Can Abdullah deliver reforms in 24 months which he failed to do in five years?

The announcement by Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi yesterday of a 24-month transition plan for him to step down as Umno President and Prime Minister in June 2010 and hand over power to his deputy, Datuk Seri Najib Razak is clearly the product of an intense multi-faceted power struggle involving various factions inside Umno as well as players outside Umno.

It was only two weeks ago that Najib made the startling public statement after a back-to-back Umno and Barisan Nasional supreme council meetings on the same day that the Prime Minister presented the Ninth Malaysia Plan Mid-Term Review in Parliament that he did not dismiss the possibility that he might contest the Umno presidency in the coming Umno party polls.

Such a statement did not really square with Najib’s declaration yesterday after Abdullah’s announcement that he had never won positions in the party through challenges against incumbents, adding: “Why then should I start now? I will not do something (challenge my boss), something I do not want to be done to me.”

It has been reported that Abdullah and Najib had discussed the power transition plan over five meetings in the past month, and if so, the public ultimatum by Najib two weeks ago that he could go for the Umno President’s post would have factored prominently in yesterday’s event.

It will continue to be an intriguing question as to who has got the upper hand, Abdullah or Najib, but whether Abdullah’s announcement yesterday will end the Umno turmoil is most problematic, especially with the rise of the chorus of dissent both inside and outside UMNO, viz:

Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin – “Some have expressed concern that if the duration is that long, the situation will not become more convincing.”

Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah – “This handover thing is unconstitutional and it is not something that should be passed down from one leader to another. The matter of Umno’s presidency and in turn, Malaysia’s prime ministership, should be endorsed by the grassroots.”

Tun Dr. Mahathir - “Najib akan dijanji peralihan kuasa akan dibuat pada 2010. Sebelum sampai tarikh keramat ini tuduhan akan dilempar terhadapnya supaya dia ternampak tidak lagi layak untuk menjadi Timbalan Perdana Menteri.

”Seorang yang dianggap lebih setia kepada Dato Seri Abdullah akan menggantinya. Pengganti tidak akan ambil alih jawatan Perdana Menteri pada 2010 kerana kurang pengalaman. Dato Seri Abdullah akan bermurah hati untuk mengisi jawatan itu hingga Pilihanraya Umum ke-13.”

But what really raised eyebrows of Malaysians is Abdullah’s statement yesterday that the 24-month power transition will give him time to carry out reforms as promised.

Abdullah should come to Parliament on Monday during the winding-up of the Ninth Malaysia Plan Mid-Term Review debate to list out the reforms he would accomplish in his last 24 months in office which he had failed so dismally to deliver in the past five years.

It was Abdullah’s very failure to deliver his reform pledges in the 2004 general election for which he was given the unprecedented mandate of 91 per cent of parliamentary seats which produced the March 8 “political tsunami” in the 12th general election, ending Umno and Barisan Nasional’s unbroken two-thirds parliamentary majority and causing their electoral debacle in five states.

In the past four months, despite Abdullah’s assurances that he had finally heard the voices of the people and repeat of his reform pledges, nothing has been delivered in the critical areas of restoring national and international confidence in the police (there has been no word on the establishment of an Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission), the judiciary and in an all-out war against corruption.

Can Abdullah achieve anything in carrying out national reforms before the end of the Ninth Malaysia Plan in the next two years when he had failed so dismally in the past five years?

This is the question he must answer in the final government winding-up of the parliamentary debate on the Ninth Malaysia Plan Mid-Term Review on Monday.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by James on Friday, 11 July 2008 - 10:49 pm

YB LKS

I fully agree with your firm view that the sleeping useless bodohwi can never introduce reforms to improve MY within 2 short years when he did absolutely nothing during the past 5 long years when he has been in power. This shameless moron that is a disgrace to his religion, race & country is boldly gambling to stay on in power for as long as he can. Why? To milk the nation dry & to make the rakyat suffer.

All Countrymen of MY must show strong signals to this multifaced liar so as to banish him from power b4 our beloved country becomes bankrupt & get colonised again……

2. #2 by bystander on Friday, 11 July 2008 - 10:57 pm

lets face it. no umnoputra has the competence, qualification, statesmanship, integrity, honesty and credibility beyond question to be a pm except yb. but then a nonmalay can never be ceo of glc or mb let alone be pm. how stupid, backward and racist.

3. #3 by Jong on Friday, 11 July 2008 - 11:02 pm

You two should start a “comedy court” !

4. #4 by One4All4One on Friday, 11 July 2008 - 11:06 pm

It is a case of “too many hands spoil the soup”.

If our PM wishes to deliver on his missions, he has to ignore the interjection and interference of his UMNO members. He has to singlemindedly focus on the agenda that he had set out and get things going without being affected by distractive voices and inconsonant ideas.

Malaysia suffers as the result of “hidden hands” in UMNO which only consider their own selfish and covert interests.

Malaysians at large cannot allow a faction of a political party to affect the day to day running of the country, and in the process cause them to suffer irreparable damages and loss of a lasting and monumental proportion.

THe future of generations of Malaysians to come is at stake and being jeopardised. We cannot allow the nation’s coffers to be drained and siphoned off uncheked. It would be a collosal trajedy for the nation if this continues.

By the way, the members of the faction, which could have interfered in the running of the nation, profess the teachings of a great religion, which teaches honesty, humility, respect, accountability, and all values that are virtuous, do not behave in a manner which is expected of them.

Seems like religion is only use as a front to steer one’s interest and agenda. God forbids!

Well, it will take someone who commands true leadership and who is infallible and self-righteous to be able to make things change for the better of our beloved nation. Anything less would not work.

Let’s pray for divine guidance for emergence of a leader of caliber and honour, in the fullest sense of the words, to lead a Malaysia of multi-ethnic, multi-religious, and multi-cultural background forward.

The future of a nation is at stake.

5. #5 by undergrad2 on Friday, 11 July 2008 - 11:07 pm

Jong,

What I said is right. He is the only one who writes on this blog in Bahasa and if there is anybody who could help you with that question it is he who says he is good in bahasa. You gotta give some credit to the guy la!

6. #6 by bystander on Friday, 11 July 2008 - 11:12 pm

14all-you are day dreaming. the malays will never allow that to happen. nevertheless, i hope your pray comes true.

7. #7 by One4All4One on Friday, 11 July 2008 - 11:18 pm

While we may comment and disagree and criticise, let’s not go to the extent of using abusive words and descriptions. It only show our mentality and upbringing.

Let’s not do unto others what we do not want others do unto us.
    Just as we expect others to excel, what do think others expect of us?

There must be principle and honour in our words and deeds. Else, whatever we say and do means nothing, and holds no water.

8. #8 by One4All4One on Friday, 11 July 2008 - 11:22 pm

Just as we expect others to excel, what do you think others expect of us?

9. #9 by devilmaster on Friday, 11 July 2008 - 11:26 pm

I had already said this last time,

..if this Sleepyhead could deliver reforms, i will run naked around my neighborhood for 3 days.

10. #10 by bystander on Friday, 11 July 2008 - 11:33 pm

its very naive to expect a leader of calibre and honour to emerge. not in the next 50 years.

11. #11 by alwaysfair on Friday, 11 July 2008 - 11:36 pm

I have nothing much to comment on this matter because as far as I am concerned they are a crooked bunch. I prefer Najib better step down. He is ruthless but Badawi is decent.The manipulations on the ongoing altantuya case is unbelievable!! I think we let them fight it out. Sorry got to go to a very important topic. This one is for defense strategy.

I just like to propose that we should lobby for abolishment to sodomy law in Malaysia. Actually the law is an archaic law from colonial times which was adopted in British colonies, and with passage of time and greater emphasis on human rights are found to be irrelevant. This is because under the United Nations Charter there should be no criminalisation of same sexed sexual activity for consensual adults. Because the law should respect what people do in the privacy in their bed-rooms.

In India (previous British colony)this law was found to be unfair in imprisonment of some gay activists and was abolished after a long fight.

Every member country in UN, including M’sia should adopt and abide by this charter .
    The reason I propose the anti-sodomy laws be ablished in M’sia is because though archiac it’s punishment can be draconian 10 to 20 yrs jail?

It was used once to throw Annuar in jail, and this weapon is now being weilded again once he becomes threat. Everyone know this is political assasination under the guise of legality and religiousity, and if this law still remain,it can be abused again by ruthless men to pervert justice.

Don’t think we have to plan for defense strategy??

Do you think we should abolish this law in M’sia? (no offense meant to Muslim)
    If so how should we go about doing it?
    Don’t youI think this is very important to protect our future leader???
    Please do something???anyone ant idea???

12. #12 by disapointed86 on Friday, 11 July 2008 - 11:37 pm

Mahathir = Must Always Hantam Abdullah till he is removed

13. #13 by shamshul anuar on Friday, 11 July 2008 - 11:55 pm

Dear OneforAll4one,

Finally some sense and mannerism prevail. Your advice is timely. Many who claim moral high ground here are seriously lacking in proper upbringing.

By all mean criticize. But surely one does not have to stood that low by using insulting remarks and calling names. They themselves are intolerant of PM. Reading the remarks here including from Lim Kit siang make one feel that there is nothing good from UMNO, Malay, Islam or Pak Lah.

PM may not be a genius. He did not even claim to be one. But I feel that he is a decent. honest guy . He accepted defeat for example in Selangor. Never once he threaten to topple the MB of Selangor. Yet his opponent, Anwar , crying out loud to the whole world that he intended to topple PM. Imagine the fear, instability should PM tell that by Sept 16, Selangor will have a new MB.

As for Godfather, please get the fact right first. BN won the 12th General Election. That is the reason why Abdullah Badawi is appointed as the PM. Rakyat had already made the decisions. They decided that BN needs a wake up call. But they still want BN to rule Malaysia.

As much as you want Pak Lah to respect the choices of rakyat in Selangor, Penang, Kedah., Perak, Kelantan, you also accept the reality that UMNO won in Johor, Negri Sembilan, Melaka, Perlis, Trengganu, Pahang, sabah.

Your concern is of course is genuine. But as expected the target is misplaced. Talking about crony. Please remember that Penang DAP Chairman was not appointed as Chief Minister. Whatever happen, the post will go to the son of Kit Siang. No wonder it is called “Father and Son” Co.

14. #14 by Jan on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 12:07 am

This time no fat ministers tripping over themselves begging Badawi not to go. They all want him to go and as soon as possible.

15. #15 by Cannottahan on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 12:39 am

16. #16 by alwaysfair on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 12:45 am

I dont know much about politics, but Badawi is a decent person. He might be a sleepy head,but if he has a bad heart then beware. The winds of democracy will not be blowing so freely and we cannot chat freely and he has benevolently allowed all these to flourish.

He cannot be blamed for being a poor leader because Dr M passed the baton to him to be a temporary custodian more for his CLEAN image than his capability as a leader,if you recall.

Hope he don’t step down so fast,or DPM would seize control. and obliterate all criminal evidence.
    I think other than Badawi, non are fit,so we hope Annuar will take over soon.

17. #17 by limkamput on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 12:56 am

undergrad2, the smartest,
    When did i ever use BM to show I am good although i have no doubt in mind at all i am much better than you in that regard. I only use BM when the original post was in BM or when i am writing in response to someone who wrote in BM. This is to ensure that the person understood me correctly. Oh, yes, I also used BM when you tried to translate a text from BM to English (on Pulau Pisang, remember?). The translation on the whole was good but you have left out one or two vital points. I only tried to help by pointing out the lines you missed out and now you are creating an issue out of nothing.
    One more thing, don’t try to influence Jong to your side. I don’t think you are going to achieve anything. She is always fair and nice to almost everybody here except one or two like Kickbutt@???. Don’t behave like a whimper. Show that you are man enough (tunjukkan yang kamu seorang laki-laki).

18. #18 by limkamput on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 1:06 am

Since when the malaise we face today in Malaysia is just a leadership issue? Please don’t talk about whether Naji* will make a difference when he takes over. I am not even sure now Malaysia will be any difference when PK takes over. Think deep undergrad2, what else do we need to bring about change for the better!

19. #19 by kitkat46 on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 1:24 am

Come on Mr. Lim Kam Put, you cannot be stooping that low! This blog is meant for serious discussions.

20. #20 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 1:33 am

Good! Now we know that you have no intention to repudiate the fact that you served the corrupt BN government for two decades or more and have been ‘honored’ with a title PPN, a ‘fairly respectable one’ by the Agong for long service. At least we now know where you stand! That’s how and where you first became so conversant in bahasa?? I don’t think so.

21. #21 by Richardqed on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 1:59 am

PM may not be a genius. He did not even claim to be one. But I feel that he is a decent. honest guy . He accepted defeat for example in Selangor. Never once he threaten to topple the MB of Selangor. Yet his opponent, Anwar , crying out loud to the whole world that he intended to topple PM. Imagine the fear, instability should PM tell that by Sept 16, Selangor will have a new MB.
    — shamshul anuar

How can AAB not accept defeat in Selangor when he has lost despite having the advantage of postal votes and other hidden tricks? It’s the last face-saving act that anyone would think of. In all his interviews with international news agencies, he has shown that he’s not just “not a genius”, but in fact a big-time joker as well.

And what is wrong with Anwar wanting to topple a joker who is also a compulsive liar who says one thing but does the opposite the next day? It is clear that, if not for postal votes and phantom voters, BN would have lost the election fully.

If AAB says he wanted to topple the MB, go ahead. He’s free to do it, if he can. But to say there will be so-called fear and instability is an exaggeration.

Malaysians will remember AAB in the moment that he faced the press after the election humiliation. His famous words: “Kalah .. kalah …la..”

22. #22 by ipohites on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 2:54 am

Another 2 years for the Citizens of Malaysia to suffer, and also handover to Najib…wat a big “joke”! Can we have someone else besides these joker? God bless Malaysia…

23. #23 by Puppy-Power on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 3:07 am

undergrad2 – if u can’t fight a verbal battle properly – do not resort to personal attacks at someone’s years of service in government. It’s awfully shallow of you, ain’t it? I have served in government as well. I guess that puts me in the same league as limkamput? Frankly, I think you talk too much for your own good. I guess that’s just what u are – a talker or knows how to write a bit of good english. SOrry ah – my England not so Powderful

24. #24 by trublumsian on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 3:37 am

kopi kau kau and RealWorld,
    The rakyat voted for AAB despite proof of unprecedented erosion of support because the country has never been on the OTHER side. (Besides, they voted for BN, AAB was just riding along). 50 years of entrenching in the BN mode is a tough nut to crack for the reformers. The Bumis cannot comprehend what it’s like on the other side, and unjustifiably fear the alternatives. BN voters fall into 2 categories in general: 1. those whose existence depend on BN, and 2. those whose subsistence depend on BN. To elaborate:

1. Majority of the Malays can only exist with BN’s help. They were born and internalized with this mentality, they make it a self-fulfilling prophecy, and they were equipped with NO way out of it.

2. Those whose subsistence depend on BN are the ones running the country, politically and economically. Yes, the Chinese and Indians work hard for their own betterment, and there are the ones working with the rich Malays to game the system. I got your back, you got mine.

With these 2 groups of BN voters, you betcha BN will remain in power and AAB/NR the default PMs.

25. #25 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 4:03 am

“…do not resort to personal attacks at someone’s years of service in government. It’s awfully shallow of you, ain’t it? I have served in government as well..” Puppy

Don’t mind if I call you puppy for short, do you?

I don’t “resort to personal attacks”! I don’t feel the need to. I’m just toying with someone hoping he’ll come out of the closet and admit who he is – one who has issues with his skin color and a huge ego which translates to distraction for me and many readers here. He has been bashing posters ever since he made his debut on this blog. I guess it is my turn.

My English has never been good nor is my bahasa. I gave this guy a compliment about his use and control of bahasa in all honesty and what did he say? Scroll up!

He cannot stand to see me write one piece on this blog without his “usual commentary” about how stupid I am and how smart he is – and how stupid some others are. What piece has this product of the NEP written on this thread except to respond to mine? I gave my response to Kathy who thought the PM should “remove all military power” from the DPM. I wrote it is not possible for anybody to remove from somebody something he never had. Kathy never responded but this limkamput-nincompoop guy got agitated instead…lol.

I don’t understand.

26. #26 by trublumsian on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 4:11 am

shamshul anuar,

most here aren’t disputing the fact that BN won democratically and AAB as UMNO’s head therefore inherited the PM post. disregarding reports of dirty handedness by BN, sane people like us still believe in the process, otherwise we’d relegate ourselves to the likes of chechnya, timor, and zimbabwe. we are still calling and treating AAB our PM, aren’t we? we just don’t like the sound of it..

anyways, you say you feel AAB is a decent and honest guy, did u just “feel” in vacuum?? have you seen the boatloads of mismanagement of money, mega projects, infrastructure, education policies, judicial cases, on and on and on in this country in the last 5 years? do you not know since AAB took office, our country is at a free fall in international rankings pertaining to transparency/corruption, competitiveness, scholastic scores, university rankings, happiness index, so on and on? do you know in soccer we rank 166, making us 39 rungs LOWER than singapore?? weren’t the matrons and patrons of BAM, FAM, and the likes appointed with criteria OTHER THAN their knowledge and excellence in the respective sports? all the heartbreak facts about this administration has been discussed countless times here so i’m not going to. but please “feel” for the country with an open mind. do not STOOP (that’s the correct word, shamshul) to the level of underachievers and low expectations when you “feel”.

27. #27 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 4:19 am

Sorry about the government bit, Puppy. Didn’t think anybody would be reading except this limkamput-nincompoop guy.

28. #28 by trublumsian on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 5:49 am

COP vs. COP

[this is news from the Star. if this speaks for even 1% of the police in the country, we're in deep s---]

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/7/11/nation/21793315&sec=nation

GEMAS: A policeman has lodged a report against all his colleagues including his superiors allegedly over dissatisfaction on how the monthly bribes from those operating illegal activities was being distributed.

In retaliation, one of his superiors, a sergeant, lodged another police report against the policeman, a lance corporal, for allegedly selling station property to scrap dealers.

A source said the lance corporal, in his 40s, was dissatisfied with his superiors for allegedly taking the lion’s share of the bribes while the rank and file received very little.

“In fact, the complainant claimed that he did not get a sen,” the source said.

The report was lodged earlier this week.

The sergeant, in an apparent tit-for-tat, lodged another report against the lance corporal alleging that he had sold some old wooden and iron furniture from the police station to a dealer.

“His colleagues even know where the dealer is operating from,” the source said.

State police chief Datuk Osman Salleh confirmed that a report has been lodged.

“We are investigating the claims made by the lance corporal. We do not want to make conclusions straightaway as the allegations are serious,” he said.

He said all the policemen were still on duty and have not been asked to go on leave.

He said action would be taken against his men if the claims were true.

It is understood that the Anti-Corruption Agency has also started a probe.

29. #29 by monsterball on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 6:35 am

The extra two years are putting the final touches of the five years he had….trying to keep his promise to be the People’s PM.
    Anyone will be slow at a new job. Be reasonable!
    But UMNO is finished…no matter what Dollah is trying hard to do.
    I think he knows that too…but is trying his best to correct all the wrongs…before he retires….and he can walk proudly…..with no guilty conscience.
    Just look at the timing and recent ACA complete power….just after the announcement of his retirement.
    Do you think..a stupid man can do all these things properly?

30. #30 by yhsiew on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 7:26 am

The followings, which were taken from Bernama, are useful for our ruling/opposition party leaders’ reference.

Singapore has become successful and earned the respect of the world community today because it has been governed by able leaders who have high integrity and are not corrupted, former Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew said Friday night.

He said Singapore progressed well until today because it had been managed by dedicated leaders who had a high sense of honour and level of integrity, honesty and competency and were not corrupted.

Lee also said that the country was different from others as it had no room for making mistakes.

31. #31 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 8:07 am

trublumsian,

That was a good one. I’m sending this to Jay Leno, the late night show!

32. #32 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 8:19 am

“Since when the malaise we face today in Malaysia is just a leadership issue? Please don’t talk about whether Naji* will make a difference when he takes over.” llmkamput-nincompoop.

Why are you having an argument with yourself…lol?

First you make a statement wrongly attributing it to a poster who never posted anything like it, then you condemn him for his stupidity. Is that the only way for you to get to the top of the heap??

The issue is should Abdullah Badawi as PM and president of his party get to appoint the next PM. Nobody is saying anything about he who is the anointed successor making a difference to anything…lol

33. #33 by digard on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 8:21 am

I am curious to see how gullible we will be this time. Badawi repeats his earlier tricks on us. Then it was Eric Chia and that deputy minister from East-Malaysia; the trial was allowed to drag on, evidence was allowed to vaporise. Finally, after years, they ended as no-cases. But we were impressed, hoping for Mr. Clean to clean up the country. When the misguided dentist raped the countryside, he said that not everything was okay, but that was it. When Zakaria built his mansion on embezzled ground, he kept quiet.
    Most of all: We have yet to see the 18 sharks to be nabbed. In the developed world, at any press conference, the journalists would start Q&A by asking about the latter. Here, they would probably roughed up, dismissed by their editors, or likewise.

I am curious to see how gullible we will be this time. ‘Malays forget easily’. All Malaysians are a very forgiving lot. On March 8th, we found the courage to say ‘stop raping us!’. I am curious to see if and how long we will remember our own decision, or how easily we will be taken in for another ride. Same Sandiwara, different actors. Then it was Eric Chua, now it is the DG of a government agency. Is it a coincidence that it happened on the same day when IGP and AG ought to have been detained. Badawi cannot want that, he needs them to stay in power. Do we allow a repetition of the earlier play? Will we be taken in another time?

34. #34 by mendela on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 8:30 am

In the last 10 years, what did the UMOputra Gomen do to attract foreigh direct investment (FDI)?

What is its strategies?
    There were many trade missions organised by MITI to third world South American and African countries, but what can these countries provide Malaysia in terms of FDI?

Do UMOputras know the importance of USA, Japan and EU countries in terms of FDI contributions?

Middle East could be very rich now with the oil money and the UMO Gomen is trying hard to bring these money into Malaysia. Their money are hot money, these money can come and go within seconds. These money won’t create jobs!

Good FDI create jobs, earn Malaysia foreign currency, upgrade our people knowhow, increase our competitiveness, make lifes better for our people. Hot money will bring disasters to our economy. It will be the first to leave Malaysia if they hear some uncertainty ahead.

35. #35 by mendela on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 8:35 am

undergrad2,

Pls send it to all world media too. CNN, BBC, Reuters, AP, NHK, KBS, CBC, ABC, etc.

The world MUST know how great our police force is.

36. #36 by trublumsian on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 8:53 am

yeah, jay leno hates stupid cops. god knows we hate them too for being corrupt while being stupid at it. so aca is investigating, i bet they’ll play a round of mahjong n walk. or aca does a splendid job getting the half wits to spill, only for them to rat all the police in the country, in which case they’ll still walk. no case.

37. #37 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 9:08 am

mendela Says:

Today at 08: 35.25 (29 minutes ago)
    undergrad2,

Pls send it to all world media too. CNN, BBC, Reuters, AP, NHK, KBS, CBC, ABC, etc.”

Not to worry! Now circulating to all channels including FOX, CNN, CBS etc. ABC?? I thought that was the name of my favorite ice kacang??

38. #38 by limkamput on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 9:19 am

undergrad2, the fact that you responded is an indication that I am not talking to myself. Whatever I wrote did attract lots of attention from you and probably others.

Why only now we are talking about NO 1 appointing the successor? Didn’t this “third world” practice was with us and on-going for years now even way before Mahathir’s time? Didn’t this stupid practice was adopted by MCA, MIC and Gerakan as well?

Undergrad2, didn’t I asked you to think deep why all these are happening in our country? We are never holistic in our debate here. We are always piecemeal.

Today, even if NO.1 has no power to appoint NO.2 to be NO1, would it make a difference? Would the grassroots make their own mind? In fact do the grassroots have a mind of their own? Are they not just a group of warlords behaving like whores ever ready to sell to the higher bidder?

Then the next question you may want to ask is why less than 3000 umno delegates, many of them whores, get to decide on the leadership and destiny of this country?

It is way to complex for us to discern why the country is in the quagmire, be it politically, economically and culturally? I ask that if only we think a bit deeper, issues would become not as obvious as each of us think. Many of us here make fleeting views and assumptions about things happening. First used by Alexander Pope, “A little learning is a dangerous thing; drink deep, or taste not the Pierian spring: there shallow draughts intoxicate the brain, and drinking largely sobers us again.”

39. #39 by atlk on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 9:19 am

imho, pak lah had already fulfilled his promise of a reform in malaysia. we are now seeing a new type of politics in malaysia..it’s called family, cronies & politics.

40. #40 by mendela on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 9:24 am

I meant Aussie, not ice kachang.

41. #41 by hope for futre on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 9:27 am

1st PM should sack the current AG, IGP and ACA chief.
    Others also in Immigration, Customs, etc.
    And put suitable people in their stead.
    Reform under these current chiefs is useless, they are tainted and stay blemished.

42. #42 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 9:32 am

limkamput-nincompoop,

Take a break!!!

43. #43 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 9:55 am

“Then the next question you may want to ask is why less than 3000 umno delegates..” limkamput-nincompoop

I must admit I know nothing about UMNO, its internal party procedures, its party constitution, how many delegates and how many divisions etc beyond what is written in the mainstream media. You’re better equipped to answer those questions.

I’m not a party animal. Not this kind of party anyway!

44. #44 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 10:00 am

mendela Says:

Today at 09: 24.29 (31 minutes ago)
    I meant Aussie, not ice kachang.”

Over here too, we have ABC channel. Short for ‘American Broadcasting Company’ owned by Walt Disney with its office in Manhattan, NYC.

45. #45 by grace on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 10:15 am

ysiew,
    You are right. Singapore has to scout for talents to fiil the cabinet. But ours are filled with rubbish. How to compare diamond with charcoal la?
    Lee Kuan also said that their leaders think of the nation’s interest amd sideline own interest.
    Our leaders think of how much his children, in laws , siblings or cronies can benefit from projects and do not care whether the projects work or not!!! Ha!Ha!

46. #46 by trublumsian on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 10:43 am

singapore pay big bucks to attract and retain cabinet talent. they compete with a vibrant and well-oiled economic engine. they’re also competing against their own world-renowned institutions in education, health care, and r&d for talent. folks go into politics because they WANT to serve the country, often spurning bigger paychecks from the private sector.

47. #47 by blablowbla on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 10:53 am

our local authorities spent million of dollars to go’lawatan sambil belajar’ to south africa,australia,germany,japan,usa,england,blablabla…come back and say:still singapore is the best!!!

48. #48 by Godfather on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 11:12 am

We don’t care if there is a leadership change in the den of thieves. We care if the den of thieves want to continue stealing. If the stealing gets out of hand, then we want to kick out the whole den of thieves, not just one thief.

49. #49 by stjames on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 12:31 pm

Prob need the time to complete his “personal projects” or a ploy to divert attention for two years, focus on doing the right thing and “u-turn” in 2010; “rakyat dont want me to retire”.

BTW, CAN SOMEONE SHUT THIS GUY UP, read this link:

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/86003

50. #50 by taiking on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 12:42 pm

Grace said not to compare diamond with charcoal. But diamond is charcoal. And therefore, charcoal is diamond. Inspect closely. You will see that they are the same. In fact you might even come to appreciate charcoal.

Itu dia. That is why UMNO kept on recycling what others consider is rubbish. Only they know. Those are not rubbish. Really. Not rubbish. Believe UMNO. Cant go wrong.

Want to see rubbish? Look under the carpet. But of course, ingatkan OSA dan ISA. Benar. Its true. Everything else not under the carpet is diamond. Not rubbish. Get it? Faham tak?

Alamak! Mau saya ulangkan sekali lagi?