Kelana Jaya Stadium anti-fuel price protest

Date: 6.7.08 (Sunday)
Time: 10am – 12am
Venue: Kelana Jaya Stadium, Selangor

From Malaysiakini

Kelana Jaya rally: 10,000 people at noon
Malaysiakini Team | Jul 6, 08 10:08am

There is a carnival sort of atmosphere at the Kelana Jaya stadium this morning at the day-long anti-fuel hike rally.

People started trickling into the 50,000 capacity stadium since early morning, to be greeted by vendors selling Pakatan Rakyat party mementos, T-shirts, cassettes and posters.

About 17 stalls had set up business since yesterday with traders reporting brisk business.

The rally is organised by the Coalition Against Inflation (Protes).

Protes coordinator Dr Hatta Ramli told Malaysiakini yesterday that the programme, which would see musical and artistic performances in between political speeches, would start at 10am until midnight.

When the rally kicked off at 10am, about 5,000 people have arrived at the stadium with more on their way. Most of them are in red T-shirts, turning the grandstand into a sea of red.

By noon, the organisers said that the crowd had risen to about 10,000.

About 2,500 volunteers from both PAS and PKR Youth wing have been placed to handle the crowd.

Hatta, who is PAS Kuala Krai parliamentarian, was the first speaker, followed by Hindraf coordinator S Jayathas, DAP Selangor executive councillor Ronnie Liu and PKR’s Irene Fernandez.

According to programme schedule released by Hatta this morning, representatives from rights movements Jerit and Hindraf are scheduled to give speeches at 12 noon.

At 2pm, representative of NGOs and Pakatan parties would have their say.

Pakatan members of parliament and state representatives would be making their appearance at 3pm, and at 5pm a number of Pakatan mentri besar and chief minister are expected to be at the stadium.

The Pakatan bigwigs are scheduled to appear before the crowd at 9pm with PKR de facto leader Anwar Ibrahim being the star of the show.

Police and military ‘intimidation’

Meanwhile, the nearby Kelana Jaya LRT station is busy with many protestors using the public transport to get to the stadium.

At the station, a small band of uniformed police personnel have been stationed to monitor the crowd.

So far, there is no police presence outside the stadium, although policemen have been put on standby in case of any untoward incident.

There are also two mobile police stations at the stadium.

It is learnt that Selangor police chief Khalid Abu Bakar is at the district police headquarters, keeping abreast of developments.

Vendors at the stadium told Malaysiakini that late last night they saw several police patrol cars and about seven military trucks in the area, but the convoy did not stop at the stadium.

In addition to the palpable police and military intimidation, organisers have to fight off persistent rumours that event would be cancelled.

“Any contrary information that is being disseminated whether by SMS or email are patently false and misleading and are meant to confuse the public.” said a statement from Protes.

“The planned programme will not be cancelled under any circumstances to ensure that the people are able to express their dissatisfaction at the government’s decision to drastically increase the price of petrol and other fuels without strong and reasonable justification.”

1. #1 by MrUnamed on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 4:15 pm

Our Life will getting “better” if these continue

2. #2 by peace on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 4:21 pm

I can not make it that as have appointment with Doctor. But I purposesly wore red T-Shirt. :)

3. #3 by Godson on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 4:38 pm

Hey guys…. The rock stars (showing buttocks) are just doing their job after being paid USD$$$$$ by SIL, FIL, C4 and Kurang aJar from behind. Isn’t it wonderful that $$$ can do wonders. Those guys are laughing at us now. We must stay focused.

Sorry my Engelishe not good coz my friends from umNO-BN have world class mentality but speaketh no world class language but i still live, suffer and die for umNO-BN.

Mmmm….sounds stupid.

CHANGE.

4. #4 by badak on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 5:21 pm

NAJIB SAID ON THE 5 PM ..THE TURN OUT WAS BAD BECAUSE PEOPLE LOSING FAITH IN PR GOVERMENT.
    WE HAVE THIS KIND OF [deleted] LEADER WAITING TO BE OUR PM.WITH ALL THE WARNING AND POLICE ROAD BLOCKS EVEN USING THE ARMY IN A COUNTRY WHICH IS PEACEFUL.
    A LEADER WHO SILL CALL THE SELANGOR STATE GOVERMENT “” OPPOSITION “” BN IS THE OPPOSITION IN SELANGOR.”"IF NAJIB DON,T KNOW THAT HOW LAH TO BE OUR PM ….

5. #5 by badak on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 5:31 pm

NO one knows what is on the mind of a performer on stage.This guy who mooned the crowd ( showing his a#$ ) .Now the group is famous ,earlier not many people know him.Now he is famous for all the wrong reasons.
    So don,t blame the organizers .Remember the singer who did a superman on a show organize by TV3.Remember Janet Jackson.

6. #6 by Jong on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 6:28 pm

I guessed as much it was sabotage! Pakatan Rakyat should know they are the target.

7. #7 by lew1328 on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 8:52 pm

Greetings! All

Now is not a time to debate the effectiveness organizing the “Portes”. We shall call the country crisis to the end which is affected our daily life. Furthermore, we “Rakyat” don’t feel save living here anymore.

“Turun … Turun … Harga Minyak . Kalau tidak –Turun … Turun … BN”

Best regards.

8. #8 by undergrad2 on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 9:12 pm

“Is it a political rally or is it a buttock showing concert?” limkamput

One buttock talking to another – cheek to cheek!

9. #9 by Jong on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 9:35 pm

Ohhhh, I missed it!

10. #10 by katdog on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 10:17 pm

Malaysia’s economy looks like it is teethering on the brink of collapse.
    And with recent political developments of the Anwar vs Najib saga, there are rumours that Abdullah Badawi may come out the winner.

I shudder to think what will happen to Malaysia’s economy with another 5 years of Badawi and his cronies…

11. #11 by allout on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 10:22 pm

YB Lim,

Please read “Don’t misjudge us silent majority” letter to Malaysiakini which is very true. In many of my post here I am trying to make you see how the silent majority feel but not to any success. Many of your bloggers here does not have responsibility, for them nothing to loss. But for us we have to feed the mouth.

12. #12 by aiD_kamikuP on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 10:58 pm

Now consider these….

“KUALA LUMPUR, July 7 (Bernama) — Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi wants bloggers to stop speculating and spreading rumours on the Internet as this is another cause of the unsettled political situation in the country. “I want to tell the blogs to stop all these as they are also responsible for what has happened. The best thing they could do is to stop,” he told reporters after holding several bilateral meetings on the sidelines of the 6th D-8 Heads of Government Summit here Monday.”

“All Internet and cyber cafes will have to close by midnight daily when new guidelines to control theses businesses are enforced soon, said Deputy Housing and Local Government Minister Datuk Hamzah Zainuddin. ”

“July 7 (Bernama) — The Housing and Local Government Ministry plans to require cyber cafe operators submit the names of school students who come to their premises to the ministry every month. ”

Can you see where this is heading towards. Slow and steady, bit by bit, the clamp is coming….!!

13. #13 by undergrad2 on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 11:03 pm

Jong Says:

Today at 21: 35.59 (1 hour ago)
    “Ohhhh, I missed it!”

Which one? The buttock or the concert?? Or just both cheeks?

14. #14 by Jong on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 12:38 am

Hahaha, my darts aren’t too bad, don’t think my aim at both cheeks would have failed! :D

15. #15 by Jong on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 12:44 am

There is talk the ‘BAD GOBLOKS’ were behind it, trying to mess things up and discredit the gathering.

Are we at all surprised? If C.4 was easy, what’s the problem, this one’s kacang!

16. #16 by ahpiow on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 12:48 am

Najib yesterday said oil protest a failure – did not achieve 1 million target. So Najib, with all the police/military threats issued pre-protest, you now say “a failure”?

Listen people, this clearly tells the people all pre-protests threats are meant to keep people away, to instil fear into people so that they stay away, and in the aftermath, it gives Najib and company the opportunity to say that the protest was “a failure”.

What this tells the rakyat is obvious isn’t it? Any future protests, the govt no longer has the confidence to enforce threats of water/chemical cannons, etc, onto rakyat.

Malaysia is now in the forefront in international news, and non-constitutional handling of protesters will further cast the Barisan govt in more negative perspective in foreign eyes.

Definitely a change in the govt policy on “illegal” assemblies! Move on PR, the BN govt is “on hold”!

17. #17 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 6:04 am

Don’t know about discrediting the gathering, but they sure have polluted the air!

18. #18 by stnaaron on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 10:15 am

to:LKS and all opposition leader

the effect from the previous mass protest rally does not hits the point at all. The turn out was poor at kelana jaya.

I should suggest that all three coalition parties launch a mass rally simultaneously on the same day and i will belief that there will be more then 3 million or more off public walk out on the street to protest.

I should suggest a major protest from three coalition PR force at one go … no red , no white….only a normal civilian attires will do …

Please keep us inform on the net …..

All the best…

19. #19 by stnaaron on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 10:25 am

attire play a very important roles in lauching the mass rally so that there are no visibled attires which the police or the army can spots the difference and to identified the protestor therefore it is not necessary to wear colour code attires to prevent from be spotted . Let the number be the force to protest and not the colour code at this hour we need to launch a very serious major event that can tell bodohwi another chapter about angry nation towards higher living cost from the recent petrol hike exercise.

and towards the PM or DPM position let the nation votes them out on GE13 and i belief that BN will be totally wiped off on the next round.

all the best the nation can clamped on the government .

We need people force….

20. #20 by pjboy on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 10:42 am

Quite probable AAB using NR as a sacrificial pawn to lock horns with DSAI. Why AAB & KJ not taking legal action against RPK’s SD that AAB & KJ are withholding evidence? AAB for sure would like to see KJ become PM one day to fulfill the family’s programs. Also, our usual loudmouth KJ has been quiet like mouse lately. Scheming something? Malaysia is going through darkest & dangerous times.

If AAB serious about listening & helping the rakyat, where the fuel-price hike is concerned, just have to abolish all tolls & private owned road-tax (but not insurance) for cars below 2000cc (petrol) & 2500cc (diesel) immediately. Bigger capacity cars consume more fuel, thus, if that’s the case, they should pay more for the ‘luxury’. Why wait for 2months to come out with report on Toll? It should be done in 1 week. Is it that difficult to realize the problem? Then our government is blind with all the $ from corruption.

The government made a decision to increase the fuel price overnight but need 2 months to study the after effects. Wow, how brilliant. We have geniuses in the cabinet. It is also not clear how the savings of RM 50B will benefit the rakyat. How will these RM 50B saved will be generated back into the economy? Wouldn’t be the same if it were in the hands of the rakyat? But rather, the government has taken it from our hands by controlling what we should do with it, for their personal benefit.

21. #21 by shortie kiasu on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 2:31 pm

Why are we still harping on the price hike of oil? Whether there was any mismanagement of Petronas fund in the past or not, it is bygone and we should not keep ‘crying over the spilled milk’ if ever there was, and move forward.

At least right now, it is fact, the crude oil price have touched US$150 per barrel, as compared to US$40 per barrel not too long ago.

There is no purpose to demonstarte or protest in public about the hike, every one knows.

Move on and find ways to adapt to the new reality. There is no two ways about it.

What is the solutions by demonstrating and protesting? The price of oil won’t come down, the price of crude won’t come down.

The price of crude oil is expected to move further up. All should wake up to the new reality and stop day dreaming that manna will drop from the sky. If you do NOT sweat it out, you will NOT get to enjoy the fruit of labour of others.

All these huha are chasing the foreign investors away, no tourists will want to come to visit the country. Your hospitality industry will go bust sooner and later. Who will suffer the most as result of these so called protestors? They themselves and the poor.

22. #22 by Godfather on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 2:52 pm

shortie kiasu:

So you suggest that we all sweat it out, and let the thieves get away with dipping their hands in the public coffers ?

With every dollar increase in oil price, Petronas makes additional millions, so what do you suggest that we do with the money ?

23. #23 by lew1328 on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 3:07 pm

Greetings!

Seriously, whether the protest results in return or not is not so important. For those who have missed the carnival, they wouldn’t know the real feeling of the crowds. They’re from different race and place but they walk to each others. This is a sign of unity as a true Malaysian.

Of course we can’t stop the global oil price increased but neither yours whose only talk cock here. (The PR wanted to wake up those who’re still sleeping)

Furthermore, it’s very sad that Malaysian nowadays don’t even have the freedom to talk. What other you can expects from the current government to improve the education, economy and other from their colony microstructure & management.

24. #24 by limkamput on Wednesday, 9 July 2008 - 7:57 am

undergrad2 says “One buttock talking to another – cheek to cheek!”

you are wrong again. it is my buttock to your cheek. you never learn, best of both worlds.

25. #25 by Hishamuddin on Wednesday, 9 July 2008 - 5:20 pm

YB,

Today I read in the Sun papers quoting The Second Finance Minister Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop in saying ” Petronas does not monopolised the natural gas for vehicles industry. It is teh other petrol comnpanies which are not keen to enter this field because the price is controlled at 68 cts per litre while the market price is RM 3.11″

1. Let me tell The 2nd Finance Minister that he do not know the price of NGV now. It is at about RM 1.10 in the world market today and not RM 3.11.

2. He never tell you that Petronas collect royalty on behalf of the goverment which is not right. What they make as profit is not profit but royalty. They have no right to spend it. It belongs to the rakyat.

3. We are one of the large Natural gas producer in the world. We export most of our natural gas so other countries can enjoy the cheaper gas for use and build up their industries using cheaper fuel alternative while we Malaysian have none or not enought for own use.

4. On NGV and biodiesel for cars, even a non oil producing country like Thailand is well ahead of us. They have much much more NGV filling station that us and Gasohol which is the alternative to bio fuel for vehicle. Are we sleeping or are we not telling the truth to the rakyat ?.

No wonder the rakyat protest. Petronas is only keen to collect the taxes and feed the politician. They never invest in anything that benefit the rakyat. You think of what they have given u so far……………….. NOTHING

26. #26 by taiking on Thursday, 10 July 2008 - 8:07 am

Why are we not embracing hybrid cars?
    Why are there no encouragement to move that direction?
    Its good for the environment. Isnt it?
    They use less petrol. Dont they?
    Or are they waiting for Proton and Perodua to produce their own working hybrid models?

27. #27 by htsaw on Friday, 11 July 2008 - 12:07 am

PM and his good-for-nothing Cabinet members have been asking and reminding the people to cut down on unnecessary enpenditure after the fuel price hike and even got the cheek to propose allowing govt officers to do business in order to earn extra money to cover their higher cost of living. What kind of govt is this?! Where will their commitment to their work be?

And lo and behold, the 6th July 2008 issue of Mingguan Malaysia reported the Secretary General of the Domestic Trade and Industry as saying that the Govt is paying the COMMISSION amounting to RM500 million which should logically be paid by the multinational oil companies who have been making billions of dollars in profits, to petrol station dealers. Why should our taxpayers money be utilized to pay commission to these petrol station dealers?!!! This is utter mismanagement of our tax money. Hope YB Lim Kit Siang and your colleagues will bring this matter up in Parliament.

28. #28 by ktteokt on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 5:33 pm

htsaw, I thought all public servants were given a rise just recently. So why the need to take on “part-time jobs”?

Comments are closed.