Private investigator P. Balasubramaniam created shock waves yesterday when he made public his statutory declaration (SD) linking Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak with the murdered Mongolian national Altantuya Shaariibuu, with several astounding assertions about the relationship conveyed to him by both Altantuya and Abdul Razak Baginda.
Today, Balasubramaniam created a second round of shock waves when within 24 hours he retracted his statutory declaration with a second statutory declaration, claiming that he was forced to make his earlier declaration under duress.
The initial public reaction to Balasubramaniam’s second SD is one of shock and disgust, with some dismissing and condemning the episode as a “Plague on both houses”!
Serious-minded Malaysians however cannot have the luxury of ignoring the SD acrobatics of Balasubramaniam as at stake are very grave issues about the integrity of the system of justice and good governance, the reputation of powerful office-holders and ordinary people(both dead and living).
As the initial feelings of shock and disgust settle down, it emerges that Subramaniam has done the impossible – making more Malaysians believe in his first SD by his second SD of retraction.
When Subramaniam made his first SD yesterday linking the Deputy Prime Minister with Altantuya, Malaysians were divided between those who believed his SD and those who did not.
With his second SD of retraction, without explaining what was the “duress” which coerced him to make shocking disclosures linking Najib with Altantunya, Subramaniam has succeeded in making even those who had doubted his first SD to come around to believe it – while achieving very little effect in creating doubt among those who had believed his first SD.
Balasubramaniam’s lawyer for his first SD, Americk Singh Sidhu, told Malaysiakini that Balasubramaniam received a phone call from the police soon after his press conference yesterday to report to the Brickfields police station.
“I advised him that as a law-abiding citizen, he should go and see them. So I fetched him to the Brickfields police station at 4.45pm yesterday and I haven’t heard from him since,” he said stressing that he has failed to contact Balasubramaniam since this news broke out.
The Police owes to the Malaysian public a full explanation as to what transpired in the meeting between the police and Balasubramaniam at the Brickfields police station yesterday evening and after, resulting in his bizarre second SD.
The whole Balasubramaniam SD1 and SD2 episode does no credit not only to the private investigator but also to the system of justice and law and order in Malaysia and can only plunge national and international confidence in the integrity, credibility and legitimacy of the Abdullah administration to a new nadir.

#1 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 12:17 am
you may try Suntec Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre if diamond exhibition was held there…
#2 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 12:17 am
I mean that CCTV footages and recording.
#3 by raven77 on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 12:26 am
Obviously this Americk Singh is not the Hindraf kind……basically no balls……
#4 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 12:28 am
Outcome may well turn on who races there (S’pore) faster to get hold of the CCTV footages (that likely would have captured guests especially important ones) and stored. They don’t lie and not easy to contradict because they are taken by disinterested parties.
#5 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 12:37 am
Diamonds are a girl’s best friend. But if it comes from a nincompoop you’d be well advised to have them authenticated.
#6 by hongsichuan on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 12:38 am
If one’s political inclination is towards the opposition, one would say that the 1st SD was voluntary while the 2nd was forced. The BN camp would say the reverse. It is entirely possible that poor Mr Bala was first lured into making the 1st SD (perhaps he truly believed that a PKR government would come into power within three months and could grant him protection or even a reward) (and then was forced to make the 2nd SD (something must have made him changed his mind that he could not be protected). (I am saying anything here about which SD is true. It is possible that both contains a mixture of truths and untruths.) I said “lured” for the 1st SD because he was happy and smiling when the 1st SD was publicised with AI beside him, and “forced” for the 2nd SD becaused he looked like he was not sleeping the whole night when he made him his 2nd SD. It’s better for us “small fish” to stay away when the “big whales” fight.
#7 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 12:53 am
It is unfair to blame a nincompoop for not being able to tell the difference between glass and diamonds!
#8 by baseball on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 12:53 am
is bala missing now… ? gosh.
#9 by mybangsamalaysia on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 12:54 am
Observe the symbol of our police:
TWO SWORDS ACROSS THE BACK OF TIGER…. how to act?
….. Bad Feng Shui
#10 by hongsichuan on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 12:55 am
I should add this. Supposing the 1st SD contains only truth (truth here means Mr Bala stated exactly what was told to him by RB), then I believe Mr Bala would more likely be braver and able to find great inner strength to stand by what he said IF the SD was made out of his conscience for wanting justice done. The alignment with AI made his move look more like political rather than out of his conscience. If anyone wants to fight for the truth and justice, do it only if your conscience calls for it; otherwise, one is certain to fall, especially if one is lured into it for any other reason.
#11 by barble on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 1:11 am
i know how hard it is to go against Big whales when there is nothing or anyone to protect one self and family from any counter attacks. i have came across a bad situation of which my friend and i was wrongfully accused of doing towards a Datuk’s so called young wife in a room filled with a lot of people and dark… she just pointed her fingers towards a person who didn’t even see her there, and this datuk’s bodyguards just came crashing down on him… we were all in shock and not knowing what the hell was going on!! nevertheless, we were threatened and beaten up for something we didn’t do by this datuk’s bodyguards… if not for the arrival of the police they would have killed us there and then!! we couldn’t make a police report because we had no idea who that datuk is and the names of his bodyguards and especially his young wife who simply pointed her fingers to us..
so like i said, i understand what mr.bala is going thru and i am sure that he has been threaten severely which also includes each and everyone of his family members..
if a politician can be shot at point blank in a lift, what do you think these big people can do with nobodys like you and me and not forgetting mr.bala in this matter??
#12 by kanthanboy on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 1:17 am
…//With his second SD of retraction, without explaining what was the “duress” which coerced him to make shocking disclosures linking Najib with Altantunya, Subramaniam has succeeded in making even those who had doubted his first SD to come around to believe it//…
#13 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 1:53 am
Bala if he is genuinely scared for his life could claim persecution by the Malaysian government and is advised to apply for asylum in any of the countries which are signatories to the United Nations Convention relating to the Status of Refugee 1951 – and among them are Australia, NZ, UK and Canada and US, to mention a few. He could then issue another SD!
Saiful too could apply but his ground cannot be that he is gay. A Malaysian Malay who is gay applied to the Canada government not too long ago and his application was denied. Being gay is not one of the five statutory grounds under the 1967 Protocol relating to refugees.
One Kok Leong Law who claimed persecution based on his membership in the DAP applied for asylum in the U.S. had his application denied. His appeal to the U.S. District of Appeal 2nd Circuit too was denied.
#14 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 2:00 am
ooops Canadian government
#15 by kingkenny on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 2:10 am
This “najis” in the very very beginning of the sodomy case has always maintained he has not met with or known “Saiful the Sodomised” except that he is a student who one day came to his office and ask for money to study, as the boy was a fan of his, they snap pictures together, not even cordial, the botak also forgot his existence!
The next time, this najis admitted that Saiful the Sodomised CAME to his home out of desperation because of pain in the buttocks, and ask him “WHAT HE SHOULD DO” about this?!?! What the heck!!
How can someone who don’t know each other can suddenly show up in your house and ask for advice from a DPM of Malaysia?! What are the uses of the police in this country?!! What sort of joke is this?!?!?
Can I show up at “Istana AAB” then for advice on how to treat pain in the buttocks?!?!
News in the last 2 days or so, was so full of sh!t (najis) !!!!!
#16 by nus on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 2:16 am
i_love_malaysia Says:
Yesterday at 17: 52.19
EVERY ONE IN BOLEH LAND CAN PLAY SD GAMES!!!
IGP CAN BEHAVE AS IF HE IS THE PM AND WANTED TO CALL IN THE ARMY & THE PM JUST LET HIM PLAY AS HE LIKES & SAID THAT HE IS A GOODMAN!!!
Is the army under orders of the IGP? We have to get it right. N is the minister of defence. The army is answerable to the Agong as the Commander-in-Chief.
Hence the IGP cannot direct the army, navy or airforce to fire even one bullet.
Please correct me if I am wrong.
#17 by Tuanku Ripleys on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 2:25 am
As the Chinese sayings goes,
“it takes another 100 lies to cover up one lie”
#18 by Billy on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 2:41 am
Either way, Najib is cooked. If the first SD is allowed to exist without be retracted, Najib is perceived guilty. Now that the first SD is retracted with the issuance of the second SD, the guilt on Najib has turned from worse to worst. I can see the nightmare he is having these days and Freddy Kurger has yet to start his rounds.
#19 by monsterball on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 5:47 am
UMNO can create more shockwaves..to divert our attentions.from the main issue.
I have never seen such loving husband and wife angels from heaven..ignoring..one…accusing the wife is a murderer…under oath.
Lets leave the half cracko..Bala alone.
Try that with RPK.
#20 by Ah Deng on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 7:19 am
I strongly believe that the 2nd SD was done under “duress”!!! Police is at Najis side….Bala have been well threatened to retract the 1st SD. There is no justice in Malaysia -> Who is in power and he controls everything, more like a dictator!!!!
#21 by yhsiew on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 7:51 am
Angkatan Muda Keadilan (AMK) yesterday lodged a police report against Bala for retracting all allegations he made against Najis.
AMK leader Shamsul Iskandar Mohd Akin lodged the report at the Dang Wangi police station at 3pm to call on the police to investigate whether Bala had been forced to make the retraction.
#22 by SocratesPlato on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 7:57 am
Singapore International Jewellery Show is the best bet. It was and will be held in the Suntec International Convention & Exhibition Centre.
1st Singapore International Jewellery Show 20-23 October 2005
2nd Singapore International Jewellery Show, 29 June – 2 July 2006
3rd Singapore International Jewellery Show 23-26 August 2007
4th Singapore International Jewellery Show, 21-24 Aug 2008
Organizer:
Conference and Exhibition Management Services Pte Limited
1, Maritime Square, No. 09-43, Harbour Front Centre,
Singapore, Singapore.
Tel: +(65)-(6)-2788666
Fax: +(65)-(6)-2784077
Co-organizer:
Comnet Exhibitions Private Limited
217-B, 2nd Floor, Okhla Industrial Estate, Phase III
New Delhi
India-110 024
Phone: +(91)-(11)-24638680/51552001/52795000
Fax: +(91)-(11)-24623320/24633506/52795098
http://english.peopledaily.com.cn/200510/20/eng20051020_215628.html
http://www.sbwire.com/news/view/6704
http://www.sijs.com.sg/2007/enews02.html
http://www.sijs.com.sg/home.html
#23 by wtf2 on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 7:57 am
I would ask the non-UMNO component parties within BN : Aren’t you guys ashamed to be associated with this charade? Will there be any credibility and principles left with you guys? Jump ship please don’t bring shame to the people who you claimed to represent.
#24 by cemerlang on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 7:58 am
Kalau tiada angin, takkan pokok bergoyang. Therefore there is some sort of a truth somewhere out there.
People would think more than twice before making Baginda and present DPM out to be scapegoats. Afterall, not that Altantuya was a much sought after, published, social elite until she got murdered. In fact, most Malaysians did not know the private and the altered life of politicians and those in power.
If there is no mutual consent, no one would perform acts against his or her own will. It takes two hands to clap. Like Datuk Anwar himself said that they are powerful individuals out there.
The whole scenario looks very typical. A says this. B says this. C tells everyone about this. D comes to A and asks him about it. A says he did not say so. Then the vicious cycle continues and that is how gossips and news spread. In this case, it makes its’ way into the mass media. It involves VIPs. But they too are not spared from behaving like any unknown Malaysian on the street. Once the mass media gets the attention, the news will spread like wild fire through every known mass media channel. The only difference between the man on the street and the man in power is that the man in power has access to ways of magnifying the story.
#25 by bumi-non-malay on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 8:10 am
All this is done to undermine the SD….like when Tun racist M used some bad Jury decision to removed JURY Systems from Malaysia Judicial sytems. Fortunately UMNO-BN don’t have 2/3 majority to pass law willy nilly. It does direct Malaysian to Islamic Laws of 2-3 MALE witness as proof…thereby undermining further the current Judicial Systems.
Malaysia are slowly slowly dragged into the direction of Islamic Laws and ideology…..like it or not.
Its simmering and when SH*T hits the fan get ready for Whatever it takes Omen…….remember First Insurance, then territory…last discuss.
Some will do whatever it takes to remain in Power regardless of what or how the world looks at…..have a look at Mugabe. In Malaysia there is still $380 billion of wealth….looks like its Double/Triple whatever it takes to stay in Power. Mat Kilau is on stand By red alert….this time its going to be different outcome!!
#26 by lopez on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 8:11 am
bolihland …huh…so predictable
many read the media and get moved
Is it a result of the education system?
Or a result of peer pressure?
Or a result of XX years of reading the local newspapers
and good old e media?
I say it is success for the newsmen for being good at reading not their own news but the sentiments of the fools in the bolihland public….
#27 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 8:20 am
Do we expect Bala to make another SD today?
#28 by comingto50 on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 8:28 am
If Bala said he was coerced to lie in the SD1 don’t you think the PC was a perfect platform to say it so those behind it would be caught with their pants down? Think about it.
Bala is an ex-SB and now a PI. He cannot be easily coerced and put himself into this situation. He is a smart man. He knows the grave danger he will get himself into with the SD1. If he needed protection he would have asked for it and be prepared for any eventualities.
RPK was ok with his SD. He did not go into hiding.
#29 by budak on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 8:48 am
excerpt from: http://theunspunblog.com/2007/03/29/sex-politics-murder-and-possible-high-level-cover-up/
One of the most eloquent spokesmen for that vision was Abdul Razak Baginda, 47, a confidant of Mr. Najib and head of the Malaysian Strategic Research Center, a political think tank that worked closely with the Malaysian government. A British-educated military scholar who was named a “Global Leader for Tomorrow” by the World Economic Forum in Davos, Mr. Razak was also involved in military procurement deals, helping negotiate Malaysia’s 2002 purchase of French submarines.
At a party in Hong Kong’s posh Peninsula Hotel in 2004, he met Ms. Shaariibuu. Raised in St. Petersburg, Russia, and educated in Beijing, the petite Mongolian was part of the international jet set. She used her fluency in Russian, English, Chinese and Japanese to work as a free-lance interpreter, according to her father and sister.
—————————————————————-
they go lots of places including Peninsula Hotel….
#30 by wtf2 on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 8:53 am
come to think of it, it is not possible for the military not to provide a report on missing C4 or procedural failure, common sense dictates there is a report and heads should have rolled
#31 by Tickler on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 8:59 am
This statutory declaration was then attested before the above said commissioner of oaths, Dr. T. Yokheswarem in my presence, and of course in the presence of Mr. Bala. The contents of this statutory declaration were read in front of this commissioner of oaths who enquired from Mr. Bala whether he understood the contents and whether that was his declaration. After Mr. Bala confirmed the same, he was asked to sign 3 copies and the commissioner attested each copy. Mr. Bala was asked to produce his NRIC to the commissioner and then signed the commissioners recording book.
I am therefore extremely surprised that Mr. Bala, in the space of 24 hours, has engaged the services of another lawyer and affirmed another statutory declaration swearing the first one was untrue and that he was forced to sign it.
As I am familiar with the character of Mr. Bala having spent hours with him recording his statement, I am very skeptical that he has signed the second statutory declaration of his own free will and I am convinced he has been intimidated to do so by either threats or promises, as I can think of no other reason.
http://202.75.62.194/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=9524&Itemid=1
Intimidation is a crime. Are the new legal firm “acting” for Bala, Zul Rafique & Partners – (a pro-establishment law firm owned by Zulkifly Rafique who is Federal Territories minister Zulhasnan Rafique’s brother) parties to said “intimidation” and active participants in comissioning of an illegal act?
Bar Council must view this seriously and begin investigations. They cannot simply make Press Statements while members of their fraternity act illegally.
#32 by rainbowseahorse on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 9:01 am
I see almost all (with exception of a few BN supporters) bloggers agrees and know that our government is totally corrupted & useless. They make incredibly ridiculous press statements as though the Rakyat are stupid & ignorant.
Ok, so we bloggers are well informed about the true sorry state of Malaysia’s affairs, and if the outcome of elections is passed through the internet, the Oppositions will surely zip through with flying colours. But that not being the case, we bloggers have to do our bit by educating as many Raykat as possible of all we write about with such conviction and passion in this blog.
At times people are reluctant to talk about what they know deep down inside, they need someone else to bring those feelings out for them. As long as those feelings are kept suppressed inside, come next election these people will once again automatically vote for the familiar political party and once again we bloggers will be here shouting & vetting out our frustration, anger, hatred, and all other human emotions against the same old corrupt, inefficient, wasteful, arrogant, etc2 government.
So we bloggers should do just as much shouting & educating our Malaysians outside of this forum as well.
In here, we are all merely confirming with each other with what we all already know.
#33 by hongsichuan on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 9:02 am
Pulau Sibu asked “Do we expect Bala to make another SD today?”
Perhaps yes, if he can be convinced again that a PKR government would be formed tomorrow.
#34 by musyu99 on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 9:06 am
or may be… in afew days time… Bala will come out with 3d2 SD saying that he was forced or under duress to make his 2nd SD…. ha ha ha… in this boleh land… everything boleh maaa…..
#35 by k1980 on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 9:12 am
Sivarasah said people could judge for themselves from Bala’s expression and demeanour when he was telling the truth – yesterday or today.
http://anilnetto.com/malaysian-politics/americk-sceptical-about-balas-second-declaration/
#36 by rainbowseahorse on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 9:14 am
As long as our police force and the judiciary cannot be trusted nor credible, the whole of Malaysia can make daily SDs to their hearts’ content, and these SD will be nothing more then pieces of paper.
I laugh when our stupid PM ask us to trust, and to believe, the police and the judiciary to do their job.
#37 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 9:15 am
Who can we finally believe
In such situation that’s grave?
Where can we find relief
Except from those who’re brave?
(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 050708
http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
Sat. 5th July 2008.
#38 by hongsichuan on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 9:21 am
The case of Mr Bala seemed to reinforce a point which I have been harping on persistently here in Mr Lim Kit Siang’s blog. If you have to do something “big”, it must be out of the calling of your heart and conscience-e.g. to do something good for your country or to ensure justice prevails. Never do it just advance the ambition of one man.
#39 by andy6000 on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 9:29 am
We can notice that Bala’s expresion during SD1 and SD2. It’s different. SD2, his face told me that he’s worry about something.
#40 by myint3 on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 9:56 am
Retract or no retract, the damage is already done. … It will follow them to their grave. There would always be this lingering doubt in people’s mind about the whole investigation into the murder case and to Najib and Rosmah’s innocence.
The 24 hours retraction only make the shit stinks much more, to high heaven.
Times like this make me embarrass to call myself a Malaysian. Another tagline for Malaysia beside Boleh Land would be MALU LAND. Maybe Malaysia should be known as MALUsia from now on.
In the interest of protecting Malaysia’s dignity, why don’t all parties concerned swear their innocence on the Quran and their children’s head. I dare them to do this. If your innocent, then good, if not, prepare for God’s wrath!
#41 by dawsheng on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 10:13 am
“Bar Council must view this seriously and begin investigations. They cannot simply make Press Statements while members of their fraternity act illegally.”
With due respect and honestly speaking, fat hope! Our Bar Council is easily duped by the powers that be into performing acts that are contrary to why they existed in the first place. It is an establishment without a mind of its own, and because of that the organization is one of the many instruments why abuses of power and corruption perpetuates in this land today.
#42 by Jong on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 10:23 am
After a few hours in Brickfields Police Station, Balasubramaniam emerged(the next day?) a very shakened man. He must have been ‘made to believe and accept’ that the senior politician is the boss and he calls the shots.
That’s baltant abuse of power, thug power by the senior poltician aided by his police force! Is the Anti-Corruption Agency seriously investigating this, without fear or favour? I like to believe they will and give us back the confidence in ACA.
#43 by rainbowseahorse on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 10:32 am
Talking about swearing on the Quaran, the UMNO’s youth challenge DS Anwar to do that to settle the issue of his innocence over the sodomy charge.
UMNO’s youth should also ask the PM, DPM, IGP, PP, and, in fact, the entire top guns of UMNO to swear upon the Quran that they are innocence of accusations of corruption, lies, and even murder.
Now that would be of great public interest, wouldn’t it?
But the whole of Malaysia…in fact, the entire world… knows that is not going to happen, but I wouldn’t put it past the PM & DPM to lie even under that circumstances just so to save their skins..and the party of course!
#44 by Jong on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 10:34 am
I don’t think the Bar Council should just watch and be a spectator from the side. It should instead be more interested and proactive to find out what had been going on behind Bala’s SD1, retracted within hours after a visit to Brickfields Police Station then to come out with SD2, and a change of lawyer?
Bar Council on its own should take upon itself the responsibility to have a meeting with the two lawyers representing Bala in SD1 and SD2, in the interest of the Malaysian public. This is no more a private case involving a senior politician, but one that affects the security and stability of this country Malaysia and its people.
#45 by dragon88 on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 10:37 am
When you have the Police, ACA, Security and Judicially under one person , who is corrupted to the core, there is nothing we can do except a revolution like Philippines. Malaysia is now exactly like Zimbadwi and Burma. Police can do anything and you you can do anything about that. We need an open revolt. I am surprised that Anwar didn’t sue Rahim, that criminal and the Government for those injuries he sufferred. This should be a good case as all the lies welcome out.
#46 by rainbowseahorse on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 10:39 am
Tomorrow is Sunday, 7/July/2008, and the police has been issuing warning not to participate in the intending mass protest.
If we want to protest to voice our dissatisfactions, we need a police permit which we know we cannot get.
And since we cannot protest to voice our dissatisfactions, our stupid PM make statement to the effect that he still has the support and even understanding of us Malaysians.
A real case of “Catch 22″!
Talk about stupidity and we have one who holds the higest office in our land!
#47 by badak on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 10:40 am
All this swearing over the Quran,The Bible,the Holy Book of other religion.Do you guys really think our politician care.
This politicians will even sell their own mother to stay in power.This UMNO BN Led goverment has already started the ground work to stay in power.How come at this point and time that the ARMY is call up to be in KL …at the pretence of a joint program with the police.DON,T FORGET NAJIB IS THE DEFENCE MINISTER.
#48 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 10:52 am
>When you have the Police, ACA, Security and Judicially under one person , Bododwi,
This is nothing new. It was the case under Mahathir, yet the man has the courage to make all kind of statements in chedet about Anwar. Shame on him
#49 by gundam on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 10:56 am
Mr bala, do u wanna go down in history as a traitor or martyr?
dun worry, we’ll take good care of ur family
think of ur children, and the children of ur children…..
#50 by NG on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 11:07 am
want to tell mr bala. we malaysian requested an explaination from you.please dont hide. every one in this country is looking for you for an explaination.we just want the truth.why you dont have the guts to tell the truth??BE A MAN!!!!i believe the whole malaysian will behind you .support you,if you tell what was happen.The Rakyat can provide you shellter n secure.one last word. you cant hide forever.