(Speech at the DAP Kuching Solidarity Dinner in Kuching on Saturday, 5th July 2008 at 9 pm)
In the past 36 hours, the country has been convulsed by the two contradictory statutory declarations by private investigator P. Balasubramiam over the linking of Deputy Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak with the murdered Mongolian national Altantuya Shaariibuu.
A great debate has been going on since Balasubramaniam’s second SD yesterday contradicting his first SD made public on Thursday with such devastating effect as to whether the private investigator had committed the crime of perjury, liable under the Penal Code to an offence which carries a maximum of seven years’ jail.
I think this question is secondary. My immediate concern of the two contradictory SDs by Balasubramiam is not whether he had committed a criminal offence, but his personal safety and a new low in public confidence in the police and justice systems.
After the March 8 “political tsunami”, resulting in the unprecedented Barisan Nasional loss of two-thirds parliamentary majority, the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi assured Malaysians that he had finally heard their voices in the general election verdict and would seriously carry out long-delayed reforms in the institutions of government, especially in the three areas of judicial, police and anti-corruption reforms.
Apart from a lot of “hot air” however little has been achieved in the past four months, apart from ex-gratia payment to six judges who were victims of the 1988 judicial crisis and scandal – when the victims of the judicial darkness of the past two decades were not just the six judges but an entire generation of Malaysians who were denied their fundamental and constitutional right to independent and impartial justice.
This is why I had asked in Parliament what is the actual amount of the ex gratia payment paid to the six judges as Malaysians have the right to know as the money come from the public coffers. Somebody said the ex gratia payment is RM1.5 million each. I hope to get the answer during the Ministerial winding-up in the debate on the Ninth Malaysia Plan Mid-Term Review in Parliament next week.
With little to show in judicial, police and anti-corruption reforms, Balasubramaniam’s two contradictory SDs have served to highlight the institutional rot in our country plunging public confidence in the justice and police systems to a new nadir.
Balasubramaniam had said in his SD2 that he had made his SD1 under duress. In his SD1, he had alleged that he had signed his police statement in November 2006 under duress although the police had omitted all his information linking Najib to Altantuya because he had been in the police lock-up for seven days and just wanted to go home.
This was what Balasubramaniam said in his press conference on Thursday when releasing his SD1:
“If you have experienced being in a lock-up, definitely you will sign the statement. I have three children (to think about).
”I was arrested under (Section) 302 (for murder). What’s the reason? In the first place there was no reason for the police to put me in the lock-up. They can call me anytime to take a statement. I was the private investigator for Razak.”
Balasubramaniam was the very picture of being very relaxed and comfortable in his Thursday media conference when releasing his SD1, while he looked very strained and under great pressure in his SD2 press conference, where he did not say a single word.
It is not only Balasubramaniam who is under great test with his two contradictory SDs, but public confidence in the police and justice systems.

#1 by KennyGan on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 1:55 pm
The whole problem is that this govt is too scared of losing power so they will use any dirty, oppressive tactic necessary to cling on the power.
The A-G, the police and the judiciary are corrupted and damaged by Mahathir. These 3 institutions working in concert can convict any innocent man or let the guilty ones escape justice. Only the press stands in the way but the press is also damaged.
Only the alternative online blogsphere is functioning but will it be enough to stop these evil schemers?
Malaysians must take a stand and correct the rot or we will slide into a failed state like Zimbabwe or Myanmar.
#2 by kosmoalpha on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 2:07 pm
mahathir said he was interviewed for 3 hrs over the ‘linggam-mee’,but the rakyat by enlarge think that he should be interrogated for 30 days,day n nite non-stop!!!he is carrying too many luggages,too heavy with his 22 years skeletons!!he is the one that hav actually screwed up umno/BN!!umno/BN would not hav mutated to this corrupted to core ‘overnite’!!bodowi n najis could not hav single handedly mislead umno/BN to this stage if the grass root are right minded!!they are all scums now!
#3 by boh-liao on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 2:20 pm
Last Thursday (3.7), when P. Balasubramaniam produced his SD1 at the press conference, his head was not covered.
Last Friday (4.7), when P. Balasubramaniam produced his SD2 at another press conference, he wore a cap to cover his head, just like Durex. Was he under duress?
Where is P. Balasubramaniam and his family?
Ask Mohamad Nazri. He must know their whereabouts. He was the proponent of the Witness Protection Bill.
#4 by hongsichuan on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 2:49 pm
If I were Mr Bala, I would have gone hiding with my family, even if I know that my life is not being threatened, for the simple reason of escaping the attention of the media and public scrutiny. Irrespective of whether SD1 or SD2 is true, he had already lost his credibility one way or another. What’s more, there is now talk by lawyers (including Mr Karpal Singh) that he may be charged for making false SD (as one of the two SDs must be false). Even supposing SD1 contains only the truths, SD1 would have aready been neutralised by SD2 (at least from a procedural point of view). So there is no logical reason for the enemy of AI to see Mr Bala eliminated physically. I hope that after a period of time he and his family would be able to start their life afresh.
#5 by law1999 on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 2:51 pm
When Bala made his SD1 no one look into his personal safety.
Now everyone is guessing what will happen to him.
We may never see him again!
Is understood.How the authority will handle this case.
Fairness only can be found in the dictionary. Obviously not in Malaysia.
Yes I agree we need not ONLY CHANGE but an OVERHALL for the whole govt system
#6 by milduser on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 2:52 pm
I just don’t get it. We say we have lost faith in the judiciary, the police and what have you, yet we have to use their “services” and get victimised all over again. The whole system is rotten to the core and yet we have to rely on them to try to get out of this catch 22 situation. Any solution, Uncle Lim, for the short term other than the “people’s revolution”. I doubt the “people’s revolution” can ever get of the ground in Malaysia without bloodshed, so to speak. The ISA seems to be still useful for the ruling government, dont you think, to keep the peace?
#7 by digard on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 2:59 pm
boh-liao,
“Ask Mohamad Nazri. He must know their whereabouts. He was the proponent of the Witness Protection Bill.”
I guess that Bala is ‘protected’ one way or another. He is the witness to a SD forced upon him in a state of duress, so he has witnessed at least one serious intimidation. I think PDRM has a hand over him so that no untoward incidents make him release his statement prematurely.
#8 by mendela on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 3:06 pm
In 2006 a Swedish minister quit her post because she was accused of forgeting to pay her TV license fees.
Here in Bolehland, even the accused were faced with so many big scandals and hard facts, they would not quit!
This is power hungry UMOputras at its best.
All these scumbags only bring big shames to Malaysia! @#%@%
#9 by milduser on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 3:14 pm
If I am correct legally, SD are normally used for commercial purposes. For example, if you apply for a loan (maybe RM1.0 millions) form a bank, they may require you to sign a SD to affirm that you are not a brankrupt) despite a credit check ( during the pre-computer days, even nowadays database may not be up to date) to protect the bank. Should information subsequently surfaced that you have been a bankrupt, the bank can take criminal action against you by reporting the matter to the police. You have falsely made a statement and if convicted be jailed for 7 years. This a simple example of the use of an SD. Directors of Public and private companies commonly and regularly make SD for their annual audited accounts as required by law. Duress and retractions are normally not an issue. Signed confessions or retraction of crime are normally associated with duress and the likes. In conclusion, I would say the SD2 is more a mockery of the law.
#10 by catharsis on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 3:41 pm
IF THIS YB CAN COVER THE ENTIRE SKY WITH JUST ONE HAND – HE MUST HAVE A VERY BIG HAND…………………………….
PETER 5:12
ABOVE ALL, MY BROTHERS, DO NOT SWEAR- NOT BY HEAVEN OR BY EARTH OR BY ANYTHING ELSE. LET YOUR “YES” BE YES, AND YOUR “NO” BE A NO OR YOU WILL BE CONDEMNED
#11 by kenyalan08 on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 3:49 pm
The Bar council should seriously look into the lawyer preparing for the 2nd SD whether any “abuse ” is committed . Has the lawyer be influenced by certain ” higher authority ” . The integrity of lawyers is at stake . Future , how can the Rakyat trust the lawyers in town .
Dear YB LIM ,
Gather the support of all PKR MPs , continue to pressure the PM , everyday of Parliament meeting to demand the DPM , AG , IGP and the minister link to Ligam case to go on leave until their cases are settled .
#12 by limkamput on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 4:06 pm
undergrad2 says: “The old man as usual is having his share of the shindig enjoying watching his two adversaries destroy each other.”
Ya, only a mega moron would think that the old man would want to create a situation that he himself may not be able to handle. A typical mega nincompoop talking.
#13 by Hishamuddin on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 4:21 pm
YB,
The news in the market goes that Balasubramaniam have been given RM 5 million and passage to India have been arranged for him and his family.
With this, now we know if the 1st SD or the 2nd SD is the real one.
#14 by law1999 on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 4:49 pm
The best way to change things is on the POLLING stations
We missed it by some number on 08-03-08.
The opposition will get better scores if not due to foul play by federal govt. as claimed on RPK website.
Peaceful demonstration give some breathing space to vent out the RAKYAT frustration. If the MONKEY in power resort to threat like using ISA. It only shows immaturity and abuse of power.
Personally, it never benefits anyone to solve problems by bloodshed. Look at IRAQ weapons are easily available and life is so unpredictable.
So NO NO to violence at all cost.
Change only come after MATURITY in the RAKYAT.
The basic being able to DIFFERENTIATE between RIGHT and WRONG.
SUPPORT those who are RIGHT.Not depends on the COLOUR of theirs skin, RELIGIONS or Political Party they belongs.
The sad thing is AFTER 50 years Malaysia achieved MERDEKA status. They are many STILL cant differentiate between RIGHT and WRONG. So Malaysia want to be a DEVELOPED country by 2020 is just a DREAM. DEVELOPED as I understood is in the MATURITY of THINKING of the RAKYAT not how many TWIN TOWERS or KL TOWER we got.
So
SD1 is TRUE or FALSE?
SD2 is TRUE or FALSE?
I believe the above should be the 1st test.
#15 by Evenmind on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 5:27 pm
You don’t have to be a phd holder to determine which SD was true, we are sick by all the manipulation by this jackass govt. they think they are the smart and the rest of us are all bloody fools. Bala to must have been threatened by C4, just look at his pictures during the second SD, he was definately looking lost. when the corrupt are in power, they have the power to do anything, so making someone dissapear is a piece of cake., Forget 2020 , at the rate we are going even 2090 is impossible for for M’sia to be a developed country, We are Zimbabwe and Nicaragua in the making, if this govt persists.
#16 by gundam on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 5:35 pm
http://www.weebly.com/uploads/7/4/5/0/745037/8265824.jpg
#17 by KennyGan on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 5:57 pm
“The news in the market goes that Balasubramaniam have been given RM 5 million and passage to India have been arranged for him and his family.”
Why leave in such haste without informing his nephew and leaving his 2 dogs without food? This rumour is not creditable at all.
Malaysakini reports that police are looking for him and he “could be overseas.” They are even asking Interpol for help. Can’t the police check from immigration records and airline records to be sure? Is this another sandiwara being played out?
I fear the worse. And the truth will come out because those playing the sandiwara are bumbling and incompetent.
#18 by kopi kau kau on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 6:13 pm
Yb Lim.
I am seeking your advise, after saiful been sodomise …..
Anwar saw me and also invited me to his Condo and also sodomise me.
Could you arrange for a meeting for me to seek advise from our Najib?
I tried to call him but he is too busy to entertain me. Please tell him that I am also willing to sign whatsoever SD as required…… I do not not need any money and I only want revenge. How come he only entertain Saiful and not me!
I am depending on you to clear my pain and suffering and shame that I have to endure ….
#19 by ccy on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 6:52 pm
Regarding Bala’s whereabout, we may find some ‘bits and pieces’ at Puncak Alam…
#20 by ccy on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 7:00 pm
Really hope that Bala and family are hiding in a safe place and will send to his lawyer a CD containing a self-recorded video clip that explains the whole truth…. God bless.
#21 by boh-liao on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 7:34 pm
Malaysia’s brand of justice, started since MM’s rule: if you don’t like what the BN are doing, seek justice through the police and courts. The IGP, AG, ACA director, and the judges will look after your complaints. Everything will be taken care of. Don’t worry. No public rally is allowed.
#22 by Mirage on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 8:24 pm
Anonymous said:-
Which SD is done under duress??? We can see the 2 Photographs of PI Balasubramaniam when both SDs are done to see the truth, it looks very obvious that the latter SD is done under duress of the threat of C4???
Why not similarly put Najib Tun Razak to a poll to see whether Malaysians of all walks of life believe that he is also innocent and not lying that he never would have known Atlantuya as he had claimed???
C4, a military explosive, is not something you can buy at a supermarket and can use this to have blown up the Mongolian Woman into smithereens. If the command did not come from the highest level will the policemen and the C4 expert take the commands & instructions from a nobody by the name Razak Baginda to carry out the tasks of the henchmen to murder and took great efforts to destroy the body of the Mongolian Woman beyond any trace but God is great the heinous criminal conspiracy is exposed. There were no motives for the nobody by the name Razak Baginda, the fall guy, the Policemen & C4 expert to commit murder and destroy the Body of the Mongolian Woman except to get cash or seek promotions through dubious means from the one and the only Power with a motive for this heinous crime.
#23 by ngahc on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 9:21 pm
who can we trust now? Anwar? Najib? IGP? AG? blogger?
#24 by dr_zombie88 on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 9:52 pm
sochai la they all…sked say sked la…haiyooo..god will give justice to everybody…people say the truth aso kena..then how to maju???say wanna maju…go to hell la…we want DAP to lead the country!!!!!!
#25 by Godfather on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 10:23 pm
What is wrong with the leadership of this country ? I mean, a person makes startling statutory declarations, gets hauled up by the police, retracts the original statutory declarations, goes missing with the entire family AND NO ONE IN GOVERNMENT EXPRESSES CONCERN ABOUT THE TAMPERING OF JUSTICE ?
I can understand if one or two bad apples or even 10 bad apples are part of a conspiracy, but what about the rest ? There must surely be some good men around who are appalled by the “lawlessness” of this particular situation and are prepared to stick their neck out for justice. Or am I simply too optimistic and the entire barrel of apples is rotten ?
#26 by limkamput on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 10:53 pm
yes godfather, we way beyond redemption. we are doomed, finished, kaput.
#27 by milduser on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 10:54 pm
Politics on the national level and the work place level are the same – no justice. Look around around in your own work place. Fair and square? the only difference in workplace politics is either the BOSS sacks you or you sack the BOSS. fullstop. See what happens when two equal powerful BOSSES battled it out! Justice! Justice! you proclaim. Go demonstrate in the company corridors and see what happens?
#28 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 11:19 pm
“….and no one in government expresses concern about the tampering of justice” Godfather
Not when the maker himself does the amendment, and ‘un-declare’ what he earlier ‘declared’. If he did it under duress, then it is only the ‘tampering’ of his original declaration – not justice.
We are then left to decide which is the mother of all declarations?
#29 by cheng on soo on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 11:26 pm
How many people believe that the top police rofficers involved really do not know the whereabout of B. and his family? His 2 elder kids do not go to school come Mnday?
#30 by law1999 on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 11:30 pm
Everything will come to an END
Even SADDAM come to an END.
So those guilty will come to an END soon
So be patient and they will come to an END in NO TIME….
#31 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 11:35 pm
Malaysia has become a nation of people who like to declare.
They declare to customs they don’t have anything to declare when they land at airports.They declare they are not carrying any contraband. When they apply for jobs they declare that they have not been convicted of any crime. When they open a bank account they declare they are not bankrupts. They declare to their wives that they do not have mistresses. When they buy houses reserved for bumiputras, they declare that theirs is a first time purchase. Some even declare they are bumiputras when they are not. When they are caught in the act they declare they are not aware that it is against the law.
I even know one who declares he is a nincompoop!
#32 by limkamput on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 12:20 am
No mega nincompoop. You don’t declare anything. When you are caught naked in bed with a woman, you will still say, “honey, this is not what you think, we are just having a conversation here.”. That is you, the best of both worlds hypocrite who enjoy life out of the misery of poor countries. All these international parasites should be shot.
#33 by raven77 on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 12:25 am
Where is Bala…..
#34 by undergrad2 on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 12:26 am
Bala is not declaring!
Some left with nothing to declare, now declare what others declare.
#35 by badak on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 12:44 am
Legally with the 3 SD ,1 by RPK and 2 by bala.The courts have to call All those name in the SD to be present and be question by either the prosecution or the defenden.If neither side call them ,then they are not doing their job.Then the ALTANTUYA,S case will look like another case which is held in a kangaroo court.
JUSTICE MUST NOT ONLY TO BE DONE.. BUT ALSO SEEN TO BE DONE..
#36 by justmerm on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 1:32 am
Should it not be that the most immediate concern is the implication of Bala’s SDs? They would imply that the Altantunya trial is going on according to a prearranged script-no better than an L.A.Law drama! God help us if the guilty party is predetermined to get off scot free or with just a slap on the wrist. Can we not make an immediate petition for the trial to be postponed or be appointed new judges (like in the Hollywood movie ‘The Untouchables’) or be appointed international judges like the ‘Batu Puteh’ case OR IS IT ALREADY TOO LATE?
#37 by undergrad2 on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 2:02 am
raven77 Says:
Today at 00: 25.04 (1 hour ago)
“Where is Bala…..”
“CID director Bakri said Malaysian police had enlisted the help of Interpol and authorities in neighbouring countries to help locate the investigator.” AFP
The Investigator gets investigated.
Interpol will only raise their red flag on two types of persons wanted i.e. the first type is based on an arrest warrant, is issued for a person wanted for prosecution; the second type is based on a court decision for a person wanted to serve a sentence.
Bala is not a high profile criminal. You cannot even call him a criminal. He is not a terrorist nor a criminal dealing in human trafficking nor drug trafficking. Why should Interpol be interested? They have better things to do!
#38 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 4:12 am
The police can promise to investigate.
But, are they credible?
If they are, are they efficient or smart enough?
#39 by kanthanboy on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 5:21 am
…//Can’t the police check from immigration records and airline records to be sure?//…Kenny Gan
#40 by undergrad2 on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 7:11 am
“Is anyone in government concerned about the implications of the Balasubramaniam SDs as it relates to police interference?” GODFATHER
Look, the guy made a public statement, reduced it to writing, had it sworn to show how serious he was, and even had an Indian Anglophile lawyer sat next to him acting as his spokesman pro bono. He got his 15 minutes of fame and left.
He was soon after seen to be having a hot meal of curry kepala ikan with a police in mufti (very much to my envy since I could not), happily chatting away Bollywood style. Some said he was later dropped at a police station by the same Indian Anglophile still acting pro bono. Not long after he was seen to emerge from the same police station, immediately sought the services of another Indian lawyer who like the first one was also acting pro bono, made a statement, had it reduced to writing and had it sworn. He then had another 15 minutes of fame. I suppose what pains most of us is that the second statement makes nonsense of the first one and we don’t know which to believe! Now why can’t we accept that he had an epiphany whilst in the police station – and believe the second one, which tells us not to believe the first one.
Now the guy has gone missing, hopefully not with the help of the Indian Anglophile lawyer acting pro bono who later announced how shocked he was that the guy is missing – again Bollywood style?
You asked if anyone in government service is worried at all about the implications. Well, someone who was in government service for thirty years is and very much so – and he has three letters after his name PPN given to him, he proudly announces, by the Agong.. Does that answer your question?
#41 by Kathy on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 7:58 am
The police will say that they will investigate but in reality, they would just shove it under their piles of complaints and files that they are suppose to “investigate”.
#42 by undergrad2 on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 8:12 am
Does that ring a bell, Kathy??
#43 by taiking on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 9:12 am
Bala’s lawyer expressed his surprise and told the press that he and Bala went through the first SD for months before Bala finally signed it. That is quite normal especially if someone wants to be certain that the contents are factually correct and accurate.
One round of questioning and twenty four hours were all that it took Bala to do a U on the SD.
#44 by NewDAP on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 10:43 am
Ex-PM, Mamakthahir – Smart but Not Honest(Dishonest)
PM – ABB – Not Smart but Honest.
Next PM, Najis – Not Smart and Not Honest.
Better to have the Bisexual PM in waiting to be the future PM….
#45 by NewDAP on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 10:52 am
Not sure whether we will ever to find or hear from Bala and his family again……
If BN continues to be in power, Bala and his family my will continue to be classified as missing……
beware of the power of military and c4……
#46 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 10:57 am
In the course of my life, I have often had to eat my words, and I must confess that I have always found it a wholesome diet.
Winston Churchill
#47 by Cinapek on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 11:04 am
The STAR reported today that the police have been providing protection to Saiful. Why wasn’t the same protection provided to Bala? Isn’t his SD allegations far more serious than Saiful’s.
Cynics might say that the police are probably the cause of Bala’s disappearance. That precisely is the point because if the actions of the police are above board, it would be in their interest to keep Bala safe and sound and seize the opportunity to show the whole world their impartiality. As it is now, Bala’s disappearance has again raised more questions than answers about the intervention and involvement of the police in this whole sordid affair.
#48 by lextcs on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 11:12 am
it is clear that bala SD is ‘worked up’ in the 1st place. Coz it takes about 2 months to fabricate and 1 day to deny. Question: why is DSAI there? to reap the rewards? Looks like its PAKAT all the way!
#49 by badak on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 11:50 am
This whole thing have more twist and turn then a BOLLYWOOD SOAP OPERA.The best part INTERPOL is involve.Firstly is BALA and family officialy listed as missing.Has his kids gone to school.
Can a person with such a high profile.Just slip out of the country without the help of some powerful hands involve .
Why do not get the whole CSI CRIME TEAMS involve.At times the goverment thing that all Malaysian are a bunch of PANSIES.
#50 by badak on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 11:55 am
By the way the demo organised againts the rising fuel price.WAS NOT ORGANISED BY THE OPPOSITION.BUT WAS ORGANISE BY THE SELANGOR STATE GOVERMENT.IN THE STATE OF SELANGOR.HEYYYY BN IS THE OPPOSITON IN THE STATE.