Letters
by Ganesh
I refer to Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar’s apology with regards to the massive traffic jams caused yesterday. What Syed Albar does not realize is that, not only were people late in reaching their offices and thus productivity was affected, many people also missed important examinations.
Monday was the first day of the Certificate of Legal Practice (CLP) examinations held in University Malaysia (UM). As the examination was 9 am, many left much earlier from their houses. As for me, I left 7am from my house located in Subang Jaya. Usually by 7.30 am, I would be passing EPF.
However, to my shock and horror, I only reached UM at 10.30am, by that time, it was too late to sit for that particular paper. I was crawling in a standstill jam all the way on the Federal Highway. It was too late for me to turn and use any alternatives as it was a bottleneck jam everywhere and impossible to use any other alternatives.
Many people sitting this examination were either late or just failed to turn up because as one knows, reaching late to the examination hall, one would be barred from entering the hall.
And the CLP examination is such, that if you miss just one paper, you might as well resit the whole examination the next year as you would clearly fail the whole examination having not sat one paper completely.
The shocking thing is that, this is the last year of the examination before it is scrapped for good. So, how is one going to sit for the examination again?
To make matters worse, there were no protest at all. Even if there were protests, we have had many other protests before, and it was all peaceful protests. So why were there virtually every other road being blocked in KL causing a massive gridlock in the whole Klang Valley?
Some were aware of the roadblocks but many were not aware of the roadblocks as the public were not for-warned about the roadblocks much earlier
As Datuk Syed Albar was a previous lawyer, I am sure he understands this predicament of those aspiring to be lawyers. As this is the last CLP examination, many are stuck now, not knowing what to do. Many have sat this examination several times, hoping they would pass this last attempt before it is abolished next year.

#1 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 12:29 am
“What did the Constitution say about freedom of movement?” asked a nincompoop, referring to the traffic jam.
So every time the traffic lights break down and this nincompoop gets stuck in a traffic jam, the government is interfering with his freedom of movement according to Article 9 Federal Constitution 1957!
Ganesh, would you please be so kind as to inform this nincompoop (that is the name of his handle) that being caught in a traffic jam has nothing to do with Article 9 Federal Constition?
Put him out of his misery once and for all!
#2 by raven77 on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 12:39 am
Suing in a dictatorship[such as Malaysia….is for sissys….you need to have more gumption then that….much, much more….suggest everyone learns from Hindraf…..you need to bo stoic and firm and brave…if you want this country for your children and family…..
#3 by limkamput on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 1:04 am
If by now you still don’t know that the government is deliberately causing massive jam if KL, then you must be a real mega nincompoop. But then who care, this mega nincompoop is living comfortably in NY giving his two cents worth comments here without feeling and commitment. He never get struck, he will never know. He is just here talking senseless cock like chasing skirts and pants. What else is new. By the way Ganesh is not your poodle, ok, mega nincompoop@hypocrite.
#4 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 1:55 am
But then calling people names is his forte. Now you’re a poodle, next you could be a chameleon or worse – moron!
#5 by bra888 on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 3:19 am
Isn’t this act of having roadblocks are prove that the Government is willing to do whatever it takes to just be in control?
It seems like the Government is more worried about losing their power rather than the peoples’ affairs.
Shouldn’t roadblock suppose to be an act to catch wanted criminals? I believe that it is abusive to use roadblocks based on guesses or opinions without sufficient evidences to support the need of it.
The people are paying the road taxes so that the people can use it, not so that it will be blocked by the government.
Here’s my list of pros and cons of roadblocks the government has done
Pros
Government successfully prevented ‘possible demonstration’
Cons
People can’t get to work on time
People can’t get to their test on time
People missed their appointments
People got stuck in the car on the road for hours
People got stressed in the traffic jam for hours
Noise pollution
People wasted their fuel
Productivity declined
Unnecessary amount of police force focused on roadblocks
The Government doesn’t seem to care about the people at all
#6 by negarawan on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 7:40 am
Syed Hamid deserves a tight slap on his face, and a kick on his butt. UMNO is nothing but lies and deceit. Look at the evasive nature of Shaberi in the debate, instead of answering the questions, he makes personal attacks on Anwar.
#7 by taiking on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 8:20 am
UMNO panicked.
#8 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 9:09 am
This whole thing against the no-confidence vote was really about SAPP readiness to vote with it. If SAPP had officially voted with the opposition, it would break new ground rules within BN. Badawi/UMNO would be forced to expel SAPP leading to a new level of uncompromising position within BN. Component parties would in term demand more equal say in decision process within BN.
So really its about UMNO leadership in BN.
#9 by StevePCH on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 9:49 am
So much of trouble caused by the massive demonstration by PDRM. We should send the person responsible for this demonstration to Kamunting. haha …. PL . Najis . SHA etc…
#10 by shortie kiasu on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 11:39 am
So if the government is responsible enough, it should conduct the CLP Exam one more time, next year, since this one in KL had been ruined by the government, by gridlocking the whole of Klang Valley, KL & PJ especially.
#11 by britcrazelady on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 2:40 pm
i am so so sorry, ganesh. i’ve taken the clp and i know what a huge bother it is! i wonder whether the (clp) board will come up with a solution, ie; a resit for the 1st paper; else it’s really unfair for the clp examiners! i sincerely hope some justice will be done.
#12 by jessying on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 3:36 pm
oh man, i feel so terribly sad, because I was in the exams hall and i was nearly late for the exam! I hope u sit for the rest of the papers Ganesh and resit the civil paper. It was horrible to prepare and cant able to go and wait all over again.. I know how it feels
I do not know why the whole country is in a chaos just because of him, and this shows how afraid the government is. Let people has the right to express their view and then finish go back and sleep. Why would the government do such a childish thing. Mentality problem!
#13 by Jan on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 6:38 pm
Sue the govt if you are affected. Get a class action suit. DAP can organise a forum for all who want to be in it.
#14 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 16 July 2008 - 8:48 pm
shortie kiasu Says:
Today at 11: 39.28 (8 hours ago)
So if the government is responsible enough, it should conduct the CLP Exam one more time, next year…”
This may sound easy and fair to people like you and me. But not so with the candidates who are already being tormented with the prospect of a re-sit of the papers they missed. If you fail the re-sit then you fail the whole exam.
#15 by procol on Thursday, 17 July 2008 - 10:07 am
CLP “lifeline” was quoted in the papers.CLP director said that those who had missed the exam on Monday would be allowed to re-sit for that paper provided they obtain a conditional pass (passing 4 out of 5 papers).That has always been the case, not any lifeline provided by CLP board out of exigency of the situation. For those who sat for the Civil Procedure paper on Monday and failed it but passed the rest of the papers will be accorded the same conditional pass status and allowed to take a re-sit. There is no special consideration for those who failed to sit for the exam on Monday due to the traffic jam, they’re deemed to have failed the paper.
#16 by jenniferooi82 on Sunday, 20 July 2008 - 3:32 pm
Even if there were really peaceful protests or demonstrations as claimed by Syed Hamid, the police should not set up the roadblocks. Malaysia is a democratic country and rakyat should be allowed to voice out their dissatisfaction through peaceful protests. I am ashamed with our police and Home Minister. Their ridiculous action not only worsened the traffic congestion, but also caused incovenience to rakyat. Their motive is to arouse people’s agitation towards the opposition. We, Malaysians are not gullible like Syed Hamid. We know about the govenment’s political tactics for feared of losing the confidence among rakyat. It’s okay, we will practise our rights again via the next general election. To Parti Pakatan Rakyat , keep on proving and showing malaysians you are capable of leading the next government in 2013!