
…but then my hands are too shaky at my old age to even bother opening a dictionary….so forgive my level of “england” too….
#37 by Godfather on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 10:32 pm
Puppy:
If one doesn’t steal, one should not be malu lah….unfortunately those who steal also tak malu and that is the real problem with Bolehland.
#38 by tourman53 on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 10:45 pm
From 23 millions citizen in Malaysia Saiful can manage to get Najib to help him in the sodomy saga. And of all the people he’s related to Pak Lah. The world is really too small.
#39 by passerby on Monday, 21 July 2008 - 11:01 pm
The biggest impediment to attraction foreign investment is umno and the rubber-stamp bn government. Get rid of umno and the fdi will start to flow in.
Before we forget we must not lose sight of sending the murderers of Altantuya to hell.
Let set a date to commemorate her death. Can anyone suggest a date please.
#40 by pjboy on Tuesday, 22 July 2008 - 12:27 am
For an fdi to move in, they will also consider the purchasing power or potential growth in the GNP per capita. There is a rating called GINI & in 2005, we were worst of than Thailand & Indonesia. If people have not enough disposable income, then what economy is there? Just pumping petrol only? I don’t have the facts & figures with me but it’s not difficult to research to find in the past 10-20 years, how much is our growth in GNP per capita income. When we know the figures, the next question is why? We just need to look at 3 key economic factors ie values of each say 20 years ago for:
1. House – say double story link may have increased by 5-6x
2. Car – mid-size family japanese sedan may have increased by 4-5x
3. Salary – graduates increased by x???, not even 2x I think.
How many of us out there were only able to purchase a home – without help from parents – after only working like a dog for over 10 years? By which time, the selling price would have doubled. The interest rate also different.
Essential goods are rising in price. Meanwhile industrial goods have never enjoyed good profit. If profit no good, how to pay better? When economy not good, make things worst. Here’s a simple analogy:
a shop owner wants to increase the staff pay due to their dedication, whatever-lah. business was good, then economy start to slide. the pay rise put on hold. staff personal expenses on the rise due to higher expenses (food, petrol, etc). naturally, staff will cut their spending in order to cover the higher cost of living, not necessarily better standard of living. so, when wages stagnate, cost goes up => ballooning inflation. economy slides further down. something drastic need to be done before we enter intensive care unit (ICU). Right now, the gov love to play firefighter. Must be a deprived childhood.
#41 by katdog on Tuesday, 22 July 2008 - 1:36 am
Just to share with you guys, you can get accurate information for the FDI from the UNCTAD World Investment Report series.
Latest one out is 2007, which compile the year 2006 data
Some interesting fact for FDI inflows from 2004, 2005 , 2006.
(in billions)
Malaysia 4.6, 3.9, 6.0
Singapore 19.8, 15.0, 24.2
Thailand 5.8, 8.9, 9.7
Thailand and Singapore are consistently ahead of Malaysia in terms of FDI from 2004 – 2006. So lets not even bother talking about China whose FDI inflow is 69.4 billion. 10x of Malaysia.
Another interesting fact, in 2006 FDI inflow to Malaysia is 6.0 billion. But check out the FDI outflow (amount of money Malaysian companies invest outside Malaysia). In 2006, Malaysia’s FDI outflow: 6.0 billion.
As much money comes in, seems like same amount of money going out. This is probably in line with my oservations that many local Malaysian companies are themselves shifting operations out to neighbours like Thailand, Indonesia and Vietnam.
#42 by AhPek on Tuesday, 22 July 2008 - 2:43 am
katdog,
Your information of the 2006 figures stating an inflow of 6 billion in FDI and also an outflow of FDI (investment of Malaysians in foreign nations) result in a net ZERO in investment capital.In other words there is no enhancement to the Malaysian economy from savings in 2006.
Not only Malaysia loses out to both Thailand and Singapore in the Gini index (this index measures the distribution of wealth) Malaysia is the worst in Asia if not for Papa New Guinea and also loses out to Singapore if you refer to Human Development Index (HDI) as well.These indices indeed the ‘wellness of the nation’, so to speak.
#43 by AhPek on Tuesday, 22 July 2008 - 2:44 am
Correction. ‘These indices measure the ‘wellness’ of the nation so to speak.’.
#44 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 22 July 2008 - 6:24 am
How to compete if the nation is flooded with “jellyfishes” – boneless, spineless and otakless!
#45 by blablowbla on Tuesday, 22 July 2008 - 8:58 am
which foreign investors wud like to ‘risk’ their investments in a country tat requires to reserve 30% bumi quota(shares,management and staff),and at the same time,paying whopping 28% revenue tax to a dumb gomen?
so,most of the foreigners,expatriates,businessmen are merely speculators,once they opt ‘exit’ simultaneously,our economy will be like a lost- controlled heli plunging into deep blue sea!
Like the recent Nikko Electronics plant…………..and many others!
Shall i say,the BN being the Federal Gomen is very short-sighted,they are implementing a system tat discouraged ppl to come and encouraged ppl to go to other countries!
Damn stupid Barang Naik gomen!
#46 by flyer168 on Tuesday, 22 July 2008 - 10:33 am
Dear YB LKS,
Exactly, just how does a nation’s PM & MIT who cannot even take care of the National / Domestic Security, the Judiciary, the corruptions , the plight of its Downtrodden citizens, MNIs, Local business, etc with their arrogance & “Ketetuanan” mentality expect to woo those FDIs. As a matter of fact the Foreign Investers have left and are leaving our shores with the present Political climate.
They must be real “Desperados” used to their “Ketetuanan” habits now expect foreign business to “Kow Tow” to them also !
Ofcourse the opportunities are aplenty….but with them still maintaining their “spoilt brat” kampong mentality playing Kindergarten “Hide & Seek” with the DSAI, RPK, etc…how do you expect those “Windfalls” & opportunities to be taken advantage of successfully !
So it becomes just another BN/UMNO rhetorics !
#47 by mysn1st on Tuesday, 22 July 2008 - 7:57 pm
Again this move might shake the Malaysia political structure. I personally feel that PAS and UNMO have one common view, viz. Islamic Country. I am not surprise they make these kind of discussion or even they might merge as one when time come.
#48 by mysn1st on Tuesday, 22 July 2008 - 8:08 pm
YB,
How about the local investor’s?
Federal government only aim the GLC companies, but how about the rest? You know these companies had gone to China, Vietnam, Dubai and etc.
To webmaster: Apologize on wrong posting and please remove my previous comment.
#49 by shortie kiasu on Tuesday, 22 July 2008 - 10:11 pm
We would not want to condemn the International Trade and Industry Minister, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, just as yet for his noble intention waiting for the incestors who exited from China. That is like waiting for ‘durian runtuh’.
Those investors who quited China would not come here, the said minister should realize, this country is never a lowest cost producer through the abuse, corruptions, red tape in the administration, inconsistency in policies, discriminating and selective implementation of rule and regulations.
The domestic market in malaysia is extremely small compared to China. If an operation cannot survive in China and has to move out, it cannot surivive in a small market like malaysia. The minister must learn the basic economics to carry out his basic functions, lest be another laughing stock to the people and to the world at large.
#50 by shortie kiasu on Tuesday, 22 July 2008 - 10:12 pm
Corrigendum:
“Investors” and NOT “Incestors” in line 3 in the above posting. Error regretted.