Never before in the nation’s history has there been such a massive police mobilisation, paralysing the Federal Capital and the Klang Valley as today creating a massive traffic chaos, when there is totally no cause. It is a preview of what a Police State could be like.
In the past two days, the police had created infernal traffic congestions with roadblocks in Kuala Lumpur and the surrounding areas locking up the Klang Valley, purportedly to forestall a Pakatan Rakyat public gathering or demonstration in or near Parliament because of the Standing Order 18 no-confidence motion today which is to be presented by the Parliamentary Opposition Leader, Datuk Seri Wan Azizah Ismail after question time at 11.30 am.
The Speaker, Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia not only rejected Azizah’s no-confidence motion, he also rejected my motion under Standing Order 26(1)(p) to refer the Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan to the Parliamentary Privileges Committee for failing to comply with the parliamentary motion dated 28th April 2008 directing the IGP to ensure that MPs are not obstructed in their passage to and from parliamentary meetings.
Many MPs from both sides of the House met with police obstruction today and did not have free passage to Parliament, which is against the specific parliamentary directive to the IGP contained in the parliamentary motion of April 28, 2008.
No good or convincing reasons were given for the rejection of both motions by the Speaker. In the protracted arguments in the Dewan Rakyat over my proposed privilege motion, I had occasion to remark that a Speaker should not speak too much – and that the best Speaker is one who does not speak.
Today is indeed a black day for Parliament. Under the doctrine of separation of powers, Parliament is co-equal to the Executive and should be fully informed by the police of any developments justifying the adoption of extraordinary measures hampering not only the free movement of MPs, but also free public access to Parliament.
In this particular case, the police had no cause whatsoever to launch a massive mobilisation causing great inconvenience and even hardships to members of the public for three days, as Pakatan Rakyat had not organised or issued any call for any gathering or demonstration in or near Parliament today.
This was why there was pandemonium in Parliament this morning for some 45 minutes – the first episode over my motion to refer the IGP to Privileges Committee and the second episode over the rejection of Azizah’s Standing Order 18 motion of no-confidence in the Prime Minister.
The Pakatan Rakyat MPs staged a walkout in protest against the rejection of the no-confidence motion as well as the synthetic security crisis created by the police in the past three days causing great inconveniences to the public when there was no cause or justification – and will boycott the rest of the parliamentary sitting today.
Video clips of the two episodes are available as follows:
Motion under Standing Order 26(1)(p) [Part 1 of 4]
Motion under Standing Order 26(1)(p) [Part 2 of 4]
Motion under Standing Order 26(1)(p) [Part 3 of 4]
Motion under Standing Order 26(1)(p) [Part 4 of 4]
No Confidence under Standing Order 18(1) [Part 1 of 2]
No Confidence under Standing Order 18(1) [Part 2 of 2]

#1 by Jong on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 11:01 pm
The fear and insecurity of having to be pushed out of office has resulted in desperate attempt to create confusion in the country, a good reason to “emergency rule”. See how low they are prepared to go just to retain power!
#2 by undergrad2 on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 11:03 pm
Yep, reminds me of the Limbo Rock! How low can you go??
#3 by dawsheng on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 11:03 pm
“Jangan heretkan saya dalam gelangang politik, tolong…” The Speaker, Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia
We have got the worst speaker in planet earth.
#4 by One4All4One on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 11:04 pm
Complex it is…it will take a group leaders in the form of those when Malaya fought for Independence…
There needs to be a renewed spirit of nation building, a new and equitable constitution, a sense of new direction in the changed and globalised world..
The world is a changed place…and will keep on changing..and the nation needs to change its ways to adapt and adjust..
No doubt Malaysia needs a NEW set of leaders…
The winds of change are blowing…nature ( politics and human behaviour, etc., included) works in such a way that turbulence would force and give birth to new situation and conditions…
It is a humankind thing that we are facing now..no one society in the world can escape that..
#5 by Jong on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 11:04 pm
Time to delete ‘race’ & ‘religion’ from all legal govt documents. That’s great suggestion. I agree with you, undergrad2.
#6 by undergrad2 on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 11:05 pm
How low could BN go??
Every limbo boy and girl
All around the limbo world
Gonna do the limbo rock
All around the limbo clock
Jack be limbo, Jack be quick
Jack go unda limbo stick
All around the limbo clock
Hey, let’s do the limbo rock
Limbo lower now
How low can you go
#7 by kerajaan.rakyat on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 11:07 pm
Dear YB Lim,
This is what the Malays always said:
PDRM just like “Lembu kena cucuk hidung”.
Idiot that follows the Idiots..!!
http://www.kerajaanrakyat.blogspot.com/
#8 by undergrad2 on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 11:12 pm
Do not look down on the ‘lembus’ and ‘lembu susu” – because UMNO leaders have perfected a way on how to milk their cows! Only difference is they are ‘milking’ their cows for cash and not for their milk.
#9 by undergrad2 on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 11:14 pm
Time for my brunch. See ya..!
#10 by Godfather on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 11:14 pm
dawsheng says we have the worst speaker on planet earth.
Well, we have a finance minister who failed entrance statistics. We have another finance minister who lost RM12 billion of the country’s reserves on FX speculation. We have an AG that has a third class honours degree, the lowest pass grade available. We have as secretary-general of BN a person who was implicated in Lingamgate scandal. We have as UMNO information chief a person who was indicted for carrying millions in cash into Australia, but released on a technicality.
Bolehland is the laughing stock of the world, but does the Barang Naik coalition care ? Does some UMNOputra like RealWorld care ? Not when the word “shame” is not in their dictionary.
#11 by Godfather on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 11:18 pm
Like RealWorld says on another thread, we have to earn our way….and for every UMNOputra, the right way is to receive the keys to the national coffers.
#12 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 11:21 pm
Police interference in the political process is delusional, disgusting, and despicable!
We remember Syed Hamid is that not-so-bright foreign minister once, now teying to make good in home affairs after being such a dismal failure on the international stage.
When will BN ever learn. It’s not a question ‘if’; it’s only ‘when’ will BN get the boot for unceasing disrespect and trampling on the people’s common and basic rights and wishes.
#13 by Jong on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 11:21 pm
They have no qualms taking from the till, as if it’s their right to do so!
#14 by blablowbla on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 11:24 pm
pandikar bodoh kata ‘prevention is better than cure’?
i sokong tapi,mengapa PDRM tak buat begitu kpd mat rempit,snatch thieves,penagih dadah,kongsi gelap,perogol (polis yg rogol gadis kot!),penjahat,penyangak,samseng,samseng umno,pembunuh tmn medan,pembunuh jinjang utara olih gang india,pembuli,pembunuh C4 dll?????
klu polis begitu cekap,aman dan damailah kita!
tapi,sebaliknya berlaku!bekas polis namanya bala pun lari sembunyi krn takutkan polis,kita rakyat biasa mana tak takut?
polis sudah jadi gangsters,sekarang,jangan nafi lagi,diperalatkan olih UMNO!!!!
#15 by justice fighter on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 11:37 pm
PR Must Keep On Trying…To Take Over
#16 by yog7948 on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 11:39 pm
Godfather Says:
“We have an AG that has a third class honours degree, the lowest pass grade available.”
When you have inept people running the country…1st Class mentality is not allowed in BN.. it will jeopardize their existence.
#17 by undergrad2 on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 11:56 pm
Jong,
Often, the obvious is forgotten. As a step towards a society based on the core values of equality and justice for all, the new government would need to expunge all references to race and religion from all its documents and introduce legislation to make it illegal to ask for racial origin and religion at job interviews, when opening bank accounts etc.
#18 by pjboy on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 11:57 pm
The #1 rule in BN politics to stay in power: never employ anyone smarter than you. Imagine this taking place every 5 years since 1970. So, what can we expect from such people? They can only resort to using police & army forces to quell rakyat. Both are suppose to serve & protect the rakyat – but it has turned around to serve only those in political power. Isn’t this behaviour a little like the USA politicians? This is a sign of the feared becoming afraid of the fearless. Such tactics can only mean one thing: they have done something wrong to the rakyat & nation. There’s no answer to the question why do people, ordinary folks, protest?
The road blocks will be good testament to foreign visitors, esp if they had to rush to the airport to catch their flight. That’s great welcome & goodbye to our tourist industry. The opposition party will always be blamed for such actions or tactics, to the expense of the rakyat’s suffering. When is the ruling gov going to mature & wake up?
#19 by yog7948 on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 11:58 pm
64 more days..
DSAI and PR to govern or to loose face; BeeEnd will ERASE it’s opponents or be erased by its own ignorance. ..
What else can they do? Desperate people do desperate things.. even their shadows looks like DSAI now. Scaring the poo out of them. paranoia case.
Surely, they will take all that can to SILENCE DSAI or anyone from PR.. Police state maybe another card for BeeEnd apart from ISA.
“BN MP’s won’t mind not brushing their teeth for months and stink, but the can’t imagine living a day without POWER” That is what corrupted power has done to them.
#20 by ShiokGuy on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 12:03 am
I dont want to be in the speaker shoe at all. Unless I have totally control of the floor where I can MUTE anyone who choose to speak without my permission :P
Shiok Guy
#21 by dewitgoh on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 12:08 am
Two words to describe the road blocks – pariah and desperate. I wonder how many road users with medical emergencies suffered today. And what runs in their mind when it comes to making a stand – who caused the jam – the opposition or the police? The same childish tactic was used last year supposedly to stop Hindraf demo – and the road blocks took placed 5 days before the so-called rally. Why? Just so that some simple minded you straight dont belok belok will think it’s caused by Hindraf and not the police.
#22 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 12:17 am
UMNO is not paranoid, they are just playing dirty politics, it is part of the game, and being part of the game, it will always backfire no matter how good you are. This round UMNO think they win and everything is under control, really?
#23 by yog7948 on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 12:33 am
In my opinion, all these commotion by BeeEnd is not for the parliaments ” NC Vote” but more towards their Welcoming reception for DSAI evening interrogation. They must have planned something more pleasant for DSAI.
DSAI must have disappointed the THUG in Blue.. and Home Minion BOTAK Albab. Heard them barking at the news..
#24 by dewitgoh on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 12:46 am
It’s quite common political leaders propagate exaggerated claims of high support and being in control, just as much as Saddam Hussein denied having lost control of Iraq a day or so before he went into hiding.
#25 by lovemalaysiaforever on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 1:12 am
People who think they still want to vote for BN are trully MORONS!!
#26 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 1:19 am
If Mahathir wants to save Malaysia from going down the drain, he should confess that he had framed Anwar with the sodomy and corruption charges in 1998.
#27 by mycroft on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 1:51 am
Not wanting to touch on the issue of the rejection of the two motions here. But has there ever been, in the history of any Parliamentary democracy during peace time, during times where there are no civil unrests, that the people have been denied access to their representatives by barring them from Parliament? Furthermore, is the presence of armed policemen with assault rifles an unwelcomed precedent that Malaysia has introduced into the Westminster form of Government that we supposedly follow here?
#28 by Joe Yap Wei Lea on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 2:21 am
Dear YB,
The minute I saw the video… I was so frustrated… WHERE IS DEMOCRACY??? HOW DARE THEY TELL THE WORLD THAT WE ARE A DEMOCRATIC COUNTRY???????? If they are not listening, wht is the point of helding a meeting if Pakatan is not able to voice out? The speake is a real stupid fool and side BN only!!! THEY ARE REAL STUPID.
YB, sorry if I’m being so rude. But I just can’t take it!
YB SAVE MALAYSIA FROM ALL THIS FOOLS RULING OUR COUNTRY!
TURUN BN! TURUN PAK LAH! HIDUP RAKYAT! REFORMASI!!!
#29 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 3:20 am
“It is not the proper standing order. SO 18(1) and (2) does not allow for vote of no-confidence to be carried out. It is like a person who had committed raped but was charged for murder. You cannot do that,” the Speaker shouted!
Then tell us what is the correct standing order – or stand aside and let someone else take over as Speaker.
#30 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 4:25 am
The more videos we see, the more convinced we are that we have an a..h..e for a Speaker.
Reminds me of Mugabeland.
#31 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 6:34 am
This Speaker has to decide whether he wants to be a parliamentarian or a guest on Saturday Night Live!
#32 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 6:41 am
“He explained that the emergency motion requesting for a resolution which leads to voting should be filed under SO 27.”
So the Speaker did point out to the proper standing order. So now what???
#33 by milduser on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 6:54 am
The speaker himself was a former umno lackey. What can you expect of him? Prevent every motions sponsored by the opposition from been debated. That talkative speaker is no good at his job. Should be sacked with immediate effect! Openly bias and STUPID. How he can be appointed to that important position is a “mystery”. It’s ashame our august Parliament are manned by people of sub-standard caliber! Will we be able to achieve vision 2020? I doubt, looking at the quality of our parliamentary speaker’s current performance. World class parliament?
#34 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 8:17 am
//So the Speaker did point out to the proper standing order// – Undergrad2
Not only tyhe Speaker. Former secretary to Parliament Datuk Abdullah Abdul Wahab already pointed that out in interview with NST 2008/06/22.
He pointed out pros and cons of order 18 versus order 27.
Quote:
“Q: Is a vote of no-confidence technically possible in Parliament?
A: Technically, possible. But, there’s no specific Standing Order pertaining to a vote of no-confidence.
Q: If any MP wanted a vote of no-confidence against the PM, what does he need to do?
A: Submit a motion.
Q: Is it just like any other motion?
A: Yes. That’s why they’re saying that it has to be under Standing Order 27, or Standing Order 18.
But Order 27 means, if it is not a government business, it will be buried in the Order Paper — it won’t come up.
Q:The Speaker decides whether a motion should be heard or not?
A: Depending on the Standing Order. You see, if you submit under Order 18, the Speaker can decide. He can decide whether he wants to reject it in chambers, in the House, or allow it to be debated.
Q: How does the Speaker decide if it’s of public importance or not?
A: He has to study the issue. What is the issue? Is the public clamouring for it?”
[Standing Order 27 motion requires 14 days' notice and there is no mechanism to ensure that it is brought up for debate by the House, apart from appearing on the Order Paper. Standing Order 18 motion requires only 24-hr notice. Dewan Rakyat, orginally scheduled to adjourn today, will adjourn on Thursday following a two-day extension. - Kit]
#35 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 8:27 am
Doesn’t it seem strange that PKR chose to move a motion of no confidence under Standing Order 18 that does not carry a vote? Some more it is forseeable one needs Speaker’s clearance under this SO, which predictably not easy. So why proceed by SO 18 in first place??
One does not need Speaker to advise PKR. Former secretary to Parliament Datuk Abdullah Abdul Wahab already pointed that out in interview with NST 2008/06/22. See: http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Sunday/SundayInterview/2274139/Article/index_html
It may well be PKR is not serious about securing no confidence vote because basically it has not the numbers. As I said earlier, if PR really has the numbers defectors would have crossed the floor by now: No need for any motion! It wants to hype for a certain agenda.
Remember the prediction of 1 million at the last “boxer’s shorts” rally in Kelana Jaya? Only 20-30,000.
#36 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 8:33 am
I was actually laughing as Pandikar Amin was explaining his actions to the press. The man basically think if he quote a rule the public don’t understand well and the media cannot explain it quickly, and if he says it slow and forcefully, then he wins.
This is the same thing Jerry Lewis does with his comedy, slapstick that people feel uncomfortable about and then finds it necessary to laugh at it.
This realization of the similarity to Jerry Lewis then made me realized that I should not laugh at Pandikar Amin but be scared because Jerry Lewis is an icon in France which Pandikar Amin seek to do to his constituency. Jerry Lewis is about comedy, Pandikar Amin is about something serious.
#37 by blablowbla on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 8:54 am
bodoh punya speaker pandikar,klu pembangkang telah keluar dewan,awak suruh pembahasan diteruskan,itu mp bn bahas dgn hantu ke atau bayang-2 sendiri???
krn usul-2 pembangkang selalu ditolak olih speaker yg terlalau banyak cakap ini,yg ‘bias ‘ini,u dah memalukan malaysia di depan mata-2 orang seluruh dunia!
#38 by lupus on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 9:00 am
Let face it, UNMO thinks that it IS the Government and everyone else are their slaves.
#39 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 9:04 am
For a motion of no confidence to succeed in this case it would need bipartisan support. Is Pakatan confident that it has enough bipartisan support to succeed?
#40 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 9:20 am
# Godfather Says:
Yesterday at 16: 46.28
One4All4One said:
“Singapore comes to mind.
Hong Kong comes to mind.
Taiwan comes to mind.
Japan comes to mind.
China comes to mind.
Even Thailand comes to mind.”
Bolehland – never mind.
Bodohland – lost its mind.
#41 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 9:40 am
“Is Pakatan confident that it has enough bipartisan support to succeed?”
Not at this moment. However, I feel that the no-confidence motion in the PM should be move every time parliament is in session.
#42 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 10:02 am
dawsheng,
If Pakatan is not confident the no-confidence motion will pass, then it would only be a symbolic gesture at best!
#43 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 10:32 am
At least, even symbolic in nature, it has to go on, or else you don’t move such a motion in the first place, to stop also means PR symbolically has confident in the PM. PR has to explain to the people who voted for them into parliament why the no-confidence motion is the most crucial issue facing the nation.
#44 by Damocles on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 10:34 am
Well, fellow posters, I have said many times before and I’m going to say it again.
The BN will not give up the government. No matter what.
Period.
#45 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 10:46 am
There is no point in symbolic gesture because otherwise it means (1) one is not “serious” on a serious matter like a motion of no-confidence on the govt. of the day that in turn affects adversely one’s credibility and (2) one is not responsible to the nation as such motion of no confidence affects adversely the markets and investors’ confidence (not to mention traffic as when police erect road blocks). It should not be treated like “tikam”, try luck whenever one feels like it.
#46 by limkamput on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 10:58 am
Thus far many have moved along and give moral support to PR for a simple reason that BN is so inept and corrupted. It is not like PR has proven anything. Hence, PR must also be more circumspect. It is better to talk less if we can’t deliver. It is better to promise less if we can’t meet the expectation. September 16 will be soon here. Would it be another broken pledge? I would think so.
I don’t want the rakyat to lose faith in PR because there are no viable alternative right now. So please, be focused and think through the strategies. If PR can’t act strategically and coherently as an opposition, how can it do the same when it takes the helm of the Federal Government. If BN play dirty and indulge in unnecessary politicking, PR needs not do the same. BN is not our teacher. Don’t do stuff that gives the excuse to BN to create inconvenience to the rakyat.
#47 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 10:58 am
Then explain why Pakatan has opted to move a motion which is destined to fail? Unless you’re saying that Pakatan leaders have reason or reasons to believe that the motion stands a reasonable chance of getting through.
#48 by badak on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 11:10 am
The motion in parliament will not see the light of day.The UMNO led BN goverment knows that.If the demonstration was to be held in Parliament house?.Why the hell was police road block all over KL TOWN?
60% OF OFFICE WORKERS WHEN TO WORK LATE.TAXI DRIVERS REFUSED TO PICKED UP PASSENGERS.WHY?
I even asked a police man why all this road block? His answer was “” TANYA ANWAR. “” IGP said they had inteligents information.THE ONLY INTELIGENT INFORMATION THEY GOT WAS FROM BIG BROTHER UMNO.HAVE ROAD BLOCKS…LET THE RAKYAT BLAME ANWAR AND PR FOR IT.But police and UMNO is wrong…The rakyat are blaming the police for it.
#49 by monsterball on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 11:11 am
That sickening K.L. road blocks!
No one is rushing to shops..buying extra..food stuffs.
Bloggers..all do not have any advance news.
Malaysians and political bloggers usually have advance news of trouble coming up!
UMNO simply want to create fear and paint the picture….Anwar is troublesome….and dangerous.
How low will they go?
My small company lost so much money on unproductive work.All my technicians cannot provide excellent service after sales….to our valued customers..because of the road blocks.
What about huge corporations?
What about Malaysians trying to rush to hospitals…for emergency treatments?
How many may die…with Malaysians ..feeling helpless….because of the rad blocks….cannot speak out…..what’s the use…to speak out. Who cares for them?
UMNO is so selfish and on extreme.. self denial moods…….they will resort to all sorts of stunts…to win confidence back.
They never play a fair game. They never admit mistakes. Apology from Home Minister..is half hearted…and too late………the damage is done….yet.. he also defended …the road block..instructed by Nazri…justifiable. This Nazri is a clear example…why UMNO should be voted out.
#50 by badak on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 11:24 am
The best thing PR can do now is to table a motion againts party hopping.If any MPs who want to switced party they must step down first .
They rakyat likes by election..New roads ,rubbish is collected every day,grass is cut ,poor family in the area will get some money ,free rice wil be distributed,Petrol price might even come down.