Police Paralysis of KL and Klang Valley – preview of a Police State

Never before in the nation’s history has there been such a massive police mobilisation, paralysing the Federal Capital and the Klang Valley as today creating a massive traffic chaos, when there is totally no cause. It is a preview of what a Police State could be like.

In the past two days, the police had created infernal traffic congestions with roadblocks in Kuala Lumpur and the surrounding areas locking up the Klang Valley, purportedly to forestall a Pakatan Rakyat public gathering or demonstration in or near Parliament because of the Standing Order 18 no-confidence motion today which is to be presented by the Parliamentary Opposition Leader, Datuk Seri Wan Azizah Ismail after question time at 11.30 am.

The Speaker, Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia not only rejected Azizah’s no-confidence motion, he also rejected my motion under Standing Order 26(1)(p) to refer the Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan to the Parliamentary Privileges Committee for failing to comply with the parliamentary motion dated 28th April 2008 directing the IGP to ensure that MPs are not obstructed in their passage to and from parliamentary meetings.

Many MPs from both sides of the House met with police obstruction today and did not have free passage to Parliament, which is against the specific parliamentary directive to the IGP contained in the parliamentary motion of April 28, 2008.

No good or convincing reasons were given for the rejection of both motions by the Speaker. In the protracted arguments in the Dewan Rakyat over my proposed privilege motion, I had occasion to remark that a Speaker should not speak too much – and that the best Speaker is one who does not speak.

Today is indeed a black day for Parliament. Under the doctrine of separation of powers, Parliament is co-equal to the Executive and should be fully informed by the police of any developments justifying the adoption of extraordinary measures hampering not only the free movement of MPs, but also free public access to Parliament.

In this particular case, the police had no cause whatsoever to launch a massive mobilisation causing great inconvenience and even hardships to members of the public for three days, as Pakatan Rakyat had not organised or issued any call for any gathering or demonstration in or near Parliament today.

This was why there was pandemonium in Parliament this morning for some 45 minutes – the first episode over my motion to refer the IGP to Privileges Committee and the second episode over the rejection of Azizah’s Standing Order 18 motion of no-confidence in the Prime Minister.

The Pakatan Rakyat MPs staged a walkout in protest against the rejection of the no-confidence motion as well as the synthetic security crisis created by the police in the past three days causing great inconveniences to the public when there was no cause or justification – and will boycott the rest of the parliamentary sitting today.

Video clips of the two episodes are available as follows:
Motion under Standing Order 26(1)(p) [Part 1 of 4]

Motion under Standing Order 26(1)(p) [Part 2 of 4]

Motion under Standing Order 26(1)(p) [Part 3 of 4]

Motion under Standing Order 26(1)(p) [Part 4 of 4]

No Confidence under Standing Order 18(1) [Part 1 of 2]

No Confidence under Standing Order 18(1) [Part 2 of 2]

Print Friendly

1. #1 by StevePCH on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 3:43 pm

Dear YB, I just think that everything is getting really out of order.
    The partisan behaviour of the Speaker is just too much. If he keeps on rejecting all of the motion, where is democracy. Just close the august house. Yes, it’s a motion a no confidence against PM but if he is so confident that Rakyat is behind him ( at least that’s what he said ) then he should go ahead with the challenge and prove himself. Rejecting it shows that BN is truly weak. It’s in shambles and infighting is …. everywhere.
    Having police to flex their muscles again never helped and BN never really learned the lesson. It just got everyones life tougher and more angry with BN.

2. #2 by lew1328 on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 3:50 pm

Greetings! YB

Another bonus point added for PR.

The blames must point to them who’s over react & the stupid moves (From the police & BN) they themselves create the chaos.

We, “Rakyat” fully understand.

3. #3 by One4All4One on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 3:54 pm

What a shame on the system and administration by the governing bodies of the country.

Instead of facilitating the day to day running of the country, in particular that in the nation’s capital and its surrounding areas, the administration had made it difficult for the rakyat to do even their daily chores. There seems to be no sense of empathy and care for the common rakyat.

What is the motive behind the mass roadblocks other than the obvious aim of creating inconveniences for the rakyat under the pretext of preventing the security situation from getting out of hand? And then going about looking for scapegoats?

We expect and demand better system and administration from the federal government.

What does the rakyat have to say? No prejudice meant, none whatsoever.

It smacks of intrigue and manipulation by the powers that be of the current situation in the country, and by extension, seems to have done society a favour by preventing a major catastrophe from happening.

4. #4 by lchk on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 3:56 pm

UMNOputras were never interested in serving the rakyat but rather enriching themselves EVEN at the expense of policing and providing massive inconveneinces to the very public that they are supposed to serve.

5. #5 by sayitasitis2008.blogspot.com on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 4:01 pm

That speaker is well trained just to say “Yang Berhormat..Sila Duduk”, can’t believe he rejected the motion.

6. #6 by wombatahem on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 4:09 pm

Home Minister Syed Hamid Albar defended the police measures, which included officers armed with assault rifles patrolling inside the parliament building, saying they had to take “preventive action”. I apologise to the public for the traffic jams but the police have to do their job to ensure a smooth access to parliament. With all sorts of threats and intimidation that come out, we cannot wait for things to happen,” he said.

What intimidation??!! Since when we give threats???!! You only make the people’s life more miserable by doing unnecessary things!!!! Paranoid!!

7. #7 by One4All4One on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 4:20 pm

Police getting court order to prevent congregation of the rakyat in the august parliament house?

What differentiates this from a police state? It seems like the police is running the country.

The fact that parliament is the authority on the laws of the land does not matter to the police or the judiciary. Where is the boundary between them? The rakyat has the right to know.

And who gives the minister in charge of parliamentary affairs ( meaning the person in charge of administrative matters relating to day to day running of parliamentary matters = something like a chief clerk ) powers to dictates other law makers (elected by the rakyat ) to do this or that? Why should they take orders pertaining to the actual law making / deciding processes? No one has the right to usurp that right of an MP.

The minister concern only manages daily and menial matters like protocols, not the duty of the MPs.

8. #8 by Godfather on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 4:24 pm

This is good for PR, and I mean both Pakatan and public relations. The public are so fed up of this gomen, and of this keeps up, UMNO will be extinct by 2010.

We should just announce a demonstration every week just to keep the police busy. These guys aren’t interested in catching the true criminals.

9. #9 by Godfather on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 4:24 pm

oops. should be “…if this keeps up…”

10. #10 by One4All4One on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 4:30 pm

Don’t make the country a laughing stock and the butt of jokes, pleaseeeeeeeee!

Seems like there are quarters bent on making a mockery of the country and its people.

Nothing else better to do?

What about matters that matter to the rakyat? Ministers are appointed to serve the people and to make the country a better place than before. We need improvement, not politicking. We need people-friendly policies, not barriers. We need results, not troubles. We need actions, not seat-warming. ANnd the list goes on and on….

I rest my case.

11. #11 by a-malaysian on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 4:34 pm

YB Kit and PR,

Just stay alert and beware of what is going to happen. This is just one sign that points to what umno is trying to do, to stay in power no matter what. They are trying to create artificial happening base on hearsay, just like the in-deletable ink fiasco.

PR needs to sit down and discuss on how to manage the five states instead of allowing one person to run around trying to dethrone the ruling gomen. Manage the five states well and the whole country will be yours come the next election.

I suppose that they are getting closer by the day to lock up this one person, so be ready for any eventual happenings.

Blood-Suckers

GE 13 – No matter what, we must ensure that racist umno bn do not regain the power like they had for the past fifty years.

12. #12 by One4All4One on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 4:37 pm

Singapore comes to mind.

Hong Kong comes to mind.

Taiwan comes to mind.

Japan comes to mind.

China comes to mind.

Even Thailand comes to mind.

And these are only some Asian countries which we can do to emulate in many, many ways…administratively, politically, morally, ethically, attitude-wise, mannerism, culturally, morally, religiously, educationally, etc. etc…

Makes one wonder what Malaysia will be like if we take the best from those foreign lands..

13. #13 by wombatahem on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 4:45 pm

Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi defended the police action, saying the massive traffic jams caused by police roadblocks were caused by “these people who are organizing the demonstration. Go to a stadium and shriek and scream at the top of your voice if you want to demonstrate,” Abdullah said.
    (Source:http://malaysia.news.yahoo.com/ap/20080714/tap-as-malaysia-politics-1st-ld-writethr-b3c65ae.html)

What demonstrations?? No demonstrations at all!!!

14. #14 by Godfather on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 4:46 pm

One4All4One said:

“Singapore comes to mind.

Hong Kong comes to mind.

Taiwan comes to mind.

Japan comes to mind.

China comes to mind.

Even Thailand comes to mind.”

Bolehland – never mind.

15. #15 by wombatahem on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 4:47 pm

I wish there were “GE12: The Snap Election” right now. BN should go, by all means.
    Their words and actions are becoming increasingly intolerable as days pass.

16. #16 by harmanamri on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 4:53 pm

Shame on you Pandikar! You behaviour as Speaker is disgusting and despicable. You don’t want to be a laughing stock, but you are! And you are not even an elected Member of Parliament!!

17. #17 by One4All4One on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 4:53 pm

Seems like it is the Malaysian government and its machineries against a few political parties and the rakyat.

What a sad day for Malaysia and Malaysians.

We would like to see the end to all the sad , soap, tele-novellas, and the beginning of inspiring, happy, productive, proactive, meaningful real life actions….and results.

18. #18 by PSM on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 4:57 pm

DSAI said Sept 16th is the day the Federal Government will change hands to the PR.
    I hope he’s telling the truth, not only for us the Rakyat, but also for his & the PR’s future credibility!
    As long as the BN (Read: UMNO) are in power, NOTHING will change!

19. #19 by ktteokt on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 5:02 pm

Do these morons ever sit down and think who the hell put them up there in their present seats? And when they are up there, the people seemed so remote and useless to them! Teach them a good lesson come the next GE!

20. #20 by xtheman on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 5:09 pm

Is Malaysia a “Police State” now ? What a shame to Umno !!

21. #21 by Toyol on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 5:11 pm

Speaker is just a UMNO lapdog. What did you expect? Police also UMNO lapdog. There will be no democracy so long BN is in power. Democracy means an end to their cronism, nepotism and Ali Baba tactics!

22. #22 by lakilompat on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 5:29 pm

The UMNO head either PL/Curry or Najis has been controlling the countries, with police forces acting like the juntas in Myanmmar or Thailand general, Philippines Arroya but slightly milder.

UMNO will still rule, tis is Malaysia. Malay + sia = Malaysia

23. #23 by Jong on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 5:30 pm

Intimidation? What intimidation and who’s intimidating who?

This ‘makan tahi, berak nasi’ imbecile whom we call “the Home Minister” should go home and take a good rest, not that he has been working extremely hard but he’s a real embarrassment to Malaysia, for far too long!

Time he retires. Tax-payers can no longer afford to keep supporting goons like him!

24. #24 by lakilompat on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 5:31 pm

What happen to ASEAM? there’s no longer any head or order, each of those countries are acting on their own now. There’s no longer a benchmark among the countries? these crooks have spoiled and destroyed UMNO 50 yrs of supremacy after Mahathir.

25. #25 by Jeffrey on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 5:42 pm

So massive police mobilisation was “much ado about nothing” since Opposition’s motion was defeated procedurally without even being debated!

The disconcerting part is that the Speaker must explain his reasons to the House for rejecting Wan Azizah’s no-confidence motion. And YB, you have said “no good or convincing reasons were given for the rejection of both motions by the Speaker”.

The other disconcerting part is that Speaker must not only be impartial but seen impartial in any ruling free from interference of government’s ministers.

According to our former secretary to Parliament Abdullah Abdul Wahab, who has 26 years of Parliament experience, the Speaker’s focus should be “to think for the good of the House and the nation” – and not the interests of the government of the day.

According to him, Govt. ministers “cannot be interfering with the management of the House; that means he cannot be determining what questions will be asked, whether a motion is going to be accepted or not”. [Source NST (Online interview -2008/06/22].

Well, DPM had earlier said that PR’s no confidence motion was a political ploy; that was no provision for such a motion under the House’s Standing Order; that it had no chance of making it through the Dewan Rakyat; that even if the motion was put to a vote, the motion would fail as the opposition did not have enough MPs to carry it through.

This is a kind of “subjudice” statement that might or might not have influenced the Speaker’s decision, and on this ground – and the fact that no cogent reasons were given for the decision – the Opposition may want to consider as a next move to introduce a Motion of Dissent from the Speaker’s ruling defeating Wan Azizah no-confidence motion.

It is obvious that when it concerns a Motion of Dissent from the Speaker’s ruling, it is questionable if the Speaker could make a ruling on that which concerns his earlier ruling : otherwise it would be fraught with “conflicts of interest”.

The dual purpose of such a Motion of Dissent from the Speaker’s ruling is, firstly, it may circumvent the Speaker’s traditional role of exercising prerogative to rule on it; and secondly, since BN MPS (minus the ones switching allegiance) are bound by party discipline to oppose such an Opposition’s motion, it will, if carried, serve as an indirect vote of no confidence on both the Speaker and the government of the day!

There is another added advantage – a Motion of Dissent from the Speaker’s ruling may require a call for the vote after debate which Wan Azizah’s no-confidence motion pursuant to SO 18 does not!

There are in Life as always other ways to skin a cat.

For example if Opposition is really interested to prove the point of no confidence on govt. why must it be via debate in the House especially when it knows that Wan Azizah’s no-confidence motion under Standing Order 18 (matters of urgent specific public interest) triggers, if allowed, only a debate but not a vote at the end of it? What purpose does it serve a motion through the Dewan Rakyat that does not require procedurally a vote taken??

That the PM should command confidence of Majority of the House as prescribed by article 43(4) Federal Constitution does not need to be proven by a show of hands or poll within the inner sanctum of Dewan Rakyat. It is only a question of proof.

This is what Abdullah Abdul Wahab said : “Someone asked me today if 120 members sign a petition saying: “We don’t support the prime minister”, and present it to the king, can that happen?
    I would say it can happen. Q: So, a motion of no-confidence doesn’t have to take place in Parliament? A: It concerns the members of the House. It doesn’t say that it has to be in the House, does it? If 200 members march to the palace, is that possible? I’m not a lawyer, but I would say that it is possible”.

A no-confidence motion cannot be characterized as an ‘ordinary motion’ or even a special or urgent motion on a matter of public interest. In fact there is no standing order providing for it (though PR tried to fit it within SO 18)!

No confidence motion acquires a special relevance not from Parliamentary standing orders but from Article 40 of the Federal Constitution – and as regards whether there is any specific way to prove the govt has or has not lost majority in the House, the Constitution is silent and does not say it has to be proven ONLY by a vote of no confidence in Dewan Rakyat!

26. #26 by greenacre on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 6:08 pm

They are flexing the muscles that have lost the power which have been build up over the last 50 years.

27. #27 by observer on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 6:18 pm

Uncle kit , Jeffrey made a good point on the alternative solution to The parliamentary Speaker rejection.Should be considered

28. #28 by sheriff singh on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 6:32 pm

“….Speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia said he would “go back first this weekend to my kampung in Sabah and look at my buffaloes and goats and think about it deeply” before deciding on one of several courses of action…..” after the motion was submitted last week.

That is where the Speaker gets his inspirations for his decisions when deals with MPs every week. He probably looks for animal signs and consults these. Is his kampong in or near Sepilok or Kinabatangan?

29. #29 by Elwin Heng on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 6:32 pm

Be honest, were under my (I/we) expectation or prediction. To HIM, speaking speech just re-acting a movie script, purposely on-showing or pretending himself the most welcome movie character?

No matter what-how, I/we always alongside you, PR administration! Hereby to welcome you, move towards(forwards) federal kingdom!

Hero… hero… champion… champion… belongs to PR… You’re my hero, my angel shine in my heart ~help us, purify the darkness -unfair -polluted environment?

TQ.
    Warmest regards.

30. #30 by wanderer on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 6:40 pm

It is payback time on the rakyat for depriving the BN goons a 2/3 majority. Your suppression will only harden our resolve to kick you out come next GE.
    The Speaker of the House got his decision to reject the motion from his goats! It is not Sabahan MPS come from Borneo jungle that was why, he took no action on one of his kind. Speaker, this is Parliament not your goat farm.

31. #31 by patriotic1994 on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 6:40 pm

Like what happen to Bala’s house, when the news said he is not at home, the burglar took the advantages. Next time our house would be broken into, gal got raped, bank got robbed, when our policemen are busy setting up road blocks!

I saw many of them just sitting watching traffic. What are they doing?! We pay them to watch us suffer?!

32. #32 by Richardqed on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 6:43 pm

http://themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/headlines/42-lead-stories/1785-syed-hamid-has-proof-of-planned-protest

“He disclosed that speeches at various ceramahs and short messaging service text have been circulated recently inviting supporters and activists to be in Parliament for the no-confidence motion against the Prime Minister today as proof of a possible gathering, which prompted the police to lock down the city with a security blanket of 1,600 policemen that slowed traffic to a crawl.” — malaysianinsider.com reporting on the Home Minister.

If there were speeches of that nature, why don’t he just post the whole video (if any) of these speeches, so that people can judge for themselves whether such invites were really made during speech, and also whether someone was trying to twist the context of such speeches?

It is also not very convincing to mention SMS circulating as proof. For all we know, if at all there exist such SMS texts (and there is much doubt on this), who is to say that it was not spread by the den of thieves themselves?

This is classic Bolehland, where no one needs to be held accountable for anything.

33. #33 by Mr Smith on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 6:55 pm

Abdullah is desperate. He needs the police and the speaker to help him stay on in power. Pathetic soul.
    But then there are several ways to skin a cat. And the Opposition will skin him in no time.

34. #34 by yhsiew on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 7:10 pm

Kit,

Don’t give up, try some other ways to get the no-confidence motion through – Jeffrey’s suggestions are worth considering.

35. #35 by dawsheng on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 7:14 pm

This is what Abdullah Abdul Wahab said : “Someone asked me today if 120 members sign a petition saying: “We don’t support the prime minister”, and present it to the king, can that happen?
    I would say it can happen. Q: So, a motion of no-confidence doesn’t have to take place in Parliament? A: It concerns the members of the House. It doesn’t say that it has to be in the House, does it? If 200 members march to the palace, is that possible? I’m not a lawyer, but I would say that it is possible”.

Very good point Jeffrey but I have my doubts. However, what if there’s 120 members signed the no confidence motion against the Prime Minister but no action taken?

36. #36 by RealWorld on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 7:18 pm

UMNO dulu, kini dan selamanya.

37. #37 by Thomas Lee on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 7:19 pm

We are being punished for supporting Anwar and the Pakatan Rakyat!

More punishments are expected as PM loses grip on power.

Instead of trying to win our hearts and minds, such actions can only cause us to resent the BN and will never support it ever again.

Mygood Malay friend, a former staunch supporter of BN, said that after the chaotoc traffic experience on Monday, she and her family members will never ever vote BN again.

The Pakatan Rakyat must continue its momemtum of doing good for the people and standing up against injustice. Only then will we have hope for our country.

38. #38 by ktteokt on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 7:21 pm

dawsheng, then they might consider declaring the Istana Negara to be “out of bounds” and then even DYMM has to vacate the Istana?

39. #39 by dawsheng on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 7:21 pm

Today’s incident was enough for the Agong to sack the Prime Minister even without any kind of petition. I tell you what, why not make a petition, see if we can get more than half of the population to sign a we do not support the PM petition, maybe Agong will consider.

40. #40 by dawsheng on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 7:25 pm

Ktteokt, a very likely scenario, putting Agong under house arrest. Who is bigger? Abdullah or Agong? At the moment it seems to be Abdullah.

41. #41 by undergrad2 on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 7:40 pm

In one word – “disgusting”!

It is disgusting to see the Speaker of the House taking so much of the peoples’ time. His role as Speaker of the House is to deal with issues of procedure raised, and to minimize his use of the Dewan’s time so the people’s business could continue.

If he wants to make known his personal views, then he should go to a public park on his own time and not the people’s time and speak all he wants, as long as he wants to whoever is prepared to listen to him. Isn’t there a corner already set up in his honor called “The Speakers’ Corner”.

42. #42 by undergrad2 on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 7:43 pm

Either that or he should go back to looking after his kerbau and his kambing as he has always wanted to do – so he said earlier.

43. #43 by Damocles on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 7:45 pm

Isn’t it obvious that this government is going to stay on at all costs?
    It will not be put off by parliamentary niceties!

44. #44 by StevePCH on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 7:53 pm

can wee motion the Speaker to be changed ??? It’s seems like he is worse than everyone else.

45. #45 by undergrad2 on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 7:56 pm

Instead of bringing order to Parliament, the Speaker himself is out of order!

46. #46 by limkamput on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 8:00 pm

Now the speaker has rejected the motion without debate. Now the police have created havoc in the whole of Kuala Lumpur at the expense of ordinary folks.

May I now ask the following questions to PK:
    1. What objective/s have you achieved today?
    2. What is your next course of action?
    3. People are frustrated, how do you help them, one way or another?

My view is if you have the number, just do it. If not, just shut up for while. You must plan, strategise and take action. Please don’t shoot for fun.

Ok, the government has used the police to frustrate the whole of KL. But what is your plan, how do you counter? Some have even thought that it is PK who creates all the nonsense yesterday and today.

Come on, the petrol is already so expensive. Imagine you get struck for hours burning gas without going anywhere. Even if you want to take over the government through street demonstration, you must also have a plan. Otherwise, just shut up and wait.

47. #47 by limkamput on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 8:03 pm

Hnestly, what you do fellows expect the speaker to do? Alow the debate and allow the motion to be voted on? Since when have you all become so naive?

48. #48 by undergrad2 on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 8:10 pm

StevePCH Says:

Today at 19: 53.48 (15 minutes ago)
    “can wee motion the Speaker to be changed ??? It’s seems like he is worse than everyone else.”

In the U.S. the Speaker of the House is elected. Each party nominates a candidate on the first day of the new session; and whoever receives the majority of the votes is elected. The Speaker can be lawfully removed. It should be the same in the case of Malaysia which follows the Westminster model of parliamentary democracy.

49. #49 by a-malaysian on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 8:10 pm

YB Kit,

Just side track a little.

Is there any sign that YB Jeff Ooi is throwing in the towel?

Please read my blog on how I derive at this. Blood-Suckers

This is not spamming nor to promote my blog but a legitimate query.

Thanks

GE 13 – No matter what, we must ensure that racist umno bn do not regain the power like they had for the past fifty years.

50. #50 by Jong on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 8:18 pm

limkamput,

It is PR = Pakatan Rakyat. You had been using “PK” for far too long and no one has corrected you.

1 2 3 4

Comments are closed.