(Speech at the 2,000-People DAP Batu Pahat dinner in Batu Pahat, Johore on Friday, 4th July 2008 at 10 pm)
In Parliament last evening (Thursday), the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi told reporters that the people should not to listen to rumours of an impending emergency rule.
He said:
“The government was stable. The security is under control. Everything is under control. Don’t believe anything you hear.
“I don’t think anybody should be worry. There are too many rumours.”
Rumours have indeed become very rife in recent times, with Abdullah as Prime Minister under siege since the March general election 125 days ago – from both inside Umno, Barisan Nasional and outside.
In practice, rumours should not be given much credibility. However, in Malaysia’s political culture and tight mainstream media control, rumours have greater credibility than other countries as many rumours had subsequently proven true than the many official denials issued by purported authoritative sources.
The latest rumour is that there is mounting pressure in the corridors of power for strong-armed measures to invoke draconian and undemocratic laws to deal with dissent, raising questions whether the country is on the threshold of a major clampdown against dissent – with the Abdullah government facing deepening public crisis of confidence, whether from the failure to deliver belated reforms in the past four months, inability to deal with a worsening economic scenario, public protests at the unconscionable increase in oil prices sparking all-round inflation or the mishandling of the political crisis like the high-profile C4 murder of the Mongolian national Altantuya Shaariibuu.
I call on the Prime Minister to give categorical assurance that he will stay true to his pledges of democratic and human rights reforms and not launch another Ops Lalang with mass Internal Security Act (ISA) arrests of Opposition leaders to seek an ”easy” but short-sighted way out of his political siege to consolidate his power position.

#1 by Loyal Malaysian on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 8:36 pm
Desparate times call for desparate measures.
But to whom are times desparate at the moment?
And why is the moment so fraught with desperation for that senior politician?
All his attempts at covering up his tracks have been blown to pieces by the SD1.
So will the PM bail him out with ops lalang 2 or will other equally devious and evil means be employed to put leaders of dissent out of commission?
I believe we will see an answer to this query in how the authorities deal with the protest gathering tomorrow.
I can but say a silent prayer for the welfare of all those taking part tomorrow.
#2 by devilmaster on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 8:44 pm
c. flee to another place/country with his new-found $$$.
#3 by Jong on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 8:58 pm
Sure, not in the barbacue pit?
#4 by greatstuff on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 9:01 pm
Can anyone advise me how I can access Malaysia Today? I was able to do so until very recently, via smeargo’s http link- have the hackers been at it again?? Thanks.
#5 by chaiong on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 9:04 pm
Malaysia today latest IP 202.75.62.194 cannot be used anymore. Dammed! Any body can provide new Link?
#6 by cemerlang on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 9:13 pm
ya kah ? That means we are going back to the 60′s and the early 70′s. Not only that. We might be back to the past with the Sultan ruling over the land. The moral of the story is this. Never play, play with Mongolians because they have the warriors’ spirit. Imagine a group of tribal people riding wild and conquering all the lands from Mongolia till Europe.
#7 by aiD_kamikuP on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 9:15 pm
those mo..fu..s are at it again. I could not get into IP addr 202.75.62.194 too. But try the one smeagroo gave at the start of this thread.
#8 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 9:21 pm
Bala is missing? Is he going ‘to meet’ the Mongolian woman? Is the explosive working for him by blasting off into the sky like a rocket?
# Desperately seeking Bala and family
Jul 5, 08 6:06pm
# breaking news updated 8.05pm In the latest twist to the scandal, the private investigator’s nephew R Kumaresan today lodged a police report over the disappearance of his uncle, aunt and their children
#9 by Tulip Crescent on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 9:35 pm
Kingkenny
Malaysian English or Malglish?
In the 1970s, Kit was compalining of the falling standards of the Englsh language. No action was ever taken. So now the Prime Minister himself does not know what is past or present tense? Is that what you are saying?
This country has gone to the dogs. It has gone to pot. Ask Kit. He knows it. Oh, the opportunity cost was very high!
Name me one institution that the average Malaysian can rely on, Kingkenny. Zilch!
And now, as Jeffrey says, we are going down the abyss.
Can I see you tomorrow at Kelana Jaya. Wear a pink shirt.
#10 by wtf2 on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 9:39 pm
PDRM is no longer a sacred institute – rather it’s a government sponsored triad society.
#11 by yog7948 on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 9:42 pm
UMNO asking anwar to swear; AMK asking najib, IGP and ag to swear; Muftis as both parties to swear.. Think i’am going to SWEAR all of them..
Don’t you think these is stupid! If all those people really have faith in god, they won’t be doing all these absurd things in the first place.. Just ask any robber, rapist or corrupted politician, they won’t really mind swear on Holy book or even their mother.. corrupted politician the worst, these people politicize everything even religion. That is how low their mentality.
Please stop tarnishing religion by asking bigots to swear.. Between DSAI, najib, ag, igp. AAB or even Saifool.. Raakyat knows who are the scoundrel.. God knows better.. So please stop all this Swearing by Holy Book thing.
#12 by allout on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 9:50 pm
YB Lim,
No government in the world will simply let you go to the street and topple them without bloodshed. Don’t trade peace and stability for destruction. Please come to your sense.
#13 by smartmoney_88 on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 9:52 pm
I heard that the army is already in PJ.
#14 by smartmoney_88 on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 9:53 pm
Before I FORGET i also heard that price for petrol will soon increase to RM3.00. They say in august
#15 by sjchange on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 10:09 pm
Be stirring as the time,
be fire with fire,
threaten the threatener,
and outface the brow of bragging horror;
so shall inferior eyes,
that borrow their behaviors from the great,
grow great by your example
and put on the dauntless spirit of resolution.
(William Shakespeare)
Moral courage is a virtue of higher cast
and nobler origin than physical.
It springs from a consciousness of virtue
and renders a man,
in the pursuit or defense of right,
superior to the fear of reproach,
opposition in contempt.
(Samuel Goodrich)
We should not forget that our tradition
is one of protest and revolt,
and it is stultifying to celebrate
the rebels of the past…………..
while we silence the rebels of the present.
(Henry Steele Commager)
Take ground for truth , and justice,
and rectitude, and piety, and fight well
there can be no question as to the result.
(Henry Ward Beecher)
It is never safe to look into the future wtih eyes of fear.
(E.H. Harrison)
It is good rule to face difficulties at the time they arise
and not allow them to increase unacknowledged.
(Edward W. Ziegler)
#16 by yog7948 on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 10:11 pm
Just if any of our YAM Rulers will spare their precious time attending the gathering tomorrow will prevent any unforeseen foul attempt from BeeEnd. For the sake of the people.. they should voice out..
If anything bad going to happen tomorrow, they too hold the responsible as Sultans of the people. There won’t be any ethnic clash.. it will be Malaysian against Corrupted UMNO government..
#17 by mecharojak on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 10:12 pm
># allout Says:
>Today at 21: 50.03 (16 minutes ago)
That statement is false. Governments can be toppled without bloodshed.
#18 by yhsiew on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 10:13 pm
Kit,
Push for actions to conduct an investigation on SD1 and SD2 because Bala might have committed the offence of submitting false evidence in SD1. It is important to probe the veracity of SD1 and SD2 so as to establish whether Bala has actually committed the said offence.
SDs cannot be retracted. SD1 is still legally valid.
#19 by justice6 on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 10:14 pm
where are the royals when we need them…?
#20 by justice6 on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 10:20 pm
if only we can mobilise half nation to go on strike.. maybe get them to honk the same time for 5 minutes.. honking protest..
#21 by allout on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 10:29 pm
mecharojak,
The only way to topple the government without bloodshed is through democracy process that is the election and not on the going to the street. You think you have the member, what if the UMNO people come to the street, you think they will sit doing nothing, you must be in the dream land.
#22 by mendela on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 10:31 pm
Another way to get into Malaysia Today website is to Google search Malaysia Today and get in from searched result.
#23 by yog7948 on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 10:35 pm
As we see it, there will be no point of having any investigation at all. All those Thugs in Blue will say is ” Kami akan siasat”.period. What else are they capable of.. apart from intimidating the weak, take bribe and wag their tail at their UMNO masters.
All just waste of time.. really want some changes.. change their masters first then we can talk about investigation.. Put RPK and karpal in KDN..
#24 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 10:39 pm
There are however some differences in circumstances of Ops Lalang in 1987 and the one conjectured as likely now.
1. Then TDM had excuse of political tensions with strong racial overtones. Then the catayst was Education Ministry’s appointments of some 100 senior assistants and principals to vernacular Chinese schools who were not Mandarin-educated. MCA, DAP Dong Jiao Zong made public protests which precipitated mirror response from UMNO Youth. Present tensions are not racial. It is about Petrol hike that affects all races. It is about intra fighting within UMNO amongst Maly elites. It is more about the inter fight between a two Malay leaders, the defacto PR chief and the Deputy PM. Operation Lallang might in 1987 engender support amongst Malaysian Malays. A similar operation now will be resented as it would perceive as a repeated persecution of a popular malay and Malaysian leader in Anwar and those who suport him.
2. Then PM was of more autocratic disposition compared to present. TDM’s platform of rule was economic development compared to AAB’s reform agenda of TDM’s legacy.
3. Then TDM had a credible challenger : Tengku Li. Present PM faces at least 4 potential challengers but having a temporary repreive from two of the most powerful locked in mortal conflict whilst the other 2, not so serious a challenge. It does not benefit the present incumbent to impose an emergency rule – unless an emergency rule and crackdown may be forced upon him. Such an event will only strengthen the rival’s position against him so I don’t see why he would go along with a crack down or rule by emergency ordinance if he could help it.
4. Then TDM had more than 2/3 majority in Parliament; present is without 2/3 and vulnerable to crossovers tipping scale. Unless a concomitant emergency rule is otherwise imposed suspending Parliament, a similar Ops Lallang now might accelerate crossovers. If emergency rule now imposed, the already weak economic conditions and foreign capital flight will be exacerbated, all the gravy train incidental to the various Coridors under 9th Malaysia Plan may slow to a halt.
5. Besides Anwar has international support and all eyes are on Malaysia in the wake of Lingam video clip, Altantuya Shaariibuu’s murder, various Statutory Declarations and police reports implicating thoise at higest echelons of power makingh it harder to legitimise a crackdown;
6. And of course the proloferations of NGOs and blogs acting as check and balance against naked force.
#25 by yog7948 on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 10:42 pm
BN asking DSAI to swear; AMK asking najib, IGeePee and agee to swear; Muftis ask both parties to swear.. Think i’am going to SWEAR all of them..
Don’t you think these is stupid! If all those people really have faith in god, they won’t be doing all these absurd things in the first place.. Just ask any robber, rapist or corrupted politician, they won’t really mind swear on Holy book or even their mother.. corrupted politician the worst, these people politicize everything even religion. That is how low their mentality.
Please stop tarnishing religion by asking bigots to swear.. Between DSAI, najib, ag, igp. AAB or even Saifool.. Raakyat knows who are the sco**drel.. God knows better.. So please stop all this Swearing by Holy Book thing.
#26 by eyuppie on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 11:03 pm
AMAT SEDIH! PAK LAH MASIH TIDUR SELEPAS MAR 08, 2008 POLITIC TSUNAMI. ENTAH-LAH MENGAPA PAK LAH MASIH TAKUT. KAN SITUASI SEKARANG ADALAH MENGUNTUNGKAN PADA-NYA. NAJIB DAN ANWAR SUDAH MASALAH TERUK. BURSA SAHAM PUN IKUT TURUN TERUK. SEKARANG PELUANG EMAS BAGI PAK LAH UNTUK MENYELAMATKAN SEMUA RAKYAT DAN EKONOMI NEGARA. PULIH-KAN BALIK BURSA SAHAM DAN KEYAKINAN PELABUR LUAR NEGARA. DENGAR-LAH NASIHAT PAKAR-PAKAR PENASIHAT TAK KIRA BANGSA, KAUM, UGAMA DAN BUDAYA. PAK LAH HARUS BUKA HATI BESAR-BESAR UNTUK SEMUA RAKYAT MALAYSIAN AND NEGARA MALAYSIA!
#27 by 9to5 on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 11:07 pm
Regarding the mass rally planned for tomorrow in Petaling Jaya to protest the fuel price hike, the police has requested to rally to be contained in the MPPJ stadium instead of the old venue.
The Police have set up roadblocks at major traffic arteries throughout the Klang Valley towards Kuala Lumpur ahead of the mass rally.
Is this a trickery of the Police or what? First, they suggested the stadium and then they block the stadium. Next, are they going to lock the stadium with all the protesters inside like the batu caves incident?
Now they are blocking all the websites like Malaysia Today that provide vital instruction and information on the planned rally! On all channels on TV, we have seen intimidations and warnings by the police, CUEPACS, Internal security Minister, etc not to attend the rally and veiled threats of unrest!
Tomorrow, if there are 20,000 protesters out of 1 million, it will already be a bonus due to the dirty tactics instituted by the BN Government!
#28 by mecharojak on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 11:10 pm
allout
Demonstration is not rioting. UMNO is not all mighty. Contiunue to live like a slave you will always be a slave.
#29 by mendela on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 11:16 pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4dg51OS7XJ0
#30 by passerby on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 11:22 pm
I don’t think there will be peaceful change since the whole gov., departments, police, judiciary and the army are so corrupted and entrenched and with so much is at stake. Do you think all these corrupt officials will not fight back to preserve their lives if they is any change. Something tell me all is not right with all the police and the military exercise coming now. Be prepare and stock up your food as usual.
#31 by sjchange on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 11:23 pm
The greatest asset of any nation
is the spirit of tis people,
and the greatest danger
that can menace any nation
is the breakdown of that spirit—
the will to win and the courage to work.
(George B. Courtelyou)
The only security is courage
(Francois De La Rochefoucauld)
Courage is what it takes
to stand up and speak;
courage is also what it takes
to sit down and listen.
(Winston S. Churchill)
#32 by allout on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 11:27 pm
YB Lim,
So far the other party is tolerating and please don’t mistaken it as weaknesses, I believe they is always a limitation, if the provocation went overboard, they will roar back and its going to be ugly. We both went through that period before and I am not going through it again. Those kids in your blog know nothing about it, should not lead them to that direction. I hope your know what are you doing and the consequences.
#33 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 11:31 pm
So who is governing now?
Najib is too messed up & smeared to the hilt. He looks like, smells like and sounds like the proverbial ‘lembu’ that’s caked with the stinking mud and bogged in the swamp of despondency & disgrace.
Pak Lah – RPK says he is unconscious even though he is conscious. Looks like, sounds like… sure, he is unconscious. No one seems to doubt that anymore.
With no one governing, might as well let Pakatan Rakyat take over. After 50 years of independence, it’s not a minute too soon!
#34 by allout on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 11:32 pm
mecahrojak,
Demonstration can turn into rioting. Tell me are you a slave now.
#35 by peterchiang on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 11:33 pm
Is there a backup or risk mitigation plan to handle possible situation where moles planted in the crowd trigger untowards incident that will provide authority with excuses for troopers to move in and haul up targeted leaders?
Does anyone see a need to uncover who has benefited from Bursa blackout of one full trading day? Is it not fishy that was caused by one hard disk failure?
#36 by old dad on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 11:52 pm
is this the MT site? http://malaysia-today.net/
Darn slow but still readable
#37 by ViktorJ on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 11:57 pm
allout,
We would love to choose our Government with the ballot box, with Democracy. However, did you note the reaction when we wanted our elections to be fair during the Bersih campaign? We want our loudspeakers to speak the truth, not be used as a tool against us.
What is the point of ‘democracy’ and ‘elections’ if the ruling parties cannot be bothered to make it fair and clean? Someone must have been taking lessons on how Mugabe runs elections, I think.
As for Demonstrations being used, it is a tool, a form of communication for the people to be heard. How else can we be heard if the media is not free and the elections are not 100% fair?
Speaking of Demonstrations, you say that it can lead to Rioting, yes? But violence is certainly not the only purpose for taking to the streets. A knife is a similar tool: it can be used for murder, as it can be used for cooking. Do you not keep a knife in the kitchen, allout? Perhaps knives should be banned too.
peterchiang:
About your first question, that would just be a ‘dirty tactic’ that sadly cannot be done much against apart from everyone (including the crowd) trying to subdue such a violent mole. The media can be used to exaggerate any incidence of violence for propaganda purposes anyhow, no matter how it is handled.
About the Bursa incident, indeed some digging is in order. A large scale destabilization like that is not something to be ignored. Financial and political benefits can be gained from such an action, but I will refrain from guesses for now. The crash is suspicious, as backups for such important data exists. It should never ever have happened. A smaller institution like a bank can handle such a situation significantly better than that.
#38 by yog7948 on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 12:00 am
Army not corrupt.. their minister or maybe the top brass are probable.. How can army be corrupt? they don’t go around asking people bribe.., they maybe “bad ass” people but certainly cant be corrupt.. Nobody wish to stay in the jungle (ops) for months leaving all the comfort of home for fun.
They do have corrupted officers.. those dealing with contracts, that also with their minister’s concern of course. There are news before of army guys burning down police stations and kicking some bad ass. Down underestimate the Armed forces.. they will even kick their Generals butt if DYMM say so.. Nor BN or police can stop them.
#39 by UzMiNoOnist on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 12:07 am
If there is going to be another ops lallang, go hide faster. You cant trust these bunch of idiots would care about fairness, not even the US’s statement, less ASEANs’.
Remember? they are the same gang who brought BURMA into ASEANs and we have witnessed what that regime has done to her own citizen.
Go hide faster…
#40 by yog7948 on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 12:07 am
Imagine if Malaysia-Today put some hit counter… it would be millions per day.. the hottest site forever.. thanks to BN for promoting it to the public. Hope sir RPK is fine.. is he going to attend tomorrows gathering? Hope he get all the protection.
#41 by mecharojak on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 12:09 am
allout,
Demonstrations can also turn out peaceful.
Freedom is not free, people have to fight for it, may even cost lives.
Slavery of the mind, is what i meant. Always afraid of challenging authority. Don’t speak up when the authority bully you with unjust taxes and intimidation.
#42 by Synthia on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 12:15 am
Demonstration is to let the government know that we, the people of Malaysia, are no longer blind and a doormat to them. I don’t understand why many see a peaceful demonstration as something downright wrong. Is this not a democratic country? We are not condoning bloodshed through the protest. We are merely VOICING out our disapproval, a wake-up call for the government.
In all honesty, I was and perhaps, still am, cynical over this whole episode. After meeting people who stubbornly share the “let’s all vote for BN, otherwise a May 13 will happen again” mentality, and the many cover-ups and turning a blind eye, one certainly can feel hopeless for the country. So many people living in fear and denial, it just bloody disgusts me. But now, what with the changes that has happened, and more people finally taking a stand, I am starting to feel a little more hopeful.
Fight for your rights people. Believe in the principles of righteousness and justice. I for one, will not ever bow down to the corrupt government.
#43 by allout on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 12:24 am
Mecharojak,
I agree with you that demonstrations can also turn out peaceful, but the risk are high that it will turn ugly.
I understand your aspiration to change the government, but it have to go through the ballot box.
#44 by Bobster on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 12:33 am
Most of us are sick and tired of this BN government, leant nothing and heard nothing from 8 March 2008 political tsunami.
9MP is the latest evidence that this BN government has lost all respect and hope from the Rakyat. Future planning and expenses of the country merely based on political reason. Nothing but empty talks on soon to be ‘white elephants’ aka corridor projects. What for at this junction when the global crisis is looming, commodities pricing escalating the government decides to spend billions of taxpayers’ money on corridors after corridors when what needed is merely improve on government policies to cut red tapes and improve on delivery system so that more foreign investors will be attacted to our country. What for spending billions on white elephants when major hinderances to foreign investors are the government red tapes and racist policies.
Instead of capitalising on our human resources, improving our public transport system so that the working class people (work horses that contribute to the nation growth) can spend less time travelling and be more productive to make the country competitive compare to our neighbours, the government chose to ignore our contribution and allocated mere $1.6 billion out of the $250 billions on improving public transport system. Where is the logic of shelving Penang Monorail while all talks and promises started since 2006? KL folks who are major work horses for the country are suffering daily due to poor public transport system and raising fuel price. Where is the federal government effort to help the Rakyat? Ya, you bunch of policy makers travelling with police escorts, drivers and petrol paid by the Raykat. Have you guys tried the public transport or drive your own without escorts?!
I be going for the rally today. Not so much to protest on raising fuel price, but protest on the idiotic policies and expenditure that causes the Rakyat to suffer more!
Where our taxpayers’ money gone really? Where is the profit from the oil rich company Petronas?!
Every Rakyat has the right to know where our money gone!
#45 by yog7948 on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 12:33 am
We have actually experienced in recent months a dramatic demonstration of an unprecedented intelligence failure, perhaps the most significant intelligence failure in the history of Malaysia.
What the point of having 1st class infrastructure when the government is lead by pea brain ministers. All they can do is deny. Just if they dare to deprave us with intimidation, they will see hell first hand.
#46 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 12:37 am
“A military General has come out to ” rebuke ” the claim of military reports of both DTK Anwar and RPK either to squash the so called ” rumuors ” or under directive from some higher authority” kenyalan08
Only a self-confessed nincompoop would deny the possibility of a role for the military in times of public unrest.
#47 by sjchange on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 12:39 am
You can’t fly a kite
unless you go against the wind
and have a weight
to keep it from turning somersault.
William J.H. Boetcker
#48 by kun9999 on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 12:46 am
If you want to get the latest IP for http://www.malaysia-today.net do the following (Windows XP)
1. Click Start -> Click run
2. Keyin CMD in run dialog and click OK (this will bring up MS-DOS).
3. Keyin ping http://www.malaysia-today.net in MS-DOS
4. You should be able to see the IP for http://www.malaysia-today.net example. 202.75.62.194
Below link is an graphic of how u can ping the website to get the IP.
http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/3018/malaysiatodaynetal5.jpg
#49 by edgoh on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 12:49 am
Previously the Prime Minister mentioned August fuel price increase. But was increased in June. Then he said public transport will not increase price. Let us now see whether Rapid KL will increase fare or remain as what the PM has said.
#50 by milduser on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 12:59 am
History will repeat itself, an axiom. Proven once- sodomy charge. Proven twice – Op Lalang. More likely after the mass rally. Just see. Conclusion: Police State, then emergency rule – Come full circle.