Anwar’s arrest – police provocative, untrustworthy and unprofessional

In arresting Anwar Ibrahim outside his Bukit Segambut home just before 1 pm today, the police are being most provocative, unprofessional and untrustworthy.

Anwar had already undertaken to report to the police at 2 p.m after he had given his statement to the Anti-Corruption Agency in the morning, and to spring such an arrest well before 2 pm outside his house has deepened public concerns and fears that the police cannot be independent, professional, responsible and trustworthy in handling the latest Anwar case.

Coming close in the heel of the three-day 1,600-member police operation inconveniencing hundreds of thousands of people in the Federal capital and the Klang Valley completely without basis or justification – purportedly on the basis of “two speeches, two blogs and two SMS” and the lie of a top-level Pakatan Rakyat leadership meeting on July 9 to plot the non-existent demonstration in Parliament on Monday – public confidence in the credibility, efficiency and professionalism of the police has reached an all-time low.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 9:40 pm

The way UMNO is treating Anwar and fellow Malaysians won’t make them best friend with the Chinese.

2. #2 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 9:41 pm

“Radical Islam is their enemy. Not Islam.”

The families of the victims of 911 don’t care.

3. #3 by Jong on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 9:41 pm

Raja Petra will be hauled in tomorrow. A warrant of arrest has been issued!

4. #4 by alaneth on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 9:42 pm

If…s.

If this sodomy accusation against Anwar was done before the GE, PR will surely win the GE, even without Anwar contesting.

If the prices of oil is increased before the GE, the same will happen.

If the above 2 cannot happen, then hop-overs from BN to PR will topple the BN govt…

5. #5 by badak on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 9:43 pm

We must all keep our cool…All this is a provocation by the UMNO led BN goverment.The BN goverment want all of ANWAR,S supporters to start a REFORMASY again.So they call for an Emegenncy rule.Remember our ARMY is on STAND BY MODE.Or they might have another operation lalang.
    They were Anwar was arrested all point towards this.
    NST HEAD LINES “” DEADLINE FOR ANWAR TURN UP AT 2PM OR FACE ARREST”".On 8 PM TV3 NEWS They first reported that Anwar was arrested just before 1 pm.Then it was follwed by a statement from Anwar ,Who said “” a warrant of arrest was serve on me, to be at the police station by 2pm sorry, i have to go..”" This statement was made around 11.45 am atfer he gave his statement to the ACA.
    Base on this it clearly shows it is just a form of provocation.

6. #6 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 9:45 pm

Remember the case of Aquino and family in the late ’70s and early ’80s. U.S. President Carter personally intervened to have Sen. Aquino released from prison and be allowed to come to the U.S.?

But seeking political asylum is not in Anwar’s calculation. Not right now.

7. #7 by alaneth on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 9:45 pm

Washington will surely interfere… Let’s sit back, wait & see…..

It will be Najib & Pak Lah’s turn to be use the ‘Populist’ way then by lashing back at them. Shabery’s party will then be pot calling the kettle black.

8. #8 by wtf2 on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 9:46 pm

IF the poof was sodomised 8 times previously it’s obvious he’s willing and gay about it. The way this guy is reporting the act is as if he had unprotected sex i.e. there’s sperm in his anus. I do wonder if the medical staff extracted sperm from his anus or they got something from somewhere else…

9. #9 by StevePCH on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 9:47 pm

UTK – C4 … haha sounds familiar. DSAI is right in telling everyone to be calm. The BIG crooks are planning something. As in the debate, it was mentioned, we are doing it for the best of “RAKYAT”. I think RAKYAT = UMNO for them.
    Too hard for them to swallow the bitterness of embarassment following the debate. He just can’t get the point that the whole idea is about saving cost and not punishing BN.

The PDRM again praticed the extreme caution in securing the most wanted person in their 1 most wanted list by deploying the UTK.

The sincerity of detaining DSAI in such a way is really questionable now in view that the most wanted person had just appeared in the most viewed show of the year other than the last election live telecast.

As for DNA and other evidence, I believe DSAI has got all the benefit of doubts. DNA from anus after 2 weeks. unless the joker has not shit for the pass 2 weeks.

10. #10 by alaneth on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 9:47 pm

Any attempt for Anwar seeking political asylum will surely derail all Pakatan Rakyat’s plan to form the govt. It is not a ‘populist’ action. It is, however, ‘populist’ to submit including any jail term.

Let Wan Azizah take over, even be the PM. Anwar can be the PM in waiting. But if he is released, all is good & let the 16 Sept target be victorious.

11. #11 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 9:49 pm

Jong,

RPK has exposed himself to charges of criminal defamation by design. Anwar did no such thing vis-à-vis the charge of sodomy.

12. #12 by nyghtsky on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 9:50 pm

Govt keeps comparing Malaysia to several 3rd world countries, and are dreaming if they think the rakyat will take such atrocities by their show of Police Power and water pistols….

We, the educated public fears for our safety and the safety of our family thus may not attend protests and rallys; but remember this, when its time to vote, no amount of media manipulation or police intimidation is going to alter our vote!

13. #13 by alaneth on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 9:52 pm

wtf2 Says:
    IF the poof was sodomised 8 times previously it’s obvious he’s willing and gay about it.

Unfortunately, sodomy, whether there is consent or not is, unfortunately, illegal in this Muslim country.

I believe, don’t need any sperm samples, medical reports can be faked easily by those who want to do it. It is great that Anwar is lucky & smart to manage to lodge a report at ACA just before he is nabbed.

14. #14 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 9:52 pm

After UMNO hatched the sodomy part 2 plan and in order to prove that Saiful’s anus had been penetrated, guess who’ll give it a go?

15. #15 by mendela on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 9:53 pm

I think the main reason why the scums arrested Anwar before 2 pm today was they worried Anwar would seek protection again from a foreign embassy.

16. #16 by highhand on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 9:53 pm

ha ha ha, now musa will show him who tha dady………

2 black eyes

17. #17 by StevePCH on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 9:54 pm

just wondering if RPK will be arrested too , say at 9.00am . Hopefully they will do that and be condemned to oblivion

18. #18 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 9:54 pm

Do you guys really believe there is one iota of truth in the allegation against Anwar? They would have to transform the image of the poor fella first as a sex addict. We just do not have that image. All we have is the image of a loving father, grandfather and husband!

So why are we letting ourselves be drawn into this discussion about evidence?

19. #19 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 9:55 pm

dawsheng Says:

Today at 21: 52.16 (2 minutes ago)
    After UMNO hatched the sodomy part 2 plan and in order to prove that Saiful’s anus had been penetrated, guess who’ll give it a go?

You??

20. #20 by Hishamuddin on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 9:58 pm

Dear Bros,
    Do not be surprise they are now preparing for the next election.

They will use army, police votes and all the method ever know to man to cheat and win again.

Believe me. The only solution they will not win is Sabah and Sarawak becoming Independent by the next election.

21. #21 by badak on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 9:58 pm

I am not a certified body language reader.But as my scope of work needs me to observe people.I was sent to learn body language.
    By looking at the BODY LANGUAGE of the CID director today compared with his BODY LANGUAGE on the other days, on the 8 pm TV3 news.Today it clearly showed that he is feeling very unconfortorble and not sure of himself.( This signs showed that he is hiding something ).

22. #22 by mendela on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 9:59 pm

To side track again:

I almost vomited when I saw the Shaby guy debated last night with both ends of his stupid mouth filled with saliva foam!

Is this Shaby guy the only material UMO can provide?

23. #23 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 9:59 pm

Sorry, wrong answer, no prize for getting the right answer anyway. :)

24. #24 by Hishamuddin on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 9:59 pm

25. #25 by scooter on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 10:00 pm

26. #26 by highhand on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 10:00 pm

perhaps he wont be punch in face, just get his arse fisted this time

27. #27 by youwin on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 10:01 pm

RPK might be arrested tomorrow… Our country is getting awful! Could our people still live in peace in such ‘democracy’ country? It must be a shame and joke of the century!

28. #28 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 10:03 pm

There was no warrant of arrest, according to the news. So that does not look good on the PDRM. If Datuk Anwar did not show up at the PDRM quarters, the PDRM could have sent some officers to his house and take a statement.

It is confusing because just yesterday Datuk Anwar had that debate with Datuk Cheek and today he got arrested. According to the news, 95 % of the people thought that Datuk Anwar argued better.

Saiful is a very young man and he is already creating some heat wave which will not help him much in many aspects of his life. Did he really think through before taking action ? There are a lot of questions and people would not just accept what he said at face value.

29. #29 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 10:04 pm

30. #30 by boleh-an on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 10:05 pm

31. #31 by AhPek on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 10:06 pm

32. #32 by mingshing on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 10:06 pm

mendela Says:
    Today at 21: 59.00 (3 minutes ago)

To side track again:

I almost vomited when I saw the Shaby guy debated last night with both ends of his stupid mouth filled with saliva foam!

yeah, you are rite, just so ugly showing to all malaysians.

33. #33 by boleh-an on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 10:10 pm

34. #34 by mendela on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 10:14 pm

35. #35 by nyghtsky on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 10:16 pm

ha ha ha ha … you guys really crack me up!!

36. #36 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 10:17 pm

We sure know what is going to happen to the Police Chief once PR takes over the government. He is definitely going to flee with his masters, the no-good BN dogs!

37. #37 by mendela on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 10:19 pm

All the sucking shits UMO is doing now is to prevent Anwar from elected as an MP in order to avoid him in Parliament sessions.

38. #38 by mingshing on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 10:20 pm

we malaysia got no hope here, i think better you all become rich and migrate to overseas, better future for our next generation.

what do all think?

39. #39 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 10:22 pm

Just wondering, in order to have a fair trial, must Saiful’s anus be made public for all to scrutinize?

40. #40 by madness on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 10:22 pm

I can’t help but to lend whatever support I have to DSAI. Since the last election, I have lost total total confidence with the PM, DPM, UMNO, PDRM and the AG. To my honest belief, these group of leaders and enforcers are pure collabarators to suppress and kill off PR. 50 years has brought nothing to the poor malaysians but greed, power and corruption to UMNO. God is fair and they will be punished in due time.

41. #41 by dapsupporter8888 on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 10:23 pm

Come to think of it, maybe it was a wrong tactic by Anwar Ibrahim by announcing that he’s got the numbers to form the next govt. In my personal opinion, he shouldn’t have made that piece of news known. Anwar Ibrahim should have been intelligent enough to know that the moment he said that sentence, and not once but many times, would have got the BN goons all panicky.

Bcoz can you imagine the effect if PR were to form the federal govt?? All those BN goon’s next home will be the JAIL!! Obviously, right? First to end up in jail would be the DPM, then the SIL, and followed by the rest of the other goons.

In fact, when Anwar Ibrahim made the statement that he’s got enough numbers to form the next federal govt by 16 Sept, I already had this funny feeling that BN would have somthing up their sleeves!! And I was right!!!

42. #42 by mendela on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 10:27 pm

Yes, I agreed with DAPSUPPOrter8888.
    When playing poker games, one would not open all his cards too soon.

Too soon Anwar opened his cards, well too soon!

43. #43 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 10:27 pm

44. #44 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 10:30 pm

I hope in the midst of all this the evidence linking Najis to Altantuya’s murder came to light.

45. #45 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 10:31 pm

dawsheng,

There are certain places, the light does not penetrate!

46. #46 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 10:41 pm

The manner the police orchestrated this arrest is no better than a cheap and repulsive drama but with very high stakes.

This IGP is behaving every bit like a ‘gangster’. Once I saw him on TV ticking off reporters with a gruff voice. Boy, was he arrogant? He thinks he will be the IGP forever. Well, he should learn from Tun M who also thought and acted like he would be the PM forever.

Hello, IGP, no position is permanent in this world – no, not your chair, not your titles, not even your soul! It belongs to GOD, in case you forget. When policemen sow wild oats…did they reckon that the whirlwinds of GOD will be an unforgettable reckoning. Fikir, fikir-lah!

47. #47 by boleh-an on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 10:43 pm

# mingshing Says:

“we malaysia got no hope here, i think better you all become rich and migrate to overseas, better future for our next generation.

what do all think?”

It makes sense to go elsewhere. 30 years ago, Malaysia can compare to Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan. Now the govt compares Malaysia to Myanmar, Zimbabwee, Somalia and still thinks Malaysia is a BolehLand.

48. #48 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 10:46 pm

“There are certain places, the light does not penetrate!” – undergrad2

Thanks for the words of wisdom!

49. #49 by Sagaladoola on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 10:47 pm

My writing on this issue:
    Anwar Arrested ! This is 2008, That Was 1998 !

Link:
    http://sagaladoola.blogspot.com/2008/07/anwar-arrested-this-is-2008-that-was.html

50. #50 by mediadirect on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 10:54 pm

when the phase “malaysia boleh” first came up , little did we know that the police use it whole heartedly as their motto.

If through proper election could not get BN out of government, could people power be the next best action?

No point making police report…information and evidence get supressed. let’s see if ACA will be surpressed or will they are tulang belakang.

There are some moral in these whole laughable episode. When you have the cuff on the IGP and the AG, you can do no wrong.

Comments are closed.