Congrats Datuk Seri Azizah – well-deserved!

Just came from the investiture ceremony at Dewan Sri Pinang by the Penang Governor Tun Abdul Rahman Abbas on his 70th birthday celebrations.

This was the first investiture ceremony that I had attended.

Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) President Datin Seri Wan Azizah binti Wan Ismail has become a “Datuk Seri” – as she has been conferred Darjah Panglima Pangkuan Negeri (DPPN), the second highest honour in Penang.

It was ten years ago that Azizah started on the journey that catapulted her to become a political leader in her own right.

The six years that Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim was in prison saw Azizah transformed from a self-effacing housewife giving quiet support to her husband and taking care of her kids into a political fighter through a tumultuous decade of Malaysian politics.

Azizah, who is now the Parliamentary Opposition Leader, deserves all the accolades and the honours conferred on her today, making her the new “Datuk Seri”.

1. #1 by Mr Smith on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 3:37 pm

Yes, Yes, she deserves this honour 100%. She is an Iron Lady who stood by her man as he went through hell. I wonder which other woman would have survived this ordeal and still come out strong. Many a lesser woman would have gone into depression or even beserk.
    Congratulations, Datuk Seri Wan Azizah.

2. #2 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 3:43 pm

Uncle Lim, you would be the next…..

3. #3 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 3:46 pm

The press conference where she showed the picture of Saiful with Najib’s secretary was very impressive. A woman who always dressed in Muslim costume, yet she is adapted to the new technology as well. She is a great woman.

4. #4 by rainbowseahorse on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 4:15 pm

Yes, indeed, Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) President Datin Seri Wan Azizah binti Wan Ismail deserves the “Datukship”. But I would like to hear and see more from her in parliament.

As far as I am concern, our uncle Lim should be and is “Tun Lim Kit Siang”… It is an honour by Malaysians for Tun Lim’s life time of devotion and fighting for the people of our land.

5. #5 by yhsiew on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 4:38 pm

She is a good example to all women.

Datuk Seri Wan Azizah, wish you good health and every success in your career.

6. #6 by wanderer on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 5:02 pm

It is most refreshing that finally we see a deserving lady receiving a Datuk Seri, well earned. I think the Penang govt. has set a good example to nominate deserving candidates, thus, enhancing the value and qaulity
    of the awards. Kak Wan (or shall I address you, Dato Seri, old habit die hard), congrats and keep up the good work!
    Congrats to you too LKS for your undying efforts in bringing positive changes to Malaysia. You will be dearly remembered!

7. #7 by James on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 5:40 pm

Warmest congrats Datuk Seri Azizah!

We the rakyat wish that your efforts to turn our beloved nation into a better place for all Malaysians will succeed. We also wish that you & your team will succeed in getting rid of the BN parasites which are presently in power. Have no mercy on these dogs; throw them out of the country as they have shown themselves to be greedy, devious, corrupt, destructive, etc. We will let the Almighty condemn each & everyone of these monsters to hell……….

8. #8 by Saint on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 5:42 pm

Congratulations – a well deserved award.

9. #9 by ShiokGuy on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 6:03 pm

As a senior parliamentarian, I think Datuk Seri Lim Kit Siang is very very well deserve too! Long Overdue!

All this while, the title has become only BN tools for power and position.

Shiok Guy
    http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/

10. #10 by Jong on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 6:05 pm

Congratulations YB Datuk Datin Seri Wan Azizah! – a woman of class, pleasant and a First Lady material!

11. #11 by Synic on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 6:11 pm

I’m afraid these titles don’t mean a thing, they are just political handouts, only naive folks will be impressed…lots of rotten apples amongst the Datuks, Datuk Seris, Tuns, whatever. No offence meant towards Wan Azizah, she’s a great lady and doesn’t need a hollow title.

12. #12 by Daniel Quah on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 6:12 pm

Congratulation to YB Wan Azizah….i am still waiting to see Uncle Lim conferred with Datuk Lim Kit Siang…you derserve it also…for your fight for Democratic….hope it wont be too soon…

13. #13 by llb_gan on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 6:34 pm

Congrats to DSWA … on par now with DSAI.

As for our Uncle Lim, suffice it to say he is a Tun in our hearts and minds. That is worth far more than anything we can give him … considering what people like ah yaik and ah sik have been given, no?

Tun is Gold; but it turns to dust if you don’t deserve it.

14. #14 by penang308 on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 6:47 pm

CONGRATULATION DSWA!

MAY YOU AND YOUR FAMILY BE WELL AND HAPPY ALWAYS!

15. #15 by zhengmei on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 7:17 pm

In Federal level, you are qualified to be conferred “Tunship” long time ago. I forgot how many years you hold the Opposition Head in Parliament.

In Penang, especially this time, I thought , Penang state government will recommend ” Datuk Seri Utama ” . The highest state award for you.

I totally don’t agree with you on this point. As Malaysian, no matter what you claim. We have Malay Rulers , Agong & Tuan Yang Di Pertua Negeri . If we deserve the title, we should go for it.

Dearest YB Lim, Please don’t reject.

Please take care

16. #16 by dawsheng on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 7:46 pm

Well deserved, congrats!

17. #17 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 8:07 pm

Jong Says:

Today at 18: 05.41 (1 hour ago)
    “Congratulations YB Datuk Datin Seri Wan Azizah! – a woman of class, pleasant and a First Lady material!”

Imagine this! PR takes over the federal government tomorrow. Who do you think will be ‘First Lady’??

18. #18 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 8:15 pm

I have no doubt if Azizah were to write a book on her transformation from being a filial, docile housewife resigned to walking a few steps behind her husband into what she is today, a political fighter in her own right, it would sell better than Karl Rove writing about political strategy and Bush about his political ‘strategery.’

19. #19 by Godfather on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 8:20 pm

One thing is for sure about Wan Azizah – you won’t find her shopping along Oxford St or Fifth Avenue, with a number of embassy personnel in tow carrying the shopping bags. That infamy belongs to the one and only……

20. #20 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 8:26 pm

…Malaysia’s Imelda Marcos with her many designer shoes.

21. #21 by badak on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 8:33 pm

I don,t want to be a wet blanket,But the way titles are given out…IN the near future if you throw a stone it will land on the head of a Royal title holder.
    What happen to the investigation of Selling Royal titles to the highest bidder …

22. #22 by stjames on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 8:37 pm

Congrats to Datuk Seri Wan Azizah, well deserved for the struggles.

Impressed by Pg Governor’s choices, opposition MP and finally recognition of the World no. 1 Squash player Datuk Nicol Davids.

LKS, your titles are way overdue. We all know you should be a Tun by now if it was a level playing field.

Btw, GUYS, seems like TDM’s website, many dont appear to be fans of DSAI. This country must be greatly split in opinion right now.

I have said before, opp needs another perceived candidate for PM other than DSAI. Innocent or not, DSAI IS FAR TOO CONTROVERSIAL, lacking trust from some quarters and will have more dirt thrown at him. However, opp. needs DSAI to win, he should play strategist/kingmaker. The opp. cant afford split in support to take on the BN machinery.

If DSAI is genuine in quest to build a better Msia, he knows this is the only way.

23. #23 by I Malaysian on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 8:50 pm

Congrats Datuk Seri Azizah!

I find two remarkable qualities in her:-

1) Her determination and fighting spirits for the right cause

2) Exemplary to all women in Malaysia – a woman of high moral value, soft yet very firm.

She has become an enviable leader in her own way.

24. #24 by mendela on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 11:20 pm

Uncle Lim must never accept a Datuk Seri-ship or even a Tunship.

Uncle Lim must continue to set good example for other politicians. Having such titles make Malaysians look stupid in the eyes of the world.

The world nowsadays is talking about efficiency, short and simple.
    Having such a long names only make Malaysia forever behind developed countries.

25. #25 by katdog on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 11:46 pm

I have to agree that i feel these titles are a joke. Do you see American presidents with titles? How about Britain, Australia, Singapore, Japan? They don’t award their leaders and ministers grand titles.

If there are any titles, they are awarded to common people who have gone above and beyond their duty to serve and help their country and people. Datuk Seri Wan Azizah is definitely someone who falls into this category.

Unfortunately, in Malaysia all our various Ministers, PM, DPM have all awarded themselves titles to honour their ‘contribution’ and ‘hard work’ to the country.

26. #26 by alwaysfair on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 11:57 pm

It is very good for Wan Azizah to have more titles heaped on her so she will appear more formidable to the enemy. Her daughter too should follow closely behind.

This is very good for a back-up should the SODOMY sword be weilded again successfully by the BN Goons at least she will be spared and can lead the opposition too.

M’sian opposition have to struggle through hard and long battles and casualty rate high so they have to train next generation to continue the struggle because the enemy is indeed formidable.

27. #27 by limkamput on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 12:42 am

How much of the description of Dr Wan Azizah was due to circumstances and realities that she faced? If DSAI had not gone through the ordeal and tribulation and if today he is the PM of Malaysia, would Dr Wan Azizah had evolved and transformed to what she is today? Much of the transformation, to me, is due to realities beyond her own choice. Nonetheless she is a tenacious and tough lady.

28. #28 by anna brella on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 1:33 am

I see Dr Wan Azizah as a good and inspiring leader for all Malaysians so this accolade conferred on her is I am sure truly deserved.

So I add my congratulations to Datuk Seri Wan Azizah binti Wan Ismail.

29. #29 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 7:07 am

Let’s not belittle the achievements of this woman.

When her husband was arrested and incarcerated after a sham trial in 1998/9 which became the focus of the media across the world, lesser mortals would have left her country and perhaps build a life for herself and her children somewhere safe to await her husband’s release from prison. She did not. She stuck by her husband. She stood by her man as they say. She continued fighting for his release drumming up public opinion at home and international opinion until his release six years later. She campaigned on behalf of her husband when he could not do so and won two general elections later. She was transformed in the process from being a wife of a politician to a politician in her own right; and the first woman from her race to hold the position of Parliamentary leader of the opposition. These are no small achievements.

Her achievements mirror that of Philippine’s first female president and practically Asia’s first – Corazón Aquino. Benigno Aquino, her Senator husband would have stood for the presidential elections but was imprisoned by President Marcos in 1972. Undeterred her husband stood for the elections in 1978 from behind bars and Corazon Aquino campaigned for him. The family was allowed to leave the country only with the personal intervention of the President of the United States in 1980. Her husband returned to his country and was assassinated in 1983. She returned a few days later and rode on the wave of people power to take the presidency in 1986. The rest is history.

She made to the cover of the Time Magazine of that same year.

I feel Malaysia’s Corazon Aquino deserves to be on the front cover of TIME magazine if she becomes Prime Minister this year.

30. #30 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 7:19 am

I think that’s the only way Anwar being in the position that he was for six years, could hope to show his deep appreciation for his wife who stood by her man through thick and thin.

31. #31 by flyer168 on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 7:44 am

Dear YB LKS,

My heartiest congratulations to YB “Datuk Seri” Dr. Wan Azizah for the well deserved award & also as the 1st woman Opposition Leader in the Malaysian Parliament History.

She truly deserve the award for her dedicated & unselfish service to this great nation on top of having to defending her party & her “Family” honour.

I hope YB LGE, your goodself & YB Karpal will be next on the list for a Federal award for your Dedicated & Honourable service & contribution to this nation

32. #32 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 8:19 am

The complex system of titles and honorifics is a part of feudal political culture since the Malacca Sultanate. It has been used by the BN to confer societal “respect” and recognition to not just people of distinguished public service but as a reward system for those who serve and are serving with allegiance the regime no matter how corrupt and abusive of power.

The litany of those who were given titles and investigated, suspected or convicted of crimes that sullies the honour of titles and honorifics is too long to recite here. Should a person of real honour – much more a Leader of Opposition – accept such an award and be part of the game of the ruling elite – that is the rub!

Take for example the true personalities who fight for the rakyat’s interest, sacrificing personal safety and comfort for the peoples cause and the Cause of the Right like our uncle Kit and even Raja Petra or the Hindraf’s leaders – do they get these titles and honorifics? No – they get only sedition charges, incarceration in Kamunting and mid night visits from Special Branch. These harrassment punishment and sufferings are the true ‘badge of honour’ higher than the Datukship Tan Sri Ship and Tunship that these people wear like a ball of chain around their neck!

People who believe in egalitarian society based on merits and not honour based on hereditary and political connections, people who believe in a society which is not stratified along lines of Bumiputra-Non Bumiputra Malay, the title and the not titled, the politically connected and not so connected, the upper class and the common class, people who recognise the truly more deserving who fight selflesly for public interest and reap as reward the thorns and nails of persecution rather than these titles and honorifics shgould arguably, as a matter of principle, shun and not accept such awards.

33. #33 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 8:25 am

And talking about a woman standing by her man should we not confer accolades to the wife who stood by Dr Chua So Lek who stood for Acountability? And what about the man who has stood by his wife (in this times of gender equality and Article 8 of the Constitution) and wife, him through all the allegedly ‘slanderous’ allegations and accusations of Bala’s first SD and also Anwar’s, should we not recognise that is laudable thing to do? :)

34. #34 by lovemalaysia on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 11:52 am

yes, Datuk Seri Azizah…well deserved.,,, but Datuk Nicol David? she is young, and i thought she fight so hard also for the grand prize and $$$? and nw conferred? i think the age criteria must also be take into consideration…..Lim Guan Eng, i think u more deserve than her…..

35. #35 by alancheah on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 5:03 pm

Congratuation.

36. #36 by SL Chan on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 6:34 pm

YB DSWA…

Congratulation to you!!!

37. #37 by grace on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 9:29 pm

By LKS standard, he should get no less than a Tan Sri. A true champion of th rakyat. A sincere patriot who only has the interest of the nation at heart. If he is in England, very probably he would be knighted.
    Oh yes, Congrats to Wan Azizah and not firgettng Nichol David. both of them are women of substance.

Yes, LGE did the right thing in recommending Nichol David. World number one in squash- how many Malaysians can do that. Koh tsu Khoon must be dumbo for not giving her the title.
    Instead one channel swimmer got it . Ha!Ha! The channel was swum by hundreds already including some handicapped.
    Hey recently our Doctor swam the Gibraltar straits. What reward from the government??????

38. #38 by ktteokt on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 10:39 am

Kak Azizah will do her best, with or without the title. These titles are so superfluous that in today’s political and pseudo-political circle (except for PR), there are no more NORMAL human beings who would stand to be addressed by a humble “Mr”, “Mrs”, “Ms” or “Madam”!

39. #39 by akarmalaysian on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 3:24 am

i hv nothing to say abt this wan azizah but my highest respect and regards to her as a woman who endured everything for her husband.my hats off to her.