Anwar Ibrahim has been denied bail and is being detained by the police overnight, purportedly so that the police could take a “further statement”.
This is a most ridiculous reason, as Anwar had been questioned for five hours today before he was taken to Kuala Lumpur hospital for two hours.
The Prime Minister and the Police should be aware that world attention is focused on Anwar’s detention and if there is any ill-treatment of Anwar as happened ten years ago, there will be no place for anyone, regardless of station, to hide.

#1 by bzbody on Thursday, 17 July 2008 - 7:59 am
This is really unbecoming. It’s getting into my nerve now. Honestly, if today anyone were to organize a mass rally on the street despite the presence of police and army, I would go down the street for the first time. I’m all for it now! Now or never!
#2 by Mr Smith on Thursday, 17 July 2008 - 8:15 am
I call upon all Barisan MPs, who believe in God and have a conscience to stand up for TRUTH. Do you still want to be part of an evil regime that is totally devoid of an iota of morality and decency. It is corrupt to the core. It is destroying the country – the country which your children will inherit.
The entire institutions of government has collapsed. The PM does not know what is happening in the country.
Are you going to allow these UMNO devils to destroy this country.
If you do so, then you too will carry their sins with you to hell.
Now flee that sinking BN ship and make the difference. Save this country.Amen.
#3 by StevePCH on Thursday, 17 July 2008 - 8:27 am
i have known many, yes, many good police officers. I am just wondering why is it so different at the very top level. The perception that police force useless is wrong except for some “special” individuals” and their goons.
Excuse : MAYBE not coming then arrest
Excuse : NOT enough time to take statement then extend detention
The police said he is not being treated preferentially which I think DSAI is being treated so. Not for better but worse
#4 by Mr Smith on Thursday, 17 July 2008 - 8:50 am
An Open letter to all BN MPs – flee that sinking BN ship.
http://mrsmith2.blogspot.com/
#5 by PHUAKL on Thursday, 17 July 2008 - 8:56 am
Dear Supporters of Genuine Democracy
The Chilean invention of banging pots and pans at a fixed time is a good one to show dissatisfaction with the authorities.
The people pick up their pots and pans in their own kitchens and own homes and bang as loudly as they can. People who are not at home can also go to eating shops and pick up utensils and bang them as loudly as possible. Other possibilities — blowing whistles, sounding car horns. But all at the same time for 15 to 30 minutes.
Phua Kai Lit
#6 by taiking on Thursday, 17 July 2008 - 8:57 am
The actions and steps taken. They are all so predictable. They are all so obvious.
The reasons and the justifications given. They are all so lame. So UMNO. So ridiculous. So stupid.
Remember the iraqi child who lost all four limbs during the second desert storm.
Its like bush junior telling that child “You are now liberated.” Its so stupid. So ridiculous. So lame. So like UMNO.
#7 by taikohtai on Thursday, 17 July 2008 - 9:02 am
If BN thinks they can continue to frighten the rakyat by their goons PDRM terrorist acts, they are terribly mistaken. Yes, the protesters may run away in face of chemical sprays but their spirits never waver. In fact, their resolve will grow even more as more injustice are melted by the evil and corrupt regime.
Yes, there may be more pain to come but it is necessary as the rakyat strenthens its resolve to put Malaysia where it belongs – to all righteous and peace loving Malaysians!
#8 by blablowbla on Thursday, 17 July 2008 - 9:07 am
world abusing power index:
1st:sudan
1st runner’s up:zimbabwee
2nd runner’s up:kenya
3rd runner’s up:myanmar
4th runner’s up:north korea
5th runner’s up:malaysia
tat is before 15/july/2008,now,the latest WAP index:
1st:malaysia!
nevermindlah,without olympic gold medal,which i think so,better reward ourselves with tis ‘gold’ medal!
#9 by kcee on Thursday, 17 July 2008 - 9:13 am
Instead of catching real criminals the police are threatening its Citizen who are law abiding! If that’s the way they treat us might as well disband them and hire our own private securities. These goons forgot that we the Rakyat are paying their salaries!
#10 by yog7948 on Thursday, 17 July 2008 - 9:23 am
How pleasant for having Vendetta BN government. Sore losers with pea brain. If just anything happen to DSAI in there, the government won’t be able to withstand the peoples turmoil.
These stupid government totally aware that they have loose the peoples confidence. They are holding on there just because of Sabahan and Sarawakian MP seat.
There is no need to wait for 16 Sept. JUST DO IT NOW! people are really eager to see all those inept, corrupted and unmoral BeEnd scumbags sent to rot in jail.
#11 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 17 July 2008 - 9:46 am
This whole thing is STUPID. The excuse that Anwar may NOT show up at 2pm is LAME!!!! But its stupid because this case is tainted already and the police don’t see it necessary to raise their standard of behaviour at time like this instead concern that they will look dumb or weak. What is ironical, is they proving themselves dumb and weak by doing what they did.
#12 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 17 July 2008 - 9:52 am
On Yesterday Parliament session.
Wan Azizah made a good point but missed a crucial point when she asked KJ how did he know what is in police report. DNA evidence at this juncture is suspect. 1 week after the incident the guy filed the charges. Any expert will tell you the evidence is suspect even DNA.
So why harp on it? Why so eager to even hang on to weak circumstantial evidence? Because its about targeting Anwar on anything they can and they don’t care to be responsible about what are important issue.
This is what happens when you take a coddled liberal arts graduate to lead and manage in tough technology era.
#13 by Jong on Thursday, 17 July 2008 - 10:01 am
10 am News on tv1 – Anwar’s free – “dibebaskan dengan jaminan polis”.
#14 by Toyol on Thursday, 17 July 2008 - 10:20 am
Stupid Bodowi led government is more interested in pursuing someone for sexual misconduct than running the country. All the roadblocks are using up precious police manpower…which could be put to use to apprehend criminals and guard public safety.
However,as with BN, they are more interested in guarding their own personal interest rather than the country’s. If DSAI assumed sexual misconduct is so serious as to warrant the whole city coming to a standstill, what about the murder of a foreign national with plastic explosives!!!??? Isn’t this a REAL threat to national security? Govt always get its priority wrong. We cannot continue like this.
#15 by riversandlakes on Thursday, 17 July 2008 - 10:28 am
Well said, Uncle Lim. BN is treating on ice.
The Prime Minister and the Police should be aware that world attention is focused on Anwar’s detention and if there is any ill-treatment of Anwar as happened ten years ago, there will be no place for anyone, regardless of station, to hide.
#16 by Richardqed on Thursday, 17 July 2008 - 10:29 am
“Malaysia is bringing in forensic experts from abroad to examine all evidence gathered in connection with the investigation into sodomy claims against opposition icon Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.
This unprecedented move is aimed at assuring the Malaysian public and foreign investors that the government is prepared to be more transparent in the handling of this case, compared with 1998 when the sodomy case against the former deputy prime minister was dogged with accusations of a conspiracy and incompetence.
The Malaysian Insider has learnt that the government has even been mulling the possibility of using a special prosecutor if the case goes to court.” — From Malaysianinsider site.
All for sandiwara. Who do they think they can fool?
Firstly, any so-called evidence would have been obtained by the police. Would anyone trust the way any so-called evidence is obtained by them?
If they want to be really transparent, it is the judge that should be foreign and of good reputation, and there should be a panel of foreign judges instead of just one. It should also be held overseas, to avoid intimidation against key figures in the case.
#17 by tangwengheng on Thursday, 17 July 2008 - 10:32 am
Sense of deja vu as Anwar gets arrested ahead of deadline
http://tangwengheng.blogspot.com/
The police officers were wearing balaclavas. The roads leading to his house were cordoned off. Order of arrest had been issued, but no reason was given.
The crowd had gathered outside. He was bundled into a police vehicle with dark tinted windows. So it is not surprising for Anwar’s wife, Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah to feel a little apprehensive.
Anwar called on her cell phone after being arrested. “He has a bad back, he’s had surgery. And (during our) the brief conversation he said they (police) were not gentle,” she said.
The police had on Tuesday given Anwar a 2pm deadline to answer allegations of sodomy. But later decided not to wait.
Anwar was stopped outside the gates of his home this morning, by armed police. He was subsequently taken to police HQ in a large convoy.
The arrest which received wide coverage on all the major news networks, has been described as “highly provocative and shocking” by DAP adviser Lim Kit Siang. Meanwhile, Azmin Ali, the vice president of PKR, called the arrest “outrageous and very uncivilized”.
Whether the arrest will lead to large demonstrations remains to be seen. However the added instability will surely be negative to an already weakened economy.
#18 by passerby on Thursday, 17 July 2008 - 10:51 am
I think everyone have already said enough, cursed enough and prayed enough and I don’t think the govt. will going to change and be fair and transparent.
They know we are after all just internet warriors and won’t be able to do any harm to them. I think they also know the keyboard is a good place for us to punch our frustrations away and that we will feel much better the next day.
If we are serious for change, then we must deny them your money by moving it out of the country. Once the country is without money, it will be easier to convince the rest of the population to vote for change. Tell your family members, relatives and friends to do the same and you will see a new gov. for sure.
#19 by andy6000 on Thursday, 17 July 2008 - 11:41 am
Will they rasuah DSAI ?
#20 by BoycottLocalPapers on Thursday, 17 July 2008 - 1:36 pm
Why during last election campaign Kera Jantan said on TV3 that Anwar Ibrahim “main kot belakang?” Is Kera Jantan behind Saifool to make Najis look bad or Najis was the one paying Saifool?
I feel sad for Anwar Ibrahim & RPK. A very sad day for Malaysia. These evil wicked UMNO leaders are trying to stop Anwar & RPK from exposing their damn wicked evil corrupt deeds.
#21 by kenghuei on Thursday, 17 July 2008 - 1:52 pm
YB Lim.. US and Japan has spoke up so far.. I think only the international voice can change/affect this government.. no matter what they may say or think that M’sian domestic affairs are controlled by foreign powers…rally for international support as the last resort!
#22 by Ah Deng on Thursday, 17 July 2008 - 3:46 pm
I dunno why my comment is still awaiting moderation….Read my comment if it is posted, interesting!!!
#23 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 17 July 2008 - 8:10 pm
Jong Says:
Today at 10: 01.37 (10 hours ago)
“10 am News on tv1 – Anwar’s free – “dibebaskan dengan jaminan polis”.
The police by themselvs allowing bail maintains their jurisdiction over the matter, and could ask him to report any time. Is there a message here somewhere?
RPK, on the other hand, was duly charged and have bail posted though at RM2k is very low.
#24 by Jong on Thursday, 17 July 2008 - 9:43 pm
They just want to humiliate Anwar for all to see, sends the message, who’s in charge. Their political masters must be extremely pleased for job welldone!