Altantuya Murder – Najib should go on leave from his DPM duties until cleared of allegations in Balasubramaniam SD

Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak should go on leave from his duties as Deputy Prime Minister until all questions implicating his credibility, especially arising from the statutory declaration by private investigator P. Balasubramaniam, are investigated and cleared.

Balasubramaniam’s statutory declaration dated 1st July and made public today in effect challenged the truth and veracity of various statements and denials by Najib in connection with the murder of Mongolian national Altantuya Shaariibuu in October 2006 – that Najib had not known or ever met Altantunya.

Najib, as well as the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, cannot allow Balasubramaniam’s shocking statutory declaration to go unchallenged as it raises grave fundamental issues as to their fitness to hold high political offices in the land.

Balasubramaniam’s shocking statutory declaration has brought back to Malaysians the emotional scene at the Kuala Lumpur magistrate’s court on 16th November 2006 when Razak was charged for abetting the murder of Altantuya, when his wife Mazlinda Makhzan lost her cool and shouted at journalists: “My husband is innocent. My husband is a good man. He supported me and protected me. Why are you writing all these stories about him. He is not out to become the Prime Minister. Why are they doing this to him?”

Mazlinda’s emotional outburst in November 2006 have now been resurrected to the very fore of public consciousness by Balasubramaniam’s statutory declaration, crying out for full clarification.

Balasubramaniam said the purpose of his statutory declaration, among other things, was to

1) State his disappointment at the standard of investigations conducted by the authorities into the circumstances surrounding the murder of Altantuya Shaaribuu.

2) Bring to the notice of the relevant authorities the strong possibility that there are individuals other than the three accused who must have played a role in the murder of Altantuya Shaaribuu.

3) Persuade the relevant authorities to reopen their investigations into this case immediately so that any fresh evidence may be presented to the court prior to submissions at the end of the prosecutions case.

4) Emphasise the fact that having been a member of the Royal Malaysian Police Force for 17 years, he is absolutely certain no police officer would shoot someone in the head and blow up their body without receiving specific instructions from their superiors first.

5) Express his concern that should the defence not be called in the Altantuya murder trial, the accused, Azilah and Sirul will not have to swear on oath and testify as to the instructions they received and from whom they were given.

These are issues of urgent definite public importance for which Parliament should take instant cognisance by having an immediate debate, unless and until the Prime Minister can act promptly to assure the Malaysian public that the government is prepared and capable of responding swiftly, credibly and responsibly to the crisis of confidence in the government precipitated by the Balasubramaniam statutory declaration.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by cheng on soo on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:53 pm

So SD have no value now, look like anybody can suka suka make a SD, then suka suka withdraw?
    Can a young man also said he love a certain girl and proposed to marry her with witnesses in a press conference, then after 24 hours, withdraw his proposal??

2. #2 by Jong on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:58 pm

I am not at all surprised! Moral fibre is severely lacking.

3. #3 by gundam on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:59 pm

could tis bala guy also a plant?

4. #4 by cmbss on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 1:04 pm

I sincerely advise YB Lim to take precaution not to be overly associated with Anwar.

Last few days event, tone and action by Anwar is very very fishy.

Otherwise all effort by DAP will sink down very fast. Remember people who support DAP are not really supporters of Anwar.

Mahathir could be right in certain personal things he has said about Anwar in the past, but Mahathir won’t stoop low to make a SD.

Diverting attention from the sodomy allegation, running for cover in Turkish embassy, immediate response from USA (foreign interference, forcing people to make SD) are not the quality of leadership in a PM-in-waiting we would like to have.

5. #5 by taiking on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 1:05 pm

The way things go in this country, I think ASTRO will go bust.
    Wot is this with Bala’s retraction of parts of wot he said in Declaration.
    Whoever forced that decision upon him must be stupid.
    The SD as it is is already good for one strike.
    The retraction? Wow! that is a second strike.
    Try a C4 on Bala, ladies and gentlement, that would certainly be worth many strikes – for the people of course.

6. #6 by Tickler on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 1:05 pm

Bala dismissed his earlier lawyer. Then Bala says he made the SD under duress.
    The Bar Disciplinary Comitteee had better investigate the 1st lawyer on this “duress” thingy. Separately, the police too should take action on the lawyer for intimidation on Bala.

7. #7 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 1:10 pm

For whatever reason(s) that Bala has to retract his SD, he will be perceived to have been paid off by somebody. If he cannot take the heat, then he should not have started the fire.
    He has brought great shame to himself & his family..plus his credibility is now all blow to hell!

8. #8 by peterchiang on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 1:12 pm

If Bala went to Police Station after press conference yesterday, then his withdrawal today makes sense – It is possible that Police has reminded him about something that he has forgotten.

What he is doing today, retracting SD and issuing a new one, is in line with the Police’s advice.

Aren’t they glad there are many folks in Malaysia who cannot figure that out properly?

9. #9 by AhPek on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 1:16 pm

Yesterday Balasubramaniam was forced to produce a SD and today he was given protection by you-know -who to retract it.Bolehland is getting more and more interesting by the day!

10. #10 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 1:16 pm

If I were Bala, I would take extra care from now onwards. Even high profile cases like the Mongolian murder gets nowhere, what else a “suicide” case! He better make damn sure whatever solid evidence he has are being kept in a super secret place.

11. #11 by yhsiew on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 1:19 pm

Richardqed Wrote:
    Today at 12: 50.37 (11 minutes ago)

According to the MalaysianInsider.com:

Bala “told friends yesterday that he had come under severe pressure after releasing the statutory declaration.”
    —————————————————————-

The Chinese Edition of Malaysiankini said Bala was under threats BEFORE he produced the SD. I believe MalaysianInsider’s version is accurate, i.e. he had come under severe pressure AFTER releasing the SD.

In the revised SD, Bala stressed that paragraphs 8, 25, 28, 49, 50, 51 and 52 stated in yesterdays SD were false.

I personally believed that the FIRST SD released by Bala yesterday was 100% accurate; the revised SD is still accurate but with important contents removed because of certain reasons.

12. #12 by yog7948 on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 1:20 pm

Richardqed

The part where DpeeEem fond of Amina’s rear and the introduction of amina to razak baginda.. something fishy isn’t? This BeeEnd guy is like Lord Voldemot of Harry Potter fame-” The one that can’t be named”.. everyone just jump up on the mere mention of his name.. guess why?
    How powerful a person can be.. a despot can be? Do they really forget about the one high up.. that decides everything? May god forgive these poor souls.. give them Nirvana soon.

13. #13 by Richardqed on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 1:21 pm

Bala claims he was under duress to make the SD. But he sounds more stressed retracting it compared to during yesterday’s press conference.

Note that he retracts his SD and then further makes supreme efforts to emphasize that parts involving Najib was not true.

By doing that, he’s even adding more weight to his original SD.

14. #14 by dawsheng on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 1:22 pm

“To keep you is no benefit. To destroy you is no loss.” was the fate of Altantuya, Bala is pretty well aware of it.

15. #15 by ccy on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 1:22 pm

16. #16 by digard on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 1:23 pm

Don’t dismiss him so quickly. You never know what they fed him one way or another in Brickfields. There is plenty of stuff, hypnosis, mind-altering, you know, the spy-stories coming true.

We might never know. This was a serious mistake by PKR, not to guarantee Bala the protection necessary to stick to his guns. Not unexpected, another call by a senior person to IGP and things are being sorted by PDRM on instruction. Did Anwar overlook this possibility?

17. #17 by Tickler on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 1:27 pm

Update 1pm: Something in Malaysiakini you may have missed:

“Balasubramaniam’s lawyer has told Malaysiakini that Balasubramaniam was contacted by the police soon after his press conference yesterday. He last saw his client after dropping him off at the Brickfields police station at 4.45pm.”

Contacted by the police directly after PC? Last seen being handed over to the cops? Retraction first thing next day?………………………

http://jelas.info/2008/07/04/threatened-bribed-lied

18. #18 by digard on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 1:38 pm

yhsiew, no.
    The Malaysian Insider reports:
    “I wish to retract the entire contents of my statutory declaration dated July 1, 2008. I was compelled to affirm the said statutory declaration under duress”

Whatever we think or believe, some hidden hand has rewritten the headlines of yesterday.

19. #19 by citizenwatch on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 1:39 pm

Bala can never be a plant. He had genuinely wanted to expose the misdeeds without thinking of the consequences. But the damage has been done.The turn around in 24 hours is a reflection of the state of the country now. The world is watching and can’t help feeling judgmental towards the authorities.

There’s a possibility that the sodomy case may be closed because of the inadvertant admission of Najib meeting Saifool and the endless attacks on him and the tag team of AG and IGP.

20. #20 by boh-liao on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 1:41 pm

It’s High Noon and it’s The Gunfight at the O.K. Corral. Tension is high and then suddenly one of the supporting guys withdrew. Alamak!

It looks like and sounds like a statutory declaration, at least for a number of days. Now we see it, now we don’t. Will we have more players declaring their SD?

Dynamic drama galore in Malaysia! Too good to be true – for increasing the sale of newspapers (Should buy shares of local mass news media ah?), for kopitiam gossips, and for promoting Malaysia as ‘Malaysia Boleh – Semua Pun Boleh’ and ‘Bodohland’ at international level.

From which country on this planet can we get daily sensational news of AC/DC sex, murder, ‘lies vs lies’, political crossovers, cover-ups, plots, and intrigues?

Bet you Jeffrey Archer can’t even imagine such ingenious plots and surprise endings.

21. #21 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 1:43 pm

No PM, DPM & Ministers will be working if all were going on leave due to SD!!! It is a powerful tool indeed to force people to take leave even if they dont want to!!!
    How to prevent someone from being forced to take leave due to SD??? many people are willing to pay million ringgit to stay in the office!!!

22. #22 by citizenwatch on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 1:44 pm

It’s not about duress in the first SD by Bala we are concerned about but the possible duress in doing his second SD. But he should be investigated on the first SD (if we get a credible outcome of it) for lying.

23. #23 by stjames on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 1:47 pm

I think many on this site have been too harsh on Bala including calling him names etc. Give the guy a break.

The fact that his first lawyer was in the dark about about the retraction and that the retraction is only 24 hrs after the SD, something is amiss.

I think the opposition party should make arrangements to provide security for Bala and his family immediately pending further facts unfolding.

U guys are right, its getting ridiculous and sad, the state of Malaysia.

Somebody is definitely lying…

24. #24 by citizenwatch on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 1:51 pm

In the first place Bala’s first lawyer should not have ‘dropped him off’ at the Brickfields police station alone and unrepresented knowing full well of the consequences.

25. #25 by stjames on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 1:53 pm

Be prepared folks! You lot, the non-BN believers esp, should start shortlisting your preferred embassy aka refuge hotels in KL.

Its starting to look like we are role modelling on the Zimbabweans.

Perhaps lets try the next flight out??

Blardy joke, cant believe we may have to seek refuge away from home land at the mercy of your own government.

26. #26 by malaysiantruly on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 1:55 pm

Uncle, i tot wise ppl like u shall stay cool and analyze the whole ‘drama’ before making your comments? Bala now retracted his statement in his SD, what say u? Telling us he was under threat to do so?

Uncle, i suggest u should spend more times to strategize how your party could seize this ‘window of opportunities’ to transform into a powerful balancing force between BN and Pakatan for the sake of protecting non bumi’s right instead of joining to act in the hopeless drama. You and your son are not in anyway able to control the loose cannon (PKR advisor), don’t even think of matching his political skills and slipperiness, too distance away to catch up! Just do your work for Rakyat, no point for you to fight for his self claimed injustice! If he has not done it, nothing he should worry!

27. #27 by 9to5 on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 1:56 pm

I was at first skeptical at Balasubramaniam’s SD especially on some of the parts concerning Najib. They sounded quite far fetch that Baginda would confide with his PI about a VVIP personal sex life and preference.

But this retraction of Bala’s SD removed every doubt in my mind. The police application of severe pressure is very real and very obvious. Imagine after making a big declaration and withdrawing it before 24 hours has expired really showed something happened to Bala when he was alone in the police station.

If the contents were not true, they would not have bothered to apply such intense pressure in such an obvious manner. This withdrawal is more to the advantage of Anwar than to Najib whose reputation was not only irreparably damaged but he is seen as a dictator pushing his whole weight to bear on ordinary citizens!

It now opens up the eyes of the citizens and make them more aware of the character and capability of the Prime Minister-in-waiting. This is a glimpse of what the future holds for Malaysians – another Mahathir or Mugabe ruling us.

I think there are many people like me – skeptical at first but thereafter convinced that it is true after this twist in event.

Not only convinced but angry! Angry at the Prime Minister-in-waiting, the police, the AG, the whole corrupt to the core system that is with the present BN Government!

Now many people will be afraid to have such a guy to be our prime minister. If he do become one soon, the next election will see the total rejection of UMNO not only by non-malays but malays also!

28. #28 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 1:58 pm

Bala’s lawyer was most probably ‘instructed’ to drop Bala off at Brickfields police station. Either that or that lawyer of his has no business being a lawyer as he must have barely scraped through law school. A real no brainer!

29. #29 by digard on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 1:59 pm

I think we can all draw our conclusions on the ongoing matters, even more so after the sudden withdrawal of the SD by Bala, having spent a beautiful night with PDRM.

The problem is, that ‘conclusions’ is not a synonym for ‘proof’. It seems that the conclusions rather circle around a specific person ever more close, while the proof evaporates ever more.

30. #30 by concerned_citizen on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 2:04 pm

Some evil forces behind the scene is exercising its silly and evil power.

31. #31 by 9to5 on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 2:12 pm

***rainbowseahorse Says:

Bala’s lawyer was most probably ‘instructed’ to drop Bala off at Brickfields police station.***

I have that feeling too!

Isn’t it the normal practice the lawyer should accompany Bala to the police station especially after making such a earth-shaking press conference on the police to counter and offer advice on questioning by the police?

He dropping off Bala doesn’t sound correct? Have the dark force bought up the whole team?

32. #32 by sheriff singh on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 2:17 pm

Of what use and value is a Statutory Declaration if it can be retracted later with impunity? Is there any offence commited for a retraction?

RM 4 ? What is RM 4 if you can get what you want e.g. official documents like NRIC, Birth Certs etc etc.

If Balasubramaniam and Raja Petra can make SDs, why don’t they continue on and lodge a Police Report as well? Put your money where your mouth is.

Our judicial system has become a mockery and a circus.

33. #33 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 2:18 pm

Whatever transpired to make Bala changed his mind, he is now technically rendered useless as a reliable witness.
    As I mentioned earlier on, Bala will have to be extra careful from now onwards. Suicide cases are harder to prove or disprove, and can very easily be calssified as an act by Bala’s conscience.

34. #34 by Jeffrey on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 2:18 pm

Balasubramaniam has made a second declaration after the first that he said he was forced to make under duress???

The first was made before a commissioner for oath. And there was also a first lawyer Americk Sidhu, from whom he was under advice until this morning when he appointed a new lawyer.

Now if he said he made first declaration implicating Najib under duress, then this won’t reflect well on the first commissioner for oath and lawyer both of whom should immediately make their own respective statutory declarations whether Balasubramaniam made his first one under oath in duress or not.

The making of statutory declarations (and retraction or modification) by whoever linked has become a good business by itself…. :)

35. #35 by stjames on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 2:24 pm

Just thinking out loud, we need to be productive. Given that there are huge dark forces out there working their way to determine the outcome to serve ones own interest, we need to think, brave (if genuine) people like Bala to come forward, they need to think about the following:

1) personal / family security
    2) the possibility of loss of time/work/income for various reasons; employer reputation, held under remand, personal injury or harassment, involvement in long periods of trial hearings etc etc. which in turn causes;
    3) potential loss of reputation
    4) loss of financial abilty to feed the family/rent/mortgage

What does a brave man do when he is then put a gun to the head or offered generous incentives to make a u-turn??

Retract!

Solution: must provide ppl like that (i stress, if genuine) a sense of security both physically and financially. MONEY!

Uncle Kit, im sure MANY WILL DONATE to get to unearth the years of accumulated dirt and move on with life and creat a better Malaysia. Is MONEY what you need, uncle Kit? I have asked many times, tell the people what little they can do to change this sick world of ours.

36. #36 by dawsheng on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 2:27 pm

If you were Bala’s ex-lawyer, you were smart enough just to drop him off at the police station, isn’t it? Altantuya is still dead even after Bala retracted his SD.

37. #37 by citizenwatch on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 2:33 pm

Many UMNO officials privately said they are worried about the current allegation against Anwar as it’s reminiscent of the 1998 episode where they were ridiculed and threatened. They just want to put the 1998 episode behind them. BN MPs getting fed up of this circus may cross over is among the fears of these UMNO officials.

38. #38 by madmix on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 2:33 pm

When you cross the path of the second most powerful man in the country and you are a no-body, you can see what you are up against. A”friendly” visit by special branch to you parent’s home; a chat with your wife and children is enough to cow the bravest man.

39. #39 by saiful on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 2:39 pm

u cant say every one in the government corrupts. When Anwar was a TPM years ago…………….cant u see some of his fren also were wealthy nowadays………………then, do u say Anwar corrupt too???? then, you choose to side him now……………………….

its the hardest equation to be solved….but for sure Uncle Lim is equal to Anwar….fortunate that he did get the opportunity to become one ;)

40. #40 by saiful on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 2:40 pm

DIDN’T GET OPPORTUNITY

41. #41 by k1980 on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 2:42 pm

Tommorrow, Bala will appear with a new lawyer and a third SD stating that he was in India at the time of the incident. The person just “looks like him, sounds like him but it isn’t him…”

42. #42 by andy6000 on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 2:44 pm

Corrupts same means with which cat don’t eat fish. Depends that the cat like to have big big fish or small.

43. #43 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 2:45 pm

saiful, this is the type of arguement we should be having..not blind utter stupid support of people we know who are bad.
    Yes, I too have asked the same questions about Anwar and also how much we can trust recycled politicians. We should have some sort of assurances from Mr. Anwar before handing him power on a silver platter.

44. #44 by citizenwatch on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 2:47 pm

What doesn’t make sense is after Bala enjoyed the limelight of the first Press Coference, shaking hands with Anwar and smiling, he is left alone on his own to go to the police station (his lawyer dropped him off, “Ok, Bala, take care, see you.”). Didn’t the people involved in getting him to do SD and the PC ever thought of his safety and well being after the revelation? It is suicidal to let him go alone to the police. A lamb to the slaughter. Or maybe he enjoys the limelight of a press conference after all.

45. #45 by gundam on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 2:51 pm

did he look like he was under duress during the press conference yesterday?

first saiful, nw bala’s drama, all seem backfired to najis…if these were his jobs, then i really doubted his strategies…

46. #46 by lextcs on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 2:51 pm

so the truth is the higher the politician climbs the Liar he gets! It just makes you guys look and sound so naive…….. Dont believe all these shit by our politicians….esp the ones who have nothing to lose.

47. #47 by yog7948 on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 2:51 pm

The government system we have now will corrupt anyone.. i do believe it corrupted anwar then but he payed the price for being with them. The humiliation has made him wiser.

Now, he is out of that system and wants to change it.. at least we can put in our support for that rather than just follow the present corrupted government and loose our dignity forever.

48. #48 by saiful on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 2:55 pm

Politician will always be politian……………….good to hear but not to see…………..

They need businessman to fund them and after winning the election they will give the businessman back their money with the interest……… ;)

ask Uncle Kit la,,he knows better…..dont u tink so KIt SIang

49. #49 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 2:56 pm

Agreed that for lack of no other suitable candidate and for a change of government, we have to throw our support, and hope of course, behind Mr. Anwar. Hopefully his wife & daughter are there to keep him in line.
    But come to think of it, with his wife & daughter as MPs, wouldn’t that amounts to having a ‘family affair’ type of government in Malaysia? Would that be a ‘good’ or ‘not good’ situation?

50. #50 by gundam on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 2:59 pm

im not sure if i could believe anwar 100% but i am sure 100% tat i jst wan a change of the current government.

Comments are closed.