Can Abdullah deliver reforms in 24 months which he failed to do in five years?

The announcement by Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi yesterday of a 24-month transition plan for him to step down as Umno President and Prime Minister in June 2010 and hand over power to his deputy, Datuk Seri Najib Razak is clearly the product of an intense multi-faceted power struggle involving various factions inside Umno as well as players outside Umno.

It was only two weeks ago that Najib made the startling public statement after a back-to-back Umno and Barisan Nasional supreme council meetings on the same day that the Prime Minister presented the Ninth Malaysia Plan Mid-Term Review in Parliament that he did not dismiss the possibility that he might contest the Umno presidency in the coming Umno party polls.

Such a statement did not really square with Najib’s declaration yesterday after Abdullah’s announcement that he had never won positions in the party through challenges against incumbents, adding: “Why then should I start now? I will not do something (challenge my boss), something I do not want to be done to me.”

It has been reported that Abdullah and Najib had discussed the power transition plan over five meetings in the past month, and if so, the public ultimatum by Najib two weeks ago that he could go for the Umno President’s post would have factored prominently in yesterday’s event.

It will continue to be an intriguing question as to who has got the upper hand, Abdullah or Najib, but whether Abdullah’s announcement yesterday will end the Umno turmoil is most problematic, especially with the rise of the chorus of dissent both inside and outside UMNO, viz:

Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin – “Some have expressed concern that if the duration is that long, the situation will not become more convincing.”

Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah – “This handover thing is unconstitutional and it is not something that should be passed down from one leader to another. The matter of Umno’s presidency and in turn, Malaysia’s prime ministership, should be endorsed by the grassroots.”

Tun Dr. Mahathir - “Najib akan dijanji peralihan kuasa akan dibuat pada 2010. Sebelum sampai tarikh keramat ini tuduhan akan dilempar terhadapnya supaya dia ternampak tidak lagi layak untuk menjadi Timbalan Perdana Menteri.

”Seorang yang dianggap lebih setia kepada Dato Seri Abdullah akan menggantinya. Pengganti tidak akan ambil alih jawatan Perdana Menteri pada 2010 kerana kurang pengalaman. Dato Seri Abdullah akan bermurah hati untuk mengisi jawatan itu hingga Pilihanraya Umum ke-13.”

But what really raised eyebrows of Malaysians is Abdullah’s statement yesterday that the 24-month power transition will give him time to carry out reforms as promised.

Abdullah should come to Parliament on Monday during the winding-up of the Ninth Malaysia Plan Mid-Term Review debate to list out the reforms he would accomplish in his last 24 months in office which he had failed so dismally to deliver in the past five years.

It was Abdullah’s very failure to deliver his reform pledges in the 2004 general election for which he was given the unprecedented mandate of 91 per cent of parliamentary seats which produced the March 8 “political tsunami” in the 12th general election, ending Umno and Barisan Nasional’s unbroken two-thirds parliamentary majority and causing their electoral debacle in five states.

In the past four months, despite Abdullah’s assurances that he had finally heard the voices of the people and repeat of his reform pledges, nothing has been delivered in the critical areas of restoring national and international confidence in the police (there has been no word on the establishment of an Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission), the judiciary and in an all-out war against corruption.

Can Abdullah achieve anything in carrying out national reforms before the end of the Ninth Malaysia Plan in the next two years when he had failed so dismally in the past five years?

This is the question he must answer in the final government winding-up of the parliamentary debate on the Ninth Malaysia Plan Mid-Term Review on Monday.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by stjames on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 12:44 pm

Anybody out there know how to register on MTsite?

2. #2 by AhPek on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 7:08 pm

Just because Badawi accepted defeat in Selangor is enough for Shamsul Anuar to feel that the PM is a decent chap. Not behaving like Mugabe doesn’t qualify one as decent .To be decent a lot more is expected of the man, Shamsul!!

John Howard was defeated and he rode into the sunset just like John Wayne in one of his shows without any fuss. What do you say to that?

3. #3 by AhPek on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 7:10 pm

To go on to space on account of taxpayer’s money I am sure you would say it’s great achievement as well. Is that right Shamsul?

4. #4 by Rocky on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 7:17 pm

khairy said there is a systematic history in UMNO to change leadership. to that I say, small boy go and read your history of UMNO better. You make Oxford malu la.You think we stupid ka? I went to local U la and even I know that there is no history of a systematic transition of UMNO president. How did Tunku resign? How did Tun Hussein resign? How did Mahatir resign? so don’t talk cock la. There is only 5 PMs thus far and you talk nonsense.

as for Najib, you are useless leader for letting Pak lah stay on for 2 more years. maybe you have skeletons..but still you are not a leader who takes charge. you are a hen pecked politician and clearly shows.

Pak lah what can you do in 2 years that you have not done in 5 years. more so when you are a lame duck PM in the next 2 years.

you UMNO are only concern about yourselves and not the nation.

5. #5 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 7:51 pm

limkamput Says:
    Today at 09: 19.12 (10 hours ago)
    “undergrad2, the fact that you responded is an indication that I am not talking to myself. Whatever I wrote did attract lots of attention from you and probably others.”

I didn’t say you were talking to yourself. I said you were having an “argument with yourself”. Please scroll up.

When a person says he is a dog lover. He likes in particular the Chihuahua, the smallest breed of dog in the world. (As a matter of fact I have one at home. They are just cute little dogs to look at).

In response you say the smallest dogs are not the most popular. You then provide the reasons why you think he is wrong about the facts i.e. the smallest breed of dogs being the most popular.

That would be my crude explanation and example of ‘arguing with yourself’. ‘Talking to yourself’ is something else. ‘Talking to yourself’ could be because you’re on Prozac – and that is something very different, taking us into a whole new dimension! Now don’t come after me alleging this time that I said you were on Prozac. That would be an example of another ‘argument with yourself’!

Where is this Cambridge Lee whose forte is his theory/inductive logic, scientific realism, explanation and theories of justification and knowledge. He does a better job at logical reasoning than anybody here put together.

Lee, where are you?

6. #6 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 7:54 pm

AhPek Says:

Today at 19: 08.10 (43 minutes ago)
    Just because Badawi accepted defeat in Selangor is enough for Shamsul Anuar to feel that the PM is a decent chap.”

Shamshul is apparently an UMNO apologist. Take that away from him and he’ll be without a job! What could be more dangerous than an UMNO Youth member without a job??

7. #7 by RealWorld on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 10:12 pm

“RealWorld – can we have some transparency from your bosses ? The vast majority think that Badawi can’t deliver, but can we make sure there’s no more stealing ?
    Stealing is a hard habit to break, but break it we must+ – Godfather

—————————————————-

Hey Godfather,

The rakyat have decided. BN is the government. Not happy? Come back in 5 years. In the meantime, can we have some transparency as well especially in Selangor too?

8. #8 by mendela on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 10:19 pm

stjames,

You mean to visit MT?
    I think the best probably is to Google search for “Malaysia Today” and lock in from search result.

9. #9 by katdog on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 11:01 pm

The rakyat have decided. BN is the government. Not happy? Come back in 5 years. In the meantime, can we have some transparency as well especially in Selangor too? – RealWorld

Thats strange. You make it sound like Selangor is the only state in need of transparency? How about Sabah, Sarawak, Melaka etc.? They’re perfectly fine the way they are?

10. #10 by lchk on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 11:30 pm

Realworld wrote:

“The rakyat have decided. BN is the government. Not happy? Come back in 5 years. In the meantime, can we have some transparency as well especially in Selangor too?”

Democracy is not just casting your vote every 5 years.

Only UMNO idiots believe that is democracy.

11. #11 by katdog on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 11:33 pm

I am amazed there are still some people that still believe Badawi is a ‘decent’ and ‘honest’ person.
    It would be forgivable iback in 2004 to say he was a decent and honest person, but after how he mismanaged the country and his many broken promises, you still believe his lies?

I do not refute the fact that there has been certain ‘benefits’ from his rule compared to Dr. M, but i wouldn’t go so far as to say that that makes him a decent leader.

12. #12 by RealWorld on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 11:33 pm

“Democracy is not just casting your vote every 5 years.
    Only UMNO idiots believe that is democracy.” – lchk

Democracy is not about holding some rock concert and raining bottles on stage either.

Only moaners think that is democracy.

13. #13 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 11:51 pm

True. But being able to hold a rock concert, and bending over to show one’s cheap multi-colored boxer shorts as a form of protest (though I do not profess to know what the guy was protesting about) to send a message is about free speech – and free speech is what democracy is all about. I suppose we’re not ready for ‘show your boxer shorts’ form of democracy.

14. #14 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 11:52 pm

…ooops should be boxers without the shorts

15. #15 by limkamput on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 12:16 am

undergrad2, you are just a good for nothing hypocrite who wants to enjoy the best of both world, who is the master in talking senseless cock and who thinks is the smartest in this blog. Now, please don’t accuse me of labelling you all these things. I am merely stating facts. If you want to argue about these, then you will be arguing with yourself.

16. #16 by lopez on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 7:54 am

How can a leader be given credit of being capable, when he uses most of tax payers monies on what certain type of people wanted to what a nation needs.

How can you say a person to be capable when he cant tell the difference between the what a nation wants and what a nation needs.

How can a leader have good economic acumen when all over the nation you advocate making dooms and not enough good librairies and good hospitals and steady strong schooling system of thecontempoary world.

How can a good leader be sensitive to the multi racial nation when he does not bother to know that these are found in certain places of the towns and cities.

How does a leader pretend to be good when certain spectrum of the nation have to bear hardship and wears out all their tong san monies since 70′s for some toddlers .

It is never ending….ypu fellas know lah.

before he runs out his tenure, he sure wants to be remembered as some pm who has done good and not remember as otherwise like one who is a cry baby…and karma gave his offspring a big and loose mouth.

The other one left an offspring with extra itchy gun and horny eyes.

lets see what karma has in store for this one.

17. #17 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 9:12 am

I don’t buy the line ‘need time to complete projects’. This was a deal between the top two to guarantee that UMNO GA would not be a total embarassment. Otherwise even if Badawi hold on to power, it would have been an embarassment and disaster AND resignation would not be optional.

Our political system despite all the drama is one of the most uncompetitive system in the world. Its the key weakness of our long term uncompetitiveness.

Malaysian have to face the fact we have some of the most stupid people running this country and they get away with it. It says a lot for the strength of this country we can tolerate them for so long and still. But we pay for that stupidity everyday and those least deserving pays more than those more deserving.

18. #18 by Godfather on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 11:01 am

RealWorld, Kasim Amat, Shamshul Anuar, all you UMNOputras who are in support of the Sleepy Head:

Do you know what Islam Hadhari is all about ?

For the next 2 years, it’s about Ada Had Ada Hari.

CEMERLANG, GEMILANG, TEMBERANG !

19. #19 by Godfather on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 11:50 am

When Badawi says he needs 2 more years to “complete (his) projects”, the message to UMNO is unmistakable – support me or else you will not have a whiff of contracts I am about to dish out.

So UMNOputras like RealWorld are now licking their chops, expecting some goodies to come their way. That’s the only reason why they are vociferous in their support of the Sleepy Head.

Not so easy, RealWorld. We are watching.

20. #20 by Godfather on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 11:52 am

We are watching the den of thieves. We are watching your leader…

21. #21 by citizenwatch on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 12:34 pm

(RealWorld Says:

July 11th, 2008 (2 days ago) at 15: 06.00
    Please be reminded Pak Lah is the rakyat’s choice.)

Did the rakyat really r have the choice through a clean and fair election?

22. #22 by citizenwatch on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 12:42 pm

Two years. A blogger reported about two months ago that about two years are required for Perennial Sleepwalker to bring back about two billion ringgit cash from a neighboring contry.

23. #23 by citizenwatch on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 12:53 pm

RealWorld, you must be a masochist to keep coming back here. It makes me think that you are here just for the fun of it, disagreeing and being controversial. I won’t be surprised if you are either a 14 year old non-entity in school or a frustrated and desperate housewife. Or trying to emulate the Oxbridge pseudo-intellectual primate of a philistine.

24. #24 by RealWorld on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 1:39 pm

“So UMNOputras like RealWorld are now licking their chops, expecting some goodies to come their way. That’s the only reason why they are vociferous in their support of the Sleepy Head.
    Not so easy, RealWorld. We are watching.” – Godfather

—————————————————-

Good then! As you have said so earlier, you likened yourself to a bulldog. So, be a good doggy can stand guard.

I just hope your are house broken thats all.

25. #25 by RealWorld on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 1:42 pm

“We are watching the den of thieves. We are watching your leader…” – Godfather

While you are watching BN, your PR aide to the Selangor MB already put his hand into the cookie jar. :)

26. #26 by RealWorld on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 1:45 pm

“Did the rakyat really r have the choice through a clean and fair election?” – citizenwatch

The GE not clean and fair??? Any proof that it was not clean?

… and talking about fair and all, I dont see you lot being fair to that rock singer either. Raining bottles on him and acting like thugs.

27. #27 by RealWorld on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 1:52 pm

“RealWorld, you must be a masochist to keep coming back here. It makes me think that you are here just for the fun of it, disagreeing and being controversial. I won’t be surprised if you are either a 14 year old non-entity in school or a frustrated and desperate housewife. Or trying to emulate the Oxbridge pseudo-intellectual primate of a philistine.” = citizenwatch

Frustrated and desperate housewife???! You have a problem with that profession or women in general?? Being a housewife is not an easy task, so for you to make general lowly comments about housewives and all shows that you have very little respect for women. You associate in general a housewife to being desperate and frustrated. This just tell me what a gimp you are.

I am not surprised you grow up not knowing who is your real mother thus your general low perception of mothers being full time housewives.

28. #28 by ktteokt on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 2:30 pm

Change the name of Bangunan Parlimen into “Bangunan Mi Magee” – instant, ready in 3 minutes!!!!! Why need 24 months?

29. #29 by Godfather on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 4:23 pm

RealWorld: Your boss said that Barang Naik coalition could win big in the next GE, just like 2004. Are you taking some of the hallucinatory drugs that your boss is taking ?

UMNOputras being issued APs, a Rembau company with no track record winning a large construction contract, projects in certain states “postponed indefinitely”….luckily the literacy rate has gone up, otherwise we’d all be forgiven for not knowing the truth.

Like I said, you should have some of what your boss is taking. Stop parrotting the same comments for the past few years.

30. #30 by Godfather on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 4:26 pm

RealWorld:

You sure UMNO got enough money to give out as goodies to you guys ? You sure there’s enough money to give in the form of green packets and sewing machines ? How to win big at the rate UMNO is going ?

31. #31 by Godfather on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 5:09 pm

“We are not in the business of cheating the people.” AAB, 2005

32. #32 by citizenwatch on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 6:26 pm

Now I see the pattern of your thinking. Simplistic and for expediency. From the time you started to touch on the rocker episode in a larger picture of democracy and housewife in the sub-context of frustrated and desperate. I expected you faking the crusade for housewives. A housewife per se is a wonderfully honourable human being being mother and wife but becomes a chore when she’s frustrated and desperate and start to engage the world and write comments under the name RealWorld. And what’s wrong being a desperate housewife? If you have the sense of humour you will enjoy the wildly popular series, “Desperate Housewives”. After you do the laundry, switch on the TV and enjoy. But now it’s obvious in the way you think which is typical vernacular old school, debate everything, thinking in a vacuum without the context. You are truly bereft of any worthiness to engage with.

33. #33 by citizenwatch on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 7:10 pm

(trublumsian Says:

Yesterday at 05: 49.32
    COP vs. COP

[this is news from the Star. if this speaks for even 1% of the police in the country, we’re in deep s—]

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/7/11/nation/21793315&sec=nation

GEMAS: A policeman has lodged a report against all his colleagues including his superiors allegedly over dissatisfaction on how the monthly bribes from those operating illegal activities was being distributed.

In retaliation, one of his superiors, a sergeant, lodged another police report against the policeman, a lance corporal, for allegedly selling station property to scrap dealers.

A source said the lance corporal, in his 40s, was dissatisfied with his superiors for allegedly taking the lion’s share of the bribes while the rank and file received very little.)

This episode is a microcosm BN/UMNO happening now and the near future. “I want my share”. “Where’s my share? And you got a bigger one”. etc.

34. #34 by dapbestrong on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 7:56 pm

from the star, Sunday July 13, 2008

I’m used to making history that leaders before me had not achieved.

“The 2004 general election was the best but the 2008 result was the worst which no leader before me had achieved,” -abdullah badawi.

ohh god.. pls just change this man. he still live in his own dream.

35. #35 by lchk on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 9:03 pm

What the heck is this Realworld umnoputra trotting about housewives?

Talk about respecting women and housewives, look at what one of his UMNO masters babbled about bloggers being unemployed women – go and tell him off first lah before you lecture about respecting women and housewives here.

36. #36 by Loh on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 9:28 pm

PM AAB said that since the day he heard TDM lamented that he was not able to change the mindset of Malays, (to what used to be Malay mindset until TDM brainwashed them to what it is today,) AAB promised himself that should he be destined to be PM, he would do what TDM could not, to change the mindset of Malays.

In 2006 TDM criticised AAB for not doing enough for Malays. It would appear that TDM did not want AAB to work towards changing the mindset of Malays to pre-1969 days. So, TDM were not sincere in working towards changing the mindset of Malays. TDM shed crocodile tears in saying that he was not able to change Malay mindset when government policies served his convenience to remain in power. If the late Tun Ismail was correct in saying that out of pride, Malays would themselves drop article 153 to be considered equal citizens with all other races in the country, it would appear that the pride of Malay race meant little to TDM.

AAB said that he wanted to work towards changing the mindset of Malays when he became the PM. Unfortunately, not only did he not work towards that, he allowed his son-in-law to be the first to hurt the feelings of non-Malays as Malay champion. The subsequent competition among Malay political opportunists to outsmart each other as Malay champions was the single most important cause of defeat by all the non-Malay BN parties. Had TDM remained in power in 2004, he would have suffered worse defeat in cheating the Suqiu group.

AAB announced that he will leave the post of PM in June 2010. Is the DPM a better person to serve as PM for Malaysia? For that matter is there any UMNO leaders who would make a better PM than AAB? There appears none. Anwar should therefore take over soon, before June 2010.

37. #37 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 10:01 pm

“… and talking about fair and all, I dont see you lot being fair to that rock singer either. Raining bottles on him and acting like thugs.” Real World

I’ll have to agree with the writer on this one!

Are Malaysians ready for free speech? Pulling down one’s pants to show one’s boxers is about free speech. The fact that it has apparently touched some raw nerves should not distract us from the issue. Having said that throwing bottles is also a form of free speech. But there is also such a thing as the rule of law and if you break the law you must be prepared to face the consequences.

Has the rock singer who rocked himself to ‘infamy’ broken any law??

38. #38 by Godfather on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 10:07 pm

Rest assured that RealWorld the UMNOputra is reading all our posts. He needs to regroup at the Kelana Jaya house of Mike Tyson to figure out the next line of attack.

39. #39 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 10:14 pm

“While you are watching BN, your PR aide to the Selangor MB already put his hand into the cookie jar.” Real World

Speaking of cookie jar, there is a shop near where I live called “The Cookie Jar”. I am checking to find if it is Malaysian owned and if so whether it is owned by BN members or their cronies.

‘Putting one’s hand into the cookie jar’ is an international art form developed and fine tuned over the years by those in positions of power. Nowhere is it more blatantly practiced than in Malaysia.

40. #40 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 10:18 pm

Godfather,

Since PK won over five states, it no longer needs my help and so I’m declaring myself an Independent. I am with the people.

41. #41 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 10:36 pm

I’m with Pakatan if their leaders are right on the issues! Not otherwise.

42. #42 by Godfather on Sunday, 13 July 2008 - 10:54 pm

It’s fine to be with the people. The people want change, and change is when the corrupt BN led by the den of thieves known as UMNO is booted out of power.

43. #43 by AhPek on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 12:34 am

‘Putting one’s hand into the cookie jar’ is an international art form developed and fine tuned over the years by those in positions of power.Nowhere is it more blatantly practised than in Malaysia. undergrad2.

And if I may add further to your comment, it is also more shamelessly carried out as well!!

44. #44 by AhPek on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 12:56 am

But then again undergrad2, RealWorld might come around to remind you that Malaysia is still a young country and given enough time she is sure to arrive to the same refined level as the rest in the art of stealing! That is to say give her another 50 years of blatant and shameless thieving, her techniques will be developed and fine tuned just as you say of those in positions of power elsewhere.

45. #45 by undergrad2 on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 1:01 am

The problem arises when there is no more cookie in the cookie jar! What is the hand going to do?

46. #46 by Godfather on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 9:52 am

You mean “what are the hands going to do ?”. Grab each other by the b@lls….and sing “We are the champions”.

47. #47 by MMLEELC on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 1:02 pm

There is a saying “to build Rome is does not take Days” and to carry out reforms in 24 Months it is not a feasible Plan.
    Talking is alright anyone can talks but the execution and Carrying out of reforms many people needs to be involved .

Our PM is having a real “Hard Time” let us see what he has for Us.

Comments are closed.